Accommodations Flights Flight + Hotel Car Rentals Airport Taxis

View vacation packages to

  1. Hotel reviews homepage
  2. Thailand hotel reviews
  3. Phang Nga Province hotel reviews
  4. Khao Lak hotel reviews
  5. Reviews of JW Marriott Khao Lak Resort and Spa

Reviews of JW Marriott Khao Lak Resort and Spa This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services available. It's based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

41/12 Moo 3, Khuk Khak Beach, Takuapa, Phang Nga, Khuk Khak Beach, 82220 Khao Lak, Thailand

#18 of 123 hotels in Khao Lak

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 1396 hotel reviews

9.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.3

  • Comfort

    9.4

  • Location

    8.8

  • Facilities

    9.4

  • Staff

    9.4

  • Value for money

    8.6

  • Free WiFi

    9.3

Verified guest reviews from real Bookers

Real Bookers. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more– opens a dialog box
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: June 23, 2019

    9.6
    Wonderful hotel with amazing leisure facilities. A very relaxing and luxurious holiday.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin with Pool Access
    • Stayed 5 nights

    We weren't given interlinking rooms, instead the rooms were next door in number but had a garden passageway inbetween. This was quite annoying, as it was our 12 and 8 year old in the other room. We complained and they said that in a couple of days time we could move to the room the other side of our children's room. So they did sort it out for us, but we thought it was a bit poor that they couldn't make it happen from the beginning of our stay.

    This is a lovely hotel, with well set out rooms, the ground floor ones open straight out onto the pool, which was lovely and a real novelty for the kids as well as the adults. The amount of swimming pool was amazing - you could swim all day. The gym was great and the kids club had some nice activities. All the staff were lovely. Breakfast room was gorgeous and the range and quality was amazing. Good size rooms. Adult only areas (pool and breakfast room) meant that those of us with kids could relax a bit more. Bikes for hire and tennis court was great. A few great restaurants a short drive away (with the restaurants happy to pick you up from the hotel). Can't fault the hotel or it's staff.

    Stayed in June 2019

  • Reviewed: June 10, 2019

    5.4
    Complete Disappointment
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin with Pool Access
    • Stayed 3 nights

    - Staff was not motivated and their English was really poor. It was impossible to communicate properly. - Room was dirty. Pillows of seat at balcony, curtains etc. were full of dirt and stain. It was clear that these pillow covers and curtains were never dry cleaned since years. - Corners and floors under furnitures were never vacuumed. Full of dust. It seems like only a sloppy cleaning has been done. - Plug-in mosquito repellent and mosquitos nets are standard in most of the resorts in Phuket. Both were not available in my room. Besides I strongly believe this resort has a pest control issue as this resort was full of mosquitos cockroaches and other insects. - I can't be sure but I have a feeling that pool water was really oily. And I suspect that pool circulation system was not working since I didn't felt any circulation on pool's circulation devices.

    - Beach and view was great. - Pool was not clean but it was huge and fun. - Breakfast was decent but not great. - View of the hotel and architecture is very good. Great for taking some photos.

    Stayed in June 2019

  • Reviewed: June 6, 2019

    10
    Complete serenity, service, peace, amenities, pool, beach, food, bars, etc., etc.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin with Pool View
    • Stayed 8 nights

    Honestly, I loved everything about this place. The lobby, checking in, the service of all staff was exceptional, our room was above amazing, the views, the tranquility and peace was wonderful. The pool is the best I've ever been in! Loved the swim up bars. The food and all restaurants were fabulous! The breakfast was especially great, many options and the view is lovely. The beach and amenities are above board as well. Such a clean place and the vegetation and grounds are breathtaking. Oh and the spa! What a wonderful experience I had with a facial and foot reflexology! We will definitely recommend to our friends and hope to come visit again! Khob-Khun-Ka!

    Stayed in June 2019

  • Reviewed: May 21, 2019

    10
    Best EVER
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Food And drink are a little expensive but you expect that in a resort

    Absolutely everything. Stepping out of your room into the beautiful pool...it doesn't get better than that. Such an amazing family friendly resort

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: May 20, 2019

    7.9
    The staff was amazing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double or Twin with Pool View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The taxes. I didnt feel that it was fair to see the menu and get another bill- If it works that way, I would like to be told before ordering. To know that Im going to pay more then it seems.

    The staff was amazing. They were really nice to us. Im vegan, and the cheff showed me what I could eat, and in the resturant they ask to better understand. Also the pool is great and the seats near the beach were relaxing.

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: May 8, 2019

    8.3
    Excellent facilities, the service can be improved.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin with Pool Access
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The checkin experience was very bad, staff couldn't communicate properly what amount they will charge and whether debit card can be used, the checkin took half an hour, so the first impression was ruined. Same for checkout experience- not professional and not friendly approach. The breakfast atmosphere was not pleasant- the main room is mega hectic and a side room lacks atmosphere, it feels like you are eating in a cheap cafeteria. The food is overpriced considering not many other restaurants in the area.

    The facilities were awesome, amazing pool, gaming area, the beach, the bars. Breakfast selection is huge, omelette station employee was very friendly and efficient. Deluxe pool access room was spacious and tastefully decorated. Also cleaning ladies did a great job.

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: April 29, 2019

    9.2
    Spectacular family friendly resort.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin with Pool View
    • Stayed 8 nights

    Drinks and food are quite expensive. Certain bottled water is ridiculously over priced, unnecessary and the staff don't make you aware of how much it costs till you see the bill. The standard water supplied for free is clean and healthy.

    Excellent pool. Great facilities. Well spaced out so despite having a lot of guests, it never feels crowded. Lots of choice for dining and drinking. Pool bars readily accessible.

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: April 28, 2019

    8.3
    Our stay was otherwise enjoyable
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Premium Double with Pool View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Dinner at the Thai restaurant was terrible. Food and drinks were served to a table next to us that came after us !! Our drinks went to this table and we had to claim it.Similar break down was seen on other tables too . Our food order was messed a vegetarian order was never served until we were done !! when it came we found it had shrimp paste, we had registered during ordering that we were allergic to it . The dish was never served. The food quality was average!! The Persian Nights BBQ Dinner at Waterfront restaurant promised a lot but was very poor value for money.

    The water front restaurant breakfast operations and staff efficiency and attitude, very good . Associate “Wan” at the Spa was very good. She is an asset to the Hotel.

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: April 18, 2019

    9.2
    We enjoyed our stay but we found our stay last October represented more of a 5 star hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin with Pool View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The staff and service at the breakfast buffet. It was not 5 star service. Most of them were grumpy or rude and had to remind them for our tea and coffee. We also ate at the Olive restaurant on our first night and it took over 1 hour to receive our meal. We have 2 kids under 4 and couldn’t wait. We had to ask for the meal to be sent to our room - kids already getting ready for bed by the time it arrived. It wasn’t a great first night experience.

    The room service was fast and efficient. The lady on the phone was amazing and sorted any of our needs quickly.

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: April 14, 2019

    9.6
    A true 5 star experience with great value
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Deluxe Double or Twin with Pool View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    A bit far from town and too isolated.

    This place is a true 5 star resort. The place is gorgeous and is filled with top quality facilities, food and beach. Great for families and couples although I was alone diving.

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: April 12, 2019

    9.2
    Amazing hotel, but meals are way overpriced for the quality.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin with Pool View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    When we arrived we were told we could check in at 12 and then 3 and then 4 o’clock! Which meant my parents were left to wait in the coffee shop after a long day of travelling. Also, the restaurant and many of the facilities are around 70-80% more expensive than locally comparable facilities. While understand you are paying a premium for the 5 star surroundings some of the services and restaurants did not feel premium. For example, the Italian restaurant olive cost £59 for three meals and a bottle of water, which consisted of the worlds smallest and saltiest lasagne, a pizza, and spaghetti pomodoro.

    The location, the ambience, and facilities are all first class. The spa is particularly very very good.

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: April 12, 2019

    7.9
    amazing breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin with Pool View
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    taxi to the city center was 300 baht. not walkable. i have seen friendlier stuff. bar service at the beach was quite bad. we rather picked up our drinks by ourselfs even though in such a hotel i would expect that they bring the drinks to the place where i sit.

    very clean, spacious, great breakfast, some glutenfree products are available. putting towels on the armchairs at the beach and the pool to reserve is not allowed before 11.

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: April 9, 2019

    10
    Resort was beautiful!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin with Pool Access
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Kids club members were very polite but some energised personal needed to engage kids and teens. The hotel does not accept any other currency, but batts. And the exchage rate is low, which is obvious for all hotels.

    Resort was beautiful! Staff was very friendly. Long and wide beach was very clean. Hotel organised complementary shuttle to Phuket and White sand beach. No mosquitoes. Thematic dinners!

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: March 25, 2019

    9.6
    EXCELLENT!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin with Pool Access
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Friendly staff specially at the restaurant Takrai Ms. Miss and Ms. Maple we’re exceptionally. The spa treatments were also really good! Staff was amazing with our two little kids (2yrs and 4grs). Definitely we will come back!

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: March 24, 2019

    9.6
    A Magical luxurious Ideal island experience :)
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Double with Pool View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There was not much not to like! Just some small improvements on the Bar's range of drinks especially wines n Champagne! Possibly a longer happy hour and/or better deals :)

    Loved everything about it! Absolutely stunning!

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: March 23, 2019

    9.2
    Amazing place and location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin with Pool Access
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We had an issue with hot water the whole stay and had to use a different room to shower

    Staff were amazing and all bars and restaurants also. And pools.

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: March 21, 2019

    10
    Our 6th visit and counting!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin with Pool View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Parts of the pool need a bit of TLC - seems like they may have started work on that. Aircon above the reception desk needs to be repaired. It was so hot for staff and guests and made interactions less hospitable at times

    Our 6th visit and counting! Continue to return thanks to the facilities, team & atmosphere. Will be back again! Shout out to Honey at the main restaurant for her help with our 2yr old at breakfast each morning!

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: March 19, 2019

    9.6
    Perfect place to propose to my girlfriend. Superb beach and sunset. Nearby cheap restaurants/massage
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Double with Pool View
    • Stayed 6 nights

    I would really have to dig deep to find something negative: The giant pool had too warm water, it was not refreshing. Yeah, go figure...

    Outstanding breakfast. Perfect beach experience. Great swimming pool.

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: March 9, 2019

    10
    Truly amazing in everyway
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Double with Pool View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Be prepared to walk - the resort complex is huge if your room is far from the restaurant/beach. Other reviews might say the location is far from the rest of Khao Lak (about a 10-minute drive), but that makes the beach quiet.

    Everything was perfect. Staff friendly, polite and always helpful. The resort itself is just beautiful, gardening and design are spot on, and the pool lagoon was endless. Breakfast has a large selection, with indoor and outdoor seating, as well as an adults-only section. The resort is also great for both couples/adults and children, with separate sections designed to comfort both. The beach - crystal clear warm water, clean sand and endless space to walk in either direction. We also tried the onsite Thai restaurant which was a lot better than a lot of Thai restaurants you find outside. Would 100% recommend and would return as soon as possible!

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: February 26, 2019

    10
    Fantastic hotel, great location right on the beach.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin with Pool View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing

    Fantastic hotel, great location right on the beach. All staff were polite, helpful & happy. Plenty of variety of food to suit all taste, choice of restaurants

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: February 26, 2019

    9.2
    Very happy and relaxing holiday.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Double with Pool View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The location was a little bit remote with only a few small beach bars as alternative to the hotel. In past experience of staying in slightly remote 5-stars hotels there has always been frequent free shuttlebus services. This should be an option at this hotel.

    The breakfast buffet was exceptional and we liked the choice of an adult only area. This was also true of the beach area an other parts of the resort. Our room was as described in the brochure and was very comfortable. We enjoyed the beach area and swimming around the canals from the hotel. We had a very relaxing stay.

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: February 23, 2019

    9.2
    The staff is the most friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin with Pool Access
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Food and beverage are extremely overpriced. The Thai restaurant is horrible (and also overpriced) The pool in front of the beach is too deep all over , so you can’t hang inside the pool.

    The staff is the most friendly. Rooms are great. The pool is amazing (although the one in front of the beach is too deep and you can’t just hang in it). Food on the buffet outside (in front of the beach) which they have most nice is really good and the atmosphere is nice. Breakfast is great.

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: February 19, 2019

    10
    Perfection!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin with Pool Access
    • Stayed 8 nights

    The fact that I had to leave.

    Perfect! The most beautiful resort I've ever been to. We came with a 1 year old baby and the hotel provided everything we needed and more. The pool and beach were beautiful, hotel restaurants serves great food, staff is very nice and professional.

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: January 31, 2019

    9.6
    Super quality breakfast!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin with Pool Access
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Rooms start to be a bit worn out, but not disturbingly

    Super quality breakfast! Lovely grounds, the pool is amazing. Beach is one of the best in Thailand.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 13, 2019

    10
    From the first minute we got out of our airport transfer the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin with Pool Access
    • Stayed 11 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing

    From the first minute we got out of our airport transfer the staff are amazing. The breakfast is unbelievable as is the staff. It is right on the beach and the food in the 3 restaurants is superb. The receptionist in the spa called Joy. Meew in the deli coffee shop and Oil in the reception I have to mention. I would definitely recommend it and hope to return some day.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 5, 2019

    9.2
    Great New Year's vacation
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin with Pool View
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Very big hotel with many people. Sometimes the facilities are a bit overstretched (breakfast and beach chairs run out early)

    Large hotel in an unbelievable location. Pristine beach, good large rooms, good service, close enough to other dining options on beach, good sports facilities. We were a family of 5 and had a wonderful time.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 4, 2019

    9.2
    Excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Double with Pool View
    • Stayed 12 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Some of the drinks at the bar quite expensive

    Croiassants excellent the breakfast spacious and had different sections of live cooking I dont think anybody cannot find anything they like to eat Amazing breakfast

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 2, 2019

    9.6
    Fabulous
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin with Pool View
    • Stayed 11 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The 12+ area on the beach could have been better managed as younger children were there. Christmas Eve food was disappointing and we thought overpriced. New Years Eve gala dinner was outstanding.

    The resort was fabulous and the staff couldn’t do enough for you. Breakfast buffet brilliant.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: December 30, 2018

    7.1
    Located on a great beach, lots of sports facilities at the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin with Pool View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Visible wear and tear in hotel room, limited number of sun beds, 15 minute tuk tuk ride from Khao Lak village and not many distractions immediately outside hotel, housekeeping were only cleaning the rooms in the mid to late afternoon

    Located on a great beach, lots of sports facilities at the hotel, a number of beach restaurants close to hotel

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 17, 2018

    9.6
    Amazing staff , brilliant breakfast and restaurant food ,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Duplex Suite
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Lack of information in the room , no book showing any information or anything. The wedding on during our stay was incredibly disruptive , as they got services that were unavailable to normal paying guests. The special Tokyo night at Sakura was incredibly disappointing , it didn't match the description, as there was no amazing artistry what so ever , and sushi selection wasn't as good as it could have been.

    Amazing staff , brilliant breakfast and restaurant food , incredible swimming pool , incredible rooms , incredible beach overall a brilliant stay.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 1, 2018

    10
    Beautfiful and Perfect Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The Hotel service is very good. The staff are very friendly at the hotel. The breakfast buffet has a very good selection and is very good. There is a gym with new equipment incl. Yoga course, various sports, etc., 2 tennis courts, a beautiful Spa Area, nice Restaurants there, etc. There are very nice Pools incl. Poolbars. The beautiful beach is a few minutes' walk from the rooms. 100% Recommendation.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 25, 2018

    9.2
    Lovely staff working very hard, always smiling and ready to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin with Pool View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Swimming pool service was a bit lagging, there were empty glasses from previous day. The cocktails are poor.

    Lovely staff working very hard, always smiling and ready to help. Money from reception was super helpful. Pool is never-ending, simply amazing and clean. Food was good, authentic Italian restaurant, breakfast had so much choice! From Indian, Thai, Korean, Japanese, British, Continental to vegan and eggless. Freshly baked bread, amazing coffee. Great kids club. Absolutely beautiful hotel located on stunning golden sand beach.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 20, 2018

    5.8
    Location is great, the pool is amazing, the staff is...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin with Pool View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Rooms very old, lots of mold. The food was bad, only exception was the breakfast which was good. Bathroom looks very worn out, water at bathtub didnt work.

    Location is great, the pool is amazing, the staff is friendly, breakfast is very good

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 20, 2018

    8.5
    A family resort even couples will like. Will come back!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin with Pool View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The cleaning service was ridiculously slow (first two days, we did not get our rooms cleaned until about 4-5pm. I had to call to chase for the remaining three nights were there. They clearly need more room cleaning staff. Some staff members were really lacking in language. Took me three tries to get it right. But having said that, they were also very obliging when my hubby requested to borrow some tools for his bike. So top marks for that!

    I went as a couple, and was dreading the family onslaught. But other than at breakfast, I did not feel it at all. For such a massive property, the JW Marriot has done a top job of providing privacy without costing an arm and a leg. The breakfast spread was superb. Staff were also very obliging when my hubby requested to borrow some tools for his bike. So top marks for that! I would definitely stay here again! I am a new fan.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: November 13, 2018

    8.3
    Lovely property for a fully relaxed and isolated break.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin with Pool Access
    • Stayed 9 nights

    No pillow menu which was a little disappointing for such a high caliber property. Prices were also very high based on the quality of the food offering. The hotel felt a little corporate despite how lovely the staff were, it did not quite feel like a home away from home.

    Excellent breakfast and really friendly staff. The hotel is stunning and very well maintained.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 10, 2018

    9.6
    Quiet.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin with Pool View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    All prices shown in hotel are without +17% service and tax also on booking.com. (only comment on tiny font in price details) this should not be accepted by booking.com as it doesn't allow to compare prices fairly. This difference in every price makes hotel expensive and made me feel someone wanted to cheaply trick me with showing lower but not real prices.

    Quiet. Design to smallest detail. Great service.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 7, 2018

    9.6
    It was a beautiful time from start to finish. Facilities and staff were great. Food was delicious.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Double with Pool View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Everything was exceptional. Location is a little far from stores but not problem if you are looking to get away.

    IT was my birthday during our stay. And they surprised me at breakfast with a birthday song, gave me a cake, and even made a beautiful flower arrangement on my bed. I was so impressed.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 6, 2018

    9.2
    super comfy bed with clean and big room, great fun for kids
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin with Pool View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    nothing !!!

    Beautiful beach and hotel, large pool. great fun for our son. he loved it. the room quite big and bed very comfy and we loved breakfast they offer.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 5, 2018

    9.6
    secluded sandy long beach, value for money hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Double with Pool View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    if you want privacy, this is the place. I wouldn't recommend if you want to see phuket and do a lot of day tours besides similan island. There is not many other nice restaurants so we ended up eating at the hotel all the time. We didn't mind as we stayed 2 nights but i would if i stay more than 4 days there

    long sandy beach super secluded, almost nobody at the beach. good options to eat in the restaurants. It is near similan islands for a day tour

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: October 28, 2018

    10
    Property, service, people, amenities.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Double with Pool View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Booking.com completely messed up. I paid twice. Once at the time of booking and once when checking out. I have to now go back home and raise a refund. If there was one black mark on my vacation, it was booking.com

    Property, service, people, amenities... Everything

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 28, 2018

    9.6
    Can't wait to go back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin with Pool View
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Our room was a little bit far from the main restaurant and pool area.

    Fabulous hotel, amazing pool, on the beach and amazing breakfast. Very luxurious.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 16, 2018

    8.3
    Stunning resort: a lot of thought on the big details, less on the little.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin with Pool Access
    • Stayed 8 nights

    Cleanliness and maintenance could be improved; Our bath had sand in it on check-in, and on another day i found a little worm swimming with me :-(. We needed the electricity to be reset on entry as the fan wasn't working. And the variation in temperature in the showers was dramatic, and required constant adjusting throughout our stay. On the plus side, the hotel responses to the issues raised were immediate. Communication with the staff was sometimes challenging which resulted in our room not being cleaned as requested twice (we were travelling with small children and therefore requested the room to be cleaned at specific times to allow for their naps). It is a huge resort so service was less personal than other resorts we stayed at. There were about 700 other guests at the time, which meant that a day's booking was required for almost everything (dinning, fitness classes, kids club activities).

    The premises are absolutely stunning. The rooms big, nicely decorated and comfortable and the staff very friendly. If you are looking for a place where you do not need to leave the resort for anything than this is definitely an option. The sprawling pool network is truly a unique experience. Take the pool access room if you can. You will use it all the time! The kids club was well equipped, and the staff very helpful.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 7, 2018

    9.6
    Everything was perfect, very nice hotel.
    • Couple
    • Premium Double with Pool View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The prices for food are high

    Everything was perfect, very nice hotel. Even though it is pretty big it is not crowded at all, the pool is fantastic, the property is very clean and the staff is friendly. Beach is beautiful, especially at the sunset, but not for snorkeling or swimming( the waves are a little bit high). If you want to choose this hotel I’m pretty sure you won’t regret!

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 2, 2018

    5.0
    Dont go there, go to Robinson resort.. Better hotel with all included in the same money like the M
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Duplex Suite
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The staff was not good, especially in the front desk. They just lied about the room cost after I asked for downgrade from duplex suite to regular room with access to the pool. The lady at the front desk told me the cost is 2000 baht less for one night. But then she signed me on a paper that says that I will not receive any compensation for the room. After 20 hours of traveling I didnt even review the paper and just signed it. Be carefull they are liars!!!

    Breakfast and the swimming pool

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: September 26, 2018

    10
    Absolutely everything!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin with Pool Access
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing

    Absolutely everything! Beautiful hotel, nicest staff, the pools, the beach and gardens are perfect. The food is very good and the breakfast is the best we ever encountered in hotel.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 25, 2018

    9.2
    Paradise in Khao Lak
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin with Pool View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    All was great. Hotel transfer could be more reasonable, not 3000 THB with 2 agencies handling, but 1.2K THB.

    One of the most beautiful hotels I have ever stayed in Thailand: nice decor in rooms, amazing huge pool (probably biggest in South East Asia), clean beach, friendly staff. Gorgeous breakfast with variety of western, Asian food, bakery, beverages and plenty of complimentary activities (first 1h for free) like kayaking, paddle board, Pilates, yoga are worth a separate mentioning. Super comfortable bed. Lots of complimentary water in rooms. Great for families with kids. When low season, awesome deal quality vs money.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 24, 2018

    9.2
    Overall the JW Marriott in Khao Lak was a wonderful experience the service was impeccable and friend
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin with Pool View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Only improvement could have been the shower it would turn hot to cold, cold to hot!

    Overall the JW Marriott in Khao Lak was a wonderful experience the service was impeccable and friendly.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 23, 2018

    9.6
    Breakfast is amazing - Great resort
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin with Pool View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The only minor observation was some rubbish on the beach. It’s Thailand so you expect some rubbish... but it would be nice if the beach was pristine.

    Most amazing resort I have ever stayed in. The breakfast buffet is second to none. Definitely a place I will remember. It is a sole reason to visit Khaolak. The staff are all super friendly and make your stay the more pleasurable.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: September 21, 2018

    9.2
    Beautiful pool, the kids club in raining day was perfect and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin with Pool View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The shatell to the city was not free like the rest of the hotels. We had to pay extra for the trip to the city and back.

    Beautiful pool, the kids club in raining day was perfect and the room was clean and very comfortable.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 19, 2018

    10
    Great resort, great location and fantastic staff. I will definitely go back and highly recommend it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin with Pool Access
    • Stayed 7 nights

    My stay was too short, but the hotel was delightful in every way. There really was nothing not to like about the hotel. Everything was as advertised and better.

    The rooms were lovely and clean, well maintained. The food was lovely and a great selection to suit most tastes. The staff were fantastic, they could not do enough for you and were always eager to help you enjoy your stay. The resort looked great in the ads and it beat my expectations because it was just like the promo shots, sensational.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 17, 2018

    9.2
    A treat of a resort
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin with Pool Access
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The hotel is huge. So if you are not up to walking from room to beach, or to lobby or even to restaurants - it will not be easy. We got to the hotel wet and dirty from rafting and the rooms were not ready for checkin although it was more than 2 hours later than the time promised for checkin. They explained the hotel was fully booked - but that was no excuse for siting in the lobby freezing in the air con. It was surprising and important to mention that apart from that insident - and that they didn't even think of serving a complamentry drink or compensate for the ordele - the rest of the visit was with excellant service. The first night there was no hot water for shower. Next day was fixed. The tv was not straight on the wall. The rooms are on an edge of a pool but the floor us so slippery coming in and out on the pool it was really unapropriat and weird. We had to spread towels all over the floor. Do notice that there is a very big veriaty of pools regarding the pool rooms. Some have bid ones some have really small. Some have a balcony some have none. Some have privacy and others don't. Check what you got while checkin ans see that it fits. The sea was wild due to weather conditions. No option to go in but the beach was nice. Not a lot of restaurants to eat on the resort although published that have more veriaty - one asian and one Japanese so we ate every evaning in the Italian restaurant. Wich was great. Very very big hotel - so if you are looking for a private place - its far from it. No sea front views from any room. Very flat building and the rooms not right on the beach. The rooms are a bit dark.

    The italian restaurant. The service. The swimming pools and beaches. The rooms were very clean comfy, spacues, nicely furnished and designed and fun. Although the hotel was huge and fully booked - we felt great with all the facilities. Everything was spacues and without too much crowds. The hotel us so big the crowds arnt noticed. Great cocktails. There an icecream shop in the hotel the kids loved it and the kids game area. The breakfast was the biggest and most luxuriaus we ever had. Tons of veraiaty from all cuisines. The kids loved it.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: September 13, 2018

    9.2
    Great hotel facilities, breakfast was brilliant, best ever...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double or Twin with Pool View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Not much to do in the surrounding area, brilliant beach holiday but if you want to explore not much to see apart from waterfalls unless you drive to Krabi 2 hours away or Phuket 1.5 hours away.

    Great hotel facilities, breakfast was brilliant, best ever buffet from all over the world

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: September 8, 2018

    10
    Absolutely amazing stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin with Pool View
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing negative, loved everything

    Absolutely stunning hotel and fabulous value for money! Everything from the staff to the room was amazing and the beach was outstanding, Can’t rate this hotel highly enough. The breakfast was brilliant so much choice. Would 100% go back. Khao Lak is a beautiful quite part of Thailand but still with Loads to to do.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 6, 2018

    8.8
    Good place for relaxing and enjoying water on beach and also...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin with Pool Access
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Restaurants for dinner are artificial like on a theme park. Maybe due to the pool, there were a few humidity on the room. Also, we were unlucky and, as they were working on other part, they gave us a room in front of the infantil pool, so we couldn't get the relax we expected on the room.

    Good place for relaxing and enjoying water on beach and also on the spectacular pool. There are also many activities or excursions from there. And staff is lovely and very helpful. Room was wide and comfortable, having direct access to the pool is a must! Breakfast was complete, even too much.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: September 3, 2018

    9.2
    Relax in nice front beach hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin with Pool View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Being such a huge restaurant you lose a little bit the " cozyness" of smaller hotels. But this did not come as a surprise ;)

    Very nice room and overall swimming pool set up. If you want to change from dinning at hotel, small restaurants aside the hotel are pretty good!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: September 2, 2018

    9.6
    Amazing resort structure, the biggest pool i even seen in my...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin with Pool View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    A bit crowdy given for a low season in Thailand. Food in the restaurants medium quality

    Amazing resort structure, the biggest pool i even seen in my life. Beautiful relaxing place and nice beach. Big selection at breakfast buffet

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: September 2, 2018

    7.0
    Great value money!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin with Pool View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Service at breakfast time could be a little slow and disorganised. Not a point directly for the hotel but more about the areas. The tides are bringing in a huge amount of rubbish each day to the surrounding beaches, it has really highlighted for me the the severity of the issue we have in caring for our environment, was shocking to see. The hotel do make an effort to clean it each day.

    The grounds of the hotel are incredible as are the pols and the gym, the beach bar was a winner for us - great food and really friendly staff. Loved the whole experience, very family friendly.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 1, 2018

    9.6
    Beautiful pool and beach;
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin with Pool View
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    You pay for quality and this is not a cheap option

    Beautiful pool and beach; excellent restaurants and superb selection for breakfast. Staff really friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 31, 2018

    9.6
    The breakfast ladies were AMAZING!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin with Pool View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Location slightly off. But with this hotel you don’t want to move out anyway.

    The breakfast ladies were AMAZING! Absolute rockstars and so caring. Especially Honey. Great facilities and amazing value for money for bars and restaurants. Service and food overall was amazing.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 30, 2018

    9.2
    The resort was magnificent. I will come back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Premium Double with Pool View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The choice of food for people with delicate stomachs.

    I have a special diet so I found choosing food difficult. The Thai food was super hot even the mild. The spa was amazing.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 29, 2018

    10
    Vacation in heaven
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin with Pool View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The house keeper for first 2 days couldn’s understand English.

    Can’t even tell everything. Beautiful place with kind staffs, big nice pools! You can just feel like you’re in heaven. All the stress’s gone!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 28, 2018

    7.9
    reasonable room rate/ value for money/ good for long...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin with Pool Access
    • Stayed 7 nights

    kids club is too small. wish it has biiger place with outdoor area and more things to do specially during the raniny season. my room was pool-access room but we had these trees inbetween the balcony and pool. wish i was given the room where i can see my kids swimming from the balcony. some staff was not friendly. i left my towels on the sunbeds in the beach because it got wet and dirty and asked for the towels on the way to the pool and the staff told me to bring my towels and otherwise no towels. some staff at the breakfast restaurants were not friendly either. every morning i enter the restaurants, they never smiled or say greetings. they only expected me to fill out the form including room # and check box whether if breakfast is included in the room.

    reasonable room rate/ value for money/ good for long stay / safe area(biking to temple was good)/ went to thai seafood restaurants nearby(Free transportation >> blue mist), not too many people in the swiming pool or beach

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 22, 2018

    8.8
    Very comfortable large rooms, great bathroom, pool access...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin with Pool Access
    • Stayed 12 nights

    Tea and coffee at breakfast. Milk for tea and coffee supplied in the smallest jug ever for the family of four! Every single day, despite clear requests. Also staff never remembered how many cups to bring, again every time.. It is really annoying start of the day. To be fair that is the only negative I found and despite that we will go again :) On reflection, to far to walk to town, have to rely on shuttle/taxi... (which is there and available)

    Very comfortable large rooms, great bathroom, pool access fabulous, delicious food, great choice for breakfast

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 21, 2018

    5.4
    A new place in Thailand
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin with Pool View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We had 3 issues with the hotel. First, the check in process was bad. We booked 3 rooms and requested to charge each room in a separate credit card. They took all the credit cards and charged us some deposit amount in case we used the mini bar which was normal. After deducting this amount, the receptionist returned all the cards and took my husband credit card and deducted all the 3 rooms charges from it for no reason. When we asked for the justification as we clearly said that each room should be charged to a specific credit card, they just said we are sorry but the whole amount was on hold till the end of our trip. Second, the rooms they allocated to us smelled sooo bad like sewer. Although the same receptionist took us to the rooms and smelled it the moment they opened the door but she was fine with that. We called the manager and the moment she opened the door, she started apologizing. The smell was unbearable. The third issue was the location, the hotel is 10 minutes away by car from the city center. The hotel had a shuttle bus but they charge THB 100 per person per way including kids. For a 5 stars hotel, a free shuttle should be a basic service offered to their guests especially that we were a big group and when we requested at least a special rice for the whole group. Transportation was not practical using the hotel shuttle and a normal taxi was much cheaper.

    The hotel layout, landscape and breakfast. They had the best breakfast ever with a lot of choices to please everybody.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 16, 2018

    10
    This place is amazing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room with Pool Access
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    This place is amazing. Room brilliant, bed possibly the most comfortable I have ever sleep in. Pools huge. Food reasonable price considering the setting. Beach great and the hotel is right on the beach. Staff very friendly. Breakfast very good.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 16, 2018

    10
    The only 1 hotel chain that I can trust is JW Marriott(especially Khao Lak)I had a great time always
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double or Twin with Pool Access
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The price too high but compare with the service.Its reasonable.

    I like everything of JW Marriott Khao Lak .I m very happy to return there again and again

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: August 15, 2018

    8.8
    Great family vacation
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin with Pool View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    More food options for kids. More kids pool activities. Free shuttle to the town would be nice.

    Beautiful property. Pools are amazing. Room was a very good size even for a family of 4. Kids club is good.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 14, 2018

    9.2
    Surprisingly good restaurants on site (just avoid the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Double with Pool View
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Shower didn’t hold temperature (that’s it)

    Surprisingly good restaurants on site (just avoid the typically average buffets...) that weren’t too expensive. Huge pool, felt like you had it to yourself. Great rooms. Great location on the beach.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 14, 2018

    4.2
    The food in the restaurants were sumptous.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin with Pool View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The complimentary mineral water in our room were opened and had it changed. Staff left my room door ajar when they went in wrongly delivering additional pillows which I did not requested, but fortunately nothing was missing in the room. There were small insects on the hanger in the wardrobe. We didn't like the pillows on the bed because they were too soft even though there were 4 pillows.

    The food in the restaurants were sumptous. The bed is very comfortable.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 14, 2018

    10
    Place where we feel time is not ticking, yet full of excitement
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin with Pool Access
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Only one that we feel not perfect, the Japanese restaurant, Sakura, which we think the taste are not really good for a japanese food. As someone living in Bangkok, there are many Japanese restaurant that has much better taste with lower price. Having said that, we would appreciate the tempanyaki chef who was awesomely do the performance and engage with the kids, after all everyone is happy with his performance, well done Chef!

    The swimming pool is the main attraction, it was so long and go around the resort, no one feel bored for just swimming all the day. The beach is not for swimming, but you will enjoy seeing & hearing the big wave coming from Indian Ocean. For me personally, i can feel the beauty and greatness of the nature. We also like the activities that we can join, table tennis, gym activities for the kids, bicycle around the resort, snooker and other table play as well as kids play room. This is awesome place!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 12, 2018

    8.8
    Incredible staff and swimming but...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin with Pool Access
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Damp room (1011) and damp bed clothes left us both sick. Wife got chest infection and I got ear infection and a bad cold. The shower was completely blocked and bathroom flooded after 90 secs! No hot water for bath. After four nights they finally moved us to room 3023 which was great but surrounded by very noisy kids which wasn’t ideal for our honeymoon. The hidden fees were annoying too so watch out for them. (Service charge of 10% on everything, charity donation, tax and local community fee). We ended up paying nearly €200 more than we thought we had to pay unfortunately. Apart from the above and the diabolical weather, it’s a fantastic place and the surrounding restaurants and massage huts are great. I’d recommend.

    1.4km waterway for swimming. best hotel ever for swimming. Staff amazing. Breakfast just out of this world. Because of the probs we had the staff were so nice and they gave us a cake for honeymoon present and prosecco for apology. They are the best staff ever and I hope they are getting paid well!!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 12, 2018

    10
    Hospitality at its best.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin with Pool Access
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing I will definitely come back again

    Hospitality at its best. Chef Mohan and his team was amazing took care of us ... kudos to you guys for being so generous

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 11, 2018

    8.8
    Rained out stay! But rescued by resort!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin with Pool View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The rain!!!! But if were to be stranded at any hotel due to the showers.... this is the best you can get! Complimentary Thai classes, bike hire, yoga, and kids activities!!!!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 10, 2018

    9.2
    Relaxing and Beautiful 5 star resort.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin with Pool Access
    • Stayed 8 nights

    Leaving so soon. :-(

    One of the most beautiful and relaxing resorts we have visited. The staff is extremely friendly and helpful. Rooms are very clean (special thanks to Faii for giving excellent customer service!). The multitude of swimming pools winding between the villas is amazing. Can definitely recommend this resort!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 8, 2018

    9.2
    Awsome pool
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Duplex Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The location is quite remote, which we knew when booking, so not a complaint, just a downside. For 300bath you can book a tuktuk to town, which is small.

    The service, staff, rooms and pool are just amazing (we booked this hotel before and after our Khao Sok forrest/lake trip). First special compliments to Tin from the reception, a guy that makes you feel incredible welcome and provides hospitality at its best (hope you get awarded staffmember of the year, as you deserve it). We had something go wrong with our second stay, but the hotel fixed it beyound our expectations. I have never seen a pool like this, they advertise with it being 3km long and i dont think thats a lie. Its just great, all around the resort, with two pool bars. We chose to book a suite (which are all topfloor), but would defenitely recommend booking the pool entrance rooms. We had quite bad weather, but the pool made it very enjoyable for us and our two kids. If you want to eat on premise in the Thai restaurant, you should book a day in advance aa its full quite quickly. There is a lovely restaurant next to the resort on the beach as well, with delicious Thai food.

    Stayed in August 2018

Showing 1 - 75

We Price Match
We Price Match
Low rates • No booking fees • Find something cheaper? We'll refund the difference!
Browse JW Marriott Khao Lak Resort and Spa Traveler Photo Gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: