Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Ao Prao Resort 4 stars

60 Moo 4 Tumbol Phe, Muang, Rayong, 21160 Ko Samed, Thailand

#2 of 50 hotels in Ko Samed

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 248 hotel reviews

8.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9

  • Comfort

    9

  • Location

    9.3

  • Facilities

    8.8

  • Staff

    8.9

  • Value for money

    7.9

  • Free WiFi

    8.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Hillside Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The climb to our room was immense! 126 steps up to our deluxe hillside room - would have been good to be warned about this. 2000bht per night for an extra child’s bed was a bit expensive, the service was a bit slow compared to when we stayed 4 years ago. The breakfast was ok, but nothing special. No drinks service available by the main pool - which is not near any available waiting staff. There was a bar by the pool, but it was never staffed. Overall it was a good stay, but not sure it was value for money and it’s unlikely we’d stay there again.

    Comfy big beds

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Cottage
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is actually nothing we didnt like, it was all suberb and we would like to come back to this resort.

    The resort is beautiful, very clean, super friendly staff, great breakfast with thai and western options. Situated on a beautiful beach strip. There are 3 (or 4, couldnt really tell) other resorts on the same strip. The resorts are interlinked with a small boulevard which is really nice and you can walk over to have drinks and food at another resort if you want to. Also there is a taxi service to go around the island.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Cottage
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A little piece of paradise on earth, from the moment you check in at the pier in Ban Phe, the lovely boat ride, and the reception at Ko Samed, only then to indulge the wonderful cottage and the delicious food at the 3 restaurants available, I'll be back!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Cottage
    • Stayed 4 nights

    the insects and the sand flies something to be done for that.......spray..... pest control something. The property external lights going off in the middle of the night. Not safe and secure. Renew bed mattresses and provide comfortable pillows. Renew beach/pool towels.

    Accommodating staff the ones speaking english......the other ones very polite but not able to communicate. F&B manager perfect.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Hillside Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only thing is the pools of the resort close too early in the evening at 8pm

    I did a round trip of the island on a scooter, and I genuinely think Ao Prao has the best beach, it’s more private with less crowds, very clean, and the sunset view was terrific, couldn’t ask for more.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Hillside Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    wanna see fire show on Thursday night must be awesome ! And also Seafood bar b q.

    the accommodation is really awesome. So clean and prefectly beautiful than i expected from online pictures.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Premier Seaview
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The staff even though very kind and willing to help, speaks little or poor English; that causes frustrations on both sides as everything can take longer than usual. The food is good but a bit too pricey as is the overall room rate (we had the seaview room) for what it offers. No body-cream in the toiletries (it would have been nice as it would have made it for the full package). Still, a good spot to go for a short weekend.

    Location is very attractive; not far from Bangkok and quick boat ride to reach it. The seaview room can accommodate a family with 2 children (maybe even 3) and it is comfortable enough. The Ao Prao beach is excellent for kids as the water is super clean and shallow. This beach is also quieter than others as there are only 3 hotels. Toiletries are good and the bathroom in this type of room is also very good. Breakfast is very good.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Cottage
    • Stayed 3 nights

    On 2 of the days the water in the shower was tepid.

    The views from our deluxe cottage were stunning. The beach was never crowded and the sea water beautifully clean. The food in the Thai restaurant was really superb. The staff in the entire resort were always smiling !

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Hillside Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Although the staff attempted to be really helpful, we felt frustrated numerous times and were unable to get what we needed because of their lack of English. Even the staff that are sent to make arrangements with guests have limited English.

    Gorgeous view, nice room with comfy bed. Nice restaurants and pool.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Hillside Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We weren’t terribly keen on the menu in the restaurant but that’s just a matter of taste. Nothing else to find fault with!

    Original room had too many steps up to it! We expected this from other reviews and didn’t think it would be a problem - but going up numerous flights several times a day in typical Thai sunshine is a bit bothersome!! So we upgraded to a beachside room which was fabulous. Staff could not have been more helpful, not only about this but about everything - staff really were fabulous. Beautifully landscaped grounds and picture perfect location!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Cottage
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Service, service, service...........poor especially in the restaurants, OK we all know that Thai restaurants are not the best for being organised but service was especially slow & unorganized at ALL the restaurants we visited. Buffet breakfast was also JUST ok, NO coffee machine only the usual jug of coffee kept constantly not, best part were the fresh fruits, bread quite poor.

    Location of Ao Prao is simply stunning, probably the best beach on the island, the room are also very nice, good nice with great bathroom & facilities. There is also the choice of 4 restaurants althouth the one at the Lima Coco resort is not so good, the others Breeze, Buzz & O are really good however, please also read my comment regarding the service.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Hillside Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    As with all of Thailand there is quite a bit of plastic floating in the sea, I think this should be collected more often from the shore.

    Beautiful peaceful location. Great & easy transfer from the mainland & back. The beach is stunning, clear warm sea & plenty of sun beds on beach. Getting a taxi to the town was fairly easy & cheap. Mopeds for rent at the edge of the resort.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier Seaview
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Sharp twigs near the beach that could rip your head and actally did!

    The profesionalism and helpfulness of the entire staff. Very accurate help with an accident.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Cottage
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Room, the beach, the view, the restaurants and the staffs were amazing! Basically everything is amazing. We cerabrated my boyfriend’s birthday, and they gave us the comolimentary tiramisu at the restaurant with the kind message card with it.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier Seaview
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The main reception staff which is a guy seems to be very stressed all the time when checking in and checking out. Not the usual friendly thai welcoming service with a smile that we are used to at most resorts. The staff here can be better trained or employ more friendly staff.

    Easy access to the beach and the beautiful crystal clear waters. It wasn't too crowded at this end of the Ao Prao beach.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Premier Seaview
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Staff was kind of slow. It's not the high season but ordering, checking out and service in general was not the best. It's a well known resorts for the ex-pats in Bangkok and people have spoken highly of this place so expectations were high. But staff was very friendly though.

    Location is perfect. Breakfast is really good, lots of choices and is well presented.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Premier Seaview
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    too isolated with not much to do other than sunbath. Ok for 3 nights , any more and you'd need to go elsewhere. You can't walk to another resort but could catch an island taxi with the locals ..... sun set was lovely but no obvious scuba diving on the island in August this year.

    The beach is gorgeous set in a large cove however the resort is isolated from the rest of the island with only a few hotels either side.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Cottage
    • Stayed 3 nights

    1.The facilities can be used on the beach or the entertainment are a bit less. 2.There are still few trashes(plastic bags bottles on the beach) 3.Swimming pool is too tiny.

    Laddies at the reception. Friendly, keep smiling, but the restaurant she suggested wasn't that good. Doesn't matter, it's not the point.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Deluxe Cottage
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is not super clear where to get the boat that will take you to the resort... As soon as we got to the pier we were told no boats were going to the resort, so we had to pay for the boat to the main pier, a taxi, as well as entry to the national park, none of which we anticipated and probably paid a lot .for than we should have.

    Ao Prao was a beautiful resort. The beach was so beautiful and clean. put bungalow had an ocean view and it was so nice to sit on the deck and watch/listen to the ocean. The restauants and pool were also very nice and tastefully decorated. The staff was great in organizing getting our lost luggage, accommodating an early check in and organizing taxis for us to get around the island.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Hillside Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Although the chalet room was great, with a decent balcony view, there was an unpleasant odour that lingered in the shower room throughout our stay.

    The location of the resort was excellent, overlooking an attractive beach with unspoiled golden sand. The tranquility was maintained with a rule that banned jet-skis and motor boats, (excepting the occasional shuttle services) and plenty of shaded sunloungers along the beach and around both pools. All the staff were very pleasant and helpful. A great breakfast set-up to start the day. Varied English language news and film channels available in the rooms to finish the day.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier Seaview
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Who knew you could get sunburn on a rainy day at the beach? Haha

    Large comfortable room and all staff and service was fabulous! Paired with the most beatiful island landscape and surroundings puts Ao Prao at the top of our must return to places.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Hillside Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This hotel was beautiful the staff were attentive the rooms were of high quality with everything you needed, flip flops dressing gown beach bag all provided. Big shower and bed with a balcony with a bed. We were upgraded free of charge on arrival to sea view room. Can't fault it. I left my expensive sunglasses in reception and they returned them to the room for me. Staff were lovely and it's right on the beach with a beautiful infinity pool. :)

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Cottage
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit more training is needed for staff. Especialy at the desk. But all request have been followed, so just communication skills could be improved.

    The views, ambient, over all feeling is just great. Rooms are very nice and cozy, food was good too. Very nice beach.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Premier Seaview
    • Stayed 9 nights

    The staff didn't speak much english and though everything worked out just fine - it didn't make us feel personally welcomed or recognised even though we stayed for a long time with children. The food was very good, but not gourmet.

    Absolutely beautiful high-end resort in a dreamy bay surrounded by mountains and jungle. Super tasteful design. Only 3 bungalow style resorts on the beach - enough to offer a little variation in dining, but still wonderfully peaceful, clean and well-kept. We loved the 'private' speed-boat that picked up us at arrival. The massages are obviously more expensive than other places in Thailand, but totally worse it for taking place in such beautiful surroundings.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Cottage
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was noisy due to the proximity to the generators for the kitchen even though we had asked for a quiet room with our reservation and upon arrival. Staff at the hotel did not seem particularly friendly compared to other places we have stayed. We had mosquitos, a cockroach and two large spiders in our room although the room was otherwise very nice and clean.

    Wonderful location on a quiet bay with a great beach and good snorkelling at either end. The nearby Thai restaurant was excellent with incredibly friendly and helpful staff. The Sai Kaew beach was a ok walk or easy "cab" ride away although that beach was very crowded and noisy perhaps due to Chinese New Year. The grounds were very clean and pretty with lovely flowers all around.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Hillside Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We asked for a Double bed but got 2 twin mattresses joined together, there were a lot of steps to walk up to our room, outlook is a little run down when compared to beautiful landscaping and outlook of sister resort, Vimarn. Food and Drink Service on beach was extremely slow. TV channels were not extensive. Food was average, especially the breakfast.

    The location, very exclusive and quiet, beautiful beach.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Hillside Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    plastic sun lounges and the quality/taste of the food was not up to the price - especially this is during the christmas & new year stay at 8,000 baht/night. you feel ripped off ..

    the beach was relatively quiet

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Cottage
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location and design was spot on, perfectly coordinated with the forest and beach. Restaurants were very nice, good prices and quality. The view from our room was wonderful, overlooking the water and the sunset. Our best hotel experiance in Thailand for sure.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Premier Seaview
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast was a bit disappointing. Some things a bit expensive. Not much of a shop there to by things like sunscreen, etc

    Lovely place, location, beach, etc

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Hillside Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It really was great value for money, the bathroom was slightly dated and could do with a coat of paint etc... but this isn't a complaint, just a suggestion ;)

    Staff were fantastic, so was the pool and breakfast! I live in Thailand and have traveled to islands many times, this was definitely the easiest and fastest transfer service I've experienced, very well organised!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Hillside Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No water offered to guests in the sun all day or in the restaurants at dinner Limited vegetarian options Very expensive for Thailand

    Location Slept Well Great Pizza at O restaurant

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Hillside Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Maybe the pest management (mosquitoes control) isn't the best!

    Great staffs. Location. Beach. Swimming pool. Restaurant. Overall, fantastic services! 5 star all the way. My wife and kid loved it! I'll return here again!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Hillside Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room could do with some updating.

    Beautiful, clean beach. In our opinion it's a much better beach than sai keouw if you are looking for cleanliness and exclusivity. Best beach on the island. Especially that section outside the resort, which was cleaned regularly each day.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Hillside Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I would like to see a very complete book or pamphlet in the room explaining in detail any either Ao Prao or outside vendor activities available with maps, booking information and costs. Including things such as boat tours, Island site seeing items of interest etc.

    Our deluxe Hillside room was very clean, quiet and comfortable. The TV was great with a large selection of channels and the large bed comfortable. The room descriptions and photos on the website were current and accurate, their were no "surprises" with our room. The bungalows are arranged so each balcony has a view of the sea.The Breeze restaurant was well run and the food was very good. Even on a weekday stay during the slow season the resort was well staffed with cheerfully helpful people. The large breakfast buffet and the direct Seree Ban Phe pier to the Ao Prao pier speedboat ride, both included in the room price, are excellent features. The private white sand beach was clean, well kept and free from motor boats, jet skis and souvenir hawkers.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Hillside Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Did not agree with staff eating in the same dining area as the guests!! They should have a separate area, & not help themselves to the breakfast buffet!!

    Loved this resort very quite, & very clean, beach was cleaned constantly as was the hotel, great location.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunately this resort gave my friends and I a bad case of food poisoning for over three nights. We were all very sick and while management seemed concerned at the time they did not follow up or offer any concessions for the discomfort caused or the loss of part of our holiday.

    An acceptable four star beach resort. The Buzz resturant was particularly good. Staff were pleasant and attentive.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Deluxe Cottage
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    should offer outdoor spa overlooking the beach

    good location with friendly staff

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Deluxe Hillside Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Mostly everythung

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Hillside Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No Mosquito plug in for the room

    Beach is clean & beautiful , gardens beautiful. Perfect place to relax & unwind ☀️

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Premier Seaview
    • Stayed 3 nights

    expensive and nothing complementary. too expensive

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Cottage
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food and drinks are way overpriced.

    It’s a very nice hotel, on a beautiful location, a secluded bay with 3 resorts only

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier Seaview
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Exceptional accommodation. Great staff and a wonderful location. We had a premium sea view room for 5 days - It was a fantastic break.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The sofas on the beach are in plastic No good they must clean the ocean and the beach everyday

    everything is ok Extra location and staff

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Premier Seaview
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Friendly staff, spacious, clean bungalow, well organized transport by boat, facilities, beach and clear sea

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Hillside Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wish they had the red wines on their list as we chose 4 and they didn’t have them!!!

    Loved our room and beach and spa!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier Seaview
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was large and well fitted out. The staff were helpful.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Hillside Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The facilities could be updated for the price of the hotel was the same as a Cape and Kantary hotel.

    The beach in front of the hotel is beautiful.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Premier Seaview
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Premier Seaview
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good enough to relax without doing anything.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier Seaview
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel's always pleasant staff and the wonderful waters made everything else beautiful.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    hotel room up the hill

    hotel staff is the key success of this hotel. all are excellent !!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Hillside Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The Internet.

    Staff, food, location, organization, facilities and the free transportation when you arrive/leave from/to Rayong.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier Seaview
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Price level is to high

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Cottage
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food, spa and fitness could have been better

    Beach and room

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Cottage
    • Stayed 1 night

    A bit expensive

    Service, friendly staff, a great location and facilities

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Premier Seaview
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No gymn

    Location

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier Seaview
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The sewage smells in our room

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Cottage
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Everything was cool, relaxing and beautiful. <3

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Hillside Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Meals are really great. Services as well! STRONGLY RECOMMENDED!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Premier Seaview
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very nice location! Nice rooms! Unfortunately The staff has to learn more english and sometimes it took a long time to have service...

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Hillside Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Expected better service and food.

    Excellent room, pools and beach.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Hillside Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Rooms near the beach were as nice as you could hope for !!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Cottage
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Absolutely everything was perfect. Fantastic staff. Good food. Clean and well kept. Loved it.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Premier Seaview
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff are very friendly and sweet, the rooms are clean and comfortable, guests could go to the beach and pool. Good view. Super great place.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Hillside Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    many garbage along the coast, which spoils the view.

    standard service for 5-star hotel and nice view from the room.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The fact that we only stayed one night. Everything was perfect. Great value for money. (Maybe the staff could try to speak more English).

    Our stay at Ao Prao Resort was delightful. Even though it was a little tricky to find the correct pier at Ban Phe from the bus terminal, from there it was a short 10' ride in a speed boat to the island of Koh Samet (for free. Only departing 3 times a day so be careful though). The hotel was clean, the breakfas had a lot of variety, and you have up to 3 restaurants in the same beach to eat dinner. The room (Sea view) was perfect, and our only regret is that we only stayed one night. The private beach was really clean, there weren't many people, and the hotel organized snorkeling and diving activities. All in all, I would recommend this hotel for a couple of nights at least.

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    At almost 500 USD per night I have certain expectations. This hotel charges more then Hilton in Pattaya or W Resort in Samui. We have stayed at Hansar hotel at only 250 USD per night on Samui a few months ago, and that was better in every single way. At Ao Prao we booked a premier sea view room, yet first they tried to give us a room that faces the mountain and you can barely see the sea from one of the windows. We were able to change the room. The in-room amenities are low quality. Shampoo and soap not good, cheap toilet paper, towels not very high quality. The breakfast is very poor and food not tasty. Serving your guests processed cheese for breakfast for 500 usd per night is cute, but not very classy. The swimming pool filter was not working properly and the water was musky. Very loud and annoying club music playing all day at pool bar, can't relax. If you rent a scooter, you have to park 10 minute walk away from the hotel and there is no buggy or shuttle, the security doesn't allow you to ride your motorbike to the hotel because it is inside a national park, yet they have no problems letting hotel staff or taxi trucks drive back and forth all the time. I don't mind a 10 minute walk, but the rules should be the same for everyone. Thai food in the hotel restaurants was good, beach barbecue too, but western food was terrible, don't bother ordering it, stick with local food. If samet is your only choice for holiday destination, I guess this is a good option, but value for money is far far better on Koh Chang or Koh Samui.

    Clean and nice room. Well maintained beach and garden. Very beautiful view.

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Had a problem with my room... they tried to put me in a room with no natural ligth and with two beds. As a solo traveler I wanted a double bed and enough natural light... I showed my worst "me" to get what I reserved... but just after visited 4 rooms... Really expensive (!!!) for what they offer. Hotel is overpriced. I paid 170€ per night. Food at the restaurant is pricy. Inside the resort, life is also expensive when comparing with other places in Asia. Taxi and Boat are very expensive! Try to use the public pier, however you don´t have boats all day. Pool is not that big. Water on the beach could be better cared. Some lost plastics (one or another)...

    This hotel is in the same beach as Lima Coco and Le Vimarn Cottages Hotels. If you are looking for a quiet place to relax, this is the place! This beautiful beach is not that crowded as Sai Kaew Beach. To reach the village, you need to take a taxi (5 min ride, 200 Baht). In general staff is attencious and helpfull. Rooms are clean, comfortable and spacious. I already stayed in Ao Prao and in Lima Coco. Rooms at Ao Prao are way better than in Lima Coco. Bar inside the pool! Cool! I liked the breakfast! Diverse! Rent a scooter! It´s 300 Baht per day. Taxi from Pattaya airport to Ban Phe costs 1500 Baht (1h15). Private Boat from Ban Phe to Hotel is 2000 Baht (15 minutes). I already stayed in Ao Prao an in Lima Coco. Rooms at Ao Prao are way better than in Lima Coco. Try to book the boat in advance with the hotel as a package. Sometimes is possible.

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    There was nothing we did not like.

    The hotel as marvellous 5 star all of the way.where the hotel was right on the front of the beach was picture post card beautiful.It was very quiet and idyllic.The food and drink was a little expensive but you could get a taxi to town from the hotel costing 200 Bart (£4) so you can go to 7 11,store as they don't mind you drinking you own beer on the beach.There is also a lovely shack at the end of the beach where you can get A cold beer for 40 Bart (80p) the guy on reception was lovely and very helpful.

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    There are several steps upstairs to reach hillside room which like living at 5th floor. Although it is mentioned as "Due to the location of this room type, it may not be suitable for families with young children or senior citizens."

    Friendly staff give me a lot of help. Nice view for sunset. Good beach with less people. Quiet place for vacation.

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Perfect location on the Island, quite, secluded, motorbike rental nearby, beautiful clean beaches, and the resort can help schedule all activities including travel to and from the island.

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    rooms not clean stuff unpleasant prices for room outrages like 5 star but its not even close only good thing is the beach restaraunt food o prices crazy and food is bad

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2016

    • Business trip
    • Couple

    The staff were all fantastic - happy, helpful, lovely. Location is bliss and loved that it was quite quiet. The Thai restaurant was amazing - a truly memorable meal and the Thai white wine was delicious!

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The way to the hotel is not easy. The nearest airport is Bangkok (3 hours by taxi) and the speed boat was available only until 4pm... But it was worth... The infrastructure could me maintened a little bit better.

    The location is awesome: same same you can see in the movies :-) The sea is emerald green and aquamarine blue, the stuff is very very kind, the pool is awesome and the restaurant very good :-)

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Hardly any complaints as I really enjoyed it here and would go back but will say the bathroom shower head was a bit hard and didn't like the tiny, barely visible ants all over the bathroom sink - but that is what you get in a tropical island! Overall still really liked this place a lot.

    We barely had to walk at all from the pier to our hotel, transportation to and from Ao Prao resort was seamless! Staff very friendly. It was very secluded and quiet off season which is what we wanted - lots of privacy. Lots of places to lounge too. I really enjoyed the Thai massage with hot compress we had our first day as a daily special. Overall very welcoming and polite staff. Also impressed we did not get a single insect bite in four days here! Nice lounge chairs. Comfortable room.

There are also 37 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Ao Prao Resort traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: