Accommodations Flights Flight + Hotel Car Rentals Airport Taxis
  1. Hotel reviews homepage
  2. Swaziland hotel reviews
  3. Lobamba hotel reviews
  4. Reviews of Mlilwane Wildlife Sanctuary

Reviews of Mlilwane Wildlife Sanctuary

MR103, Lobamba, M204 Lobamba, Swaziland

#2 of 2 hotels in Lobamba

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 878 hotel reviews

8.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.4

  • Comfort

    8

  • Location

    9

  • Facilities

    8

  • Staff

    8.2

  • Value for money

    8.1

  • Paid WiFi

    4

100% Verified Reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more– opens a dialog box
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: December 15, 2018

    10
    Superb place with beautiful rooms and lots of animals
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Road to place was difficult to find since it’s under construction but just follow their directions faithfully and you will get there!

    Free roaming animals. There were impala that walked in front of our room. Fully stocked kitchenette and beautiful rooms.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 11, 2018

    7.5
    An eventful trip; a return to the simple life in a wonderful setting.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Bungalow
    • Stayed 1 night

    See above

    We arrived in a cloud burst - which meant that the electricity was off from about five pm until 8.0 the following morning - and there was no water available in the morning. However, the staff were helpful, we were lent a hurricane lamp; the restaurant was working and the food was well cooked. A terrific walk around the Hippo trail next morning gave everyone a great lift. The proximity of game and the fact that one could walk around the site was a real bonus.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 7, 2018

    8.8
    The personal was really welcoming and motivated!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Bungalow
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The second morning we had the left overs from the breakfast the day before, at 8am there was no plain yoghurt anymore and nothing get filled up.. with the hike in the park be carefully with the crocs!

    The personal was really welcoming and motivated! The place in the park is great, you get all the animals in front of your room!

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: November 27, 2018

    6.3
    Very beautiful place, not hospitable personnel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The personnel is extremely slow (feels like an Italian strike). In general, you feel like unwanted disruption there. We had an unpleasant experience with the restaurant there as well. When we made a booking, the hotel sent us an email asking if we need a dinner since they need to purchase some food to cook for us. We confirmed dinner right away. When we came to the place and went into the restaurant we were told that there is no table for us (they were all booked by other guest). When we objected that we requested the dinned by email, we were told that this mean nothing and we should have done that in person (not sure how we were supposed to do this in person in advance). After 10-15 minutes of very strange conversation and phrases like "Do you want us to starve to death here at your counter?" they finally decided to stand from the chair and check if there were tables actually, and it appeared that there was at least one.

    One who is coming to this place should not expect some fancy hotel. The only reason you're going there is to get an experience of the sanctuary. And it is gorgeous!. We really enjoyed walking in the part and sitting in front of the fire at night.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 27, 2018

    8.8
    Good place
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The park has an extremely difficult access, the roads are under construction and there are no signs. It's very easy to get lost. I recommend not traveling at night because it is almost impossible not to get lost.

    The park is really cool, you can walk through it smoothly, there are cool trails and the people are attentive. There are no large animals other than crocodiles. If you want to see animals like lion, rhinoceros and others go to Hlane Park (which is far away from Millware). It's a really cool place to rest and have a good walk.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 15, 2018

    7.9
    Lovely spot - would stay longer next time
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The trail markers were not always clear. The maps.me app helped us out when we took a wrong turn.

    My husband and I stayed in a rondavel which included a kitchenette, and we enjoyed the self-catering option. Our rondavel had a porch which looked out on a field where we had good wildlife sightings. We walked the Hippo Trail and really enjoyed that. Would have liked to do more of the walks, but regretfully, we stayed only one night here. Next time, we would spend 2 or 3 nights here.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 15, 2018

    7.9
    Overall a nice stay.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The noise of tourist buses late into the night and early in the morning.These should be kept parked at the reception area and not right next to the accomodation. (I stayed in Roan 1 ) right next to the road.

    loved the setting and location.Beehive hut unique experience.lovey to have game walking around in the camp

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 6, 2018

    5.4
    Go for day travel, not over night
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Felt like they were finding every reason to take more money from us, that was not specified when we made the booking. We had to pay extra fee for every bad in our room (didn't happen at another place we stayed at in Swaziland), we had to pay to enter the nature reserve although we had reservations. And there's unfortunately more examples of that kind. Had to pay to have wifi and can only use it in reception. Food at the only restaurant is medium (specially meat) and expensive. Not recommended.

    The nature reserve is beautiful. Go travel there, don't stay for the night

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 5, 2018

    9.6
    Amazing experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The prices of the activities are a bit steep, the food in the restaurant was not local.

    It is situated inside one of the national parks. This means that it is surrounded by amazing scenery/landscape. The animals live closeby and even around the accomodation. It was a very good experience. Thank you!

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: October 27, 2018

    7.9
    Relaxing with moments of uniqueness.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The Hippo Haunt restaurant puts on a buffet evening meal and disappointingly was more like a European budget hotel than an authentic Swaziland feast - the staff work hard and to be fair and when mentioned to management they took the feedback seriously ...

    We stayed in one of the Beehive Huts which was a unique and interesting experience. Plenty of room and adequate facilities. The Wildlife Sanctuary is beautiful and it’s enjoyable to walk around although did not see a wide variety of animals and the 7km Hippo Walk was devoid of hippos ! Nevertheless and relaxing experience.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 25, 2018

    9.2
    Cosy little room in the middle of the wildlife sanctuary...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Bungalow
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No european socket adapters.

    Cosy little room in the middle of the wildlife sanctuary with mosquito nets around the bed, which made sleeping very comfortable. When you open the door, you see warthogs wandering around, baboons and many different types of birds.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 25, 2018

    7.1
    Location which lives from the wildlife around
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room was very dark and not really cozy. Reception closes very early. The differentiation of the different rooms / houses were not clear during the booking process

    Great area around the village with trials and many animals

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 23, 2018

    7.1
    We planning to come again if possible as our stay was just too short!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I didn't like the fact that I had to pay some hidden costs that were not mentioned during my booking. I just didn't understand why we had to pay fees for being in their premises and for bed on top of the accommodation money we were already charged. I saw that as bit unfair.

    I liked the scenery, the environment, animals moving around including the warthog that decided to join us and relaxed with us around the fire at night. The rooms were just nicely different and my boy enjoyed the different environment as a whole.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 11, 2018

    10
    Amazing pearl in Swaziland
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The road to get to Mlilwane is quite of a challenge. Especially in the dark. But if you want something special you need to do something for it.

    Mlilwane is a wonderful get-away spot. It provides a unique possibility to sleep in the middle of a wildlife park. Warthogs and other animals walk around the housing area and even sleep at the ever burning campfire. There is ample of opportunities to do stuff such as mountainbiking and horseriding. The restaurant serves average dinner but the environment in which you eat it makes up for that.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 9, 2018

    7.5
    It was ok.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Would have liked to have working internet and more visible signs with good lighting. It’s a wildlife sanctuary where you drive in a dirt road with poor signage and poorly lit at night.

    Very friendly staff

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 9, 2018

    3.3
    If you want to visit , go but sleep somewhere else.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Bungalow
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The little ‘chalet’ was so old and looked very dirty. There were holes in the rooftop and it was freezing cold all day and night. It was terrible sleeping there with our 2 kids. We asked for a heater and got something but it was not enough. The bathroom was also very old , ugly and not clean.

    Food in the restaurant was good. And we did a nice hippo trail during the day.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 7, 2018

    5.0
    At the check out I was told that I have to pay additional...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    At the check out I was told that I have to pay additional charges for government tax and game reserve fees. These charges raised my costs by 10% and were not listed on booking.com when I booked the accomodation.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: September 14, 2018

    10
    Very nice park with lots of activities
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The food was ok, but nothing special.

    The location is beautiful, staff very friendly and we loved being able to do something outside after all the time in the car. The bungalow was really nice and had everything you could need to self cater. At night there is a Swazi dance show and the warthogs come sit with you at the fire. We could have easily spend a few days there, just enjoying the view and peace and quiet.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 3, 2018

    7.1
    The authentic huts we stayed in.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The authentic huts are great but not very sound proof. We didn’t sleep well as you could hear the neighbours very clearly

    The authentic huts we stayed in. The location was excellent. The park offering was great.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 3, 2018

    7.1
    I loved being very close to nature, the food, activities, rooms. Bathroom equipment needs updating!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Shower was very weak, went from very hot to very cold and mostly a trickle, not powerful at all, there was no shower gel, we had to request it or soap for washing hands. The toilet cistern was dated and needed to be manually readjusted to work.

    The food, activities, and staff were great. it was a real pleasure and relaxing.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: August 30, 2018

    7.9
    So nice to be with happy Swazi people, who were ultra friendly, helpful and lovely.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Too many people, a bit overcrowded,but it was the weekend. Thought there were going to be more animals; hippos etc.

    The staff were very helpful when it transpired that we were not booked into a self catering accommodation and helped to organise this for the second day, lending kitchen ware to use in the communal cooking area etc.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 18, 2018

    9.6
    Beautiful Beehive huts in amazing setting!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Be aware that the acoustics in the huts are terrible! We could hear people speak three huts further and above this had the bad luck that a group of italian tourists occupied half the huts in our camp. They left at 5 in the morning, making so much noise that they woke everybody! Such a lack of respect!

    Beautiful Beehive huts in amazing setting! It was just a pity that the weather wasn't so great, which made it all a bit sad. Luckily, the sun came through the next morning, changing the scenery completely! We went for a hike in the park and this was absolutely amazing!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 15, 2018

    6.7
    It was really good there and very mind refreshing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    At the restaurant the stuff Chase us from the table , saying it is reserved , while at the first place they said it was a free table, I really hated the sudden change

    The environment is good for mind refreshing and the stuff is friendly and flexible

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 11, 2018

    8.3
    A fun stay in a beehive.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A fun stay in a beehive. The location was great, took a morning walk with one of the rangers which I would recommend. Lots to do and see. Loved the warthogs. I would have liked to stay longer

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: August 2, 2018

    10
    Back to nature in a magnificent valley
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Wonderful location with very beautiful rondavels. Perfect for some great nature hikes. The open restaurant and the fire places are great, and the staff is very friendly and dedicated.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 30, 2018

    5.8
    Amazing surroundings
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    When I booked for the three of us I booked a room with fridge and kitchen and when we got there, there was no kitchen nor fridge. They said they didn’t have any more rooms like those ones. We had food that we had to threw away. In the beehives you can hear everything from everybody around. We actually woke up with the alarm from the beehive next to us.

    The beehives are very unique but don’t have a kitchen or fridge.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 29, 2018

    9.6
    Setting is incredible, Great hikes, Loved the warthogs by...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Bungalow
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Dinner is too expensive and not good value for money. A la carte option would be appreciated.

    Setting is incredible, Great hikes, Loved the warthogs by the fire, Hut was comfortable

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 5, 2018

    8.3
    Amazing scenery.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Roads to Mlilwane were in repair and simply blocked, without any indication which alternatives to take to get there. Dinner buffet was rather simple, not very tasty.

    Amazing scenery.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: June 28, 2018

    7.5
    Serene, and quiet forest camp site.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Bungalow
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    A bit remote (although with the signs it was easy to find). The wooden huts where the most basic accomodation in our honeymoon. It is poorly lit, tiny and the shower feels outdated and a bit mouldy. However, the total experience was a nice outdoorsy stay which we really liked. I would not mind coming back, but I might book a different type of accomodation.

    We did an overnight stay on our way to Kruger from St Lucia (next time I would plan two nights). We wanted a location where we have a relaxing afternoon and evening. The park is lovely. Staff is very welcoming. The fire was really nice in the evening with the Warthogs joining us to get some heat.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 21, 2018

    9.6
    It is a very nice place to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It is a very nice place to stay. Several hiking trails starting right at the lodge. We did the summit trail. It took - walking not slow - 2 hours to get to the summit and had there the best view over the valley. The lodge itself is special - and we liked it. In the restaurant they serve buffet.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 5, 2018

    8.3
    wonderful place, full harmony with wildlife.You feel to be one of them.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Bungalow
    • Stayed 1 night

    cold nights, we were not prepared, no horseback riding

    wonderful experience. wild animalswalking around the garden and you're there like one of them. Bumba's walking by themselves into a barbeque, so funny. And they don't care of 20 people around same fireplace. Cold nights and cabinnes were very cold.Happily they had extra plankets for everyone. Unfortunately they was nobody for horseback riding, but then we went bicycling in neighbourhood. Beautiful, beautiful, beautiful between zeepras, gnus,crocodiles, hippos etc etc. This is real Africa! Kids loved this place, pity that we were staying only 1 night.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 28, 2018

    6.7
    Great experience, would be back in summer
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Bungalow
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It was cold in the wooden house, no heater but lots of blankets. Room was cold. There is also a long distance of gravel to get to the camp about 3- 8km which we didnt know about.

    The ever burning fire, the food was delicious but service was slow. And the animals roaming around were fantastic.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 21, 2018

    5.8
    Its such a nice landscape and its so great to see all...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    You have to pay for everything. For Wifi, a map, extra friends, bicycle is so expensive (150 rands per hour)

    Its such a nice landscape and its so great to see all animals. Also the property looks really nice and it perfect for a hiking trip!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 18, 2018

    8.8
    Very nice location to stay in Swaziland, hope to come back one day
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Such a nice place! I did not expect it to be this beautiful. We were here for 1 night but 1 night was too short! I wish I could have stayed 2 nights. The surrounding area is beautiful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 11, 2018

    5.0
    Great place to be able to walk around or bike around freely...
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Shocking service from National Park staff, no one there to greet you on arrival. Not interested in you unless you are part of a large group. Most activities are not running. Basically the staff don't care as there is no sense of ownership with them.

    Great place to be able to walk around or bike around freely as there are no predators, but this can also make it less interesting.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: May 10, 2018

    9.2
    It was a nice exprience to sleep in the hut. We only had supper.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Bungalow
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was nothing to keep something cool in the hut. The food for supper was a little bit cold.

    The water for the shower was warm. The mattress on the bed slept like a dream.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: May 10, 2018

    8.8
    Very pleasant. Was even given an opportunity to view an 'igloo'. This is whee I will next visit.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wasn 't there long enough to comment

    Bed most comfortable. Room adequate for what was required. Bathroom adequate. Very clean hut. Staff most efficient and friendly.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: May 9, 2018

    10
    Great to stay here
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Restaurant was in the evening only buffet although there is a a la carte menu.

    Wonderfull location. in the middle of a national park with all animals around you. It's great we could stay here. Animals are wild but pretty much used to people. Accommodation is comfortable. Spacious but slightly older furniture inside the huts.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: May 8, 2018

    8.8
    great value for money, comfy traditional hut & good food
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    we stayed in one of the traditional huts; they are bigger than they look from the outside and some have private bathrooms; very good buffet for breakfast and dinner, at reasonable price. very friendly staff; safe to walk around as there are no predators nor aggressive animals like buffalos in the park. you can also rent bikes and ride horses.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: May 3, 2018

    4.2
    Wasn't as bad as Mlwane.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bungalow
    • Stayed 1 night

    No hot water for shower. Wood cabin was very old and doors and window frames were rotting away. Proximity of cabin to dining area. Very loud guests who disturbed the peace for others and were not asked to refrain. Although an overnight guest, when I asked for wi-fi password I was told I would have to pay. There was no free map of the roads of the reserve - had to pay R25 to a very surly lady in the shop.

    I liked the large circular fire pit which was lit in the evening for the resident warthogs to sleep next to! There was a fridge, kettle and an electric light in the room! Lovely birdlife and Hippo Pool.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: May 1, 2018

    10
    African heaven.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No braai facilities at Beehive huts. Poor lighting in huts.

    Mlilwane is the most amazing reserve I have ever visited. I loved the mix of African plains with the forest and deep valley. The animals are in excellent condition. The ability to go for a stroll between them was unforgettable. Staff is exceptionally friendly.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: April 16, 2018

    9.2
    Great stay with the animals
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There were no negative about the place

    The bee hive huts were a great experience and a first for us ... we loved the wild animals that roamed around the area between the people ... was a very great experience ... Ant the best if all ... this is the first place of all the many place we have stayed in that has air freshener in the bathrooms ...

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 12, 2018

    5.0
    More a wildlife farm than a sanctuary...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Lantana Lantana Lantana, and Eucalyptus: invasive foreign weeds that do NOT support local fauna or flora, so not a true wildlife conservancy. More a farm that’s been allowed to go wild again. Road to the resort is rough and don’t try going for a game-drive in an ordinary car: there’s little to see and you will destroy the underside of the car. Restaurant is outrageously priced (R190pp) for a canteen-style buffet (awful!). More of a tourbus overnight stop than a genuine wildlife sanctuary.

    Beehive huts: novel, spacious, rustic, clean enough, warm water, but no fridge. Safe enough to just go for a wander about (though don’t swim in the lake!). Nice pool, though area needs a little cleaning.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: April 6, 2018

    5.4
    Beautiful location and a unique place
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Bungalow
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Double price from confirmation from booking.com, confirmation stated dinner was 170 while in reality it was 190, not a big deal but annoying that there differences was there, made you feel cheated constantly

    Beautiful location and a unique place

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 4, 2018

    8.8
    We travelled 27 days in SA and Swaziland.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    BUT what I really HATED was fact, that you have to take they really overpriced buffet breakfasts and dinners. They also have menu, where you can see another options for 30% of buffet price, but they tell you it is not possible to have. This we saw in Swaziland only, never in SA. This is stealing and I don't agree with this.

    We travelled 27 days in SA and Swaziland. This accommodation is very nice and I really recommend it.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: April 3, 2018

    8.3
    Great Gem will return.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The Beehive accommodation is very warm because the way it is constructed. Aircon would be nice for those warm days.

    Great surprise if I knew it was so nice I would have booked fora longer period. I must for nature lovers and people who understand Africa.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 2, 2018

    9.2
    Easter Weekend Trip
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Bungalow
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It rained when we arrived so the road leading up to the sanctuary was muddy and almost impossible to drive with our little car. The staff were helpful enough to show us a alternate route out to the main road when we were leaving. On the bright side, it looks like the road will be upgraded to a blacktop surface soon.

    The animals come out to the camp and it's a beautiful sight. The restaurant has a magnificent view of the lake where we spotted a crocodile and a few turtles.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: March 29, 2018

    8.8
    In general it was a good experience for 2 nights and I would stay here again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Some of the staff could be a little friendlier, a smile here and there wouldn't hurt. There were electricity wires in the pool and sharp ends, not very safe.

    We had an exceptional stay at the Mlilwane. The cottage was very clean and well equipped. The view at the terrace was spectacular, we loved to just sit there and look out for some animals. Sometimes animals were wandering around the cottage, very lovely. One evening we had dinner at the restaurant and it was very delicious! The hiking trails are well marked in the park.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 28, 2018

    9.6
    Life with the animals!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    If someone could control the rain! Our second day was beautiful with sunny skies, though!

    We have stayed at Mlilwane before and loved being near the animals! Our family loved hiking near zebra and antelope and seeing the beautiful countryside. We also appreciated the staff arranging for our pickup when the rain flooded the entry road.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 27, 2018

    8.8
    Peaceful quiet place
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Not much lights in the "rooms" , big groups can check in. Strange system to sign the hiking trails.

    Great camp. Nice workers, Pumbas all around, good restaurant with lake-view, good walks/hiking possibilites

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 18, 2018

    10
    Excellent!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    We wished we would have booked one of the guided tours in advance. All of the santuary guides were pre-booked by the time we arrived and figured out what we wanted to do. However, the staff was excellent in helping us find self-guided activities that we loved.

    We enjoyed every minute of our stay at Mlilwane Wildlife Sanctuary. There were impalas and kudu walking right past our rooms. The food at the restaurant was exceptional, and the staff was very accomodating. We loved staying in the in the spacious and very comfortable rondavel huts. We also loved renting bicycles and riding through the sanctuary, and getting very close with some of the zebras. We would recommend Mlilwane to anyone!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: March 15, 2018

    9.6
    Absolutely Beautiful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Bungalow
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Price of Meals - breakfast and dinner Lack of information regarding Activity times and prices (although available on request)

    Beautiful Location. Fantastic Wildlife, fauna and flora Friendliness and Helpfulness of Staff Cleanliness of room Activities for all Good Food

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 9, 2018

    10
    Lovely stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Bungalow
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Like in most of south africa's hotels, only toasts for breakfast, crepes or pancakes would have been great. Bike rentals a little bit expensive. No wifi

    Nice reserve. Good restaurant. Nice 2hours hike within the reserve (summit trail)

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 7, 2018

    5.0
    Dinner buffet was very good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the welcome at the reception during the check-in was inadequate. No information at all. Also during our stay, all tourist information was in very short supply. The self walk tours in the park are not good indicated, several people lost already there orientation after the first 300m. The acces road to the park and rooms is in very bad condition. prevent car damage and take a 4X4 or look for a altarnative stay in the erea.

    Dinner buffet was very good. Also location and view of restaurant.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: March 6, 2018

    6.7
    The animals
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Bungalow
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Finding the location is horrific. Ended up in a township, even when entering the GPS coördinates from Booking.com. Some signs might help, especially at night.

    The animals

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 4, 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The shop sells mainly souvenirs and is missing food products. No A/c and Wi Fi didnt work.

    Beautiful view, staff were really nice,good location,delicious food

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 4, 2018

    10
    Wish we'd stayed longer.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Bungalow
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing- the food, the accommodation and facilities were all outstanding.

    To wake up and see wildlife right outside the door, warthogs sleeping by the campfire and to go walking in the beautiful surroundings was just heaven.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: March 2, 2018

    10
    What a fatastic place!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The road leading up to Milwane was in a terrible state!!!

    What a fatastic place!!! We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The view was to die for and the whole lodge was very well maintained. It was fantastic to stay right in the centre of the wild life. The staff were very friendly and a lot of fun! Our 2 nights stay just flew by. We would love to come back.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 20, 2018

    6.7
    Pleasant stay in wildlife sanctuary.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The access road where it comes off the main road is terrible and could be impassible in wet weather. It is a gravel/mud road and badly needed re-grading when we stayed.

    Stayed in a rondavel hut which had facilities, it was basic but had character. Security was poor with just a padlock for the door. Evening meal buffet was good value with a decent choice. The sanctuary is small but we had a pleasant stay and enjoyed walking and driving in the park.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 16, 2018

    5.0
    Extremely rustic.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Horrific road to the Sanctuary unsuitable for 4x4; never mind a sedan. High traffic zone which belies the pathetic state of road. Pool needed much more maintenance. Although very isolated, very few services offered. No laundry facilities for example.e

    Terrific restaurant perhaps a bit overpriced for buffets. An excellent day drive with very knowledgeable guides.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 15, 2018

    8.8
    This place is simply a piece of heaven!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The staff at the reception and tour booking area were lazy, slow and unprofessional. It would definitely be an upgrade if they hired a more caring and service-minded staff. Also be aware that it's a long and bumpy ride from the main road and it will take time to go back and forth, so you won't just pop into town for dinner or to buy some snacks for the day, because the shop at the campside has a limited selection at expensive prices.

    This place is simply a piece of heaven! The wildlife is just incredible and the surroundings are so beautiful. The location is definitely what makes this place so special. The huts are traditional, basic, clean and fully functioning. The restaurant is beautifully located. The food was good but the price was a little high compared to the quality.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: February 12, 2018

    7.9
    The place is in the heart of reserve and the animals are...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Bungalow
    • Stayed 1 night

    The place is in the heart of reserve and the animals are walking around which is amazing. There are lot of hiking paths. Bungalows are plain but nice.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: February 5, 2018

    6.7
    Good breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Would have appreciated air conditioning!!!! Slept poorly because of the heat. Air conditioning could be installed in the bathroom.

    Good breakfast. Beautiful location. Tranquil, good variety of activities. Loved the “tame” animals.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: February 5, 2018

    8.8
    Enjoyed the ambiance;
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I didn’t realize the huts didn’t have windows so it was dark and closed feeling at night. Also no air conditioning, but I knew that a head of time. Did have a ceiling fan. Still would have booked

    Enjoyed the ambiance; other tourists were friendly; food was ok; the huts were unique and lent to the Africa experience; nice hiking trails in the Preserve.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: February 2, 2018

    8.3
    Amazing place with average accomodation.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Payable wifi did not work - eventually we received back the charge but it was inconvenience for us in terms of further planning of the trip. Breakfasts were pretty expensive.

    Mlilwane is really amazing in terms of meeting the wildlife. It exceeded y far my expectations. in this area. In terms of accomodation it was OK but the huts do not offer too much of the fresh air. The team tries to be helpful but sometimes they seem to be lost.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 16, 2018

    8.8
    Great location among the wild life
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Bumpy road to the place , but nothing unusual in Africa neither dangerous for you or the car . Just watch out for holes . We didn't like the buffet , but that's personal . Rather have the a la carte when possible or eat elsewhere or cool yourself .

    All you could expect , fantastic location , very nice informative staff . We went on the hippo trail , very nice hike and also accessible for children. Wild life at its best ! Hut was okay , basics but clean .

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 13, 2018

    7.5
    Fantastic to stay middle of the park between the animals and the beautiful surroundings.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Chalet Shonalanga
    • Stayed 1 night

    They should have to be more severe to the people using the picnic area to clean up after them. Not nice to see baby warthogs chewing on napkins ...

    We had the Shonalanga chalet. The garden has a fantastic view and the zebras and warthog come graze really close to your house !!! Really big swimming pool. We had it for our own in the evening and morning. Dinner is all right. We did the guided mountainbike ride in the park. Nice way to discover the NP.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: January 12, 2018

    8.8
    Great stay for a nice walk to do animal spotting
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The swimming pool turned into a school swimming program which made it a bit busy

    Great stay in a typical hut. Which doesn't sound luxurious, but it was very nice with toilet and shower. Great to do the hippo trail.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 6, 2018

    6.7
    The location is great - near Mbabane the capital, just...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Bungalow
    • Stayed 1 night

    We stayed in one of the original units from the 1960s. It felt like it hadn't been updated since. Gaping holes between wallboards allowing easy access for mosquitoes, spiders abseiling from our thatched roof to our bed, dodgy electrics etc. It was expensive as well given the quality of rooms (one of the most expensive of our 14 different places of accommodation in Southern Africa). Renting bicycles was also really expensive - something like US$10 an hour if I recall - a rip-off. The restaurant was expensive (although the food was reasonable), slow, and there was no sign of the hippos after which the restaurant is named (Hippo Haunt).

    The location is great - near Mbabane the capital, just across the border from South Africa, and most importantly, the chance to walk or bike ride among the animals - zebra, gemsbok, waterbuck etc. Really a beautiful place

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 30, 2017

    8.3
    lodging in the middle of nature, surrounded by some animals!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    difficult to find, should be better indicated.

    once you have find the place and when entering the lodge, you are in the middle of a game reserve and quickly surrounded by some animals. we were staying in a well equiped rondavel with open panoramic view on the park... having some antilopes just next to us. simple, but good dinner at the restaurant.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 3, 2017

    7.9
    Great place but very demotivated staff on reception
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We arrived late afternoon - around 6 or 7, the lady at reception was completly unhelpful. We asked her for some information about the area but she was completly trying to put us off. She siad there is nothing going on when we asked about the music around the back. It later turned out that they have some traditional dance shows. We asked for any leaflets but she didn't know if they have any. Could not tell us about the bike rentals and many many more. I was greatly dissapointed as we were there for 1 night only and wanted to arrange as much as possible. Such a shame as she was trying to put us off anything we asked for. We later managed to see the dance only as one of the guests told us about it. My suggestion is if the lodge wants to earn some extra on activitis they offer they should consider employing sameone who is caring for the guests rather than just waiting for her shift to finish

    Great location, our cottage had great views that we could admire from outdoor sitting area. Great moskito net around the bed. Evening performances of traditional dance and culture by the fire. Overall great atmosphere

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: December 1, 2017

    7.1
    it was a disaster
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the environment was not clean, there was a lot of public who made enormous noise, the swimming pool was full off locals and much dronken people. when they were moved, the ground was plenty with bottles en food the location we like, but we didn't come back because all that noise and powerful surrounding

    we like to stay in a traditional cabine the restaurant was good, nice food en service

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 4, 2017

    9.2
    A very natural and unspoilt place
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The food was good and plentiful; but because it was provided in buffet form, it was not hot enough

    the natural setting; the ability to go on unguided walks in differing forms of terrain, in which there was plenty of wildlife of many types but no predators (except crocodiles). so that one felt entirely safe

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: November 1, 2017

    7.1
    Ok stay in the middle of the Mlilwane Wildlife Sanctuary
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Bungalow
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We stayed in a cottage and found it very dark and a bit outdated. Also, the restaurant is not that great and really overpriced (especially breakfast). However, there aren't any alternatives in the neighbourhood as you are in the middle of the park so they kind of get away with it. Hiring a bike was also quite expensive, so we decided to go hiking instead. There are a lot of larger tourist groups (arriving in large buses) that stay in the camp.

    The cottages are in the middle of the Mlilwane Wildlife sanctuary which means that you stay in the park and there are animals all around you. The warthogs walk around your cottage which is really special! There are a lot of hiking paths through the park that start from the camp, they are great and it is fantastic to be able to walk (safely) through the park and meet animals up close (crocodiles, turtles, zebra's, warthogs, etc).

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 5, 2017

    10
    Perfect, perfect, perfect! We want to come again. It was amazing!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Bungalow
    • Stayed 1 night

    What a beautiful place and one of the highlights on our road trip. This place is paradise!!! If you want to visit Swaziland this is a "MUST-BEEN" on your list. We had a wooden house with own bathroom and a comfortable big bed with lovely sheets. Its not fancy but there is nothing you are missing because youre in the middle of the nature where the impalas and the animals can run around free. It has a very nice history and so many activities they are offering (horse riding, mountain biking, game drive etc.) and even the walking on our own was such a fantastic thing. In the evening we went to the restaurant that belongs there (there is nothing else around). We had a nice table at the lake and ordered a nice wine. The food- buffet- was extraordinary good and delicious. We highly can recommend going eating there and spending a nice evening. After dinner we went to the fire where the warthogs were sleeping around. We were happy that we could watch a traditional dance and music performance. This was for free but tips were appreciated. If you want to see wildlife and nature in Swaziland you must go to this place. Here is everything perfect!!!

    Stayed in September 2017

Showing 1 - 75

We Price Match
We Price Match
Low rates • No booking fees • Find something cheaper? We'll refund the difference!