Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Mamaison Phuket 3 stars

82/32 Moo 3, Bangtao Beach, Cherngthalay, 83110 Bang Tao Beach, Thailand

#10 of 12 B&Bs and Inns in Bang Tao Beach

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 150 hotel reviews

8.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.4

  • Comfort

    7.8

  • Location

    8.4

  • Facilities

    7.7

  • Staff

    8.6

  • Value for money

    7.9

  • Free WiFi

    8.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more- opens a dialog box
Write a review

Showing 1 - 58

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2018

    9.2
    Basic accomodation in prime location on bangtao beach
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bungalow
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Finding the place was not easy as the hotel is know as the former name of Blue so taxi didn’t know . For others just ask for Best Western which is opposite . It’s a one man show so when the receptionist is clesning the rooms , the phone isn’t picked up as my airport taxi man found . No food there but next door neighbour will have a restaurant when upgrade complete so that will help and best western buffer breakfast ( Bt 400 ) or dinner buffer ( Bt 750 ) is excellent . Nice well kept pool. The mosque wailing off around 5;50 am but only mildly audible but the beach club behind the hotel are audible so can either join them or ignore as they finish by 2 am and not to bad . My Air con wasn’t working properly but I was only there one night. Prime location more than compensated for the small niggles and would actually stay there again now that I know where it is .

    Location prime and it’s like a backpackers inn with a pool . Very friendly manager and adjacent to the best western bangtao resort for eating brekkie and dinner . Prime location near beach , convenience stores , alternative eateries and massage shops . Room was spacious as was the bathroom and plenty of towels and all very clean . Pool decent size but some women might think it need screening from direct views from the adjacent street / pavement while public passing but wouldn’t be issue for most . Would stay again .

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2018

    6.3
    Won’t come back again
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Bungalow
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Actually you can’t name these hotel because it’s just rooms in the street, no reception, no security and no fence around the place nothing at all so we kinda couldn’t feel safe, the room was clean except that I found one small cockroach at the cabinet, the most thing we loved about the place is the owner and his girlfriend they were really welcoming and helpful

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2018

    8.3
    Great little find...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Bungalow
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Lovely little place to stay but there were some bad smells coming from the drains in our bathroom which were very very smelly. The pictures and description said there was a restaurant and bar but when we got there it was closed but guessing it was because we were staying out of high season. Also, we had requested a cot as we were travelling with a baby but when we turned they had provided a camp bed... Guess they got confused. But all in all, I would recommend.

    Great location, clean rooms, great price for time of year.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    9.6
    Location of the place is great if you wanna stay close by...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bungalow
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    2 days what I stayed there wifi didn’t work

    Location of the place is great if you wanna stay close by the beach, close by you have couple of bars, restaurants and supermarkets!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    7.5
    Stayed for a 24 hour stop over.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Bungalow
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    My family felt that the pool area was too open in order to sunbathe and swim as the hotel is straight onto the street, they felt a little exposed. Perhaps some gates or screening may help. The rooms, also face each other and so changing entailed fully closing the curtains each time, perhaps some fine net curtains might prevent this. We had an enjoyable stay. Thank you.

    Stayed for a 24 hour stop over. Central location. Plenty of options for good along the road. Beach within very short walking distance. Friendly manager. Small but well kept rooms. We were able to pay a small fee for keeping the room until the afternoon to coincide with an evening flight. Lovely pool and sun loungers.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    10
    Very enjoyable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Bungalow
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The whole experience was great, the sun loungers were very comfortable. Good location to close beach, bars, shop etc. all rooms opened to the pool . Would be sure to go again if we visit Bangtao.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2018

    4.2
    Not for business trip
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bungalow
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    there was no security and lacks basic amenities such as hair dryer, flat iron, ironing board, low water pressure, internet's not working

    clean room, no pets policy

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    7.9
    Thouroughly enjoyed our stay in Mamaison and Bangtao Beach. Will recommend to friends.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Bungalow
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Could have been more shelf space in the spacious bathroom and a drying line and another piece of furniture to put another suitcase onto. Also some sheer curtains on the doors.

    Excellent location, friendly staff especially the room attendants, pool was excellent.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    9.2
    Relaxing, clean and friendly!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Bungalow
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Can’t think of anything!

    Customer service was EXCELLENT! Nelson (the manager) was really accommodating and ensured my family and I were as comfortable as possible. Less than a minute away from the beach and the pool just outside the room was a big bonus.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    3.8
    Budget rooms near wonderful Bang Tao Beach
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bungalow
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Ma Maison cannot be called a hotel. It is just 'rooms with a pool' next to the road. No reception, no restaurant and not even free drinking water. The friendly Belgian owner mentioned in other reviews was not there.

    The room was clean and had all basics. Bang Tao beach is one if the best in Phuket and in walking distance.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2018

    9.2
    Lovely staff and super location :)
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bungalow
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Maybe some bottled water after day 1 would be good and the loud building work to start after 10am.

    Super Manager who let me take a shower post- check out :)

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2018

    6.7
    pleasant place at good location with nice staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bungalow
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bathroom is smelly. Pool water is too strong clorinated, it burns in the eyes. Too open towards the road, no privacy feeling. Same for the rooms, need to close the curtains, otherwise people can see inside...

    Helpful staff

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    6.7
    The property was very close to the beach.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Bungalow
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They occasionally have water outages, the air con unit didn’t work (but they did go and buy a fan for us which was good of them). The pool was a good depth but it’s right next to the main road!!

    The property was very close to the beach.. only a 2 min walk

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2017

    10
    The staff were fantastic.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Bungalow
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were fantastic. The location was perfect for a chilled couple of days, beach only a couple of minutes walk from the hotel. Lovely big swimming pool too.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2017

    6.7
    Location very remote
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Bungalow
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Light in the room didn't work so couldn't see and room was right by the pool so had to shut the curtains to get ready with a small lamp. Location was very quiet, had to get a taxi to patong in the end as there was nothing going on around the hotel which cost us £15 each way

    Room was nice and modern, free good wifi and nice big plasma TV

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2017

    4.2
    Disappointed!!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room we had didn't match the pictures! They gave us one of the rooms above the restaurant which are completely horrible. We paid far too much for the quality of the room. A person can easily find a better accommodation with better prices and still be close to Bang Tao beach.

    Walking distance to Bang Tao beach!

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2017

    4.6
    A deeply unpleasant experience.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room with Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was basically a storeroom with a bed and a shower in the eves of the building above the kitchen. The smell of bacon wafted up at regular intervals. Breakfast wasn't served until 9.45 despite a sign saying "Breakfast serve at 9." And when it was it was cooked by a man who looked like he needed a good bath. There was Karaoke until past midnight despite being told it was going to end at 11pm.

    It was located close to the overcrowded beach of Bang Tao which was populated by mainly Russian people. The rooms surrounding the pool seemed alright but I was told that I had one of the cheap rooms. It was located up a steep, dangerous wrought iron staircase. I was paying £46 a night for this 'room.'

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2017

    6.7
    noisy king rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    the king rooms are in the loft space above a bar and kitchen, the walls are very thin and there is no insolation for sound or heat so its incredibly noisy and really hot when you enter your room, i dong think this would be an issue if you had a pool side room

    the bed was comfy the wifi was good,

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2017

    8.3
    Was a lovely hotel and the owner, Peter was very nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Bungalow
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Noise from bar next door went on very late one night (karaoke) but the hotel owner did say that he would sort out. We only stayed 2 nights.

    Very nice clean room opening straight out on to the pool. Only a 2 minute walk to the beach.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2017

    8.3
    Nice stay for a couple of days, close to the beach
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Bungalow
    • Stayed 3 nights

    - Bathroom smells bad - Breakfast served in the restaurant nearby was not very good - There is not so much happening in Bangtao

    - Early check-in - Bangtao Beach is 2 min walk from the hotel - 7/11 shop close to the hotel - Clean and comfortable room - Wifi was OK - Free beach towel

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2016

    9.6
    It's a relaxed resort with few rooms which makes it...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Bungalow
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It's too far away from Patong Beach (10 km) and the taxis are expensive in Phuket, much more than in Bangkok. For 10 km they charge 700 baht. But this is not something from the hotel itself, just a comment.

    It's a relaxed resort with few rooms which makes it really cozy. We arrived at 9 am and they had our room ready for us despite the fact that the check in was at 2 pm. The owner is friendly and cares about her guests. It's located in the heart of Bangtao Beach just 100 meters from the beach, which is beautiful and large. There's a 7 eleven a couple of meters away and a few restaurants and shops.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2018

    9.2
    It was small and was close to eating and the beach
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Bungalow
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was small and was close to eating and the beach

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2018

    10
    Amazing staff and amazing place
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Bungalow
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Amazing staff and amazing place

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2018

    9.6
    I really enjoy the stay and appreciate the staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bungalow
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff is extremely helpful. The room is clean. Swimming pool is right outside. Location is only 5 min walk to the beach.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2018

    10
    Comfortable and after Raily fantastic. Close to really good beach and loads of bars and restaurants.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Bungalow
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was great

    Great people - excellent pool and good service.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    8.8
    Value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Bungalow
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location was great and a big pool

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2018

    7.5
    Always need more toilet paper and water:)
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Bungalow
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bar noise late into the night.

    Always need more toilet paper and water:)

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    4.6
    Minibar and wifi
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Bungalow
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom smelt very bad. They didn't have 24 hours staff.

    Minibar and wifi

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2017

    10
    Great value and location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room with Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Just a great value place..lovely pool...minutes from the beach and the owners are lovely and hospitable...thanks Ann

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2017

    10
    Fantastic hotel, very friendly managers
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bungalow
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely managers, great service

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2017

    5.8
    There is a bar near the hotel, and a few restaurant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bungalow
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There is no lobby Except the beach, the hotel is far from everything.

    There is a bar near the hotel, and a few restaurant. The beach is very near

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2017

    8.3
    good place value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    all was ok

    great staff, good location, in general good experience.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2017

    6.7
    Nice location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Bungalow
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel is not a boutique hotel. It is more a room-rental.

    Nice location

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2017

    4.6
    Very loud room..
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room with Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Way too loud! Singing in the bar till midnight Room was on top of the bar! So no escape..

    Good owner and staff

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2017

    9.6
    Very recommended spot nice and clean !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Bungalow
    • Stayed 11 nights

    Wery clean place, good location maybe to close to main street but... that's almost all location are there near to main street

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2016

    10
    Great rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing

    The hotel is nice. The rooms and shower are nice.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2016

    8.8
    Nice
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Bungalow
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Shower was a little unpredictable.

    Super friendly and helpful owner

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2016

    10
    Great stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Bungalow
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    N/a

    Small, quiet clean & comfortable.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2016

    9.6
    Great little hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The only (minor) bad thing about this hotel was that the bathrooms sewer used to smell bad. But we kept the bathroom door closed so the smell didnt bother us.

    Great little hotel. The manager was extremely nice and helpful. The mood was very laid back and we could have drinks at the pool. The pool was also very good. The rooms were redecorated less than a year ago and were extremely comfortable.

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2016

    9.6
    I would recommend this great little hotel, it's in a great...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The drains in the bathroom smelt from time to time but they did put drain cleaner in when we asked so wasn't much of an issue 😉

    I would recommend this great little hotel, it's in a great location, 1 minute walk from Bang Tao beach. It has a nice pool and its right next to shops and restaurants. Price wise it's really reasonable compared to other hotels in this area. I personally like small boutique hotels and this fit the bill. Bang Tao is a lovely location, not too busy or overcrowded.

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2016

    8.8
    - Swimmibg pool
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    - Dampness in the bathroom - Stuffily a little in accomodations - No extra windows in the rooms, except panoram entry-door

    - Swimmibg pool - TV with different channels - Helpful manager, Peter - Nice sunbed near swimming pool - Very close to the Beach - Great infrastructure nearby (bikes, bars, beaches, restaurants, shops etc.) - Nice beach

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2016

    4.6
    The hotel was close to the beach.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    I was informed per email that I would be above the restaurant, without any more information. But when I arrived at the hotel, I discovered that I was above a bar/restaurant, very noisy, that closes officially at midnight but you could hear the staff working until 4am. When you are in the room, it is as if you were litterally in the bar, hearing the loud music, the customers laughing, the staff working..Not mentioning that I was awaken at 8.30am the next day by workers drilling next to my room. The ceiling of the room was very low, it was very hot in the room and the bathroom wasn't very clean. The pool is almost in the street, so there is no privacy.

    The hotel was close to the beach. Peter was very nice, as I was very unhappy with my room he offered me another one.

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2016

    10
    Great place to stay , Peter and Anne really helpful but not...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Great place to stay , Peter and Anne really helpful but not intrusive. Room was comfortable and clean. Swimming Pool was perfect and only for strides away . Bar was friendly and coffee was fantastic

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2016

    2.5
    Nothing
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    This was probably the worst experience of my whole Asia travel. The manager seems stressed and arrogant. So the "welcome" starts bad. But then the room. I am backpacker so I really expect nothing... I think the bungalows may be ok but don't book the standard double!! Seems like there are just two of it under the rooftop so it's small and no air as the window is a small hole. The room is located above the kitchen of the restaurant sooo it's hot when u come in 40°C no kidding..the main street is in front so loud. The restaurant plays music like prty until after 23 even if manager said they close at 22.00... remember u are located above the kitchen and Terrasse of them. They where out of towels until 17.00 so I couldn't take a shower or go to the beach since my check in. I don't know where this good references come from... another guest first bungalow 2 m beside the restaurant (which public!so tourists come and drink and stay)seemed stressed to me too about noise. Another point all is totally open the night so everybody can come in. The pool is on the main street. I traveled 3 weeks China Malaysia Thailand and Mamamaison was the only really bad experience. Pricy by the way.

    Nothing

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2016

    10
    The owners very friendly and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The owners very friendly and helpful. We were flying late the day of check out and they didn't rush us to check out. Great pool, location and staff.

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2016

    8.8
    It is close to the beach.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    It is close to the beach. It is a small hotel, almost like an inn. Breakfast @Bo next to MaMaison was good! We also rented a scooter behind the hotel. They gave us new scooters. Staff is really friendly and helpful. The new owners are really nice and they provide us with some good tips! 👍

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2015

    10
    Great boutique hotel, completely renovated a few months ago...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Everything was really great !

    Great boutique hotel, completely renovated a few months ago and under new ownership + management, with large and beautiful rooms and bathrooms with modern equipment. Very good location, next to the beach, in a lively neighborhood. Very friendly and helpful new management team : they were really nice to us. Definitely great value for an amazing price !

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2016

    9.6
    The manager Ann was really helpful and did an excellent job...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The manager Ann was really helpful and did an excellent job informing us on where to go what to do, nothing was too much. Great management skills.

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2016

    8.8
    The room was perfect, lovely and clean and right next to the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The room was perfect, lovely and clean and right next to the pool. Short walk to beach and nice quiet restaurant/bar within resort.

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2016

    9.6
    Nice and clean, cloes to everything.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Nice and clean, cloes to everything. The owners where very helpful. I do not hesitate to come back.

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2016

    10
    Everything😊
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing 😊

    Everything😊

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2016

    6.3
    the Personal is very friendly, Pool is clean
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The two rooms above the Restaurant are very small and the barhroom is not very comfortable

    the Personal is very friendly, Pool is clean

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2016

    9.2
    The bathroom didn't smell very good because of the sewer.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The bathroom didn't smell very good because of the sewer.... All the rest was very Good

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2016

    8.8
    Great location and friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Great location and friendly staff.

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2016

    8.3
    Very friendly personnel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Very friendly personnel. Good location.

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2016

    7.9
    Boutique style
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Clean & comfortable but the drains/bathroom were very smelly due to the main sewer 😞

    Boutique style

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2016

    9.6
    lovely refurbished rooms only minutes walk from the beach.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    lovely refurbished rooms only minutes walk from the beach. pool right outside the door. bar and restaurant nice food.

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2016

    9.2
    Nice manager, very helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nice manager, very helpful. Clean room.

There are also 10 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 58

Guests also reviewed these properties: