Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Centara Kata Resort Phuket 4 stars

54 Ked Kwan Road, 83100 Kata Beach, Thailand

#51 of 85 hotels in Kata Beach

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 162 hotel reviews

7.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.6

  • Comfort

    7.7

  • Location

    7.6

  • Facilities

    7.8

  • Staff

    8.1

  • Value for money

    7.5

  • Free WiFi

    8.3

  • Paid WiFi

    8.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 46

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms could have been brighter lit.

    I loved that the staff were ceaccomodating to child related requests like a high chair in my room etc. They were lovely with my Son and and very mindful of his needs.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Family Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Strangely, the hot water was to hot for little ones and we had to be careful. This was manageable and a minor point.

    We had a 5 and a 7yr old and the pools were ideal, varying depths, good little slide and great observation locations to see the pool from sun beds. Good shuttle bus service to the beach and easy to walk back with an ice cream (15mins) at a 5 year olds pace (good pedestrian walkways)

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The environment is amazing and you feel at home

    The location and the facility are excellent except for the furniture and fixture which has out lived it's utility. The staff was outstanding in service and cooperation. Need to upgrade the furniture desperately. Another thing is that if you stay on the emerald side you don't find out about the waves side of the hotel. It feels that these are two separate hotels you should try to integrate the two wings it would add to the grandeur of the hotel

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 10 nights

    The bed was quite hard (I don't usually complain about sleeping facilities) and the customers were directed to do the dishes after cooking (otherwise they will charge 500THB).

    We had very nice stay in this hotel, got upgraded to a family room with a good location close to pool. Good cooking facilities, food in hotel restaurants not that expencive either, nice pool area, very good family hotel. Many good local restaurants next to the hotel. Would come again!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Family Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pools , kids room are all great . However, the room need updating . The wall was dusty and dirty . The pillow smell wet and hasn't been dried properly . When we first enter the room, it smell mouldy . The location of the hotel was great though...

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Family Suite
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It wasn't the friendliest place ever and the staff seemed a bit unhappy. I wonder if it's in part due to the transient-type customers - coming through in large tour groups.

    Good location, easy to walk to the beach and lots of different restaurants and massage places etc.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pool with the water slide was closed. That's the main reason for booking this hotel. Extremely disappointed. Yes, they did offer to take us to their sister hotel 10 minutes away, but shuttle bus service was infrequent. Why booking.com or the hotel's website didn't advertise this fact is unforgivable. Families sometimes chose hotels based on the facilities available, not just price. The schedule I had made revolved around taking my daughter to the pool in the morning (with water slide). Not waiting until 11:30 AM for the first shuttle bus to another hotel.

    Staff were friendly. Excellent kids club.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Family Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Out of the 3 hotels we stayed in Phuket, we really love Centara Kata. Our son love the pools so very much and we enjoyed just every aspects of the hotel especially the staff at the front desk and the housekeeping and guards. We rate this hotel as the number 1 satisfied among all the hotels we stayed in the past.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Family Room
    • Stayed 13 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We booked this hotel because of the spa-pool which does not allow children. But it was closed for maintanence the 2nd day. Have stayed in This hotel several times and think that it needs to be freshened up in the rooms. The first room had quite dirty walls. Had to ask for towels and toilet papers serveral times. Also they only changed beds one time in 2 weeks (when we asked). Was disappointed This time and don't know if we'll come back.

    In our opinion a sure choice as they have 3 pools and good breakfast. Near shops and 10 min walk from beach (or free bus). We had to change room because of broken AC and the staff handled it professionally and gave us a bigger room.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had to pay the deposit while we check in. Nothing was written on booking.com about the deposit. The deposit was huge. On the kid's swimming pool there was no lifeguard.

    We got huge family room. The stuff was really nice and helpful. The kids swimming pool was great. My kid loved the hotel

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Well, what we dont like is that we've only had 2 nights to be spent here. 😆 we like everything about it and it is a best choice for your family vacation in phuket. 😊

    We've spent two nights in Centara Kata. This was our first family vacation in phuket. I chose CENTARA based on reviews for best family hotel and it was TOTALLY TRUE. We arrived in late afternoon and the hotel staff Nancy welcome us very nice. The check-in process was very quick, and the hotel gave us complimentary by upgrading our room -since our type of room at the ground floor which i asked , was not available at that time- without any extra cost. Furthermore, since we've lost one of our baggage Nancy and the other hotel staffs handled it very well, they called the airlines directly and before midnight the luggage have arrived in our room. They also set the sofa bed in the room for us, knowing that we're with our two kids during the stay. The room was big, clean and nice. It also has nice terrace next to the swimming pool. Our favorite was CENTARA has big swimming pools. Yes they had 4 -if im not mistaken- swimming pools. Kids love it so much. We also had a chance to order in room dining for tom yam goong and it tasted good. Breakfast also nice, and the location was only 2 minutes by walk from Kata Road where you can find a lot of restaurants and shops.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no free wifi on the room, only on the reception, for the price of the hotel they should have free wifi, these days even dorms have free internet!!

    The room was very comfortable with a pool view, close to restaurants and shops.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast. The food ran out and always had to ask for plates and that took awhile. Wouldn't recommend breakfast there.

    The pool and family orientated

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was pricey if you purchase on the spot (390 baht) and really not great. I'm a vegetarian, and found a couple options, but was pretty disappointed all round.

    Super friendly staff, and nice amenities.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Customer service

    Bad experience over charged money.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 14 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Building is little run down, need renovation

    Pool with bar Staff Food Drinks

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Far from public beach

    Wifi

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good facilities and great breakfast

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Family Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not clean. See rubbish around swimming pool Many insects dead lying around the stairs and pigeons come to breakfast area

    Friendly staff

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were rude and unhelpful.

    The location is good - close to shops and cheap restaurants and walking distance to the beach.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nof focused on travellers..focus only on money

    Not cooperative

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 12 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Maybe brighter bedside lights for reading. Powerpoints for bedside tables too.

    The food & the service

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom family Suite with pool view
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very Slow service

    Good location

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    • Group
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff at the hotel receptionist so rude

    Nothing

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Can improve cleanliness. There were things that i didnt like but i made it personally clear to the staff.

    Good facilities. Good food.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 9 nights

    we were surprised buy deposit. When we booked the rooms it was not mantiont about it.

    We like our rooms, interior location.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pool shop is so expensive. And need to pay much tax

    That's good for my baby

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    there was only missing Wc shower as muslims we use to muslim shower with WC

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Communicating with staff was frustrating.

    Very entertaining for kids. The pool-slide was huge hit with the little ones.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 13 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room service was slow to do room each day

    Staff were great with the kids and arranging activities for them

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    the warranty money

    love the place the environment and the well come to the gust

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 13 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    One pool was closed, service wasn't great.

    Great for families.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Kids play center needs to open earlier. There should be no charge for laundry.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor air conditioning system, causing the room to have moldy smell

    Very good breakfast and nice pool

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pillows is smelly.

    I like breakfast so wonderful and swimming pool.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Children oriented hotel

    Quite zone was very nice

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Family Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff attitude in restaurants

    Lovely bed and ambience

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No water tap in toilet. Use of paper only. That's really bad and unhygienic

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Family Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perfect resort if you have kids. Clean and great staff

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Far from beach

    Good half board.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great resort for families

    Stayed in May 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    I requested a ground floor room and this was not provided. I made a couple of requests at the time of booking and while it was ok at the time when it came to honour them it was not possible. Extremely frustrating as the front desk staff deny that an exchange of emails has taken place. Also, the letter I received on arrival was for another guest.

    Food and location. Resort catering is excellent worth the extra money. Boys feel free comfortable at the resort and pool and catering staff are very kind and friendly,

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Only real gripe was the food we had at Phuket sea food restaurant. After a visit to the Trickeye Museum the hotel driver took us there as we requested sea food. Compared to the sea food we had in kata it was not as good and more expensive. Would not go there again.

    Very attentive and helpful staff. Always smiling and very friendly. Great buffet breakfast. Small gym with air on perfect for my needs. Free muay thai boxing lessons. Of the 3 available pools we prefered to use the emerald pool. Very clean and has a pool bar. Food was great. Although a bit expensive when used to buying Bangkok street food. Quiet location with night life just a short taxi ride away. Excellent.

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Staff were fantastic - very friendly towards us, especially our two young boys.

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    could have had more staff doing more around resort

    location was fairly central

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Breakfast and executuve room

There are also 23 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 46

Guests also reviewed these properties: