Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Duangtawan Hotel Chiang Mai 4 stars

132 Loykroh Road, Chang-Klan, Muang, Chang Khlan, 50100 Chiang Mai, Thailand

#544 of 761 hotels in Chiang Mai

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 2178 hotel reviews

7.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.4

  • Comfort

    7.4

  • Location

    8.7

  • Facilities

    7.4

  • Staff

    7.5

  • Value for money

    7.4

  • Free WiFi

    7.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2018

    8.8
    Very good value for the money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    couldn't find anything serious.

    Very good value for the money. Location 2 minutes from night market. comfortable room, good wifi signal, A/C works very good. The view of the city is wonderful from the higher floors. Nice pool and gym.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2018

    7.9
    Enjoyed the close proximity to the night bazaar.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel is indeed rather old and can do with some sprucing up in the interior.

    Got a free upgrade to the deluxe room on a high floor. Room was spacious and bed was comfortable.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2018

    8.3
    Excellent location, value for money and good staff.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The rooms are old, they need to renovate their rooms. Also, the water was quite hard, wish they used softeners. In addition, the toiletries need to be upgraded, it was pretty average.

    The honesty of the staff. Would like to share an incident. Coming back to the room after breakfast realized that I lost my Passport. Rushed back to the breakfast area and found that they already sent my Passport to the front desk. A sigh of relief.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2018

    8.3
    Reasonable Price Hotel With Friendly Staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No bidet shower in the toilet, this is standard in nearby hotels. The floor of the swimming pool need major repair. The Lounge Bar close by 12am.

    I was upgraded on arrival, Breakfast was good but could been better if cheese was served, nice swimming pool but the floor of the swimming pool need major repair, friendly staff, very near to the Night Bazar and Restaurants. The view from the high level floor rooms is amazing.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2018

    10
    Excellent value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    As mentiond above, a change of décor or upgrade would be more presentable

    The property is well located and the staff are very friendly, helpful and efficient at what they do. I have been staying at the property over the last 10 years and have stayed at the hotel no less that 12 times and will continue to stay there in future. Some of the rooms are a little dated in décor but they are clean. Chiang Mai in general is a quiet location and as such you don not get the riff-raff that frequent the more popular cities hence it is safe in the vicinity of the hotel

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2018

    10
    Would definitely stay here again
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom was to small, I just about managed to get into the shower cubicle

    The location,The Pool, the Gym. Very impressed with the Staff and the service. Lovely Grand Entrance.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2018

    5.4
    Check in difficulty and lack of reply from Booking.com for request for car pick up
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    1. Check in difficulty- reception could not locate our booking.com reservation number even after I show them the hard copy booking confirmation printout. 2. Special requests - multiple emails sent using booking.com “contact hotel “ feature for car pick up as not attended to as there was no reply from hotel and from booking.com. My friend who happens to be there 2 days earlier had to go to hotel concierge to enquire and only to be told that they did not receive the email for car pick up request. 3. Concierge personnel not helpful and bad command of English

    Convenient location next to night bazaar and eateries.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    7.5
    The hotel is situated very well, 5 minutes from the night...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    You could hear everything from the hall as well as the room next door. Everything!

    The hotel is situated very well, 5 minutes from the night market. The room was spacious.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    5.4
    Cheap.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    This hotel was clearly outdated and really shabby, and the buffet food was awful. It's also right near the "red-light district" so there was some interesting activity in the hotel. That being said the location was decent but very touristy and crowded. I wasn't impressed with the staff either who were rather rude to my husband during checkout.

    Well the pool was really nice, and we had a fantastic view of the city and mountains. Good value if your looking to go cheap.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    6.3
    Location is convenient
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    1. Disappointing check in experience - staff couldn’t locate my reservation despite showing them my hard copy booking.com reservation which has the confirmation number. It appears that the booking.com confirmation number was not interface properly into their system. 2. Concierge staff is not knowledgeable and not helpful to recommend some shops for us.

    Location is convenient

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2018

    8.8
    Overall, it was a pleasnt stay, but I may consider a different hotel the next time I'm in Chiang Mai
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Although the room was spacious, the room had a connecting door which made it seem kind of awkward. The breakfast buffet was extensive, but it catered mainly to the Asian clientele. For westerners, it would seem lacking in selections. They should offer a better variety of fruits and muesli cereal, for example.

    The room was exceptionally clean, and that includes the bedding. The hotel staff were very professional and courteous. The hotel was conveniently located in the center of town and not far from the airport (about 15 minutes by taxi).

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2018

    9.6
    16 days in Chiang Mai
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 16 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Although there were many choices for breakfast over our 16day stay there was no variation to the set choices. It was the same day after day

    Great location. Spacious rooms. Clean & friendly

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    10
    Very close to night bazaar and other markets are easy to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Business Plus Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Very close to night bazaar and other markets are easy to walk to. Lots of places to eat within a very short walk. Hotel and staff were wonderful

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2018

    9.2
    Enjoyed staying here.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Business Plus Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Your pool is so cold.

    This is a very nice hotel, although its getting a little tired and is in need of renovation. All the facilities are there, and there are lots of hidden treasures, like the alternative breakfast room on 23rd floor that no one knows about. Great service from happy staff, always a smile and a "good morning". Happy to stay again.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2018

    7.1
    Good Hotel is you are a Senior or in a Group
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Business Plus Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Decor is very dated Staff speak very poor English, which is tiring Gym is just okay

    Horizon-level benefits were great Room was spacious with a decent view Bed was comfortable In-hotel tourism companies were good.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2018

    8.8
    Good staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Business Plus Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lobby interiors are brilliant but bathroom not clean Room Interiors are on the older side Too crowded at check in

    Good staff good location good view Value for money Very professional

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2018

    7.9
    Chiang mai
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Attentativeness of staff was a little slow for a large 4star hotel. Also the fact I couldn't park at front of hotel whilst I checked in.

    The room and views were fantastic. Location awsome Good size pool.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2018

    3.8
    The location next to evening market.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    In Thailand we had a lot of nice hotels, this was not one of them. The hotel is big and old and is screaming for renovation. The rooms are dirty, smelly and the shower needs intensive cleaning and better showers.. breakfast: enough choice but not our taste, and not good prepared.. the hotel is too big for the few staff and reception workers: we waited 2 hours for our suitcases, the room prepared for us missed bedsheets and no drinks.

    The location next to evening market. Please note there are enough hotels nearby!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2018

    7.5
    Location was good for what we wanted room was a good size...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Trying to get a lift up to or down from room was really slow and lift was often already full . Breakfast was spread out to much and food wasn't topped up enough.

    Location was good for what we wanted room was a good size and clean

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2018

    6.7
    Good hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room cleaning was poor, had our room cleaned once whilst we were there (this being our choice), Yet the level of cleaning was not up to standards of other hotels.

    Great location, 1 min walk to main part of Chiang Mai. Staff were friendly, always wanting to please & help! Breakfast was great, good choice of foods and again, staff were brilliant.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2018

    7.9
    Look for a place near the nightlife and night bazaar of Chiang Mai - Duangtawan Hotel is one of them
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    cocktail drink at the hotel.

    Good location for nightlife and night bazaar of Chiang Mai. Hotel has sufficient facilities but the bar particularly the cocktail needs a more professional cocktail mixture.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2018

    7.1
    The location is great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Bathroom was not clean and looked old. Shower is not made for western people. When u are 180cm or taller u can't stay under the shower.

    The location is great. U are 5 minuts away from the nightbazaar.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2018

    7.9
    There is no toothbrush, toothpaste and razor kit in the room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There is no toothbrush, toothpaste and razor kit in the room. I couldn't understand so I called to the reception and room service, but they both just said that's their policy.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2018

    8.3
    The room was big and comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The style of rooms were pretty old-school

    The room was big and comfortable. The facilities in the hotel were pretty good. The pool was big and nice with a bar. Fitness centre and spa were also awesome. A good hotel for relaxation.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2018

    10
    Love the location and how clean the hotel was.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I wish the 3rd elevator was working. Hopefully that will be fixed soon.

    Love the location and how clean the hotel was. This was a excellent stay. 5 stars all around.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    7.1
    Breakfast is ok.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bathrooms need a refurb. Lifts are awful.

    Breakfast is ok. Varied unless you stay a few days. But the hotel is generally a little dated and tired. Good gym, and pool. Excellent location.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    10
    Chiang Mai Stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The elevators are way to slow and due to this they are always full. 10 - 15 mins to get to breakfast which is bland and boring. After 3 days we decided to eat elsewhere.

    The location was fantastic. Right on the night markets. Bed very comfortable, nice big rooms with great view.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    5.0
    Not so impressed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was very old fashioned and the bathroom was dirty! The shower room especially was disgusting as there was dirt coming out of the pipe. The rooms need an uplift, the bathroom in particular. We would not stay here again. Deserves to be 2 star not 4 star.

    Location and the tourist information desk was excellent.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    4.6
    Breakfast variety, spa and pool.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cashier and Reception Staff did not send shuttle van to airport as advertised and requested for pick up. When one was requested for airport drop off the charge was 150 THB per person (we had 5 total). We hired a cab for 300THB total. Felt like because we are Falaang we were charged more.

    Breakfast variety, spa and pool.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    10
    Great hotel in perfect location by night markets - very clean and excellent facilities
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great hotel in perfect location near night markets and easy stroll to old town. Lovely pool, excellent gym, big rooms, very clean, great breakfast, lovely welcoming and helpful staff - overall terrific!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    8.3
    A nice hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Reception staff. Checking in not efficient. Checking out, no interest if you enjoyed stay.A

    Great location. Good choice for breakfast. Dinning room staff very helpful and attentive. Concierge also informative and helpful.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    10
    i will be back thanks to the staff and great location walk out the door and everything is there
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    there is nothing not to like

    this hotel was one of the best myself and my wife have ever stayed at every thing about the hotel was great the staff were excellent any person going to chang mai this hotel is the place for you

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    6.7
    night bazzar right on hotel doorstep - nice cafe only 100metres away.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Bed was uncomfortable. They put an extra doona on top of mattress but it did not make a lot of difference. Cleanliness left a lot to be desired just basic- make the bed - vaccumn the floor - check the fridge

    swimming pool was great

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    10
    Great location beautiful hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom could be cleaned better than the room is fab

    The pool was lovely and clean, location is great, staff very friendly helpful from the doir men to the reception all over staff are great

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    7.1
    Ok for the money
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very dated, pool area not been power washed for a long time, pool beds in a state of disrepair and not very clean. Spa area in need of renovation

    Great location if you are happy to be in the centre of things at night, easy walking distance to night bazaar and old town, room clean

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    5.4
    Disappointing hotel stay in otherwise inviting Chiang Mai
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The hotels seemed not to offer 'good quality' (or selection of) fruits for breakfast. We experienced better at other hotels. The room we occupied was small. The bathroom (in particular the shower cubicle) was cramped for space ! Overall: i) old, tired furnishings and decor, with signs of neglect and evidence of lack of attention to detail in 'room cleaning and tidying; ii) absence in room of simple necessities, like bottle opener, and electric iron and ironing board.

    Reasonable choice of food for breakfast. The location was great! Night markets (a great attraction) are close by (you can walk there, or take a tuk-tuk). Staff are very friendly and helpful ... often a redeeming feature, that makes up for the short-comings of the hotel in other respects !

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    7.9
    Friendly Staffs and very helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    At the breakfast... the salad bar served super old cucumber. The food not top up quick enough compared to the amount of guests at the breakfast.

    Friendly Staffs and very helpful. I like the happy hour at The Malibu Lounge in the evening between 5-7.30pm... good cocktails, Very polite n super friendly staffs..

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    7.9
    Quality Hotel in Centre of Everything
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Bathroom desperately in need of an upgrade.

    Hotel staff were professional at all times. Room was a good size. Good view of Chiang Mai from windows. Selection of restaurants and bars within the hotel was plentiful. Good proximity to local bars and restaurants. Night bazaar almost at the front door. Housekeeping very efficient.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    7.9
    Good place to stay in the city walking distance to night bazaar.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Read Tau rant downstairs.

    Very good price . Breakfast consisted of many choices to choose. Room is nice and clean . I would visit again for my next trip

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    5.8
    Not my first choice for a stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no bum spray by the toilet, a real turn off for Asians and Middle Eastern folk. I found the entry on ground floor and reception on the next floor up difficult as I had limited mobility and there are no comfortable chairs on either really. Its all a bit dated. Like many older hotels you have to unplug the bedside lamp to charge and use electronic devices in the bed.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    8.8
    Amazing swimming pool and great variety for breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Moldy shower, rooms need maintenance.

    Amazing swimming pool and great variety for breakfast. Close to night market and restaurants. Great commodities in front of hotel, laundry and scooter rental affordable.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2018

    7.5
    Location and facilities located inside the hotel was great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room never really got cool, thin walls means I could hear everything going on in the next room. And house keeping starts cleaning rooms real early, which with the thing walls means you hear everything

    Location and facilities located inside the hotel was great. (Store, bakery, airline ticketing ect)

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    3.8
    If you are Chinese then this will be much liked if you western not so.
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was over booked and due our later checkin we did not get the room type we wanted. We were told that out teenage daughter should sleep in her mother and fathers bed which in the west is illegal. The breakfast room in the morning was full and another room was provided for breakfast but the food was cold or just luke warm frim those candle like food warmers. It was very obvious that the hotel was a Chinese Tour package provider and thus thete was lots of shouting and slamming of doors late at night. The overall experience was horrible but we suffered through it as it was only for two nights

    Not much, its location for our purpose was good.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    10
    Amazing!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This hotel was beyond my expectations! Felt like a five star hotel. Great location, right beside the Night Bazaar! The view was absolutely breath-taking! Staff was very helpful and kind!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    3.8
    Turn on the air conditioning!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The air conditioning in our room did not work and they did not seem to care. It was our last night of our travels and it was so hot we could not sleep nor get ready for a 30 hour travel home. The room also smelt like disgusting smoke!

    The pool was nice

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    9.2
    Large room, comfortable bed, good view, good air con.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could do with a little more attention to the cleanliness of the room, e.g bed throw and cushions had spill stains on them and the floor was not that clean.

    Large room, comfortable bed, good view, good air con.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    6.3
    Location ok but disappointed in room
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms old and required updating, certainly not value, could choose better place to stay with modern room. Room did not have sufficient power plugs

    Location was excellent

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    5.4
    You can get much better value for the money in other hotels in the same area
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Business Plus Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bath room is very outdated. The shower head is not working well anymore and is fixed on the wall. Every time you start to shower, you have to cover it with your hand, in order to avoid the initial cold water. It barely gives you enough water to wash the shampoo out of your hair. Although my room was on the 20th floor, it was very loud until midnight. There seems to be a very loud bar just below. The rooms are quite clairaudient. If one of your neighbors uses the toilet, you definitely wake up. Every time I wanted to use an elevator, I had to wait more than 5 minutes. I had to wait 30 minutes when I checked out, because they were dealing with an organized traveling group and were not organized to serve other customers during that time. Unlike most other hotels in the area, they do not offer you a complimentary bottle of water per day. The WiFi did not work stable. Very sluggish internet connection and often lost WiFi. Wifi not user friendly either. Kicks you out after one hour, if you do not use it and you have to type in long and cryptic username and password every time again.

    The hotel is very close to the night market and to many bars. Unfortunately it seems to be too close to a very loud bar. There is a water kettle in the room, some instant coffee and some tea, which are included in the price. The bed is comfortable and there are many pillows. The air condition is working quite well and on the lowest fan setting it has an acceptable noise level.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    6.7
    The hotel location is right in the heart of the city's...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room's toilet was filled with foul smell and the drainage was not good. Felt like showering in a pond.

    The hotel location is right in the heart of the city's night bazaar.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    9.6
    When everything is working you don't notice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    It was a little annoying that one of the three lifts was being repaired while we were there.

    There was an enormous array of breakfasts to chose from. Six types of coffee alone. Gym was very large and they even had individual saunas an a huge Hot-tub. Everything worked seamlessly. And it was really handy to the night markets.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    5.4
    Disapointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Although the Foyer raised our expectations that's where it stopped. The place was tired. Our room had been poorly renovated some years back. The pool had little shade and large sections of the pool floor grouting was not in place.

    Location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    8.8
    Breackfast was great huge choice and location is excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Big hotel with no character and for me it’s lacking the personal touch that all the guest houses around Chiang Mai have. You are better of staying somewhere small locally owned who would appreciate your bisuness more.

    Breackfast was great huge choice and location is excellent

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    7.5
    It was a pleasant stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    We were given a corner room with 2 connecting doors (1831). We would have preferred to have a room with no connecting/ adjoining rooms. My partner feels that the bed is too hard but I find it okay. Housekeeping came at 8.30am to clean the room and we told him no. He came again later to clean our room and we declined. Had to put the "DND" signage on our door so he will not ask us again to clean the room.

    The location. It is about 15-20 minutes from the airport. If you want to rent a motorbike, there's a place opposite the hotel called KPD and it's 150 baht for 24 hours. 7-11 and pharmacy are opposite the hotel. The room size is huge and the view is amazing. The night markets are within walking distance. Try to visit when the stalls are closing and the vendors will give you a good price - you don't even have to bargain. Plenty of vegan eateries around. That's a plus for me.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    8.3
    Was a very relaxing stay at the beautiful and conveniently located Duangtawan Hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The bed was very very hard! It felt like I was sleeping on a thin comforter on a concrete floor. There was no bounce at all in the mattress.

    Excellent location to the Night Bazaar and other shopping venues. The room AC functioned exceptionally well to provide comfort given the high temperature and humidity during our visit.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    7.1
    Overall it was okay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I booked for kingsize bed but provided twin beds. Requested the staff during the checked in but she started to lecture me. Following day I was given the room with king size bed. Thanks.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    9.2
    Very enjoyable as usual.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    As previously stated re some staff attitudes.

    I've stayed there a few times over the years. Always great service. Very good breakfast. One complaint I have concerning some staff. My wife and I have been together a number of years. She is a Thai lady. Some staff, appear to take it upon themselves to make judgements about her background and their attitude to her bordered on rudeness. However, the vast majority of your staff are very very good.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    8.8
    big hotel offering everything you need
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Service is a little bit lazy, no waiter was interested to work in the bar. 3 (+1 lift under construction) - you spend a lot of time waiting. Windows in our room were broken +dirty!

    The position of the hotel couldn’t be better. There is a big nightmarket, a lot of bars, but even then- it was not loud. The pool is perfect. Bathroom and room are big. Clean rooms, nice stuff at the reception, breakfast is delicious,..

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    7.5
    Good location, fair price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pool closes at 9pm, so early. Elevators take forever. Check in and check out process takes forever.

    Very good location, next to night bazaar. Food by the pool is good.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    9.2
    Huge hotel. Great cxb
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower is placed in 170cm height. Its a pain for tall people.

    Huge hotel with bar, restaurant, massage store, etc. Room has good space and king size bed.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    10
    Pleasant stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing, we were very pleased with our stay.

    Spacious rooms, friendly staff and great facilities. We got upgraded to a business suite, that was great, thank you.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    7.9
    Clean and comfortable mid-range hotel in good location
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Slow ride on the elevators—plan an extra ten minutes into your departure time because it really could take that long with the elevator opening on every floor. Also, no sitting area in ground floor lobby—only options to sit are bar or restaurant

    Good location, decent price

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    5.8
    Average. Wouldn’t stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was very average. We had a room with construction going on next to at (part of the hotel) into the night. Staff not very friendly.

    The pool was okay. Good location.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    9.6
    I really thanks the hotel staff for upgrading my room to the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel restaurant services are very late . No water shattaf in the toilet .

    I really thanks the hotel staff for upgrading my room to the business room it was really not nice ..

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    7.1
    Would I stay again?.....no!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My room key did not work at 10am on last day,which was frustrating. Even after two attempts to fix the problem, I was still locked out of my room, and checkout is 12 noon. Seems my keys were deactivated, and staff could not fix the problem.

    The pool is good,also the location is very good. Bed was large and comfortable and tv had good selection of channels. I didn’t try the restaurants as I ate out, so no comment there.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    6.7
    Decent hotel, well located, good if you're going to be out most of the day anyway.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The staff weren't attentive when we were checking in and chat among themselves a lot. The room was below expectation, phone wasn't working, AC wasn't working and attempts to fix it also failed (so we had to ask to change rooms), the bathroom design is poor as the water spills out when you shower.

    The location is excellent and within walking distance to the Night Market, Old Town and lots of restaurants. Decent pool. Room size is good - offered us a free upgrade.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    9.2
    It Was cleas, staff where good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I bought 2 seperate night at this hotel, in tha same class size. The first was big and comfy, the secound one was smaller and annoying ... They where sopose to be thesame size One elavator was not working. Took us lonk time to gofrim 18th floor to g.

    It Was cleas, staff where good. The bad was great. Very good location

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    4.2
    Disappointed.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Staff are friendly and nice and try to be helpful as much as they can. The hotel is run down with poor decoration. The bathroom is unpleasant, small size, low ceiling, and strange layout. Bad quality of food for breakfast, and cleanliness around the area. I have to look for so many glasses in order to make sure that they are properly clean! Booking for double bad and ended up with 2 single bedrooms. Bed and pillow are really hard.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2018

    9.6
    Good hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    24 floor hotel but only 3 working lifts when we visited so sometimes had to walk up and down plenty of floors, especially during busy times.

    Excellent hotel. Large looms. Very clean and comfortable. Location couldn’t be better. Good pool and gym. Large breakfast selection. Great value for money overall!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    9.2
    Excellent location, great staff, good facilities and clean rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    First world problem of Wifi not being consistent, however this didn't bother me.

    The rooms were very specious and although little dated in decor. The room had a very hot shower with high pressure. Water was very good for a shave! The room was cleaned everyday to a very good standard. The hotel was very convenient for the night bazaar and the Pantip Plaza (excellent for gadgets). The staff were friendly and helpful. There was gym to use and classes too, free of charge. I was able to attend a couple of yoga classes.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    10
    I always come here, it feels like home.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 14 nights

    Lifts could be improved to not stop at floors where another life already stopped. Maybe if press button twice can turn off "call" like inside lifts when pressing floor number twice.

    Always had hot water. Shower separate from tub. Good TV with excellent channel choices. Breakfast buffet has many choices. Bed was comfortable. Staff is excellent and friendly. Hotel old but clean.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    7.5
    Comfortable and conveniently located for an affordable price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Installing of elevators was rather loud, understandable as they need new ones

    Bed comfortable enough but if good pillows and matress were brought in would pay more for that luxury.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2018

    5.4
    Never stay in this hotel again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathing room don’t have bathing mat and shower area is extremely slippery especially after using hair conditioner . I stayed for 4 nights but only on the first night I got bathing towels and face towels. On the other nights, only bathing towels are provided. Cleanliness is not up to standard as I saw cockroach in my room and in the restaurant.

    Excellent location and very close to night market. Breakfast has good variety choices. Swimming pool and gym area very spacious.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2018

    10
    Loved this hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Being woken up at 8.30am on our last day by cleaner hoovering the hallway outside our bedroom. The bedroom doors really could’ve thicker as we heard a lot of inconsiderate customers talking loudly. Other than that I loved this hotel

    Loved this hotel! The location is great at only 15 minutes away from the airport and central to shopping and exploring. The staff are very friendly and helpful. There are multiple bars and restaurants on the premises.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    10
    Perfect!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Business Plus Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The elevators were a little slow and inconsistent but no big deal. That’s it!

    The location was unbelievably perfect. The staff was very friendly and accommodating. The pool was way nicer than the pictures

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    5.8
    Would have preferred to pay a little more for better standard
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tawan breakfast room, enormous area, low ceiling, dirty Windows. Breakfast not bad and we found coffee quite nice.

    Can't think of anything worthy of mention.

    Stayed in February 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Duangtawan Hotel Chiang Mai traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: