Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Katathani Phuket Beach Resort 5 stars

14 Kata Noi Rd., 83100 Kata Beach, Thailand

#15 of 85 hotels in Kata Beach

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1044 hotel reviews

8.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.7

  • Comfort

    8.7

  • Location

    8.9

  • Facilities

    8.8

  • Staff

    8.6

  • Value for money

    7.9

  • Free WiFi

    6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Thani Wing Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit isolated. Need to get taxi to go anywhere. Far from airport. Small lobby for size of hotel.

    Katathani is a beautiful property with huge grounds on a beautiful beach. Lovely rooms, staff and great breakfast. Loved sitting in deck chairs watching the ocean. Kids loved kids club. Best rooms are Thani wing beach front from what I could see.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The first room we were in was smelly, poor view, best rooms are around the pool. Now we know the lay out I would request room with pool view.

    Room had lovely outlook onto pool, very clean and would recommend the resort. Very family oriented . Number of pools to choose from and great clean beach front.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only negative is the food at the restaurants is not that great. The breakfast buffet and lunch menu by pools are excellent. However, the dinners at the resort restaurants are just ok and rather pricy. Go off site for more authentic, delicious, and affordable food.

    Everything about the resort was spectacular from the views to the amenities. Will definitely return.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Thani Wing Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wasn’t too impressed with the staff, who was a little patronizing, while checking-in. We were told to wait “5-10 minutes” for our room to be ready, and were promptly forgotten. It wasn’t until my husband went to check on the status that they realised that we were still waiting and got someone to bring us to our room. Service of the staff at the hotel are a hit and miss. Breakfast was okay, not much variety, and not much change in the three mornings we ate there. Room service is 24 hours, but food options are limited. Room and toilet could do with a facelift or better maintenance.

    Resort is great for families with kids; multiple adult (there’s an adult-only pool for those who wants some peace and quiet) and kiddy pools (with slides!), a kid’s club (A great backup plan for rainy days. Since it didn’t rain the entire duration of our stay and our toddler preferred to be outdoors, we didn’t try the club), multiple restaurants, a gym, a games room, massage and spa, sea sports, and a direct acess to the beach. This resort is basically self contained! The junior suite we stayed in was clean and spacious, but was already showing signs of age and could be better maintained. Was expecting a better room for the price we paid. We went to the pool directly after checking-in in the afternoon and when we got back after dinner, we discovered that our room was infested with mayflies! The flies weren’t there when we first checked in and we didn’t open the balcony doors, so no one really knew where the flies came from! The hotel offered to change the sheets (most of the flies were on the bed), but we didn’t see how that would fix the problem and weren’t comfortable sleeping with the flies, so we requested for a room change. Thankfully, there was another room available, and we managed to get a switch. The hotel compound is huge, with lots of space for little ones to run around! We stayed at Thani Wing, which is near the main lobby, but the kiddy pools are located at Bhuri Wing, and is a good walking distance (5-10 minutes with a toddler) away. We regretted not bringing our stroller along, because our toddler got tired of walking pretty quickly and we had to carry her around. There are also a couple of restaurants and shops along the main street (within walking distance outside the resort) with cheaper food, drinks and supply alternatives.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Thani Wing Junior Suite
    • Stayed 12 nights

    There are only one time per day shuttle buses to Patong and Phuket town. Shuttle bus schedules is inconvenient and timing is too short - only 3 hours between departure and the return trip - that means one has less then 2 hours for shopping/sightseeing in Patong and Phuket town. No shuttle bus to the nearest Kata beach walking street was available --> local tuk-tuk/taxi charge incredible 200 bahts for 1 minute trip to and 200 bahts for 1 minute trip back. Taking into account the steep ascent and descent along a narrow road without a sidewalk along which the same tuk-tuks are going through in Formula-1 stile and breaking all the driving rules, walking to Kata and back with child/children turns into a dangerous adventure. As I see it - that this is probably is considered by hotel management as a plus for the business - the guests spend more at the hotel's restaurants, but we most probably will not go to this hotel any more and most probably we will not advice our friends to visit Katathani. One should keep in mind that Kata Noi beach remoteness leads to that all other local service providers: e. g. restaurants, massage salons, laundry, gift-shops will be noticeably more expensive then generally in Phuket.

    The hotel occupies almost the entire bay, which helps to have a clean beach - a big plus compared to other Phuket beaches - at first glance - it is just a paradise. Patong in this regard is more like a garbage dump. Hotel provides ample number of pools and sunbeds around pools and there is a good water-park for kids. The hotel is generally very child friendly. Good wi-fi speed. Good breakfasts.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing everything was great.

    Everything it was peaceful and beautiful. And the fast lifestyle of Patong Beach and Kata were very close for everything else. The private beach was great as were the restaurants nearby. I will be back. ..

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff was friendly, but no since of urgency to address problems.

    Property was beautiful, right on enormous beach was essentially private because of location.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Thani Wing Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    the room facilities are a bit old, some staff are not smiling, a bit impatient;of course some are very friendly and helpful.

    The view from the room is very nice, the pool is super good, the food by the pool is great, I think the beach is the best in Phuket;

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Pool View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lack of evening entertainment leaves the hotel feeling very empty which is such a shame for this beautiful hotel. Bar prices are expensive compared to local bars & restaurants.

    Beautiful hotel, nice breakfast, lovely room, super clean grounds, great location away from the madness of Phuket/Patong & fantastic beach.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A few more toilets near the beach would be useful.

    The setting on Kata Beach is breathtaking. There are many good quality restaurants and facilities on site. The on site spa was excellent. Staff were professional and friendly.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Pool View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Only the hotel and a few restaurants in walking distance, and only two shuttle buses, once a day to nearby places. Taxis were a plenty, but didn't always stick to the published tariff.

    Although we didn't take up the offer, it was possible to get our mattress and or pillows changed to suit our comfort. The staff were very friendly, the breakfast very good, more swimming pools then I expected, and an adult pool! The whole place was clean and tidy and towels were supplied daily for the room and the pool.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Pool View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room was a bit disappointing though. It's pretty dirty and staff would walk inside the room with their shoes. No one seemed to mop the floor during the three days we stayed there so please remember to bring your own slippers if you care about cleanliness like me.

    The location of the resort is great! It's right next to the beautiful Kata Noi Beach. The facilities were wonderful and met the needs of different people. There were many pools and chairs for us to relax. The restaurant served quite a variety of fresh food. I really enjoyed my stay there and would definitely come back again.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Grand Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There’s not much to not like, the place is beautiful. If you want somewhere away from the hustle and bustle this is it. Kata is a 5 minute taxi ride away.

    What didn’t we like, this hotel is amazing. The rooms, the choice of pools, the facilities, the food, the staff, the beach. Truly a little slice of heaven, we would not have stayed anywhere else. This resort is like a little village in itself with cute walkways, very well taken care of and presented. 6 swimming pools, from kids pools, adult only pools, family pools. Activities such as aqua aerobics, yoga, Thai boxing. Several restaurants and bars dotted about and best of all, on its own beach. The beach does not get too busy and it’s very clean. We liked to sit at the bar when the sun went down for an amazing sunset. The breakfast is varied and there’s a choice of 2 restaurants for breakfast , we favoured the beachside restaurant. So much to say about this place.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Pool View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Maybe it's more cultural, but when the hotel staff says, "Right away," it really means more like "in a while." I had to call back a few times to get bed changed from two twins to the queen I'd reserved. Also, the shower was clogged with hair the first night when we first tried to use it, but housekeeping did come and clean it...took a while to clean however, and we'd been traveling all day.

    The property was actually very beautiful and well maintained. Large beach is essentially a private beach and water was clear. There were also plenty of shaded deck chairs as well. Nearby town of Kata has many excellent restaurant choices which are very affordable. My kids used the tennis courts which are in good shape, and the bellman drove them there on the golf cart because they were a bit far from our part of the resort. Morning buffet was wonderful, and we ate at several of the restaurants, which were surprisingly affordable for a resort.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Thani Wing Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed-sheets, towels are not cleanliness; the food of breakfast is realy only of average level (overcooked rice and meet); The staff was really awful (they don’t know what is smile, especially for Chinese)except the girl who help me check in; we put our luggage in front desk, no one care about them when we leave; bathroom drain not working. The resort is poorly managed, NOT WORTH it for the price.

    Good location, good beach, good Aqua sports.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Thani Wing Grand Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They have an issue with you bringing guests to the resort My mum met us there as we live in Australia and she lives in the UK but they made a big deal about her sitting round the pool with us and a security guard even asked us to leave!!

    The resort is huge and the facilities endless The kids pool is amazing The buffet breakfast really good choices and quality The place was clean and very comfortable

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Thani Wing Grand Suite
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The biggest issue is the restaurant near the lobby. Its next to the pool. The quality of food was terrible. we never ate there after that. Its a shame as it lets the whole place down. Hotel needs to sort.

    great place for families. has everything you need.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Thani Wing Junior Suite
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor quality of rooms, terrible beach towels. Tired decor in rooms and around pool, bit too far out of town. The most annoying thing was no policy to prevent people grabbing pool chairs at 8am and then not using them all day!

    Good facilities for children, beautiful beach, plenty of eating options. Friendly staff. Great Easter activities free of charge.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The restaurants were a bit expensive in the resort,as expected better outside resort, washing machines were a bit dirty and coin operated worked out expensive, but great they were available the day the children went to kids club, they just walked out without the staff stopping them, lucky a family member was passing at the time.

    We were a large family group 19 in total 9 children 6 years old and under, we picked the hotel because of what we read about the children's pools and kids club, they all loved the pools and water slides, hair braiding and nail painting, breakfast was really good.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Pool View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The a/c doesn't have an 'auto', so it was ridiculously cold. Breakfast buffet could've had more variety of dishes.

    The beach was stunning in both water clarity and cleanliness. The resort was at the end of a road with chaises on greens in the shade of palms. The bed was comfy. Breakfast buffet was ample. Great for families, but also for couples too.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Thani Wing Junior Suite
    • Stayed 9 nights

    excellent breakfast in terms of quality and quantity.

    Excellent infrastructure, unique location for its access to the 1300 steps long and 150 steps wide sandy beach basically private for the guests' resort. The construction concept which basically gives a sea view to all rooms.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Thani Wing Grand Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff across the board, I found them to be extremely unaccomadating, they were not interested in helping with anything and often said no to requests with a smile on their face as if they enjoyed it. The check in process was a nightmare, the rooms were not ready at checkin time so we had to wait an hour (although we got a free coffee and cake for this). The massage was good but the massage ladies wouldn’t stop talking and laughing to each other the whole way through so very difficult to relax. Despite booking on the website that I needed 5 people, the room was only for 4 so I had to pay extra for a small bed to be put in. Overall I found katathani to be a glorified budget hotel. Bad buffet food, bad coffee, bad service but in a beautiful location.

    Sunset from here is amazing, the hotel looks very nice, the pools are nice

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Pool View
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was amazing! The best place in Phuket to stay with kids. The playing area and aqua area is very nice, SAFE, clean. The hotel in itself is quit big and almost full, but it’s not crowdy due to big amount of facilities. Room service and cleaning was good, breakfast as well. The beach is very nice, clean and not crowdy as well. The territory is green and beautiful. I will come back with my kid.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Thani Wing Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The street is just under our rooms, it is a little noisy.

    The view is great , you can see the beach from the room. And there are many pools. My kid loves it.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Thani Wing Grand Suite
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is nothing I didn't like about this place. No complaints at all!!!!

    Everything! Kids club, kids waterpark, amazingly friendly and attentive staff, location was incredible, facilities were first class as was the food and best of all the ladies that walk around the grounds offering massages while you lay by the pool. The list goes on! I would recommend this place to anyone. We went with a three year old and it was the perfect holiday. Note we stayed in the Thani wing in a junior suite which is quite literally beachfront. The buri wing is not beachfront, as show on the hotel website map.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Thani Wing Junior Suite
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed size. Bathroom a bit dated. Too many rules - didn’t feel as relaxed as other resorts. Location means you are stuck in area unless you want to pay 400 baht for a taxi

    Great variety at breakfast. Numerous pools, including great kids pool. Essentially in a private beach with the clearest water I’ve ever seen

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We started off with a very dull room in the older part of the resort, which was smelly & had the view of a back lane....very depressing. Management (Leah) changed us to a much nicer room in a newer part of the resort, thank goodness & things started to look up from there. Please check your choice of rooms when booking. Other than that, it’s a lovely spot & great for relaxing.

    The beautiful grounds, choice of swimming pools, great bars & eateries within the resort. Enjoyed that breakfast was included. Loved the poolside massages.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Thani Wing Junior Suite
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is simply too huge and the amount of people going for breakfast were enormous.

    I like the little village just outside of the hotel, with restaurants and shops was nice

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Pool View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Loved the breakfast buffet. Great variety and yummy coffee. Great amount of pools and nice that they have mini marts on site that are reasonably priced and there’s a clinic too for boo-boos staffed by two nurses. It’s at the end of the road which makes it quiet and less riff raffy, with its own private beach.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We got a deluxe room which we expected to be on the beach so this was very dissapointing as it was across the road from the beach .Also the deluxe room was not of a good standard. We wanted to leave as we also found out the hotel is not 5 star. We spoke to the manger Johnathan and he was very understanding and helpful . He assisted us by accommodating us in a newly renovated room which we really like for 3 days and then upgraded us to a grand suite on the beach side of the resort for another 4 days. We were very grateful to Johnathan as we really enjoyed the stay. Kata beach is one of the best, clean and not crowded . The resort facilities ,restaurants were excellent . Would definitely recommend this resort for families . All facilities we used were of 5 star quality . I think some of the deluxe rooms are being upgraded . Had a great and comfortable time . Thanks again to Johnathan for making our stay a memorable one.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Thani Wing Junior Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We only ate at the seafood restaurant on one of the nights to celebrate an important Birthday. The food was terrible, over-priced and the waiter was officious and rude. Everything else about the resort was very good, but this experience spoiled our holiday to a certain extent.

    The grounds and pools were wonderful. Staff very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Pool View
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Service at restaurants was below average; staff accidentally entering our room at 4:30am was very unsettling; bed was not comfortable; food was average; air con either freezing or off; WiFi and internet speeds absolutely terrible; too many people on the resort. Service was generally not 5 star.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Pool View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The room was a little run down and there was no tub in the Bhuri Wing. Mosquitoes and winged ants were found in the room... i guess there's not much we can do about it especially we are so close to mother nature.

    The facilities were great. There were 6 swimming pools (including 2 pools for kids with slides) and we were practically right by the beach. The breakfast spread was fine. Fruits were great and kids get to make their own mini pancakes. We stayed at the Bhuri Wing this time and our room was connected by a terrace to a nice lawn where the kids had fun running in and out of the room. The terrace was wonderful for us to hang dry our swim suits as well.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Grand Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The resort is somewhat secluded which is a major perk. As a result it is about an hour shuttle ride back to Phuket and Phuket harbor for boat excursions.

    Amazingly friendly and helpful staff. Beautiful grounds and pools. Beach is a public beach and very beautiful. Excellent breakfast every morning. Walking or short taxi ride to shopping and restaurants.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There were alot of bird droppings at balcony. Room is old. Hotel staff isn’t very well versed in English.

    There were alot of facilities for kids. Hotel is quite secluded and quiet, perfect for people who wants to get away from city buzz.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Thani Wing Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It`s a great place which we want to visit again. Good sea view, nice beach, excellent service from the staff. Out of the hotel, we can also easily find good restaurant. I want to specially appreciate to the staff who help to find taxi. We need to go to another small hotel for rest during the time after we check out and before we go to airport. it`s really small and new, so less people know it. The staffs helped me to call the hostel, check the location and explain to taxi driver to ensure he knows where we will go. It really helped us a lot. Good memory. We will visit again.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Pool View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The surrounding (a 300 meters long road) just offers: 5 restaurants (with almost the same food) 4 massage shops 3 small convenience store (one 7-Eleven) Couple of souvenir shops & nothing much more. Taxi from and to hotel are very expensive compare to average ride cost in Thailand, even for reaching the very near Kata beach.

    We booked EMERALD SUITE, excellent for traveling with family and/or old parents together (two separate rooms and two toilet). View is perfect (just on the beach) and bed is extraordinary comfortable, breakfast has wide choice suitable for all tastes Hotel is REALLY beach front, sea & beach very clean Internet Wi-Fi reachable also from the nearby streets staff gentle, efficient and very caring. A mini van from airport took and send us (our flight arrived in Phuket at 2:45 am and depart from Phuket at 3:45 am): each ride cost was 1700 Thai baht (around 50 USD) and one hour drive.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Food and drink a bit on the pricey side.

    We loved it here. The beach was beautiful. The staff were very helpful. I was impressed that we could choose what kind of mattress we wanted. And they were the only hotel that did something special because it was our honeymoon. They extra little things count for a lot. So thank you

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Grand Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 9 nights

    A bit outdated rooms in Pacific wing.

    Great breakfasts, big territory, a lot of restaurants and cafes (in the hotel and nearby), fantastic beach (wide and clean). Rooms are spacious and well designed. Quite place. Good for families.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Grand Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 10 nights

    There was no such thing ... perhaps due to the expansion of the hotel, the noise of construction ...

    The hotel is located on an excellent, very peaceful and beautiful beach. :-)

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Thani Wing Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had a great experience, the beach and the ocean view is spectacular, the staff is too positive and helpful, great breakfast!! Beds are very comfortable and rooms are clean. Thanks Katathani

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Grand Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only issue is they're already booked for next year when we want to come again! Also villas would be a massive plus point for staying with kids but it wouldn't stop me coming again!

    Staff were amazing! Room was clean and airy and facilities were fantastic! Staff knew my youngest sons name and always came to talk to him and my other children. We stayed in a deluxe family room but there was enough room for all of us (youngest in a cot). Breakfast was amazing and the children's pool was a great place for the kids to cool down and have fun. Nothing was too much for them and they were also able to recommend a tailor for my husband to get some suits made, which were second to none!!!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Pool View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We liked everything about the hotel. The room, the pools, the service, the staff, the location and the food, everything was excellent. We had a wonderful time.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Pool View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The rooms have a bit of dampness from the humidity .. hence a wet smell.

    The Staff is extremely friendly. Particularly Laila front desk manager , and the friendly guard who made sure we crossed over the grass to the beach safely . Laila , she really went above and beyond to make our stay comfortable.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    very disappointing for a 5 star hotel. Breakfast was really not good and the room was overlooked by another block of flats.

    the massages by the pool area

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Grand Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    1.I expect to stay in a hotel in front of the beach as I see pictures before booking, but there are two places in the hotel and the room I booked was behind the road. It seems to be two different hotels. Also I didn't expected to stay in the last room of the hotel, very far from main lounge and beach. It make difference when you have child. 2. The driver almost sleeping as our transfer was early morning.

    Place good for child and family

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Grand Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Even though I'd emailed ahead and checked they hadn't realised we had 2 children with us but very quickly made up the extra beds at 2.30 in the morning when we arrived.

    Loved everything about Katathani. Beautiful setting right on the beach, amazing pools, extremely family friendly, everything has been thought of and service excellent! Wonderful little restaurants within walking distance and inexpensive (our favourite Siam Smile). Stayed in Grand Deluxe room with 2 adults and 2 children - very modern. Close to everything we needed. Dicious breakfasts included. Looking forward to staying for another few nights when we return from Phi Phi.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Chom talay buffet - very very average. But having said that Reuben and his band of musicians were fantastic.

    There were some great staff working there.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Pool View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    70 percent of the staff we have encountered are not friendly and had a bad attitude. Feels like they are sick of tourists yet they work for a hotel?? The room is very damp for some reason with a strange smell, especially the bed linen are very damp and the mirrors in the room are frosty. Poor experience overall.

    Facilities are good

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The guy in the reception area was not helpful. His face was full of anger and nervous . I was surprise because i know this is not the habit of Thai people they are always smiling and willing to do anything to satisfy their guests .

    The beach was amazing and having breakfast there was awesome

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Maybe little busy at check in

    Imaculate resort Food excellent I just love it Third trip to Thailand and will always stay there Fantastic for families and little children as well Pools are wonderful The most amazing sunsets Like heaven x

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Grand Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Breakfast - not too bad, though I would have liked more variety in the local food (which was always some kind of fried noodle, and a type of congee!) Thailand has much more variety that that!

    The place was excellent. Location - next to Kata Noi Beach, almost like a private beach. Facilities - we stayed at the new Bhuri Wing, there was a Kid's Club and a Kid's Water Park. Staff - were very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Thani Wing Junior Suite
    • Stayed 9 nights

    One staff member at pool bar very rude and not suited to deal with the public. Watched a young child chase and kill a small dove whilst being filmed and cheered on by his mum and no staff member interfered - different culture I suppose. very disappointing.

    The staff generally, the facilities, the pools, the beach. Amazing views and a wonderful location if you require no stimulation or any activities

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Grand Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Checking in took a very long time. Bookings were done a long time ago but the hotel ran short of the room category and was desperately trying to downgrade rooms by offering free dinner and massages

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Thani Wing Junior Suite
    • Stayed 14 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing .

    Our room over looked the adult only pool and a bar, we were fifty metres walk from the main breakfast room. The breakfast was great, Thai restaurant great, staff magnificent. A wonderful venue we will return.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Grand Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location is not good if you like to surf at kata beach. You have to take a taxi which cost you 200 bacht oneway. Reastaurants near are average and food in hotel is expensive. Breakfast is solid but you have to wait for the table i the morning from 5-10 minutes. Not a 5 star hotel for my opinion:

    Hotel is nice. Rooms are clean.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Thani Wing Grand Suite
    • Stayed 10 nights

    The first 3 nights were a nightmare, had flying ants coming out of the vents landing on my 1 and 5 year old while they were sleeping in the middle of the night. We had to move rooms immediately. On our last night in the second room we moved into, I didn't sleep a wink due to coming back after dinner and finding wings of the ants on the floors and them crawling all over our bed and pillow. They need to do some urgent maintenance work to resolve these issues. There was also a lot of condensation and damp which meant had to be really careful with the kids especially my 1 year old. They moved us for the forth night onto the top floor and thank goodness our last 7 nights ended up being wonderful. Try not to get a room on the ground and first floors of Thani wing which is where we encountered the problems.

    Lovely surroundings, beautiful beach, great for kids. Great cheap restaurants across the road from the hotel. Lovely croissants and generally good variety for breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Pool View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The property allows smoking on the balcony of non-smoking rooms. The first two "non-smoking" rooms we were offered smelled badly of cigarette smoke. The third room was acceptable but of lower quality than what we paid for. The management did make an effort to apologize and offer compensation and so overall I was not too unhappy.

    Very child friendly.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Upon arrival the reception told us that 'Booking' customers had no access to free internet apart from the lobby area. That was unfriendly and not necessary. The internet is available, however it's patchy. This was a minor negative point.

    The best facilities we have experienced. Very often hotels advertise their facilities but during the stay we find broken or dirty, unappealing facilities. Not here: it's a huge, efficient and very well maintained resort. We had a wonderful time!The staff is lovely!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    The friendly attentive staff, immaculate rooms and grounds. Range of pools. Beautiful secluded location but not so far away if you want to get amongst the hustle and bustle of Phuket.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Thani Wing Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast. An addition of halal choices would be welcome

    It is a very comfortable place. Truly a heaven on earth. The staff is very polite. Would like to visit again.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didnt like the open plan kind of feel in the rooms. In the room we were in, the toilet was next to the front door and had a wooden door which you could see through and the shower and sink were part of the open plan of the overall room (no separation of a bath room and bed room). Breakfast hours could be a bit longer than two hours we felt that most days we were rushing to make sure we got there in time. Apart from that nothing really negative to say.

    Clean rooms, friendly staff, located on a beautiful beach, numerous pools, located near a few restaurants and shops, breakfast had a good variety, huge resort with a choice of different restaurants as part of the hotel, easy to get around and buggys were avaliable should you require it. Beautiful grounds

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is a lot of hotel guard everywhere. I feel like a thief everytime I go in and go out. They always follow me and stop me and ask some questions which is so annoy me. I just add more luggage because I buy the new one and then they stop me like I steal something from the hotel. My family ask me to take care of their 3 luggages while they wait to flight at evening and we have tour to James Bond Island in the morning, because they already check out from their hotel. Suddenly when I go back from tour, they send me a letter to charge me 1900bath/person and total 1900*3 they charge me 5700. You know how it feel ? Like you have been in tour all day long, and you come back to hotel with tired face and you want to have a good rest in the hotel but suddenly you find a letter that charge you 5700 bath that make your mood ruined. It's a BIG FAT NO for me to coming back to this hotel.

    The room design is so unique and so big.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2017

    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The trip was everything my wife and I dreamed it would be and so much more! The resort was beautiful, the staff went above and beyond for everything and we hope to return in the future

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Thani Wing Junior Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We have visited the property previously and paid for the same room, when we got to our room we discovered it was significantly smaller than last time and not as nice in terms of facilities and size which was frustrating... the hotel was full so we were stuck with what we were given. We did have issues two mornings where we had to call reception at 4:30am to ask them to turn off the sprinkler head that was right outside our room, normally I have no issues sleeping through anything but it was literally half a yard from the window. On the last day they decided they were going to chop the trees in the pool area starting at 08:30am with chainsaws etc, again a little frustrating after being kept up from the sprinklers the previous two mornings!

    Good location, the resort is right on its own private beach and is a 2 minute Taxi into Kata Beach Area. The resort has a choice of 5 or 6 restaurants which all serve quality food.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Grand Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 8 nights

    -Be aware it is a good one hour drive from the airport -Highly recommend booking transfers before you arrive; our taxi was unreliable (did not turn up for the return transfer to the airport, despite being prepaid). It also detoured on the way to the hotel and we were harrassed into buying a boat trip -The beach is often covered in rubbish brought in by the tide, although Resort staff do try and clean it

    Excellent resort with a great kids club and lots of lovely pools. The Kids water park is especially good. The staff were polite and helpful. The buffet breakfast is good as is the resort wifi. We had a few excellent buffet dinners within the resort as well. Easy to get a ride to explore nearby Kata beach

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The family room was functional but basic and old fashioned. Bed was hard. The sliding door between bedroom and bathroom had holes in it due to its design but this meant that everytime you used the bathroom and turned the light on it woke my partner up due to the light shining in through the holes etc and water running. The location in terms of nightlife is also is abit dull you basically have to get taxis everywhere.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Thani Wing Grand Suite
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Rooms would benefit of renovation. The pools are... not large. Wi-fi worked ok, but you have to re-login often. Overall, it is a high quality hotel, but nothing special to my taste. "The Shore" villas located next to the hotel look much better (and more expensive), but they all were occupied. Beware: swimming in the sea can be really dangerous because of the rim currents. Take this seriously, please. There are lifeguards on the beach, but I would not rely on them.

    Good breakfast, very good beach. Did not try hotel restaurants because "Mom Tri's Kitchen", located nearby, was amazing and obviously a level higher (and more expensive) than what you get in the hotel. Massage in the street at any of the several sites nearby the hotel is also much better, especially if you prefer a harder, powerful execution.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Service was really not 5 star. More like 4. Internet worked in lobby only not the room. Pool was just ok for 5 star hotel.

    Pretty grounds abd nice breakfast. Enough to do near by.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The view from my bhuri room. Wifi didn't work at times and you kept having to turn it on again.

    Breakfast was not to bad. Buffet dinner and Thai restaurant was very good. We went to a wedding it was amazing. Staff were friendly. Lovely views on beach side.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Thani Wing Junior Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights

    During check-in, the staff was frazzled, which I've noticed happened daily when guests were checking in or out, making the guest services area a bit hectic. Also, even though I don't like to complain a lot, but we had to wait quite a while for our room to be ready, about 2 hours past check-in time.

    The Staff was nice and welcoming. The room was clean, beds are comfortable. The resort is very nice for a relaxed vacation, especially that the beach area is not open to the public. The on-site restaurants were clean and food was fantastic, especially the breakfast and dinner buffets.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Thani Wing Junior Suite
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only thing I didn't like was that there wasn't a lap pool ,as I enjoy doing laps early in the morning , having said that the pools were lovely , but very warm .

    We liked the location as was the best beach in phuket , clean water ,white sand and good size waves. Beach was clean with pristine water. The resort was always clean and with beautiful grounds , was lovely to lay under the.coconut trees. The Thani wing rooms were well laid out with all amenities you needed. Bed was comfortable and good water pressure of shower. We will return again.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Thani Wing Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    - maybe not as close to some locations. - taxi very expensive overall (on the island, in comparison with Bangkok) - tuk tuk services no very usable - as to go anywhere from hotel - road not good for tuk tuk, so will need to take taxi. But if you need to go anywhere on your own without a booked trip...

    - good hotel to spend time with kids - beach/sea is nice - infrastructure of resort is ok

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Thani Wing Junior Suite
    • Stayed 9 nights

    - The reception service was the poorest I've seen so far in Asian hotels (4 and 5 stars) - no hospitality at all, very poor English. I would say the fact that the hotel has a very good beach and is located in Phuket does not play at all for the customers benefit (the hotel is relaxed cause they are sure other visitors will come any way). - The room (junior suite) was very basic and does not meet expectations based on the hotel's photos. The ground floor (the only that was available at check in) does not really provide a see view - rather a view to the people walking arond the hotel and you need to keep the windows closed with curtains if you need any privacy. It should be sligtly better for the two other floors, but again no privacy is you sit on the balkony - everybody passing by can see you - The quality of food in the hotel's restaurant (very expensive) is very average and instable, though they have some delicious dishes (e.g. pepper sauce red snapper) - Warning: high waves in the sea in May that may cause problems when staying with children and those grow ups who are bad swimmers

    - Very good beach - nearly private (very rare non-hotel stayers and almost no "beach treaders") - Very good massage master Min in the hotel SPA (the SPA as such is "average") - Good transfer from the airport to the hotel (shall be booked in advance)

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Grand Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    You can organize the transfer from the airport with the hotel. 2 options: car for 3 people and van for more. I wanted a car since I have 2 small children but they insisted on a van since we were 4. I said ok so we paid extra. For the return trip, we insisted and obviously, we fit n a car. I really feel ripped off on that since they didn't want to refund the first trip difference. Staff is nice but could be better. Lobby people not necessarily that friendly, same behind the pool bar. Hotel is quite big so you want to make sure you have everything before you leave you room.

    The hotel is perfect for a family trip. Many small details that make a difference: kids bed, they had already installed a cot in the room even if we didn't ask for it, small stool in bathroom for kids, beach bags to transport all your things. The rooms are perfect: large size, good beds and very modern bathrooms. Food is ok, many option and you can go in the street next to the hotel for more local, cheaper options. Great food menu for kids available in all restaurants. Many activities for kids: pool slides, soon a waterplay and indoor playground.

    Stayed in May 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Katathani Phuket Beach Resort traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: