Accommodations Flights Flight + Hotel Car Rentals Airport Taxis

Reviews of Khaolak Orchid Beach Resort This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services available. It's based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

61 Moo.3, T. Khukkhak, A.Takuapa, Phang Nga, Khuk Khak Beach, 82190 Khao Lak, Thailand

#34 of 99 hotels in Khao Lak

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 142 hotel reviews

9.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.2

  • Comfort

    9.1

  • Location

    9

  • Facilities

    9

  • Staff

    9.2

  • Value for money

    9.2

  • Free WiFi

    9.1

100% Verified Reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 45

  • Reviewed: May 8, 2018

    9.2
    I had a great stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 8 nights

    The beach was not proper for a swim during the day because was too rough. I had to go to other beaches to swim and that was a little disappointing. The hotel could have had beach chairs on the beach. There are just a few restaurants around (4-5) otherwise, you have to go all the way to the center. There is nothing happening in the area, and the bars close very early. Not a place for singles, only older couples there. The infinity pool had too much chlorine, and could not be used. The hotel had an issue with the bicycles, I wanted to rent them but they had only 2 padlocks available, so some of the days, I had to stay in because there was no bicycle. These were all minor issues though but some things I think they could improve for the next guests.

    I loved almost everything about this hotel and the staff. People were very friendly and helpful. My room was really big with a great sea view. Breakfast was good. The sunset is marvelous. The hotel has a paid shuttle bus to the city center which helped a lot.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 4, 2018

    9.6
    Good value for money and a relaxing, clean resort hotel right on the beautiful beach.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing really but the breakfasts are not exciting. Not bad but mainly western food which is ok. I prefer Asian breakfasts but this hotel isn’t 5 Star. If you want that you have to pay a lot more and stay somewhere like the Robinson or Sarojin where I’ve also stayed before in Khao Lak. Those resorts are a lot more expensive

    The staff are really friendly and efficient. The rooms are perfect and have all we need. The pool and pool swim up bar facility is great and it’s only a short stroll also to the amazing beautiful clean beach. Views and walks along the beach are inspiring.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: April 23, 2018

    9.2
    We always hire a car to rake advantage of local restaurants up and down the coast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Orchid Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Wonderful classic Thai style resort which we have visited four times now. Excellent value for money. Quiet atmosphere in peaceful location. Beautiful beach perfect for long walks and swims.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: March 29, 2018

    10
    Nice suites Lots of space for a family of five, really quiet...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Suite with Balcony
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    If I have to find something it must be the sharp edges of the tiles in the pool resulting in many minor scratches on our feets and knees.

    Nice suites Lots of space for a family of five, really quiet, extremely family friendly. No parties no notice.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: January 25, 2018

    10
    Place to relax and recharge your batteries
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I could not find anything..

    we looked for a peaceful and quiet location in proximity to a beach. We have heard about crowds of people in Phuket or phi phi islands and we definitely wanted to avoid it. Orchid Beach resort is the answer! We loved location, nice and empty beach, quietness and facility with 2 swimming pools pool bar, proximity to several restaurants and massage places. The room is very well equipped with all you need for beach and moving around. The staff was extremely nice and helpful. We'd not want to leave.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: December 11, 2017

    8.8
    It has just some little issues.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Orchid Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I know the humidity in Thailand is very high, but our room smelled really bad. Our parents room smelled a little bit less.

    It has just some little issues. Since it is 3 stars hotel, you cannot expect 5 stars experience. You will get what you pay for. Overall we were satisfied.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: December 9, 2017

    10
    Great quiet family stay on the beach.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Not much really! Because it is such a quiet place, we had to put in extra energy to keep the kids calm. It is a bit far from the town center. Not a walk-able distance. You have to take a ride from the hotel or nearby taxi station. When we went, it was 50bath to get to town, and 50bath to get back with the hotel schedule.

    We were travelling with our family, so my parents and 3 children of 4-6-8 years old. We booked two rooms. We had a big room that could fit our unit of 5 people as we had a king bed, a double bed and a sofa bed. We had not mentioned the children as we knew we could fit in the biggest room, and they charged us the extra 1000 bath per night. It was written on the website though, so we should have been more careful. The site is great, the pool was clean. There is a row of little restaurant 2 minutes away. The beach was the cleanest in the area. The waves are very big at high tide and not children friendly. Low tide is good though. We had been travelling for 4 weeks and needed a quiet time to calm down. This was very calm. The pool closes at 7pm and there was no sound after that, but the crashing waves. No music, nothing. Breakfast was AMAZING.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 2, 2017

    10
    Quiet and elegant with beach access
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing. But don't come here if you like hurly-burly, shopping, traffic noise, party or pubs. It's 5 km away.

    Room, beach, restaurant, food quality, staff, location, tranquility - everything. Unfortunately we stayed only 4 days. Recommendation for very good Thai food nearby: restaurant “Try it“

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: November 20, 2017

    10
    Very relaxing stay in Khao Lak with my family
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Suite with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights

    n/a

    The rooms were very spacious and the bed very comfortable. Dinner and breakfast very satisfactory and great selection. All staff was very nice and and friendly. Beach is just outside hotel and the sunset view is fantastic!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 8, 2017

    10
    Location, beach, staff overall loved it, would definitely recommend to friends. Hope to return .
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    We did request a ground floor room, but that might be due to Booking.com not passing on our request.

    The staff were very friendly. We all loved the swim up bar. Room was terrific. Location was wonderful , No stalls nearby, and ate at a different place each night. Nice and quiet, easy to get to the town.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: May 17, 2017

    9.2
    Great Hotel and location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We booked this hotel as a stop over before a 5 day dive trip, so we were after something cheap, cheerful and close to the dive office. We were pleasantly surprise at the great location, staff, rooms and food, which were all amazing. It made for a very relaxing start to our trip.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: April 27, 2017

    8.3
    Very good facilities only let down by as above
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No life saving equipment on beach although a public beach if sun beds are provided by hotel so should live saving eqipment

    Very good facilities only let down by as above

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: April 11, 2017

    9.6
    Incredible value for the money I paid.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Cost of hotel tansport to/from he airport is too high. Cheaper to rent a car.

    Incredible value for the money I paid. Beautiful views from the balcony and very peaceful stretch of beach, seconds from the hotel. Really didn't want to leave.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: December 6, 2016

    10
    Authentic Thai
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 14 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    4th holiday in Thailand, 1st time in Khaolak - Beautiful & Peaceful location, no girlie bars or beach sellers, large comfortable room. Friendly staff. Lovely food in the hotel restaurant.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: May 10, 2018

    10
    Loved our stay here! Beautiful location, stuff and resort! Highly recommend staying especially with
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Orchid Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 13 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Loved our stay here! Beautiful location, stuff and resort!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: February 20, 2018

    10
    Nice and cosy hotel, good pool bar and very child friendly...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Suite with Balcony
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Nice and cosy hotel, good pool bar and very child friendly resort.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 15, 2018

    9.2
    Relaxing and the location was peaceful .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Breakfast was a bit basic

    We liked the location of this hotel and the friendliness of the staff.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: October 16, 2017

    7.5
    Good location and view
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing

    Good location and view

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: May 17, 2017

    10
    Fantastic relaxing stay. Great facilities and easy walking distance to a great bar and restaurants.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Beautiful pool and we really enjoyed the swim up bar. Beach was fantastic with parasols. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Fantastic breakfast.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: January 13, 2017

    10
    Friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Orchid Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Friendly staff

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: August 19, 2016

    9.2
    strong free WiFi, big room, full room amenities
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Orchid Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    breakfast is only European style

    strong free WiFi, big room, full room amenities

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: July 19, 2016

    9.6
    Great location but don't order the pizza
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Orchid Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    breakfast was good but dinner was terrible, slow service not only did the pizza taste like it was a pre made / fozen but it was served burnt.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They're no longer included in the property's overall review score, but they might still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: May 24, 2016

    9.2
    I loved the outlook of the 3rd floor room over the beautiful...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The beds were very hard, but I guess that is standard for this country.

    I loved the outlook of the 3rd floor room over the beautiful gardens, pool and beach. I loved the old world charm and atmosphere of the building and decor - it had a rich and traditional Thai feeling. The breakfast was wonderful, varied and the restaurant food was consistently good. There was a lot of attention to detail and every aspect of your comfort and happiness was considered. The staff were very warm and caring. My favourite aspect was having the beach/pool massage hut so easily accessible in the hotel grounds. The prices for massage were very reasonable and the massage ladies were excellent. I also loved the adults only private lap pool. This was my favourite hotel in Thailand!

  • Reviewed: May 16, 2016

    8.8
    Almost everything was great, superb location, so calm and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    It's hard to find food for muslims (HALAL), also on breakfasts it's a luck to find hot meal with no pork. And hope to have free shuttle to Kao Lak in the future.

    Almost everything was great, superb location, so calm and relaxed atmosphere, not crowded. Ideal for couples who wants some intimate environment and for elderly people for calm stay. Amazing beach! With maximum 5-6 people at the time. Very good breakfasts. Staff has very positive attitude although of not strong English but able to understand)) Really liked the hotel and wish to come back, thanks a lot.

  • Reviewed: April 30, 2016

    9.6
    Pool areas.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Wifi patchy. Have to connect many times each day.

    Pool areas. Breakfast. Secluded location. Large room. Large roomsafe. Restaurant tables on the beach next to hotel. Beach then road then resort - unlike Khao Lak main beaches where hotels have taken over the beaches and public access is denied. *Repeat customer, excellent value at low season prices.

  • Reviewed: April 16, 2016

    10
    The beach location and laid back friendliness of staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    More competitive food and drink prices would I am sure have attracted more residents to the dining area/bar for mire interaction .Maybe a happy hour?

    The beach location and laid back friendliness of staff

  • Reviewed: April 10, 2016

    5.4
    Staff was rude, location is good but there are probably 20...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Staff was incredibly unwelcoming and snotty, like we were bothersome to them

    Staff was rude, location is good but there are probably 20 better beach hotels just in khaolak.

  • Reviewed: February 19, 2016

    4.6
    Excellent staff, very attentive and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Given it is classed as a 3 star but priced like a 4 star the overall experience was a little underwhelming. I have stayed in other hotels in Thailand that are better value than this one in my opinion.

    Excellent staff, very attentive and helpful. Although the hotel was full of patrons the breakfast run was not busy and the pool and loungers were never crowded. Felt like we had the whole hotel to ourselves.

  • Reviewed: January 10, 2016

    10
    This is a peaceful place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    This is a peaceful place. The hotel is situated at the beach 10 minutes by car (the hotel offers a shuttle bus) from the Khao Lak town. The beach is beautiful, clean and quiet.There is no long tail boats on the beach or other noisy water activity. There was a lot of wave activity the first days of our stay but the sea became more quiet and was then suited also for smaller children. The hotel had two swimming pools. One were exclusive for adults. The hotel restaurant served the best food we had on this trip and well worth the daily visit. The only remark is that they should let the pizza stay in the oven for at least 10 minutes more (tasted a bit like microwave pizza). If you stick to the Thai dishes you are fine. The rooms are beautiful and clean and the whole hotel seems well kept. There is a lot of trips you can take like bathe the elephants, Climbing the treetops ore visit the James Bond Island. On Sunday there is the old town marked, well worth a trip.

  • Reviewed: December 17, 2015

    10
    Nice stay all around.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler

    For the first few days, I had cool water until I told the front desk and then a repair was sent out immediately and within a few hours, I had hot water....finally. Nice to have.

    Nice stay all around. High prices in restaurant but there are other good/safe restaurants next door.

  • Reviewed: December 14, 2015

    9.6
    The hotel is in a great location, 5 minutes away from the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    There wasn't much facilities or things to do in the hotel, just a pool and beach. Although it was great fun to relax, other resorts ive been to offered kayaks and jet skis and even a gym but there wasn't .. If traveling with kids maybe try a place where there is more for them to do!

    The hotel is in a great location, 5 minutes away from the main road. Very quiet area, really friendly staff even though there was a language barrier they always tried to help! The breakfast was really good, wide variety of choices. Very cheap prices for stuff from the hotel, it wasn't as expensive as other hotels!

  • Reviewed: December 5, 2015

    9.2
    This a beautiful hotel in Khao Lak and we loved our stay...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    You had to keep logging in to the Wifi every time you used it, it got really annoying.

    This a beautiful hotel in Khao Lak and we loved our stay here. Our deluxe room was spacious and comfortable and well decorated. The family pool is beautifully designed with orchids in the middle and a pool bar you can sit at. It wasn't crowded at all when we were there. There is also an adult only pool. The beach is long and golden and good for swimming. The food is very good, though breakfast got a bit samey after a few days. There are two beach restaurants nearby which are much cheaper than the hotel and most guests go there in the evenings. Some of the staff speak good English, others don't. They were all very helpful and kind. The tour seller speaks excellent English and the Khao Sok tour we went on was very good but quite pricey for Thailand.

  • Reviewed: November 17, 2015

    4.6
    Pool and being close to beach is very nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Room furniture was very old and the hotel is far away from city centre.

    Pool and being close to beach is very nice. All rooms has got amazing view. Room was quite big.

  • Reviewed: October 25, 2015

    10
    daily breakfast, location, beach, pools, staff, room size,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    the had to re-login to the wifi all the time, but it was a great connection.

    daily breakfast, location, beach, pools, staff, room size, private balcony, great AC, good food, free shuttle to town

  • Reviewed: May 12, 2015

    6.7
    Beautiful place well maintained, good food, excellent pools...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We bought a package, but on check in just handed a bunch of vouchers with no explanation. No resort handbook at all in room, which every hotel of any standard has - where to find this, how to order that, what facilities are available, emergency procedures , etc. . Super expensive hotel taxis.

    Beautiful place well maintained, good food, excellent pools and accomodation.

  • Reviewed: May 12, 2015

    9.6
    Fantastic room, great staff, lovely pool area, good...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    A bit far from everything but good shuttle service. Suggestions for improvements: A small play area for the youngest would be a good thing to install. Also to let the trees grow around the kids pool to get some more shade.

    Fantastic room, great staff, lovely pool area, good breakfast buffet...we really liked everything about the hotel. Great for the price.

  • Reviewed: January 26, 2015

    9.6
    The location is excellentand the style of the hotel ensures...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Several of the staff on reception were either not able to understand or disinterested. One girl however was particularly helpful.

    The location is excellentand the style of the hotel ensures privacy. The rooms are more like suites. We stayed in the new wing A27 and would also recommend A17 and A18. The grounds and gardens are large an d there is a very spacious beach area.

  • Reviewed: May 17, 2016

    7.5
    Room, nice view
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler

    Breakfast could be better, more diversity

    Room, nice view

  • Reviewed: May 16, 2016

    7.9
    Calm and nice place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    U must go somewhere else for normal beach.

    Calm and nice place. Good breakfast.

  • Reviewed: May 10, 2016

    10
    Great location on beach, nice staff, clean room
    • Business trip
    • Family with older children

    Pool bar closed at 5! But not a reason not to go back

    Great location on beach, nice staff, clean room

  • Reviewed: April 22, 2016

    7.9
    Location ,swimming pools ,beach lovely room ,breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Hard bed ,toilet system noisy needs overhauling

    Location ,swimming pools ,beach lovely room ,breakfast

  • Reviewed: April 21, 2016

    8.8
    internet too slow;
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    internet too slow; billiard too old

  • Reviewed: January 26, 2016

    9.2
    The friendly of staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Wifi very slow..

    The friendly of staff.

  • Reviewed: January 2, 2016

    9.6
    Very nice!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very nice!!

  • Reviewed: October 25, 2015

    9.2
    Adult infinity pool .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Adult infinity pool . Attentive friendly staff. Good dinner menu great vale for money.

There are also 10 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 45

Guests also reviewed these properties: