Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Haad Son Resort (Secret Beach) 3 stars

Haad Son Resort 85 Moo 8, Koh Phangan, 84280 Haad Son, Thailand

#3 of 3 hotels in Haad Son

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 383 hotel reviews

7.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.4

  • Comfort

    7.5

  • Location

    8.5

  • Facilities

    7.1

  • Staff

    7.8

  • Value for money

    7.2

  • Free WiFi

    7.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2018

    6.3
    It's all in the location. But thats' it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Bungalow - Beach Front
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel is much too expensive and has a run down feel to it. We didn't take breakfast there because it was just deserted; nobody felt like being there. The beach bar (Koh Raham) was brilliant but wasn't part of the hotel. The room was ok (family beach front) but there is no love in this place. Big need for some TLC! All in all you pay for the location, but I would not stay here again.

    We liked the size of the room. The location is wonderful - right next to the best beach bar and snorkeling spot in the direct area. Beautiful natural beach at your footstep.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    7.5
    Clean and nice. Very helpful and welcome staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Bungalow
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There is no restaurant, they don't even sell water. The only nearby option is a restaurant outside the resort, which is nicely located but it is pricy for what they offer, not to mention that it is very dark in the evening. Since there are no other places close by (well you have to walk a little, which is OK during the day but not so much during the night since the roads have no pavements), you don't have much choice for dinner.

    The bungalow was very nice, clean with a comfortable bed. The resort is located near a very nice beach and has a beautiful terrace looking towards the sea. The staff is also very helpful and polite.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2018

    5.0
    Overpriced and outdated and crap service.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxed Clubhouse
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Service was very lacklustre. I asked for a kettle on the second day as the room had coffee and tea. First kettle they gave me was broken, then when they "swapped" they just gave me the same kettle again, amazingly, it still didn't work. Eventually about 1 and half hours after requesting a kettle i got a working one. The pool at the clubhouse rooms was dirty on check in on friday and was only cleaned sunday while we were checking out. There was now housekeeping during our stay. The TV had three working channels and only one wasn't snowy. The room is very old and dated. The plants infront of the room is so overgrown there is no view. No pool towels available in the room. No phone in the room to contact reception. Topped up the bath to relax but water was so dirty and brown didn't use it.

    The beach bar and restaurant area was quite nice. Room is a good size. Bathtoom is a good size.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    5.4
    Friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Bungalow
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bungalows Standart were accessible by many stairs. Rooms were worse than photos. The rooms felt a mold. We weren't chairs and table on the terrace.

    Friendly staff. Beautiful restaurant on the Secret beach (but expensive)

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    6.3
    Amazing view in their restaurant
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room - Beach Front
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Low water pressure! And they don’t have a place or rak to put my toiletries and no place to hang my towel(broken,they don’t fixed it) and I stay in beachfront room

    The room is comfortable but they only clean the room after 2 days,the view and their restaurant area are very stunning and super clean!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    6.3
    Nice place but far away from everything
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room - Beach Front
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Facilities are a bit old and the location is a bit far away from everything. You need a scooter to get around or have to call a taxi, as there’s not much to do within walking distance.

    Location is nice by a lovely beach where you can watch the sunset really good. Staff is friendly and helpful and rooms are okay.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    3.3
    Nice bar
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Bungalow
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They didn't clean our room in 4 days of staying, the reception was closed when we had to check out. They didn't give us any information about opening and clossing times for reception. We had to wait a long time to find someone to leave the key. If you are not fan of insects and similars, there's lots of them! Rooms was really smelly as well..

    Nice bar

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    8.3
    An average hotel set in a paradise location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Bungalow
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Staff weren't particularly attentive, and reception hours are minimal. Booking things through reception wasn't always an easy process. Lack of food/drink options near the pool is a shame. Restaurant prices are (unexpectedly) inflated. Our room needs some updating; when we asked to see the next room-price up, the bathroom was just as out-dated, so we didn't move.

    The grounds and scenario are stunning, with one of the most amazing beaches I've ever seen. The restaurant has been excellently designed, and the food was good. Just up the road are some local restaurants who offer comparable food much cheaper.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    6.3
    Bungalows basic, but a fantastic location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Bungalow
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no fridge available in the room to keep drinks chilled. Given the distance and steps between rooms and reception, a phone in the room to contact staff would be most welcome.

    The location to the beach and nearby villages met our requirements. The room was basic but comfortable, however additional storage/shelving would have been useful. Staff were very helpful in moving luggage and assisting us with additional needs.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    7.5
    Nice trip and a good hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Bungalow
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was really steep to go to the room or to the beach... But it was good Sport activity 😉

    The staff was really friendly... They help us for everything.... We really like the restaurant at the hotel.... Nice view and good food.... It was delicious and not expensive.... I can recommend the seafood platter 😋😋

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    10
    Excellent Value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Bungalow
    • Stayed 13 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Location, access to beach and swimming pool an amazing restaurant right on the sea with swings,hammocks and access to sea for great snorkeling. Good selection of restaurant nearby and hired a scooter to explore the island. We did our research before arrival and knew it was on a hill and there were steps, so that wasn't an issue, just great opportunity to exercise. Room was comfortable, WiFi was excellent, staff were there to assist if necessary so overall for us a perfect place.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2018

    7.1
    Great base to explore the west coast of the island
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Garden Bungalow
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The pressure of the shower was extremely low so difficult to wash hair properly. Air con wasnt the best to extremely hot at night.

    Great location on Secret Beach and perfect for exploring the other beautiful beaches close to the resort. The bungalows are basic but have everything we needed, the pool was an extra bonus.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    5.0
    Made me wish I was somewhere else.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Bungalow
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The latch on the room was broken and wouldn't lock properly, the towels were coarse and stiff, the bathroom needed maintenance, huge spiders got in the room, staff wasn't particularly cheerful, way too expensive for what was provided.

    The room as big, as was the bed and the gardens are beautiful. The nearest beach is quite lovely.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    6.3
    Great location but room and breakfast did not meet our requirements.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Bungalow
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room facilities were not working properly. Noisy and not effective air condition. Damaged doors with big gaps (we saw small lizard in our room twice). Monotonous breakfast. The staff speak English poorly.

    - nice beach and surroundings - Koh Raham restaurant with unique climate

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2018

    8.8
    The departure assistance was efficient.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room - Beach Front
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The front desk/reception was a mixed bag. After two interactions I organized to not have to deal with the terse person managing that area.

    The departure assistance was efficient. The location was extra nice. The room was very spacious, clean, and bright. Great views of Sunset from the patio.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2018

    7.9
    We liked the location: Secret beach is on the property,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Bungalow
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We liked the location: Secret beach is on the property, great snorkelling at the bar and 500m walk through hills to the amazing Haad Yao beach. PS please be aware of the mosquitos in the evening :D

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2018

    10
    I loved it here!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Bungalow
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The restaurant by the sea on the resort had pretty bad service.. It took forever for them to take your order even if it was so quiet. I went there once and there were only 3 other persons there I saw 4 waiters talking looking at there phone... I had to go over there to order...

    I loved it here! All staff was great and really friendly. The rooms are clean and comfortable. And the beach is so close you can see it from your room

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2018

    7.5
    The room was great, large and clean and friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Bungalow
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very steep stairs to get to the room. The Secret Beach was crowded and you had no refuge from music. We used to walk to Haad Yo beach instead. Restaurant prices very high. Staff was nice, but one could see they were very tired and overworked. I'd appreaciate owners that reapect more their employees.

    The room was great, large and clean and friendly. The best room we stayed in on the island, and not the most expensive.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    7.5
    Relaxed
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Bungalow
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel never replied to my emails. I had a problem getting transferred from Surat Thani and I would’ve appreciated some guidance on their behalf. They tried to extend my stay one more day but were fully booked which I understand. Too many steps to get to my room, I got a bungalow on the hill

    It’s location is the best, far from noise and with a great beach

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    9.6
    The best resort in Haad Son
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Bungalow
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No electric kettle

    Clean bangkalows and quiet with lovely garden and comfy bed. It good for relaxing. The beautiful beach, the sunset, the massage, snorkeling, good food at Koh Raham restaurant

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2018

    10
    super pleasant and romantic dinner place
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Bungalow
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Nice little bungalows surroundered by lovely garden. Fantastic original beach restaurant and hotel one with great foods, drinks and sunsets watchs. wish we had stay longer

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2018

    10
    So in love with this place!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Absolutely lovely and caring stuff. The room was big and comfortable. Directly on secret beach and the best restaurant on the island. Nice sunsets included. All u need to spent perfect holidays on Phangan!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2018

    7.1
    Ok but not worth the Price
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Bungalow
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Foul smell from shower drain. No surfaces to put things on. Many steps to get to bungalow. No broom for sweeping room. Plugs too high on wall and no surface for charging devices.

    Quite private location.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 February 2018

    7.1
    Nice Place!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Bungalow
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Just use the places outside for food. Secret Beach has a place for breakfast. Hotel sellection is a bit low.

    Great location by Secret Beach! Simple but good bungalow. Full body mirror, a closet to hang your clothes. Pretty private. The staff cleans the room when you ask for it, if you don’t ask they wont clean. Good exercise to get Up and down from bungalow!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2018

    6.7
    Great location. Nice bungalow. Customer service not good and will not return because of it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Garden Bungalow
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff did not know nor was ever taught customer service. I too live in a tourist town & am in the service industry. I am very understanding too. Unfortunately for such a high end resort, staff was clueless. Maybe not their fault. Owner or manager would be wise to address this.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2018

    7.9
    We only stayed for one night for the full moon party so did...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room - Beach Front
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The reception really couldn’t handle a simple phone call to a taxi when we needed one to get to the pier. This hotel seems to have set times on when you can get a taxi so plan in advance! Also on the night of the full moon party, they said the taxis were full so ordered a private taxi for us, we turn up and ended up sharing one (somehow there was space available now) but we paid more money than everyone else.

    We only stayed for one night for the full moon party so did not have time to use all the facilities but everything looked beautiful there. Bed was so comfy and the view spectacular.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    8.3
    A very picturesque place to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Bungalow
    • Stayed 5 nights

    It's a really nice part of the island my only criticisms would be that you are a little ways out from the towns and other beaches. Also the bed and pillow left something to be desired.

    The beach on site was excellent and the restaurant/lounge was also excellent with great views. We found the rooms to be clean and the staff friendly.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2018

    5.8
    Nothing secret about this
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Bungalow
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There’s is literally nothing secret about Haad Son, or secret beach. There are literally jet ski, boat and bus tours coming to this beach. Therefore it’s sometimes more crowded then the much larger Haad Yao. The hike to the apartments is steep but definitely doable, it’s just a shame that our apartment was right on the road but we still had to go all the way down and up every day.

    The view from the balcony was great. Also the pool was very nice and hidden away in the shade.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2018

    7.1
    Good place near secret beach
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room - Beach Front
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Aircon wasn’t working properly during the night constantly switching to the higher temperatures of 26 Celsius or higher, so that we had to wake up and switch it back to colder temperatures. We could hear our neighbors talking as sound isolation was very poor in our room, so we had to wake up couple of times and walk over to neighbors asking them to be less loud, which is far from ideal.

    Location is great, place is almost on the beach! Friendly staff and locals. Couple of good places for breakfast not far away. Room is spacious. Very nicely decorated restaurant nearby that creates special atmosphere.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2018

    7.1
    Not bad, but overpriced.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Bungalow
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Erratic and unreliable Wifi. Over priced - its nice but you can easily get much better value for your money at several other locations. Its not bad per se - just way overpriced compared to other place at the same price range. The service was poor - the staff were nice but it seemed like the place was poorly managed, this showed up in a number of ways. For example the wait to be served at the restaurant was literally 40 mins - and this was when it was pretty empty - staff simply walled past or kept sweeping the floor, literally ignoring me and a number of other customers who waved and called out to them at times - very strange in Thailand where people are normally so friendly. The food took another 40 minutes and when it came it was nice enough but was grossly overpriced for what was very bland tourist style Thai - I have had far better for 1/5th of the cost else where. Another example was that I asked the front office to book a taxi early for the morning of my departure that never showed up. I checked twice at the front office to make sure of the booking and was assured it would be fine - I had to be in Thong Sala to catch a ferry - luckily I had budgeted a fair time buffer and was able to flag down a passing taxi instead after waiting for about 20 mins after I was supposed to be picked up - but it still leaves me wondering what happened.

    Nice location - right next to the beach (as long as you don't get one of the Villas on the top of the hill - quite a long way from any shops (7-11, restaurants other than the resort restaurant). Rooms were simple but clean and comfortable.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2017

    9.2
    The photos don't don't this property justice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Bungalow
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Walking fron the beach straight to your room was great but no matter how much you tried there was sand everywhere through your room. With cleaners only coming every second day the sand got annoying. Having a tap or bucket at the door would help massively!

    The photos don't don't this property justice. We arrived at night but waking up the next day was unreal. Right on the beach. You eat your dinner on the cliff over the sea. Front desk are ready and willing to help for anything! They organised us scooters. Taxis. Washing service is really good! Being in the hills it's hard to walk places.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2017

    7.1
    Nice beaches, good looking restaurant, medium friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Garden Bungalow
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The staff at the reception was really nice, but the staff in the reastaurant where we had breakfast was not very friendly. We were in low season, so there were more waiters than guests in the restaurant, most of them played on there phones or listened to music (without headphones) which was a bit disturbing in the nice atmosphere of the restaurant. Nice ressort, but too expensive for what you get.

    Ok room with great view. The pool was nice and the beaches around are awesome. You can go snorkeling directly in front of the restaurant with a lot of fish. The staff at the reception was friendly and helpful, whereas the staff in the restaurant was not friendly. The restaurant is really beautiful, especially at night.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    9.2
    Great resort.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Garden Bungalow
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was á la carte instead of a buffet. We prefer a buffet but the breakfast was still good.

    Great resort. Close to the beach. Bungalow was clean and comfy. I would go there again!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    7.9
    Good beach, good restaurant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room - Beach Front
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel needs some works. I stay 2 nights. First night ok, the second a lot of noise from the near room wake me up at 3am!

    Good beach, good restaurant.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2017

    6.3
    The staff were friendly and welcoming.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Bungalow
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No fan in the room just AC. For the price paid, $100Aud a night it is definatly not value for money. We were in a beach front room, and the walls were paper thin.

    The staff were friendly and welcoming. The restaurant is lovely, especially in the eve. Wonderful sunset views.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    8.3
    Secret beach
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room - Beach Front
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The breakfast is very disappointing and the hotel should change several things such as fresh fruit juice at breakfast (Thailand has soo many nice fruits to juice so it is beyond me that they used fake juice). The shower was not hot because the boiler was probably broken. The tv had horrible reception. The restaurant next to hotel has the best location and is very well created and should definitely be visited for a drink. However food was not so great.

    The location is great so close to the beach and the room with a view is great. The reception was extremely friendly. For breakfast and dinner we went over the steep hill to Head Yao beach where at the road (not at the beach) is the best ever breakfast place pura vida and for dinner we went across their place to a French owned little restaurant that has amazing food.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2017

    10
    Quiet Paradise
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Bungalow
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Loved the beach but perhaps the addition of lounge chairs and umbrellas would enhance the experience even more.

    This resort is a wonderful, quiet getaway. Definitely not in the crazy/party area of Koh Phangan, it has a remote paradise feel. The bungalow is basic but has everything you need including decent wifi and a comfortable bed. The grounds are very well maintained and it has fun, quirky art, hammocks and swings around the property. The on-site restaurant and bar have a fairly wide selection and the restaurant is a wonderful place to watch the sunset. Pool is very nice too. The staff is very friendly and are a perfect complement to the laid back vibe.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2017

    2.9
    The worst hotel I've ever stayed in!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room - Beach Front
    • Stayed 7 nights

    We arrived at the hotel at 8:45 p.m. and couldn't find the reception. All the lights were turned off, there was not a soul to help us. We called the hotel multiple times but no one picked up. After 45 minutes of going up and down a really steep path we finally found the reception, but all the lights were turned off and it was closed. We were desperate and exhausted at this point and decided to go to a restaurant on the beach, near the hotel. They called someone from the hotel who arrived after 10 minutes and instead of greeting us told us "you're late". Angry and exhausted, we replied we came as soon as our flight landed and that we just want to go to our room and rest. The gentleman looked angry and said he did not have to let us in, as we were late. We did insist that we had a booking with them and we tried to call (plus where would we go, there are no taxis in this area and it was 9:20 pm, no hotels nearby and we obviously did not want to sleep on the beach... ) and so they opened the reception and the first thing we come across was a paper saying the reception hours were until 10 pm. When asked about it the staff replied "it's low season so we close early" - even earlier than what they advertise on booking/on their own reception... and then they complain with their guests... We also spotted a paper that said they only clean the room every other day- which is not common in hotels and left us very disappointed. We finally get into the room and as we were so tired we decided to get room service (we had seen earlier on booking that we could) but it turned out that the hotel had no menu/phone in the room. There is no restaurant either, there is breakfast served near the reception from a small "set breakfast menu". So after 12 hours of flights/transfer we did not eat as there was nowhere to, even though they advertise they do have room service.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    9.6
    This place is a resort inside a beautiful green.
    • Group
    • Standard Bungalow
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This place is a resort inside a beautiful green. It s just near the beach.. after we checked out with my friend we spent 3-4 hours more at the restautamt area, it s bery good to spend time there. We enjoyed staying there

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2017

    7.5
    Very quiet as not many rooms occupied near us.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room - Beach Front
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beach is nice enough but tidal. Never deeper than upper leg, often ankle deep. The mattress was a little worn out with hollows and dips were most others had slept.

    Very quiet as not many rooms occupied near us. We had visited the resort beforehand so were aware of the many stairs and ramps. Both physically able so no issue for us.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2017

    8.3
    Great place to stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Bungalow
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing, but there are lots of stairs. If you have difficulty walking it might be a challenge....

    Beautiful location with amazing sunset. Personel is very kind en helpfull! And the beaches on this part of the island are the best

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2017

    6.7
    Quiet and relaxing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was basic but fine. The cleanliness of the bathroom could have been better. There was a smell coming from the shower drain. A shower on or near the beach would have been nice since there was no nothing to get rid of the sand before entering your room.

    The nearby beaches were great. The atmosphere was real relaxing. The staff of the bar/restaurant were terrific! Always smiling, in for a chat and providing tips on where to go. The location of the restaurant was fantastic! You could sit at tables surrounded by the sea or lie in a hammock. Great views. The staff behind the reception were friendly and helpful as well, although sometimes their English was a bit 'rusty'. The pool was not that big but adequate.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2017

    8.3
    Paradise!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Bungalow
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We are travelling so went for the cheapest accommodation. It was a long walk up lots of stairs. Very basic room and the bathroom had a horrible smell. But considering the price it was okay. We stayed 4 days which was long enough. The hotel is far from anything else so I'd recommend scooters.

    The restaurant and beach were breathtaking! It felt like paradise!The staff were so friendly and helpful! Sia the waiter was so lovely and we enjoyed having a chat with him everyday. The snorkelling at the restaurant was the best we'd experienced in Thailand. I would highly recommend this hotel. Great for couples.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2017

    7.1
    Near quiet beach but water smell so bad at night
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Bungalow
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I had to walk up to my room which was so distance and water had smell real bad which I had to use drinking water to brush my teeth and wash my body during the night and no safe in room.

    Quiet and nice view and near beach.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2017

    10
    Haad Son is my all time favourite in Thailand and Koh...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room - Beach Front
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing!

    Haad Son is my all time favourite in Thailand and Koh Phangan. I have stayed there the last 15 years from a small place to the magnificent place it is now. The staff is like family to me and the restaurant Koh Ramen is one of the worlds most beautiful bars with amazing sunsets, fish you can feed and swim with and a parrot coming evey night.. What to say.. the best!!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2017

    10
    The room was excellent and bed very large and comfy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room - Beach Front
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There are steep slopes to rooms which were a struggle and breakfast was very basic so would not advise people opting for breakfast

    The room was excellent and bed very large and comfy. The view from balcony was stunning. The staff were friendly and helpful and location excellent

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2017

    8.8
    Beautiful location, recommended!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Bungalow
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Hotel seems to be under-stuffed, which leads to minor minus points, but worth a mention: - It has a nice pool area, but the water might need some more attention, water tastes little weird and burns in the eye - pool towels are provided only most of the times (stuff does not collect used towels / refill with new ones often enough) - Cleaning of the rooms and refill of complementary water happens only after 2-3 days upon request, which was fine for us

    Funny and friendly stuff at the reception, you have a great view from the standard bungalows at the top and it's totally worth the little workout to get there. :P Each bungalow has a sunbed and a hammock to relax on the balcony. The hotel has a nice pool area and good wifi connection in all areas (used it to work and it was totally fine). The hotel is right next to a nice secret beach (Haad Son) and you will find a lovely decorated beach bar restaurant next to it ("Koh Raham"), where u can even go for a little snorkel trip between your drinks or just chill in a hammock. Planned to stay 4 nights, ended up staying 10 nights! The location is lovely and Koh Phangan is totally worth a visit, i would definitely return to this place.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2017

    9.6
    Great place to stay with friends or lover(s) !
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Loved everything :)

    Excellent and friendly staff. The resort is a fun place to walk around in. The pool is great! The parking area is safe. Just climb down a few stairs and you are on the beach, which is pretty private. Hotel also has a restuarant by the beach with great food and ambience.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2017

    7.5
    Beautiful Place
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room - Beach Front
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room service required. There were no laundry service or iron. If you miss cleaning your room during day time you have to wait for the next day

    The beach and the pool and their restaurant. The staffs at the reception is very nice and friendly.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2017

    4.2
    Avoid the standard bungalow - overall resort needs improved maintenance
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Bungalow
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I do not recommend to book standard bungalows, even if they are discounted on this website. These bungalows need serious renovation, they are very expensive (twice the price) compared to nicer bungalows you can get across the street. As it was prepaid, I had no other choice than staying at this "resort" and they offered to upgrade to a "renovated" standard bungalow for a significant amount of extra charge. I accepted as I really could not figure out staying in this depressing old bungalow. At least the renovated ones are clean. They only clean the room once every other day and after begging otherwise they forget about it... and believe me this is not about overwork since the resort was mostly empty. The breakfast was so expensive for what you get, again extremely basic food of lower quality. Again, you get much better and much nicer for a similar price across the street. Last, although it is not mentioned on booking, they charge 3% extra for credit card payment. This is not new as the sign looks quite old (like all in this decaying resort). I would certainly not return to this resort, to Koh Phangan, yes definitely.

    The location is nice with the secret beach at the sea side. The sunsets are beautiful.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2017

    8.3
    Great view, very peaceful and quiet.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room - Beach Front
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Didn't see almost anyone else there- good for privacy but would have been nice to meet others in the lobby at least.

    Great view, very peaceful and quiet. Could walk ten minutes to 7-eleven. Pool table.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2017

    9.6
    Can't say anything bad about the place definitely recommend
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Bungalow
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location on the beach and very quite at night time as it is away from most bars, softest mattress I've found in thailand during my stay which is a plus

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2017

    10
    Best place to watch sunsets in all thailand
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Bungalow
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restaurant food could step it up a notch.

    The best place to watch sunsets in all Thailand! Great snorkeling around beach and little peninsula for only 200 baht a day.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2017

    8.3
    The hotel is located in probably the quietest place at Koh...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Bungalow
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It was no room cleaning at all for all 4 days I stayed there. I didn't ask, but anyway.

    The hotel is located in probably the quietest place at Koh Pha Ngan. During the night time you can hear only sea and cicadas singing. Each bungalow has its own hammock. The WiFi is suprisingly great. Stuff is very helpful.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2017

    9.6
    Heaven on earth!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room - Beach Front
    • Stayed 5 nights

    It is hard to get around Koh Phangan, unless you rent a scooter, which is quite dangerous. The taxis are expensive and it is very hilly, with no sidewalks, not great for walking.

    The staff and facilities are just great. The restaurant in a beautiful setting out on a point of land. You can snorkel there too. The food and drinks were good and not expensive. The waterfront rooms are very nice. Great wifi.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2017

    8.8
    Beautiful beach!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little over priced.

    Located on a small beautiful beach on the Northwest side of the island. Rented scooters to see more, plenty of restaurants and yoga nearby.2 massage huts on the beach !

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2017

    7.1
    Heaven in Thailand
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Bungalow - Beach Front
    • Stayed 8 nights

    The single bed in our room was very hard. No kettle supplied. We had to request one. No air-con in breakfast room. Open windows were nice though. Toiletries very basic. We had breaky in the cafe most days which is gorgeous. Useless safe not bolted down. Staff help was very slow/non existent.

    We stayed in the beach front family villa. Amazing view and direct access to Secret Beach and the cafe/bar out front. Our beach was swept every morning and kept pristine which was a treat. Was worth paying the extra for this amazing room (302). You will hear music all day (softly) from the bar but it is nice Spotify Music-suited my taste. Also you will see people walking into the cafe/bar but only for dinner time really. An amazingly clean special spot to rest.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2016

    9.6
    Stunning place right on 'Secret beach' or Haad Son
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room - Beach Front
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room we stayed in has connecting doors and you can hear absolutely anything going in in the next room as if it happens in your room. In our case we enjoyed loud snoring from our neighbours, which appeared to come from my daughter's bed.... even so, overall our stay was fantastic

    Absolutely unbeatable location, right on the sand. The restaurant in front, on a rock into the sea, is one of the coolest bar / restaurants I have ever seen in Thailand or anywhere. Room was good, apart from minor issues, it had good beds a decent bathroom and was very clean. The sea was about 10 meters away from our balcony, which was amazing. Staff was very very nice, very attentive and service was good.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2016

    5.0
    Good for one night stay only.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Bungalow
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Rooms need a good overhaul and update.Nothing else to do in the vicinity and restaurant had limited menu.

    Beautiful grounds and right near the beach.Helpful reception staff.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2016

    10
    The perfect resort for a relaxing week at the beach!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Bungalow
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was a little expensive at 200b. We had it a few times but couldn't justify it every day! It would have been nice to have more affordable choices so that you didn't have to venture somewhere else for breakfast.

    Having the private beach so close was amazing! And also having a pool was a real luxury. The bungalow we stayed in had great views of the gardens (which are really well looked after, very beautiful) and the sea, and we loved having a balcony/hammock. The staff were very friendly and helpful. One of our favourite things about the resort was the restaurant Ko Raham on the beach - we ate and drank there a lot! It was like being a castaway on a desert island (you have to see it to understand). Brilliantly designed and lovely staff.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    7.5
    Perfect!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxed Clubhouse
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything looked exactly as advertised on Booking.com!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    7.9
    Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room - Beach Front
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cleaned room after 4 days

    Beach and koh raman bar

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    7.1
    Right next to a beautiful beach and nice restaurant...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room - Beach Front
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nobody cleaned our room in 3 days. Poor choices for breakfast

    Right next to a beautiful beach and nice restaurant (decoration and view but not food)

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2018

    10
    Amazing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Bungalow
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Amazing restorant, garden and location - oh the location! Very clean and tidy. Very convinient scooter rental service by the hotel.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2018

    8.8
    Great!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Bungalow
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    You can get lost inside the resort :p

    It's an amazing place with no doubts

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    5.0
    The breakfast was very poor and not facilities makes tea and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Bungalow - Beach Front
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The breakfast was very poor and not facilities makes tea and coffee ..

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2017

    8.8
    Beautifull restaurant at the sea
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Bungalow
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautifull gardening. excelent

    Beautifull restaurant at the sea

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    7.9
    Not to be missed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Bungalow
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Little expensive for food and drink

    Stunning location on a beautiful beach

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    9.6
    This place is amazing, i recomend it to everyone.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Garden Bungalow
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This place is amazing, i recomend it to everyone. Location is best on the island, pool great, staff wonderfull.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2017

    7.1
    Not bad but a little pricy
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room - Beach Front
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noisy airconditioner. Bed was firm. Location was nice.

    Nice location

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2017

    7.1
    The showers hardly work could
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Superior bungalow
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The showers hardly work could

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2017

    8.8
    Piece of heaven
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room - Beach Front
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Breathtaking view from the restaurant on the pier,amazing snorkeling and comfortable hammocks

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2017

    2.5
    Nothing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Garden Bungalow
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    All

    Nothing

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2017

    9.6
    Location is great!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Garden Bungalow
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Location is great! Right on a beautiful beach!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2017

    6.7
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room - Beach Front
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Wifi Not Working good at all. They aded 3% on Credit cards , which they didn't mention on Booking com site !

    Location

    Stayed in April 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: