Accommodations Flights Flight + Hotel Car Rentals Airport Taxis

Reviews of Astera Sathorn This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services available. It's based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

143 South Sathorn Rd, Yannawa, Sathorn, 10120 Bangkok, Thailand

#716 of 1,238 hotels in Bangkok

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 1380 hotel reviews

7.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.5

  • Comfort

    7.2

  • Location

    8.1

  • Facilities

    7.2

  • Staff

    8.1

  • Value for money

    7.4

  • Free WiFi

    7.3

100% Verified Reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: July 15, 2018

    9.6
    Nice clean rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nice clean rooms. Pool was very nice and well kept. Restaurant was very good, but a little pricy for Thai Food (to be expected in a well established Hotel). Very close to the river to catch a water taxi to different locations (very convenient) staff very helpful as well.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: June 26, 2018

    9.2
    A great place to use as a base for exploring Bangkok. Close to the river traffic and the BRT Rail.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    At times I thought I was sleeping in the middle of traffic. The noise, particularly speeding motor bikes seemed to echo around the area. I was on the 10th floor. Previously on our last visit we were on the 5th floor and didn't notice the noise at all.

    The staff were cheerful and helpful.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 21, 2018

    7.9
    helpful and accommodating staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    helpful and accommodating staff. kept our luggage upon checking out for last min shopping while waiting for return flight and even allowed us to refresh ourselves prior to leaving for the airport

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 7, 2018

    8.8
    Great location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Needs to be a little bit repaired (repainted in some areas) but besides that everything was amazing!

    Great location! Amazing staff! Super friendly and helpful. Complimentary drinks and snacks in room, which was refilled everyday! Great room with cute star toys! Thought it was super cute!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 2, 2018

    5.8
    Stay here if you want a decent place with great location, but don’t have high require for much else.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Lobby staff were not very friendly or helpful, breakfast food wasn’t great (apart from noodle station), air conditioning and shower wasn’t working properly, room is small and tired (but clean), would have preferred a jug rather than the strange hot water machine. No aircon in lifts or corridors.

    Location is excellent - short walk (even manageable with 2 young kids) to boat and BTS which got us to most places we wanted to go. Great way to travel. Breakfast staff were lovely, and very accommodating of the mess our baby made. Also, the noodle station is awesome. Room is clean and comfortable, daily complimentary snacks were nice. Pool and pool area was nice.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: May 26, 2018

    7.5
    Prime location & comfortable stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Room size is bit smaller than expected

    Well maintained, room service, staff, location, walkable distance from sky train/water taxi, value for money

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 18, 2018

    6.3
    A disappointment
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Had a room on 9th floor together with my daughter. Pigeons crawling on the roof all morning and evening. The aircondition did not work and could not cool down the room. When contacting the reception they would send a technician. They did and he just turned the way the aircondition was blowing directly to my bed so i got a sore throat but still no cold room. I have been staying here more times and often they have had problems with aircondition but including pigeons too then i´m finished booking here.

    Pool area is small but have many facilities

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: May 8, 2018

    8.3
    Great location, but fix the wifi please
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The internet was a nightmare. It worked for about 50% of the time, 25% of the time it was patchy and 25% of the time it was non-existent. Three requests to reception did nothing to fix the problem. On two occasions the hotel was overrun by Chinese package tours. I love the Chinese, but in package tour groups, they collectively turn into another beast altogether. Loud and inconsiderate, blocking walkways, shouting up corridors, having boisterous group gatherings in the foyer. It’s not the hotel’s fault, but it sure lessened the amenity of the property for me.

    Good location, and nice friendly staff. The complimentary snacks and soft drinks in the room each day were an added bonus.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 4, 2018

    6.7
    Maybe it's unfortunate to stay here because of the staff service.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    AC in the room very bad, seems to wind through. Uncomfortable to stay here. Staffs unfriendly.

    Delicious food and variety. Near Metro Sky train and Mall.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 11, 2018

    8.8
    Hotel was quiet, bed comfy. Nice breakfast buffet!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    View from room wasn't the best. There is a huge property nearby slated for demolition so was looking very run down.

    The hotel is close to the ferry and sky train terminals, so was convenient. Shopping close by. Has a pool so that was a bonus. Initially thought there wasnt much going on in the area, but there is a shopping complex close by (Robinsons) and a pop up market beside it, so was fun for us. Tasty breakfast buffet.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 9, 2018

    10
    This was a great booking- from staff to facilities we were really pleased!
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior 2 connecting rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I have two negatives. We showed up only 20 minutes before check-in time and we were asked to wait in the lobby until the exact minute. This was the first I have experienced this. Also, the pool is VERY slippery. It is lines with tile on the inside and it has a steep drop for most of the length, so when I was swimming with my children it was impossible for any of us to go anywhere but the very shallow area because otherwise we kept sliding under the water when we were trying to stand.

    My family booked two connecting rooms and we really enjoyed our stay. The rooms were clean, the pool was nice and the staff was amazing. The location was great. Within 5 minutes of walking (with children... so for adults it would be about 2 or 3 minutes) we were at a street side market with food and goods as well as some bars. Very close to the riverfront and many different areas of interest.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: April 4, 2018

    7.5
    Nice hotel, great location close to train station and water taxi stop
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Please can we just have a simple kettle? That actually boils water? Not a over complicated machine that doesn't get hot enough. And you can't easily take it to the tap to fill because it's so big

    Lovely big bed

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 22, 2018

    4.6
    Great location but disappointed...
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Given a room to us on the 2nd level, room 307, a.c not cool, hot shower not working well. Photo on website wasn't the room that was allocated for my booking. Provided feedback to the staff on duty after two days of stay. After which they gave us a room 601 on level 6. Well the room was the same as the photo. Still a.c. wasn't cool. Out of my 8 nights stay, half of it, I was sweating while I was sleeping. Other than that was ok. Computer console near the reception area, working but without mouse. WiFi suddenly cut off. Some nights I'm about to hear the sound from the next room which is 602. Worse the lady in that room made a lot of noise, especially late in the night... so couldn't get a night sleep...

    Hotel very near to bts, 7-11 and Robinson shopping mall.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 20, 2018

    8.3
    It is value for money and I will choose to stay there again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The tissue paper was not replenished during the room service. At one point of time it has totally finished and I have to use the toilet roll

    It comes with a bathtub in every room. My daughter loves to play in the bath tub very much.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 16, 2018

    7.9
    Guy on reception.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Difficult for taxi to find

    Guy on reception. His name was Monty. Couldn't have done more for us. So kind and knowledgeable. The pool was really good.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 10, 2018

    6.7
    Extra large bed was great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Unfortunately, there was a cockroach in our bedroom - not an enormous issue but slightly off putting.

    Extra large bed was great. Hotels general facilities good, and airport transfer went smoothly.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: March 7, 2018

    7.1
    Old hotel but great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    My room neighbors at the hotel are from China and every night they would open the door and the door make this loud close bang sound for several times, and also they spoke loudly in the hallway. One night they did this until 2:30am. I complained the next morning and the receptionist moved us to new room next to the chinese again but they only talked a little loudly until midnight. If I knew it before, i would not stay here. Not so good spring bed (probably because they are old bed) and i felt itchy the first night.

    The location of the hotel is very convenient because it is near BTS and central pier. The breakfasts was good with different variations every day.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: February 14, 2018

    6.3
    Pretty Average Accommodation
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Would not be a 4 Star property by European standards, which is probably a matter of perception. Room was dated, bed very hard, swimming pool a lot smaller in reality (and divided into a kids' end and adults' end), and as a regular to BKK I would say there is better value available in the city.

    Handy for the Bangkok BTS and the pier. Property was clean and good choice at breakfast. The daily replenishment of the complimentary drinks and snacks is a nice touch.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 8, 2018

    9.2
    I was already few times in this hotel and I will always...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I was already few times in this hotel and I will always come back . Very nice all reception staff. You are really nice and professional. Thank you !

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 8, 2018

    9.2
    Nice hotel by the BTS
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior 2 connecting rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No street food places to go have dinner. A few restaurants ,but not very many cheap eats.

    They have a good breakfast with a little of everything for your tastes.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 5, 2018

    9.6
    Great location, friendly staff, clean rooms, great breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Superior 2 connecting rooms
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Small issue with the water temp in the shower. Could not get it to stay hot??? Told the staff on check out. Not a big deal though. Wifi was patchy. They us Unifi standard AP's. They need to use the Long Range ones as this will help. Only 2 Accesspoint [per floor.

    Great location, friendly staff, clean rooms, great breakfast.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 2, 2018

    8.3
    Excellent breakfast, very good location next to BTS station...
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Wifi was really poor quality in the room. Hotel is a bit worn here and there, but it is currently being renovated and more expensive rooms with pool view seemed to be modernized.

    Excellent breakfast, very good location next to BTS station and pier, just a couple of stops away from Siam square. Nice pool and sauna area. Overall a good experience.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 1, 2018

    10
    Great place and amazing stuff
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    All tread mills in the gym we're out of order .I think we're 5 of them.

    Great location. The stuff is amazing and generous . My room was clean and comfortable. King size bed was more than enough for one person.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: February 1, 2018

    7.5
    5 min walk to skybar and boat trip.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Water running from air conditioning in the middle of the room. We didn't had acces on the terace. The door was looked, so we didn't have fresh air during our stay.

    5 min walk to skybar and boat trip. Friendly staff.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 30, 2018

    7.5
    We liked the location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Rooms are a bit dated, mostly the bathroom. Grout around tub was not clean. Walls are thin and you can hear your neighbors. Bed was hard.

    We liked the location. Easy to get to the boats and skytrain. Breakfast was good and had an omelet station. We ordered some room service and the food was good. The pool is a nice thing to have after a hot day of sightseeing. Staff were friendly.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 28, 2018

    10
    Old fashioned but everything is working and the room is excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I had to leave too early for having breakfast

    Big room, nice swimming pool and super friendly personal - I can definitely recommend it for that price but if you don’t mind that the hotel in general is not very modern

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 25, 2018

    7.1
    Nice hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Noisy place near the highway. Also you can hear when your neighbors go to toilet or have sex. Earplugs recommended.

    Overall a nice hotel. Location is a bit far from many popular tourist destinations, but only 100m from the nearest skytrain station. The swimming pool is too small for serious swimming, but good enough for refreshing yourself in the heat. The pool area is clean and comfortable. There is even a basic gym next door. The staff is helpful and friendly. Good buffet breakfast with lots of options (bread, noodles, soup, eggs, vegetables, fruits).

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 25, 2018

    2.9
    Bad experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior 2 connecting rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Staff is not friendly at all .I didn't ask for thing and they help me in it. They have only one baby cot in the whole hotel.Breakfast is normal and the restaurant is tiny and you can't move.My son just write with pen in bedsheet and it was small the staff stand out in the looby of hotel waiting me with bedsheets to show me the evedince in front of all .I didn't like the attitude of them at all and after that they charged me for cleaning. I asked them once to do call for taxi driver they said You have to pay 15 pats,what a service they offer. If you would like to go to arab street it's far away.

    nothing

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 23, 2018

    8.3
    A hotel that does just what you need it to do without costing the earth.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No space for a second bedside table. I had to slide to the bottom of the bed to get up! All else just fine.

    An ideal place from which to explore Bangkok. Hotel nice, value for money. Not the Ritz but has worked for us three times now.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 22, 2018

    8.3
    Staff were great!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room was a little dated and the bed was very firm. My room kept smelling like smoke despite all the windows being closed

    Staff were great! They went above and beyond

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 21, 2018

    7.9
    I like the location. It was good in general if there was “no dispute” with children “breakfast”.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The only problem I had was toilet blockages & children “breakfast included” issue which was very misleading. I had to wait 45 minutes before my issues was resolved with the interference of “Booking.com” customers service. They said “breakfast included in room rates”. Which our family thought the children were included in everything. It turns out that parent can eat & children cannot eat. But we clearly told them we had children staying with us. Hotel did not mentioned anything about paying extra for the children in their confirmation, so they ask us to pay extra breakfast cost for all our children. The issue was not the cost of the breakfast we have to pay but the fact that I don’t like how their information was so “misleading” to us as tourists & wasted our time complaining. It was a very annoying experience of our stay in regards to this matter. However, the issues was resolved at the end but I don’t think the hotel was very happy about it. I’ve met 2 other families & they were in the same boat as us. They’ve been misled as well.

    The overall experience of my stay was good and well presented.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 18, 2018

    8.3
    Good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Its noisy. I am very sensitive to noise and had a hard time. Avoid room 1006

    Breakfast was good and changes every day. Staff is super friendly Very convenient for BTS

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 17, 2018

    6.3
    Little bit disapointed
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing ... the bed was very hard, the room was near the elevator and at every stop it givs a ding dong... feel like sleeping ind the 7/11s dorway... batroom is very old ... the pool has not much sun and was cold... it's ok there with super discount... maximal 1200 baht per day... my opinion

    Near the river and bear the skytrain, not far to chinatown

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 15, 2018

    6.7
    Cheap and no frills. Good distance to boat and BTS station.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Room wasn't really clean, cleaners did not clean the outside of the toilet - only the inside, the cover of the toilet paper was VERY dirty, we were also placed in smoking room, we specifically asked for non smoking.

    Location, large bed, room service was quick and food was ok, water and toiletries were replaced even if there was some left from the night before. hot water was ok.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 11, 2018

    5.8
    it had a nice pool and free sauna
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    the breakfast was really bad, especially since I am vegetarian and most of the food was meat, it was also not very diverse our toilet was licking the wifi was really bad the water was not very hot

    it had a nice pool and free sauna

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 11, 2018

    5.0
    Good for an overnight stay ...... but not much longer
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Rooms are very much outdated and smell of old damp. The property needs refurbishing. Just outside the hotel, you will find many local drug addicts and alcohol addicts sitting and drinking or injecting drugs. Although they don't harass tourists, it is Very frightening for tourists.

    The Staff !!! EXCELLENT and Very polite Staff. Extremely Helpful !! Very Good Staff 10 out of 10 marks for Staff. Saphan Taksin metro station is at walking distance from the hotel.. Breakfast room has a good selection of items to eat. Very good !!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 9, 2018

    9.6
    I would definetely stay there again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I liked everything.

    It was a perfect stay in the heart of Bangkok. Very comfy room and a decent bathroom. Easy to get the tourist boat that will take you to the main attractions and also near the sky train. There is a shopping mall a few meters away with many options of restaurants. Very, very good hotel!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 9, 2018

    8.3
    Good value for money. Comfortable for families with children.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior 2 connecting rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Not many nice dining options walking distance (maybe there are and we missed it).

    Good location, close to a train station as well as the river taxi boats. Great breakfast. We got two connecting rooms, which was convenient for a family with 3 kids.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: January 8, 2018

    7.1
    For quick stays only
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    In short, the room wasn't that clean. Now this is a budget hotel in Bangkok, so it's not like we should expect top notch. However, bugs in the bathroom, flies in the room, hair on the floor, hair in the sheets are still not acceptable for me.

    The room is basic but generally comfortable. The staff is nice and friendly as well. I was just in town for a conference nearby, and it was fine for a few days. Would I stay longer, probably not.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 8, 2018

    6.3
    Good location that is under 10 minutes walk to waterfront but value for price is questionable.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    - No microwave in the rooms (starnge to offer hot water and sinks for washing dishes but no microwave) - Rooms were dated - No irons - Hot water heat kept shorting (had to reset the switch)

    - Rooms were very large (I was upgraded - nice) - Great toiletries included (soap and shampoo in dispensers in shower) plus toothbrush and combs for those who forget to pack these items (like me). - Swining TV (can watch from couch or bed.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 7, 2018

    10
    A great stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Sometimes the shower water was not hot.

    I stayed here for four days with my family. I was satisfied with the pool and fitness area, breakfast, location, and price. Its proximity yo Saphan Taksin and the pier means that it is easy to get to any part of Bangkok.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 7, 2018

    7.9
    Value for money pit stop in a good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Wifi was poor, not suitable if you have to work. Breakfast was truly awful, best to skip it and get street food nearby.

    Great location near Sathorn pier, pool was nice just a bit small

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 7, 2018

    9.2
    The ‘stars’ of Astera: the smiling staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Everything was great, the staff was the best, they always greeted us with a smile and answered to all our needs. The room was very big, the bed in particular. The breakfasf was also pretty good, we had a lot to choose from. The position of the hotel is very strategic: a few meters from the sky train and from the Sathorn Pier. Very happy

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 5, 2018

    7.9
    Value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    small cockroaches at bed and bathroom; and some noisy, dramatic American people may be it because of the soundproofing problem of the room.

    Value for money, breakfast was decent, clean rooms, nearby good restaurants. Nearby sathorn pier and art station. Easy to book short trip or day trip, staffs were helpful too.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: January 2, 2018

    5.8
    Management tries hard, but for the same money, better options are available.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is on a main road so traffic noise throughout the night is part of your package. The place is very old and out dated decor screams at you. The reception area is badly designed, small and overcrowded with luggage and waiting hotel guests,

    The room was spacious, hotel is close to shopping malls and two stations, the complementary drinks and eats in the room.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: December 31, 2017

    3.3
    Location is close to the water but not what I had imagined. A bit shabby and dirty area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior 3 connecting rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Rooms had a bad smell and new paint smell. Our first set of rooms (I rented three connecting rooms) there were four cockroaches. Staff casually killed them and moved on. Later on u found another and complained and they moved us to another floor with similar rooms.

    Staff was helpful in checking us in early.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 11, 2017

    9.6
    A great stay .
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing to affect me that I didn't like

    The Hotel is 3Star ,but the service I got was more like 5 Stars , thanks to Chef in the breakfast room, the bell boy was a great help to me thanks Winston,the tour Manager was very helpful .

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 10, 2017

    5.4
    Location is great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Cockroaches in the room, bad cleaning as there was a note on the mirror from previous or even earlier guests, impossible to have rest with noisy neighbors...

    Location is great.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 10, 2017

    7.5
    Judged as a 3 star and according to price...as a 4 star, it’s miserable
    • Solo traveler
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The tiling may have been done by Stevie Wonder and the shower was perfect for soaking the bathroom. Water temperature varied whilst in use. This is not a 4 star hotel, but it’s a perfectly adequate 3 star one. No bell staff to take my bags for me....it might sound prissy but after 12hrs of travel and expecting a 4 star place, this was a big disappointment

    The pool and sauna, price, sofa.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: December 9, 2017

    2.9
    Not a four star, maybe two
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Unaccomodating, non English speaking staff. The breakfast is poor; sweet orange drink (not juice), sweet colored jelly, cold fried eggs, toaster that doesn't work etc. The Asian food is a little better. There are no restaurants close to this hotel. You can hear everything from the room next door. They call themselves a 4 star hotel, but it sure isn't.

    They hold your bag while you take side trips from Bangkok.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 3, 2017

    5.8
    Will do for one night
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Photos didn’t look like the room, the facilities were poor, the WiFi was awful and would never work

    Staff were really friendly and the breakfast was good

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 2, 2017

    7.1
    Great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Our room smelt a bit of mould and quite musty. Ladies at reception didn’t like to smile!

    Great location. Short walk to sky train and ferries. Yum breakfast - try the Thai soup!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 1, 2017

    5.4
    Take this hotel if you like astera puppies in your bed
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It looks more like a youth hostel or even childish. Not mush comfort... No light switch near the bed. Noizy aircon etc. Staff was not cooperative. I asked for airport transfer before arrival. - Hotel only offered hyper high cost transfer.... We also had a lmissing uggage problem in the airport and luggage delivery neefed also hotel's participation in the communication and arrangement process...It was hard to make a phone call...

    Breakfast was quite good.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 27, 2017

    5.8
    For the rating it has I expected a lot more.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room wasn’t very clean. Dirt and hair in the bathtub when I arrived. For a hotel with this sort of rating I expected more. The shampoo and shower gel was attached in a deslemcer to the wall and was not good quality. The water ran hot and cold and would often just go cold. There was no bottle opener in the room and although I used the teaspoons they never changed them when they did the room. The front door was broken and stuck when it opened. The toilet warm flushed was very loud and flushed for a long time. And the room was so close to the next room you could hear everything happening in there, including just opening the cupboard door.

    The bed was very big and the location was great right next to the sky train.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 27, 2017

    7.5
    Cody Room with good location for pier to Royal Palace, visit Chinese Market. First Road of Bangkok.
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Room is renovation required. Furniture is required replacement even if just top up to current structure. Restroom as well, hot water is highly consistency.

    Good Location for BTS by 5 min walking and closed to Bangrak , local market where busy since early morning. Close to pier, main bridge. Sathorn Pier. By walking distance you can have ancient chinese barbecue pork and roast duck, PRAJAK.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 23, 2017

    5.0
    Not the best for the money they charge
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Little cockroaches all over our room and bathroom.Bed not cozy..could feel the springs..no view..and they even checked our room when we were checking out..like we would steal something from them.I wonder if they would do the same check on a big group of Chinese tourists..hmmm Full of trash and rats very close and outside of the hotel during the afternoon hours.

    The location was alright.Close to sky train stations

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 19, 2017

    10
    Great location and good price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior 3 connecting rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    A/C smelt a little mouldy but it could happen anywhere in south east Asia so wasn’t a big deal.

    Very helpful staff. Connecting rooms was nice for big families.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: November 14, 2017

    6.7
    Nice hotel, good breakfasts, not so clean rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Rooms are quite old and so as bathroom. We've seen some bugs in the bathroom so our comfort wasn't high. Wi-fy wasn't easily avaliable in whole place and rooms

    Hotel well located, near to skyline and ferry stop. Staff was very nice, smilled all the time and very helpfull. Breakfasts was quite ok, quite monotonous but tasty. On the pool there were towells and pool was very nice and clean.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 14, 2017

    8.3
    Perfectly ideal location for a first-time visitor to Sanam Luang
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Weak shower. Badly too far from entertainment venues in Sukhumvit or Huay Kwang along the MRT. Roughly takes nearly an hour to get there. Too many bad drivers in motorcyvles around the area therefore badly hard to cross the road !!!

    Closed to the BTS station therefore easily accessible toward Siam Square. Friendly staffs. Gym facilites for fitness. Very strong and brilliantly stable Wifi !!!! Closed to the local supermarket and food court in the department store in a very short walking distance by foot. Value for money at the reasonable budget price.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 9, 2017

    6.3
    Staff friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We found cockroaches in the room, I found one in my bed , it was really unpleasant feeling. We complained and they change our room to another.

    Staff friendly. Great location.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: November 9, 2017

    6.3
    No too bad, but I will no back to this hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I took this hotel because I love have a bath after all day walking around the city , I couldnt have it because the bath was quite old and bad looking... the bath curtain was dirty and old. And the ventilation hole was so dirty , so I didn’t feel to have a bath there. And the water came hot or cold, depends of it , sometimes i got so cold. After I had a cut in my ankle that it was bleeding in the night and the plaster was off , so The bedlines had blood the next morning. In the three nights that we spent there they didnt change it, I dont know if is normal no change every day the bed lines but if they see that was dirty and I left in a way to please be clean it, It will be lovely do it. Internet conection was really poor.

    The situation of the hotel is great, near the tube .The staff from the hotel was friendly and help us with everything. And the massage place near it is amazing, great staff and really friendly.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 8, 2017

    8.3
    great location, clean rooms, good service and fantastic price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    what a fab location. 300 m from the subway station and river boats. this being the most important criteria in traffic jam plagued bangkok, we absolutely recommend this place. staff was kind and helpful, late check out no problem, room was clean and air con worked well. stayed on 7th floor with fast lift and for the price one pays this is a fantastic option.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 7, 2017

    8.8
    Very convenient to BTS. They store our extra bag while we take extended side trips.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Found a bug in our room, reported it, and they gave us another room immediately, without further questions. Great response!

    The customer service person is outstanding.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: October 25, 2017

    9.2
    Value for money, Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room safe wasn't fixed into the small unit it was in which was also freestanding and able to be moved around the room freely.

    Friendly staff, great location being so close to the Skytrain

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: October 20, 2017

    9.2
    Good stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Noises from nearby traffic affects sleep, windows should be sound-proofed for the comfort of travellers. Gym is a little ill-equipped and air conditioner in gym should be stronger.

    Staff were friendly and willing to serve, near BTS station. Fantastic resturant that serves great breakfast buffet and ala-carte orders. Great services from Catering department.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 19, 2017

    8.3
    Very pleasant.
    • Family with young children
    • Superior 2 connecting rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The location, re: the hotel being on a very busy road.

    Staff was super friendly and helpful. The rooms were very clean and cosy. The beds were very comfortable. Quick service and tasty meals at the restaurant.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: October 12, 2017

    6.7
    Stop and go. You can rest in the pool or in the steam bath. And train in the small gym
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Air-conditioning really noisy. I found 4 bugs in the room (3 when I arrived, 1 two days after). I told about it at the reception and they answer me the bugs were not dangerous -.-

    Close to Saphan Taksin station and to the pier. You can move easily through the city

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: October 12, 2017

    5.0
    Beds were good rest everything needs a upgrade.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior 2 connecting rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Shower wasn't working properly. Cockroaches in the wardrobes in both the rooms. Need a serious upgrade. No lifeguard at the pools. Terrible choices at the breakfast. Fish, pork dishes half cooked omelet. This is not called breakfast.

    The rooms were interconnected.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 11, 2017

    7.5
    great location and the pool was lovely and the people were f\very friendly
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    housekeeping we didnt get robes an we never got any toilet paper or tissues refilled

    the breakfast was great , the guys at the front desk were really helpful

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 6, 2017

    8.8
    Very enjoyable, would stay again should we return to Bangkok.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    View from the room not up to much but that didn't spoil our stay.

    Staff friendly and very helpful, room and bed a decent size and comfortable, great location close to public transport links, breakfast adequate and enough choice, nice local bars/snack bars nearby, easy to book excursions from reception. Outside smoking lounge was a bonus (for my husband) and you could buy beer in reception area! Overall we were happy with our stay.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: October 5, 2017

    4.6
    Pictures and reviews deceiving
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I didnt like the room, the hotel seemed it was built in 1980s, needs to be redone. The room was very small, the washroom smelled like someone pissed in the shower, 24/7. The door was hard to close. Pictures were deceiving, I didnt receive the value i paid.

    I liked the breakfast, pool and gym, the view from the window and the location.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: September 29, 2017

    5.0
    Good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior 3 connecting rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There's small cockroaches in the bathroom. Water heater was very inconsistent and water pressure was weak.

    Close to BTS station. Tomyam was really good. Generous with complementary snacks and soft drinks.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: August 31, 2017

    5.4
    needs improvement
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    poor aircon, maintenance staff was really rude and became angry when we complained about it

    property is near a department store, grocery, bts and pier;good breakfast; there is a good thai massage nearby

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 24, 2017

    7.1
    Location is close to pier, market and BTS.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We had to ask for a map and not all staff were friendly and approachable. Did not feel safe walking in the area at night but tuk tuks and taxis are readily available and v cheap

    Location is close to pier, market and BTS. Clean and comfortable room.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 24, 2017

    6.3
    Average room in a good location
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was small and old, and the windows and balcony door were dirty. I booked for double bed but ended up getting twin bed. There was no chair in the room to sit and work on my computer. The water heater was so old that it could be either extremely hot or not warm at all. I paid much less for some other hotels but got a much better room.

    Great location, convenient to travel around with boat, BTS or bus. There are lots of good places to eat near the hotel. The receptionist was friendly, and one of the staff brought me the chair when I asked for it (though without a smile).

    Stayed in August 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Astera Sathorn Traveler Photo Gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: