Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Kamala Beach Resort, A Sunprime Resort 4 stars

96/42-3, Moo 3, Kamala Beach, Kathu, Phuket, 83150 Kamala Beach, Thailand

#10 of 46 hotels in Kamala Beach

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 584 hotel reviews

8.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.7

  • Comfort

    8.7

  • Location

    8.9

  • Facilities

    8.6

  • Staff

    8.9

  • Value for money

    8.4

  • Free WiFi

    8.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The biggest problem of the hotel is ventilation. The humidy is extremely high and there is a funny smell in all rooms and all facilities. Also, the first sensation is that the hotel is not clean because it was painted without care and you can see spots of paint and paint dust everywhere in the bathroom and on the windows. The smell + oldish furniture + oldish atmosphere+ sloppy painting of the walls, gives you a first sensation that the room is not clean. Also the sheets had a very very funny smell, although changed regularly, because of the intense humidity everywhere in the hotel. Coming from a different 4 star hotel in the area and also one exquisite 4 star hotel in Chiang Mai, it took us quite a while to accomodate to this one.

    The location is awesome, the hotel is right on the beach. The hotel restaurant is awesome, with both Thai & international food, it provides a nice scenary as you can see the beach and the sea while you are eating. Breakfast is also very generous, it covers all you could think of to eat for breakfast, with very good quality of the food. The second room we had, was closer to the beach, spacious and with a very nice balcony towards the garden.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Grand Deluxe Pool View
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The restaurant menu was always the same, and a very basic menu, that never varied. It would have been nice to have a specials menu every night that changed, so the menu didn't seem as monotonous. Because of this, we really only had breakfast in the restaurant, because it was included in our room package. We tended to have every other meal outside the resort because there were such good reasonably priced restaurants so close by.

    The bed was exceptionally comfortable and very large. We did a cooking class at the restaurant which we really recommended and Alan who took it was great and very funny. There are restaurants just a short walk away along the beach and also in the heart of Kamala that are excellent.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It is a large resort with sometimes long walking distances between reception, room, restaurant, beach. Being that large and functional, belonging to a large tour operator group, it lacks the charme and individuality of smaller hotels. The village outside the resort was not very appealing, the beach is quite nice with gentle waves but also suffers from the tourism. People trying to keep it clean though.

    This is a fairly large resort with the choice of two restaurants and plenty of pool space when we came. It is located directly next to the Kamala beach so very convenient. It also happens to be very close to Fantasea Theme Park in case you fancy a visit. The breakfast offers many choices. The room we were upgraded to was pretty large. There is also a pavilion with Thai massage services in the centre.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Grand Deluxe Pool View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perfect location on the beach, staff were lovely and helpful, buffet breakfast was exceptional, pools and bars amazing, facilities excellent. Close to town with lots of lovely beach restaurants, shops and bars. No children also pleasant. Incredible stay loved it!!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Grand Deluxe Pool View
    • Stayed 12 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The distance between the room near to the reception and the restaurant by the Sea. For breakfast you have to walk to much....

    Nice location, good staff

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Ground Terrace Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The breakfast was good but could have provided a little bit more Asian variety.

    The location is absolutely fantastic; away from the chaos of Patong beach and the view of the sea is definitely breathtaking. The staff upgraded us to a better room at the 2nd floor and we were so close to the beach and swimming pool. Beach waves are visibly heard in the morning!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Our Junior Suite was really big with a fantastic large bathroom and a second smaller bathroom. While we had plenty of space for three adults, the room could have been a bit more cosy with regards to the furniture / design. However, everything was spotless clean, so no big complaint here. :-)

    It was almost end of season so the resort was not too crowded and you could easily find a sunbed at one of the 4 pools. Food was delicious as well and we enjoyed one or the other cocktail at the bar. Overall the staff was really friendly and the facilities are nice and clean. The beach is just in front of the hotel and many restaurants are located in walking distance.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Grand Deluxe Back View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The mattress wasn't that comfortable but we got used to it. We would have preferred more Thai breakfast options, other than that breakfast was okay.

    The hotel is located in a great location - fantastic beach, fantastic restaurants near by. The amenities are of a high standard. I also liked the fact that despite the hotel being fairly large and full of guests you didn't feel it was overcrowded. On of the nights there was a storm which caused a leak in our room. The hotel was very accommodating and helped us to move to a new room, of equal standards at 3am. The one night we ate supper at the restaurant (buffet) we found the sushi to be so fresh and delicious. That meal was one of the many great meals we had in Thailand.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Nil

    We had a great stay,friendly staff, good food. clean relaxing pools. The Songkran dinner was a real treat, could not fault your hotel, also the wifi was super fast Thanks

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 13 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Segregation on a big scale of half board all inclusive and saga. Made to feel low class as we were half board

    Bed was comfy but no help with cockroaches only a can of spray

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Ground Terrace Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Anything, everything was so nice!

    This Hotel exceeded what we expected. We just wanted a relaxing beach and a nice hotel to spende our last 2 days of vacations and Kamala was perfect for it! The Hotel has 4 big pools! you always have place to lay down. Also the beach is just some steps away and it's a beautiful Beach to get a tan and swim! Also the food and massages are really affordable! no need to go out to have them, you just can do everything in the hotel!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Mosquitoes in the room. Rooms are old with faulty door access. Air condition in the room is too cold and difficult to adjust. Not so friendly staff for reception check in/check out.

    Direct access to the beach. Big pool for those who do not like to swim in the sea. Fairly good selection of gluten free cereals at breakfast buffet.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Grand Deluxe Pool View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The fact that most of the guests were Russian who smoked everywhere,in the restarants, around the pool and anywhere they liked, this totally ruined our stay there I wouldn’t recommend this hotel to non smokers.

    The staff and the food were superb.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Grand Deluxe Pool View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Too many cramped sunbeds at beach wing pool . No space to move between them. We used pool wing pool and was much more relaxed. Wi fi was a bit erratic even though our room was near reception.

    Great Location right on the beach. Large well run hotel. Nice staff. Great selection at breakfast. Breakfast can be taken at the pool wing restaurant or the beach wing restaurant whatever you fancy.Room in Pool/Grand wing overlooked pool.Room was very quiet at night time. Hotel is close to town left turn out of hotel on beach side and beach restaurants great value right turn out of hotel beach side.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Grand Deluxe Pool View
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I find it really weird, that the hotel asks for a 200 dollars deposit they keep during your stay (in case you break something in the room). The guests seem very nice quiet people and I am sure any damage to the hotel belongings is a rare case, so I have no idea why everyone is supposed to provide the cash deposit or write down full credit card data (which is unacceptable in terms of the cards security). Another point is air conditioners do not seem to be maintained regularly- you can see black mold if you bother to take a look. Toileteries were not renewed on a daily basis. I would say the hotel is too pricey, but you do not have alternatives at Kamala.

    The location is great- beach front hotel in the center of Kamala beach with all restaurants within walking distance, still feels quiet and peaceful. The territory with a lot of swimming pools is green and nicely kept, beach towels are provided as well as drinking water. The rooms are spacious and looking nice, beds are comfortable, wifi is stable. Breakfast is pretty variable. The staff is polite.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The upgrade to a junior suite was great - the room itself and bathroom were huge but the view was average - view of the car park, fields and old abandoned cars.

    Great pools and right by the beach. More or less in the middle of the beach strip -could walk either way and find restaurants and shops. Staff were friendly and helpful. Got upgraded to a junior suite with and enormous bathroom!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Grand Deluxe Pool View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Hotel sadly paled in comparison to the other places we stayed in Thailand. Bin in the room wasn't emptied on check-in which made you think what else hadn't been cleaned, wardrobe smelled like stale smoke (unfortunate as we are both non-smokers and ended up having to hang our wedding attire in the bedroom. Towel shed closed early everyday. Pools closer to the beach were really busy. The non-thai food served was below par.

    The hotel was right on the beach which was lovely, the thai food from the hotel's restaurant was lovely. Pool area away from the beach was quiet and clean.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Complicate direction to get back to the room and some areas were too dark.

    This resort offer you lots of activities that included in the room rate. Such as Yoga classes, kids area, doctor and etc..

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room I was given was really dark and with only one window door (entrance) through a small patio. I feel it was really overpriced, although if in the high season.

    Breakfast was good, nothing spectacular. The hotel is immediately on the beach and this is very cool, although no room has sea view.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Grand Deluxe Pool View
    • Stayed 14 nights

    Two times during our stay the hotel had overbooked. We didn`t get the room we had ordered, and got a downgraded room the first night. The overbooked situation was a problem in our second week too. The hotel must face this problem!

    Excellent breakfast. Good lokation.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Ground Terrace Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is very old and my room had big time problems with the shower. I needed to stay for few hours until they fix it. The staff at reception are not welcoming the guests and plus very rude while I was asking some questions about payment. I would not recommend this hotel to any young couple. There were mostly 60+ age couples. I even wanted to leave the hotel but they refused to refund my money.

    I liked everything tropical around the hotel. Restaurants are good as well for 4* hotel But the rooms and hotel are very old

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Grand Deluxe Pool View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was a problem with the sewage/drainage on the property and in several areas there were strong bad smells, including in certain areas of the restaurant by the pool, which made dining unpleasant. Food was not so good quality at the buffet, could have been more fresh. Staff were friendly, however, service tended to be a little slow. There were many staff in the restaurant, however they seemed to often congregate and stand together in one area rather than making rounds to check on diners and clear tables of empty dishes. Many times it was difficult to get their attention as they didn’t even look in our direction.

    Good location as direct beach access. Multiple pools and grounds were nice. Not too crowded and several options to choose from. Food at the restaurant by the sea was good. The beach area was nice, not too crowded.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Check in and check out below standard. Did not get room type nearer the beach that we booked, but were "upgraded" to rooms of less value to us. Pool bar cocktails are just melted ice with not much else.

    Good location for beach, restaurants, market and shops. Quiet adult atmosphere within hotel, nice pools. Would stay again if better priced.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Grand Deluxe Pool View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beach was very crowded, but if you like a busy beach with lots of activities, you will love it. If you want a quiet beach to just sit and look at the sea, then Kamala is not for you.

    The hotel is good value for money. We had a very big room with a nice little balcony.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Grand Deluxe Pool View
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Great complex right on the beach. Restaurants on 3-4 min walking distance. Big rooms with very comfortable bed and balcony (we received upgrade to a junior suite).

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2017

    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We stayed here for our honeymoon only for 3 days unfortunately ,the reception staff were amazing and the pools are great for relaxing or just to sit around .I cannot recommend the resteraunt by the sea enough the food is first class and it is right on the beach with excellent décor and superb staff who cannot do enough to make your meal enjoyable ,the room was very clean and spacious we were on the 6 floor but it gave a great view if you want a bit of luxury for that special someone in your life I recommend you stay here fantastic .

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 10 nights

    -Huge brown COCKROACHES (the size of the thumb) came into my room twice! Awful! When it came in the morning, it spoiled my mood for the rest of the day. It was not expected from 4* hotel. The huge cockroaches are also walking in the restaurant by the sea. It is not appropriate for me. I will never come back or recommend this hotel until the problem will be fixed forever. -For the rooms (at least deluxe type, numbers 3101 - 3110) renovation is strongly requred as well as for old furniture. -No SPA in the hotel.

    Perfect location, very friendly staff, nice breakfast, fantastic buffet dinner at the restaurant near the pool. Nice massage in the garden! Beach and sea is a paradise! This hotel has everything to become perfect, but...

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beds are hard (all beds in Thailand are)but they will provide a mattress topper if you ask. The A.C. could have done with a service, not a major problem.

    Location was execellent, right on the beach. Just brilliant, love Kamala beach. Quite and relaxing

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The food quality is ok, but not great. For the price though, we can't really complain. Maybe you can eat better in the little restaurants on the beachside of the hotel. The gym is quite small and dark and a bit messy. No space for more than 3/4 people in the same time.

    The beach is very good, especially in the early morning is almost empty!! The nice sea side walk with little shops that you can find right in front of the resort. Having 4 different pools spread out all the customers, so its quite easy to find a spot where to chill out without too many people around you. 2 different restaurants, even for breakfast. One over the beach side and one in the internal garden. A lot of green, very well maintained gardens.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Grand Deluxe Back View
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Thai food at the resort and close by along the beach front is not the best, make sure you venture out onto the streets for better food.

    The resort was fabulous for a relaxing 8 night stay, the staff were wonderful and the room was huge with everything we needed.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Grand Deluxe Back View
    • Stayed 14 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lunch and dinner menu aren't so good. Can get better food outside. The bathroom can be cleaner

    We got free upgrade, got a welcoming drink when checked in. Very helpful staff

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Grand Deluxe Pool View
    • Stayed 11 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Kamala beach itself is beautiful but needs tidying of the regular rubbish left behind from day guests

    The hotel is very nice, spacious room with very comfortable beds. The food at the restaurant was great and lots of choice on the menu, breakfast was also very good. Would stay at this hotel again

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Grand Deluxe Pool View
    • Stayed 8 nights

    we cant really complain. we will come back again and encourage our family and friends to visit when next in Phuket. Thank you Kamala Beach resort for your professionalism and a wonderful resort!

    we loved the Buffer breakfast and the location on the beach. the staff extremely friendly and always ensuring coffee was topped up. The pool was lovely. Having a choice of 4 was appealing. We enjoyed the peaceful atmosphere and found ourselves very relaxed.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    There was something wrong with A/C. It was too cold during the night and we cannot change it...

    Excellent! Very well located place with awsome support at reception desk. They helped with early check-in / late check-out. It's located just in front of Kamala Beach and has a good taxi service to help you to get to another places on the island. The hotel restaurant has a nice menu with thai/european food.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Beware of the cockroaches. We stayed in one of the 4 rooms located in the "Villa" next to the beach. When ground floor is using the water, the pressure drops consistently on the upper floor. AC is old, noisy and has a couple of weird DONT'S: drop temperature under 22, change the fan to auto mode, change the fan from turbo mode etc.

    The location is very good: close to the local restaurants, beach is a little cleaner then other parts, on the field next to the entry to hotel every Monday and Friday there is a very nice local market. Very close to the beach(we could hear the waves from our bedroom).

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Grand Deluxe Pool View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Only one restaurant opened without warning when booking, knowing that I made a half board booking. Exchange rate applicable to the hotel very very low. The breakfast ends at 10:30 am, I called 2 times at 10:15 am to ask me to serve in my room the answer is no with justification there are only 15 minutes left.

    Very good location with easy access to the beach. Staff all the time smiling and ready to help. Very comfortable bed. Three large pools.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We didn't like how there was only one set of toilets in close proximity available for all four swimming pools.

    The staff were very accommodating and went above & beyond for us.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 14 nights

    There was a bout of gastro related illness during our stay which affected a lot of clients including people in our group (3 out of 4, only I escaped it). Not enough was done to contain it by the hotel and no information was shared by them to the guests. It is a shame it was badly handled and affected our holiday as I thought the food in general was good . Room maintenance issue was reported 3 times by one of our group and not fixed

    During low season there was plenty of space in restaurant and pool. Double rooms are a good size Breakfast buffet had reasonable choice of options

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Grand Deluxe Pool View
    • Stayed 14 nights

    The menu gets old after the first week. The hotel drinks are average at best. The beach is only good immediately at the hotel waterfront. Beyond that the area is very unkept. The tide is the determining factor whether you can go in the sea. There are permanent dangerous to swim red signs posted. At high tide the waves are strong enough to take out an adult. There is a low tide approximately every twelve hour where the ocean is very nice.

    The breakfast buffet is good. The pools are nice and the policy of no lounger reservation before 10am is good.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Grand Deluxe Back View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Amazing clean beach on the doorstep. Shuttle to Patong is great for some shopping/parties. Staff are very good and always have a smile on their face. Breakfast and restaurant food was top notch. This place was so good we extended our stay TWICE!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Grand Deluxe Pool View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Shallow sea, so you need to walk a few minutes before you can swim. Garbage is everywhere.

    One minute walk from the beach (if your room near the beach of course). The hotel is very big: four pools and a lot of buildings on the territory.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Grand Deluxe Pool View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    You can't get better than this!!!

    One of the best hotels in the world I 've ever stayed in... And I 've stayed in a lot!!! Maybe Kamala sounds not such a great place...but in this hotel with it woths every cent!!!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Grand Deluxe Pool View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Great beach resort with excellent amenities, located on Kamala beach. Friendly staff and good quality of food, amazing breakfast at the beach restaurant overlooking the sea and nice sunset in the evening. A recommended resort for family, couple or friends!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Grand Deluxe Pool View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very nice hotel, large bedrooms, very comfortable beds, loved the swimming pools, beach, restaurant meals and other facilities. Excellent staff attention!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Grand Deluxe Pool View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The property is quite old and needs renovation A lot of places are quite smelly Taxi drivers staying in front of the hotel are expensive and opportunistic

    Front office & Restaurant staff are veryvattentive & helpful, Wifi is good, Restaurant food is good

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Grand Deluxe Pool View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Nothing!

    Absolutely everything! On our arrival we got an upgrade of our room from deluxe to grand deluxe pool view on the top floor. The room was spacious and comfortable with a big bathroom equipped with all the necessary toiletries. The view from the balcony was amazing (the pool, palm trees and the mountains in the distance). The resort was quiet (we were there in low season). So big that you feel private. It is situated just by the beautiful beach. Breakfast was delicious, served at the restaurant by the sea! Prices at the restaurant - very reasonable. The staff - both at the reception and in the restaurant - very helpful and friendly. We stayed there for one week, went to Koh Samui, which we didn't like, and returned for 6 more days to Kamala Sunprime Resort because we liked it so much.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Air conditioning was a bit dated in our room, could have worked better. My son had a room on a different block and his seemed better. Breakfast was lovely but had two evening meals in hotel and wasn't great.

    Loved the buffet breakfast, looking out on to the beach each morning, staff were excellent very helpful. Had massage and pedicure in the hotel and it wasn't any more expensive than outside.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 11 nights

    The Room Service food. Very disappointing. Don't do it!

    We loved the resort, the way it looked & everything. The Staff were friendly and helpful. Alan from the restaurant was amazing, and also Aris. Very nice, friendly people. We loved the pools, too many options. The Restaurant by the Sea was also nice. The breakfast buffet also was great. Plus, the fact that it was a real beachfront hotel - very very nice. It was a good location as well. You can walk to restaurants by the beach and some shops. We wanted a not-too-busy area and we got it, so it was great. But even if it was not that busy, everything we needed were still within reach, which made us enjoy our holiday.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Location wasn't ideal. Along the beach there are a few restaurants and closer to Sunwing (Sunprime's next-door neighbour) there was a small town with basic facilities eg. exchange booths, ATMs, pharmacy etc. If wanting to escape the hustle and bustle, this is the place for you.

    Staff were very friendly and the breakfast was great. On-site restaurant had good food. Loved the multiple swimming pools and bars. The shuttle service to Phuket shopping centres was very well-priced compared to local taxi prices.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Ground Terrace Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    some of the fans in the restaurant are not clean and put me off eating close to it and the menus very limited so not worth for all inclusive coz after few days we got fed up with same menu.

    all staff are very friendly and helpful and facililities are very good. We stayed in adults only section and had good holiday, will recommend it.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Ohh,there was a water leak on the glass wall coming out from the shower rm..although it somehow disappoint us,however it was quickly clean up by the staff soon after we made a call.

    Hotel staff were all friendly,all wearing their best smiles,food was great specially breakfast!i love the pancake and french toast perfectly done! The room is clean very comfy bed,you made us WOW with rm. upgrade to De Luxe FOC! Reception staff are all polite thanks to Peemai for attending to us promptly.Restaurant by the beach staffs are all friendly,I was impressed by thier hospitality.special thanks to Anthony,Allan&Alvin,beach boys Lionel&Leo,making sure we always got clean towels😊to the management thank you for a bottle of sparkling wine,platter of fruits&flower as a birthday surprise you made my day extra special.Excellent service!we will definitely comeback..keep it up KAMALA!😍😉

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room very unconfortable with air conditioning device right above the bed..couldn't sleep with it on and if you switch it off you wake up all sweaty,bathroom very basic. Some of the restaurant staff were ok but some were very rude,late checkout not available only for extra tax ,quality of food was very poor,found pieces of hair in a pizza I ordered for room service

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The beach wasn't the softest of sand and water quiet choppy in low season.

    Beautiful hotel; pools were amazing;breakfast plentiful; rooms clean, modern and spacious; staff couldn't do more to help...a dream!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Grand Deluxe Pool View
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Can't think of anything we didn't like.

    We loved the staff- they were so accommodating and friendly at all times! The facilities were great- beautiful pools, pool bars, restaurant had an amazing view right in the ocean front & we really liked the gym and free fitness classes. Free wi-Fi was a bonus too.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Grand Deluxe Pool View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    We had booked three rooms . One room had an unfresh smell. Combination bath/shower.

    Extraordinairy choice of breakfast. Friendly staff. Great atmosphere. Taxis readily available.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This is a large resort which some will love and some will hate. It's not really my cup of tea, but I enjoyed my time here anyway. The walk along the road to the town is a little precarious and there was plenty of rubbish on the beach - the resort should advocate for the government to change these things or do something about it themselves. It is their responsibility as it's their backyard and they profit from the location. I'm sure they could hire a young or disadvantaged person to clean the beach each day - it wouldn't be a big job.

    Having a choice of 4 swimming pools was great. The fitness classes were excellent - a lot of people joined in the Aquarobics. Rooms are spacious and comfortable. Balconies are a good size.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Ground Terrace Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Decaf coffee was old, not good. We were waiting for waitress too long, cups for coffee were dirty. The glass/window in the bathroom is very bad idea as there was swimming pool before our room so everybody can see WHO is taking a shower Ánd also i was there with my friend, we had 2 separate beds so we do not want to see each other during shower or in the toilet.

    Nice big apartment, Nice pool, hotel near the small village with some restaurants

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Grand Deluxe Pool View
    • Stayed 10 nights

    the only no so positive point is to me the lack of choice on the menu for dinner since we had HB, we were there for 10 days and after a wile we didn't know what to get anymore, no item on the menu stood out to the point of us wanting to repeat it so towards the end of our stay we just looked for dinner alternatives elsewhere.

    it was a dream vacation... loved it... great location just on the beach, weather was good, rain here and there but never enough to ruin your day. the rooms were cleaned everyday, Sopa did a amazing job. Reception staff was always super helpful and friendly. We took a boat trip to Phi Phi islands and OMG, simply the best experience ever, i highly recommend it, also we went to the Central Festival for shopping, big big shopping mall with a little bit for everyone. We will surely be back.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Grand Deluxe Pool View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were in a poolside room where the beds are 2 singles joined together with a thin king mattress so had a lump down the middle. We were given another mattress which made it very soft but still not very comfortable.

    Great large room near the pool with swim up bar. Pools are warm. Loved the tropical feel with lots of palms and coconut trees. We were here off season so it was nice and quiet and always lounges available. Wonderful location right on the beach.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 9 nights

    Nothing negative to remember, it was a dream vacation

    Great location, paradise-like Kamala beach is just 2 minutes away The sea is wonderful, waves from time to time allowing to spend hours and hours bathing Nice restaurant with great food in the hotel (quite good breakfast and delicious meals alacarte in the evening), also a number of small places to have meals near the beach (imho Lillo Island offers the best food) Nice pool-side bar with good choice of beverages and tasty coffee The room was quite big but cozy, well-conditioned Transfer from/to airport was organised well, staff was friendly all the time

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pool bar staff are a little slow to react to new customers and are not always the nicest.

    Good location. Breakfast buffet is quite good. On site restaurant does decent food (including western offerings) if too lazy to find an external restaurant. Received a free upgrade to a junior suite which had a nice bath. Plenty of pools to choose from. Right on the beach. On site grocery store.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Resturant food is worst! Tour prices sells at double the price outside hotel. Not welcoming staff not trained! Rooms are basic! Shower is below average with weak water pressures!! Toiletary is below average!

    The only thing is it's location like in the middle of kamala, access to beach of no good use give the level of waves and risky to swim!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The cleanliness of the beaches I was very disappointed with that but up the road just a short trip the beaches were Clean

    Overall the staff was excellent anything we need anytime we want to get they were there they were Virgil corneous the concierge directed us to several of sightseeing trips overall just a great experience would recommend it again

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Ground Terrace Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There were cockroaches everywhere, both in the rooms and beach side restaurant, very bad smell in the closets.

    Breakfast is delicious, staff very friendly, nice pool area.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Grand Deluxe Pool View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    They closed one of the restaurants for the breakfast session during a very busy period?

    I really liked the location as it was away from the busy areas of Patong but still close enough to go and visit. The local restaurants were nice and a short walk along the beach

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Grand Deluxe Pool View
    • Stayed 14 nights

    Perfect place for spending your holidays in Phuket Island. Adult only policy is a winner! What we liked especially: * many pools, pool bar, lots of sunbeds * clean sandy beach just next to the hotel * huge room with very big balcony * location - walking distance to Kamala * attentive and helpful staff * fast free wifi everywhere in the hotel * well kept green areas I recommend booking option with breakfast and for other meals trying restaurants and small stalls in Kamala. That being said, restaurant in the hotel is also a good option if you don't feel like going out (tasty food, good selection of thai and european meals). Overall we really liked this place, highly recommended.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Grand Deluxe Pool View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was very uncomfortable. The taxis are a mafia in Phuket, specially compared to Bangkok, so do not expect to negotiate and be ready to pay unfair rates specialy for short distances (where you cannot go walking) Some of the staff were really nice. Some other extremely rude (in particular one waiter at the restaurant)

    Good Hotel, great beach, big rooms and great swimingpools ! The restaurant was fantastic for lunch and dinner, although we went outside most of the days. Breakfast good with great fresh fruit and a bit of everything for all tastes Cafe del Mar bar is at walking distancr, as well as some other local spots Close to Patong by cab, for a more busy/party evening

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Grand Deluxe Pool View
    • Stayed 14 nights

    I would suggest taking your own iron.

    Excellent choices for breakfast with more than you could possible eat. There is something for everyone. The bed was very comfy & the room was actually larger than we expected which was good. Cleaners were in everyday & they did a fantastic job. We had no issues with our room at all. Even the wifi was a reasonable speed. The pools were hugh & more than enough loungers for everyone. If fancy the beach instead then all you have to do is literally step outside of the hotel & you are there. There are a number of restaurants along the beachfront to choose from, we tried most & enjoyed all of them. If you want to try in town then thats just a 5minute walk away, again with a fantastic choice of restaurants to choose from.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The wifi was a little slow and the tv reception wasn't good.

    I like the morning breakfast buffet and the pools. The staff were really friendly and easy to talk to in English. Easy access to the beach as well.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 10 nights

    We arrived at 9 and we had to wait 2 hours for our room. Terribly unpleasant after a 12 hour overnight flight. In the low season when most of the rooms are empty we havent got room update :(

    Kamala beach Hotel was wonderfull, with a friendly feeling, perfect position on beach . Hotel offer everything what is need , pools , perfect restaurants and facilities for sport or relax time. The most of hotel employees (60%) were very friendly, attentive and always had a smile on their face professional and go out of their way to make your holiday enjoyable ( especially Tinn, Aris and Wing) .The facilities are absolutely amazing and stunning traditional Thai and very nice, calm environment. Everything is well maintained and extremely clean. Room (3307) was perfectly clean, just the old airconditional system had noise in the night. The food is allways fresh and good quality. We ate dinner at the restaurants in the hotel because they are not too overpriced, but had reliable quality of food with nice enviroment. The beach was amazing, and clean I loved this holiday and loved the country and great town near by and great fod thank you Sunwing, will definitely go back again!!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Grand Deluxe Back View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Super clean, mostly adult couples, excellent food, massages available on site. As it was low seaaon, no entertainment - fine with us, plenty of sunneds. Great helpful staff...with a little broken English

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Grand Deluxe Back View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    So calm with no activities, We found it boring for young couples Coupons for towels was not a good touch! Some of the staff at the restaurant are not acting in a hospitality manner, may be due to the lack of management/supervisory presence .. Huge hotel, on the beach but the mountain view rooms are far away from it!

    Location of the hotel The cleanliness and greenery of the hotel Breakfast was good (I only tried continental)

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Grand Deluxe Back View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms all seem to have high volume traffic as main routes around the hotel or traffic on the outside, the property is old and rooms not insulated well to block out noise. Ask for a room off the ground floor and at the back or side of the resort!

    The location was great and swimming pools fantastic.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Grand Deluxe Back View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Breakfast at the Seaside restaurant can get a bit crowded (maybe earlier was better, I dont know)- and a little too hot for comfort in the mornings. I think more fans blowing at low or medium speed are needed. But when the sea breeze came through it was lovely. But despite the business and the heat the staff were always faultlessly friendly happy and efficient. The room was upgraded to a "suite" but its really nothing fancy - just a big sparse space. BUT, the little balcony was wonderful looking out on lush jungle in the early morning. Id have liked a little bit more information on check-in, or in-room info 'folder'- I was given sheets of paper. Eg. 1. Arriving late in the evening and wanting to swim immediately i took my pool-key down to the pool only to find poolside towel exchange closes at 5pm, so it was a walk back again to reception to get a towel there. Eg. 2. Also its not possible to book at the massage pavillion in the resort, and when I found it , discovered it was cash only - I couldnt sign for my Room No. like the restaurants and poolbars do - so I had to go all the way back to the ATM by the minimart to get some cash out.

    The staff are amazing. The minimart and ATM facilities are really useful. Also the big bath was fabulous, very relaxing with head-rests, to sit and look out at jungle or watching TV on my ipad. The pools are awesome with a few toys like balls and volleyball net up....and the poolbars and their menu and again, the staff just great. Pool showers available at all pools. Also by the seaside pool so if you swim at the beach you can just step into the hotel boundary and use the shower by the pool and head back to the beach. After 12:00 checkout I stayed until 3:30 using the pool/towel and there is one shower in the downstairs toilet room you can use before you leave. Just be careful of your timing though as I had to wait about 10 min as there were people in front of me. Friday night local Kamala market is just next to the hotel like 50M in a big open lot. Its an easy walk to little Kamala town via the beach then pathway over a small bridge. Plenty of awesome massage pavillions along the beach. Sunset massages were Nirvana! Theres a collection of little local restaurants a short walk along beach path to the left of the resort. Make sure you go all the way to the corner and eat at Nanork Seafood, and maybe stop at BobMarley inspired "Bobs Bar" on the way home. Very chilled out. Love the Resort Bar cocktails- espec Pineapple frozen Daqcuiri by the pool, the refreshing "Phuket Paradise', and the sweet Kamala Dream ( Kahlua, Amaretto, Baileys and fresh banana )

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Grand Deluxe Pool View
    • Stayed 8 nights

    Meaningless swimming pools. The temperature gets over 30+ and it is simply impossible to swim there. The timing of rooms cleaning. Usually they cleaned our room from 12 to 13. We would prefer it to happen simply earlier. The A/C was quite noisy and intrusive. We lived in 62XX room and when we went to beach /restaurant, there was a small area with awful and lousy smell.

    I would recommend the hotel to my friends. We liked the beach, friendly staff, live music playing every evening (quite good as well). Tsunami Memorial Park, a tourist street with restaurants, cafes, currency exchange boxes and etc. are very close to the hotel. We liked the price level. All services such as massages, taxis, cafes are the same comparing to outside services

    Stayed in April 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: