Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Amarin Samui Hotel 3 stars

12/71 Moo 1, Tumbol Maenam, Koh Samui, 84330 Mae Nam, Thailand

#49 of 70 hotels in Mae Nam

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 65 hotel reviews

7.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.5

  • Comfort

    7.8

  • Location

    6.9

  • Facilities

    7.7

  • Staff

    8.3

  • Value for money

    8

  • Free WiFi

    7.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 28

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2018

    9.2
    Happily go back again.
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Although the shower works,it needs repairing with a new shower rose.

    Staff were lovely. In particular, the young man on night duty at reception was very helpful and went out of his way to help me when my bank card got lost and I wanted to contact my bank in the UK. Also, I would recommend swimming pool on the roof.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2018

    7.1
    Modest facilities with a decent price performance.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Located next to a road you have to talk next to traffic to get to the beach. A beer at the hotel cost waaay to much. More than a cocktail at a beach bar. Same with washing clothes. Way to expensive, especially considering you an get it done for 1/5th of their price if not less at several locations just down the road.

    Hotel was pretty much empty. But also very cheap so the price performance was good.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2017

    9.6
    Nice hotel, friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Outside it doesn't look as being well preserved, but inside is very nice and comfortable.

    Very friendly and helpful staff. The hotel is 5 mins walk to the beach, on the main road. If you're not necessarily looking for a place right on the beach, is good value for money.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2017

    8.3
    Would come back
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds might be too hard for some tastes but I quite like a rigid mattress!

    Great value for money, really close to Lomprayah Pier. Rooftop pool really good and the lobby is a surprisingly pleasant place to chill,

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    6.3
    It was close to the ferry jetty so we stayed 1 night only as...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was VERY hard. I like hard beds, but this was like lying on the floor. Also really big pillow do we did not sleep well. Floor is extremely slippery so be careful.

    It was close to the ferry jetty so we stayed 1 night only as we landed quite late. Room was OK for price and purpose. Both clean and functional.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2017

    8.3
    The hotel itself is nice and and clean, but, frankly...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel itself is nice and and clean, but, frankly speaking, I ve seen better places in the same category. What makes my experience memorable are the ladies working at this place. Sweet, helpful, polite. Thank you, ladies!

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2017

    3.8
    The hotel is on a main road so is very noisy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is on a main road so is very noisy. The hotel was old and the rooms were smelly. The bed was like sleeping on concrete. I wouldn't stay here ever again.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2017

    10
    Fantastic budget hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    One tiny thing I would improve on... The bath tub could have been cleaner but I'm a clean freak!!

    Hotel was one of our favourite. Great rooftop pool, excellent gym, hotel is well maintained, rooms are thoroughly cleaned daily, free coffee, friendly staff. Decent buffet breakfast. 5/10 mins to beach and our fave veggie restaurant called Prava.. 10 out of 10. Excellent budget hotel.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2016

    7.1
    Lovely rooms, but a deserted hotel
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very dark in hotel, no lights on in hallways ever. Bar on 5th floor was not open at all and when I went to use swimming pool in was in total darklness

    The room was very nice and comfortable. The kettle and daily tea and coffee was a nice touch. Staff cleaned room very well every day and I always had fresh towers and 2 bottles of water

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2018

    7.0
    For a for a short stay ok but the price is to high
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Air con needed a long time to cool down the room. The bed is not the best but okay for one night

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    4.2
    Unsatisfactory.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The service wasn’t very good. The atmosphere was dead and a bit like a council block.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    5.0
    Rooms are quite small and dark, no real vibe to the hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms are quite small and dark, no real vibe to the hotel.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2017

    9.2
    Great
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pretty far from everything, except mae num pier

    Nice room, helpful staff, there are movies for rent

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2017

    8.3
    Lovely place
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff very friendly and helpful, rooms very clean, well maintained. I really enjoyed staying at Amarin hotel. Shame we never made it for breakfast.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2017

    9.2
    staff were very freindly & helpful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 15 nights

    the bar could have been open more often and later

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2017

    10
    One happy traveller
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Balcony
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I liked the staff ,always very friendly an helpful. Breakfast was really good enjoyed the vegtables. Thank you amarin.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2016

    8.3
    Staff were lovely and upgraded us to a deluxe Room from a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    Staff were lovely and upgraded us to a deluxe Room from a studio for no reason. We had the pool practically to ourselves for five days with great views of the jungle behind the building. Beach was a ten minute walk and lots of lovely restaurants around. Clean room, great DVD service and tv. Comfy bed in deluxe.

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2016

    9.2
    Pleasant staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    It's a very small gripe but the litte fitness centre was locked in the mornings and you'd have to call someone up to open it.

    Pleasant staff. Big, comfortable rooms. You could borrow DVDs for your room from their huge DVD library. The swimming pool was a good size for a small hotel, although there were only a few loungers. The breakfast was an extra 150baht and was great value for money! It's Located in the middle of the town, around 5/10 minutes walk to the beach with plenty of shops and restaurants nearby. I'm not sure why this hotel is reviewed badly for location- it's a quiet enough area but that's not the hotel's fault!

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2016

    7.5
    Lovely helpfully staff, big clean room, higher floor...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Sounds from other guest travel easy throu the walls/door. Earplugs recommended. Sunbeds by the pool, really nasty and few, little dirty common areas. Located by a big road.

    Lovely helpfully staff, big clean room, higher floor recommended, view over a little zoo with sheep. Fresh flowers. Roomservice.

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2015

    5.8
    Great and helpfull staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Well, if you are looking for a quite area — go for it, but if you want to have some 'life' around — that is not the best place. Bathroom is old. Internet is very slow.

    Great and helpfull staff. Breakfast. Parking.

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2015

    7.5
    in a great location very close to bangla road and the beach,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    bed and pillows weren't the comfiest but at least i had a roof over my head!

    in a great location very close to bangla road and the beach, staff were also amazing! woke up looking out towards a beautiful mountain

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2015

    5.4
    Nice little gym and pool on the roof.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The door of the room opened directly into the bathroom- Bizzare and badly designed. Not much feeling in the place- functional but soulless.

    Nice little gym and pool on the roof.

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2015

    7.9
    The hotel is nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The walls in our room were a bit dirty. The bathroom needs renovation.

    The hotel is nice. Beds are comfortable. It is near to the main road, but very quiet. Staff is helpful. Location - 10 minutes walk to a beautiful beach, 3 minutes to super nice local "restaurant".

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2015

    9.6
    Regular and clean and lovely smelling rooms everyday,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    the only request they couldn't meet was to find us a Motorbike, since outside rentals ask for deposits and passports to be withheld NOTHING else to complain

    Regular and clean and lovely smelling rooms everyday, helpful and kind staff always willing to help, Printing/Arranging tours/taxis/helpful tips from front office staff, close to the Mae Nam beach (5 min walk) and ATM next to the hotel, Family Marts nearby, Massage places and cheap good Thai food on the beach and around, do take the Room with Tub and amazingly good breakfast lay out, fruits/rice/spaghetti/noodles/bread/buns/sausages/baked potato/pan cakes and more ;)

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2016

    9.2
    Great facilities I.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Laundry service exceptionally expensive compared to local places.

    Great facilities I.e pool , gym . Friendly staff Free Dvd rental Good wifi

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2016

    8.3
    Very helpful and kind staff, great room and room service.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The laundry was crazy expensive. Like 5x the normal price I've used to in Thailand.

    Very helpful and kind staff, great room and room service.

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2016

    9.2
    The room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    the view

    The room

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2015

    3.3
    have no car park without any inform to the customer and will...
    • Business trip
    • Couple

    have no car park without any inform to the customer and will not issue tax recipet to me.

There are also 11 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 28

Guests also reviewed these properties: