Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Manathai Koh Samui 4 stars

173/41 Rob Koh Road, Lamai Beach, Maret, Koh Samui, Surat Thani, 84310 Lamai, Thailand

#36 of 100 hotels in Lamai

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 450 hotel reviews

8.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.5

  • Comfort

    8.4

  • Location

    7.5

  • Facilities

    8.2

  • Staff

    8.7

  • Value for money

    7.9

  • Free WiFi

    7.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    7.5
    Good place, small room, amazing staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Pool View
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room is way smaller than described and shown on photos and smels weird for first few days. Food in Greedy pig is expencive and portions are so small. Food in Pad Thai is much worst since I have found someones hair in my curry. Prices in the resort are double from what you can find in Lamai beach (coctails, food, beer). Beach is not for swimming since it is too shallow and full of corals and debrie. Their english is barely understandable 😐😶

    Outdoors are fascinating, pools are great but can be crowded with kids jumping arround and diving into pool. Great breakfast with great staff.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    7.5
    The rooms where very stylish - in colonial style;
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Balcony Room
    • Stayed 10 nights

    The public road separated the hotel into two parts; you had to gross the road (with lots of traffic) to get to the beach

    The rooms where very stylish - in colonial style; the infinity pool near the beach was excellent

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    8.8
    The quiet location, the waterline where the pool caching the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Balcony Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    So because the hotel is located by the big mountain, expect an army of mosquitos and bugs. At night you will easily find 10-30 lizards or whatever it’s called ( the mini ones) on the wall and right out by the units but can’t get into the room unless you leave the balcony door open then you will be sleeping with these lovely creatures.

    The quiet location, the waterline where the pool caching the beach, pool and the Resturant area are well maintained, very clean and food is really good too. Breakfast is ok for a good price 300bhat/ person.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    10
    Great trip , will come back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Balcony Room
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Really friendly staff, nice room, 2 pools one of which is next to the beach. The hotel breakfast is great and the restaurants attached to the hotel are good quality and decent value. The hotel is located at the end of lamai beach so a short walk down into the main strip where there are planety of bars and restaurants etc. Chaweng is a 15 mind cab so not bad either.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    10
    Friendly, spacious and clean hotel in a fantastic location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night

    This was a great little spot with a pool within the hotel and one across the road on a beautiful beach with a cocktail / snack bar. The staff all round were super friendly and the room was spacious and comfortable. I'd definitely come back and highly recommend. They even have a road supervisor to help you cross the busy road across to the beach.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2018

    5.0
    Failed To Impress.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Balcony Room
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was rather shabby and certainly needed upkeep all over. Frankly dirty breakfast area to be honest. Nothing a good scrub would have hurt for a start. The beach across the road is a disgrace and the loud music playing at the pool completely ruined any chance of spending an hour or so relaxing there. Still on the negative side the bed was very uncomfortable and shockingly uncomfortable pillows. Nice clean linen was a plus well needed.

    The staff were great, lovely smiles and nice to talk to.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    9.6
    It was a pleasant memory for us in Koh Samui.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 9 nights

    I didn't like they were upset about making sandwiches to go, on the day we had an early trip and I couldn't get the kids to breakfast so early.

    I loved the hotel design, the people at reception were very friendly and helpful, the frangipani flowers in the court, the breakfast, the pool, the beach was also quite and relaxing. The location is also very good.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    8.8
    Quaint architecture, good room rate, generally good value.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Balcony Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The beach in front was woeful, but got better the more south you went. The bathroom had no power-point, so recharging was done in the desk area. The cost of food and beer / wine was rather expensive. The beer was 120 baht, whereas Imchai Thai next door was 60 baht for the same beer. This great Thai restaurant is very close by, called the Imchai Thai Restaurant, on the corner where the bookshop is. This was great food at about 1/3 of the cost at Manathai. also great music and very cheery staff and manager.

    The hotel is a rather quaint colonial style, looks great. Staff were excellent in all areas. The room was good with a mountain view, shower was good and bathroom was generally good with good lighting and mirrors.. The food was good. Generally the room rate was good value. The choice of two pools was good, both were great, but the beach one was excellent with the bar and beach restaurant close by the pool. This made up for the poor beach. The breakfast was excellent at 300 baht (not the 600 baht that was advertised)

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    7.5
    Hotel is very beautiful and good room decoration.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Balcony Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel shuttle bus service is not enough for guest. Could add more round or more service to drop off guest around closer area too.

    Hotel is very beautiful and good room decoration. The swimming pool is good with two pools to choose. Even another pool is opposite of the road, their always have a guard to help you cross the road. Good breakfast and the staffs are very nice always willing to help you. Definitely coming back again.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    3.8
    Thoroughly disappointing non beachfront experience.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Balcony Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Total location misrepresentation on your www. It says beachfront location. The pool and lunch / evening restuarant is beachfront but the hotel is across the main road from the beach. I was told from my bedroom I had a mountain view not a sea view. There was no mountain view in fact the view out of the back door was over the hotel's water tanks and derelict neighbouring buildings. There was no hot water to shave with in the morning. A sour toilet smell would at times woft into the bedroom from the toilet. The and conditioning and ceiling fan were both noisy. I was told i had a balcony but it only really was a ledge not even big enough to open the doors properly and put a small chair in it. This is not 4.5 or 4 ☆ hotel at all and we are so disappointed with the misrepresentation that we'll be using Agoda in future and hope they offer a more honest appraisal of the hotel.

    Breakfast ok. Staff pleasant. Pool and pool area pleasant.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    7.1
    Beautiful pool area, clean room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Balcony Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    On check out we were billed for drinks we had around the pool which we had paid for in cash. This was a disappointing end to a lovely stay, we had a taxi waiting to take us to the airport so was unable to wait for it be investigated, so we paid twice.

    Beautiful pool area, clean room.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2018

    5.8
    Nice location Koh Samui is beautiful but this feels like a misleading a tired hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Balcony Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Check in required us to be refunded and recharged and we had trouble understanding why and that the refund was unable to be processed until the following day. Room was sandy on arrival Service was forgetful on numerous occasions Sides of pool are sharp and easily graze your skin Gym was not a gym it’s 4 machines shame as there seems enough room. Spa is 3 beds by pool just felt mislead

    Breakfast was fresh and lots of choice. Tour booking desk helpful The traffic officer was helpful and necessary Pool bar opened late considering the few people using it.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2018

    7.5
    In all, an excellent, happy holiday.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Pool View
    • Stayed 14 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The main pool and beach are across a busy main road...when lying around the pool the road is very noisy...there were lots of children here, whilst I DO NOT dislike children they were very very noisy and if I’d known there would be so many families I would have looked elsewhere (I thought half term was done by the end of Feb!!)..Lamai beach is quite dirty, lots of rubbish gets washed up...

    The staff were excellent...Breakfast was amazing every day...our deluxe pool view room was wonderful but we did upgrade to a suite for more room which was equally wonderful...the old style colonial feel of the hotel was perfect...the hotel pool is quiet and lovely...the beach pool is lovely and has great views of the sea...the restaurant food is great...the man helping us cross the road safely...NEW HUT a short walk up the beach does excellent Thai food very cheaply...

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2018

    5.0
    Horrible beach, road with heavy traffic divides hotel premises
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Pool View
    • Stayed 11 nights

    - The beach is nothing like the one in the photos - extremely dirty, muddy and full of seaweed. It's not fit for swimming at all! Don't be deceived by photos! - Because of the beach situation, we decided to move to another hotel, so the management gave us hard time and didn't refund us fully for the remaining nights. - Beach and pool area are separated from the rest of the hotel with a road with very heavy traffic. They even have a signal guy that stops traffic to help you cross the road, not suitable for families with children.

    Generally service is quite good, everything is clean and neat.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2018

    4.2
    Don't stay there you can get better hotel with lower prices in koh samui
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Balcony Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was really dirty. In every sense .. badly maintained.. I upgraded for the suite. Coaches had dirt smudges.. toilet seat was unclean. Bathroom smelled .. amenities were useless poor quality shampoo and soap

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2018

    8.3
    Ausgezeichnet!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Lamai Suite
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nichts...

    They are very friendly,attentive,helpful and very polite.Lastly very honest staff.Will definitely coming back and recommended to our friends.We had a great time over there.Thumbs up !

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2018

    9.2
    Amazing staff and service.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Garden Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Just the shower in our room had a very weak flow and no hot water. But maybe it was only in our room

    Amazing staff and service. Room was huge, clean and comfortable. Good location. Everything is near by. Great breakfast. Very baby friendly

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2018

    10
    It was our last stop around Thailand and the most amazing end to our trip
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Garden Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing it was perfect

    The rooms where amazing as was the attention to detail all of the staff where fantastic especially with my children, there’s is not one single fault with the place and I will be going back to either this or one of the other manathai hotels in Thailand The breakfasts where also out of this world

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2018

    6.3
    Weak for this price.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Balcony Room
    • Stayed 11 nights

    Despite the pictures of the hotel tells that it has own big sandy beach, it is false. So I can say that this hotel do not have own beach. Lami beach is arond 10-15 minutes walk from the hotel at beach side. You don't get anything but a room for your money. So if I go to Thailand once more, I would rather rent a beach bungallow or an own villa in the montains for the fragmet of a hotel room costs.

    Nice and clean rooms. The motorbike rental at the hotel is OK, I can recommend.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2018

    5.8
    It was good to relax around the main pool
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Balcony Room
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beach wasn’t upto standard, slimy sand under foot The pools closed at 7 pm which wasn’t very good when you have been out all day and wanted a swim in the evening.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    10
    Luxury hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Balcony Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Luxury hotel. Good price/quality. Staff super kind and avaiable for any questions. Service for rent car and motorbike. Book for trip around and speedy boat! Good service for all. They upgrade me at the deluxe suite. Amazing! Note. A special mention for AOM a girl of reception. She’s the best for any problem!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2018

    7.1
    We booked the Lamai Suite which was beautiful and huge, the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Lamai Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location was quite far from the village of Lamai, about 20 minutes walking. The paid shuttle service to Chaweng is a nice option, but the timetable is very limited. The cleaning service wasn’t thorough enough, the bathtub wasn’t cleaned and some of the waste remained in the room.

    We booked the Lamai Suite which was beautiful and huge, the bathroom was modern and designed. The swimming pool and the proximity to the beach was very important for us.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2018

    8.8
    Family fun in the sun!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Garden Room
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Randi and his staff were excellent, they took great care of our family and are super friendly! Lovely food at Waterline and New Year's Eve party was really great. Everything really kid friendly.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    3.8
    Good but could have been better.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Balcony Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pool was situated across the road, very inconvenient with small wet children having to cross a busy road! Not nearly enough sun loungers for everyone, lots people putting towels down to keep unused loungers which became very anoying by end of our week. Hotel not very close to main drag need relay on taxis.

    Buffet breakfast was good.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2018

    7.1
    Nice stay. But there are better places.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Garden Room
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The price of the food.Having to cross a busy road to get to the pool and the beach is very small and some what dirty, I even found broken glass.

    The breakfast buffet

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2018

    5.0
    Would never stay there again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Balcony Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The facilities are very average for a resort of such a size. No spa, gym or bar in the main hotel. The hotel "policies" are a joke. A real bunch of chancers. If you've got loads of money this won't bother you. If you've got a family or are trying to keep an eye on your costs then this hotel will try and skim and shaft every penny. For example they will pick up up from the airport but won't drop you back because "you're no long a hotel guest"- just down right rude. The hotel try to charge you £20 for a 10 minute cab to where the main bars and restaurants. Step outside and the local cabs will cost you £2-3! Same with moped hire, cost triple at the hotel. Personally the reception staff and hotel "policies" have left a bad taste in my mouth about the whole of Koh Samui. A real shame. FYI- for families, you also have to cross the main road of Koh Samui to get to the pool!

    There is not a whole lot we liked about the hotel!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2017

    6.7
    Good basic hotel with nice pool and near beautiful Lamai beach!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Garden Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beach itself was pretty small and a bit dirty and you had to cross a busy road to get to the pool. Therefore it was quite noisy. Also the breakfast and the breakfast restaurant were very basic. Also the beds and the pillows were very hard and not very comfortable.

    The pool was really nice with a great view! The room was spacious and clean. Great local restaurants on neighboring beaches!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2017

    6.3
    Average. Not entirely bad but not great!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Pool View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Just not what we expected from previous reviews and photos. It was not directly on the beach like it appeared, the room was tiny and bed really uncomfortable, the food was remotely average to the point we went for the breakfast once and did not bother again. All in all just not the high hopes we had for this hotel.

    The location was pretty convenient and an easy 10-15 min walk into Lamai. The staff were very friendly and resort well presented.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 December 2017

    7.1
    Good place in a slightly remote location, there is a room for improvement in service
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Lamai Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location is a bit remote from Lamai center. There was a lot of confusion at the pool restaurant , also we agreed with a staff member during checking in that we'll check out at 4pm whilst during checkout they said they never told me that. It took 20 minutes to open the safe, the minibar wasnt checked until I pointed out missing items so overall the staff tried to be helpful but wasn't very successful at that. There were plenty of items missing during breakfast. The beach becomes very crowded during the hot season and you need to jump into the water as there is no gradual access

    The deluxe suite room was huge and nicely decorated. Very nice breakfast. Tasty food at the beach restaurant

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2017

    9.2
    Great Hotel for a relaxing time!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Balcony Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Transfer to airport a bit expensive, they offered for 900THB we eventually got one for 500THB. Dead cockroach inside bathroom lamp :( Aside from that, everything perfect!

    Very very nice and helpful staff (extermination service for cockroach in the middle of the night ;) ), good breakfast buffet, nice pool area. Walking distance to supermarkets, restaurants etc.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2017

    7.5
    A SHORT STAY IN KOH SAMUI
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Balcony Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Far away from bars but i did find one excellent restaurant on the beach. Food and drink prices were very expensive. Even the airport shuttle was extremely expensive

    The staff were excellent particularly when i spent 2 days feeling sick - they were very attentive. Breakfast was varied and satisfying and staff there were very polite and charming

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2017

    8.8
    Such good value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Balcony Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The breakfast was pretty expensive.

    Such good value for money. We loved the pool and the pool restaurant. It was such a nice place to sit and relax in the morning and just watch the water. Staff are all very friendly. Room was so nice and cosy, had a lot of character to it!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    9.6
    Lovely resort would like to come back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Pool View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The hard bed!

    Really good hotel with great facilities - although the mainbuildings are separated from the beach by a busy road - the resort is absolutely first class and well keept. The colonial style makes it different in a positive manner.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2017

    5.4
    Good hotel for maximum 2 nights.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Balcony Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms have bad smelling, I guess because of A/C. Towels were very old over use age and bad smell. Staff not friendly.

    Design is old but very nice like antique, have own beach but we did not try.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    10
    Amazing experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Garden Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing could have been better unless the hotel could make the sky have less clouds 😂😂

    World class service and beautiful rooms; the Deluxe garden room was amazing for my family. Highly recommend.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2017

    8.3
    Relaxing stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Pool View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Swimming pool is located very close to the big road. When you swim you can hear cars passing by.

    Our room was lovely, big with beautiful furnitures. Swimming pool has a great view and is really nice. Looks beautiful in the evening. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was ok, not big choice for vegans who wants to eat healthy. Restaurant was a bit pricey and choice was limited but you can find very good food close by.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2017

    10
    Amazing hotel very nice stay ❤️
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Lamai Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Every thing was amazing the deluxe lamai suite is very nice and comfortable with a many good benefits, the breakfast resturent was very nice and the Thai restaurant in the hotel has very delicious Thai food and the beach side restaurant also was very good especially the staff and the service, the beach is amazing and the swimming pools also , staff in the hotel was very special very helpful and respectful, special thanks for the staff pae in the beach restaurant for his help and nice dealing with the us and thanks also for Miley in the reception and for all the hotel staff and management for making our stay in the hotel a memorial stay , we will back again sure.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2017

    8.8
    Facilities & Services
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Balcony Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Location -To get to the Beach need cross a busy road,but hotel stuff would always clear the road for guests.Sadly,the beach which front of hotel is not ideally for swimming. Value -Total price not including breakfast

    Facilities & Services -Friendly,helpful stuff -During our stay,their was outfoor film night availble -Two swimming pool are availble (inside of the hotel,also near the beach) Location -Hotel located in a calm area far from main street noise, groceries ( 7-11, family mart)nearby. -Lots restaurant nearby,hightly recommend "Imchai Thai Food". Room -The room was spotless, impeccable with comfy bed.Have all the essential appliance that we need. -Stylistically design& furniture IT -Stable & high-speed Wi-fi connection,coverage on all rooms.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2017

    8.3
    You'll be spoilt by the beautiful rooms and helpful staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Balcony Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    My only complaint regarding the hotel was the lack of local information available. It would be good to have something in the room telling you about good local beaches, free shuttle buses, the local market on a Sunday etc. etc. The staff are very friendly and extremely helpful but not all of them speak English so it made it difficult to find information out.

    The room was amazing, the staff fantastic and the pools great (we would have liked them to stay open a little later than 7pm). The hotel attaches to the beach, however there is a road in between which I wasn't aware go when I was booking. Having said this hotel staff were there to get you across safely overtime and it really wasn't a problem. We were only able to book B&B, and when I contacted the hotel it was approximately an additional £10/person for breakfast so we decided to do breakfast ourselves. Although initially quite daunting the road sides restaurants were amazing and such amazing value at £2 for both of us! There is also a 7/11 opposite which heat up croissants if you're less daring. We ate a lot in nearby restaurants and all were very good. We liked the popup tables of the beach, a great setting. We did venture into Lami to eat and Corel Cove which I would thoroughly recommend. The beach immediately with the hotel isn't amazing, just okay. Further towards Lami get better but more touristie. We found two great beach, both with good snorkelling; Silver Sand/bay beach and Corel Cove. Corel Cove is beautiful with a lovely restaurant, a little gem. The hotel have a daily shuttle bus which leaves at 10am and will drop you at the beaches on its way to Chaweng.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2017

    7.1
    Four star pretensions, but 2 star service.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Balcony Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Pillows (see 'what you liked'), but seriously service. Rooms are cleaned daily as you'd expect, but they do not replace toiletries so e.g. you can run out of shower gel, or shampoo, and have to ask for more. And once they didn't replace the complimentary water, so charged us when we used the water which wasn't free. And no hint of embarassment when I explained - but we were told we should have phoned the desk. Finally having booked transport in the morning for an early flight, it didn't turn up and there was some chaos at the front desk about that. Eventually we got to the airport, but I didn't need the stress at 7am. And I think they should explain that the pool at the Hotel is across a very busy road...even though there is a 'crossing guard' employed, it means children in particular cannot get to the pool area without a parent.

    Big room with big comfy bed, but pillows were hard and high, so very uncomfortable. Eventually my daughter (in another room at same Hotel) gave me one of her pillows which was soft as she wasn't using it. Nice pool. Good breakfast included.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2017

    3.0
    hated it two of our party have asthma one had trouble breathing as the rooms were so damp ...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Balcony Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    everything

    swimming pool you have to cross a busy road,was very busy and small ,beach was horrible ,rooms were very damp ,bed felt wet,view from room was a untidy garden ...we complained and only stayed one night they told me I have to wait 40 days for a refund so fingers crossed we then had to pay for another hotel ...... the hotel in nothing like the pictures on your website ..... very unhappy ...

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2017

    8.8
    Lovely holiday break in Koh Samui.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Balcony Room
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beach wasn't great, would have been nice if It could be cleaned up a little bit. We had to ask the cleaning staff to change our bed sheets for us when they were obviously dirty the sheets were just flipped over.

    Good selection of food at breakfast, all very nice. Staff very helpful and approachable especially pool staff at the waterline and a number of people at reception.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2017

    10
    One month
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Balcony Room
    • Stayed 28 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff and service were exceptional. We stayed for a month with our two year old boy and ultimately ended up with an emotional farewell as the staff had virtually become family. The entire staff were attentive and accommodating without ever being intrusive.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2017

    10
    Best hotel in Thailand we stayed in
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Balcony Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was perfect! The pools were clean and the hotel grounds were kept so tidy. The room was very modern and comfortable. The breakfast selection was great and the other restaurants served very nice food. The staff were so welcoming and helpful, they all spoke really good English and done everything they could for you.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    6.3
    No cover from apartment to bus/taxi pick up at hotel and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Balcony Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No cover from apartment to bus/taxi pick up at hotel and as it was rainy season our shoes, clothes and suitcases were soaking wet as we had to wade through a torrent of water

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2017

    7.9
    Good stay for a couple of days
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Balcony Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    - first of all pictures make the resort look way better than it really is... - room that we booked was nothing like the ones showed on the pictures... pretty simple and not so "chic" - the "garden view" was for us few trees and a street - room was full of mosquitos when we got there - staff is nice but we had to ask few times for the same things, for example had to call 3 times asking for adapters before someone actually brought them - on one day in the morning water coming out of the shower/sink/toilet was brown... called twice for help and didn't receive any - the beach next to the hotel has a hide tide in the morning so there isn't any to be used and in the afternoon it's pretty dirty after what the sea left, nobody really bothers cleaning it along the way, plenty of rubbish when you walk along - there's a small fishing village to the left and in the evening gives a really bad smell - website sort of suggests there is an airport shuttle, it is paid for though and turns more expensive than a taxi, would be nice if it was included in the room price

    - swimming pool is probably the nicest part of the hotel - the place is well maintained and clean - breakfast was ok, wouldn't rate it as "fabulous" though - Thai restaurant is really good, tasty food and quick service - supermarkets, atm and money exchange located just next to it which is great - to clarify, hotel is made out of 2 parts separated by a main road, one - pool, bar and restaurant are just by the sea, the other - the proper part of the hotel with guest rooms, reception, another restaurant and another bar are across the street - it is located very close to the beach however Lamai beach wouldn't be my choice again for staying in Koh Samui

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2017

    10
    Amazing staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Balcony Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were so friendly and helpful, they could speak really good English. The hotel was spotless, the breakfast buffet was very good, as was all the food. Overall very pleased with our stay! Would definitely recommend and stay again :)

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2017

    9.2
    Great hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Balcony Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Location is average for local night life however good amount of travel agents and local restaurants nearby to arrange trips and obtain food. Chaweng is a 20 minute taxi ride and Lamai beach around a 10 minute walk from here. This for me wasn't an issue and shouldn't put you off what is otherwise a nice place to stay!

    Very nice staff and grounds who are extremely attentive. Nice outdoor pool in the hotel and across the road from the beach/pool/restaurant area also owned by the same hotel.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2017

    9.2
    Great hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Balcony Room
    • Stayed 13 nights

    Location is ok, but not ideal. The part of Lamai beach where hotel is located is not suitable for swimming in the sea (shallow, lots of rocks). 10min walk through the beach to get to the good swimming place on Lamai.

    Very nice hotel, good rooms, great pools, friendly and helpful staff, fine breakfast. We're very pleased with our time spent at Manathai. Special thanks to the receptionists who helped with our requests during the stay - Angel and Sugar.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2017

    8.3
    the king size bed is REALLY big and very comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Balcony Room
    • Stayed 10 nights

    you have to cross the road to get to the beach, and pool area. you can deal with some difficulties in cooperation at reception if your request is not typical.

    the king size bed is REALLY big and very comfortable. Very cozy room.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2017

    6.7
    On the surface looks good but ....
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Balcony Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Caught food poisoning, seriously sick for 48 Hrs, which when reported to staff was ignored (politely just handed the bill and dismissed) the service in"Waterline" is very questionable everything takes AGES dirty plates are left lying for such a long time and saw a cockroach to add to this! In the rooms if you've had air con on and switch off EVERYTHING becomes covered in condensation plugs the lot. And the room constantly smelled musty. Probably wouldn't stay here again.

    So the actual resort is nice, facilities and location.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2017

    3.3
    Worst hotel ever.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Balcony Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is no beach, in order to get to the pool, you need to pass a busy road. For this money there are hundreds much better places to stay. Waste of money.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2017

    5.8
    The room was pretty huge and with a great style
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The position is not as you might think from the photos. From the beach/pool and the hotel there is a main street in the middle. Moreover the air conditioning system in the rooms are really too loud even at the lowest fan's speed and the cleanliness wasn't the best. Shuttle for the airport it cost double than what the taxi offers and the motorbikes almost the 50% more than the offer around the city.

    The room was pretty huge and with a great style

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2017

    7.9
    Nice place for family vacation
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Balcony Room
    • Stayed 13 nights

    English language is not dominated by all working at the hotel.

    The staff was always very friendly and helpful. For families with young children this place is ideal because of the kiddy pool and day care facilities. The hotel offered a daily service for transporting guests to and from Chaweng beach. That was very useful and pleasant.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2017

    9.2
    Great place to stay at Koh Samui
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Garden Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    WiFi was unreliable. Had to reconnect pretty often and even to re-login sometimes. Hopefully it'll get fixed before our next visit so we can stay here again.

    Staff was friendly and helpful at all stages of our stay and before it. They kindly let us to move our stay to 1 day later despite it was non-refundable because we had an unexpected flight change due to an air company fault. The room was kinda dark but large enough and comfortable. The TV in the room has HDMI input so we were able to connect it to our laptop and watch movies on a big screen :) The pool (the one across the road) is really great, views are enjoyable :) The location is convenient, there is a 7-Eleven just across the street and a Family Mart on the same street side. It's not far (5 mins on a motorbike) from Crystal Bay - one of the beast beaches on Samui. It's not far from the Lamai center either. Good value for money especially if you manage to book it when there are discounts.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2017

    8.8
    Stunning colonial-inspired hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Balcony Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Location was okay, but I would recommend renting a moped from the moment you get there. Everything is a drive away.

    Beautiful hotel - nicest one we stayed at in thailand.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2017

    10
    Strong recommendation
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Balcony Room
    • Stayed 11 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    One of the best value for money I ever had. They organize many attractions in the evening and try really hard to please all guests and dont loose nerves even when there was flood on Samui. Very nice stay. Rooms were beautiful, colonial style, high quality interiors, very nice and clean.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 December 2016

    7.1
    NOT NEXT TO BEACH AS YOU SAID IT WAS !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Balcony Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    NOT NEXT TO BEACH AS YOU SAID IT WAS ! YOU HAD TO CROSS VERY VERY VERY ROAD !!! VERY NOISEY TRAFFIC ... BEACH NOT CLEAN !! FALSE ADVERTISING AS NOT NEAR THE BEACH... POOR ON YOUR PART !!

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 December 2016

    10
    Perfect place at Koh Samui
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Lamai Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Thai style of room. Perfect staffs - very kind and helpful. Two swimming pool. Two restaurants - Thai and International food. Good localization if You looking for silent place with nice view. Yummy breakfasts

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2016

    5.8
    Location, exterior, helpful staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Balcony Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom was not in line with the rest of the appartment. Lighting was old and artificial white. We did not extend our stay.

    Location, exterior, helpful staff

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2016

    3.3
    The receptionist that greeted us on arrival was very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Balcony Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The cleaning service of the room is the worst I have ever seen in my life, they did not change the bed sheets even once during our stay even though we requested. There are ants in the room. When we were checking out, we were asked to pay 700 baht for a lost bag which was made of a paper!!! I have never experienced such a terrible service in my life! A plastic bag for 700 baht!!! The stuff made us late for our pick up bus so we missed it and after all they did not even apologize! They spoiled our mood and our last day in Koh Samui! I will never go back to this hotel and I will post it on every social media so people will never come visit this hotel! Terrible!

    The receptionist that greeted us on arrival was very friendly and professional. Hotel does look very beautiful on the outside but...

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2016

    10
    We like the staff, so kind.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Balcony Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    See across the road, but there are always guys Who manage the transport. Too expensive drinks in thé resort, but in happy hours it is for haly price. We walked the beach, this hotel has the worst sand and could be more clean. ..

    We like the staff, so kind. The hotel is cosy and also restaurant is great.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2016

    6.3
    Looking for crystal clear water kind of beach? DON'T stay here
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Balcony Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beach was horrible. I mean you could not even enter the water. So much seaweed and everything. We ended up renting a car and going around the island to find nicer beaches. The hotel also provides free transport to Chaweng beach (leaves at 10 comes back at 4). You have to cross a Very busy Road to get to the swimming pool (which closes at 7pm and after that you cannot use it). I would suggest Chaweng, Crystal Bay or Bophut beach but certainly not Lamai

    Food in Pad Thai was good Room was Nice alrhough small (deluxe with balcony) Staff Very attentive and friendly. Ready to help with everything

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2016

    9.6
    Everything else was great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Balcony Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Beach across the hotel would be great if it were not for a close by stream which seems to bring some local discharges along. Breakfast was needlessly expensive at 600 THB per person. Instead I had breakfast at the 7 Eleven around the corner.

    Everything else was great. You can book tours in the hotel and pay when you check out.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2016

    7.5
    Fine hotel, bit worn down.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Balcony Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The whole hotel feels a bit worn down. The first room we got was pretty dirty. They solved it fantastically to give us a free upgrade to a cleaner and bigger room. The pool has got very sharp edges because the granite edge is worn down. Breakfast is great, a lot of choice and different every day. Thing is, I just need a sandwich and an egg in the morning. € 8,- is pretty expensive for a sandwich and an egg. Pretty long walk to busy part of Lamai (10 min).

    Nice hotel, great personnel. I loved the style of the hotel. The beachside pool is pretty nice as well. Beach is fine.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2016

    9.2
    Wonderful stay in a beautiful location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Balcony Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very slow wifi. Staff wernt always attentive. My friend organised balloons and a cake in my room for my birthday. The balloons never happened and the cake arrived at 10pm

    Beautiful pool, very clean, excellent room

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2016

    9.6
    Luxureous, stylish and clean with friendly personnel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Garden Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing specific. It is a fantastic resort (where it is difficult to find a trash bin??). Guards help to cross the street

    Nice welcome, style of the rooms, at the beach and very clean. Very friendly personnel. We stayed in the Lamai Suite which I can recommend. It is spaceous en full of comfort. 7/11 next door

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2016

    9.6
    See you again!! :-))
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Garden Room
    • Stayed 16 nights

    We feel that the cleaning could have been a bit better. When you stay as long as we did in one room it needs a bit of extra cleaning now and then.

    Excellent breakfast and a wonderfull room. We had a lovely time. Thank you! Kind regards Gunilla Johnsson

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2016

    6.7
    Colonial Style Hotel, well located.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Lamai Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Noisy A/C and Fan...Staff did show us another suite, but the decor/furniture was very 'tired' looking! Evening Menu in Restaurant very poor for the standard of the Hotel. VERY expensive drinks in Mulligans!

    The colonial style suites and size. Helpful staff Location

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2016

    5.4
    Not great
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Balcony Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The staff didn't speak very good English and when asked to extend our stay they said 'we have a lot of Chinese here so cannot extend' I found that very frustrating as they had other rooms available online so I just booked via the website. One day the rooms were not cleaned properly and I had to request water and loo roll and there was none in the room. Disappointing given the price. The reception service really let it down.

    The pool was fantastic and the rooms and reception area were nice. Cocktails on happy hour - great!

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    10
    Breakfast was perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Balcony Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was perfect. Personal was very kind and helpful. Swimming pools were clean and braceing. Very good location, near by beach.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    7.9
    Relaxing but short
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Balcony Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Could have a better happy hour!

    Good breakfast. Nice staff.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    8.3
    Nice hotel clean
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Balcony Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff asking for tips

    Nice hotel clean

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    9.6
    MUST BE TEHRE
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Balcony Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    the sea is not excellent BUT the pool by the sea is amazing itself

    The venue is great for relaxing and starting other experiences around the island

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    7.5
    The big comfy bed
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Garden Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Crossing the main road

    The big comfy bed

    Stayed in April 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: