Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Old City Hotel 2 stars

Michalska street 2, 81101 Bratislava, Slovakia

#74 of 104 hotels in Bratislava

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1733 hotel reviews

7.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.9

  • Comfort

    6.8

  • Location

    9

  • Facilities

    6.8

  • Staff

    8

  • Value for money

    7.5

  • Free WiFi

    8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2018

    5.4
    I would book a different place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel is in a great location, but that is about all it had going for it. First, as many people have pointed out the hotel is above a strip club. So you hear the music all the time and there is a guy outside all day trying to scam you into going into the strip club so they can take advantage of you. The hotel also shares a building with a Thai massage parlor and a smoking bar. Also, there are no stairs, so be prepared to carry your back up a lot of floors. Now the room, the worst part. I was on the top floor, which seemed like more of an attic. I had giant roof/sun windows in my room above the bed. These windows had no curtains on them, so every morning when the sun came up I was blasted in the face while I was sleeping. Also, the room was crazy hot, and there is no air conditioning. They give you a small fan, but that doesn't do much. The shower is really small and had plumbing problems. It didn't drain well at all, and seemed to be flooding the carpet through the walls. The hotel wasn't really cheap either, so for the price I really disliked it.

    The hotel is in a great location, but that is about all it had going for it. First, as many people have pointed out the hotel is above a strip club. So you hear the music all the time and there is a guy outside all day trying to scam you into going into the strip club so they can take advantage of you. The hotel also shares a building with a Thai massage parlor and a smoking bar. Also, there are no stairs, so be prepared to carry your back up a lot of floors. Now the room, the worst part. I was on the top floor, which seemed like more of an attic. I had giant roof/sun windows in my room above the bed. These windows had no curtains on them, so every morning when the sun came up I was blasted in the face while I was sleeping. Also, the room was crazy hot, and there is no air conditioning. They give you a small fan, but that doesn't do much. The shower is really small and had plumbing problems. It didn't drain well at all, and seemed to be flooding the carpet through the walls. The hotel wasn't really cheap either, so for the price I really disliked it.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    7.1
    In the heart of the City Centre of Bratislava!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There is no elevator in the hotel! Imagine walking the city the whole day and having to climb 100 (!) stairs to get back to your room or having to move your travel bags while checking in or checking out, as it was in our case!

    The best thing was that it was located in the heart of the city center. Everything was in a distance of a few minutes walk ! Friendly staff !

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    6.3
    OK, unbeatable location apart from the dodgy Thai massage parlour on the ground floor.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Climbing four flights of stairs with a very heavy case. There may have been information on the website about the lack of lifts, but I wasn't able to read it on my phone.

    Proximity to the city centre

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    7.9
    staff was friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Too many stairs!!I would not recommend this place to anyone with heavy bags or leg/fitness/climbing issues!

    staff was friendly. Room was very clean and bright. Bed comfortable. Location of the hotel was amazing

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    7.1
    Very central location
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was a strip club in the basement if the building and people were outside trying to encourage you to go in when you were going back to the hotel.

    Very central location

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2018

    7.5
    Great location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I know it was mentioned in the website but if you stay here, be prepared to carry your luggage up a long flight of stairs because there’s no elevator, our room was hot but they did provide a fan so it was bearable.

    Great location! Walking distance from most main attractions, many restaurants and cafes around, comfortable beds, spacious room

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2018

    9.2
    Great location but noisy neighbours
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    TV didn't work which was disappointing during World Cup, luckily many bars were showing the games! Staff did make an attempt to resolve it without success - some acknowledgement from management would have been appreciated!

    Location was fantastic, although 'Old Town' means cobblestones, so suitcases suffer! There is no elevator in this property so you get to work off the calories from the cakes! Bed was very comfortable but the noise from the street was constant until 4.00 am. Ask for a room at the back!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    9.2
    Perfect hideout to explore Bratislava! Ideally located in the midst of the old city.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The street had a few street hawkers who were annoyingly trying to sell me strip club packages!

    It was a very cosy and old room which was nicely furnished. Loved the central location to explore the old city!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2018

    5.8
    Excellent location.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel is on the 3:d floor. No elevator. Very noisy with a inner courtyard/Galeria with a bar outside the room. Dogs 10€ a night.

    Excellent location. Dogs allowed.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    7.9
    The location is perfect for enjoying the best of the old...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel is up multiple and steep flights of stairs, I would not recommend this place to anyone with heavy bags or leg/fitness/climbing issues! The shower pressure was good but the shower head was set so the moment you turned it on it sprayed on the floor. The room smelled like smoke when I arrived and one window was missing a blind, making it pretty bright in the morning.

    The location is perfect for enjoying the best of the old city and dining out. The room was large and had a sitting area with some old, but clean furniture. There was tea, coffee and a kettle, along with a fan which was great because the hotel is basically an attic and gets pretty hot.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    9.2
    Really comfortable and big room and good location in the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    The lady on reception didn't know how to work with payment cards, so I had to go to ATM and then pay with cash. She didn't have change and I had to buy water just to speed up the process of registration.

    Really comfortable and big room and good location in the city center.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    6.7
    Right in the center, reception team were friendly and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This is a low budget place right in the center so don’t expect much. It is very noisy so you not a good choice if you want to get some sleep. The bathroom wasn’t cleaned well enough and there is no lift in the building. Basically you get what you pay for so don’t expect much

    Right in the center, reception team were friendly and helpful. The interior of the superior room is actually quite nice which is a big contrast to the whole building.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    2.5
    Scammer hotel in the city center
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Private External Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    This horrible place is one of the worst place I've seen in more than 30 years of travelling....I don't know how on booking.com this place has received many good evaluations , but for my personal experience I SUGGEST friendly to avoid them......For going to the reception there are 93 steps (any lift at all), then when you should receive the keys of your room if you are lucky only other 3 steps if not some miserables 21 steps....Is an up and down on steps, now imagine all if you have a luggage....UN-BELIEVABLE.....I DO NOT SUGGEST TOTALLY, ROOMS ARE ALSO VERY DIRTY....I don't know why the Bratislava Tourism Office give them the licence to serve people...is a giant mistery, so at end of all please do not loose your money

    in the historic center

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    9.6
    Great central location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shared bathroom Right by bars and nightclubs. I didn’t get a good nights sleep because of drunk people until about 4am each night.

    Great central location. Very clean and nice layout in the room

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    4.0
    The bed was okay and clean
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The stairs it was like climbing up inside a lighthouse. If you are elderly avoid this hotel like a dose of the flu. The stairs are dangerous with not enough2 hand rails Carrying a suitcase up the spiral stairs might give you a stroke or heart attack2f. Finally this Old City Hotel is a magnet for all night parties I never slept at all.When I left in the following morning at 06.30 the music was still going.on I was glad to escape

    The bed was okay and clean

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    2.5
    Location is OK, but the hotel is terrible! We paid eur 70 for one night, while we booked it for 65!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is placed in the attic, with the narrow stairs, 4th floor. There is no air condition in the room, so you can't breathe or sleep. The whole room, especially the bathroom smells like mold.

    Only the location is good.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    2.5
    Owner, unaware I understand his language, was taking with...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Owner, unaware I understand his language, was taking with receptionist about me in rude way. The reason - I demanded to pay by credit card, as it is advertised on their payment policy. However, on spot they take cash only, notice about that. After 5th reception visit finally they agreed to take the payment by card and I even got the invoice - what was a problem before. Reason for that hassle- now I’m offical guest and tax has to be paid by the owner.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    7.9
    I stayed one night.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No air conditioning . The room was a at the top floor of the building and it was really hot. I hardly slept at night.

    I stayed one night. The location was good in the city Center.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    9.6
    Short stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Can be noisy at night due to its location. No lift.

    Location is the best thing of the hotel. Superior room is very spacious and comfortable. The hotel staff allowed us to check in earlier as the room was already available.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    6.7
    Very clean, cosy, good location
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No AC so in the summer it's very humid and hot, the noise from outside is terrible especially in the late night hours - no curfew at all. The toileterees are not given new every day, as well as the towel.

    Very clean, cosy, good location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    10
    Great location in centre - very clean and spacious.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Given its location right in the centre of the city - the nightlife was very close so therefore led to noise levels outside especially over the weekend.

    Great location in centre - very clean and spacious. staff very accomdating

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    5.8
    Noisy and really hot in room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was really noisy, as it is in passage and there is a cafe and entrance to Thai massage saloon. It was really hot in room. I booked double bed trough option from booking but they gave me two separated bed and told me that there is no request for double bed.

    Location. It was clean

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    6.7
    Old city hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very rude receptionist (the small chubby one) arragant and seems like shes so far up her arsehole she cant find her way back out. No hairdryer or travel adapter in the room when there was supposed to be one. Also tv did not work.Stated they prefer cash and not card payments which they should state as i had to withdraw money into euros which will no doubt charge my card a fee. Also its above a massage parlour (basically a brothel).The best thing about this place its the location and thats it.

    The location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    8.8
    Great stay for a group of friends
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 4 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Perfect location, all of the nearby facilities were brilliant. Greta place for a group of friends to stay and experience everything we had hoped to experience whilst in Bratislava

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    8.8
    Good choice, nice people, no so expensive, but can be noisy during the night.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was quite spartan, just beds, table, chair and a wardrobe. They could add some appliance to make a coffee. But you can buy coffee and other stuff at the reception for one Euro. Beware, some rooms, are facing one the the tourist-busiest streets in Bratislava, so you will hear shouting and celebrating all the night.

    I have booked a two-bed room, but got a discount - paying just for one bed. Great.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    9.2
    very good and pleasent
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the hotel itself is located in 2nd floor (if I remember correctly), and there is no elevator (because it is in an old-fashioned building where the elevator installation is probably not allowed); hence, if you have large suitcases, prepare for some "exercise" ;-) it may be a little bit noisy during the night, due to the night life in the neighboring streets, but for me it was not annoying.

    the room was quite large, comfortable and clean; the location was excellent, in the core of the city center;

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    5.8
    clean room, friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    they didn't accept credit card payment, due to "technical reasons". It took two days effort and negotiation to finally accept credit card payment . The hotel is in the old town area with a great nubmer of bars and pubs arround and a lot of noise during the night, till dawn. Really hard to sleep. The TV set was broken. The hotel is on the third floor with a Thai massage studio beneath. Very quiet and without any troubles but not the best impression , the signs for "Thai girls full body massage" (whatever that means) though. Conclusion : very low value for money rate.

    clean room, friendly staff.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    6.7
    reasonable price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    smoking fume intrude to the room through whole night due to sisha cafe on ground floor. the bilding is losed patio type...

    reasonable price. good location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    4.6
    Good location in the historic part of town, very clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was not a room, but an attic. Not even a mansard. You can only walk straight along 1 wall. The beds are placed in buckets and you can not stand without hitting. There is no air conditioning and the windows are small and because it is a ceiling it is very hot even though it was not even summer but April. There was no comforts in the room except the dirty electric kettle. A small TV that can only be watch by 1 guest, but only with local channels, nothing in English. Last 6 floor (1 floor above normal) and no elevator. The reception is on the 5th floor. Definitely bad value for money. You pay for the fact that you are in the historical center. Until 3 o'clock in the morning hearing drunken tourists and music under their windows.The shower disintegrated at the first release and the pipes whistled very loud, for the first time I heard such a thing

    Good location in the historic part of town, very clean. Big clean bathroom.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    9.2
    Very central and convenient, and wonderful value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower hose was not connected fully onto tap, resulting in water spraying everywhere. Quite hot in the room in the middle of the day.

    Very central and convenient, and wonderful value for money

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    8.3
    Locaton is very good, the old town is a great choice for a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    No lift, only stairs. It was not a problem for us. But it can be a problem for others.

    Locaton is very good, the old town is a great choice for a short stay. The room is rather big, comfortable, no problem with wi-fi. Bathroom and WC are clean. Everything's ok.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    7.5
    Very central but noisy
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Very noisy, not only the old city streets are very busy until late with partying crowds during the weekend (but this was expected), but also the soundproofing is very bad and you can hear people chatting or snoring from other rooms

    Excellent location, right in the heart of old city, and with reasonable price

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    8.8
    Extreme value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only noticed on the morning of leaving but there were ants on the floor just below the bed The hotel was a little hard for me to find at first due to the complex that it is located in

    Best location I could find for that price Right in the centre of the old town with plenty of sites nearby Main train station is only a 30/40min walk away and gives you the chance to walk through the city to take more in (also Google Maps Public Transport mode was a great help to navigate from the airport into the city) Really friendly staff that understand English. Helped me order a taxi to the airport at 0500 - I had a whole nights sleep and I still think the receptionist was more awake than me! Exit the hotel and turn right for some amazing restaurant selections (favourite was Infiniti Rock Cafe!) Electric fan in the room kept me cool when I was in the room I have seen others complaining about the windows opening up into the lobby of the building — book a premium room for large outside windows!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    10
    Best stay ever
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Best Location very comfortable bed kind stuff GIRL at reception beautiful She Said She likes me very much High speed internet cozy historical fancy they didn’t even want 1,70 euro for city tax Tasty breakfast Highly recommended

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    7.5
    Location : right at the center of old town;
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Triple Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is a sign in the room says "No Smoking" but sometimes the room was filled with cigarette smell, so as the toilet. It could be from the fans and the air comes from outside of the building, and people were smoking somewhere there. But it was rather unbearable to non-smokers.

    Location : right at the center of old town; number of options for restaurants, bars and cafes; walking distance to monuments in the old town and some tourist spots like Bratislava Castle and UFO bridge; just few streets away from bus stations and 20 mins walk to Central station. The party folk could be too loud in the weekend, but we weren't bothered. The bathroom and toilet are separated. Beddings and towels are clean. Staff are friendly.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    8.3
    Very good location, and good value.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is located on the 3rd floor of a building, No elevators, stairs only.

    The location is really good, right in the heart of the old city and you can walk everywhere. The rooms maybe a bit dated for our standard, but very clean. It is situated above some business and a Thai Massage (which we did not try, too expensive) The reception Claudia was really nice and speak good english. Things in Bratislava is cheaper then Austria, Czech, and Budapest even though their currency is Euro. Tons of cafe and restaurant around. The area is safe to walk. The walls of the building are very thin, so bring ear plugs for sleeping. This place is very close to old town square and the free walking tour gathering point. Upon check out we did find someone from the hotel to take our luggages down, just tip them. We only stay 1 night there, but I would recommended if you don't mind going up the stairs to the 3rd floor.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    7.5
    Excellent location, right in the middle of the old town and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Rooms are very basics and no lifts at the property. It didn't affect me much as I had only an hand luggage. But for travellers with more than a suitcase it will be a problem doing the stairs for 3 floors to reach the property

    Excellent location, right in the middle of the old town and,with many cafes and restaurants. Staff was very helpful especially Roman who gave me tips and informations about the town

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    9.2
    Beautiful hotel, nice room, everything clean and very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We were very disappointed from whole city Bratislava, but hotel was great.

    Beautiful hotel, nice room, everything clean and very comfortable. Near historic centre and many restaurants.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    7.1
    Simple accommodation in the hustle and bustle of nightlife.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    By three in the morning, you can hear the noise from the bar in the passage and the pulsing life on Michalská Street under the windows. The hotel is really cheap, so it also serves as a shelter for lovers—and the walls between the rooms are thin. In the morning, at least at six hours, the street will come to life again thanks to the garbage collectors, the street sweepers and the supply of restaurants. So you do not sleep too much.

    The hotel is right in the city centre in the pedestrian zone. You will be walking distance to the sights, culture, entertainment and nightlife.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    9.2
    Great value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The worst thing about the hotel is the lack of a lift ,as its on the 3rd floor with suitcases its a mission on its own ,the only other thing is the Thai massage sign on the door fhag may be off putting to some ,but is nothing to do with the hotel

    The location is outstanding 2 mins from old town square. It was clean and well oppointed ,with friendly staff.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    6.3
    Location is amazing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was extremely uncomfortable. The first member of staff we met was lovely, however the manner of the staff at reception at the time of check out left a lot to be desired.

    Location is amazing.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    8.8
    The location is just great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It is really noisy at night, but it's kind of a normal, because of the location.

    The location is just great...it couldn't be better. The staff is nice and polite.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    7.9
    Great location.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There were a lot of bars around and it was realy loud. Usually I do not complain about this, but the hotel had so bad soundproofing that you could hear every single step in the hallway. It felt like the walls are made od paper.

    Great location. Clean and spacious rooms.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2018

    8.8
    Value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The window doesn't open to the outdoors. It opens into a giant hall with a shisha smoking area and nightclub so it makes the room stuffy and smell of smoke.

    The location is perfect, very friendly staff and very clean

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    7.5
    The location was amazing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bathroom was so small it was really difficult to use. Furthermore I didn't really trust the bed, it felt like it might break under me.

    The location was amazing.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    7.9
    Great location Right in the middle of old town Bratislava.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No parking in the old town 🙁but that's what happens when you stay in the center. Ok value, I guess the best thing about it is the location.

    Great location Right in the middle of old town Bratislava. Next to nice bars and clubs. The rooms were clean and shower was nice.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2018

    6.3
    Klaudia in reception , she was really kind and helpful
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Couldn't open the windows, so room smell really bad. It was quiet noisy as well . Really uncomfortable beds

    Klaudia in reception , she was really kind and helpful

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2018

    8.8
    good
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The receptionist who placed us on 04.02 does not return a reset, imitating that there is not much money at the moment. The same on Monday - 05.02.2018. ordered us a taxi to the airport for which we paid 30 euros at a normal 10 euro. When we asked her how much the taxi cost to the airport, she replied she did not know !!!

    The hotel is very nice and I would recommend it to my acquaintances

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2018

    4.6
    Nice location in BRA. Not a place for persons with light sleep (noisy moments all night long)
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    All night was punctuated with noise from the ground bar/nightclub. Sounds of people talking, walking during night widly echoe in the wide hall. Window close to bed was not possible to close (without handle and broken). At check-out, I was just ignored and feeling like talking to the wall. I guess too sleepy receptionnist...

    Localisation in Bratislava is very fine. But localisation above noisy night bar/club is a pain.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    7.9
    Nice hotel in a very central location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is located next to a Thai massage and a nightclub. The hotel is perfectly fine and the area is safe but please keep in mind in case you have problem with such neighbors. Also the hotel is located upstairs and there are few flights of stairs to climb.

    The location is just perfect since it's exactly located in the very center of old town, next to the main street. Nice old fashioned and stylish beds. Personnel speaks good English.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    7.9
    Lovely stop-by in the heart of Bratislava
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A bit more complicated process to find the keys but all went smoothly after giving the call to the host.

    The bed extra comfy and the location just in the heart of Bratislava and it's also very warm!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    5.0
    I've served 15 years in the British Army and know how to rough it. Possibly my worst experience EVER
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Where do I start: Far from warm welcome. Reported a broken door handle on inside of our room door with in an hour of check in. Got a shrug of the shoulders from reception and wasn't fixed by the end of our 3 night stay. We were above 2 floors, ground floor being at best a strip club, worst case a brothel. They played loud music first night until 6am and the second night was NYE so music went on until 8am. The last night was until 3am which was followed by a fight outside our room and the blood could still be seen in the morning after check out. Way over priced for such poor service and facilities.

    In all honesty the only good thing about this place is the location.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2018

    7.1
    Excelent location and reception services are opened 24h
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    You can hear all the noises from outside the room & because of the window that is on the side of the inner yard, we had to pull the courtins everytime we were on the room.

    Excelent location and reception services are opened 24h

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2017

    9.6
    Location, price, cleanliness - YES !!!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our tv in our room, didn’t work great but otherwise the hotel was good!

    The location was awesome. Right in the middle of old town. There’s loads of places to eat, drinks, shop etc... the room was clean and tidy. And definitely worth your money, great price.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 December 2017

    10
    Comfy and charming within old city
    • With a pet
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Old City Hotel has got that special charm. Sweet huge rooms decorated with old-style furniture, with a view on the rooftops of the old city (in some rooms). It's located directly within the streets full of cafes and pubs. Cars are not allowed in that part of the city, so you have to use a parking house nearby. It's recommended for young travellers and couples who don't mind the missing lift, don't need 5 stars standards and want to live close to all happening for an affordable price. Staff is very helpful and friendly (check-in is 24/7) and if you're travelling with pets as we did you'll have it very easy (rooms are safe to let your pets stay inside while you're out).

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2017

    7.1
    Nice location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bathroom need some investments. There is not enough power sockets. The arrangement of the furniture in the room a bit inconvenient (For example you can't watch TV while sitting in chair or lying on the bed).

    Nice location. Quite large room.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2017

    9.6
    Great place to stay in the very city center for 1-2 nights.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Too much noise from the outside during all the night (this is the city center!) Remember about stairs to fourth floor with no lift.

    Great place to stay in the very city center for 1-2 nights. Comfortable and warm room, great wi-fi. Tea and coffee with kettle in the room.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2017

    7.5
    Appropriate for one night
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    - one of the towels had a stain on it - the hotel is in an inner yard that has a small shisha bar inside and it was noisy all night

    - the positioning: in the heart of the old town

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2017

    7.5
    Location is right in heart of old Town and room was really...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Mattress was really uncomfortable, and probably broken. Smell of staff smoking filtered through corridors but fortunately not into the rooms.

    Location is right in heart of old Town and room was really big

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2017

    10
    Best value for money in the middle of the Old City
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was really cool. Someone might find it a little bit old-fashioned, but I really think it's the best value for money you can get.

    Fabulous location, friendly staff, everything your need in the room. Location of the hotel is also great - right in the middle of the vibrant Bratislava's Old City centre. Bratislavsky Hrad and Bratislava Most SNP bus station are in 5 minutes walking distance.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2017

    4.2
    Not a good option for decent accomodation
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is old and semirenovated. The towels were not clean. The celaner left our door unlocked for a whole day. There is no elevator. The beds are awful and during the night the room is cold.

    It is locates in the middle of the old town around the main restaurants and very close to the castle

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2017

    7.9
    Clean, well located accommodation. It was fine for our city break but it may not suit all.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Lack of a lift and the amount of step climbing - you have to climb up to reception from 2nd floor to check in, then back down and up a spiral staircase to get to the room! This hotel is really only for the fit and agile and could be a problem for others! On arrival at reception we discovered that they only accept cash. This was annoying as (1) we should have been informed in advance and (2) it necessitated walking down 100 or so steps to go out and get cash and come back again. Not a great start! There appears to be a seedy strip club in the vicinity and touts linger outside the hotel from early evening and hassle you every time you pass by. (Hotel management should get rid of them - its REALLY annoying and unpleasant) No fire exit instructions in the room, or marked fire exit - room only accessible via narrow spiral staircase from 2nd floor landing. (Although as the room was an attic room with Velux windows, the roof was a possible escape route (again, not for elderly or infirm people - although they most probably wouldn't have made it this far up into the dizzy heights anyhow!) Bathroom layout was challenging: The shower tray is elevated for some reason, accessible via a doorstep! Awkward and uncomfortable to use with wet feet / no glasses on etc. Again, fine for the agile and flexible but I wouldn't recommend for more senior folk.

    Very clean. Friendly staff. Excellent location. Firm, but surprisingly comfortable bed. Good value for central Old Town Bratislava. Plenty of places to eat and drink nearby and a good base to explore the beautiful and fascinating "Stare Mesto". This hotel is one of the strangest I have stayed in, in that it is located in the attic of an elegant old building which appears to be a boutique shopping arcade with a Thai Massage emporium on the first floor!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2017

    4.6
    one of the worst experiences, a very unpleasant hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    a dilapidated hotel, furniture and doors in poor quality, the windows overlook a passage in which someone was making noise all night. next to the strip club, it was disturbing to sleep.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2017

    6.3
    I enjoyed the stay because the hotel was located at the center of the old town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I did not like the climb up to the top story. There was no lift. There was a massage parlour on the second floor and they were aggressively canvassing for clients at all times of the day and night.

    The location of the building was the best thing about it. The hotel is located in the center of the old town in a pedestrianised area near all the historic buildings.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2017

    8.3
    Very good but noisy
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Thin walls so I could hear my neighbors very well. British pub under my window so it was very noisy even at night.

    Great location, friendly stuff, clean room

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    6.7
    Whilst well located for the Old Town, the location is...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Whilst well located for the Old Town, the location is incredibly noisy. I stayed on Wednesday and Thursday nights and was kept awake until after 2am both nights by noise from the bar/club downstairs. Avoid if you're hoping for a good night's sleep!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    7.9
    Location was great and the staff was very friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The rooms had thin walls so you could hear everything from the neighbouring room and noise from the street.

    Location was great and the staff was very friendly.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    6.3
    The location is great!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There is no elevator (but there are a lot of stairs!!!), the appartment was very noisy (there were a lot of people talking the whole night, outside it) and while we stayed there it wasn't cleaned properly...

    The location is great!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    8.8
    Lovely place, friendly staff and great area!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Some of the features were a bit old, couple of the sockets didn't work, and I could not open the window. Maybe something could be renewed - nothing was extremely annoying, just some small improvements should be done.

    Staff was very friendly and helpful, the room was very big, nice and very clean!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2017

    6.3
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Superior Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    1. No lift, we stayed at roof top(4th floor), we have to carried our 3 big bags up & down plus every day climb the stairscase up & down, not recommended if you have children or knee problem. 2. Very noisy (24 hours) people talking & shouting even at 4 a.m., can't sleep due to the noise.

    Location

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    9.2
    Good value in the heart of Bratislava
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Might not be a negative for everyone - but the hotel is not suitable for travellers with car, in my opinion. Hotel is situated in the pedestrian zone.

    I booked this for my friends and they were satisfied. Great location, in the very heart of Bratislava. Ideal for discovering the city and the nightlife on foot. Plenty of restaurants and bars nearby.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2017

    9.6
    Staff at reception were brilliant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Room was smelly, Shower needs to be upgraded.

    Staff at reception were brilliant. Our room was smelly and when I mentioned it to the receptionist he gave us a new room. He was very helpful

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    8.8
    Excellent facilities and Location, highly recommend this hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I’m not sure.... Every member of the group loved the location and the trip. If anything I’d have to say climbing the stairs leading to the hotel itself but that would be nitpicking.

    The hotel was located in the centre which is ideal as we wanted to see some nightlife and explore the city. It’s situated close to St Michaels Gate, and other top attractions. The hotel itself is up stairs in a complex, the rooms are clean, value for money and excellent. Old City Hotel accommodated for our every need and the staff are friendly and very helpful.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2017

    8.8
    The worst hotel I have ever stayed in.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There is a strip club just in front of the hotel and a massage parlour on the 2nd floor. The hotel is on the third floor (no lift). There was such a noise from the strip club right till 5 a.m that I could not sleep all night. Room was small and no breakfast served either. Horrible experience.

    Nothing really.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    7.5
    Great Central location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I thought mainly overall it was great. The stairs are tiring but you are warned about these. Also after getting home I realised that we had been overcharged. Also if you run out of tea or coffee and toilet roll you will have to ask as it's not replenished.

    The central location was fantastic. Right in the centre within walking distance of most places. The room was clean and comfortable and decorated lovely.

    Stayed in October 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Old City Hotel traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: