Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Khaolak Merlin Resort 5 stars

7/7 Phetkasem Rd., Khaolak, Thai-Muang dist., Khao Lak Beach, 82210 Khao Lak, Thailand

#47 of 99 hotels in Khao Lak

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 75 hotel reviews

8.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.2

  • Comfort

    9

  • Location

    8.5

  • Facilities

    8.8

  • Staff

    9

  • Value for money

    8.6

  • Free WiFi

    8.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 25

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    9.6
    Heaven on earth
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 13 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    -Wonderful breakfast -Clean and cool rooms -Nice staff -Good restaurants and tasty drinks -Perfect location - a great beach and a very nice looking environment -Priceworthy -Hotel activities such as yoga (lovely instructor!), animal towel art and fruit carving (also great instructors) Overall VERY satisfied with my stay here! :)

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2017

    9.6
    great place to stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    high prices of restaurant and spa compared to the ones in the nearby streets.

    As soon as we arrived we got upgraded to a room with pool view. Room was very clean with everything we possibly needed (good wi fi, air con, fridge, free drinking water, air dryer and so on). Staff was very friendly and helpful. Great beach and pools. Amazing breakfast. What we liked the most was the attention to details everywhere in the resort: they even have a shower room for guests checking out in the morning but leaving later in the afternoon (like we did), so we could spend all day on the beach.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2017

    9.6
    Great hotel with lovely gardens and pools
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The one time we went for the evening buffet was ok not special. But it was international night, maybe the Thai food night would have been better.

    The hotel was very well designed and even though it is quite big (compared to where we normally stay) it didn't feel is because of the lovely architecture, pools, and well laid out garden. We had two large interconnecting rooms with balconies over looking lovely pool and garden. The beds were very comfortable, with lovely bathrooms, good AC, and lots of storage. If you can afford it there are some lovely rooms with there own pools off the balconies. Our kids loved the breakfast, a massive all you can eat buffet. We only ate at the main restaurant once at it was also a buffet. We had great pizzas at the bar by the sea one evening, it was a lovely place to see the sun set. One of my best experiences was at the 'Spa', I had a fabulous sports massage from Pinky, she really knew what she was doing. All in all it was a great stay with lovely helpful staff.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2016

    8.3
    Very good and relaxing in the rain seasion
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 9 nights

    Wi-Fi in the room basically did not exist. Worked fine outside though. The room had a very unpleasant smell. A lot of places within the hotel ground smelled like this, I reckon it has to do with rains and high humidity, things never get proper dry there..and start stinking. The room services was annoying quite often. We got disturbed nearly daily by personal changing towels, cleaning or just asking if we are satisfied. Somehow they always managed to knock when we had a day nap.. And the electricity in the room was not fine. It went off/on several times within the day. Most of the balconies are not very functional. They are neither protecting from the rain nor from the sun. And the last one, there was no shampoo or shower gel in the bathroom, instead 4bottles of body lotion. And yeah, the flip-flops you get in the room are of multiple use and will be passed to you for the previous guests :S

    We stayed at the hotel during the low season and I would say that the price/quality was just perfect. However, I would not pay the high season price as I think it is just a bit too high for what you get. Breakfast was good but for those who like it warm and heavy. If you are more of a musli+ yogurt kind of type you will be limited in the selection as there was no yogurt at all and the cereal selection wasn't great either. The place is very quite and you should be able to relax as much as you want. The gym was fully equipped and you won't be limited much while doing sports. Tennis ground was also ok. I would not fall for the taxi, food, spa and tours propositions in the hotel itself as they were super overpriced. You find a bright variety of all services possible just outside the hotel for way less money. We used a laundry ad massage service a lot as it was very good! We ate at the hotel buffet couple times and couldn't complain, however after 2-3 times the choice becomes boring, so go outside and eat at the local restaurants. Personnel was friendly and caring like all Thai people.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2016

    6.7
    Merlin Khao Lak Visit
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sone areas of the resort are in need of maintenance or attention as tired or need fixing. Rubbish near the resort entrance is also a problem but from tbe neighbouring resort

    Great facilities with the rooms being well appointed and spacious, sensational buffet breakfast which is included as part of the room rate

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2016

    9.6
    Excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The food in the hotel and in the surrounding satellite business near the resort is westernised tourist food. It tastes contrived and just not right. Try to find local Thai food in the main strip in khaolak town for the real thing.

    The resort facilities and services are perfect for a getaway. Great beach and all. Try to get a pool access room.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    10
    Great staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great staff. Beautiful location. Will stay again.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    9.6
    Classic beach resort
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit to german-beach-towelly for me.

    Very nice beach, good breakfast, big rooms, friendly and helpful staff

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2018

    8.3
    Family with 3 kids
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    "Long" way to Khao Lak town. Not much additional activities for kids.

    Nice, clean and beach was excellent. Very good breakfast.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2017

    10
    Memorable - thank you!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cannot fault the place - the staff, the location. Will be back for sure!!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2017

    10
    Facility as a whole
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No none like. comments

    Facility as a whole

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2017

    9.6
    Wonderfull!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The breakfast was amazing. If you have kids there is a bonus: 5 pokestops inside the hotel area

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2016

    8.8
    Lovely
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 11 nights

    The clean rooms and pools. Very relaxing resort.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2016

    7.5
    Rooms are really nice
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Told the receptionist the safe was not working they never did sort it

    Rooms are really nice

    Stayed in September 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2016

    9.6
    Good value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Travel concierge was sub-par. Didn't speak much English so only advocated for the overpriced taxi service they offered. Had little info on regional buses.

    Good value for money.

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2016

    10
    A true luxery resort.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The only thing to complain about was the constant 'muzak' played at night in the beach side restruant.

    A true luxery resort. Great beach location and excellent condition. Wished I could have stayed longer, will go back again.

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2016

    9.2
    Rooms clean modern, well designed and comfy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Some staff were not as attentive as others chatting away to each other while customers needed serving. Noisy toads at night! :)

    Rooms clean modern, well designed and comfy. Great pools and layout. Lots of wildlife.

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2016

    8.3
    Beautiful beach, if you snorkel at the far end near the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Be prepared for a lot of wildlife (ie insects) due to the location; the giant cicadas take a bit of getting used to. Service charge is added to everything.

    Beautiful beach, if you snorkel at the far end near the tower there are lots of table corals. Excellent breakfast; well maintained grounds; comfortable sunbeds and good service. Mr Ju's restaurant (100m left on the main road) and Ruan Thai (20m right on the main road) were fantastic, best Thai food I've ever had; Ruan Thai's stir fried crab in smoked chilli sauce was amazing.

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2015

    8.3
    Amazing breakfast selection, wonderful room and bathroom,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The staff took three days to clear room service plates from out front of the room (despite the room being cleaned twice at least over that time). It was quiet season; however the staff seemed quite bored and not too engaged at the pool bar. There was no music at all so we brought our own and ended up spending around $300 just at the pool bar over one day; however there was not very good service.

    Amazing breakfast selection, wonderful room and bathroom, big bed .

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2015

    8.3
    The gardens, rocks and swimming pools along with the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We were at the hotel in mid June at the beginning of the rainy/low season. The hotel was very empty and some of the staff were disinterested and dismissive. The pool bar was in need is some major TLC.

    The gardens, rocks and swimming pools along with the outstanding buffet breakfast. We were also upgraded to a deluxe room. Very nice!

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2015

    10
    The resort itself is stunning, staff and facilities all...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    This is nothing against the resort and in a way a positive for some, but it is in the quietest area of Khaolak which means having to do lots of traveling for anything and just a limited amount of alternative places to eat and drink outside the resort.

    The resort itself is stunning, staff and facilities all fantastic. Costs in the resort are not the cheapest but also not over expensive still cheaper than home. Food is excellent and so are the cocktails.

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2015

    9.2
    Well run hotel - eg.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    all good

    Well run hotel - eg. at breakfast all tables cleared and reset within a minute, chefs tried different food each morning as well as the good buffet, plenty of sunbeds on the big lawn under great old trees even though so many claimed by 7.00am, beach is not noisy as no jet skis or boats, lots of cheap restaurants and massage places nearby

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2015

    9.6
    Big number of small swimmingpools direct conected to the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Wifi not available at the rooms.

    Big number of small swimmingpools direct conected to the rooms and good implemetated in the landskape. Lobby situated in the rainforrest with view to the sea. Big choice of high quality food. A lot of quite and taskful equipped areas to rest

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2015

    10
    The staff were fantastic friendly and obliging, food...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The staff were fantastic friendly and obliging, food excellent with good choices at reasonable prices.

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2015

    9.6
    Free room upgrade upon arrival, extremely we'll kept...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Having to leave at the end of my holiday

    Free room upgrade upon arrival, extremely we'll kept resort.

There is 1 review without text. This impacts the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 25

Guests also reviewed these properties: