Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Grand China Hotel 4 stars

215 Yaowarat Road, Samphantawongse, 10100 Bangkok, Thailand

#776 of 1,238 hotels in Bangkok

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 754 hotel reviews

7.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.4

  • Comfort

    7.5

  • Location

    8.1

  • Facilities

    7.2

  • Staff

    7.8

  • Value for money

    7.1

  • Free WiFi

    6.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Lifts work differently after midnight. Would be nice and helpful if there are signs to inform guests about this.

    If your activities are planned around Chinatown, then this hotel is superb. Otherwise, this is just another above average hotel. Staff are courteous and very helpful.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is old and the rooms are not clean enough. The staff at reception were ok at the check in. On the check out we had to run as we were late to take our flight back to London. We left the keys in the room as we had no time (as we do in other hotels we are late). The concierge came running behind when we were about to stop a taxi and asked us for our room number, and told him the keys were in the room. Then he came back again but now in a very rude way to make ys go to reception to do the check out. We told him again we were in a rush but he just didn't care and had to go to the reception. He came this time with someone else in suit who had an inappropriate behaviour. They had our card on file for any extras (which we didn't have). We were so disappointed with this behaviour, and send an email to the hotel with a complaint, still didn't have any answer from them. I definitely will go back to Bangkok, but never again tot his hotel

    The location is ok, in the heart of Chinatown

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi is so weak in customer's room. All my phones cannot connect so my works were distrubed. Air conditioner is so noisy. Breakfast is not got, they do not have many dishes.

    Foods on 8th floor are good

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing i don ' t like.

    Friendly staff...room is very clean and spacious...Location is convenient to get access to both a river boat then sky train..All is superb....Would like to stay there again. Highly recommended.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was hard as a rock. The water pressure from the showerhead was weak. The quality of food at the breakfast buffet wasn't great and the staff at the buffet were unpleasant - I think they meant well, but came off as really overbearing. The taxis at the hotel's taxi rank were really overpriced - I don't understand why they couldn't just use metered taxis.

    The location was really convenient. I had some problems with the room and the staff at the front desk were really helpful. The central air conditioning was really strong.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Extremely rude staff who could not speak English at all. Extremely old and smelly room. Bathroom last updated in the 80s. Cold water for shower. Rock hard bed.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2018

    • Family with young children
    • Family Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast staff was painfully bad in English, we had to set up our own table in the mornings because things was missing. Not big selection, like years back. It was very dirty on tables etc and serveral times we found hair in the food. Not very nice breakfast restaurant at all.

    The consierge and the driver was great and very service minded

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    During the period I was there the wifi was unstable.

    The room was spacious and clean incl bath/toilet. Location was ideal and very central. Staff courteous and well groomed. Front office very helpful. We stayed in room 2002. There was nothing I can say that I did not like. Looking forward to coming again.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The sky restaurant was too cold and there were no lounge chairs only chairs at the dining table. The concierge recomments us the hotel taxi, very expensif 900 for the airport and later 700 still too much the price is about 360 bath. So we took a taxi

    I like the location, very close to the river

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Big breakfast choice but not for a westerner. Stale bread every day. Dry croissants etc. Fine if you like fish stew for breakfast. Swimming pool very small. Well known cocktails did not taste like well known cocktail. Speciality cocktails ("Skyview"?) ingredients not described. Had to google the others. Cockroach in our shower. Where else are they? Wifi needs regular resetting. A simpler password would help resetting.

    Well sited in central Bangkok. Lovely view from our room, 21st floor. Lovely rotating cocktail bar on 25th floor.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    As above

    Grand china you have let yourself down facilities were run down. Porters should be re trained to look after guests they have no idea about cus tomes service. Rooms were dirty with hair. Disappointed

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perfect for family of 4. In the heart of China town and close to all local restaurants and markets. Close walk to jetty to visit palace. Great seafood within 5min walk. Central location.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We went for my mother in law's 70th birthday, booked loads of rooms and a really expensive wonderful dinner there, but I feel like they didn't do anything extra for her at all. Didn't ask who the birthday was for, or offer her a free breakfast on her birthday or anything. Staff never wished her once. Little things could have been done to just make us want to go back for another birthday trip, and it wasn't really done. I couldn't find a way to ring or email them either - I left some scarves in the room after we left, and sent a message via booking.com to enquire and no reply.

    location was good - can walk to wholesale shops and food

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    For the price the room was old . Shower was bad and internet did work all the time.

    Near chinatown, staff were excellent, roof restaurant very good, breakfast also good. Bed was very good.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very bad poor breakfast, it is not possible to find something for eating. The pool is suitable only for little children. The adults can not use this pool.

    Good location, good rooms.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very Asian style breakfast. There was a strange smell in the corridors. Hotel provides plastic rather than disposable slippers that were fairly gross - do bring your own!

    Nice location, very easy to get to the main monuments using the ferry or a tuctuc. Friendly staff and good room service. Very nice revolving restaurant at the top floor with amazing views - only criticism that was absolutely freezing in there!!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower and bathroom could have been cleaner, toilet seat was loose and disconcerting.

    The location and revolving restaurant was perfect for New Years Eve, great view over the river and the fireworks were great

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We booked 4 rooms (two triple n two double) but front desk refused to give us more than one room key for each room. Complimentary mineral water in room was undrinkable. We had to buy our water from the 7-11 store nearby The ground floor was messy place with cart-stores n small shops The breakfast was underwhelming n service bad. Because they only gave one room key for a double room, one occupant was not allowed into the breakfast area on the 10th flr as the manager insisted that only one occupant was allowed. The situation was only settled after a visit to the front desk on the ground floor.

    Located in heart of Chinatown which we like

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The WiFi connection coul be better. I had problems every day and had to ask the front desk for help.

    The location is the primary reason for our staying at the Grand China. We have stayed there since 2002 and will continue to stay there as long as we travel to Bangkok.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Filty rooms and corridor. We had to change the room because we couldn't stand for the strongly smell of cigarattes. Hotel was full of Chinese who smoke, and they smoke on the non-smoking floor :( they made a lot of noise by keeping thier doors opened, eating and talking loudly with group of friends from room to room. We will not recommend for family with children, couple, honeymooners and elders. Venue for breakfast was also dirty, food left on table and staff seemed no care to remove the used dishes and glasses and we had to do it ourselves.

    Location of the hotel where is close to China Town in walking distance.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Great after six weeks in India, pure luxury. In Chinatown so every night, except Monday, there are hundreds of food stalls and restaurants to choose from as well as the hotel's revolving rooftop restaurant and its street corner alfresco cafe/bar. Short walk to the river ferry and even within walking distance of the Grand Palace and Wat Pho and fabulous views of these from the rooms.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The building is old and there is need for renovation. Rooms are nothing spectacular, especially bathrooms should be renewed. Staff is friendly but not it is not always easy to communicate (in English). In the evenings loud music is played downstairs in the café.

    We enjoyed staying here for 2 nights. It’s located right in the heart of Chinatown, it’s in amongst all the great cheap markets and amazing eateries. From this location you can and easily jumping between city attractions. We had rather big room - functional, with tee/coffee making facilities. Good breakfast.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We didn't really eat nearby but the restaurants all looked ok. It is in the middle of China Town so there are many places to choose from as long you want Chinese food which is great, but as we had just arrived we were really after Thai.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing specific comes to mind. It’s a large hotel and the service is rather impersonal but not unusual for such an establishment.

    The location of the hotel in Chinatown was it’s major asset. Comfortable good size room with wonderful view.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Really good breakfast catering to a wide range of tastes. Freshly cooked omelettes available to order. Hotel restaurant on top floor really lovely food and the view is beautiful.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Triple Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The swimming pool is a big disappointment. It is very small and good maybe for kids only. Hotel is a little bit outdated.

    The room was very big and comfortable. The localisation was great. Stuff was very nice and helpful.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    No Computer knowledge or business centre. The computers on the ground floor they have been taken away and there is NO computer support what so ever in the hotel. Very basic facilities at front desk (very basic understanding of English) very frustrating.

    Location

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Overall it was good except the room service that they close too early. For a location like that they need to open the room service for longer hours. Breakfast menu need to be improved as it was almost same menu daily.

    Location and facilities.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    For the price you pay extremely expensive but very disappointing! Old run down hotel the staff overcharged my mum's credit card and only rectified it the following day! Crappy internet!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2017

    • Family with young children
    • Family Suite
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Breakfast needs a lot of improvement and must have more selection for travelers to choose from. Room need some cleaning up. Cabinet destroyed and safety deposit as well in the room is not working and no reserve replacement available. Remote control not working properly for the t.v and no selection for us to watch.

    location is near the place where we go to

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff was very friendly and the hotel itself was beautiful! Our room was perfect for us three girls, and the view was amazing! Plus there's a Starbucks in the hotel, a gym, a pool and rooftop bar with city view!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Wifi was some times down. Pool and skyview area on 22th floor where small but ok. Pitty that the smell of the air outlets close this area destroyed a bit the spectulair atmosphere at this height

    room was nice and very quiet and had an exellent view (18th floor)

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 8 nights

    I cannot think of a single thing that caused me displeasure.

    Overall, the Chinatown location was excellent for me. Restaurants and shops had Thai as well as Chinese foods and products. Especially fun and enjoyable was the morning wholesalers' market which was a very colorful experience. A variety of items including accessories, toys, watches, etc. were sold at wholesale prices. In addition to selling these items, vendors sold their street food, some of which were prepared using propane tanks. One of the major streets was Yaowarat Street, a very busy street with shops specializing in tea, herbs, Chinese pastries, etc. There were also shops offering Thai and foot massages at very reasonable prices. The Grand China is by gar the nicest hotel in the area.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    For Bangkok this place was more expensive than others but would say our other hotel when we first passed through was much better value. Room could do with a freshen up.

    Great view.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 4 rooms
    • Stayed 9 nights

    I found the surrounding area of the property unsafe. I would never let my teenagers go shopping or let alone go sight seeing alone.

    The food was amazing and the staff and locals were very welcoming. Things here are so affordable and its amazing what handicrafts can be made here. I LOVE THAILAND! <3

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not great service at the restaurant- starters and mains came out at the same time and my sister has already finished her starter before ours even came out altogether. Cocktails weren't great and meat wasn't cooked how we asked. The hotel and restaurant has the potential to be fantastic due to the location and facilities but the quality of service wasn't quite up to scratch.

    Nice views from the restaurant and nice that they have a pool overlooking the city too. Comfy beds and clean room.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The food timing was way off- my starter came out 5 minutes after the others in which they had finished and their mains had also arrived at the time i got my starter.... to then get main seances after I received my starter.... I gave them a look to say I have only just got my starter!!! I really cannot believe they tried to give both to me at the same time!!!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing really

    The staff in Starbucks were really nice. We ate breakfast there as the hotels prices were a little high. I have stayed there before and will stay there again. The revolving restaurant is always a hit.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We wanted to have Dim Sum, we asked the concierge to recommend a ChineseRestaurant as we are in Chinatown, he said the hotel has a Chinese Restaurant that does Dim Sum, we went but was told Dim Sum is only available at Lunch Time, it does not say that in the information or on the menu, really poor, very disappointing, we had to settle for some cheap, below standard restaurant in the hotel lobby Breakfast: Seems to cater for mainly Chinese visitors and westerners Reception: Had to wait for housekeeping to check my room before I could checkout, never heard of this in a hotel, I used to work for hotels, 10 years in front office, what if there were 30 guests wanting to checkout at the same time, would they have every guest while housekeeping check their rooms, I paid with a credit card, If I had used the mini bar, they could charge it later, really, really stupid

    Bed was ok, room was clean, bathroom is small and a bit grubby, restaurants are clean and modern

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Internet is not very strong .

    This is China town. Evening is very busy and full of people. You can "taste" everything. The hotel itself is quiet.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Served beer in a cracked beer mug. Chipped coffee cup. Both in the restaurant. Breakfast coffee was not very good. Wash basin in room had not been cleaned.

    The corner cafe down stairs. Delightful staff.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Family room was dated. Laundry was expensive. Food in the building wasn't cheap. Busy location. Pool a bit small.

    Close to the palace. (100Thb cab ride). Close to China town street markets at night. Helpful concierge and bell hop services.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel staff was polite and nice, but restaurant staff was really unpolite and rude, treated us like we are not suppose to be there, overall stay was ok but not the best, not worth the money, only the views from the balcony was amazing

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    People can use lift to the hotel easily so feel not really secure,it will be good if it has access card to each floor

    Close to street food, worth to stay if you do some culinary

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2017

    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Baiyoke sky hotel offers far better value for money. You can't begin to compare the quality of room and the small selection of breakfast goodies at Grand China and room service is very expensive

    We always stay there because the position is good for business. There's little to choose from in the immediate area

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff were the least friendly and helpful we found in Thailand (apart from gentlemen who brought our bags to our room who was very friendly). 1000baht deposit and no complimentary water in our room?! Had to pay for it from mini-bar. Poor first impression. Hotel is in need of an update and there was a stale smell.

    Location and view from room. Revolving bar at the top was very nice.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms were a bit old and in degradation and should be more clean. The pool is very small and just has sun in the morning.

    The hotel has a good location close to everything. Amazing breakfast with many options. Nice view from the bar and the pool. The bar is very nice and modern. The staff is very friendly.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Family Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi was crap, didn't work throughout the trip. The rooms as well as the entire hotel are dated and in need of refurbishment.

    Great location in the middle of the hustle and bustle of Chinatown. There are a Starbucks and a cafe in front of the hotel at a busy junction where you can sit for hours and watch the crazy traffic. The views from the room and the restaurant on the 25th floor are spectacular. The family room is great size.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was extremely spacious and comfortable - the location was perfect for Chinatown and close to the river with just a 50baht tuk tuk to it. There wasn't much in the way of bars that we could find in the area but again a tuk tuk was cheap to use to go find some.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel is old. All seems to be used and not quite clean...

    Spacious rooms, very good breakfast, very nice personel. Excellent location- you are in heart of China Town.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The wifi needs to be improved, I stayed here October 2016 and had he admen issues, wifi suddydtops outs , extremely annoying. Simple enough to fix , this property needs to get this done immediately.

    Location is fantastic especially for Chinatown/Sampeng and easy to get to tourist destinations such as Grand Palace , central world etc . The staff are wonderful, polite and very helpful.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel porters were too pushy wanting me to book taxis and tours through them every time I walked passed them. The hotel was in an extremely busy part of China town and not really close to anything else in Bangkok so taxi's were needed for everything. The pool and sun deck on the roof were very tiny, the pics make it look a lot nicer.

    The room was very comfy and clean.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 11 nights

    I received no answer in various email which I sent before my arrival in spite of it is a possibility of contact offered by this hotel - The room didn't correspond to the double bed room which I had reserved and there was no decrease of the price - The mattress is very hard - The toilet of the ground floor are extremely dirty and badly maintained and it's a real horror show unless you like cockroaches ? - The problems of power cut ((three power cuts in ten days), electric problems arrive and nobody is under cover, but to have to explain five times to five different services that you have an electric problem is the problem! Finally, somebody arrived to solve the problem and not seeing light through the room's door, he thought that the reception or one other of the five different service had given him a wrong room's number!The poor man did not even know that he had to solve an electric problem and he apologized for it in bad English but his English was much better than the English of people who phoned me - The WiFi's password which it's necessary to modify every two days or when there is a power cut of course! - It's the first time in Asia which I pay so much for a non-existent service, this hotel does not deserve its classification - If you don't know Bangkok : --and that you ask, what are places to visit? We supply you a simple advertising map placing your hotel and all the others !? For places to be seen, you'll have to look by yourself! -- If you ask a precise question, by example : where to go to buy clothes? They answer you to go to the streets while it is well known that there are famous clothes markets in Bangkok!?! Strangely, when they ask you where you plan to go today? If you answer, I go to the market of Bo Bae (one of the famous clothes market in Bangkok) they say, Oh! You need clothes !

    Excepted the reception's staff of who's not really concerned by the various problems of the clientele, (why I got to establish a good relationship with the clientele?), the rest of the staff is pleasant and competent. The Chinese restaurant is excellent and the breakfast is very good!

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Not the room I booked online. Not even close! View with AC units. Perfect! Not even close to ok. Worst concierge service. SCAM!

    The location was somewhat ok.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    I have stayed at this hotel for 10yrs now on business. They have currently upgraded, Price up, but service down. I have been charged for an extra night on my credit card, without me being present. I checked out (paying everything upfront with you guys), yet 1 day later I saw an amount come off my card. I have ph them, they promised to come back, nothing as yet. There was NO food left at breakfast for Westerner's. They advertise breakfast until 10am. at 9.45am, there was not even butter left, when I asked for food, they told me it was all finished, I could eat from the CHINESE food (which I do Not eat). The Manager, The chef + the Duty Manager on the reception, really didn"t care about my complaints. All bad. I would greatly appreciate it if you could take this matter up with them. I shall never return to this Hotel again. Sad, but true. If you Chinese, Good hotel, if you a Westerner, all bad.

    There was no food left when I went for breakfast. It was Chinese New Year + the hotel had under catered in a real bad way. My advise is DO NOT include breakfast in your package, leave it as an option.

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights

    we booked at Bookings.com and was shocked that the amount it says we need to pay was less than we had paid in actual , we paid more than we should, and it was very discouraging

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Staff almost don't speak English and they are not nice on the reception. They have no idea about anything and always send you to the taxi driver which always thinking only about getting as much as possible money from you. No useful suggestions or help at all. The room was clean but everything was soooo old as for the 4-starts hotel.

    I liked pool view on the 23d floor and the 360-degree restaurant on the 25th floor. The bed was good and the view to the city. Breakfast was all the time the same, I stayed there 5 days and it was boring indeed. Wi Fi was good.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Hotel a little dated, but reasonable for the money.

    Good location. Plenty of markets and evening street food. Taxis know the hotel and it is easy to get around.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very confusing parking area with little direction as to where to go. Confused as to what floor to go to in order to check in the hotel. No Chinese Food!? WHY????

    The location is literally right in the middle of everything!!! Room service was GREAT!!!! Food was still hot when it arrived!!! THATS NEVER HAPPENED BEFORE!!!!

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff was arrogant. The guy at concierge desk was forcing me to buy suits from the tailors. And took me around. He wanted commission in everything even the taxi.

    I liked the city view.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Although the bed was also huge, it was a bit rough.

    The room was huge and the hotel was in a pretty good location with easy accessibility to central places as well as both airports. There's a Starbucks at the bottom of the hotel and a bar upstairs which was perfect.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We unfortonaly stayed one week. The aircondition has two Levels: Very loud and strong cold or you can put it totaly off. In the night it´s a problem. You cant open the Windows. In the breakfastroom the Service was only present or helpfull when the supervision was there to look for. Uservise it was more like a self-service breakfast. The Service in the coctailbar began an hour before the end loudly to clear the dishes. Not a place to stay.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel tried to make us pay over again for an extra bed. I had printed proof that it has been paid already, but the staff tried hard to get it double priced. We also booked a minibus from the hotel to the airport because of an early pick-up. We thought it would be reliable because the hotel does have a taxi service. Well, the minibus never showed up and the concierge didn't take responsability of the order. They did arrange a smaller car some half an hour late. We did catch the flight, how ever had stress and bad service from the hotel. About the room, the floors were sticky.

    The location and some of the staff were nice.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Triple Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dingy rooms and dirty carpet. Pool very small with no view due to plants.

    Great Chinatown location. Friendly staff. Nice complimentary breakfast with diverse buffet.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms are dated and the mattress is very hard, it's equivalent to sleeping on the floor. Hotel taxi service is very expensive, go outside of hotel to get yourself a deal. Sun terrace/swimming pool only has 6 sun loungers, if you're looking for some relaxiation on holiday with some sunbathing, best not book this hotel.

    Friendly staff Exceptional food on level 10 and 360 bar Spacious rooms Facilities - shops, Starbucks, concierge and gym are all good.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pool is very small but great view at floor 23

    A bit worn. Stained carpets etc Great size of family room. Nice restaurant at 25 floor, not so for the food itself unfortunately.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not the quality of a 4 stars hotel.. for this price , I expected more !! Very old accomodation, breakfast buffet poor.

    Swimming pool very nice and nice view. The room was ok

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Reception at check in not especially friendly or helpful. wanted to stay one more nightm the told us to book it through booking.com because their prices are much higher, that made me laugh... The deposit of 2.000BHT is too much. It was our last night in Thailand what am I supposed to do with all those BHT's? The lady had no answer... a colleague of hers after a discussion then said, well you can leave €'s. The hallways, elevator and the room were all in dreadful condition. We did not expect it to be this bad despite the bad reviews. But it is that bad. The bathroom is a joke, dirty, small, moldy. The WI-FI is a story for itself. The worst, absolutely worst wi-fi in all of Thailand! Horrible! and remember that this is a " 4 star hotel". You couldn't send a message on viber or whats ap - that bad! This hotel was a landmark when built, no doubt about it, but time has taken it toll, it's not modernized probably for 20-30 years. a real shame on the owners.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Reception at check in not especially friendly or helpful. wanted to stay one more nightm the told us to book it through booking.com because their prices are much higher, that made me laugh... The deposit of 2.000BHT is too much. The hallways, elevator and the room were all in dreadful condition. We did not expect it to be this bad despite the bad reviews. But it is that bad. The bathroom is a joke, dirty, small, moldy. The WI-FI is a story for itself. The worst, absolutely worst wi-fi in all of Thailand! Horrible! and remember that this is a " 4 star hotel". This hotel was a landmark when built, no doubt about it, but time has taken it toll, it's not modernized probably for 20-30 years. a real shame on the owners.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Triple Room
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very noisy air conditional system which made me difficult to sleep in nighttime. Most staffs are friendly and provided professional serices. However, one took money from taxi driver when helped me to get a taxi to airport. The extra cost of came from my payment to the driver at the end. Nevertheless, I am not sure whether this is normal in Bangkok.

    Very nice breakfast. Big room, good location, nice view and clean.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    v few english language tv channels

    the roof top pool / bar has amazing views and is a great way to pass the afternoon. and the staff bent over backwards to deliver great service (including a very early check in)

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    breakfast average, has dropped off in supply and variety over the years. Staff definitely not attentive to replenishing when food runs out.

    In the heart of Chinatown's hustle and bustle, close to Chaopraya ferry and lots of great street restaurants. Hotel a little tired, but service excellent although not so great in breakfast room.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    bath water was yellow color; room was noisy(thin walls); air con rattled and noisy all nite long; breakfast: eggs were cold; management staff unfriendly; exchange rates lowest in city; 150% surcharge for making local call; charged for coke and water after I replaced them; attitude was to nickle and dime you at every chance they got (hidden costs); not willing to compromise; not worth the price or effort; cheaper and better place across the street.

    nice view, bed OK

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room a tad dated compared to other nice hotel down same street.

    Location is sweet. Beautiful on outside with shopping and eatry on ground floor. The top area sells this place. Would stay again..

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I had to look past cosmetic wear in the room but it didn't hinder my stay whatsoever.

    The location is central to Chinatown with easy access to the river boats.

    Stayed in November 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Grand China Hotel traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: