Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Aochalong Villa Resort & Spa 4 stars

5/26 M. 9 Soi Porn Chalong , East Chaofa Rd., Chalong,Muang,Phuket, 83000 Chalong , Thailand

#13 of 36 hotels in Chalong

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 437 hotel reviews

8.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.6

  • Comfort

    8.1

  • Location

    7

  • Facilities

    8.2

  • Staff

    8.4

  • Value for money

    8.2

  • Free WiFi

    8.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    To go to the beach you have to take a shuttle bus , which is available only Monday, Wednesday, Friday at 14:0

    Near the sea, in a very green peaceful place

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Rooms are Very Small. Breakfast No Option's at All, They need to improve on this...we ordered our own breakfast by paying extra and it's prove they have good food but not included in the breakfast.

    Staff was good and helpful....

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    can't come up for anything missing for the price paid. The overall experience exceed my high expectations, so much so that I even decided to prolong my stay.

    Facilities & infrustructure - incredible. Very tasteful and authentic design which you won't find in a big chain hotel. Very spacious room, stunningly clean. Staff - the most geniunly friendly I have ever met. Steve was fantastic and helped to organize activities, and helped to organize my next destination. The rest speak basic English but will find their way to help you when you ask them. Giant swimming pool surrounded by tropical garden - fantastic way of spending lazy evenings.The seafront pool is under renovation and will be ready for the next season. Food - very deliosous, with very good variety of meals for breakfast (from 6.30 till 10.30), fresh fruit and a cook who fries your eggs to your liking. The restaurant itself is actually really good too, with very good prices as a regular local place. Activities & organization - very thought-through. on Mon & Wed they have a free ride to Kata beach, free tuk tuk to the main road -and the ap.15 min walking to Chalong pier. Helped to organize Phi Phi Islands cruise and shuttle from the airport - highly recommend their services, very good price and you feel safe (good cars, good drivers, punctual).

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some people from the reception didn't really speak English, so we couldn't comunicate properly about a problem that we had and it was quite frustrating.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room with Pool View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beach is dirty other than no cons

    Staff very very helpful and pleasant. Breakfast had different options everyday and everyone will find something for themselves. Location is quiet and away from everything which is quite relaxing. Good resort for diving trips as it's 5 mins away from Chalong pier.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Villa with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    everything was perfect.

    The best accommodation I have ever booked. The house (villa with sea view) was exactly as advertised - I could admire sunrise from my balcony! The stuff extremely friendly, very good breakfast, also dinners- I could order dinners directly to my room and enjoy sea view from my terrace. Also - Phuket has an opinion of a very noisy and busy island - Ao Villa is very quite, green, peaceful. I will definitely book it again!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Incorrect information about the distance to unit27 Gym , which was the purpose of my visit. I had to travel 12km to and from the hotel twice a day. It said it was much closer on the app, nobody apologized for this misinformation. Also The picture of the room did not live up to expectations, or was a dark room with no natural light and the AC was difficult to get right. Staff were friendly and Steve was very helpful.

    Pool facilities were good and breakfast was tasty.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Pool View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The TV in the room did not work and neither did the safe, we complained immediately and they promised to come fix it......we asked them 3 times to come fix it or change our rooms, they did not. The double bed we booked is in fact 2 single beds pushed together and they are not even the same height, we asked them to fix this....they did not. The location is far from any restaurant and even though you are on the beach you are warned not to swim there as the water is extremely dirty. There were hundreds of Chinese tourists, bus loads full that were very noisy! Would not recommend this place to anyone...

    The pools were nice and clean.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel location is fare from everything, hotel beach is dirty, so no one use or can swim in it

    Hotel Stuff is very nice and in general all Thai people are very helpful and always smiling Hotel is clean, nice swimming pool, nice room with balacony and nice view, good place for relaxing

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Amazing place which lived up to expectations of what was described on Booking.com. I loved the chance to have traditional Thai breakfasts and there was always the option of eggs three ways if that was your preference. You can also ask for bacon which is cooked to order. They just don't batch cook it and put it out on the buffet selection due to the amount that was being wasted! Brilliant sized pools, one in a shaded area central to the rooms and the other out the front facing the sea. Staff are very good at helping organise trips, taxis etc. Away from any hustle and bustle so nice and quiet. Excellent free taxi service to Kata Beach. So good we stayed here twice during our 25 days in Thailand. Steve is a gem and helped us all his Thailand knowledge of where to go and how to get there. All staff work tirelessly and are a credit to the hotel.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Amazing place which lived up to expectations of what was described on Booking.com. I loved the chance to have traditional Thai breakfasts and there was always the option of eggs three ways if that was your preference. You can also ask for bacon which is cooked to order. They just don't batch cook it and put it out on the buffet selection due to the amount that was being wasted! Brilliant sized pools, one in a shaded area central to the rooms and the other out the front facing the sea. Staff are very good at helping organise trips, taxis etc.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room with Pool View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms functional, clean, pools lovely, staff helpful. Bkfast could b better quality/choice like croissants/bakery items

    Lovely quiet cozy place in beautiful location looking across Chalong bay

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Everything would be excellent and for 11 points out of 10 if… they managed mistakes better. We paid (not only made reservation) for two rooms a month and a half in advance and announced late arrival. In the morning at the day of arrival, we contacted the hotel, confirmed late arrival and asked for airport transfer. We got it, but when we came at 11 pm, there were no rooms. The expected lovely evening with a drink near the romantic pool was destroyed. We were transferred to another hotel of lower category, in front of the traffic road, with 33 degree Celsius in rooms at arrival (2hrs latter was OK) with promise to get rooms early in the morning. But the next morning, we waited with all our language again to get them. We expected that somebody from the hotel management would come to us with proposal for compensation (lower standard for the first night and a ruined day), but they did not. Even after our discussion with the manager and her approval of compensation (free transfer to the airport and free dinner in hotel restaurant) we had to discuss this again and again – in the restaurant with three different persons, at the reception with another two persons the same evening … Unprofessional

    It is so lovely hotel, with very kind personnel, clean, with fantastic surroundings (two different type of pools, blossom trees, birds, statues), like “seven heaven”. But they sold our rooms twice and ignored this mistake. They just needed to ask us immediately how to overcome their mistake and we would not even mention this in commentar. That is the reason for low score even that is not fair for all personnel and not for all services.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some staff have near to no understanding of English which can make it difficult. However there are lots of people who are able to understand and help.

    The villa was beautiful. Comfortable and spacious. Quiet resort and away from any Phuket 'action'. Still within a short walk to everything you need, restaurants and great little bars. Short ride on the free daily transport to Kata. For just 600 baht someone from the resort will give you a taxi tour to Big Buddha and Wat Chalong. Special mention to Steve K! He made us feel so welcome and we were able to see a less touristy side of life thanks to him. A true asset to Aochalong Villa resort. Thanks!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I wasnt that impressed with the resturant food. It seemed pretty expensive. But the yacht club across the road was excellent! So it didn't really matter.

    Clean rooms with good shower and quite aircon.very relaxing place with two good sized pools.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room with Pool View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location... it's situated behind a massive road. I mean, you don't hear anything inside the hotel, but it is very dangerous to walk around there due to a million cars. If you do want to give it a try, I recommend to walk left and after 3 minutes you see a small Thai restaurant on the other side of the street which has delicious and cheap food. And, well, they forgot to pick us up at the airport. Not a big desl as there are enough taxis, but we searched 10 minutes for our driver.

    The pool is really big and warm. There's a second pool behind the restaurant. From there you can see the ocean -> beautiful :-) Breakfast is the usual in Thailand, but lots of choices.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Pool View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wi-Fi connection in the rooms should be improved.

    Nice pool and next to the beach. Good breakfast. Clean, spacious and comfortable rooms. Friendly staff. Our stay was very short, but it was a pleasant experience.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Villa with Pool View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beach is not suitable for swimming and the hotel is far from the walking streets and restaurants.

    Hotel is beautiful, rooms and pools are clean and the ocean side pool view is amazing.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    On arrival the hotel denied our booking n.B. This was concurred by several other guests. We were given a sub-standard room for the first night.

    Once in the chosen room, the location and standard were as 3xpected,The two pools were excellent as were breakfasts.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 10 nights

    When we come the receptionist gave us a room, which was not even in the booking photos. It was room with old furniture but worst was the smell in the room. After we complained they changed a room to a room with pool view even we paid only for garden view. I think they have a chaos and not good organization in the hotel. Breakfeast was very simple, every day the same food and not very various, it could be much better.

    We had a nice stayed here. Hotel is situated in the quiet garden, and providing free transfer to the main street. If you can rent a motorbike, there are an interesting places near to hotel. Room was every day clean and there are two nice pools at the hotel and beautiful garden.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Villa with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    First I arrived to find out a guest was still in my room.. I had booked a room with a sea view instead I ended up round the back for a day which meant I had to move again into the room I should have had from the start since I pre paid for my holiday there no compensation was given. Internet poor... Mosquitoes galore, my legs are swollen up with painful mosquito bites. Electric power cut on our last day. Despite this I still enjoyed myself.

    Good value for money. Restaurant was good and provided multi national cuisine. Tours can be easily set up from reception. Very tranquil.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The place is a bit remote but if you are renting a car or a scooter then it shouldn't be a problem.

    We stayed here for 3 nights and we really liked it. Although its a little far from all the interesting places in Phuket but we rented a scooter so it was quite convenient for us. If you book the island tours they any ways provide pickup and drop facility to your hotel. They have 2 swimming pools and a Jacuzzi! The Staff members were really friendly. The room was big. The internet was fast. I would recommend this place.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    hard beds, long walk from main road and golfcart (for this purpose) not always available, Chalong is quite remote and the hotel doesn’t offer much more than the standard taxi service and once a day free of charge shuttle to interesting locations

    good quality for the price

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some rooms are big and nice but some are small and not very nice. Our room was not one of the good ones, small and above the kitchen, a lot of noise during the night.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 9 nights

    Nobody come to pick up as from the airport.

    The pool is amazing.. Quiet .. Really thai mood . The garden too.. Nice people on reception. Full relax. A bit far from all . The food in restaurant was very nice. The room is very nice and clean. We love this place.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Pool View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Service was a little slow in the restaurant and the place was a little out of the way but nothing hiring a scooter didn't solve

    Friendly staff place was clean and comfortable food was nice very enjoyable stay.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Arriving at 5 AM and not receiving the rooms we paid for. We needed to stay for first night un very small rooms, and the biggest problem was the bad smell

    Standard rooms are big, good value for money

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Pool View
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bit out the way .

    It is a little hidden gem,staff are great stev was fantastic help us with his knowledge of the area . Bit out the way however a fantastic place if you want to relax and chill.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    My first room was terrible 605. Tiny in poor condition. Hot water was at a premium in both rooms. Note hot water wasn't available in the bathroom sink. Lastly the bar closed at 10:30 PM (too early).

    My second room was very nice, the pool area was nice and the overall ambiance was nice overall.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Maybe pancakes for breakfast! but few days with omelette, fried eggs, sausages, tosts, dark and white break, noodles, rice, juices, fruits and vegetables were really excellent!

    The breakfast was excellent! Two fantastic swimming pools! Nice staff! Great localisation ! Cleaning room and whole hotel every day! Very clean rooms! Fast internet!!! It is really excellent place! I recommend it very much!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    the place is a bit remote so needed to take long walks to get to amenities and needed to take taxis every night which adds to the costs

    Thai village style better compared to bunnies type hotels that lack a holiday atmosphere

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    1. Management overbooked the nights with Booking.com so we could not stay for the 1st night as our room was taken. I booked the room half a year ago! They took us to a 1star hotel next to a busy street. Very unprofessional 2. Pictures on Booking.com are far away from reality. For 2nights we were in a downgraded room and not what we booked with Booking. I want a refund! More guests complained about it. 3. Booking genius gets a welcome drink (we didn't get so we asked for it) they gave bad pineapple juice that was served at breakfast. 4. Very poor breakfast 5. Staff's English is really bad

    Pool with view

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My only downside is that you need to get a taxi to anywhere, although the free shuttle to Kata Beach everyday & golf buggy ride up to the road were very useful. Also, they didn't overcharge too much for their drivers.

    Beautiful resort - quiet & secluded, two lovely tropical pools, excellent restaurant. Staff were faultless - all so friendly & helpful. Any issues were handled swiftly & with a smile. I loved that my poolside room had a sitting room and a balcony.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bad location. Unhelpful and unfriendly staff. Expensive for very basic accommodation. There is no spa. The breakfast was the cheapest possible and covered in flies. We spent two nights and could not wait to leave.

    Nothing.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 9 nights

    Staff were pleasant and tried hard to be helpful. Breakfasts had lots of choice and good quality. The resort was pleasant and quiet. Beautiful trees and shrubs with 2 swimming pools. Fantastic views into the bay. Staff helped with taxis to get around. Not for those who want a noisy boozy time. A cookery course is offered on Wednesdays and Saturdays. Rooms huge and comfortable. Free shuttle to a beach which we used a couple of times. There were lots of stall near this beach

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pictures from web are far from real looks, it is little run down, pool looks very clean but after swimming you are left with oily skin and hair, obviously they are not using chlorine in it.

    Cabin houses around pool are lovely with small balcony, great place to relax, people there are working hard to keep everything in line.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was the same every day, I expected a few different food. The beach in front of the hotel was not nice to swim. The shuttle to Karon Beach was fine and free of charge. But it was just 14-17, I would have preferred an earlier shuttle. The location was okay. If I come back to Phuket I would chose another location. But the hotel itself is really nice to stay in.

    Very nice accommodation. The Hotel was very clean and the staff friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor transportation, staff made it difficult to arrange taxi. Bad location, any sort of attraction was a minimum 30 min drive away (making taxi's very expensive).

    Pool was nice

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Quite oasis away from noise of Patong.Karon and Kata beach easy accessible by scooter.Within 20 minutes. Staff was friendly even though I didn't use facilities too much Room always nicely cleaned Swimming pool was amazing clean ,never crowded with nice view. Highly recommending this place for families and couples

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    it is old style place. noisy air conditioning. the beach is not to practice. influenced by water rises during day/night time. full of ailing boats.

    the sea view for. swimmingpool

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Unfortunately the size of their room is not the size that is mentioned in the booking.com. but it is clean and nice.

    everything was great, we enjoyed a lot. the staff specially Steve was really helpful and kind.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Muddy sea, but there is a free transfer to Kata daily. Noisy chineses..

    Good hotel, friendly personnel, calm and relaxing atmosphere, 'invisible' housekeepers, free transfer to mail road. Woodball field nearby! No russians in hotel.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Pool View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Don't take airport shuttle, it's 1000 TBH, but with Taxi meter we got to the hotel for about 750 THB. We had to show taxi and tuk-tuk drivers where exactly to go, because they usually didn't know it.

    Super nice and friendly staff. Very good to people who wants quiet vacation in privacy. Wilderness outside of the room.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I liked everything in Phuket.

    Phuket Town is Great, I recommend all the visitors to rent a scooter and visit all the places by scooter. Amazing, beautiful and great place for honeymoon visit, partying and vacation.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Great thing about this place is that despite being really luxurious resort still has the cosy feeling of a small place, staff really friendly and beautiful facilities. Very calm.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Villa with Sea View
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was fantastic

    Very friendly and helpful staff especially Steve. Steve was always sharing his time with us and great conversation topics. He has a very kind heart

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There were some things lost in translation at the reception but it was always sorted out in the end.

    It is a quiet resort with great wifi everywhere. Everything was super clean. The staff was wonderful and very considerate and Steve was helpful whenever we needed guidance. It is a great place for couples, families or anyone who is looking for a comfortable, clean, and quiet place.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Had a lovely 3 night stay very relaxing. The staff were lovely & it was great having Steve from the UK working there who was a huge help with answering any questions we had and general knowledge. The Resorts restaurant was great.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is not much sun around the pool. The property had forgotten our booming and we were then taken to a smaller room for the first night then to move to our room on the second... which is confusing. We were then taken to a room where someone was already asleep in bed! Then taken to another room where we stayed the entire trip. We wanted to hire a driver and we're told the price for 3 hours was 1000 bht. Which is expensive but we accepted thinking we could go everywhere! After 1hr30 mins our driver turned back to the hotel as apparently we had paid to go to the big Buddha and a temple which was half of the amount of time we had paid for. He tried to charge us another 1600 bht to take us to the beach and back! The staff at the hotel were not helpful with this matter and had already charged my bank card without letting me know.

    The hotel and villas are sweet.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 13 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I did not like kids screaming in the pool at 6 am, I think hotel can adjust rules for the pool open at 8 am, so other guests can sleep well. And kids must not stay unattended in the pool in any circumstances, anyway

    This hotel located in peaceful area in Chalong, near the Pier, and the view is absolutely fantastic. I trained Muay Thai and stayed in this hotel, it was perfect choice. They also have afternoon bus To Kata beach and Nam Hai beach, which I enjoyed many times

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor location, not convenient to anything. Long, difficult walk to pier, no food nearby or hotels, nearby beach is in harbor not open water.

    Staff was accommodating

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It took them almost one hour & half to check us in as the house keeping were preparing the room ... quite far from everything

    Staff were very helpful & polite, Steve the guest service manager was helping us alot

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Pool View
    • Stayed 10 nights

    nothing not to like

    swimming pools and staff out of this world nothing is to much for them thank you to steve and the reception staff really made our holiday

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    ∙ we did encounter a rather big bug insect in our toilet, however I think it is expected that you might find such insects in most of the places where you might check-in.

    There are absolutely no words to describe the professionalism of the staff and the overall comfort of staying at Aochalong. In the next words of my review I am referring strictly to "Garden View Villa" as type of room. We started a seven-day trip around Thailand with three days at Aochalong and we could not be happier! Trying to highlight some the features that impressed me, my girlfriend and our two friends: ∙ the restaurant is opened during the whole day, or at least has very long hours, not quite sure, however whenever we felt like eating up until 22:30, there was always someone ready to take your order. The food is great, the prices as you would expect are more than affordable. Breakfast is really simple and has available chicken sausage, rice, pineapple and watermelon as fruits, and eggs of your choice. ∙ there is free transportation to and back from the beach nearby, around a 10 maybe 15-minute drive. ∙ there is a massage center above the restaurant with only two available spaces at a time and a request in advance for the masseurs. Thai massage was no more than 600 Thai Baht if I recall correctly and was really good comparing it to the ones that we usually have in Bangkok. ∙ any request that we had at the reception was dealt with straight away; we requested transportation to Phi Phi island and back to the airport on return and we were able to pay it in advance and we had absolutely no problems issuing the tickets. ∙ checking out from the hotel, we had a detailed bill of everything extra that we needed to pay, and what we absolutely loved was that every restaurant bill did not simply have the final number, but actually the actual price of the food and drinks bought for that specific lunch or dinner.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I had a mainly good experience, but I want to be honest and also share what I didn't like: The breakfast has a very limited choice of continental food, especially for vegetarians. I especially missed any kind of cheese, sweet danishes and maybe baked beans or similar. The english skills of the receptionists are also very limited. They seem to only understand buzzwords within your sentences. One example: I complained because there was no water coming out of my tap. She said okay and that she will send somebody to my room. I went back and a couple of minutes later somebody came and brought me two bottles of drinking water instead... So she understood, that the cleaners forgot to leave the complememtary two bottles of water. I know this is Thailand, but at least receptionists should speak proper English. The shower has a very weak water flow and didn't stay warm for a long time.

    Nice and quiet location, big rooms, shuttle service to the main road, friendly staff, fast laundry service, nice view at the ocean. Also the Spa offers a decent massage.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    we were (it felt like) the only customers in this quite big hotel. they gave us the room number 401, which was really far from the beach and the restaurant in the 3th floor. the room was tiny and had twin beds instead of the booked double bed. after complaining, they gave us room 501 which was even further away but at least had a double bed (actually it was still two mattresses, but they put it together). it really felt like this hotel has no customers and if they have customers they give them (at least to us) the poorest room of the whole hotel. there was no breakfast and no nearby restaurant or shop. without a motorbike you are lost in this place.

    the hotel has two swimming pool. one smaller one next to the beach front and one large one further up. The whole property looks quite old, but in a quite nice Chinese style.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Didn't like much.

    Not my type of place. The rooms were tiny and smelled damp. The hotel was very Thai. Lots of big statues everywhere. I suppose being that we were in Thailand ots expected. Had just been in two different hotels before and they were cheaper but offered more. Staff dont speak much English so we had problems when we needed an extention cord. Took them about 3 hours to bring us one. Breakfast wasn't great. Not much variety and food was bland. Thats my take on it. Might be different for someone else.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Slight smell in the bathroom sometimes, helped by pouring water down to drain.

    Good location at seashore, no road, no traffic. Lovely and helpful staff. Free trips to beaches every day. Good pools

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I have rented 3 rooms for my family. Two of them were very good in condition and one was quite a bit stinky, in which the air-con should have been cleaned.

    Nice swimming pool. Deserving price. Polite staffs. Flexible negotiation.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Villa with Garden View
    • Stayed 6 nights

    We were put in an apartment on the second floor for our first night as they didn't have our Villa accommodation available, which we had booked months earlier via booking.com. We were then moved into a lower property for our second night but it was still not what we had booked, I complained to the manager and at this point we were ready to leave, luckily their was an English speaking guy called Steve who was fantastic he then organised a Villa for us, so we were then moved again! however at least then the accommodation was what we had booked and it was ideal. Even though we had original issues, we would definitely return as the staff were lovely and the resort was very relaxed.

    The area was lovely and quiet. The food in the onsite restaurant was very good. Once in the correct accommodation the Villa was perfect, very spacious and very clean.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The breakfast

    Two beautiful pools, one overlooking the sea. Good Thai massage and very helpful manager Steve who gave us excellent advice. Free shuttle to and from Kata Beach was a added bonus.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room with Pool View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Resort was walking distance to the main street and stores. Staff is friendly, especially Steve (British) - great guy. Very interactive with guests. Breakfast was very nice. I would definetly go back!

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was absolutely stunning and Steve was so friendly and helpful. He was spot on with his advice and directions and he really knows the area well! We will definitely come back again!

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Buffett breakfast wasn't great but I think it's the same across Thailand as we travelled.

    My boyfriend and I stayed here for our first place in Phuket and spent 3 nights here. We was amazed as soon as we arrived. We had a very large room/bungalow by the pool 'garden view' and was perfect. The pools were lovely and staff very kind. We then spent our last day here too before heading back to the airport for £20 and the room was lovely too.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Villa with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Beach area not ideal for swimming. Wine selection in the bar not very good.

    Our room was right on the beach! Nice View! Close to the Yacht Club where we had activities. Staff were most helpful!

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little bit out of the way but the hotel has that covered with taxis and tuk tuks.

    Great breakfast included , beautiful setting on the water , nice swimming pools and most importantly of all really friendly and helpful staff and workers.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It is far from the main road but they offer free transportation with a golf cart. The laundry service is very expensive but you can find these services close by.

    The hotel and facilities are great. It is situated on the beach and close to the Chalong Pier, where you can find boats tro visit other islands. The rooms are big and very confortable and the stuff is nice and friendly.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Villa with Pool View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It doesn't have the beach if you are after it. Swimming is possible only in the swimming pool.

    The gardener and the designer have done a fantastic job- the hotel itself, the pools the room are just nothing but beautiful! There is nice yacht club for some food, 10 minutes by bike to the big Buddha

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We had an amazing stay here! Steve was super helpful and knowledgeable about the area and bars/restaurants. A beautiful property and pools! The perfect relaxing end to our trip in Thailand!

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything but mainly the good value for money and the AMAZING Steve, this guy made our stay worthwhile. Without him I believe this place would fall apart. There is a pool with a view of the Barbour honestly can't fault this place would highly recommend

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was a little to firm for my liking, if I had to complain. Certainly wouldn't stop me from returning though.

    The staff were very very friendly. Steve the Hotels manager was very friendly with a great knowledge of local bars & restaurants. Nothing was too much trouble. All staff friendly & accommodating. Great location, very peaceful & relaxing. We'll be back !!!

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Beds are a bit too hard, not so comfortable.

    The view and garden were absolutely beautiful. Very nice get-away place, and daily transportation to busier beaches.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 13 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good location with the nice sea view. Friendly personnel. Romantic atmosphere. English speaking guide service was provided. Nice food. Clean rooms. Beautiful nature around. Definitely will recommend this villa to friends.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Passed the Hotel several times before finding. Turn down a narrow lane for YACHT CLUB.

    Excellent Hotel on the beach, good breakfast and the Staff were so helpful.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Pool View
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Super friendly staff and great location. Walking distance to most of the great things Chalong has to offer. Will definitely be staying again! We stayed in the pool view rooms and on the opposite side was the perfect view of Big Buddha❤️

    Stayed in November 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Aochalong Villa Resort & Spa traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: