Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Silvana 3 stars

Via Del Serrone 15, 47890 San Marino, San Marino

#19 of 31 hotels in San Marino

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 171 hotel reviews

8.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.6

  • Comfort

    7.8

  • Location

    8.7

  • Facilities

    8.2

  • Staff

    9.1

  • Value for money

    8.7

  • Free WiFi

    9.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 28

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staying at this hotel was one of the best experiences I have had, the staff were amazing, hospitality was phenomenal and the food was fantastic! Would recommend 1000%! A big thank you to all the staff for making my trip a very memorable one. I will definitely be visiting again.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very pleasant stay and perfect friendly service. Especially mother of the owner who offered us breakfast after the time they already have been finished!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Allowing for the half mile horizontally and 500 feet vertically, nothing. We have stayed in lots of fine little hotels, and Silvania tops the list.

    This is a small (15 or so rooms) family-run hotel. It is squeeky clean. The family, especially the Maestro, Mario, do all they can to make visitors comfortable,including, in our case, personally delivering us to the preferred spot to start our walking tour. San Marino is,basically, vertical, and the preferred spot ws high-up, near the castle. His hospitality was doubly appreciated because my friend and I both have trouble walking and need all the help we can get from gravity. The tour downward through the town was fabulous - it is a story-book place. The view from our balcony was fabulous - watch the sun go down, beyond Tuscany, and the lights, far below, come on. Another key point: the hotel's restaurant is the best seafood place in all of San Marino and most of Italy. Each evening,it is packed with locals, with kids. Try the flounder or spaghetti with shrimp. The most famous restaurant in San Marino, Titano is great, and famous, but no greater and much more expensive than Silvania's restaurant - the Piccolo. Breakfast is outstanding. Marvelous pastries, mostly made by the Grandmama, who serves you breakfast. The hotel is only a half mile from the heart of the city, but 500 or so feet below. So unless you are in great shape and like to walk, getting there requires a bus or taxi. Since you only go up and back down once a day, that is the closest thing to a (small) problem. we encountered in San Marino. San Marino is a terrific place, and Silvania is the best part.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom was very small. Linen was not very good

    Staff are excellent. So helpful and friendly. Location is great ... just a short walk up to all the main attractions. The hotel looks over the mountains with endless views of forest. Easy to find. Breakfast is very simple but enjoyable

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower room a bit small.Room light not bright enough to read in.

    Mario was very welcoming and helpful.Close to the old town.Great views.Good breakfast.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room and bathroom were quite small but OK for a short break

    Mario met us at reception and provided a welcome drink. He was extremely helpful advising on the best things to see, where to park etc. The on-site restaurant was excellent and very lively. We were able to get wifi in the room. All of the staff were very good.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Double Room (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 1 night

    This is a very nice place. Considering its modest price I was surprised to find so many amenities (a/c, fridge, midsize tv) but most of all the fantastic breakfast with a wide selection of locally produced food (I just loved the casatella). My thanks go to Mario and his staff for running such a nice hotel. Hope to stay there again!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to fault.

    Host was excellent; a glass of cold rose at reception; very helpful & friendly. Great breakfast selection: fresh fruit, meats & cheeses; cakes & cereals. Boiled eggs just for us. Complimentary rose at dinner. Stayed an extra night.Easy parking on site.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Friendly staff. Gave a lot of useful information for sightseeing in the city. We could leave our luggage at the hotel until our bus in the afternoon

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very warm welcome

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very nice location for tourists who wish to visit San Marino. Friendly host and reasonable prices.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bad was not so confortable. It was too soft.

    The staff was very kind. Excellent breakfast.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No taxy service in this town. You have to walk up a steep road often with no sidewalk to get to town.

    Great value. Friendly breakfast staff.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very nice atmosphere of this place. The breakfast is good. Close to the center. Big greeting to Mario and his son!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    None.

    Helpful staff; excellent Italian breakfast. Large balcony looking over the valley.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The restaurant on ground floor is fabulous, both food and service.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Low light. Tight bathroom.

    Very thouthful staff. Quite everything on place as it should.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wifi not available in the breakfast room

    Friendly staff English spoken by some Italian dishes in the Piccalo Restaurant on site

    Stayed in November 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 21 December 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    I really recommend this hotel. The personel is very friendly and they helped me very well with everything. I had to go early and they made a special breakfast for me, they helped me to find the right connection to Rimini (Italy) and gave me nice tips about things to do in San Marino. The food in the restaurant is really good and not expensive. In 15 minutes walk you're in the city center of San Marino. The WIFI is good and the rooms are comfortable.

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The room lacked warmth, but the manager made up for it

    The guest host was really great: extremely friendly and helpful The restaurant was good, the settings beautiful

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Bedroom lighting a bit dubious but didn't spoil the experience.

    Lovely staff who were so helpful. Food in restaurant was excellent. Car parking on site was a bonus.

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The check-in process was a joke, with a young boy on the reception desk playing a loud computer game and the hotel owner trying to talk to us above the noise and seemingly more interested in focusing on the boy. Also, for the money, the room was very small, the lighting in the room was abysmal and the shower room was barely big enough to move in. Very poor value for money.

    The location. It was c.2.2 km walk, but we knew that beforehand, and we didn't mind at all. It was easy to get to the old, historic town. The hotel has space for parking the car, which is the main reason we booked that hotel.

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    No complaints at all

    Staff were very friendly and pointed out discounts and best places to go, which was great as I was there for a short stay. Walking distance to everything.

  • Reviewed: 3 February 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Room was very basic and sad looking. Small and cramped. The bathroom was very small and uncomfortable. The towels were of the old Italian style resembling more a table-cloth than a towel. One would think you can get normal towels anywhere today. The bed wasn't very comfortable. The Lighting in the room was very low. The WiFi (free) was no good.

    Price and the fact that I was admitted at 01:00 (after a flight delay) without a problem. Private parking.

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Small rooms, small bathroom.

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Average room and decor

    Good location, only 15 minutes walk to the old town. Off-street free parking

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very friendly staff included Mario. Food excellent !! Thanks for everything

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Wifi

    Location,free parking

There are also 5 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 28

Browse Hotel Silvana traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: