Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Away Koh Kood Resort 4 stars

43/8 Moo.2 Baan Klongchao, Koh Kood, Trat, 23000 Ko Kood, Thailand

#24 of 36 hotels in Ko Kood

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 163 hotel reviews

7.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.3

  • Comfort

    7

  • Location

    7.9

  • Facilities

    7.3

  • Staff

    8.5

  • Value for money

    6.1

  • Free WiFi

    7.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 49

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2018

    8.8
    Nice place to be, great beach and views. Crap food.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Duplex Bungalow
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The food was bad. Wasn’t impressed at all especially with the prices you were paying. The beach opposite theirs, the beautiful one that you want to hang on, was littered and there was glass.... it may not be their beach’s but it wouldn’t take long for someone to clean it! They make the rooms look bigger online than they are.

    The staff were mostly very friendly and helpful. The beaches were beautiful and the free kayaks were great.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    3.3
    On arrival from speed boat, the location seems good
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Ocean Facing Bungalow
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I stayed in the standard cottage on the slope. The room especially the bathroom reminded me of my backpacking days staying in those cheap bungalows in Thailand. There is no view from the balcony as the whole slope are covered by heavy vegetation. There is no easy access to the sea the only way is to use the hotel kayak to paddle to opposite side of the channel. There is a swimming pool but it is very small and the water looked suspect. In conclusion, considering the price I paid, it is probably the worst place I have ever stayed in Thailand.

    On arrival from speed boat, the location seems good

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    7.5
    Attentive and accomodating staff, nice place but I did feel it was a overpriced.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Ocean Facing Bungalow
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The shower water was salty and low pressure and not high enough for my tall friend, the view wasn't as good as in the pictures - HOWEVER the staff let us change rooms and that was very lovely of them. We really appreciated that.

    The staff were lovely and accomodating and the view was nice and the breakfast was really good. The view was lovely and the room was clean and simple - though I wish it had a rain shower. The room provided a beach bag too which was cool

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    5.0
    Stay Away
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Ocean Facing Bungalow
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Salt water running from taps and shower. Had to wash in bucket. Resort needs updating, no love shown to this property in a long long time. No value for money here

    Great island

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2018

    10
    We had a very romantic time there..
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Oceanfront Bungalow
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A breakfast choice..

    Me and my husband booked a room delex beach front . We paid 2 night for 15200 baht ..room#1.we there for celebrate 3nd year first meet Aniversary. I called the hotel and the stuff helped me created an idea about to set up a dinner table at tye pier..to surprised my hubby. And they actually did the great job..plus the manager gave 1 bottle of sparkling wine for free.and plus gave a breakfast for 2 day during our stay for free.. The staff make a bouquet by using a flowers around the the resort which it's very impressed..they went to bought a cake some where far that I requested. And they helped me planed to surprised..they are all the great staff ..helpful friendly and very manner. They willing to help in anything I want to have . And they are working with the smile and happy..I can felt it.. I like the Away resort.. here the place that cool..by separate from.the sand beach that have to take kayak and very quiet..peaceful. beautiful style decor ..safety resort.. And the Food menu... it's cheap.. compare to the room.. I was very surprised how the Food taste good with the cheap price.. reason able wine list and cocktail price.. I will definitely tell all our friends and we willing to come back anytime soon. Natnisha&Laurent

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2018

    7.9
    Sensational views, paradise for sure, but run down property.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Oceanfront Bungalow
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The owners of this property need to refurbish, everything is old, they are charging ridiculous price. It’s a shame because the views and scenery and staff are exceptional.

    The absolutely fabulous views from the ocean front bungalows. The lovely staff. The comfortable bed and large room. The relaxed ambience and the high standard of cleanliness.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2018

    9.6
    A beautiful resort in a beautiful setting with wonderful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Oceanfront Bungalow
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very few negatives although I think in general it is a little overpriced - both the price of the room and the food etc, compared to other places we’ve stayed on the island. There are lots of families staying there so lots of kids running around - which is both a positive and negative depending on your situation!

    We stayed in one of the beautiful oceanfront bungalows facing the beach - the view was incredible. Very comfortable bed with mosquito net. The staff were so friendly and nothing was too much for them to organise. We loved the kayaks and paddled up the mangroves one day and walked to the waterfall and they were also great to pop over to the main beach, which is one of the most beautiful beaches we’ve seen. Food was delicious with very big portions. It was my birthday while we were there so we had a romantic meal on the pier which was very special. At the end they also surprised me with a birthday cake which was such a sweet surprise.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    2.5
    Excellent. Highly recommended
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Oceanfront Bungalow
    • Stayed 4 nights

    It was very good. No complaints at all.

    The reception staff were exceptional - they noticed that my return boat reservation did not match my stay dates in their hotel and revised it for me. There are kayaks available for free to take you to the busier beach with Peter Pan resort on it - there is a nice beach bar, and a restaurant (then several more along this beach) - or you can walk around.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2017

    8.8
    Great Away Feeling!
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Family Bungalow
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The second floor of the family bangalo is very hot because there is only one air-conditioning on the first floor.

    Beach volleyball, canal and sea together, staff and away feeling.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    5.0
    Not as i imagine.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Bungalow
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I don’ t like almost everthing that resort should have. No sand beach, food is expensive, hill-type room so it is hard for kids and old to walk, and a lot.

    Nothing

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2017

    9.2
    Great place with wonderful views for quiet family stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Ocean Facing Bungalow
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Near beach is not for swiming. You need to take kajak. Mosquitos are awful.

    Views are wonderful, huts very cosy and confortable. Taking kajaks in the river is just great.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2017

    8.8
    Rustic Beauty
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff were friendly and welcoming and the facilities were Rustic and beautiful- There were many activities that could be done for very good pricing and arrangements could be done easily right on the property- I would love to stay again

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2017

    7.9
    very nice place,with a beautiful view of the beach. very nice atmosphere and well maintained.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Oceanfront Bungalow
    • Stayed 4 nights

    lots of drinks but not enough selection of booze to make the drinks.

    excellant view of the beach. the area was nice and clean and well maintained. nice pillows, a/c, big beds, and t.v. good snorkling areas, water was excellent and clear. good walking distance to 2 restaurants and a couple bars with music, just have to look good to find the restaurants and bars , they are there and good times.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2017

    9.6
    Away Koh Kood
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Ocean Facing Bungalow
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Restaurant is good but a bit pricey.

    Nice place with a view at the beach through palm trees. Very clean with good quality furniture and equipment. If you expect a resort just at the beach, you need to know that you need to take a kayak to make a short trip to the beach from Away Koh Kood. You can also walk through a forest for about 10 mins and arrive at a beautiful nearby beach.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2017

    7.1
    Beautiful place - needs a few adjustments!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Duplex Bungalow
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There are a 3 different types of accommodation at this resort we stayed in two of those advertised. Firstly the duplex bungalows which in my opinion are not 'luxurious' and seem to be in need of refurbishment. They look old and dated and the bathrooms are really not great. Lots of gaps and holes in the floors so expect a few insects and mosquitoes ( this could be solved by putting nets over the beds) We also stayed in the Ocean front villas and they were very nice, spectular views over the sea, very private and decor was so much better and nets over the beds. If you can pay more take this option. The other thing that massively needs to improve is the breakfast - it's very poor with not very much choice and most of the hot food left uncovered, so not at all appertising. Would be nice for the staff to interact more too, perhaps serving tea and coffee ( decent coffee) etc instead of serving ourselves. With a few extra touches and room improvements this place could be 5 stars. Despite all this I would return.

    Fabulous location, central to most places and overlooking one of Koh Kood most beautiful beaches and also a beautiful river. Extremely relaxing with a variety of free water activities, kayaks, Sup boards and organised tours also available for snorkelling, fish triips etc. They also hire very good scooters here and at a good rate. The grounds and settings of Away are immaculate and stunning and the staff all very helpful and friendly. We had a few issues with our first room and Maew a lovely lady did everything she could to makes things better for us. We really appreciated that.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2017

    5.8
    Nice place - poor food.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Oceanfront Bungalow
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Food was not great and made me sick and they did not compensate me at all for losing one day of a short vacation. Place is lovely but this was annoying.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 December 2016

    8.3
    Excellent location and great staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Oceanfront Bungalow
    • Stayed 4 nights

    the deluxe sea fronting bungalow we stayed in was showing its age somewhat but was comfortable none the less. The bathroom let the room down and was in need of refurbishment. Other than that we were very happy and will stay at Away Resort again.

    the location and staff were fabulous

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 December 2016

    9.6
    Happy Peaceful Stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Oceanfront Bungalow
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Nothing comes to mind.

    The privacy, quietness and tastefulness of the place which was to our liking. The staff were very pleasant and appeared united in offering a good service to make guests feel looked after at a very well situated resort. Kung was especially nice during our brief encounters and made our snorkelling boat trip feel personalised.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 December 2016

    7.1
    Ok but ...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Deluxe Oceanfront Bungalow
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    beach opposite river only accessible with canoe, dirty water in front of bungalow , breakfast small variety

    Good bungalows , trips , motorbikes can be directly booked there as well

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2016

    6.3
    The staff are nice and the location is great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Duplex Bungalow
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The ONLY problem I faced for my two nights there was RATS. Rats were running underneath my bed the first night, so I changed the room. Then at my second night there, another rat was running on the beam above the tv while we were watching it. Dont know what to say. Beside the rat issue, everything was fine.

    The staff are nice and the location is great.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2016

    7.9
    Staff was very kind & helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Duplex Bungalow
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room smelled a bit and was quite humid, as if it has been closed for several months. If you have a light sleep, be prepared to get awake by birds and noisy animals during the night!

    Staff was very kind & helpful. Room was tidy & cleaned. Hotel is not on the beach but they offer free canoas and it takes one minute to cross the river and get to the white sand beach just opposite the hotel!

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2016

    9.2
    Beautiful location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Oceanfront Bungalow
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room don't have fridge was the only let down.

    Great location and the staff were very accommodating especially Johnny, he was still helping us out on his off duty!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2016

    7.5
    Nice but not impress with a thief!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Ocean Facing Bungalow
    • Stayed 2 nights

    My friend lost 2000 baht in the room while he went out side all day long. No recurity system. He just informed to the manager. If you want to stay there don't forget your wallet in the room.

    Lovely atmosphere and small swimming pool

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2016

    8.8
    Great place for families
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Bungalow
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Holes between the door and floor, a lot of mosquitos. Mosquito net would have been nice. Sheets were yellow

    People were really nice, the kids had so much fun with the kayaks and canoes.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2016

    8.3
    Full green retreat on Koh Kood between sweet and salty water.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Upgrade Oceanfront
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was not really "yami", Internet did not work properly in the room but who cares in such place. I had the Villa number 5 and a very strong stank came from under. Very unpleasant and could not be fixed. Curtains in the room are not really helping if you have issue with the light in the morning.

    Arriving at Away Resort made my day. The garden and the location is wonderful. Not directly on the beach and still with a very good view. I had an Ocean Villa. The Villa looked very nice outside and inside. Classic decoration. All staff members are super friendly and everywhere in the resort. Kayaks are available for free, motorbikes are available for rental. A fantastic place for resting or enjoying some biking, diving, snorkeling, kayaking activities.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    10
    Very nice staffs
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Ocean Facing Bungalow
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very nice staffs

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    4.2
    Nothing
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Ocean Facing Bungalow
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room type and pool

    Nothing

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    5.4
    Nice beach
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Duplex Bungalow
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cleanliness, tax

    Need staff carry bag when leaving

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2018

    9.6
    Best for those who seek peace and tranquility.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Oceanfront Bungalow
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom is quite rundown

    Service minded and friendly staffs. Best sunset view

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    4.2
    Beach Across the River, view from the front line bungalows
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Bungalow
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rat's in the bungalows.

    Beach Across the River, view from the front line bungalows

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2017

    9.6
    Sea view
    • Group
    • Family Bungalow
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Dont have

    Sea view

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2017

    5.8
    Good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Oceanfront Bungalow
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cleanliness

    Good location

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2017

    9.6
    View
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Bungalow
    • Stayed 2 nights

    View

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2017

    5.8
    The staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Ocean Facing Bungalow
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The price in ko kood is over the top

    The staff

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2017

    3.8
    Great views but the bathrooms really STINKS!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Oceanfront Bungalow
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom really stinks and they are all the same,something that is NOT acceptable with those prices...

    The views mostly.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2017

    6.3
    Great location but overpriced
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Ocean Facing Bungalow
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Accomadation tired

    Great location

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2017

    3.3
    Mouldy bathrooms , leaking toilet - old and in desperate...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Oceanfront Bungalow
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Mouldy bathrooms , leaking toilet - old and in desperate need of tlc

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 December 2016

    9.2
    Piece of Paradise.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Oceanfront Bungalow
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No fridge.

    Bungalows with amazing view, good breakfast and friendly stuf.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2016

    5.4
    Nice staff, Quite poor facility
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Oceanfront Bungalow
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room is quite old. We faced noisy night from a group until 1.30am.

    Staff are very nice. The room is spacious.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 3 February 2016

    2.9
    It was very suprising that there were no fridge in this 4...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    It was very suprising that there were no fridge in this 4 star resort, and no chair to sit on in the bungalow. The breakfast was very poor, and some morning the yoghurt was finished and the fruiteplate was empty. The swimmingpool was dirty, and there was no sandy beach, just big stones. The nearest beach was 10 minutes away by motorbike, and it was to long way walking. I just can´t understand how this resort can be a 4 star, when it´s just worth 2 star. I will never go back and I will not recomend this to anyone.

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2016

    10
    the staff were amazing,and always smiling and helpful, the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    the staff were amazing,and always smiling and helpful, the room (beach front) was amazing, the views, the short kayak ride to the beach, everything was perfect, yes its shabby in places, but that's what adds to the charm, bugs, yes, mozzies yes, lizards and toads yes, but its a tropical paradise island, what do you expect!

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2016

    7.1
    Great staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Rooms are shabby with outdoor shower. But you are in the jungle I suppose. Wood walkways are dangerous . Not worth the money £80 per night .

    Great staff. Brilliant views. Close to some bars and restaurants. Nice little pool. Lots of sunbeds. Bar restaurant sold lovely food.

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2015

    5.4
    The property is beautiful and the nature around is gorgeous.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Staff have poor knowledge of English and it takes forever to get food on the table. went there for three night all beaten by ants and mosquitos

    The property is beautiful and the nature around is gorgeous. Food at the restaurant is amazing especially padtai and papaya salad ;)

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2015

    8.8
    We choose this resort for the location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We choose this resort for the location. There is direct access with (free) kayaks to the Klong Chao river and waterfall. Also Klong Chao beach shared by 4 other resorts (with a good beach bar for sundowners) is easily accessible, and the village is at walking distance. The Away resort, however, is away enough from all that, so you can still enjoy the privacy of the resort in comfortable beach front villas.

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2015

    4.6
    Breakfast is pretty good but from my point of view too...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The hotel doesn't have its own beach and you need to use kayak. The room requires reparation. Room was pretty dirty. Internet in a room doesn't work at all (signal is good but it is lost every 10 seconds so you can not even open any web sites). Internet in restaurant also works badly.

    Breakfast is pretty good but from my point of view too expensive - 350 THB per person.

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2015

    7.9
    Breakfast was lovely also very comfortable room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Beach is not good. Also small pool with no loungers around it and while we were there it was very cloudy and uninviting.

    Breakfast was lovely also very comfortable room.

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2015

    7.5
    A very cosy resort with a correct price/quality rate.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    the room cleaning service can be improved

    A very cosy resort with a correct price/quality rate. The location is excellent. Free taxi and free kajak-rental makes your holiday even better.

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2015

    7.5
    The staff and location were very good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The rooms and stairs need to be refurbished

    The staff and location were very good

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2015

    5.4
    Shower and toilet are old and dirty.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Shower and toilet are old and dirty. A little bit overprice.

There are also 12 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 49

Guests also reviewed these properties: