Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Baan Samui Resort 3 stars

14/7 Moo 2 ( Koh Samui), 84320 Chaweng, Thailand

#32 of 136 hotels in Chaweng

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 82 hotel reviews

8.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.7

  • Comfort

    8.5

  • Location

    9.3

  • Facilities

    8.4

  • Staff

    9.3

  • Value for money

    8.2

  • Free WiFi

    6.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 53

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2018

    9.2
    Fantastic location on the beach and near shopping
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Drinks at their bar were extortionately expensive. Breakfast at 600baht (£14) per person per night very expensive. Coffee club or cream cafe nearby do an amazing breakfast for two for half that price. We were asked to increase air con temp to 24/25 on last day as apparently it was overheating at 21. 24/25 is actually quite hot so struggled to sleep the last night as a result of this unfortunately.

    Very clean, excellent location by beach and near shopping/restaurants etc. Beds were really big and comfy (had a little topper on it which was great). Staff always smiling and happy to help. All rooms have balconies or an outdoor patio which is nice.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    9.6
    Great hotel but no beds at pool let it down
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only negative was pool. They have a beautiful pool but unfortunately a) not enough sunbeds and b) said beds are claimed by 06.00/07.00 in morning and many of the beds are not used by the people who reserved them for majority of day whilst people who could use them have to lie on ground or go to beach.

    Friendly staff, great location, good food, live music every night. Good sized clean rooms. Beautiful well maintained grounds

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    8.8
    Great location friendly feel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was extremely hard. Wifi cut in/out when you went to breakfast room and pool.

    Awesome staff, clean rooms, great pool & perfect location (best part of beach to swim)

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    7.9
    Amazing people working here!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 13 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms are a bit old, bathroom deserves an improvement. The smell from the sink was sometimes really intensive. Otherwise the Room is nice. Housekeeping perfect.

    Definetely staff. That makes this Place special. Mrs Tan and Mr Bobo were incredible nice kind and helpful. The hotel facilities are average, a bit old. Especially bathrooms, so dont expect luxury, but the people there make it special. Tan and Bono and their colleagues made us feel like home. Everyday, not only first day. We actually miss their faces and Good mood already :-) Pool and beach area amazing!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    10
    We love baan Samui!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location is right in the busiest part of town, so many tourists!!!

    The staff is incredibly friendly, accommodating and made my kids feel like rockstars

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2017

    10
    Amazing stay - See you next time
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing that I didn't like, everything was perfect

    Such a friendly hotel, staff are amazing and kind. It's the second time I have visited this hotel and I've been to the island many times. If I ever come back I would always stay here

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    10
    Great location, very clean and good value for money!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The resort lack young people vibe.

    The location is perfect, In the middle of Chaweng, close to all the restaurants and bars (the night life area). In front there is a huge supermarket. A night food market is just 100 meters away. Everything is very clean, quiet, colorful, well maintained garden. The room is big with authentic decorations. Good A.C and refrigerator. Very good value for money.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    10
    Management and their staff are doing a fantastic job.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Need to constantly login to use WiFi.

    Management and their staff are doing a fantastic job. Incredible attention to detail. Their website is a little incorrect stating parking is available. The parking area is now a restaurant with a live band of a nighttime. There is ony one space nearby reseeved for the General Manager. He very kindly moved his car to the street so I could use the parking space. Amazng.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2017

    9.2
    Fantastic Koh Samui
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fantastic staff, always smiling, very easy going and helpful. The hotel location was excellent with direct access to a fantastic beach and the pool was well maintained for those not wishing to get wet in the temped sea. Also central to the main town area with lots of shopping oportunities involving a bit of bartering without the agro which can be found in some tourist destinations. My wife and I also witnessed many young families enjoying this beautiful hotel. The food was great and not expensive. We would highly recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a a friendly and relaxing holiday. Cheers Warren & Kerry Finck

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    5.0
    Good position, feels a little dated and dirty
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Décor is old and needs an upgrade. The grass "carpet" around the pool is not ideal and does not give a clean feeling. Not enough pool loungers as these were always occupied.

    Position is very good. Most restaurants and shops in walking distance. Free wifi that worked well. staff relatively friendly

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2017

    6.7
    If you don't mind a rock hard bed this is an okay stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was rock hard even on Thai stylkes. They tried toppers and swapped the mattress to an "old one" but this was only slightly better.

    The staff were very helpful and always willing to help

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2017

    10
    Holiday with a four year old
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were so friendly and helpful and great with kids. The place was beautiful, clean and colourful! It felt homely and safe but with a touch of luxury. We absolutely loved it and would recommend it to everyone. We had a four year old with us who loved the pool and we loved the beach! The happy hour cocktails and food were amazing and priced well! Especially the breakfast which the best we have ever had. Everything was beautiful and easy. I loved the location with the mall across the road and good restaurants and stalls near by. Only wish we had stayed longer! The staff even upgraded us to a bigger room. 👌

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2017

    7.1
    Great Location! Helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The room was not very clean - especially the bathroom!!

    Location was the best in Koh Samui. Helpful staff. Air conditioned rooms were a bonus. Great entertainment every night of the week.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2016

    10
    Loved our stay once again we will be back again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 14 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The day we left Reception had organised transport for our trip to the airport unfortunately the transport did not arrive as arranged and reception just refunded our money and told us to catch a Taxi in out her words dumped us and it was our problem ,very disappointed after such a great two week stay to end like that.

    Perfect for the way we like to holiday,not over the top but clean comfortable and great staff and location.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2018

    10
    great
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 27 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    needs xtra step on pool ladders

    Great service. Very friendly staff handy to everything we wanted

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2018

    10
    The Location, facilities are very good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The Location, facilities are very good. The staff are very helpful and try provide support for every question or request.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2018

    7.5
    Position and the resort it self
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 13 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I found out the bed and tv in room 2102 way out of date it’s needs a makeover..

    Position and the resort it self

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2018

    10
    Amazing
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It’s was a amazing quirky hotel right on an amazing beach, pool was fab too.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    7.9
    Very friendly staff,
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 10 nights

    The beds are particularly hard

    Very friendly staff,

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    8.3
    Directly in the center but still quiet enough.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Directly in the center but still quiet enough. Nice friendly and helpful stuff

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    10
    Our ninth visit to Baan Samui proved to be just as enjoyable as all the other times.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Everything!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    9.6
    Beautiful place with great location on the beach and in the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great place

    Beautiful place with great location on the beach and in the center

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    10
    Fun place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Everything

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    8.8
    Fantastic location and good food.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Good range of food at breakfast. Fantastic location, could walk to local shops and restaurants.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2017

    10
    Another fantastic visit
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    having to go home

    4th Visit here. Love the location, the hotel and the wonderful staff!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2017

    10
    An ideal place for all ages
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cant fault the place

    Loved the room, the central garden and pool. Really friendly and helpful staff.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2017

    10
    Did not have the breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Did not have the breakfast

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    7.5
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Air conditioning wasn't powerful enough.

    Location

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2017

    7.9
    central location to everything
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    rooms are small and there appears to be a problem with mold throughout the rooms

    central location to everything

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2017

    4.2
    Exspensive and facilities in poor condition
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is very exspensive, run down, shower hot water and as not working general up keep was very poor

    Not much

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2017

    9.2
    Lovely comfortable resort hotel ideally located and with excellent service.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 10 nights

    Nothing.

    The service was superb. Very courteous and accommodating.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2017

    8.3
    Excellent location and staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We never had hot water for a few days but when we advised it was fixed.

    Close to everything and staff are very good.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 December 2016

    7.1
    Good location, nice big shower.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No free wifi

    Good location, nice big shower.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2016

    10
    Great hotel and brilliant staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Band at bar can be loud

    Staff were fantastic Rooms were great Location was good

    Stayed in November 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2016

    10
    The staff are all excellent and nothing was too much trouble...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The beach chairs are of need of an update

    The staff are all excellent and nothing was too much trouble for them, excellent customer service. Beds are really comfy and breakfast has a great range. Meals from the moonwalk restaurant are also great and the location was great too.

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2016

    5.8
    15 min to airport
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Rooms very close together. Paper thin walls. Screaming infants next door. Towels on floor. Bed super awkward -- large wooden base extends 1 foot beyond mattress, which makes it easy to hurt oneself on.

    15 min to airport

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2016

    9.2
    We really appreciated the staff of this hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    We really appreciated the staff of this hotel. They were absolutely lovely and helped us everyday with our little 5-months old girl (played with her during our breakfast so that we could enjoy our food, put an electric fan for her next to the swimming pool, etc etc). The hotel is located in a good area with many restaurant around. There is also 2 nice restaurants in the hotel with music in the evening but the rooms are far enough from the music and very calm. We will definitely go back and recommand this hotel.

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2015

    7.1
    Location was great, right opposite a Super mart and there...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    When I booked the reservation, I requested adjoining rooms with another group of friends. This request was approved but subject to availability at the time. When I checked in, the lady said I had not written any special request and gave me two rooms on different floors. I had physically get out my booking and show it to her. She eventually gave us two rooms next to each other, but not adjoined. Room smelt like pee when it rained - must be something to do with the pipes. Hot water for shower worked sometimes, you have to leave the water running for a good 5 minutes before it heats up. No systematic changing of towels, some days I had more and some days I had less??

    Location was great, right opposite a Super mart and there were many massage places, Family Mart and McDonalds across the road. When you check in, they give you complimentary coconut water and a snack!

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2015

    7.5
    Nice location in central Chaweng.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The room was a little dimly lit but brightly painted. The bathroom was clean but dated.

    Nice location in central Chaweng. Easy access to bars, clubs and restaurants. Friendly staff. The bright cheerful colors and accents made me think of northern Mexico. Nice beach for an evening swim. Close to the airport. Didn't have an opportunity for breakfast as our flight left too early the next morning.

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2015

    7.1
    The best part is the location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The building is a bit old and the hotel is a bit expensive I would say.

    The best part is the location. It is located right in the central part of chaweng beach and has a beach front. Staff is very good always smiling and willing to help. Very good breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2015

    7.5
    Good breakfast selection
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Lots of mosquitoes even at breakfast and in our room No free wifi and paid for wifi could be a little slow

    Good breakfast selection Nice pool with plenty of loungers Nice restaurant Well located Friendly staff

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2015

    9.5
    The location fantastic,
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The cost of the room for New Year's Eve ! Truly ridiculous and meant we moved out for the night as too expensive for us for this one night. Closure of pool day before New Year's Eve

    The location fantastic, Bar area beach side Pool very pretty and clean and good for lap swimming when open. Fantastic and friendly staff. Very lovely and welcoming. Helpful. Nothing is too much trouble. Food by pool very good. Breakfast a bit disappointing

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2016

    10
    The crew were amazing and so friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    The crew were amazing and so friendly. Food was beautiful. The bands at both ends of the resort were outstanding

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2016

    8.3
    Staff was very friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Wish the facilities were a bit more kept up.

    Staff was very friendly.

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2016

    8.3
    Great value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Too many mosquitoes.

    Great value for money. Right on the beach so very convenient.

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2015

    10
    Loved the staff, excellent location and great comfy room
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    No iron in the room

    Loved the staff, excellent location and great comfy room

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2015

    7.5
    Nice pool and beach location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Pillows are really hard and lumpy and the bathroom had a strong smell.

    Nice pool and beach location. Staff are always happy and friendly.

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2015

    8.8
    Amazing hotel with bright colors, near to the beach and good...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Amazing hotel with bright colors, near to the beach and good service with a smile

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2015

    8.3
    Location and friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    No provided breakfast, very dim lighting in rooms.

    Location and friendly staff

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2015

    10
    Everything you need at your fingertips
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    there were very intoxicated people partying on their balcony on a number of nights

    Everything you need at your fingertips

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2015

    10
    Very friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Free wi fi only in the restaurant

    Very friendly staff

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2015

    7.1
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Breakfast Pay for wifi

    Location

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2015

    9.6
    Amazing location and outdoor facilities.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Amazing location and outdoor facilities. had a real wow factor about the place. Live music in the evening also excellent.

There are also 7 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 53

Guests also reviewed these properties: