Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Pension Horse Inn 3 stars

Zvonarska 17, Košice Old Town, 040 01 Košice, Slovakia

#11 of 21 B&Bs and Inns in Košice

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 515 hotel reviews

8.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.6

  • Comfort

    8.1

  • Location

    9.2

  • Facilities

    7.8

  • Staff

    8.9

  • Value for money

    7.9

  • Free WiFi

    8.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The Wifi in our room was sometimes a little difficult to connect. The bed was a little uncomfortable as well. While it didn't affect our trip it might be good to know there was no air conditioning in our room. So if it a very hot summer day your room might get a little toasty.

    The staff was very friendly and the hotel is located in a great spot. The parking is situated directly out front in a paid lot as well. The breakfast was nice and satisfactory each morning. Everything was quiet at night so going to sleep was easy.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Need to walk up 2 floors to get to the room, a/c wasn't working, thin walls, bads attached to the walls

    Very good location, good breakfast, freindly stuff

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    An excellent Pension on a quiet street in the Old Town. Ten mins walk to bus and train station and right in the centre of Kosice. I had to leave for an early train and the staff made a packed meal for my journey. A very relaxing place to stay.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom has fan with timer connected to light switch which is kind of noisy. Not possible to open a window. Blankets too small.

    Simple but spacious bathroom. Clean.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    The was no wifi-connection in my room and the breakfast did not provide a gluten-free food (except for oranges).

    The staff was very helpful and friendly, room clean and the location si very good.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bathroom is not really separate room, it's a part of main room, separated with a screen of glass-like bricks. So when you are using toilet, other person in the room can hear and smell it... I found it awkward and disgusting and didn't feel comfortable with it.

    Very good location, comfortable beds, good breakfast.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No Air Conditioning The light in the bathroom does not switch off properly

    I like the fact that my second visit was much easier and the receptioist was very friendly and helped with a taxi right away upon arrival room was clean

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunately there was a payment problem with mh booking (for the 1st time as I was told). During the breakfast, Joghurts with the expired date was found.

    Good price, great location, fast decision making by the team

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The first room I was given smelled very strongly of cigarette smoke. I asked to move and luckily there was another room available which was okay although it was hot and didn't have air conditioning.

    Very smart hotel. Close to the railway station and the city centre. I needed to leave early and they arranged a takeaway breakfast for me which was good.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pictures of the rooms on Booking.com were taken of some totally different rooms than I stayed in this pension. The room was poor, old, no carpet, no courtains.. very dissapointing when comparing with the advertised pics on the site.

    Location & staff

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rom & W/C very dirty, housekeeping poor, breakfast had a very very limited choice, shower was broken, dirty marks in the walls, W/C needs bleach & toilet bush - well, use your imagination!

    Leaving!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Having to leave

    Friendly staff who speak English. Easy. check-in and out. Large room and bathroom. Free and easy to access fast WIFI. Buffet breakfast with hot and cold options

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We could not fault the place.

    The staff were very friendly, professional and helpful. The take away breakfast was great and much appreciated. Thank you. We would definitelly come back here.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There is no lift, so be prepared. The breakfast is very good, wide selection, but go there early in the morning as they tend not to replenish the dishes. Also, I would prefere more vegetables and lactose free options.

    Very good location just one block from the central street. Yet very quiet with thick windows. The room was comfortable, although it would need a repaint. Quite clean.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Staff was very nice, had to leave very early to catch a train, the women on duty made us breakfast bags to take with us. Room was also spacious and very clean.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing. Wish it could be 10-15% cheaper, but... =)

    Inn is situated in the center of the Old Town, lots of places to eat with local cuisine. There was provided a place at guarded parking twice cheaper in comparison with the public one. Good and tasty breakfasts.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Clearly the pictures of the room are Photoshoped because the room is very small and miserable. Small restaurant, had to wait for a place to eat breakfast. Staff was unpolite, made us pay the moment we arrived, late in the evening tired after a long road.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Economy Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights

    1. stylishly modernized historic building 2. even located in the old town area, it is a quiet place for a good rest 3. Breakfast very good 4. Very good public parking in front of the building or private (small) parking in a few streets away 5. If you travel by car, remain here several days as a base for visiting the wonderful castles and caves in south-east of Slovakia (GPS and good map recommended) 6. Kosice city center is pedestrian and you find plenty of very good restaurants, bakeries, terraces etc. 7. staff and many young people in old town communicate well in English

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 9 nights

    carpet not very well llaid and a couple of tiles missing in the bathroom and some of the tv channels like international news channels were inaccesible

    bed very comfy

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A/C cost 3 EUR. It was 37C and A/C was extra? no shower. there was a shower head and a tub. I expected a better breakfast (dried out eggs are not very appetizing).

    A/C in the room. large bath. good mattress. quiet room.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was only 10 mins walk from Kosice railway station. Also close to the town centre. The staff were very friendly and the wifi worked well. Sadly no air con or lift. I would stay here again

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2016

    • Group
    • Economy Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No air con, but that was my fault when you book a room in December, air con is the last thing on your mind

    Staff helpful with early breakfast when we departed at 06:15.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location and good breakfast. It was perfect for 1 night stay I enjoyed the city center a lot

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Noise from adjacent room. Missing ventilation possibility in particular room.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very friendly helpful staff and convenient location.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    • Group
    • Economy Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Kavárna

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poot breakfest, bathroom very bad.

    Good location

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It could have had dryer in the room and bigger wardrobe.

    All was as I've expected, clean, nice with good location. And staff was very kind :)

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    -

    Very nice hotel. Perfect for business trip.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Broken stuff in the shower. A bit overpriced for what it is.

    Nothing special. The staff was friendly.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Good for such money. we stayed only for a night and didn`t have a chance to see something wrong there.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hotel need renovation as everything looks quite old and used.

    Perfect location, nice breakfast and quite big room.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing special in this hotel. For same money you can find better hotel.

    Rooms are standardly equiped and clean.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The rooms were warm.

    The location was great. In the middle of town. The breakfast was good with a good selection

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was big and clean

    Excelent, brilliant. Maybe the breakfast location was small, but nothing more.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Funny smell from bathroom - but not offensive

    Great staff and location

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    the economy room had an atmosphere of an office.

    the location is fantastic, the economy suit was ok, the economy room was less attractive

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Might feel a little old-fashioned for some travellers

    Very convenient location, good selection for breakfast

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Economy Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights

    When booked an apartment we expected 2 rooms rather than beds in the entrance/living area.

    the breakfasts were reliably of good standard.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    €3 to turn the air conditioning on !

    Friendly staff. Room (13) had air conditioning - costs €3 to use it. Breakfast has hit and cold food.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The ambiance isn't high, it's a simple and functional place with little extra charm. Good for normal travel, not special occasion.

    Very central and pleasant place to stay in Kosice, would stay there again.

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We checked in very late and the man at reception was very nice, there was no hassle or fuss. The breakfast each morning was very good (and plentiful). Our room and all public areas were very clean. Lots of fresh towels everyday & a lovely cosy room. All staff were pleasant and helpful. I will stay here again. There was a problem with the shower in our bathroom - we said it to the man at reception the first morning and the broken fitting was replaced by the time we came back that evening.

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    My dad is disabled i requested a room on a lower floor, to be told our room was up 4 sets of steep steps and the hotel has no lift. also we had purchased breakfast and the girl on reception tried to make us pay again.... good job i printed off the booking paper work. also the rooms were a little dirty in places.... we found a pill packed down the side of the bed with pills still in it.... we have a 5 month old baby so not the best thing to find.

    The hotel is near the center of town, so good location.

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    all the staff were pleasant and helpful. the location is less than 100 yards to the main street, and close to all sport facilities, ice hockey,basketball, water polo and football ground. local amenities, shops and restaurants were excellent and ridiculously cheap, for high quality food and beverage. breakfast was limited but ample with a selection of cereals, hot and cold meats and a large selection of teas and coffees

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Economy double room was the room I had chosen. Unfortunately it was not my taste, for its quality was quite different from the room I had expected. Economy room's decor was gloomy as if it had made more than 25 years before. Also the quality of public space in 3rd floor, where the room was located, was clearly different from one for 2nd floor. The gap between the economy room and the normal(?) room seems to be too wide...

    Clean and spacious room, convenient location and friendly staffs. Buffet breakfast menu was quite normal, but I was satisfied. It might have been because atmosphere of restaurant was nice. As accommodation facility, Horse Inn fulfilled its role well.

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Fabulous location walking distance from bus&train, one block from city square. Quiet, safe area. Very modern decor. Kosice is a delight. Cafe Napoli is best for food - w/outdor cafe on the main "square".

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Great location in city center, easy access by foot from train station. Hotel is renovated and stylish with 24h reception. We booked simple room with bathroom and breakfast. There is no elevator but it was not so big problem. Room was very clean and big, bathroom almost as big as room. Towels were provided. There is TV in room and free WiFi and also AC for 3 Eur per day which I found OK. Breakfast were great! Both sweet and salty option with tea or coffe, which you can enjoy in small terrace.

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2015

    • Solo traveller

    Apparently there are just a couple rooms without aircon on a ground floor yet. I had one.

    Great location - Hotel/Pension is situated in quiet side street right next to the historic city center. Everything felt new and absolutely clean. Very helpful staff and kind beautiful girls at the reception. Very good breakfast. 24h reception.

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Gated parking facility is good, though some 250 meters away from hotel. For check-in ad check-out one can use the public parking directly in front of the hotel, 30 minutes free. Access currently complicated due to ongoing extensive roadworks in downtown Kosice.

    Excellent location, spacious room, comfortable beds, friendly welcome, rich breakfast

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2015

    • Family with young children

    Hotel is situated in the old town of Kosice, inside pedestrian area. Our room was on the top floor, with the view on the old town roofs. For the price of economy room, we got a bigger room with free A/C. Comfortable beds.

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Additional fee for air condition which is not mentioned in either advertisment or by reception staff while checking in... Asked for air condition control pilot I was told price is two Eur per night while during checking out we were asked to Pay three Eur. Think this should be included in total price which would make definitely better impressione. No lift.

    Really good location in the town centre with car parking place in front of.

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2015

    • Business trip
    • Couple

    Staff not friendly and not helpful We asked for the room with singlebed, they said they don't have The conditioner didn't work well

    Location

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Nothing really, just don't expect luxury, it's a good value for money.

    - location (near the bus/train station, just in the city centre) - very kind and helpful staff - clean, good breakfast, rooms spacious enough

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Poor breakfast. The room-type was not as I have booked. The pictures did not match the reality. The bathroom was very old.

    I Like its location, it is really right in the centre of Kosice.

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Room nr 8, key without number of room. "Nice to find out with full hands of luggages after going on first floor without a lift". Bathroom looks like a camping bathroom, definetly not like a bath from those you see on booking from this hotel.

    Location, breakfast and room where was breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    we booked a room which we thought going to be like one on the pictures on booking.com, instead we were given a completely different old-fashioned room!!!!

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    I paid for apartment, and they gave me normal room, of cours didnt back difference! poor wifi, poor bathroom, poor breakfast. Summarizing terrible place.

    Nothing!

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2015

    • Couple

    One must be really petty to find any cons there, but if I must... the shower could use a longer curtain, and hopefully TV screens will start gaining some inches in hotels everywhere. Other than that, no complaints.

    Due to the frequency of my travels to Kosice I always look for reasonably priced hotels, 2-3 stars with all the basic facilities. Horse Inn is by far the best place we've been to. The location is excellent, right at the edge of the old city and a few minutes walk of Aupark mall. The staff was very kind and helpful, the room was huge and clean with a comfortable bed and a reasonable lighting, breakfast was fair, all in all we enjoyed every bit of our stay there and will surely return there in the future.

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Pension didn´t have restaurant only for breakfast.

    Pension is really close to historical city centre.

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    NO.

    It is a very perfect place for city walk in Kosice. Near many big department store , rail way station and bus terminal.

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    The staff were very helpful and the scrambled egg the best of our trip so far.

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Free parking is a bit complicated.

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Floor without carpet.

    Great location, nice staff.

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Secure parking is a few blocks away - and pigeons left a bit of dirt on the car, :|

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Everything was great, especially friendly staff and tasty breakfasts. Recommended!

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Great location

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Breakfast choice wasnt that good...expected more

    The location is fantastic!

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Parking was far away from hotel, room furniture

    Near to City center

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Beautiful, clean, modern hotel, great location. The staff were very friendly. We will definitely stay again in the future.

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No lift! Stairs could be tedious for elderly/infirm.

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    No elevator, no comfortable chair in room.

    Excellent service, very clean.

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    very central location, and excellent staff

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    No air condition, no exhaust fun in the bathroom

    Friendly staff, excellent location in the middle of city

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Rooms in roof of building so when it rains it can be noisy.

    10mins walk from railway station. WIFI & air conditioning good.

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The hotel has been done out but they forgot the lifts.

    Location and breakfast.

There are also 38 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Pension Horse Inn traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: