Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Astera Sathorn 4 stars

143 South Sathorn Rd, Yannawa, Sathorn, 10120 Bangkok, Thailand

#716 of 1,238 hotels in Bangkok

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1398 hotel reviews

7.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.4

  • Comfort

    7.2

  • Location

    8.1

  • Facilities

    7.2

  • Staff

    8.1

  • Value for money

    7.4

  • Free WiFi

    7.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2018

    6.3
    Not bad but clearly not worth the price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff asked to pay the whole stay at the beginning while we even didn't see the room yet. The room was much smaller than expected. The spa and other commodities for men were closed during our stay. When we checked-out, they asked us if we stole... a spoon. (We didn't)

    The room was clean and the bed was extra large. The buffet breakfast was good with many choice. The swimming pool was really nice, and for once, quite deep. The location close to the center is the main reason we chose this hotel.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2018

    6.3
    Not a bad option, but you can get better place in a closer vicinity to all the attractions
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The locations is quite far from all the attractions. The hotel charges quite more than what should be the ideal rent per night. The airport shuttle service was exorbitantly high The currency exchange rate they offer was very low as compare to the banks nearby. They don’t provide enough water for two persons stay. Ideally two bottle should be provided per person whereas they gave 1 bottle of water per person. They don’t even let you smoke in balcony area.

    Breakfast was good The staff could speak English well The complimentary snacks and drinks were the add on benefits The bed was extra large and very comfortable Easy access to BTS station and ferry pier

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2018

    5.0
    Nice pool to relax and service with a smile... but worn out and damp bedrooms!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior 2 connecting rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bedroom was damp and smelly! It was not worth the money we paid to stay there - we paid only a little more the night previously and had a much, much superior room in another hotel to this one!

    Unfortunately our room at Astera was nothing like the photos we had been shown prior to booking. The hotel is now very old and the photos outdated! Our room was damp and smelly and the bedding even felt damp. The bathroom was not very clean. The pool area was very clean however, and is a lovely area to relax for a few hours after the hustle and bustle of busy Bangkok city life! The staff were all really pleasant and helpful.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2018

    2.9
    Very average hotel. Staff were OK and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    old and need updating.

    Hotel was not what I expected, poorly furnished and overall room furniture was old and tired. Location was the best thing, would not recommend this hotel for a long stay 1-2 nights max.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2018

    7.5
    Perfect location for public transportation
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Swimming pool quite small and male comfort room was under maintenance during my staying period, what a waste

    Easily access to places by BTS and boat taxi

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2018

    8.8
    As expected good! And good location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Not much, people must remember, this is an very busy hotel, people going in and out all the time.

    Well Number1 Location, very good. Stayed before and the staff is very good. Praise to the security person at the door, he is very helpful and polite. They held goods in storage for us when we traveled to Vietnam. And the staff quickly reminded us when we arrived back. Well done STAFF...

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2018

    5.8
    Room has bad smell
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bad smell of smoking although they asked me to sign not smoking inside room. We are old women cannot sleep because of smoking smell. Don't know where it comes from. The woman at reception was not very good at attitude when doing checking for my group of friends and children.

    Good location. Very near big night market and super market that close around 10pm.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2018

    8.3
    Very good located hotel. Staff helpfull to say the least.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    What is expected in many hotels in Bangkok, hotels are showing that are being used a lot and need often more renovation/updating etc...This hotel included.

    Main reason to stay, location is very good! Close to center of Bangkok. Close to Taksin Aquatic center - close Silom close to friends in Sathorn. And very handy, the hotel was able to store some of our suitcases, and I have to mention, (some Dutch old cheese was placed in the hotel refrigerator,) so when we back from our Vietnam trip, we can pickup the lot and stay a few more days. This was of the reasons for staying in this hotel...Thanks Hotel Staff....

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2018

    8.8
    Convenient location.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Superior 3 connecting rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pool only until 10pm. not so good wifi.

    Convenient location. Accessible by BTS skytain, friendly staff, clean rooms, and generous good breakfast, and freebies in the room. Comfy beds.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2018

    7.1
    Staff very friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel really outdated, paint peeling off. Furnishing and utilities outdated.

    Staff very friendly. For the promotion price, a decent deal. Close to BTS station. Close to Robinson's mall, and boats. Also a nice touch the manager sending up me a pastry to wish me on my birthday.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2018

    8.8
    It is best located in Bangkok, the Pool is good, especially...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior 2 connecting rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    All a little bit old, one of our air conditions smells a little bit...

    It is best located in Bangkok, the Pool is good, especially when you are there with kids... the staff is very friendly and helpful, good breakfast

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2018

    4.6
    The equipment of the room is old and makes feeling of dirty.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The equipment of the room is old and makes feeling of dirty. The room is quite small. My window view to the Sathorn Tower that makes us very scared, we didn't sleep well. The hotel couldn't be a 4* hotel. The good point of hotel I found is very near the Sathorn Pier where I can get boat to Asiatique and travelling by boat on Chaphraya river.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2018

    5.0
    parking is good as i hired a taxi for whole day, but...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior 2 connecting rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights

    average hotel location of hotel is very difficult to inform taxi drivers as mostly people cannot speak good English and it is very difficult to pronounce hotel name as they read. regarding the google map the location is very far from markets and must cross the heavy traffic areas from central market locations. being a visitor from Pakistan its very hard to find any Indian / Pakistani restaurant in near by

    parking is good as i hired a taxi for whole day, but location is worst i never recommend

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2018

    7.5
    Breakfasts were good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room size. Hangers on cupboards No balcony to smoke

    Breakfasts were good. Rooms were clean. I just found room to be a bit too small. 3 hangers per person. Need more hangers in cupboard Dressing room too small. No pla e to put suitcases. Have to bend to floor all the time. Should h e tBls to put cases on. I asked for smoming room or balcony. Area out side no space to move with flower boxes Restricting you.nowhere to sit. Pool was lovely. Staff were very pleasant and helpful

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2018

    3.8
    Never make the same mistake again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Smelly corridors and rooms. Not so clean and tidy

    Nothing it was a nightmare. Very old hotel.Humid and musty all over. Bed is fair but the overall cleanliness is poor. Never again

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2018

    10
    This hotel was worthy for the range of budget.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This hotel was worthy for the range of budget. I like how it’s close to BTS saphan taksin, ferry pier and bus station. Even more, there are some local muslim restaurants nearby which made it easier to satisfy my tummy as a muslim. Facilities are good, place is clean. Hotel staffs were friendly and helpful. They knew how to speak English so 👍👍

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2018

    9.6
    Excelent location, and close to public transport, staff are...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Excelent location, and close to public transport, staff are very friendly and helpful, pool is nice and clean, breakfast is very good. Beds are comfortable, and the room comes with free water, coke and snacks. Absolute bargain, i will be staying again when i next visit Bangkok.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    9.6
    Nice clean rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice clean rooms. Pool was very nice and well kept. Restaurant was very good, but a little pricy for Thai Food (to be expected in a well established Hotel). Very close to the river to catch a water taxi to different locations (very convenient) staff very helpful as well.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    9.2
    A great place to use as a base for exploring Bangkok. Close to the river traffic and the BRT Rail.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    At times I thought I was sleeping in the middle of traffic. The noise, particularly speeding motor bikes seemed to echo around the area. I was on the 10th floor. Previously on our last visit we were on the 5th floor and didn't notice the noise at all.

    The staff were cheerful and helpful.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    7.9
    helpful and accommodating staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    helpful and accommodating staff. kept our luggage upon checking out for last min shopping while waiting for return flight and even allowed us to refresh ourselves prior to leaving for the airport

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    8.8
    Great location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Needs to be a little bit repaired (repainted in some areas) but besides that everything was amazing!

    Great location! Amazing staff! Super friendly and helpful. Complimentary drinks and snacks in room, which was refilled everyday! Great room with cute star toys! Thought it was super cute!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    5.8
    Stay here if you want a decent place with great location, but don’t have high require for much else.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lobby staff were not very friendly or helpful, breakfast food wasn’t great (apart from noodle station), air conditioning and shower wasn’t working properly, room is small and tired (but clean), would have preferred a jug rather than the strange hot water machine. No aircon in lifts or corridors.

    Location is excellent - short walk (even manageable with 2 young kids) to boat and BTS which got us to most places we wanted to go. Great way to travel. Breakfast staff were lovely, and very accommodating of the mess our baby made. Also, the noodle station is awesome. Room is clean and comfortable, daily complimentary snacks were nice. Pool and pool area was nice.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    7.5
    Prime location & comfortable stay
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room size is bit smaller than expected

    Well maintained, room service, staff, location, walkable distance from sky train/water taxi, value for money

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    6.3
    A disappointment
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Had a room on 9th floor together with my daughter. Pigeons crawling on the roof all morning and evening. The aircondition did not work and could not cool down the room. When contacting the reception they would send a technician. They did and he just turned the way the aircondition was blowing directly to my bed so i got a sore throat but still no cold room. I have been staying here more times and often they have had problems with aircondition but including pigeons too then i´m finished booking here.

    Pool area is small but have many facilities

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    8.3
    Great location, but fix the wifi please
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The internet was a nightmare. It worked for about 50% of the time, 25% of the time it was patchy and 25% of the time it was non-existent. Three requests to reception did nothing to fix the problem. On two occasions the hotel was overrun by Chinese package tours. I love the Chinese, but in package tour groups, they collectively turn into another beast altogether. Loud and inconsiderate, blocking walkways, shouting up corridors, having boisterous group gatherings in the foyer. It’s not the hotel’s fault, but it sure lessened the amenity of the property for me.

    Good location, and nice friendly staff. The complimentary snacks and soft drinks in the room each day were an added bonus.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    6.7
    Maybe it's unfortunate to stay here because of the staff service.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    AC in the room very bad, seems to wind through. Uncomfortable to stay here. Staffs unfriendly.

    Delicious food and variety. Near Metro Sky train and Mall.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    8.8
    Hotel was quiet, bed comfy. Nice breakfast buffet!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    View from room wasn't the best. There is a huge property nearby slated for demolition so was looking very run down.

    The hotel is close to the ferry and sky train terminals, so was convenient. Shopping close by. Has a pool so that was a bonus. Initially thought there wasnt much going on in the area, but there is a shopping complex close by (Robinsons) and a pop up market beside it, so was fun for us. Tasty breakfast buffet.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    10
    This was a great booking- from staff to facilities we were really pleased!
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior 2 connecting rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I have two negatives. We showed up only 20 minutes before check-in time and we were asked to wait in the lobby until the exact minute. This was the first I have experienced this. Also, the pool is VERY slippery. It is lines with tile on the inside and it has a steep drop for most of the length, so when I was swimming with my children it was impossible for any of us to go anywhere but the very shallow area because otherwise we kept sliding under the water when we were trying to stand.

    My family booked two connecting rooms and we really enjoyed our stay. The rooms were clean, the pool was nice and the staff was amazing. The location was great. Within 5 minutes of walking (with children... so for adults it would be about 2 or 3 minutes) we were at a street side market with food and goods as well as some bars. Very close to the riverfront and many different areas of interest.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    7.5
    Nice hotel, great location close to train station and water taxi stop
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Please can we just have a simple kettle? That actually boils water? Not a over complicated machine that doesn't get hot enough. And you can't easily take it to the tap to fill because it's so big

    Lovely big bed

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    4.6
    Great location but disappointed...
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Given a room to us on the 2nd level, room 307, a.c not cool, hot shower not working well. Photo on website wasn't the room that was allocated for my booking. Provided feedback to the staff on duty after two days of stay. After which they gave us a room 601 on level 6. Well the room was the same as the photo. Still a.c. wasn't cool. Out of my 8 nights stay, half of it, I was sweating while I was sleeping. Other than that was ok. Computer console near the reception area, working but without mouse. WiFi suddenly cut off. Some nights I'm about to hear the sound from the next room which is 602. Worse the lady in that room made a lot of noise, especially late in the night... so couldn't get a night sleep...

    Hotel very near to bts, 7-11 and Robinson shopping mall.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    8.3
    It is value for money and I will choose to stay there again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The tissue paper was not replenished during the room service. At one point of time it has totally finished and I have to use the toilet roll

    It comes with a bathtub in every room. My daughter loves to play in the bath tub very much.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2018

    7.9
    Guy on reception.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Difficult for taxi to find

    Guy on reception. His name was Monty. Couldn't have done more for us. So kind and knowledgeable. The pool was really good.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2018

    6.7
    Extra large bed was great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunately, there was a cockroach in our bedroom - not an enormous issue but slightly off putting.

    Extra large bed was great. Hotels general facilities good, and airport transfer went smoothly.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2018

    7.1
    Old hotel but great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My room neighbors at the hotel are from China and every night they would open the door and the door make this loud close bang sound for several times, and also they spoke loudly in the hallway. One night they did this until 2:30am. I complained the next morning and the receptionist moved us to new room next to the chinese again but they only talked a little loudly until midnight. If I knew it before, i would not stay here. Not so good spring bed (probably because they are old bed) and i felt itchy the first night.

    The location of the hotel is very convenient because it is near BTS and central pier. The breakfasts was good with different variations every day.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2018

    6.3
    Pretty Average Accommodation
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would not be a 4 Star property by European standards, which is probably a matter of perception. Room was dated, bed very hard, swimming pool a lot smaller in reality (and divided into a kids' end and adults' end), and as a regular to BKK I would say there is better value available in the city.

    Handy for the Bangkok BTS and the pier. Property was clean and good choice at breakfast. The daily replenishment of the complimentary drinks and snacks is a nice touch.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2018

    9.2
    I was already few times in this hotel and I will always...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was already few times in this hotel and I will always come back . Very nice all reception staff. You are really nice and professional. Thank you !

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2018

    9.2
    Nice hotel by the BTS
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior 2 connecting rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No street food places to go have dinner. A few restaurants ,but not very many cheap eats.

    They have a good breakfast with a little of everything for your tastes.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    9.6
    Great location, friendly staff, clean rooms, great breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior 2 connecting rooms
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Small issue with the water temp in the shower. Could not get it to stay hot??? Told the staff on check out. Not a big deal though. Wifi was patchy. They us Unifi standard AP's. They need to use the Long Range ones as this will help. Only 2 Accesspoint [per floor.

    Great location, friendly staff, clean rooms, great breakfast.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2018

    8.3
    Excellent breakfast, very good location next to BTS station...
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Wifi was really poor quality in the room. Hotel is a bit worn here and there, but it is currently being renovated and more expensive rooms with pool view seemed to be modernized.

    Excellent breakfast, very good location next to BTS station and pier, just a couple of stops away from Siam square. Nice pool and sauna area. Overall a good experience.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2018

    10
    Great place and amazing stuff
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    All tread mills in the gym we're out of order .I think we're 5 of them.

    Great location. The stuff is amazing and generous . My room was clean and comfortable. King size bed was more than enough for one person.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2018

    7.5
    5 min walk to skybar and boat trip.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Water running from air conditioning in the middle of the room. We didn't had acces on the terace. The door was looked, so we didn't have fresh air during our stay.

    5 min walk to skybar and boat trip. Friendly staff.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2018

    7.5
    We liked the location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Rooms are a bit dated, mostly the bathroom. Grout around tub was not clean. Walls are thin and you can hear your neighbors. Bed was hard.

    We liked the location. Easy to get to the boats and skytrain. Breakfast was good and had an omelet station. We ordered some room service and the food was good. The pool is a nice thing to have after a hot day of sightseeing. Staff were friendly.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2018

    10
    Old fashioned but everything is working and the room is excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I had to leave too early for having breakfast

    Big room, nice swimming pool and super friendly personal - I can definitely recommend it for that price but if you don’t mind that the hotel in general is not very modern

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2018

    7.1
    Nice hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Noisy place near the highway. Also you can hear when your neighbors go to toilet or have sex. Earplugs recommended.

    Overall a nice hotel. Location is a bit far from many popular tourist destinations, but only 100m from the nearest skytrain station. The swimming pool is too small for serious swimming, but good enough for refreshing yourself in the heat. The pool area is clean and comfortable. There is even a basic gym next door. The staff is helpful and friendly. Good buffet breakfast with lots of options (bread, noodles, soup, eggs, vegetables, fruits).

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2018

    2.9
    Bad experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior 2 connecting rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff is not friendly at all .I didn't ask for thing and they help me in it. They have only one baby cot in the whole hotel.Breakfast is normal and the restaurant is tiny and you can't move.My son just write with pen in bedsheet and it was small the staff stand out in the looby of hotel waiting me with bedsheets to show me the evedince in front of all .I didn't like the attitude of them at all and after that they charged me for cleaning. I asked them once to do call for taxi driver they said You have to pay 15 pats,what a service they offer. If you would like to go to arab street it's far away.

    nothing

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2018

    8.3
    A hotel that does just what you need it to do without costing the earth.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No space for a second bedside table. I had to slide to the bottom of the bed to get up! All else just fine.

    An ideal place from which to explore Bangkok. Hotel nice, value for money. Not the Ritz but has worked for us three times now.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    8.3
    Staff were great!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was a little dated and the bed was very firm. My room kept smelling like smoke despite all the windows being closed

    Staff were great! They went above and beyond

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2018

    7.9
    I like the location. It was good in general if there was “no dispute” with children “breakfast”.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only problem I had was toilet blockages & children “breakfast included” issue which was very misleading. I had to wait 45 minutes before my issues was resolved with the interference of “Booking.com” customers service. They said “breakfast included in room rates”. Which our family thought the children were included in everything. It turns out that parent can eat & children cannot eat. But we clearly told them we had children staying with us. Hotel did not mentioned anything about paying extra for the children in their confirmation, so they ask us to pay extra breakfast cost for all our children. The issue was not the cost of the breakfast we have to pay but the fact that I don’t like how their information was so “misleading” to us as tourists & wasted our time complaining. It was a very annoying experience of our stay in regards to this matter. However, the issues was resolved at the end but I don’t think the hotel was very happy about it. I’ve met 2 other families & they were in the same boat as us. They’ve been misled as well.

    The overall experience of my stay was good and well presented.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2018

    8.3
    Good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Its noisy. I am very sensitive to noise and had a hard time. Avoid room 1006

    Breakfast was good and changes every day. Staff is super friendly Very convenient for BTS

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2018

    6.3
    Little bit disapointed
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing ... the bed was very hard, the room was near the elevator and at every stop it givs a ding dong... feel like sleeping ind the 7/11s dorway... batroom is very old ... the pool has not much sun and was cold... it's ok there with super discount... maximal 1200 baht per day... my opinion

    Near the river and bear the skytrain, not far to chinatown

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    6.7
    Cheap and no frills. Good distance to boat and BTS station.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Room wasn't really clean, cleaners did not clean the outside of the toilet - only the inside, the cover of the toilet paper was VERY dirty, we were also placed in smoking room, we specifically asked for non smoking.

    Location, large bed, room service was quick and food was ok, water and toiletries were replaced even if there was some left from the night before. hot water was ok.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2018

    5.8
    it had a nice pool and free sauna
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    the breakfast was really bad, especially since I am vegetarian and most of the food was meat, it was also not very diverse our toilet was licking the wifi was really bad the water was not very hot

    it had a nice pool and free sauna

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2018

    5.0
    Good for an overnight stay ...... but not much longer
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Rooms are very much outdated and smell of old damp. The property needs refurbishing. Just outside the hotel, you will find many local drug addicts and alcohol addicts sitting and drinking or injecting drugs. Although they don't harass tourists, it is Very frightening for tourists.

    The Staff !!! EXCELLENT and Very polite Staff. Extremely Helpful !! Very Good Staff 10 out of 10 marks for Staff. Saphan Taksin metro station is at walking distance from the hotel.. Breakfast room has a good selection of items to eat. Very good !!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2018

    9.6
    I would definetely stay there again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I liked everything.

    It was a perfect stay in the heart of Bangkok. Very comfy room and a decent bathroom. Easy to get the tourist boat that will take you to the main attractions and also near the sky train. There is a shopping mall a few meters away with many options of restaurants. Very, very good hotel!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2018

    8.3
    Good value for money. Comfortable for families with children.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior 2 connecting rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Not many nice dining options walking distance (maybe there are and we missed it).

    Good location, close to a train station as well as the river taxi boats. Great breakfast. We got two connecting rooms, which was convenient for a family with 3 kids.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    7.1
    For quick stays only
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    In short, the room wasn't that clean. Now this is a budget hotel in Bangkok, so it's not like we should expect top notch. However, bugs in the bathroom, flies in the room, hair on the floor, hair in the sheets are still not acceptable for me.

    The room is basic but generally comfortable. The staff is nice and friendly as well. I was just in town for a conference nearby, and it was fine for a few days. Would I stay longer, probably not.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    6.3
    Good location that is under 10 minutes walk to waterfront but value for price is questionable.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    - No microwave in the rooms (starnge to offer hot water and sinks for washing dishes but no microwave) - Rooms were dated - No irons - Hot water heat kept shorting (had to reset the switch)

    - Rooms were very large (I was upgraded - nice) - Great toiletries included (soap and shampoo in dispensers in shower) plus toothbrush and combs for those who forget to pack these items (like me). - Swining TV (can watch from couch or bed.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    10
    A great stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sometimes the shower water was not hot.

    I stayed here for four days with my family. I was satisfied with the pool and fitness area, breakfast, location, and price. Its proximity yo Saphan Taksin and the pier means that it is easy to get to any part of Bangkok.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    7.9
    Value for money pit stop in a good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Wifi was poor, not suitable if you have to work. Breakfast was truly awful, best to skip it and get street food nearby.

    Great location near Sathorn pier, pool was nice just a bit small

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    9.2
    The ‘stars’ of Astera: the smiling staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was great, the staff was the best, they always greeted us with a smile and answered to all our needs. The room was very big, the bed in particular. The breakfasf was also pretty good, we had a lot to choose from. The position of the hotel is very strategic: a few meters from the sky train and from the Sathorn Pier. Very happy

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2018

    7.9
    Value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    small cockroaches at bed and bathroom; and some noisy, dramatic American people may be it because of the soundproofing problem of the room.

    Value for money, breakfast was decent, clean rooms, nearby good restaurants. Nearby sathorn pier and art station. Easy to book short trip or day trip, staffs were helpful too.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    5.8
    Management tries hard, but for the same money, better options are available.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is on a main road so traffic noise throughout the night is part of your package. The place is very old and out dated decor screams at you. The reception area is badly designed, small and overcrowded with luggage and waiting hotel guests,

    The room was spacious, hotel is close to shopping malls and two stations, the complementary drinks and eats in the room.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2017

    3.3
    Location is close to the water but not what I had imagined. A bit shabby and dirty area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior 3 connecting rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms had a bad smell and new paint smell. Our first set of rooms (I rented three connecting rooms) there were four cockroaches. Staff casually killed them and moved on. Later on u found another and complained and they moved us to another floor with similar rooms.

    Staff was helpful in checking us in early.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2017

    9.6
    A great stay .
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to affect me that I didn't like

    The Hotel is 3Star ,but the service I got was more like 5 Stars , thanks to Chef in the breakfast room, the bell boy was a great help to me thanks Winston,the tour Manager was very helpful .

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2017

    5.4
    Location is great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cockroaches in the room, bad cleaning as there was a note on the mirror from previous or even earlier guests, impossible to have rest with noisy neighbors...

    Location is great.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2017

    7.5
    Judged as a 3 star and according to price...as a 4 star, it’s miserable
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The tiling may have been done by Stevie Wonder and the shower was perfect for soaking the bathroom. Water temperature varied whilst in use. This is not a 4 star hotel, but it’s a perfectly adequate 3 star one. No bell staff to take my bags for me....it might sound prissy but after 12hrs of travel and expecting a 4 star place, this was a big disappointment

    The pool and sauna, price, sofa.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 December 2017

    2.9
    Not a four star, maybe two
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unaccomodating, non English speaking staff. The breakfast is poor; sweet orange drink (not juice), sweet colored jelly, cold fried eggs, toaster that doesn't work etc. The Asian food is a little better. There are no restaurants close to this hotel. You can hear everything from the room next door. They call themselves a 4 star hotel, but it sure isn't.

    They hold your bag while you take side trips from Bangkok.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2017

    5.8
    Will do for one night
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Photos didn’t look like the room, the facilities were poor, the WiFi was awful and would never work

    Staff were really friendly and the breakfast was good

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 December 2017

    7.1
    Great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room smelt a bit of mould and quite musty. Ladies at reception didn’t like to smile!

    Great location. Short walk to sky train and ferries. Yum breakfast - try the Thai soup!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2017

    5.4
    Take this hotel if you like astera puppies in your bed
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It looks more like a youth hostel or even childish. Not mush comfort... No light switch near the bed. Noizy aircon etc. Staff was not cooperative. I asked for airport transfer before arrival. - Hotel only offered hyper high cost transfer.... We also had a lmissing uggage problem in the airport and luggage delivery neefed also hotel's participation in the communication and arrangement process...It was hard to make a phone call...

    Breakfast was quite good.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    5.8
    For the rating it has I expected a lot more.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room wasn’t very clean. Dirt and hair in the bathtub when I arrived. For a hotel with this sort of rating I expected more. The shampoo and shower gel was attached in a deslemcer to the wall and was not good quality. The water ran hot and cold and would often just go cold. There was no bottle opener in the room and although I used the teaspoons they never changed them when they did the room. The front door was broken and stuck when it opened. The toilet warm flushed was very loud and flushed for a long time. And the room was so close to the next room you could hear everything happening in there, including just opening the cupboard door.

    The bed was very big and the location was great right next to the sky train.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    7.5
    Cody Room with good location for pier to Royal Palace, visit Chinese Market. First Road of Bangkok.
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room is renovation required. Furniture is required replacement even if just top up to current structure. Restroom as well, hot water is highly consistency.

    Good Location for BTS by 5 min walking and closed to Bangrak , local market where busy since early morning. Close to pier, main bridge. Sathorn Pier. By walking distance you can have ancient chinese barbecue pork and roast duck, PRAJAK.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2017

    5.0
    Not the best for the money they charge
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Little cockroaches all over our room and bathroom.Bed not cozy..could feel the springs..no view..and they even checked our room when we were checking out..like we would steal something from them.I wonder if they would do the same check on a big group of Chinese tourists..hmmm Full of trash and rats very close and outside of the hotel during the afternoon hours.

    The location was alright.Close to sky train stations

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2017

    10
    Great location and good price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior 3 connecting rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A/C smelt a little mouldy but it could happen anywhere in south east Asia so wasn’t a big deal.

    Very helpful staff. Connecting rooms was nice for big families.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2017

    6.7
    Nice hotel, good breakfasts, not so clean rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Rooms are quite old and so as bathroom. We've seen some bugs in the bathroom so our comfort wasn't high. Wi-fy wasn't easily avaliable in whole place and rooms

    Hotel well located, near to skyline and ferry stop. Staff was very nice, smilled all the time and very helpfull. Breakfasts was quite ok, quite monotonous but tasty. On the pool there were towells and pool was very nice and clean.

    Stayed in November 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Astera Sathorn traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: