Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Tatra Hotel 3 stars

Karpatska 7, 05801 Poprad, Slovakia

#14 of 20 hotels in Poprad

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 449 hotel reviews

8.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.4

  • Comfort

    7.7

  • Location

    8.5

  • Facilities

    7.5

  • Staff

    8.6

  • Value for money

    8.2

  • Free WiFi

    7.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 67

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2018

    5.0
    Close to the railway station and super market
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    When I made my booking I filtered for pet friendly hotel . When I arrived at the hotel they tried to charge me extra for having a pet. I simply said no because booking stated no extra costs and it doesn’t make sense to add it to my bill when I’ve already paid, once I arrive. This morning when I was asking for a late checkout the receptionist literally attacked me for damaged sheets (stains on them after Leia). Well, I said it’s not very clever to have WHITE sheets in a pet friendly hotel room. I tried to reason with her in a calm way, and also said that I wanted to talk about it but she got so upset she didn’t want to speak to me. I even kept my calm when she was aggressively asking if I don’t understand over and over. Going at me so hard for dirt stains on the sheets is quite absurd. If you can’t clean that then maybe you need to educate your staff on how to wash sheets.

    Close to the railway station and super market

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2018

    5.8
    If it costs more than 15€ per night/person - don't go!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very noisy, you feel like sleeping on the railways station, trains are passing by every 30 minutes. As we visited during summer - it was too hot to sleep with the window closed, so due to the noise - we nearly didn't sleep at all... Breakfast was definitely not good. A lot of things to choose, but the problem is that the selection is made based on the cheapest products on market... Black tee awful, ham disgusting... What they call a "restaurant" looks like a canteen from 60's. Chairs looks worst than in public transportation, you need to think twice before sitting... Staff at the "restaurant" not customer-oriented at all (which is the opposite to good service at the reception). Waiter (who in the end appeared to be the manager of the restaurant) cleaned our table. All crumbs felt down on the chair of my friend. Guy didn't cleaned that nor even said he's sorry. Friend needed to clean it all herself before sitting. Old hotel, old furnitures, everything old. They should close it and rebuild, otherwise - I don't recommend... Definitely not worth for the money paid. It might be because we've been there in the high season where all hotels were quite expensive. But to sum it up - if it costs more than 15 EUR per person per night for the moment of your stay - don't book it.

    Room was big, bad was ok. Nice staff at the reception, they let us leave the luggages at the reception at the early morning, hours before planned check-in, which was highly appreciated. Right next to the railway station.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2018

    7.1
    Good but nothing more
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Apartment
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Old facilities. The room was musky and every electrical machine was not pluged in, as if they didnt expect our arrival although we had a reservation. The kitchentte conclude of a sink, a fridge and a couple of plates. No pans or pots, no glasses except for an espresso. At breakfast it took a long time to refill items that ran out.

    Spacious room, helpfull staff. Breakfast was pretty good. Free parking. Close to bus stations. Close to supermarkets.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2018

    7.5
    I was staying overnight on route from the capital to the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I was staying overnight on route from the capital to the north-east, the night sleep was refreshing. I was not looking for luxurious, high-class place on purpose, so yeah, nothing special. The location is advantageously close to the train and bus stations. The breakfast is definetly better than the one in the nearby Satel. The restaurant is covered with amazing pictures of nature and landscapes, and over the bar is a small toy dog - go take a look.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2018

    10
    Great place to relax after a whole day walk in Tatry Mountains.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I enjoyed very much stay at Tatra Hotel. Place is clean and comfortable and the staff is very kind and helpful. What convinced me most to stay there was the location - close to the Stary Smokoviec where the major mountain trail starts. Besides hotel is close to the city center, train station and beautiful cathedral is just round the corner! I do reccomend this place.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2018

    6.7
    Convenient but characterless
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No character inside or out. Small rooms with inadequate curtains that didn’t cut out any light. Very basic breakfast.

    Convenient for the station and bus station. Clean rooms.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2018

    8.3
    Excellent location, ok for business trip
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    All hotel looks like from soviet era. Rooms were ok, but corridors or entrace hall could scare travelled not used to Central european reality :D

    Staff was friendly and helpfull WIFI worked excellent

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2018

    5.0
    The staff was nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very hot inside if the rooms, no fan or ac. Noise from the trains starts at about 6:00am and wakes you up. The bed was very uncomfortable.

    The staff was nice.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    5.0
    Very basic
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel staff were rude and not helpful Massage was not available all weekend Sheets were not changed for duration of trip Pillows were horrible Had to buy some toilet roll as not services every day

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    5.8
    Couldn’t get a coffee or tea after 9pm.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Couldn’t get a coffee or tea after 9pm. Staff were not very friendly and rude, especially the women. No smiles. Ran out of stuff all the time. Room wasn’t cleaned. No fresh towels until night before going home. Had to buy loo rolls.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    7.1
    Overall good stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    At the arrival, we lost electricity in our room, but the staff resolved this issue fast enough. The nearby train station and neighboring inhabitants caused noises at the nighttime.

    Delicious and rich breakfast, the bed was overall comfort, but with solid mattress. Located near the train and bus station, close Poprad city center.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    8.3
    Great base for excursions in the Tatra mountains
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Construction sites around the building. Our rooms (on the 6th floor) didn't have fridge. No kettle to boil water for tea or coffee and no spoons.

    Very easily accessible from the railway station (5 min walk) and the bus station (2 min walk). BILLA supermarket nearby. Downtown 10-15 min walk. Free WIFI. Hair dryer in the bathroom. Liquid soap provided in the bathroom plus 1 packet of shampoo per person. Towels provided. Glass cups in room. Big wardrobe for clothes. Luggage storage before Check In and After Check Out. Nice buffet breakfast with good variety of food. Staff were helpful in giving directions and info about transportation. Bicycles and walking sticks are available for rent (although we didn't use them).

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    9.2
    you can say a lot of good things about this hotel, the staff...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    the wifi was horrible, which for me was a big problem, half of the time it wasn't working at all or

    you can say a lot of good things about this hotel, the staff is nice, the rooms were clean, was easy to find.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    6.7
    Not a Good Experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Whilst Eastern Europe is known for their firm mattresses, the ones at the Tartra were the worst we have slept on in the three countries we have visited on this holiday. We were actually in pain (this has never happened before) and did not get a great deal of sleep as a result. Wifi was beyond terrible and we could not book our onward accommodation or transport as a result. If you need wifi coverage we recommend you do not stay here.

    Location was right across bus parking area. Couldn't have been easier to find. Reception staff..indeed all staff were very friendly and pleasant. Some staff could speak English which was a big help for us. Bar prices were good and try the ginger/lemon/lime drink!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2017

    7.9
    Good value hotel in Tatra
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff are rather shy and so do not speak to guests. This can feel a bit unwelcoming

    The mountains are stunning. Receptionist very helpful about amending our reservation when it was hard via Bookings. Thank you so much

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2017

    10
    Excellent value and location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Everything as expected

    Good location directly opposite railway and bus station, supermarket nearby. Good for skiers as train takes you into mountains. Reasonable restaurant and excellent value for money. On site car parking

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2017

    7.5
    An average hotel that does a good, substantial job.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It is a middle-of-the road type hotel, not fabulous, but nothing really to dislike either.

    Close to the train station. Good view of the mountains from my room on the 7th floor.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2017

    10
    We liked the attitude of manager Jana, she was very helpful...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    WiFi connection was unstable, sometimes disappeared and sometimes was not working at all.

    We liked the attitude of manager Jana, she was very helpful and kind and the receptionist (a man, unfortunately, don't remember his name) very pleasant and helpful. All the stuff was very nice. Tatra hotel in Poprad is a great place to stay.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2018

    8.8
    Very good bed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very good bed. And very good breakfast.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2018

    9.2
    Perfect location near to the railway and bus station, very...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perfect location near to the railway and bus station, very friendly and helpful staff, good restaurant with excellent value of money.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2018

    7.5
    Good personell
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Distance of toilet (closet) from wall is short. My leg are longer.

    Good, simple accommodation

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2018

    9.6
    End of the trip
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is conveniently located for the bus and train station...but a bit out of the way for the high Street.

    A step back in time...

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2018

    7.9
    Overall met our expectations
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pillows were awful

    Breakfast was excellent

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2018

    9.6
    Walk this Way!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    It was a decent quality walker's and winter sports hotel that is excellent value for money. The staff are very friendly and very helpful.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2018

    8.8
    Great cover; for a good price.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast was limited.

    Friendly staff; good value for money.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2018

    9.2
    Central location, close to the center, bus and train station, excellent starting point for excurs
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    the cleanliness of the room, the attentiv of the hotel staff, the delicious and rich bufet breakfast

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2018

    10
    Nice, quite and clean
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    All was ok

    Cleanliness, location, price

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2018

    6.7
    Breakfast and location is very good
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff was not really polite and we did not feel welcome. The room could be cleaner.

    Breakfast and location is very good

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    9.2
    budget accommodation in a great area ideal for exploring...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    budget accommodation in a great area ideal for exploring the tatras. Very friendly helpful staff.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    4.6
    Good breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room is at the level of a youth hostel, one receptionist does not know English

    Good breakfast

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    10
    Decent hotel next to the bus station.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No view on the mountains from my room =)

    Decent hotel next to the bus station. Nothing to complain.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    9.2
    No kettle, but you could ask for boiled water from hotel...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No kettle, but you could ask for boiled water from hotel restaurant.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    8.8
    Close to the railway station :)
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    -

    Close to the railway station, friendly staff, free wifi.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2017

    7.5
    Small bathrooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Small bathrooms. No air-conditions

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    9.6
    Great location in Poprad
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast could be a little more diverse

    Great location, nice staff, clean rooms, comfortable beds

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2017

    9.2
    Very dificult acces to the lifts - only for young healthy...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very dificult acces to the lifts - only for young healthy people.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2017

    9.6
    Realy recommendable
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very clean...comfortable mattresses in bed :) Close to bus & train station !

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2017

    8.8
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2017

    6.3
    Really bad wi-fi
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Really bad wi-fi

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2017

    9.6
    This was a great place to stay in early April.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Location is close to the train and bus stations. The room rate was great due to the time of year.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2017

    8.8
    Good and clean place
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was clean and functional, all prefect. Staff was very friendly, breakfast choice was really surprisingly good.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2017

    8.8
    Clean and comfortable hotel, kind and helpful staff, nice...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Clean and comfortable hotel, kind and helpful staff, nice breakfast. Good starting point to explore the Tatra.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2017

    8.8
    Very good value for money choice in Poprad.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent location near bus and train stations. Great view from my room. Very good breakfast.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2016

    8.3
    Perfect location for hikers
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Many staff members do not speak English.

    Good price, perfect location for Tatra mountains hiking. The breakfast was delicious with a wide selection.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2016

    8.3
    Good proposition for good money (breakfast included!
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends

    Good proposition for good money (breakfast included!). Friendly stuff. "Billa" supermarket is across the street. Location is not too far from city center. Mountain view from windows.

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2015

    7.9
    The hotel´s proximity to the bus and train station, plus the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    With no aircon in the room, it was a bit stuffy (airless) but train noise meant it was too noisy to have the windows open. Breakfast was only adequate made better with the gluten free bread but otherwise selection was very limited

    The hotel´s proximity to the bus and train station, plus the supermarket nearby. The staff also met my request for gluten free bread which was much appreciated

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2015

    8.3
    Excellent location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Haven't cleaned the gabbage bin when we checked-in to the room.

    Excellent location. Next to bus and train stations. 10-15mins walk to the centre. Rich breakfast buffet.

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2015

    7.9
    The hotel is easy to find.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The shower courtain was too short and bathroom floor was wet after taking a shower. Shower cabin floor was cracked. The wi-fi was quite slow at times. No fridge in the room.

    The hotel is easy to find. It's old fashioned. The room was big, but we had three beds in the room although we booked a twin room. The room was clean, the hotel was quite silent. The staff was very nice and kind. There is a supermarket very close to the hotel. The view of the mountains is breathtaking. Breakfast very consistent, plenty of food, loved that :D

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2015

    8.3
    Hotel very usefull when you wanna hiking in the Tatras.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Strange atmosphere in the town. Nothing to do in the town, but you normally go there for hiking maybe

    Hotel very usefull when you wanna hiking in the Tatras. Huge breakfast

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2015

    7.5
    Close to railway station and town centre.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    slightly drab furnisihings. Curtains thin. Steps to get to lift might upset those less mobile.

    Close to railway station and town centre. Made me a packed breakfast (by prior arraangement) becuase I was leaving early.

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2015

    8.3
    Close to the railway station and a ten minute walk to the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Wifi a little slow.

    Close to the railway station and a ten minute walk to the town centre. Breakfast offered earlier than the 0700 start time for early departures.

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2015

    3.3
    location is okay between stations and center;
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Worst breakfast ever, coffee?? undrinkable!! hard-fried-eggs uncuttable!! rooms like a dorm or hostel, no comfort, dirty old carpets in the room; noisy cleaning staff early morning. MAX. 2 STARS!!

    location is okay between stations and center; friendly staff.

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2015

    8.8
    good location - direct by railway station and bus station.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Eastern European style

    good location - direct by railway station and bus station. Perfect for short stay. in 4-hours distance by train is Bratislava; + 1 hour and you are in Vienna!

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2016

    7.5
    Location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Location.

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2016

    10
    Food , staff all
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Food , staff all

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2015

    9.2
    Good value and a convenient location for train and bus
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Good value and a convenient location for train and bus

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2015

    3.8
    Nothing
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Very Poor accessibility

    Nothing

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2015

    9.2
    Breakfast was awesome.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The bed wasn't comfortable, and the wifi signal was poor, but I could everytime use it.

    Breakfast was awesome. Rooms are clean.

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2015

    7.1
    Good breakfast and located next to train station and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Wifi was very slow at times.

    Good breakfast and located next to train station and supermarket. Excellent!

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2015

    7.9
    WiFi signal was strong but Internet itslef SLOW.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    WiFi signal was strong but Internet itslef SLOW.

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2015

    8.3
    Close to railway station & easy to find.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    No coffee on sale in lobby bar (only drinks).

    Close to railway station & easy to find.

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2015

    8.3
    Very good quality/price-rate, big rooms, wonderful view...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Very good quality/price-rate, big rooms, wonderful view to mountains.

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2015

    6.7
    close to railway station
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    No wifi in room

    close to railway station

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2015

    7.5
    Free of use computer with internet at the reception area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Poor Wifi signal in the room. Uncomfortable bed.

    Free of use computer with internet at the reception area. Nice stuff.

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2015

    10
    Staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Wifi

    Staff

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2015

    7.5
    older equipments
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    older equipments breakfest

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2015

    10
    Everything is great!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Everything is great!

There are also 24 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 67

Guests also reviewed these properties: