Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of The Sea Koh Samui Boutique Resort & Residences 4 stars

7/64 Moo 5, Mae Nam Sub-District, Mae Nam Beach, Koh Samui, 84330 Mae Nam, Thailand

#54 of 70 hotels in Mae Nam

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 81 hotel reviews

7.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.3

  • Comfort

    8.3

  • Location

    7.1

  • Facilities

    8.1

  • Staff

    8.2

  • Value for money

    7.5

  • Free WiFi

    7.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 49

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Studio
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bath - nice concept, didn't really work & the water was cold.

    I stayed by accident. So on that basis: Direct access to the beach - Fab / Seaview - Fab / Room - Average / Bed - Super Comfy / Bath - Dodgy / Food - 6/10. Room Type - Deluxe Sea View / 1br.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Suite
    • Stayed 20 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Price of drinks.

    The hotel was excellent and far exceeded our expectations. All the staff we met were extremely friendly and helpful. The location for us was fabulous and the beach is so great to walk along. There are brilliant restaurants within in 30 stroll along the beach. The pool was also really nice to cool off in and big enough to swim in.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Studio
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Repetative music played all day at beach restaurant! Expensive drinks ! 190 baht for 1 bottle of water ! Toilets too far away only one cubicle and very hot !

    The beautiful beach with its clear blue water ! Free tea & coffee available all day !

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Suite Sea View
    • Stayed 15 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The photographs of this property are 8 years old and are a complete misrepresentation of the actual condition of the resort which is in need of urgent repair and renovation. To be able to meet the promises they make on their website and on booking.com this resort must close its doors and invest in a full refurb programme. Until that happens you must not invest your precious leisure time and money in this shoddy run down and poorly managed resort. If you do then I guarantee you will become another of the dissatisfied guests that we witnessed complaining every day. We cut our 15 day stay short by 8 days and spent £9000 moving to an alternative resort that could meet our expectations AVOID

    AVOID there is nothing to like

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2017

    • Family with young children
    • Two Bedroom Ocean Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room is dirty, They not clean all bed in the room before the new guess check in. When I see the bed before lay down, I can smell the bed and blanket is very bad smell and have some hair and yellow color some point on the bed!

    The location

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Suite
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    If I have to find something I didn't like so much then I would say, that our room was located towards a very busy and loud street and there was no open balcony to dry our swim wear. Also, there are no shops in the neighborhood, you need to walk 20 min for a supermarkt or you take the free shuttle the hotel offers you one time at your stay to go to Chaweng.

    We had a great time at The Sea. The hotel is a beautiful and quiet place, the staff is extraordinary and very helpful. The restaurant was delicious and the beach quiet and not crowded. The room was amazing. They even offered a free shuttle to Chaweng.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two Bedroom Ocean Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great room and perfect setting for families with small kids. We were there with a 4yo, 2yo and 8mo. Nice crib for baby and you can eat or sit at the restaurant while watching the kids on either the beach or in the pool. Loved it and staff very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights

    - smell in the rooms could be alleviated through scented candles - PC for hotel guests was not available, but the staff was very helpful in organizing a laptop

    - beautiful breakfast area, straight at the beach, great, delicious breakfast - nice rooms, spacious balcony with sea view, very surprised about the whirlpool in the large bathroom - medium-sized pool nicely situated along the beach - all in all very cozy, well-taken off boutique resort with love to details and attentive, friendly staff

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Studio
    • Stayed 5 nights

    - very old hotel, terrible condition - old fashionned - very limited breakfast - personnel not friendly - making remarks - remote from any center of interest + very expensive taxis on the island compared to bangkok - heavy humidity smell in the room - very low quality for the price you pay

    rien

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were checked into the wrong room, paid for a suite and were checked into a studio, stayed for 4 nights and moved rooms 3 times as a result of them checking us into the wrong room. The pictures of the rooms on the site are extremely misleading! Of the 3 rooms we stayed in none looked like the pictures! This was extremely disappointing. Location is awful, there's a family mart a 5 minute walk from the hotel, other than that there is nothing! Just bare empty roads. You either need to get a taxi to and from a livelier part to go to the night markets or shops or hire a moped. The sea was very rocky even with the tide in therefore, swimming was very limited. Staff were friendly but did not compare to the staff at the previous 2 hotels stayed in in Thailand. The pool was tiny not really much on the eye.

    The view of Koh phangan was amazing.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Absolutely loved this hotel, its really gorgeous and luxurious and we didn't want to leave the hotel our room was that nice. the staff on reception were extremely kind and helpful and made the stay even better. I would recommend this hotel to anyone who was going to stay on the island of Koh samui.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights

    More seats around the pool needed. Better transfers to town/ beach at Mae Nam would have been nicer.

    Excellent location on the beach, facilities are nice. Bed is super comfortable. Staff friendly and very helpful.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Suite Plunge Pool
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was very poor. Almost no local food, just some fried rice/noodles ans fruits. I am sure Thailand has much more to offer. Western food was low quality. No good restaurants nearby.

    Very quiet, a few km off the main tourist areas.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Suite Plunge Pool
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    the pool is small,

    room is big enough

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Presidential Suite Beach Front
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The aircon sometime is faulty.

    The cocktails are tasty.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Suite Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is quite far from the busy places. You have to take a taxi or rent a bike/car.

    The staff, beach and rooms arr excellent.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Suite
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    the rooms and facilities were ok but not more than that. service was really bad, the team were indeference. Bad smell in the rooms and torn sheets. f

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two Bedroom Ocean Suite
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Just loved it would want to visit again !

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Presidential Suite Beach Front
    • Stayed 11 nights

    very friendly personel

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I LOVED IT! CAN'T WAIT TO COME BACK. THE RESORT IS BEAUTIFUL AND THE STAFF ARE WONDERFUL

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not far from airport. Nice beach

    Great location peaceful and quiet. Nice beach. Staff were friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Suite Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    hotel a bit dated, simple breakfast, lack of care on details

    large rooms, amazing bed and bathroom. nice sea views

    Stayed in January 2017

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Location was a little bit out of the centre of town which isn't necessarily a bad thing as you may want peace and tranquility which you'll definitely get there but taxis to town etc aren't as cheap as everywhere else in SE Asia. I would go back to the hotel though for a nice chill!

    Breakfast and restaurant amazing. Staff very helpful. Pool and beach amazing. Very luxurious hotel

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Décor is dated and room was tired. Staff are not that interested in you more interested in there phones. Sun beds and umbrellas need to be replaced.

    Peace and quiet, if you want to escape the hassle and bustle of life this is a good choice.

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The view of a dilapidated roof next door. The room offered didn't have a balcony as advertised. Had three offers of other rooms because the air conditioning wasn't working. One of which was offered if we paid an extra 3000 baht a night. After a weeks stay the manager suddenly decided to erect a beach volley ball net for the three elderly couples that were staying there (which wasn't used at all). The net blocked the beach off so you had to walk around or duck underneath. They decided to erect a sign beach side advertising their spa because very few of the public used it. The problem was, the manager decided to do the work to the side of the restaurant floor, including banging and welding in front of the guest, unbelievable! As is usual from my experience in Thailand, nice hotels surrounded by dumps.

    Beach location The staff The food Our room

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    We stayed at presidential suite with three bedroom.. Two bedroom was great but one of them was smelling musty, two days we kept the doors open but we couldn't get rid of it... In living room air conditions 3 times leaked and repaired. Our private swimming pool was not clean and circulation pumps were not working.

    Beach front Presidantial suite location was very good, and interior is very well designed. Large living room and master bedroom and bath room is very large and comfy... Weak breakfast, but good foods at restaurant for dinner...

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The staff was very stingy my flight was delayed and I had to pay for an extra couple of hours that I wanted to stay they have only paid late check out so plan your flights accordingly and pray you don't have last minute delays like me.

    Their room are very spacious. Very quite place on the beach.

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Our booking stated that our room would have a balcony - this was not the case and although we were upgraded from mountain to sea view a balcony would have been good as we had scuba gear to dry out.

    The staff were lovely

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    No usb connection for charging portable devices or iron. They did provide an iron on request. When we organised room service no one came to pick up dishes.

    Liked the villa and how it was set up for a family the view and the location close to restaurant and bar. Breakfast was brilliant.

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Sands a bit rough. Also a bit far from centre.

    Good experience for staying here. Make people feel relax, and very quiet. Good choice for family. Very lucky can join their cocktail party at beach! And it's free! Staff there all very kind and helpful!

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Firstly I would like to say, we came to this resort with very high expectations, which the £1200 price tag for 3 nights waranted, as a group of 6 staying in a presidential beach front villa. On arrival it was obvious that this whole resort needs a MASSIVE makeover. Im sure when it was first built (juding by the look of it over 8 years ago, do not judge it by the beautiful pictures as these are a TERRIBLE representation of what it is actually like, and I promise you it looks NOTHING like that now) it was lovely, that is definitely not the case anymore! Everything is dirty and needs a thorough clean... walls, floors, ceiling, seating areas, curtains, cutlery, plates etc. When we were shown around our villa, it wasnt really a villa. It was one big(ish) living area with a bedroom off the side, which you couldnt lock, a seperate room upstairs which was detatched from the main building, and a small room seperate again, which you had to go through your toilet to get into! In this small room there were 2 very uncomfortable single beds and a very loud aircon unit which made for a very restless nights sleep!! In the main area, we had no hot water for 2 of the 3 days despite having enigneers in and out the whole time we were there disrupting our supposedly peaceful stay. This made the shower and bath facilities in this room useless. The 'jacuzzi' bath which again looked great in the pictures was totally pointless. Not only did we not have any hot water to fill it, but if we did it would have taken over 2 hours (no exaggeration at all) to fill it up by which time it would have been cold anyway!! Also the bathroom door didnt lock at the back so if someone jumped the fence they could walk straight in! In the small room where you went through the toilet, this backed up and flooded on the second day, meaning we had some horrendous odours to deal with while they tried (about 3 hours after reporting it, for about 4 hours) to sort out which put that room out of use.

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Beautiful hotel, room very big and well equiped. Staff very friendly and nice. We felt like at home. We definitely come back. Beach beautiful and quiet.

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Breakfasts poor, a lot of things like yesterday Tum soup youm przegotowna around luckily a lot of delicious food in bars on the beach. Very weak wifi

    Clean, good hotel for familly with young chiled

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Our 2-bed room sea view apartment was in desperate need of renovation. There was no one there to greet our taxi. Staff were not trained in hospitality services and had limited grasp of English. Water pressure not great and not very hot.

    Location and pool area stunning. Breakfast improved dramatically after we provided feedback to management.

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The wifi was very unstable. Hot and cold water in the shower was a nightmare

    Great staff. always helpfull. Nice pool/dining area. We had the Ocean suite, and it was really big and spaceous. A small grocery store 5 minutes away.

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Prices of meals are quite high in the hotel but there are many alternatives nearby.

    Helpful and polite stuff. Luxurious and spacious, nice double bedroom appartment. Pleasant restaurant on the beach with excellent smoothies and quiet chillout music. Very good swimming pool. Good lacalization.

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    When we arrived at the hotel there was no one to greet us and no one to help us get to the room. We had various issue with the room: The furniture was old and worn and there was a funny/old smell coming from the kitchen throughout our stay. The Jacuzzi didn't work in spite of numerous calls to reception and maintenance it was not fixed. There were no pots and pans in the kitchen for cooking. On the first morning breakfast was not ready for 7am and the food was cold and the buffet was dirty with dirty table cloths and ants crawling on the pastry. Again there was no one to serve us. The hotel photos were nothing like the hotel. There was no beach to speak of and no seating on the beach.

    Tang, the resort manager, was friendly and helpful

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    - beach very muddy. - due to season waterfront ended up more or less at the restaurant. Swimming in the swa hardly possible.

    Extraordinary nice staff. Very new, nice hotel, very clean

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Great place for a quiet getaway with the busy chaweng only a 20min scooter ride away (250 bhat per day) if you want some extra excitement.

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    I like the size of the room

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Every thing

    Nothing

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Friendly helpful staff. Beautiful building

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Rocky bed after sand in the sea. Hotel taxi to airport was over expensive.

    Room was beautiful, facilities very good.

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Breakfast needed more of a variety and flavour

    The beach and the room

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    very bad stuff workers

    nothing

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Breakfast could have been better.

    The view down at the pool is awesome and my bed was sooo comfortable!

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    wi fi and apartment seating shower not good broken parts

    breakfast

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    nothing at all. but it's a bit far from the central

    room is so big, even for 4 girls. Nice room. Near beach

  • Reviewed: 3 February 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Stayed in 3 bedroom presidential suite 3 couples. Great rooms and private pool what a treat. Would definitely return.

There are also 10 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 49

Guests also reviewed these properties: