Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Ban Sabai Village Resort & Spa 4 stars

216 Moo 9, San Pee Sua, 50300 Chiang Mai, Thailand

#320 of 653 hotels in Chiang Mai

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 64 hotel reviews

8.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.8

  • Comfort

    8.8

  • Location

    7.1

  • Facilities

    8.7

  • Staff

    9.3

  • Value for money

    8

  • Free WiFi

    8.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 45

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Lanna Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We did not like the tea and coffee at breakfast - very minor.

    Two beds just gave us more room and comfort with shelf space not normally available in Thai hotels.. The setting around the pool is just out of this world, shady and tranquil. The staff were all very helpful with a good restaurant.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Sadly we were confronted with two sources of unpleasant noise - parties with Karaoke and/or live music nearby (evenings/night) and starting/landing planes from a nearby airport (mornings and daytime). This seems to have been seasonal (we stayed over New Year's Eve). The very friendly management apologised for the inconvenience and provided ear plugs.

    Beautiful villa with comfy beds, loads of space and beautiful views. Own sauna and relaxing outdoor space downstairs, Delicious fresh food in the restaurant. A lovely family-run business, full of warmth and a spirit of friendliness and support throughout - a lush oasis with great pool and spa facilities.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Lanna Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    None

    Beautiful and atmospheric spa resort at a perfect location for a quiet and peaceful break away from the hustle and bustle of the city and hordes of tourists. There is still the convenience of a shuttle one can catch in the late afternoon/ evening to the night bazaars . Otherwise, it was easy to catch a grab taxi to and fro city for less than 100 baht. Excellent service and lovely ladies, from the front desks to the spa therapists I had for all days were all so sweet and accomodating and ‘L’ is like a mother hen to me, taught me cooking and was worried when I got back late at night from town! :)

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with jacuzzi
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    On the website says there are parking but in fact you have to park on the alley in front of the hotel. The price for laundry service is way too much. This place is wonderful but if you want to do laundry better to go into town, I recommended.

    This place is atmosphere! It's quietness, away from town and traffic. The room is cozy and so comfortable especially the bathroom. The staffs are so friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Lanna Spa Villa
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Internet and tv cable connections were weak.

    The overall ambience was great. Very relaxing and great spa services. We come regularly as staff lovely and owner takes personal interest in guests comfort.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Lanna Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    We were most satisfied and will go there again.

    Traditional Thai hospitality!!! Owners and staff provided outstanding services. No insecticide or pesticide used on the property. Pretty organic. Property was not downtown. The air was cleaner and the surrounding was quieter and more peaceful. Very relaxing.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Lanna Spa Villa
    • Stayed 3 nights

    none.

    Incredible hotel, the grounds were amazing, beautiful. Each bungalow was like a small house, with massage area and sauna for each bungalow. Incredibly spacious, great value for the money. Breakfast area was really nice. The best hotel I've stayed in Chiang Mai. We rented a car as the hotel is a bit far from the tourist areas. There is a nightly shuttle to the night market.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with jacuzzi
    • Stayed 8 nights

    Staff member on breakfast on first day was not very helpful, but that was very much the exception. The pool does suffer from the fact that the steps lead to the deepest part, with a big drop from the last step - so not ideal for non-swimmers.

    Very peaceful and attractive setting. Very helpful staff, who mostly spoke English. Ideal location for us, being on northern outskirts of Chiangmai - but you would need a car or motorbike when staying there. Good food, served in the very attractive main building, or poolside for lunch.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Lanna Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    What i didnt like was that Trump won the elections, but to be fair if Hillary had won I would also not have liked that.

    Everything was absolutely superfantastic!!! :))) :D !!!!! xoxoxox

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Lanna Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Terrible wines. Really bad selection. Very far from the city, requiring special transportation. Even taxi drivers didn't know where hotel was. I had to provide directions with google maps. Not very comfortable for a tourist in a place that couldn't speak the language.

    Beautifully maintained with fresh flowers everywhere

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with jacuzzi
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only one taxi service and he never turned up on time good hotel but who wants to wait around for a taxi when on holiday hotels closer to the action have there appeal now

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Lanna Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I loved the ambiance of the establishment as well as the friendliness and helpfulness of the staff.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Lanna Spa Villa
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Excellent resort, very good atmosphere, clean, quiet and professionally managed. It has the "thai feeling" we all look for.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Lanna Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were on the ground floor and the curtains were a bit sheer.

    The staff. Extremely helpful, cheerful and friendly.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Lanna Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    There was no yoga that time and the gym was bit run-down

    Beautiful place with green and flowers. Friendly staff. Nice pool.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Lanna Spa Villa
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Absolutely gorgeous hotel with very friendly staff!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Lanna Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was fantastic! The staff,swimming pool,the quiet and tranquil setting and the very good air con which was much needed!

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Lanna Spa Villa
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom needed an upgrade

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Junior Suite with jacuzzi
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Smallest oldest TV on the planet, differcult to come and go from.

    Local food is good

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Lanna Spa Villa
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff very helpful

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2016

    • Couple

    Nothing we did not like

    Big room with balcony , garden . Staff friendly and very helpful. Quiet resort not too far from city, but then we had our own car.

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Charming 'garden' style hotel. Lovely breakfast menu. Very helpful and thoughtful staff - when my brother discovered he had left some valuables behind in his room and we contacted the hotel, they immediately retrieved the items and posted them to our home address.

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    My original plan had been to do yoga and spa there like their website promotes. The yoga packages were not available while i was there. I assumed they were fully booked but never saw any signs of anyone doing yoga. They said I could have a private 1 hour session for 2500THB! Group classes in town are around 250 for 1.5 hours... and when I asked to book a manicure they said the nail person only comes on Sundays! In the end this all worked out well as it is close enough to town to go there for yoga and spas and use the resort to escape the city. But if you are looking to stay in a resort rather than town and use their yoga and spa, i don't think this is the right place for you.

    Staff were really friendly and helpful. Food is excellent. For a non central resort it is quite well located. I cycled into town in about 30 mins and a tuk tuk took about 15. Nice to be out of the busy town centre but not isolated. Lovely pool area though when i was there the weather was too cold for swimming!

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The staff was absolutely amazing. Adorable and well appointed small resort. We really enjoyed our stay and wish we could have stayed longer. Truly exceeded our expectations.

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    First, the staff was very very nice and anawered all out questions, helped is and arranged every tour we wanted to do. The Food was excellent and the rooms beautiful. The whole hotel is wunderful.

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Had to travel in and out of centre taxi cost £6 - £10 a time usually twice a day. Cleanliness not thorough. Ants. Some views from room not good

    Authentic Thai feeling overall Rooms were spacious Friendly genuine professional staff egar to help.

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Keep your three Front Desk employees. .they made my stay amazing. .and became friends. My husband and I have a Rejuvenation Center in U.S.A and know great staff is hard to find! Will return Thank you Best Shanti

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The Hotel is outside of the city, you need a tuk tuk to get into town and to the next restaurants. You can't walk, we tried it once, but it's at the street and in the night it's too dark and it takes 1,5 hours to walk. With tuk tuk it costs between 200-250 baht to the city Center. however i still would come back because it's just a relaxing and very nice Thai style hotel.

    Very very friendly and nice Hotel which is managed by a Thai/American owner couple. If you want a stay out of the busy city to relax you should stay here. Everything is in Thai style, which gives you a relaxing atmosphere. The Staff is very very helpful and Perfect in English. The breakfast is perfect too! The pool is a bit small, but still a relaxing atmosphere.

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2015

    • Couple

    When we advised staff of hardness of bed (seems to be typical in Thailand) they promptly sought to change us to any room that had a more comfortable bed The location was out of town and so taxi fares were more than expected however, we chose to stay out of town and extnd our town at Ban Sabai because it was away from the general tourists and a more rural location that let us get out in the street, try the local fare and enjoy without all the hustle and bustle of tourists everywhere

    Everything - the lovely, warm greeting every morning, the delicious breakfasts, the helpful, courteous friendly staff, the wonderful swimming pool, the privateThai herbal steam room. We enjoyed the staff and the privacy more than anything else

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Is a lot further from the town centre than stated on booking.com (5k) ended up spending a lot on taxis although there was free shuttle to the night market at 6 each night.

    Staff were very helpful and nice relaxing atmosphere around the resort.

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Air con not powerful enough and sometimes room not serviced properly.

    Really relaxing, great pool, a little way out of town but that's good, unless you want to be with the backpackers! Great Lanna style room overlooking pool and water features.

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    I got a great deal for my three night stay and was happy with the value. Perhaps if I had paid full price and had to be picky I'd say the sheets/towels are a bit past their best but certainly clean. The hotel is not in central Chiang Mai but this was perfect for me. Id recommend thinking about spending some time here and some in town to make the most of the central sights. Probably not the easiest place to meet other travellers I'd you're solo. Temperamental hot water - Likely more of an issue in winter.

    I spent the last three nights of my time inThailand here after four nights in Chiang Mai central. I loved the quiet setting and opportunity to relax, swim and read at the end of my travels. - lovely clean pool -spacious rooms with great garden views and clean open air bathrooms - excellent food (if a little pricey compared to town) - good breakfast options - delightful, caring staff - quiet setting - ample drinking water and little bowl of fresh fruit supplied

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We had a great and very peaceful stay. We enjoyed the hotel and the peaceful environment . A lot of details to discover and a great pool sourounded by many plants. The receptionist gave us great recommendation and ensured a outstanding customer experience. The massage in the pavilion was a great experience and a must do!

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The smell in the steam bath wasn't very good

    Me and my girlfriend stayed here at Valentine's Day and we had a wonderful time! The rooms are perfect and in Thai style. The bathroom outside was amazing, we watched the stars while we were sitting in the hot tub! Also the sauna was very nice to have!

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Location is far from downtown. Need hotel to call taxi or tutu. Trip to town is expensive and hard to get transport to come back. Water pressure is low, pool is small and gym is run down, breakfast has very little choices. Not value for money.

    Room is big

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Beautiful environment, amazing staff ,outstanding breakfast Wouldn't stay anywhere else in Chiang mai I love it so much i keep coming back

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Location , far from town, limited facilities, noisy.

    Friendly staff and beautiful surroundings

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    A bit far from anything and hard to find

    Rooms were amazing, great bath tub.

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    The reception staff - the restaurant and the room. Everything!

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    All the staff were really helpful, breakfast there was a good selections to choose from and the hotel overall was really nice

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Super friendly staff, quiet relaxing location off the beaten track.

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We loved the environment the room and the commodities. Steam and sauna. The staff is really nice. Great place

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2015

    • Business trip
    • Couple

    The wifi is not workable when we stay for 2 nights, the room is quite old. The location is quite far from downtown.

    Big room with jacuzzi.

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The bathroom was a bit out of date and could have used some repairs, but this did not affect my good time at all!

    Staff, pool and room were excellent!

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No toothbrush. Was hard to get a cab, each time will have to wait around 15-20 mins.

There are also 7 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 45

Guests also reviewed these properties: