Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Koyao Island Resort 4 stars

24/2 Moo 5, T. Koh Yao Noi. A. Koh Yao, Phang Nga Province, 82160 Ko Yao Noi, Thailand

#5 of 24 hotels in Ko Yao Noi

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 194 hotel reviews

9.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.3

  • Comfort

    9.4

  • Location

    9.7

  • Facilities

    9.1

  • Staff

    9.3

  • Value for money

    8.5

  • Free WiFi

    8.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    9.6
    Relaxing and beautiful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Beach Villa
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The resort was peaceful and lovely. The views and feel of the room was very relaxing. Staff were nice. They let us stay until the afternoon since no one is going to use our room. The breakfast was great and unlimited. They will cook them for you. Love their infinity pool.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    10
    A must!!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Panorama Tented Pool Villas
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Everything was amazing from check in to check out... the staff are unbelievably friendly and could not do enough for you. Try the spa, the massage I received was definitely the best I've ever had.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    9.6
    Realy nice small resort with privat beach, no tourist,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Beach Villa Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Too much mosquitos

    Realy nice small resort with privat beach, no tourist, open-air living closed to the beach, open space bathroom, nice and daily cleaned beach villas, BBQ seafood, donot miss scooter ride on the Island, complimentary half day boat trip around small islands, complimentary yoga and bicykles.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    8.8
    9 Hornbills- Gorgeous view and close to nature
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Panorama Tented Pool Villas
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel took a long time to respond to our request for pickup at airport.

    Great room, plenty of privacy, awesome view of the ocean and islands but yet away from the beach. Perfect for bird- watching ( we saw many hornbills!!!) and close to nature. The room was so relaxing and wonderful to hang out in. Floating breakfast in pool is a must!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    8.8
    A great retreat - a great place to rest and forget the world
    • Couple
    • Private Beach Lodge
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Happy all over

    It’s a lovely place on a lovely island and everything is just right, not to be confounded with a city hotel - the tents are wonderful and the views on the islands Arora nd are breathtaking

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    7.9
    Private, stylish - but with shortcomings.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Sea Breeze Studios
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the welcoming. The room we booked was promoted a sea breaze only to find out we were being parked facing the mountain and having to deal the most noisy place of an otherwise privy place. The room was nice, the location anything but. Upon mentioning this the reception could only talk of money and were not really polite. We were not pleased at all. Eventually we moved a tent up in the mountain and that was ver extremely nice. Yet, that first contact left me w/ a bitter taste for this place. At those prices you would expect a proper service and accommodation across the board.

    the mood and the privacy

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2018

    9.2
    Location, Staff, Private pool, complimentary boat trip,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Sea Breeze Studios
    • Stayed 11 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shortage of sunbeds and no sunshade umbrellas in beach area.

    Location, Staff, Private pool, complimentary boat trip, scooter rental from hotel, butler service .

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2018

    6.3
    Pretty, but too rustic to be comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Sea Breeze Studios
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Our room was so exposed to the elements that it was impossible to spend any time in the room, after sun down. Three of the walls were open air, and since we were situated over the main hotel the staff and kitchen would wake us up most days around 6am. There was also an unbearable amount of mosquitos, which left both me and my partner bitten rotten. There was nowhere to hand clothes apart from some open shelves, which meant that each item of clothing produced a cloud of mosquitos every time we picked something up. It was generally a race to leave the room every day. That said the room was pretty and the bed extremely comfortable with a strong mosquito net. However we were ready to leave after 2 nights and regretted staying 4.

    This really is a very pretty hotel, on a lovely beach and it was easy to hire a moped from the staff most days. The food was excellent, although the prices here were considerably hirer than other luxury resorts we stayed at during our trip.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2018

    9.6
    Breathtaking views
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Beach Villa
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Koyao Island Resort was absolutely amazing! The rooms are gorgeous authentic Thai style villas. The views are breathtaking. The staff are great, especially Fon! The chef is fantastic, for dinner the menu is Thai dishes.....which are to die for!!!! On Tuesdays there is a complementary boat trip to the islands, definitely worth doing. They have free bikes, took us an hour to ride around the island and free kayaks.....or sit back relax and enjoy the views. Was our favourite place in Thailand!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2017

    9.2
    Stunning view of the Phang Nga Bay from the Private Tented Pool Villas of 9 Hornbills
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Beach Villa Suite
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The transportation between 9 Hornbills and the Resort was sometimes a bit confused. They should just organize the shuttle service with 1 telephone number. The rest was perfect.

    Extraordinary Glamping experience in the 9 Hornbills site. Best 180° view of the Phang Nga Bay. Good privacy in the tented pool villa and garden, and really good housekeeping service. The view from the bathtub and the swimmingpool is stunning and the Yoga in the garden was perfect.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2017

    6.7
    Perfect location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Beach Villa Suite
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It’s sad to see the top management come and raid the breakfast buffé the same time every morning. On saturday evenings they serve a buffé, we had à la carte, but the table next to us had the buffé but when they went to serve themselves the same managers had cleared the buffé so our neighbours had to wait quite a while befors geting their food. The construction of the villas makes it a haven for mosquitos to enter. First time in my life I had to shake my hanging shirts to get rid of the mosquitos. Very low water pressure.

    Perfect location. The reception staff was doing a great job, friendly and looking after your interests, very helpful.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    7.9
    5 star!!! But restaurant staff friendliness and beach cleanliness can be improved
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Beach Villa Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff trainees were really great, whereas some other non trainee employees were not very friendly, especially at the restarant during the evening. The beach got very dirty at dusk and dawn because of the tide and currents, so the hotel could assign someone at those times to pick up the high level of garbage that accumulates. I think it's reasonable as I did that with another guest in like 10 minutes every day!

    Intimate, very few, high level luxury bungalows. Calm, classy. Few quality guests - so much better than the big, american style mass industrial resorts.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2017

    6.7
    Very disappointing,penny pitchers!.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Sea Breeze Studios
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was terrible,out of 5 hot plates Oslo food 2 were empty!.toaster didn't work properly.very mush seemed like cutting corners,considering we paid almost 11000 bht per nite.not good.we stayed one nite at hotel 700 yards away.3000 bht a nite cheaper.cape kudu hotel.their management and staff should stay here and learn how to treat people and not penny pinch.very disappointing.views incredible.

    Views and housekeeping were very good.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2017

    8.3
    Gorgeous views & relaxed stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Beach Villa
    • Stayed 5 nights

    With the restaurant staff, you have to find your way, some are very helpful and kind (Oz was a great guy, always smiling!), others are very grumpy and make you feel that you're being difficult by just asking for a drink. Ignore them because most staff is friendly.

    Loved our stay, the villas and the amazing views. Spa was great, both for us and the kids. The lady from the spa (Nok) was so sweet when attending to our children, they loved their massages and henna treatments! The Thai food in the restaurant is very nice, but the western food less so. You can easily overcome that by getting your Thai food fixes here (lots of good curries!) and occasionally going for a Western lunch to the gorgeous Chaba café just down the road or dinner at the laid-back La Luna pizzeria nearby. The resort organizes great day-trips to the little islands close-by (free of charge, very kind) and lets you take out their sea kayaks at any time, which is a nice touch. Would definitely recommend staying here!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    9.2
    Beautiful beachfront bures but take insect repellent!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Beach Villa Suite
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Spa staff were too happy to sit and do nothing but talk to each other. Cost of massages was too high for the spa facility - which was basic.

    Location and resort staff training

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2017

    10
    Beautiful hotel on an unspoilt island, would love to stay again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Sea Breeze Studios
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Hotel excursions were too extensive for us but staff helped us to arrange similar activities independently.

    The staff were very helpful and went out of their way to ensure we had a good time and all our needs were met. The food was the best we'd eaten in Thailand and there was ample choice. We stayed in a beach villa and loved the quiet setting and beach view. The island itself doesn't have a lot going on but we really enjoyed the peace and opportunity to explore at our own pace, we stayed 6 days and could have happily stayed longer. It hasn't been overrun by tourists and has kept it's unspoilt local feel. We took advantage of the free bikes, and kayaks, and hired the scooters too, which was a great way to get about and explore the rice paddy fields, villages, and jungle. There are regular ferry's to Phuket and Krabi, which cost 200baht per person, and the staff will happily help you to organise your trip.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    10
    Amazing house with a stunning lanscape and perfect private beach
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Sea Breeze Studios
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    water low pressure in the shower and bathtub

    Beautiful architecture, big rooms (houses) spreaded in the middle of a green landscape. A lot of places perfect to do yoga around the property. Friendly staff and great service. The view is amazing. Definetly would choose it again!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    9.2
    Still a beautiful resort, but threatened by over-development
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Beach Villa
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Please don't let the beach get spoilt. Keep it clean from plastic. We started to notice more plastic in the ocean. I understand that this may not be the fault of the resort - but education on a wider level is important. The activities of the resort next door (on Saturday morning and Sunday) were far too noisy. Don't advertise this Island Resort as a peaceful & tranquil place when guests can be woken up by loud music speakers from next door's resort and a lady on a microphone more or less the whole day! This is no longer a tranquil hide-away. But still a very pleasant resort. I worry about the over-development Yao Noi as a whole in the future.

    We stayed for 4 nights. This was our 3rd trip to Koh Yao Island resort. Everything about this resort is comfortable and beautiful. Staff extremely friendly and welcome. Wonderful views, very tasteful villas and bar / reception area.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2017

    6.3
    Beautiful resort, amazing landscapes... Poor Customer Service
    • Couple
    • Beach Villa
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff dont speak english so they say "no" to everything, the restaurant menú its not that extense, so if you want even a small requeriment different than the menu you should consider on going out. -We were in our Honey Moon, and in the breakfast we saw salami, cheese, bread, etc... so we thought in asking for a bottle of wine, and make some "tapas" so we asked the staff, and even the chef, and they just said "We cant sell that, we give it just for breakfast..." really?!!! -Want room service or some drinks to take away? Forget it! they won't do it even if you want to enjoy the view from your room. For the amount of money you are willing to pay to stay there (that its way more expensive than the average of the Country... ) its just seems not right. In general the staff its not friendly, and sometimes even rude. Not a nice experience at all. We were really dissappointed, and was our last stop of the Honeymoon.

    Its so confortable, you can just relax and enjoy the quiet of the beach. The resort its beautiful with a perfect location.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2017

    10
    A lovely resort on a quiet and tranquil island
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Beach Villa Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights

    There were so many mosquitos at the resort and we got a lot of bites. Also the resort upgraded us and then downgraded us half way through our stay. We had to change rooms because of a booking error. Part of it was something the resort should have caught, and part of it was your fault for sending them our booking in two separate units. You need to fix that. It was very disruptive. Thankfully the staff were great.

    The staff were friendly and the restaurant food was excellent. The Day Manager Simon was awesome!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2017

    9.6
    A great place for a few days R&R
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Beach Villa Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The food is good but my impression is that after a few days you would want to explore other restaurants and cafes on the Island.

    It is an idyllic place to spend a few days. A beautiful Island and beach-side retreat. The delightful management team works hard to make sure you are comfortable and, if you want, occupied with some good activities and events. If you just want to relax and be on your own, this is also for you with individual well spaced out and well appointed lodges.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2017

    10
    Perfect Chill Out couple of days
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Beach Villa
    • Stayed 3 nights

    This resort is a quiet laid back location. Staff were very friendly. Its perfect for just chilling out. Very comfy and spacious family villa. Nice Trek 24 speed mountain bikes available for free to roam and explore the island. great Views out to sea. Nice in Massage in the spa.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2017

    10
    The best realaxing holiday ever!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Beach Villa
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Dream place. The best holiday resort ever! Terrific location, bombastic views, family atmosphere, great staff, beautiful garden, fantastic beach, bombastic food, ..., everything!

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2016

    10
    10 Plus
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Sea Breeze Studios
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing

    This is a resort where there are no minus points to give. Staff : More then excellent. View: stunning. Pool : great. Villa : Perfect. Overall experience : Stunning. Laid back and comfortable resort in a beautiful spot with absolutely phenomenal food.”

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2016

    5.4
    splendid views
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Sea Breeze Studios
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    One of the women at reception was blatantly rude, I was allocated a room next to reception and restaurants which is very noisy so asked to be moved to a quieter location but she refused insisting that on booking.com it states that "the room has no privacy", but it does not at all. She Was very unwilling to accept that and only after I proved it's not on booking.com she unpleasantly agreed to move me but said I'd have 2 wait 2 hours, it was already 5pm @ this time. The shower water pressure is very weak, water comes out in drips & temperature adjustments are faulty. No welcome fruit in room.

    The view.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2016

    5.4
    Average hotel not 5*
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Beach Villa
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Average hotel, not quite 5*, cleanliness needs improvement, restaurant food overrated, poor lighting, poor shower/tap power.. water practically dropped out

    Beds comfortable

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2016

    10
    Wonderful experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Sea Breeze Studios
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I've nothing to say.

    Everythings. The place, the location is wonderfull. Room are incredibly romantic and we share the place with the nature. The team is perfect, very keen, always smiling and trying to do their best. All is simple in this area. Thanks a lot.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2016

    7.5
    When we checked in, we got the room that was very far from...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Beach Villa Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    When we checked in, we got the room that was very far from one another although we made the reservation for 2 rooms at the same time. It was not very considerate and we had to negotiate to finally get the room that was close to each other.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2016

    10
    Stunning. Laid back and comfortable resort in a great spot with absolutely phenomenal food.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Sea Breeze Studios
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Only thing we didn't like was the fact we had to leave, as much as we tried to plot otherwise.

    Where to start - the people for one. Donnie, Basil, Angelo, Chom and the lovely staff are incredible. Attentive but not overbearing, you are in good hands. As you'll gather from the consensus of reviews, the food at Koyao Island Resort is phenomenal - as far as authenticity of Thai flavours, freshness and the approach taken in preparing and serving. A testament to this is the visitors from other resorts coming to dine here. And the amount of times we decided to stay at the resort and eat rather than venturing out. Highly recommend the food sets which are perfectly ample for two people and give you a snapshot of what's available across the menu as separate dishes. The Beach Villas are nicely appointed (in the Thai style) without being over polished and detracting from the environment they sit in. Beds are like you'd find in a resort of considerably higher cost, deluxe and incredibly comfortable. The villas sit privately in the grounds allowing guests to interact as they'd like or retreat to their own villa with as generous an outdoor lounge area as bedroom, not to mention the external and internal bathroom amenities - both clean. Oh, and you're about 15 metres from the east coast beach, perfect for safe but reasonably deep water levels for swimming if you manage to get out of the horizon pool, also sitting on the edge of the beach and with stunning views of Phang Nga Bay. There's plenty to do here and it's a great jumping off spot for day trips and snorkeling around the various islands but equally, this is THE perfect place to stay on the island to drop out from regular life and drop into the laid back vibes of the island. Very little reading was done here and the view of the islands from the village lounge area was so captivating and calming. Incredibly safe to hire scooters/mopeds and explore the island, which can also be hired for a reasonably rate from the resort.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    9.6
    Fabulous location to experience the beautiful bay full of...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Beach Villa Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fabulous location to experience the beautiful bay full of limestone islands. The view from the resort is amazing and the free boat tour is great.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    10
    beautiful place as I dream
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Beach Villa
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I think food and beverage quite expensive and limited choice.

    I love the way, they designed everything eco- friendly but still comfortable.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    9.6
    A dream come true
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Beach Villa
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The view was stunning, the staff extremely child friendly. All in all days in paradise!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    8.8
    Nice view
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Panorama Tented Pool Villas
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A lot of bug

    Nice view

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    9.2
    It was amazing!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Beach Villa Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Mosquitoes

    It was amazing! Paradise :-) Everything was good, nice, tasty, comfortable... Really nice stay!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    10
    Perfect gateway of it all
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excursion / petit dej / cayak / pool beach / cuisine ...

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2018

    10
    Beautiful location a real paradise
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Beach Villa Suite
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fabulous location l

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    9.2
    Amazing location and excellent restaurant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Sea Breeze Studios
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Relatively poor value for money. Very open room, would have preferred an enclosed room.

    Amazing location and excellent restaurant.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2017

    10
    The best
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Panorama Tented Pool Villas
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    9 Hornbills - Perfect for everything. Special thank for our Butlers - Fon - take care of everything we want.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2017

    7.5
    Cozy
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Beach Villa
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cozy

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    10
    A lovely location, friendly and helpful staff, great food and great accommodation.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Beach Villa
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not much - the mozzies were annoying, but deet kept them away.

    The peaceful location and the added extras - like the free boat trip to the islands.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    10
    Best place for honeymoon un our trip
    • Couple
    • Private Beach Lodge
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Private lodge. Service. All staff excellent. Food service. Excursión a las islas de hong y ko tapu...barbacoa en la playa . servicio 10.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    9.6
    Great, quiet and beautiful resort.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Beach Villa
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great, quiet and beautiful resort. Clean, deserted beach. Would recommend the complimentary boat trip out to uninhabited islands - a real treat.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    7.5
    Ambience quite relaxing
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Beach Villa Suite
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food choices in the only restaurant there.

    Ambience quite relaxing

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2017

    7.5
    Ambience and spa
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Beach Villa Suite
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restricted menu

    Ambience and spa

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2017

    10
    Great location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Private Beach Lodge
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Great location!!! Bungalow right on the beech. Very cozy, few gusts. Ideal for relaxing holidays.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    8.8
    Highly recommended
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Beach Villa
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Nothing

    Authentic, scenic and tranquil

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2017

    9.6
    a great week of real holliday on a quite island
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Beach Villa Suite
    • Stayed 5 nights

    mosquitos !!!

    Amazing place to disconnect from the business life ...

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2017

    9.6
    Staff was wonderful!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Private Beach Lodge
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff was wonderful!

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2017

    9.6
    The garden and the fact that the hotel has few rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Beach Villa
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The garden and the fact that the hotel has few rooms

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2017

    10
    Lovely room in a fantastic location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Beach Villa Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    The dinner menu was very complicated!

    Room and location great - right on the beach!

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2017

    9.2
    wonderflul room, nice staff,familiar atmosphere, great boat...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Sea Breeze Studios
    • Stayed 3 nights

    almost no wifi signal in the villa

    wonderflul room, nice staff,familiar atmosphere, great boat trip with amazing guide :)

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2017

    10
    Loved the privacy of Private Beach Lodge.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Private Beach Lodge
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Loved the privacy of Private Beach Lodge. Amazing diner in from of your own camp fire. Cycling to breakfast.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2017

    10
    Perfect: beautiful beach and natural surroundings, quiet and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Sea Breeze Studios
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Perfect: beautiful beach and natural surroundings, quiet and relaxing resort, friendly staff and good food.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2016

    10
    Best Resort Ever
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Beach Villa Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything was outstanding, simply an unforgettable experience!

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2016

    10
    Paradise!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Beach Villa Suite
    • Stayed 5 nights

    nothing

    Excellent location very friendly staff and perfect facilities.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2016

    10
    Staff war incredibly friendly,bungalow was stunning,food...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Beach Villa Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff war incredibly friendly,bungalow was stunning,food especially in the evening was excellent

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2016

    9.6
    Views, friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Beach Villa
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Views, friendly staff

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2016

    10
    Dream location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Family Beach Villa
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dream location, with excellent accomodation and facilities and without exception very friendly and helpfull staff.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2016

    10
    Marvellouse
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Family Beach Villa
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Resort manager and staff are very polite and professional. Had issues with the A/C and it was dealt with immediately.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2016

    10
    The whole atmosfeer and staff were ontspanning.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Beach Villa
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The whole atmosfeer and staff were ontspanning. We really loved our stay at this paradise

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2016

    9.2
    The staff is sooo friendly!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The prices in the restaurant are really expensive - even for european standards...so better take a bike and headlamp and head to one of the restaurants close by :) One night we stayed at the beach bbq which was beautiful and very romantic-the setup was brilliant! One small lobster and one fish cost us >3000 THB, which was the most expensive dinner we had in Asia...but the most special as well

    The staff is sooo friendly! Especially sumaija and Angelo - thank you so much! The first room we had (seabreeze, nr. 17) was beautiful with the garden view...all around us green! Then we were changed to room 18 so we would see the pool and sea as well as the sunrise changing the colour in the room completely orange - just amazing! The rental of kayaks drybags and bikes was easy, we loved that towels and water were at the pool, the girls would come by with cool towels and fruits - it really felt like holiday! Nok did a great yoga lesson (and made an amazing mani- and pedicure with beautiful flowers).

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2016

    9.2
    Koyao Island Resort
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Koyao Island Resort The Koyao Island Resort is a charming, serene and lovely place. The rooms are individual, thatched bungalows, most of which have incredible views. They are open and airy, with very large verandas. Be forewarned, however, that many of them don't have air conditioning! For us, this wasn't a real problem, as it cooled down sufficiently at night so that we could sleep- thanks to the fans. During the late afternoon, after being outside all day, we would have liked to cool off with some air conditioning. If the lack of air conditioning is a problem, be sure to request one of the more modern rooms. The linens and amenities in the room are high quality and the bathrooms are very modern and clean. The beach in front of the hotel is a lovely, sandy strand. The views towards the karst in the bay are wonderful. I had read complaints of the island's poor swimming conditions at low tides. The swimming at Koyao Island Resort was perfect at all times. The lounge chairs were nicely spread out under the trees and, at times, we were the only people on the beach. We enjoyed using the free kayaks to paddle to an island about 45 minutes away- bring water! There are also free bikes to use to roam the island. The roads are paved and mostly flat, so only the temperature will determine how far you will venture. The common areas of the hotel are beautiful. The dinning room has very nice furnishings and magnificent views. The service is excellent throughout the property: it is the kind of place where the staff will call you by your name. The breakfasts were very good, with a large variety of American, Thai, and European foods. (The hotel manager is Swiss and the guests were primarily European.) I found the dinner cuisine to be mediocre. After the second so-so dinner, we walked down the road, back towards the pier to a restaurant with a bright blue roof.

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2016

    8.8
    Beautiful and comfy room, providing a lot of privacy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No drinks service at pool. Resort management quite absent.

    Beautiful and comfy room, providing a lot of privacy. Nice infinity pool with exceptional view.

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2016

    7.9
    The setting is very magical and the beach is nice and calm.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    We had booked a family villa which was beautiful but very open to the elements. It was pretty much like 'glamping' which turned out to be a bit of a disaster with the vast volume of mosquitos and the relentless heat. The staff was extremely helpful and after a couple of sleepless nights moved us to an updated villa which had an enclosed bedroom with air-conditioning. The manager told us they are in the process of rebuilding all the houses to work in this way. Excursions that you book through the hotel are very expensive especially if you are a family as the prices are per person. Overall the resort felt overpriced. 5 nights a bit too long for us.

    The setting is very magical and the beach is nice and calm. The staff were lovely and extremely helpful. We did one of the free excursions organised by the resort which was fantastic. Free mountain bikes and mopeds for hire provided great opportunity to explore the island independently and free kayaks are available to explore the shore. We loved that that the island is not very developed and you still get a glimpse of traditional Thai life.

  • Reviewed: 24 December 2015

    8.8
    Beautiful location and great views.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We stayed in a studio which was beautiful, but over the bar and next to the dining area. We didn't think this would be a problem until we realised the room did not have complete wall to ceiling coverage due to the (tree house like) design so it was in effect noisy once the day began (at around 6am!!).

    Beautiful location and great views. Enjoyed the use of bicycles and the free boat trip on offer the day we stayed.

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2015

    8.8
    Very helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Problems with shower. No hot water and low water pressure.

    Very helpful staff. It was a birthday celebration and the staff went all the way out to surprise.

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2015

    7.9
    Great location, friendly staff and a lovely resort.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Overpriced. The maids ignore the 'do not disturb' sign and the cocktails are pretty bad!

    Great location, friendly staff and a lovely resort. Overall we had a great time here.

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2015

    9.6
    Everything was perfect,tasteful room with everything you...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    Everything was perfect,tasteful room with everything you could need. Peaceful location, excellent mosquito net, so could sleep with doors open to the sounds of the sea, crickets and frogs. Staff lovely, helpful and discrete.set on nice little beach, amazing view of stunning scenery from infinity pool.

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2015

    9.2
    This hotel is romantic and cozy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Dinner was expensive and pretentious.

    This hotel is romantic and cozy. It is located on a beautiful beach, it has a great pool. Food is fantastic at the restaurant.

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2015

    9.6
    Koyao Island Resort is paradise on earth on the beautiful...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    spa, bar and restaurant are expensive even for European price standards. Getting to the island is also a bit expensive for Thai standards (500THB for a taxi from airport to harbour, 200THB per person for speedboat to the island)

    Koyao Island Resort is paradise on earth on the beautiful island of Koh Yao Noi. All 'rooms' are private bungalows, spread out across the domain and near the beach, infinity pool, free kayaks, hammocks and more. There's an amazing sense of detail e.g. the mosquito-team that brings incense to your room every day, a drink upon arrival plus someone brings your luggage to your 'room' for you, free mountainbikes, flashlight and mosquito spray in the room .. Our bungalow had an outdoor and indoor shower, lots of free water. Breakfast buffet is amazing but what makes it even better is the extra menu where from you can order anything you want as an extra for free (e.g. pancakes, thai breakfast, european breakfast, omelet,...) Staff is extremely friendly and helps you to their best abilities. There's a spa, a bar (happy hour from 5 till 6pm) and a restaurant at the resort. There are free excursions, yoga classes and a movie on Fridays... But most importantly the VIEW... the sea, the islands in the distance,... you could look at it all day while chilling at the pool (which is what we did most of the time). We've greatly enjoyed our stay at the resort and would recommend anyone to come visit this piece of paradise on Earth to relax after an exhausting trip through Thailand!

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2015

    9.6
    - Incredible setting, fabulous view, lovely garden
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    - nothing

    - Incredible setting, fabulous view, lovely garden - Lots of space between units - Friendly staff - Great massages - Free sea kayaks & bikes - Nice walkway in nearby mangrove - Management organizes many activities, such as an amazing half day free boat excursion in the national park just off the hotel: by far the best excursion during our trip in Thailand - incredible room and bathroom - great breakfast - quiet island, away from crowds and traffic -...

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2015

    9.6
    Beautiful villa in a great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Beautiful villa in a great location. Extremely friendly and helpful staff. Breakfast enjoyed at the main resort was varied and very good. Kitty, who looks after the villa, did a great job looking after us -Thanks!

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2015

    9.6
    The scenery is stunning.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Mosquitoes - but its thailand and free repellent is provided daily in the villas. wifi coverage was poor and slow apart from near the reception and dining area

    The scenery is stunning. The staff are lovely and extremely helpful. The villas are quiet and secluded with Stunning views ( except villa #6 ). Free bicycles and kayaks. Food in the restaurant is A-mazingly delicious ( and cheap). Great selection of tours. Not a party island - peaceful and relaxing HEAVEN!!

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2015

    5.8
    Locations is special with unique view on many islands.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Sea is not transparent at all. Lots of noise during our stay in main area of the hotel and from the near by construction. Food is so so: one day it was good, one day i had to return the dish back to the kitchen. No wifi in the room, no TV channels, no hot water in the shower. actually it was so much to complain about that we just did not complain about most of it. Mistake in billing on check out and staff stopped being friendly after i found it, which was not cool.

    Locations is special with unique view on many islands. gardens of the hotel are nice and beach is clean. Staff was very friendly.

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2015

    8.8
    Extra free of charge activities organised by resort were...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    If staying a bit longer, breakfast could do with a little bit more variety especially for the rates of the resort. Overall food at restaurant was good.

    Extra free of charge activities organised by resort were really good. Resort is nice and quiet and if you like to get away, bikes are available.

There are also 16 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: