Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Divi Little Bay Beach Resort 3 stars

Little Bay Road, Philipsburg, Philipsburg, Sint Maarten

#3 of 6 hotels in Philipsburg

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 72 hotel reviews

8.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.2

  • Comfort

    8.4

  • Location

    8.9

  • Facilities

    7.8

  • Staff

    8.1

  • Value for money

    7.6

  • Free WiFi

    7.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 60

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2018

    7.5
    The location is lovely as are the rooms, Bed/linens...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Beachfront Guestroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I would have liked to know that the full cost of the room plus all taxes and fees would be charged within days of booking; I would have liked to know that a $100 USD security deposit would be charged at checking for a one night stay; I would have appreciated a more candid assessment of the post hurricane rebuilding.

    The location is lovely as are the rooms, Bed/linens other room amenities; and staff members are incredibly friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2018

    7.9
    Enjoyable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Beachfront Guestroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Still recovering from Hurricane Irma. Lots of construction going on, the main restaurant has not re-opened. A number of guests experienced a water outage which thankfully didn't affect us. The island has come along way since the storm and it's getting better and better.

    beautiful property and location, staff was friendly, rental cars and taxis on property, every room has a great view.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    6.3
    At the end of the day I needed somewhere to stay. I stayed.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Beachfront Guestroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    No details upon arrival of any facilites or resturants on site. Given my room card and directed towards the room. No plesantries at all. Did not get a printed bill when I left, and, no email either. Not very happy about that

    Bed was comfortable

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    8.3
    Great Getaway for Brief relaxation
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights

    small repairs in room was needed.. ie microwave did not work, kitchen sink faucet was loose

    food was fresh and flavored well, beach was clean and easily accessible

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2017

    9.2
    Very good in July, fantastic in winter!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Music at the bar (near the restaurant) was way too loud; it forced us to eat elsewhere. Too many buffet nights at the restaurant, without an "a la carte" option. More attention to maintenance needed; we had to secure our balcony door with a wooden stick - a little nuisance.

    Location, landscaping, architecture, cleanliness, helpful staff. Very nice, weather protected beach. Our grand children enjoyed snorkeling in the small rocky area at the beach; plenty of fish. Very good restaurant. The in-room safes are very convenient.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2017

    7.5
    Divi stands for "divine"!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Studio Suite
    • Stayed 5 nights

    I would of liked that the convenience store opened a little later. It closes at 8.00 pm!

    Housekeeping did an excellent job! food was good and enough to choose from. front desk staff was very helpful when our booking did not seem to be in the system.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2017

    10
    Beautiful little gem !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Beachfront Guestroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not many restaurants onsite. More options in nearby Phillipsburg a short Cab ride away. Would probably rent a car to see the other beaches and shops on the island.

    Beautiful beach resort ! Very friendly staff. Accomodations are comfortable. Food is excellent.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2017

    7.1
    The bed and room was comfortable and great ocean view.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Beachfront Guestroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The food was not that great. The wifi was very slow and would not connect sometimes. You really need vehicle to get around. Not much accessible by foot.

    The bed and room was comfortable and great ocean view. The beach was ok but the water was cold at this time.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2017

    2.9
    This vacation was a flop due to Booking.com
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Beachfront Guestroom
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Never book through your organization again for one. Check with our friends on who they use to book vacations.

    Nothing about Divi your website show one thing and we got something totally different. The only thing we got from the picture you posted of the facility was the shower and you could not stand to be in the bathroom because it reaked of urine

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 December 2016

    3.3
    Outdated and overrated! Please spend your money elsewhere!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Totally overrated, the hotel staff is not helpful and does not even try to. Room is dirty with mould and possibly rats (or some other animal) which eat up bread and bananas in the night. Gross! Outdated furniture and a horrible bed which moves by every move, so you really need to take care not to move a lot in order to get a sleep. So called kitchen was equipped with a lot of gadgets, but no basic food, e.g. coffee filter, salt, pepper, olive oil, all absent! You have to buy everything else yourself. Only dishwashing utils were there. So in order to cook you need to buy a lot of things but in order to clean the kitchen please feel free. We expected too much because it looked so nice on pictures and the high price, but it's not. The only friendly person, who actually was interested in our stay, was the taxi driver taking us to the airport.

    Only the view is beautiful.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 December 2016

    7.9
    Great place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Beachfront Guestroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice 0.36 mile beach. Calm sea. Good food. Clean comfortable room. Upgraded immediately when the idiots who had checked out were still in the room we'd been allocated! Easy access to both airport and cruise ships.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 December 2016

    8.8
    Relaxing, Enjoyable, Friendly
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Beachfront Guestroom
    • Stayed 4 nights

    If you enjoy going to a place and staying onsite it was great! If you want to site see or explore there are no ways to do that without renting a car or taxi.

    The staff was excellent! The room was in need of some repairs but, the view was amazing.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2016

    10
    Love the place and people
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Studio Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The location is just perfect. In fact it's a wonderful small village at the seaside. From appartement to pool to beach within meters. St Maarten people are very friendly.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2016

    7.9
    Nice but not the best
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Beachfront Guestroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No bottle of water in the room and the breakfast was so expensive $14 per person - nothing special, but for that price you receive a really nice breakfast for two at Marigot

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    6.7
    Stay-cation
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pricing was falsely advertise,

    Room spacious clean and room service was good.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    10
    Paradise.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Beachfront Guestroom
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Leaving

    Perfect beach , brilliant diving facilities ..& best location.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2017

    10
    Relax, enjoyable and excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    None

    Nice sea view room 219

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2017

    10
    Pleased
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Didn't wake up in time for breakfast

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2017

    8.3
    The friendly staff and the professionalism.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio Suite
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I can't i experienced anything bad abt the property

    The friendly staff and the professionalism. Convenient location

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2017

    7.5
    People at bar and restaurant
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Beachfront Guestroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had a reservation for a 3 personsroom. We got a double. It was cramped. No enough room voor the suitcases.

    People at bar and restaurant

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2017

    8.3
    Comfortable resort !
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • One-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    More restaurants would be nice! Conf

    Most staff friendly!! I like that they put more money back into the resort!

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2017

    6.7
    Can't beat the location and beach
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Studio Suite
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Towel service Place closes down at ten and there is no where to get a late snack

    Location and grounds

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2017

    2.9
    Not clean, out of shape.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Beachfront Guestroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not clean, out of shape. Food was awful, except For pizza. Full of package tour groups

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2017

    10
    Best of best
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Beachfront Guestroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    That we had to leave

    Upgraded to a suite it was the best, two patios a kitchen etc.. Every one was sooo nice

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2017

    8.3
    Lovely resort!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The wifi didn't work in the room and the shower was freezing cold and wouldn't go hot!

    The room was spacious and the bed really comfy!

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2016

    7.5
    Ok
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Need more staff

    Location

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2016

    8.8
    Lovely location and beautiful resort.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Beachfront Guestroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bars were understaffed and the most pleasant person we met was the bellman.

    The studio was large and comfortable with a great view.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2016

    9.6
    There were more than enough beach chairs and umbrellas and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    A friend I met at the resort informed me that the side mirror from their rental car was stolen overnight, that made me feel a little uncomfortable.

    There were more than enough beach chairs and umbrellas and the staff was amazingly friendly!

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2016

    10
    Incredibly beauty property on peninsula between two seas.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    No room service.

    Incredibly beauty property on peninsula between two seas. Gorgeous grounds, perfectly maintained. Quiet and faced Philipsburg but could walk across lane and face Caribbean. Complete condo facilities--full kitchen, lr, balcony. Staff incredibly helpful. Golf cart for transportation. Taxi stand there & shops including grocery store. Wonderful dinner buffet on Thurs & Mon.

  • Reviewed: 3 February 2016

    8.3
    Location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Did not like the vendors on the beach bothering us all the time. Four the first day in the first hour. But this is everywhere we've been told.

    Location! Celebrated special occasion and the waiter was the absolute best!!!!

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2016

    7.5
    Confortable beds, good shower, clean room and in front of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Confortable beds, good shower, clean room and in front of the beach, nice attendents and good restaurants and bar. We were there for 10 days and it was great.

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2016

    5.8
    View and beach.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Lots of unhelpful staff. Really made me feel like asking them anything was an inconvenience. Plus, resort wasn't nearly as luxurious as I was expecting/hoping. Broken things in room. No room service. Final important thing: time share sales pitch was annoying and intrusive.

    View and beach. Drinks were good. Water was gorgeous. Had amazing sunset view.

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2016

    8.3
    Distance from Airport and to Phillipsburg was acceptable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Distance from Airport and to Phillipsburg was acceptable. (Walked to and from Philipsburg) Reserved a normal room and got a kitchenette with balcony and view to Philipsburg. Were able to see fish by snorkeling . Edmond was very helpful at the reception office.

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2015

    4.2
    the weather
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Room never got vaccumed - all week there was holes in the plaster on the walls at the ceiling I had to request the cleaning staff to clean the toilet and shower It took 2 days to get towels form the front desk a waitress at Gizmo's - told us that our tip was divided with other servers - saying that our tip wasn't enough - very rude. We were very disappointed - we hoped to return - and become a member of the Divi resorts - trying other islands, but now we don't know.

    the weather

  • Reviewed: 24 December 2015

    8.8
    The fact that I didn't have to leave the ground for...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The final charge to my card after the ad on booking.com. I don't mind but don't advertise one thing and charge something else out an explanation.

    The fact that I didn't have to leave the ground for anything.

  • Reviewed: 15 December 2015

    6.7
    Location was as expected but beach needed to be better...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The outside bar was not as good as expected, drinks poorly put together and lacked taste. Dinning was also poor, if you wanted more then just bar food you needed to travel out-side the resort.

    Location was as expected but beach needed to be better maintained. overall though the facility was good.

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2015

    3.8
    Good location.
    • Business trip
    • Group

    Bad front desk service. Poor facility, room telephone is broken, no wifi. Hotel did not accept my second reservation and refused to take responsibility. When showing her confirmation printout, the manager still refused to take any measures for any solution. However when my local friend came, they found my reservation in their booking system. I'll never book this incredible hotel and let all my friends know it.

    Good location.

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2015

    10
    We were pleasantly surprised with our room for our honeymoon...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Mosquitos are all over the island but not the resorts fault.

    We were pleasantly surprised with our room for our honeymoon that was right over the water! We had some travel issues arriving on our due date and The Divi did not charge us for the missed first night. We ended up changing our flights to stay two days longer and Divi made accommodations for us to stay in our same beautiful room. Great spot!!

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2015

    7.5
    nice resort with 3 pools and beach, we loved Gizmo the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    could not provide us converter for European electricity plug (isn't it EU territory?) and I was very disappointed with Water aerobics trainer because he told he does not hold the class if I am the only who would like to join (he told he would feel like he is doing the exercises ALONE...) and he did not even look for other participants just played with his mobile phone!

    nice resort with 3 pools and beach, we loved Gizmo the parrot, staff is very friendly and takes care of guests

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2015

    9.6
    Carey, Don, Armino, Donna and the rest of the beach crew...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The breakfast was extremely overpriced.

    Carey, Don, Armino, Donna and the rest of the beach crew really made our stay amazing. We enjoyed laying out on the beach all day with this friendly group of people!

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2015

    7.1
    The location next to Phillipsburg and the beach and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Staff not as attentive as they could be. Things were not clear as to how they operated. Beach pass, etc. Bugs in room were not enjoyable.

    The location next to Phillipsburg and the beach and snorkeling were excellent.

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2015

    7.5
    The scenery was beautiful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Being in sales, I don't need to be badgered about the timeshares. 3 phones calls and messages, in addition to constant questions at every walk was too much. We have other timeshares and if we were interested, we would've been happy to let you know.

    The scenery was beautiful. Blake was very helpful!! Bartenders are attentive and entertaining.

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2015

    9.6
    Not crowded
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Bartending staff not always that pleasant More food choices would be good

    Not crowded Not many kids Lots of long timers Close to Town Beautiful Beach

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2015

    7.5
    Access to the beach.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Many of the staff were barely helpful. We arrived and were allocated a room that was not as requested. We then had to ring and get a room with two beds as arranged.

    Access to the beach.

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2015

    5.0
    Leaving.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Staff tried to bump us from booked accommodation to 'upgrade' which was their self-catering apartments and not beachfront suites as confirmed. No resident manager on site (or not prepared to show). Took 5 hours from arrival to get accommodation as booked.

    Leaving.

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2015

    8.3
    great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    room comfortable but nothing out of the ordinary. activity, location made up for that.

    great location. walked out my door to the beach. great entertainment. lots going on. we had a car and did the island.

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2015

    7.9
    Excellent location and enjoyed various resort amenities such...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Wifi was down for most of the time. Phone service was unavailable with Verizon cell phones. Texting was unavailable.

    Excellent location and enjoyed various resort amenities such as water sports availability and restaurants. The resort also offered tours of the island and a bus ride to the Mardi Gras parade in Grand Case on the French side, which is a must do. Friendly staff.

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2015

    9.6
    one day before getting on a cruise ship was perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    would have been nice to check in before 4:00.

    one day before getting on a cruise ship was perfect. Close to town and the docks, but a beautiful quiet beach and really nice room.

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2015

    8.3
    Property is close to cruise port and in a beautiful location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    We were in a beach front room with a small porch, which had a table and two chairs. The room was small with two double beds and a nice size bathroom. The amenities in room were standard and sparse. A/C was noisy. Just a basic room.

    Property is close to cruise port and in a beautiful location. We walked entire property and the views and grounds are very nice. The Restaurant and Bar on water had amazing views of the bay an sunset was breathtaking. Mostly all of the staff were accommodating and nice.

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2016

    10
    Everything was amazing:
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Everything was amazing: location beach pools food drinks grounds

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2016

    7.5
    unit was very good big and comfortably
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    only one real resturant expensive breakfast

    unit was very good big and comfortably

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2016

    7.1
    they ran out of coffee to put in your room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    they ran out of coffee to put in your room

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2015

    9.2
    Beautiful property, great beach
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Beautiful property, great beach

  • Reviewed: 24 December 2015

    9.2
    beach front view
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    the internet wifi was poor to none

    beach front view

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2015

    10
    Comfortable room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Comfortable room. Beautiful views. Friendly staff. It would have been nice to have a floor length mirror in the room.

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2015

    6.7
    Location to beach
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Rooms definitely needs update. Don't leave any food out as it attracts cockroaches and ants.

    Location to beach

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2015

    7.5
    Location was ideal
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Bartending staff were unfriendly and unpleasant

    Location was ideal

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2015

    7.5
    we had a very loud room location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    we had a very loud room location. Also we found a cockroach in the shower on our final day of state which really bothered my wife

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2015

    7.1
    location, snorkeling, food
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    staff was not very attentive

    location, snorkeling, food

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2015

    5.8
    Very slow at checkout.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Very slow at checkout. 30 minutes.

There are also 8 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 60

Guests also reviewed these properties: