Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Satel 3 stars

Mnohelova 5, 058 01 Poprad, Slovakia

#10 of 16 hotels in Poprad

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 2626 hotel reviews

8.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.2

  • Comfort

    7.6

  • Location

    8.7

  • Facilities

    7.2

  • Staff

    8.7

  • Value for money

    8.1

  • Free WiFi

    7.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2018

    5.4
    Very basic hotel.
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bedrooms very shabby with sheets that were too small for the beds. Chamber maid service erratic. Some days they only replaced the towels.

    Hotel was very near station and town centre.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2018

    8.8
    A good choice in central Poprad.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Premium Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Just a personal taste, but the scrambled egg was very sloppy, so I avoided it.

    A little faded glory but still with character, this hotel is ideally situated for the town centre and transport links. The room was spacious with a balcony and the bed comfortable. The restaurant meals were good value and enjoyable. The staff were helpful too.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2018

    7.9
    It is a great location close to the railway and they have a discount for the water park!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Coffee could have been better. It is an instant coffee machine Walls are a bit thin. Could hear partners singing at the cafe across the street until 4 am on Slovak constitution day.

    Good breakfast.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2018

    10
    Very clean room and staff amazing!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Triple Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very clean and great location. Great staff every single one of them very so helpful! Thank you.

    Very clean room and staff amazing! Great location. Walking distance to City Centre and you can even walk to Aqua City in about 25 minutes. We only stayed 2 nights. Visited Aqua City in Poprad with my son 10years old and wife. Will go back in October. Thank you.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2018

    10
    Hotel Satel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Triple Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location is great, the city center is 3-5 minutes by walk. However the hotel is like going back in time, the hotel was very clean.

    The location was the best.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2018

    6.7
    Old style old fassion, not as described on the pictures.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pictures from the hotel are much different than it was described on the pictures. The hotel has a retro style, old fassion hotel like in the 90s.

    The staff is good, they speak english.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2018

    10
    Nice location, good value
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    While the decor and the hotel building is a remnant from the 1970s or earlier, the rooms are very clean and the location is excellent, everything is within walking distance. Free parking was very nice.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2018

    10
    The hotel was fantastic.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Triple Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel was fantastic. The breakfast was very good. The beds are comfy. The 3 person room is big enough for 3 person. The hotel's bar and restaurant was very good. Prices are affordable. Waiting for going there again.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    4.6
    High Tatras
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Triple Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is not renovated, just walls are painted and TVs are modern. The 80s style .. When my son jumped on bed, a big cloud of dust has spread over the room. I paid for breakfast at booking but much lower price was announced at reception and when I asked for it I was told that I should not have booked it via booking. Not pleasant experience in general.

    High Tatras

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2018

    8.3
    Nice indoor tennis court
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Hotel definitely need complete renovation. However, room is clean, parking is free of charge. Really helpful stuff. Indoor tennis court on second floor was much beyond our expectation for such kind of hotel.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2018

    8.3
    The location - walking distance till the city center and in...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel reminds Soviet times. It will need renovation at some point. However all is kept clean and tidy.

    The location - walking distance till the city center and in front of the most popular ice-cream shop. 2 separate rooms in the suite was nice for the family.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2018

    8.3
    Good location, friendly and helpful staff, and all at a great price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Be aware that there is a disco Friday and Saturday nights, this can be loud especially at the end as people leave.

    Easy access to the town centre. Friendly and professional staff.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2018

    4.6
    The stuff of horror movies
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    If only the hotel looked like the photos! We asked for a quiet room but were given one facing the main thorough fair during the town festival so there was a lot of drunken singing at all hours which made sleeping difficult. The curtains were very thin so it was bright at around 5.30am. The toilet was in a separate room from the bath and wash basin and it stank. The Toilet seat was broken and the bathrooms looked like they hadn't been renovated since the 70s. While the padded doors may be something to do with the cold in winter it gave a macabre feel to the hotel. There was a nice note in the room form the management about the refurbishing of the hotel but we didn't see any evidence of it. We had breakfast one morning because we had an early start and the food was poor quality.

    The location was great, close to the train station for gettibg up to the Tatras to hike and close to the main street in Poprad. The beds were comfortable. Some of the staff were really friendly and helpful, but about half of them were indifferent.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2018

    9.6
    The location is perfect, 5 min from train and bus station!
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Triple Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The WiFi needs to be improved a little because it wasn’t working properly, but besides that all good!

    The location is perfect, 5 min from train and bus station! Staff also really nice, the room was clean and suitable for the price :)

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2018

    3.8
    Try to avoid
    • Solo traveller
    • Suite with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very old building, rooms look bad, facilities in the room are bad. Curtains didn’t block light at all, woke up 4am. Toilet and shower looks like from the 50’... no value for the high price I payed

    Bed was ok. Went there because all other hotels were fully booked at that night, couldn’t find anything else.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2018

    5.8
    Locate is great, hotel needs a make over
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is very outdated. No air conditioning, Wireless internet kept dropping out. At some nights, the internet did not work at all. Breakfast buffet was average.

    Location

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2018

    8.3
    nice, cheap hotel in a good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The hotel was OK - old, but clean and with great location. The food was really great! Breakfasts were spot-on! Otherwise - this hotel is not the newest and at a first glance it might be a bit offputting (e.g. 3 single beds in a double room, kind of a post-Soviet look to it and all), but overall - this was a good experience.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2018

    8.8
    Great location and excellent value.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room and bathroom were dated but functional.

    Staff were friendly and helpful. Really good value and perfect location for both town and the train station. Drink prices were the same as in town which is very unusual.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2018

    10
    Price..location..perfect
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were pleasantly surprised by what we found in our hotel room. It exceeded our expectations .... especially as some of the reviews were not so glowing. They are renovating the rooms and ours happened to be one of the completed ones. Great location + great price. Book it.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2018

    2.9
    ...that I could finally leave and have nice breakfast...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    1. Hotel in such quality should cost 10 Euro, not 42 withou breakfast. I am traveling on daily basis, I saw hunderds of hotels. But this was one of the worse. 2. Old, worn out, looks like low cost block of flats in Russia. 3. Reception was overloaded, receptionits were not skilled and their system of registering the customer was extremly complicated. It took us 30 minutes just to get room key. 4. Meal was overpriced, considering the quality. For example, croutons I had were not fried, they just cut very old bread in pieces.... very old bread. 5. Bathroom and toilet wouln't not be nice even 50 years ago.... and there was no money invested since the hotel was built. Same for furniture.

    ...that I could finally leave and have nice breakfast elsewhere.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2018

    9.2
    Enjoyed it..
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Triple Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location, nice and helpful staff. We chose the standard room and it was simple but clean and for that price we didn't expect more.... Internet was sufficient, but not super fast. We loved location, literally 3 minutes from station -bus and train, and 3 minutes from centre....great pizza and ice cream place right in front of the hotel! We would come back if we need accommodation in Poprad!.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2018

    5.8
    Good for a couple of days while traveling
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Old room, old furniture and bathroom, one of the pillows had what it seemed like lipstick and near the bed i noticed sweets on the carpet...

    Value for money for a couple of days

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2018

    4.6
    If you want to go to the tatras the hotel location is good,...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was not clean when we came so we had to wait. When we got it it was food in the fridge and hair on the floor. The second day we didn't get cleaning so we could not take a shower. We only got 10% discount.

    If you want to go to the tatras the hotel location is good, only 1 hour by train.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2018

    5.8
    Needs renovation
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hardest be I have ever seen. The interior and the windows for example are very old and it shows. Elevators are a bit scary too. The reception hall promises a lot, but for standard room at least it will give a disappointment.

    Location, safe parking, price

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2018

    5.0
    Terrible! It was the worse night! We
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was our worse night in Slovakia! The beds were strong and uncomfortable! Throughout the night there was noise from the outside. We didn’t sleep. We asked for an extra blanket but the staff said that they can’t give us.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    6.7
    Good base to visit the city and surrounding area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Not prepared for people with special needs. Access from street to lobby only by long stairs.

    Simple and cheap, but decent hotel. Located within walking distance of the city center where you can find many shops, bars and restaurants. Easy access by car and free parking. All major attractions in the area are within an hour's drive.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    4.6
    The price is very attractive knowing that you are only 20...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    The price is very attractive knowing that you are only 20 kilometres away from the High Tatras but I can say that I was very disappointed in my very short and overall experience at this hotel. At check-in we were rushed as they had another group which they wanted to get sorted before us even though none of the members of the group were present at the the reception desk. Even asking for tips about dinner seemed to be an impossible task for the two receptionists. Their reply, smiling to each other as they could not understand English. Our room was very basic and did not have that much of a view, if that is what you are searching for. With all this in mind and on our arrival in the city of Tatranska Lomnika, one of the top spots in the region, we decided to stay at a local hotel which gave us an authentic experience and one which I highly recommend. Skip Poprad and stay in the High Tatras. It's worth every penny!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    10
    Israel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good location close to main bus and train station and the city center, clean rooms. view on the high tatra from the balcony.the staff in the front desk very helpful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    9.2
    Recommend for friends trip
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    sadly, the beds were rather hard wifi could be improved, but generally ok

    Nice staff, very late checkin (almost midnight) was possible. Room: Even though the interior was quite outdated, we didn‘t miss anything and the family room was pretty large and well-equipped (including a small fridge!) Another plus: hot water & strong pressure! Great value for your money!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    9.2
    A comfortable stay with a post-Soviet feel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    The moment you open the curtains or enter the bathroom, you see the post Soviet legacy - old (but still clean) tiles and old windows, but that did not spoil the experience.

    The room itself looked very-well put together with clean sheets and a comfortable bed. The breakfast was nice. There is an awesome ice-cream stand right across the street from the hotel - definitely try it out!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    8.8
    Sudden overnight stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunately it is a bit tired, with a noisy heating system, and outdated bathroom and bedroom furnishings (but for the price - no problem!). It was also noisy. We arrived late but there were still people shouting and enjoying themselves far too much for 1-2am!

    We needed to stop in Poprad overnight because our flight was cancelled. (Thanks to Wizz Air for this unexpected opportunity to review the Hotel Satel). This hotel had a reception that was open at 1am and was about 100m from the railway station. It was also only 35€. The two employees that we dealt with were professional, could speak the essentials in English, and were helpful. The room was clean, had a comfortable bed, and up on the sixth floor there was quite a view over Poprad. They also supplied two bottles of water free of charge; not much maybe but after standing in various queues for 5 hours, very welcome.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2018

    7.9
    Good choice shall you need to stay 1 night in Poprad.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No swimming pool nor sauna. Unfurnished balcony. Early check out. No coffee/tea facilities at the room. Extra €6 charge for breakfast.

    Hotel got a balcony, what is always a great bonus. I have requested higher floor and this was granted. Room is simple, yet comfy. Warm enough in winter. Nearby train/bus station. Nearby takeaway pizza place open until late. Reception staff fast and efficient. 24h reception with option to buy drinks, snacks and cigarettes.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2018

    7.5
    Affordable location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The bed sheets and trash can, weren't changed/emptied in 6 days !!! the room windows and elevators need urgent replacement, only partially renovated, limited parking lots.

    Central location, mountain view, friendly and helpful staff, old-fashioned hotel but ok.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2018

    10
    Good value for money.
    • Solo traveller
    • Premium Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small choice in menu for lunch and dinner.

    Great location in walking distance from train station. Old fashioned facilities, but very clean and tidy. In premium room bed was very comfortable.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2018

    8.3
    I am satisfied. Everything was equal to description from the offer.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Maybe furniture can be replaced/updated

    Parking is free. Location, breakfast, wifi - All OK - as presented in the room description. Communication with stuff was excellent.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    8.3
    Warm rooms, clean toilets and bathrooms, quiet, and in city...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Triple Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Strange policy by management, by dividing guests by category!? For the same booking category you’ve got simple room, and in the meantime your neighbors can get higher class room, with modern furniture, chairs, firmed towels, water, candies, etc. Seems that nationality is playing role? Pity... Nevertheless, we were more than satisfied during stay...

    Warm rooms, clean toilets and bathrooms, quiet, and in city center. Staff was very polite.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2018

    5.8
    Hotel really needs to be reconstructed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Triple Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel really needs to be reconstructed. Old fashioned rooms. Breackfast is not sufficient to feel yourself filled. Anyway we don’t think that they cost the price the declarared.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    9.6
    amazing and memorable stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Premium Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights

    some little upgrade or check with light bulbs, but the rest were all great.

    i love the view from my room, i really love the location because it's in the center, near restaurants and train station, near the christmas market and the mall :) I hade a good memories in Poprad.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2017

    9.6
    Very nice staff, convenient location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The only electric socket we could find was in the bathroom, it was somewhat inconvenient having to charge our phones in there. (First world problems for sure.) Also there were no chairs in the room.

    Super nice staff, friendly and helpful. Great variety of food for breakfast. Very good location near the railway station and the town centre.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    7.9
    Nice location. Multilingual staff. Neutral level of cleaning. Parking is available but kinda full.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Triple Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was a problem with the card. It got through after 3 or 4 tries. At check in the lady kinda messed up the process. She added breakfast to our room but didn’t notify the person for next day so at check out we were asked to pay almost twice more but after my complaint they fixed it. Also the check-in lady was asking my friend with a ukrainian passport for a visa multiple times even after explaining that you dont need a visa to go to europe from ukraine since june.

    Quiet rooms. Nice breakfast. Excellent staff at the restaurant with good English. Helpful registry lady at checkout.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2017

    7.5
    Hotel Satel has a great location but it's style has been forgotten in the communist times...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Old windows, the key needs to be left in the reception, old style restroom and bathroom.

    This hotel provides comfortable stay but in the old style, don't expect any modern furniture and accommodation.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    10
    Great location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Rooms photographed a little nicer than they looked, however they were very cheap and were a lot nicer than the other rooms we looked at in poprad for the same price.

    Great location for us as we were catching the train to the tarta mountains. About a 5 minute walk to the train station. Also really close to many of the shopping centres there and aqua city. The staff were also very friendly and spoke english.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    8.3
    The hotel is located just in the center of Poprad.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is located just in the center of Poprad. It is not brand new but it is acceptably renovated. Breakfast is OK. Very good price for this quality.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2017

    9.6
    Nice holidays in Slovakia.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Nice hotel with very good breakfasts. No problem with parking my car - there is another parking at the back of the hotel in case the front parking is full. There is also second entrance to the hotel.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    7.9
    A mix of good and bad things.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel staff was not very nice, the receptionist wasn't very kind to us. The rooms' bathroom was a bit outdated and in need of an update - although not a terrible bathroom it contrasts a bit with the room which as a modern look to it.

    The hotel has a good location near the train station although not quite so near the city center. The breakfast was very diverse and generally good. The hotel was clean and the rooms had good lightning and a good decoration.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    8.8
    Old building but you get what you pay for
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathrooms are old havent been renovated in a while, breakfast is a bit expensive for whats on offer.

    Comfy beds, good location, helpfull staff, good wifi, hot water

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    9.2
    Renovated furniture ( ask/book premium room )
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dated bathroom and WC, but very clean and nothing was broken. This definitely NOT a problem.

    Renovated furniture ( ask/book premium room ) Helpfull staff Very good breakfast Cleanlines of the room Best value/money ratio

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    8.8
    Great stay, I would recommend
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi is practically nonexistent

    I like 90’ climate of this place, few minutes of walk to the city center (shops, pubs, bars). Great 1€/slice pizza across the street.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    9.2
    Good value hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    WiFi in the room not great. I had to squat by the door to get a decent signal.

    Good value hotel with all the facilities I needed, including a bag of ice for a sore knee.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    6.3
    Just ok, if your expetations are the same
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is rather old already. You can feel it everywhere. We were given a twin bed instead of a double one although requested.

    This is a cheap and accessible hotel if you need to sped somewhere a night next to the train station in Poprad.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2017

    5.4
    I am glad it was only a one night stand!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    the staff was arrogant and not helpful at all... even when I was trying to pay the bill the concierge twice kept shooing me away saying she was busy with work!!! I had to remind her I was not asking her out, I WAS HER WORK TOO!!!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2017

    9.2
    1 night only
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    The prenium rooms are nice decorated, the bathroom is a little bit older design but clean. Nice wiev from the balcony. Free parking in the hotel parking lot. Very kind staff, quick check-in and check-out. We were here second time.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    9.6
    Very friendly and knowleadgeble staff, very good selection...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The furniture in the room was a little bit obsolete, but the room was spotlessly clean.

    Very friendly and knowleadgeble staff, very good selection for breakfast, close to train station and to the city centre.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    9.2
    I enjoyed Slovak Plate for dinner as I always prefer local...
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was not enough choice in dinner menu.

    I enjoyed Slovak Plate for dinner as I always prefer local cousin. Breakfast was excellent, choice of four cooked meals, cereals, different kinds of bread and fruits, really enjoyable.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    10
    Breakfast was good, staff was really nice and helpful with...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was good, staff was really nice and helpful with any question, everything was clean and comfortable and the location is great, few minutes from the center where all the restaurants and bars are.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    6.3
    Good budget hotel, don't expect much if you choose the cheapest room, very outdated ...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    Cheaper rooms are very outdated, I mean speaking pre-1989 era. You will feel like you have stepped back in the time. Don't judge the hotel by the pics published on the booking.com. Unless you willing to spend more money on the more expensive rooms, you will feel like you are not getting any value. There are much better/cheaper options in Poprad with updated decor compared to Hotel Satel.

    White sheets, clean rooms in overall.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    7.5
    Great location (5 minutes walk from the train station making...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location (5 minutes walk from the train station making it a convenient location to visit the mountains for those not intending to stay at the many chalets at the foot of the mountains). comfortable place.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2017

    8.8
    very good value
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Premium Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    reception seemed to be staffed by a teenage boy and despite it not being very busy the check in process was incredibly slow. also the key to my room was broken. I didn't rate the kinky doors

    the room was large and clean and very good value. the hotel is across the road from tasty 2e/slice pizza, so you can feast whilst you're waiting at reception

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2017

    9.6
    Great value hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great value hotel! Friendly and helpful staff, clean and comfortable room and the balcony was a bonus for the price we paid. Close to the main bus and train stations.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2017

    8.8
    Good location to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is in center if town. Is easy to get to the hotel with a car. It takes few minutes to walk to the main square. It's good breakfast with plenty food to choose.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2017

    4.6
    An old-fashioned hotel contrary to what is shown in the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights

    An old-fashioned hotel contrary to what is shown in the pictures, does not match expectations and I would not go back there again and do not recommend it. Apart from the nice staff the hotel is not worth the price paid

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    6.7
    Very worn down hotel, but well located to sleep over
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    General renovation is neccessary. The hotel feels like a time machine taking you some 30 years back, both with how it looks and what it offers. It is however fine for one night stopover.

    - proximity to the train station - helpfull staff

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2017

    7.5
    Really close to the trainstation, not even 5 minute walk.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Premium Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Really close to the trainstation, not even 5 minute walk. So perfect if you're planning to go into the Tatra mountains. Bed was REALLY comfortable.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    8.3
    Good stay, comfortable beds, breakfast not too good but ok
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Triple Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    More modern style, card locks instead of keys

    80s design but very clean and well kept, great professional and friendly staff. Good place to stay for the price. Good WiFi.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    9.2
    Best value for price in a vintage hotel design
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom. Though clean, the shower / bath could use a refresh

    Value for money - location - vintage elements - friendly staff - discounts to different places (spa, club) - breakfast buffet - club in the hotel

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    9.6
    Best location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Premium Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights

    -Beds are twin even in double room. It would be nice to get some solution for it, as a sleep for couples is not really comfortable. But mattress and linens itself are great and soft. -Shower gels, shampoos and all the toiletries could be in better supply.

    We have stayed at the hotel for 2 nights. The purpose of visit was Slovenský raj and AquaCity. We have arrived by car and were very satisfied with the location. It is central, not far from the cafes and restaurants. (as well as the train station if you arrive by public transport). I would really recommend Cafe La Fee for morning coffee and treats. There is Beer Brewery Tatras where you can have dinner as well. And the best food we had for a good price is restaurant Hodovna. All these places are just 500m - 1 km away from the hotel. Slovenský raj is about 20 mins driving. So we were really satisfied with the choice.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    7.9
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Old windows and doors Half room was reconstructed and half of it was in original 30 - 40 yrs old

    Location Price Cheerful and helpful stuff Services Bed Separate WC from Bathroom

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2017

    7.5
    Good stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights

    - there is a night club on one side of the hotel and it can be quite loud on some nights - there are two types of rooms standard and premium: the premium rooms have old furniture and objects, but are still clean; most of the images on booking are from premium rooms - there should be an insect shield on the window - a small refrigerator will be useful

    + friendly and helpful staff + discount for aqua city Poprad with a card from the hotel + big and clean room + good location, lots of things to do in the area + good value for the money

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2017

    7.5
    - the staff were friendly and helpful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights

    - there is a night club on one side of the hotel and during the weekend it can get quite loud - there are two types of room: standard and premium, the standard rooms have old furniture and objects, but are still clean - there could be some improvements made: insect shield on the windows and a small refrigerator in the room would be useful

    - the staff were friendly and helpful - big and clean room - discount for aqua city Poprad with a card from the hotel - good value for the money - good location

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    7.1
    The receptional staff was great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We took a breakfast in the hotel. They served it from 7 am and at this time the restaurant was realy full. As result, the line for coffee/ tea was about 5 mins (they had only one coffee machine that served coffee and hot water). The hot water for tea was closer to cold, than to hot.

    The receptional staff was great. They gave all required information (about car, wifi, breakfast). The bedroom itself in the room is renovated.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2017

    8.3
    Good hotel for low amount of money
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I would improve the building from outside because it looks old. I would improve the bathroom which was also old a little. I would prefere to have more plugs in bedroom available because there is only one plug next to bed in each side so you can either have your lamp pluged in or charge your phone/notebook. I would improve wi-fi connection which was good but sometimes slow. A lamp in bedroom didn't work.

    I liked the location. Everything is near. I liked the staff who was really nice and everytime there for us. I liked the bedroom as well. In the picture it seems a little bit better but according to price it was what i expected.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2017

    8.8
    Awesome
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Triple Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights

    little "old" building and facilities

    cheap breakfast, place to store bikes, always nice and really helpful stuff, fair price even in high season

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    8.3
    Excellent location, could use a renovation
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    No air condition, hotel is quite old and rooms are renovated but the bathroom and balcon were not in the best shape

    Location of the hotel is excellent, staff was kind, free parking is available and a very good value for money

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    7.1
    The hotel is in a walking distance from a train station,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Triple Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Equipment of the rooms (esp. showers) are pretty old, almost like a retro style.

    The hotel is in a walking distance from a train station, breakfast is sufficient for demanding day in the mountains and quite good restarant is just accross the streat.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2017

    10
    Perfect Place in Poprad
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff was super friendly. The hotel was within 400 metres of the bus and train stations. The Old Town was walking distance as well, where there were plenty of restaurants, shops and bars. Great food closeby! Also, the room was clean, the beds were comfy, the pillows and duvet were fluffy and we had great view of the mountain range.

    Stayed in July 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: