Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Diamond Cave Resort & Spa 3 stars

36 Moo 1, Ao Nang, Muang Krabi, 81000 Railay Beach, Thailand

#15 of 16 hotels in Railay Beach

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1721 hotel reviews

6.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    6.4

  • Comfort

    6.3

  • Location

    7.3

  • Facilities

    6.3

  • Staff

    6.9

  • Value for money

    6.6

  • Free WiFi

    4.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    6.3
    Good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Bungalow with Fan
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The pictures on their profile do not show the reality of the rooms. If you would like to sleep in a cool room, then they charge you 400bht per night. We were caught on their breakfast deal: 150bht a day. PLEASE do not eat breakfast there. Three of us got sick after having an omelette at their restaurant.

    The hotel is located on the East side of Railay, where the beaches aren't nice. But it takes 5 min to walk to the Westside and less than 10 to walk to the most famous one. It is close to restaurants and little stores. The hotel is located on a hill, with a gorgeous natural wall behind it. The pool is nice and the rooms aren't super bad for the price.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2018

    6.3
    It was ok. I wont stay there again, because i think an aircon is a necessity.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room with Fan
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Definitely not the bathroom. Because of no shower curtain, everything was wet. Insects came out of the drain in the bathroom. Room needs an upgrade, paint. A kettle would have been nice and the tv didnt work.

    Bungalows was 'cute'

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    6.7
    fair price for a small apartment
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Bungalow
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The apartments aren't really cleaned up well, especially the bathroom. Moreover they should probably be renovated a little. The hotel is located at the harbour side of Railay, so it takes a 10 min. walk to the beach. In the morning the staff is being very noisy with walki-talkies and since the apartment are poorly soundproof you'll probably wake up because of this.

    You're getting a small apartment for a very low price. If you want to stay at Railay on a budget, this is one of the best places to stay at. Moreover the hotel offers a really nice swimming pool and breakfast.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2018

    3.8
    Not worth the money and Ants in your luggage
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Bungalow with Fan
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The issue is that we understand that it is a low cost room, but even so it was disgusting. We have been staying in rooms in these price ranges and star ratings for our entire trip and this is a first. The first room they gave us had an enormous frog in the bathroom, and besides mould, stained sheets, fans that do not work and randomly start clunking super loud, and general disgustingness - we got ants in all of our bags and clothes that we had to go through piece by piece. They were all in the bed, drawers, and everywhere. We notified the hotel about the problem and they moved us to the room next door - which is literally the exact same room after they wanted to check the room to make sure we knew what we were talking about. There is also open construction going on around all of the bungalows, and the next day we saw them doing pest control in our old room and numerous others. Needless to say we have only spent 2 nights and left early. Eating the cost of the 3 remaing nights we were supposed to have there. The customer service was polite, but difficult, as when I explained to the lady why we were leaving early and asked if she could refund the 3 nights we were not staying as the rooms are gross and disgusting. I even showed them pictures and the girl told me that they could have given us an upgrade and pretty much saying it was my fault because i didnt request an upgrade(even though they had to move us). Like i said when we first told them about the ants in the room she was reluctant to give us a new room when I asked the first time. Only when I said it again and with my husband explaining there were ants thats when she gave us a new room - which was the exact same condition just with no ants(for the time being).

    Most of the other staff were nice. Location is good close to some bars and resturants.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2018

    10
    Swimming pool
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Bungalow
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noisy in the morning. We appreciate they have a job to do, but doing loud construction work in the hut opposite us kept us as awake early morning so couldn’t relax as much as we wanted to.

    Swimming pool Clean rooms Great location

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    8.3
    The accommodation was clean and staff were lovely. Shame about the bed and air con.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Bungalow with Fan
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was very uncomfortable. Struggled to sleep. No air con either, just a fan which did not keep the room cool.

    Location of the property was fantastic. Easy to get to any of the local bars and restaurants.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2018

    6.7
    Affordable accommodation
    • Couple
    • Bungalow with Fan
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location was quite far from the drop off point from Ao Nang. We visited in August and found it hard to get around in the morning due to though tides coming up to the shop front.

    A good basic accommodation for a one night stay like we did - great price for people like us who were travelling on a budget.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2018

    4.6
    There was a nice swimming pool set amongst the sheer rock...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room with Fan
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There were a lot of ants in our bungalow when we arrived. We had to request bug spray and fumigate our room every night.

    There was a nice swimming pool set amongst the sheer rock face.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2018

    3.8
    Give Railay a miss, just go for the day
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Bungalow with Fan
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There must be different types of rooms you can book, we were in a bungalow with fan. It did have air con in, but they asked us to pay a RIDICULOUS amount of money to get the control. The sleep was awful. It’s up a very steep hill, and staff speak very little English and aren’t very friendly either. The walk to the nice beach on the other side is around 10/15 mins. Some very conspicuous characters were walking around the bungalows, looking into windows etc. Felt unsafe and creepy especially since the locks on the door weren’t safe. Personally I would advise you AVOID.

    Big bed, pretty comfortable. Fridge in room to keep drinks cold.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2018

    2.9
    Never ever again !
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Bungalow (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    - Absolutely no tranparency as far as Prices are Concerned (Shuttle Service from airport!) - No Service especially Not at the reception. No reimbursement for changing Dates and Rooms. - Dirty sheets, some towels, dead mosquitos on the curtains - nasty pee-like smell in the Whole sanitary -> everything is too old and stinky - air conditioning is really bad/ Not working - Front doof to our Whole room/Appartement did Not close completely - breakfast Costs 100 BHT per Person -

    This was Not much- really. I think the Pool is the best thing. The Restaurant is okay - there got a nice view on the Ocean

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2018

    10
    Brilliant in all ways would and will stay again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Bungalow
    • Stayed 1 night

    There were warnings about monkeys but none came down to visit! (Of course not the resort's fault!!)

    Garden was beautiful, and was nice and quiet yet close to everything we needed.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    9.6
    Perfect
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beds were rock hard

    Loved it there, staff were great, the setting for the pool is amazing and a short stroll to two amazing beaches x loved it there xx

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2018

    9.4
    A Clean, Cozy Room and Beautiful Setting
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Bungalow with Fan
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff could have been more friendly, and some staff members with important jobs spoke some English, but could not understand it. WiFi only in common areas.

    The room was cozy and clean, and the location next to a tall karst peak was stunning. The restaurant has reasonably priced food compared with other nearby options and a great 11-hour Happy Hour with 2-for-1 stroooong cocktails. A good deal in the low season.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2018

    2.9
    Krabi is a beautiful place ,
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with Fan
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No air conditioned, and bugs coming out of the bathroom floor. I had a good deal on the Booking.com but when I got there they give me a room with a fan and not air conditioning . I check out a day earlier.

    The jungle

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2018

    9.6
    Highly recommended! You will not be disappointed
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Bungalow with Fan
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The TV was an old-style box TV rather than a flat screen--but to be honest, it was a non-issue as we rarely viewed it.

    The breakfast was fine for the price. Coffee included, which is not ordinarily the case elsewhere on Railay. The view of the cliff, the cave, before the pool is simply spectacular. The wifi, as many reviewers have noted, is best near the office area. That being said, I had no problems with the wifi. It was actually nice that it worked best near the office; one was forced to go there to use it if needed, and one could chat with fellow guests if one so had the inclination. If you're at Railay for some relaxation, I'm guessing you don't need super-fast wifi in your room. Zero complaints from me in this regard. Teens playing games requiring wifi, who want to be in their rooms, these are the ones who'll complain. The flora and fauna (in the form of monkeys occasionally coming down) was a treat to see.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2018

    7.5
    Good place
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room with Fan
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I was 'upgraded' to one of the bungalows; however, there was some construction in the bungalow just in front of mine which was noisy. Not sure if this was intentional or coincidental but I let it pass. Occasionally saw a lizard at the edge of the ceiling but they disappear right away. WiFi only available in the lobby area. Otherwise quite a good place to stay.

    Nice place with picturesque rock next to it, clean and comfy enough. No mosquitoes in room. Functioning water heater. Fan was enough for air conditioning. Fairly descent place.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2018

    2.5
    Uncomfortable. Unclean. No internet. Lots of bugs
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Fan
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Free wifi is false advertising. Wifi is only in the lobby, which is a long walk away from the rooms. Site pics look nothing like what it really is. I needed a refund for a previously canceled booking at this property and received an email saying I would be refunded in cash when I got there. There was no manager there to talk to me or give me my money back. Only a bell boy who called his manager and told me there was nothing he could do because his manager was not on the island at all. Very unprofessional and was cheated from my money.

    Nothing. Terrible stay

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2018

    7.1
    Just ok
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Bungalow
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Definitely overpriced for what it was although I think this is Railay in general. Wi-Fi was very poor in our room.

    Location is fine, quiet at night, air con was powerful.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2018

    8.3
    The pool was great, the view of the cliff was amazing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Fan
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Basic but great for the money

    The pool was great, the view of the cliff was amazing. The room was clean and felt very safe. All of the staff seemed very helpful.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    10
    Excellent staff in a great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bungalow with Fan
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No WiFi outside reception but a minor inconvenience.

    Excellent staff in a great location. The pool is great and the management and staff are very helpful

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    3.3
    Bad services
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff was not cooperative. They didn't even give us drinking water even when asked for it so many times. They just ignored. The breakfast was not good.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    7.5
    Lovely pool and views all around resort.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Bungalow with Fan
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely pool and views all around resort. Staff are nice and helpful. Restaurant has good food and reasonable prices. Good location on island. Bungalow was pretty standard for a budget room

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    9.6
    Very friendly staff, originally booked a room without air...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Fan
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very friendly staff, originally booked a room without air conditioning and then decided to upgrade and they couldn’t have done more to help. Lovely pool and room once we upgraded! One of the cheapest hotels in Railay and offers all you could want!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    3.3
    Extremely disappointing! Would not recommend.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Bungalow with Fan
    • Stayed 3 nights

    the restaurant on site is unclean and the food is terrible the pool was very disappointing and not very clean We booked a bungalow with a fan and I wouldn't recommend it. The fan was pointless the room was uncomfortably hot so had to pay a lot extra for the air con remote. The staff were not very helpful with this as they insisted we pay for the air con remote rather than upgrading us to another room. (which would have been around the same price). The room itself was not very clean, there were so many ants and they even got into my work laptop! Also no one told us that there would be monkeys climbing all over the bungalows

    comfy bed beautiful surrounding scenery

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    9.6
    Awesome time , loved it
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Bungalow
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast was very limited and not enough, usually you pay for breakfast where you can have as per your wish .. but here you have 3 options , chose one and you can have one portion per person and that too is very less.. there is a limitation that you can not use swimming pool after 8PM . And swimming pool is so cool that you would like to be in the water for long :)

    Beautiful place to stay .. everything is nearby .. awesome swimming pool .. very nice room. we enjoyed a lot .

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    8.3
    It’s OK but overpriced for the quality.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Fan
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This was the most expensive hotel we have stayed in in Thailand but it certainly wasn’t the best. Staff a relatively friendly but didn’t get much of the warm welcoming vibe we get everywhere else. Not too much to complain about I would just expect a little more for my money.

    GREAT location. Surrounded by awesome restaurants and close to the beach. The rooms are clean Also, the swimming pool is wonderful! Clean and cool. The perfect way to finish off a long day.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    9.2
    Loved the pool!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Bungalow (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We found two cockroaches in the room, I don’t know if there is much the hotel could have done to prevent it. It just wasn’t a fun experience dealing with it lol. I know it happens in Southeast Asia

    Amazing value for the money, it seemed like a place we could never afford travelling as budget backpackers. Would stay here again.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    6.7
    Nice place to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Fan
    • Stayed 1 night

    The WIFI was only at the reception. When you check in you need to leave 1000 bah as a deposit or a passport/ID card. The door lock was a bit funny. Ask staff at reception to show you how to properly close the doors. There were no beach towels.

    The place was surrounded by amazing high rocks/mountains. There were many palms and flowers. The swimming pool was just next to this huge mountain and that looked really amazing. The room was modest but clean and nice. There wasn't AC but there was a fan that was doing the job.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    5.8
    Beautiful location but poor accommodation
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Fan
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff seemed reluctant to help. For a 4* resort the accommodation was less than that of a 1 or 2* hotel. The beds were uncomfy, there was no airconditioning in the room and WiFi only by the reception and restaurant. One of the worst showers I’ve ever had to experience

    Railay beach is amazing and getting to stay there on our trip was brilliant, waking up and seeing that scenery was breathtaking. The resort had a nice pool

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    5.0
    Don’t bother. Not worth it :-(
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Bungalow
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sadly I only saw the reviews whilst staying there... We booked an AC bungalow which was very dirty and old and dated. There were signs everywhere saying ‘no responsibility will be taken for thefts’ and warnings to lock the doors and windows however the windows were so old that they wouldn’t even close or lock. So as they strictly offer no refund for cancelling we asked to upgrade to the new build superior rooms which was much better.. definitely worth the extra money. Just don’t bother eating in the restaurant or having breakfast.. could see inside the kitchen and it was disgusting. The buffet breakfast was covered in flies and food sat out in the heat. Me and my partner spent 2 days with food poisoning.. and we blame the breakfast as it was what we had eaten 5 hours before and hadnt eaten since the day before. When I told reception he had a box with rehydration and food poisoning tablets and wasn’t shocked so I imagine it happens a lot!! If you need to stay here don’t stay in a bungalow and don’t eat in the restaurant. Just stay somewhere else if possible!

    Location was good and the Diamond Cave nextdoor is definitely worth paying to enter. Pool area was okay and clean.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    9.2
    People in the hotel was super friendly and helpful, swimming...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bungalow
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only thing, they can improve with a better breakfast in the restaurant.

    People in the hotel was super friendly and helpful, swimming pool was really nice with a great view , Thai massage excellent. Relation price/quality good.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    5.4
    Swimming pool was great and the view from the swimming pool...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room with Fan
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms are basic ... expected more for the price ... twin room with fan was ok... however it gets very hot during the night

    Swimming pool was great and the view from the swimming pool to the rocks ... amazing and breath taking ...

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    10
    Excellent spot, would definitely stay again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Bungalow with Fan
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi wasn’t great. Ac didn’t work at first but the maintanence guy fixed it.

    Location, pool, rooms were all excellent. Front desk was very accommodating and friendly.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    7.1
    Staff were great , water to slow , fan didn’t rotate so...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Bungalow with Fan
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Working fan , air conditioning, free beer

    Staff were great , water to slow , fan didn’t rotate so caused a problem with the heat at night , didn’t complain as only there for 4 days, very safe and staff great , nowhere is far in railay so location not that important .

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    6.7
    Good location, relatively cheap and ok value for money on...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Fan
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No Wi-Fi in room, only in reception. We had no air conditioning in our room, the cost to upgrade was excessive and took the price above other resorts with better facilities.

    Good location, relatively cheap and ok value for money on the whole.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    5.0
    It was not expensive but I think I would pay a bit more for a more comfortable stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Bungalow (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights

    the beds were very uncomfortable. The staff fought a lot among themselves which made the place a bit awkward! The hotel is pretty run down.

    we had ants in the bed of the first room we rented and requested a new room and the staff accommodated us without giving us a difficult time. They also kept our luggage for us on the last day after check-out while we went to the beach which was nice!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    5.0
    Good pool and friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Fan
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    (twin bedroom) The bed wasn't comfortable, the shower drain wasn't draining properly. And it was too noisy (maybe we haven't had luck with our "neighbours")

    Good pool and friendly staff

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    3.3
    worst hotel ever, wasted so much money!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Bungalow with Fan
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    ridiculous price for an aircon, wifi only in restaurant and at swimmig pool far away from rooms, ugly toilet. Staff not speaking english or being rude!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    6.3
    Recommended if you want a quiet place to sleep during climbing sessions. Not recommended for holiday
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Bungalow with Fan
    • Stayed 6 nights

    AC doesn´t work, whole place is always moist and smells like swamp. Obvious roaches like with 90% of Thai places.

    The whole facility is decent, every bungalow has a little terrace, there´s a pool.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    7.5
    The bungalows were great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Bungalow with Fan
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beds were hard as rocks, there was no place to get food or drinks at the resort you had to leave and get them at a convenience store.

    The bungalows were great. You are literally in the jungle. Animals all over

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2018

    10
    Highly recommend this place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Bungalow with Fan
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We loved everything

    The pool was utterly magnificent. Being amongst all that beauty and in the limestone mountains was breathtaking. Our AC broke and they had us in another room within minutes. This property isn't on the side as the beach so be aware, however it's a quick walk over. Certainly not an issue.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    7.5
    Location, clean room, quiet place, pool
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Bungalow with Fan
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Be careful during the choice of a room there some rooms where you have to pay for air conditioning 500 per night ad cost. There is no cattle in the room and also any desk where you can prepare a food. WiFi signal is only in public place, not in the room.

    Location, clean room, quiet place, pool

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    5.8
    Nice room, many frustrations
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room with Fan
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The reception took the money off my Card before I arrived, not a good start. Rubbish WiFi literally only available in the reception foyer with nowhere to sit. Very hard beds and extortion for an upgrade to air con. Also don't upgrade for the breakfast, it's horrid.

    Big and clean room with decking, lovely quiet and well maintained resort. Reception team mostly helpful and friendly. I

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    4.2
    Okay hotel but don't expect much in terms of service and courtesy!
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Bungalow (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no pickup from beach due to staff shortage and drop was chargeable at 100 THB per bag!! Moreover on asking for water for that day we were given only one as we had checked out!!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    2.5
    DO NOT STAY HERE
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Fan
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    To start, on arrival to the ‘hotel’ I was mortified to be charged a 1000 baht deposit to access a room key for a room I had already paid for. Once checked in, we had to lug to the other side of the complex with suitcases with no help at all. Once we got to the room I was horrified with the security standards. The door was like cardboard and the windows plastic and broken with the insect netting torn much like a chocolate kettle with was completely useless. The rooms cleanliness was not particularly great and the sheets smelt like damp. To top it all off on a hot hot day and a hike to our room we discovered that there was no air con available, fab. After heading straight out after a drink along the sea front we came back to an insect infested room with flying ants, mosquitoes and geckos to join the party through the broke insect netting on our plastic windows. This was utterly disgraceful and headed down to complain at reception only to be told by a 15 year old boy that they wouldn’t do anything for us would need to pay extra if we wanted to change room. I then asked to speak to the manager who was equally as useless and after being accused of lying and no cooperation and after an hour of arguing we chose to check out and stay at the Princess Resort.

    Hated this hotel it was the worst place I have ever stayed in, would rather sleep in a 10 bed dorm

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    2.9
    Worst hotel ever.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Bungalow
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pool only had 7 deckchairs and we ended up lying on the floor.The airconditioning leaked and was filthy.We found live cockroaches in the bathroom.

    Breakfast was good.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2018

    5.8
    The room was very clean and comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not a convenient place to get to, especially if you have small kids and heavy bags. It took a long time for the hotel to send someone to help us. The pictures make the place look much nicer than it actually is.

    The room was very clean and comfortable. The buffet breakfast was good.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    5.0
    Good breakfast, location is not bad.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Bungalow with Fan
    • Stayed 3 nights

    A little bit old facilities, the room was too dark. And the staff wanted to retain the 1000bath caution because a glass was missing (although they did not put any glass in the room).

    Good breakfast, location is not bad. Their restaurant is very good! They can provide a good service for taxi boat.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2018

    6.3
    The pool was nice anf the employees very friendly
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Bungalow
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    In the first room lots of bad bugs(percevejos) Make a good check before In the case was the room B4

    The pool was nice anf the employees very friendly

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2018

    5.4
    Lovely place shame about the hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room with Fan
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Overpriced, i didn't feel the standard of accommodation was good value for money. Smelly shower , poor water pressure. Staff were nice but hotel needs to be of a better standard to justify the price of the stay.

    Railay beach and the surrounding area is beautiful

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2018

    2.9
    Never again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Bungalow with Fan
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfriendliest Manager of whole Thailand. Ridiculous rooms like for a school vacation. No credit card acceptance. No daily room service. No daily fresh water or additional toilet paper, although promised by check in. Etc etc

    Nothing.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    6.3
    Okay, probably not worth the money unless everything in railay is the same price as here.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Bungalow with Fan
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had dinner at the restaurant that was terrible. After telling the staff (and paying in full without issue) the older male employee heckled us out of the restaurant and told us to "go back to railay west!" absolutely outrageous and offensive, especially since we were staying at HIS hotel! We saw him in the lobby the next morning. Unacceptable behavior!

    Room was clean and comfortable, no issues. Location was beneath a pretty cliff and was quiet at night.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2018

    3.8
    Don't stay in a bungalow, awful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Bungalow
    • Stayed 1 night

    We stayed in a bungalow, this is important because some of the rooms in the new-build bit looked pretty decent, but our bungalow was absolutely terrible. The decor is incredibly dated, I've not seen a TV like that since 1996, the bed was OK but not great. Worst of all was that the room was not sealed from outside at all, there were vents in the ceiling and the bathroom straight to the outside, which is a big problem in a tropical country that's full of mosquitos! We were in Thailand for three weeks and I would estimate 90% of my bites were sustained while sleeping here I'm afraid (for one night!). The bathroom was dusty and just didn't feel clean, the shower wasn't great. The fridge didn't get very cold, and the aircon was either arctic or not on. Believe it or not I'm a pretty easily-pleased person, it doesn't take much to make me happy (see my other reviews for proof!) and I don't expect much from Thai accommodation. But for what we paid, this place was a total disappointment, clearly it benefits from it's location because there's no other reason to stay here. Breakfast buffet was covered in flies, again I'm not fussy about where I eat but even I took one look and walked out. Just terrible. Staff were ok if you asked for stuff, I did overhear some other people complaining that their whole group was ill from the food at the restaurant and the staff appeared concerned but I can't say much more than that (and from what I saw of the restaurant I'm not surprised!) I wouldn't stay here in a bungalow if you can avoid it. Railay is great, but personally I'd stay in the far cheaper and nicer accommodation in Ao Nang and just get the longtail to and from Railay as and when.

    There was free wifi, but it only worked in the communal areas. The pool looked ok, and the location was alright, not far from the East beach with plenty of bars and restaurants nearby. They did also have free lockers for valuables by reception.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2018

    9.2
    Staff were fantastic.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Bungalow
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sinks need plugs. Keys aren't kept in the safest place once dropped off for cleaning. Bed mattress was super hard!

    Staff were fantastic. Great big room. Fantastic location in east Railay.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2018

    9.2
    Beautiful resort
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Bungalow with Fan
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds are a little hard.

    The entire on site area was just beautiful. The staff are very helpful when it comes to day tours, went on a brilliant tour with them and was well looked after. There was a mix up with the booking and without hesitation our room was upgraded. Everyone went above and beyond I would definitely advise staying here.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    6.7
    In this area you should stay three or four nights at maximum. The minuses of resort are bearable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Bungalow
    • Stayed 3 nights

    They let the previous guest stay longer (for money) at the time we had the right to get in!!! So we had to wait about 40 minutes. They have cleaned the room in about 20 minutes... So you can make a picture. Hard matress. Too high (thick) pillows. Old shabby furniture. Terrible bathroom. (But hot water OK.) The pool is small and there only few beds around... However, why to stay at pool when you can go to the sea? The low tide in East Railay is depressing, when you expect it... You must definitely go to Phranang! We were fighting with the A/C a bit...

    Good place in Railay. (Nevertheles you will not swim in East Railay.) Great breakfast! Definitely go to Phranang beach! It is even nice walk with caves. Much, much better than Ao Nang! You have to use a boat (they recommend from Ao Nam Mao, it was for 100 bht), which means not so many people in the area. When it was hot at the sea, in the resort you felt quite ok. Nice evenings. You can meet monkeys and lizzards (monitors) here.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    7.1
    It’s a decent short term stay hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Bungalow (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    These are the facts. The toilets don’t work. They do not flush properly. At least the (2) rooms we had. Bedding is a bit dodgy, Wifi is abysmal. Only in the lobby, which is awful. Place is very dated. Sliding doors always jam. Place is 2.5-3 stars.

    The rooms are decent sized, perhaps more than a bit dated, but, decent sized none the less. Air conditioning in the first room was a bit off, the second room the unit was much newer and better. Good sized bathrooms. Showers are kinda wonky. Pool is clean. Staff try there best and they mean it.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    8.3
    a quiet hotel with a wonderful view on mountain from the swimming pool, close to the beaches
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Bungalow (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights

    better maintained bathroom

    a very nice place for this hotel close to the mountains with a very nice view from the swimming pool, the garden is quiet, the beaches are not so far 10mn walking, many restaurants and a nice view on the sea (but not the beach), close to Diamond cave and a nice walk where we could easily see monkeys, somme of them arrive around the swimming pool in the afternoon a lovely neibourghood, a nice beakfast, largest rooms, the buidings need to be better maintained particularly bathrooms but it's enough for holidays

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    7.1
    Gorgeous property- bright orange bungalows, a huge rock cliff and a wonderful pool.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Bungalow
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The beds are so uncomfortable. This seemed to be a common theme at every place we stayed in Thailand though.

    We stayed at Diamond Cave for 3 nights at the beginning of our Thailand trip. The property itself is gorgeous- bright orange bungalows, a huge rock cliff, monkeys, and a beautiful pool. Staying on the east side means you have a little bit more of a walk to get to the nice beaches, but it was good exercise and we got to really see the area and could better find places the shop/eat etc.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    5.8
    Stressful how to get at the hotel and how to leave from the hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Fan
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We arrived at the krabi Hotel at 20:30, and aince you need a boat to get at the hotel, at night we have to pay for the shuttle and the boat 1500 baht. That is a lot of money for two people and added massively to our cost. It is next to impossible to find the property on your own, especially as the people in the area do not speak english.

    The scenery was breathtaking. Very beautiful location. H

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2018

    5.4
    The Railay beach it’s very nice, it is a must to stay and profit this beach.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Bungalow
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was uncomfortable, very old furniture, very old amenities and cheap stuff inside, it looks also not clean due to the old and rusty stuff.

    Breakfast was good, a lot of options and the staff was helpful.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2018

    5.4
    I would definitely spend a little more money on having a better room
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with Fan
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We paid way too much than what they delivered. We didn't wanted to get back to the hotelroom because of the poor facilities and had to go to other hotel's guest bathrooms because it was way more appealing

    The location was good

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    8.8
    good breakfast and watch out for monkeys on the way.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room with Fan
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    i think they need to write how to get there more precisely.

    I was little confused about how i get there. but they sent even 2 ppl to pier to guide me. unfortunately i missed them. i liked that they tried that hard.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    5.4
    Is not what you expect to be!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Bungalow
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Well, we were not lucky at all with this hotel. We booked a pick up at Krabi airport, but the driver was not there waiting for us when we arrived. After a long discussion, the hotel refunded us the amount paid (AUD 60 - THB 1500). The bangaloo was simply horrible. So OLD that we did not wanted to stay inside of the room. Horrible bathroom and everything else. An Hospital room would look more comfortable than that. After complaining and asking for refund, we agreed to change rooms. They moved us to a " better" one in another part of the hotel. The air conditioner leaked the whole night as the toilet as well. We had to wake up on the middle of the night and put our towels on the floor to avoid a flood. The next day it was fixed. Staff is SO NOT FRIENDLY, I never seen reception staff so NOT trained and friendly as there. i have travelled more than 30 countries and this was the first time it happened. Breakfast is poor, insects all over the place, but is fine.. Its an island. With the price we paid for those horrible nights we could have paid a very nice hotel as Avatar for example... if you want good location, go for it; but if you want location + a bit of comfort, don't dare!

    The location is great, very close from the boat arrival pier. Walking distance to everything. the pool has a beautiful view, and very nice outdoor area.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2018

    7.1
    Staff was very friendly and polite.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Bungalow with Fan
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No wi-fi in the room,only at the reception. Toilet was not working,told them to fix it and they didnt.

    Staff was very friendly and polite. Good breakfast and location,store very close.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2018

    3.8
    Was the last option more or less available when we booked
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Fan
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location, room, bed, bathroom it's all ok but really not comparable for the price! Pictures are missleading

    Was the last option more or less available when we booked

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2018

    7.9
    Clean, Tidy and friendly
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Bungalow
    • Stayed 3 nights

    stayed here a couple of times of the year and the service is always good. The place is clean and tidy and the bungalows are nice. Breakfast is good for Thailand especially the omelettes. I like the location as it is close to the boat terminal and a number of shops and restaurants.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2018

    6.7
    Close to rockclimbing opportunities.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room with Fan
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    For the price it was very simple and the beds not very comfortable. No place to put clothes other than 4 hangers.

    Close to rockclimbing opportunities. Beautiful rocks around it.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2018

    5.8
    Bungalow
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Bungalow
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    we stayed in a bungalow. Very basic needs a re vamp! We had multiple lizards in our first room and I asked to move. We moved to another bungalow (because that’s what we paid for ) which was abit Better but still not amazing.

    Air conditioning was super! Nice pool

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2018

    2.5
    Very disappointed with our stay, the hotel looked nothing...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Bungalow
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very disappointed with our stay, the hotel looked nothing like the images on booking.com. Room was dark and dirty came home one day to find a ants nest near our TV, they wouldn't swop our room as fully booked so one of the cleaner came and sweeper it out!! The shower water smelt like sewage. The pool area only had 6 beds and lots of leaves in the pool!!! Would not stay here again very over priced !!!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2018

    5.4
    We enjoyed the beach because Railay is beautiful but not the hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Bungalow with Fan
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room and bathroom we got was old. The bathroom was Small uncomfortable and it didn't look clean. Apparently not all the rooms look like in the pictures.The location wasn't so good.

    The room was comfortable and it had its own balcony with a bench.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2018

    5.0
    Meh. It was fine, but they owe us money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Fan
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom smelled pretty bad, but this is normal for Thailand. We had a very early checkout time, so we checked with them on how to get our key deposit of $35 back since reception wouldn’t be open. The receptionist told us that the security guard would take the key and give us the $35. We found the guard, and we gave him our key and receipt showing that we’d paid the deposit. He couldn’t get ahold of a manager, so he would not give us the $35. We ended up having to leave without it because our ferry was leaving, and we had to run to the dock and almost missed the ferry.

    The hotel is located 10 minutes from the beach and close to some fun bars. It was pretty quiet, and the pool was nice.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2018

    7.5
    The staff were friendly and the room spacious and clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Bungalow with Fan
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little annoying being on the other side of the beach. Maybe they could offer transfers?

    The staff were friendly and the room spacious and clean. The whole premises were lovely.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2018

    7.5
    No 5 star resort but is perfectly fine affordable accommodation on Railey
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Diamond Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No WiFi in the room. The pool has no sun in the afternoon (but you can just go to the beach), some elements of the rooms could use an update but overall, they are fine for the price. Hard typical Thai beds. If you are old or infirm, the walk up the long driveway would be a challenge.

    The rooms were clean and comfortable. The bathroom was nice and the shower hot. Railey East is super accessible to everything on Railey (west beaches, walking street, east bars).

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2018

    9.2
    Trevligt hotell med fint läge
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi only in the pool/reception area.

    Beautiful location, walking distance to two nice beaches. Good pool. Great breakfast! Good food at the hotel restaurant. Clean rooms.

    Stayed in January 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Diamond Cave Resort & Spa traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: