Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Melati Beach Resort & Spa 5 stars

9/99 Moo 5, Bophut, Thongson Bay, Koh Samui , 84320 Choeng Mon Beach, Thailand

#9 of 46 hotels in Choeng Mon Beach

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 498 hotel reviews

8.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.2

  • Comfort

    9.2

  • Location

    8.4

  • Facilities

    9

  • Staff

    9.2

  • Value for money

    8

  • Free WiFi

    7.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2018

    10
    Perfect relaxing family vacation in Koh Samui.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Pool Villa
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No drinking water next to the pool and the beach. You have to order drinks from the bar. Kids are spending many hours on the beach and pool and need to drink a lot. I think water cooler should be complementary. Buying mineral water in large bottles which isn’t expansive Evian can be done only outside of the resort. Mosiquitos - especially next to the villa. Pool in the vila cleaness.

    Room - we had a pool vila. It’s great feels like real relaxing place for the family. General facility - it’s great. Quiet.clean. Pools - are great. Fun and clean. Infinity pool. Beach- quiet.clean. Private. But water visibility very bad. Some water sport activity on the beach (kayak, snorkeling although you can’t see any thing) Staff is amazing and service oriented. They are kids friendly. Gym is good. Restaurants - breakfast amazing. Lunch at the pool restaurant was great. Expansive compared to Thailand. I would go again

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    9.2
    The room was beautiful and the housekeeping on room was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Grand Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The food in the restaurant was overpriced.

    The room was beautiful and the housekeeping on room was great, leaving treats from chef and lighting an oil burner each night.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2018

    9.6
    It was fantastic!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Pool Villa
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The only downside is the fact that it is away from any main center. If you want to eat outside the hotel (and we did every night) you need to take a taxi back and forth. You cannot walk to a near restaurant. I would recommend the hotel to have complimentary shuttle service for the guests. And also to have fun entertainment at night with live music for the guests.

    We lovedddddddddd Melati!!!! It is a wonderful resort! Wonderful staff! The rooms are beautiful and pampering. We stayed at the Family Pool Villa for a week. It was great! The breakfast is delicious. We absolutely loved Melati!!!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2018

    10
    We loved our stay at Melati so much!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Private Garden Pool
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It wasn’t a problem for us but if you want to be close to a busy town/ walk to a few shops you will be better to stay in Chaweng.

    We loved our stay at Melati so much! From the amazing facilities to comfortable room not to mention the amazing staff - this was the best hotel stay either of us have had. We were on our honeymoon and Melati was the perfect place to relax and unwind. We had a private garden pool room which was a really good size, really nice bathroom and comfortable bed. The private pool in our room was a bonus but the two pools onsite were more than adequate for swimming. The whole garden surroundings and beautifully maintained facilities was such a delight to spend 10 days in. I have to mention the staff again - they were all so friendly and kind, nothing was a bother for them and they went above and beyond what was necessary. If we are ever back in Koh Samui we would love to stay here again.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2018

    10
    this is the right place for Relaxing, tasty food, for you and every one of your family
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two Connecting Pool Villas
    • Stayed 8 nights

    Fabulous,lovely Resort, suit my family needs, private swimming pool, Magnificent atmosphere day and night, tasty food international cousin, Lovely staff

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2018

    9.2
    A great place to stay if you look for comfort and quiet holidays
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Grand Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not enough seats available at the pool

    Comfort of the villa/room, garden of the hotel, smille of the team, the pool area and view, breakfast, quiet place

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    6.3
    Supposed to be a ***** resort
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Grand Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    First of all, very unusual hotel policies which includes to pay everything upfront even a week before arrival, at the time of check in they requirer 2000 THB per person per night as deposit. If you refuse to pay the deposit they hold your passport, all staged in sequences and you don't have a free choice to act. The air conditioning wasn't functioning properly and sometimes the electricity was off. One night a lizard showed up in our room which was unexpected. There is never enough sunbeds, how hard would it be to count needs on customer capacity?

    The location is perfect and the staffs does everything to make your vacation perfect.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    10
    Highly recommended! This was the best vacation of my life!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Grand Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 8 nights

    Melati is probably the best hotel/resort i have stayed in so far. The people who work there make it better than any place. I sorely miss my stay and the wonderful time we spent there last week.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    8.8
    Quiet , private beach and private villas.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Pool Villa
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Quiet , private beach and private villas. Staff all very friendly and helpful. Sanctuary pool a lovely space to relax. Excellent breakfasts and food theme nights. Will be back!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    7.1
    It is clean and comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Private Garden Pool
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    4 things you will hate; *Mosquitoes are everywhere. You will start to stay at room to escape from crazy mosquitoes or you will scratch yourself by bleeding if you are brave enough to stay outside. *Humidity level is crazy. You will see %90-%95 at nights and will sweat as hell. *Sea temperature is higher than weather. So taking shower is fresher way than swimming. *Any price you will see is not Vat included. They do not add %17(in total) taxes to price lists on menus or their offer.

    It is clean and comfortable.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    10
    I spent four nights at Melati as a solo traveler and it was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Grand Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I spent four nights at Melati as a solo traveler and it was absolutely fantastic. The standout for me was the friendliness and professionalism of the staff. The room, pool and resort were absolutely immaculate. The breakfast was delicious and gave plenty of energy for a wide range of activities that the resort can organise for you. There are three shuttles a day to Chaweng which makes this resort really easy to access the busier side of the island, but is remote enough for you to really relax and get away from it all.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    10
    The perfect place to disconnect and enjoy beautiful garden views with sea view
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Grand Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Maybe a few more transats by the beach/pool area would be good.

    Beautiful garden, quietness and serenity, attention given to customers , staff discreet yet efficient and friendly . Large rooms, no loud music noise.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    5.4
    Disappointing. Spend a little more and enjoy your vacation at a proper luxury hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Grand Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Mattress/pillow combination - just not comfortable. Air conditioning - having it on all night, even on the lowest setting, was uncomfortable; turning it off was not an option. The main restaurant - the staff is clueless. They botched my drink thrice and we left without ordering any food. It's possible that the food is actually very good. Mobility - you need a taxi (assuming that you haven't rented wheels) to get anywhere on Samui from the Melati, and the hotel provides guests with a drop-off service but will not pick them up, regardless of time of day. Most egregious, the front desk staff - borderline rude. Their English is poor, so communicating with them isn't easy. The reception was lukewarm, going through the motions of a welcome drink, etc., but they were especially to keen to charge my credit card without either explaining to me what the charges were for, or showing me how much they were charging the card. We were assigned what I imagine was one of the worst rooms they had and I had to spend the next 30 minutes insisting upon a different room. They upgraded us to a villa category that isn't listed on their website, but is possibly reserved for disgruntled guests who are insistent on the quality they deserve at this price.

    The Melati is alright if you want to spend all day, everyday at the resort's beach and/or pool, and there definitely seems to be no dearth of guests who want to do just that. The beachside restaurant is decent - good breakfast buffet, reasonably priced lunch/dinner options, and a few interesting non-alcoholic drinks. Stick to what comes out of a bottle if you are particular about the quality of cocktails. The bar staff are clueless when it comes to mixing drinks, which is a pity because the bar is reasonably well-stocked for an island in Thailand.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    9.6
    Beautiful beach and resort with amazing service!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Grand Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The prices for the in-house cocktails and dinners are very expensive so rather go to the beach restaurant next door where you can get great value (the same food for a quarter of the price).

    The grounds are absolutely amazing with the choice of lounging on the beautiful beach, next to the beach-side pool or at the adult only sanctuary pool under the palm trees (which was our choice). There were endless pathways through the gardens where you can visit the herb and flower gardens or relax in one of the many hammocks. The beach was unbelievable and swimmable and very picturesque. The shuttle service to and from Chaweng Beach, airport or Fishermans village was very efficient and punctual and the vehicles are very luxury which helps on a boiling hot day.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    7.5
    We enjoyed and loved every corner of the resort. The only fault was at reception.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Pool Villa
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Staffs at the reception. They seriously need basic training from the beginning. For example, saying "hello" when they greet guests or even a smile at least. They are the face of the resort and first impression the guests receive. Hardly see them smiling nor saying hello. Always looks angry and unhappy. They shouldn't be working in hospitality industry. Remind you, they act really promptly only in regards to money. ( shuttle bus fee). And talking about shuttle bus, it is nice to see them operating one but not really happy charging fees each trip when only operate 3 times a day.

    I loved the villa we stayed and the pool was awesome. Loved the greens all around the resort it was beautiful! ( needed sweeping of fallen leaves though)

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    7.5
    Gorgeous room , very comfortable bed and beautiful tropical...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Pool Villa
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The food was of poor quality and absolutely overpriced. The Traditional Thai night buffet, which was very pricey, ended up offering basic Thai food options good for tourists and a very sad Thai dance show. I suggest anyone staying here to go out to lunch and dinner since the restaurants we tried outside the resort were all outstanding.

    Gorgeous room , very comfortable bed and beautiful tropical gardens

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    9.2
    Third stay, three years in a row.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Pool Villa
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The beach could be tidied on a more regular basis, but I understand this is a shared beach not just for the hotel.

    This was our third visit to Melati. It's a fantastic hotel with excellent facilities. However, the staff make the difference, excellent service from start to finish with some really lovely characters who make you feel at home during your stay.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    9.2
    A beach resort great for a couple or a family vacation
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Grand Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The toilet was a bit smelly. It must be from the drainage.

    The room was spacious and clean. The bed was very comfy. The beach was clean. The staffs were friendly and attentive. We enjoed the game room a lot.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    5.8
    Room is ok. Nice beach and garden. High end price but not high end service.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Grand Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Service staffs are friendly but not professional. You should expect to hear staffs speak with very rude words in Thai language as they thought that most of guests are foreigners and won't understand what they are saying. Moreover, you should expect to be ignored when you eat at the beach front restaurant. Used plates, cups and glasses are piled up at each table long before a service staff would come to collect them. Not every table would have the same dining utensils, sometimes we got our food served but we had no folk or spoon to eat it. And no water refilling culture at this restaurant. You will have to call and wait for more than 20 minutes before someone would come to get your order. (We even gave up once and walked to eat at a local restaurant nearby which is providing far better service than this 5 stars hotel. And no one even care when we walked out of the restaurant after waiting too long to order. The taste of the food are not authentic Thai, we understood that they might adjusted the taste of food to be more suitable for foreigners. But it was not acceptable that a dish of expensive fried rice or fried noodles would be very wet like baby food. (We did tell the staff to give this note to their chefs that at least they should not use wet rice to make fried rice like that.) It's very sad but true to say that we agreed that we have far better service when we eat at shops like Sizzler or Pizza Hut, comparing to eating at this restaurant in an expensive 5 star hotel. One more example is that the beach towels are not always available. You have to be very lucky to have them. We kept walking back to the towel shelf again and again to find that there is still no beach towels. (We see other guests are doing the same thing with us.)

    We like the beach, beautiful and quite private. The best staffs in this hotel are gardeners, they have nice garden with cascades. We love lying down on a hammock and read books in the garden.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    9.6
    Outstanding room with plunge pool.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Private Garden Pool
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Outstanding room with plunge pool. Breakfast was exceptional and so was the service from all of the staff!! We will definitely be back and recommend to anyone to wants a relaxing week away!!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    10
    Very great place to stay at in samui. definitely recommend it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Pool Villa
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The one complaint was that there were no extra yoga Matts that the hotel could lend us, and also the whole facility lacked a single wheelchair. My mother had a health issue and getting her from the room to the buggy was a real ordeal. Having a wheelchair is a must for any hotel for emergency situations.

    It’s a really beautiful place, very clean and well maintained. The staff are very friendly and helpful. The breakfast (which is more like a full brunch buffet) is outstanding, and many health conscious choices, including a gluten free section, and great selection of fresh fruits, alonc with every other thing you could possibly expect for breakfast. The food at the restaurants are also fantastic.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2018

    9.6
    We loved our stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Grand Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    All prices are excluding vat and service fee, so the end price is not clear. Didnt like this. Breakfast should be included in the price...again not showing clearly your final price.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2018

    7.1
    - The beach is good for family with small children
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Grand Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    -We were first 2 weeks at InterContinental hotel, moving to Melati was just for catching our flight. The service level was in general a shock in comparison to InterCon, sorry. For example, coffee at breakfast needs to wait 20 minutes, dinner in the restaurant was given a wrong table which not reserved by me in the afternoon and we were told that the table we wanted was reserved by other clients but the table was empty the whole evening. Then we were brought back to the wrong place by buggy at 9pm when my child was sleeping in my arms, we had to find our correct place in the darkness In a nutshell, we won’t come back!

    - The beach is good for family with small children - The kayak renting and the guys for kayak are so nice person - Faire taxi price of hotel

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2018

    5.0
    This is not a 5 star hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Private Garden Pool
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I am a frequent traveler and only stay in 5 star hotels and this is not a 5 star hotel. This trip before staying in this hotel I stayed in Hansar en SALA witch are in the same price range but are a completely different level. Although the staff really tries to please the guest this hotel just doesn’t have a good price/ quality The pool next to the beach is very old and needs a big update for a 5 star feeling. The other pool is very nice but is so remote nobody uses it and there is also no service there. The beds next to pool have a old feel and need replacement,and are almost all taken very early in the morning by guest that put there beach-towel on in and then leave. The rooms are also a bit outdated. This hotel needs to lower his price or get a big renovation. I don’t recommend going staying here.

    The garden is very beautiful and the the garden Thai restaurant feels like eating the jungle witch is nice

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2018

    8.8
    Great resort to go & be pampered / chill out
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Private Garden Pool
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was too hard but this was same throughout our 4 week stay in Koh Samui & Pattaya - stayed in 2 different places in each area

    The adult only pool was a great retreat from the main pool to chill out - all the staff were fantastic couldn’t do enough for you & with a smile

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    9.6
    Private tour with Mr.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Grand Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 9 nights

    Exchange rate at the hotel reception is not good, it is much better to change money in Chaweng or Fisherman's village

    Private tour with Mr. Peach was excellent

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2018

    9.6
    Amazing hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Pool Villa
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was absolutely perfect! From the room, to the amazing delicious in breakfast. The pool table, dvd, games on rooms in case of rain (that happend a lot). Was very impressed by thinking to the small details. The spa was amazing as well tho a little bit pricy. Loved the flowers and jasmine everywhere and the complementary fruit, flowers and etc. Loved the option to rent a scooter through the hotel and not on the street by vendors. You should know that the hotel is far from center but I actually loved it.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2018

    9.6
    Seven days in paradise Melati
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Pool Villa
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very helpful staff,exceptional food,really nice and friendly Chef Alexis.The hotel is super clean,our room(Villa with a swimming pool)was a good idea and we would highly recommend it to families with kids.Special thanks to the manager.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    7.9
    Nicely appointed and secluded resort in North Samui
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Grand Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room air conditioning is noisy. The beach is oriented north and gets little sun after 4 pm. The property is a bit out of the way. The only way to go to Chaweng 10 km is by taxi & taxis in samui are expensive.

    The Bangalows are nice & comfortable. Nicely appointed rooms. The gardens are beautiful and serene. The hotel is on a quiet little bay with its own beach and pleasant view. Good if you are looking for a secluded quiet place where you stay in the resort most of the time.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    9.6
    Beautiful place with an infinite pool overlooking the sea.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Grand Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Cannot point at anything that didn't disappoint.

    The location, staff, extra help needed was attended to meticulously. Superb place for any one, especially with Kids. i would not hesitate recommending this beautiful hotel and spa to anyone visiting samui.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 December 2017

    7.1
    Overall a pleasant stay but staff not up to 5 star standards
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Grand Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff not well trained or versed in English Prolonged check in. Had to pay total bill upfront on check in plus deposit guarantee. Staff at reception continuously talking amongst themselves in Thai. Poor command of English

    Peaceful Lovely gardens

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 December 2017

    6.3
    Lovely stay overall. The only thing to note is on accessibility.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Pool Villa
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No nearby amenities. Nearest Family mart convenient store is about 5 mins drive. You have to get transport from hotel to get there for Baht100 (round trip). Resort has 2 restaurants, so if you do not wish to get to Chaweng for meal, be prepared to have all your meals in those two restaurants. Staff are lovely at View Restaurant but a little on the pricy side. To get to Chaweng, you will need to spend about Baht600-800 (return trip), depending on your negotiation skill.

    Very clean property. Staff are very efficient and attend to our requests promptly. Beach is just steps away from the property. It's a small but very clean private beach (see pic which is taken from edge of View restaurant in the hotel).

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2017

    7.9
    The Property is good and the staff is hospitable
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Grand Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Food could have been better breakfast spread is not so great as in other Hotels in Thailand Had a BBQ dinner which was wanting for variety and was supposed to be on the beach but turned out to be in the hotel Food in the Thai restaurant was served warm/cold

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    10
    The individual villas are adequately covered with beautiful...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Pool Villa
    • Stayed 2 nights

    You will need a car or motorbike to go to ousside restaurant from your accommodation.

    The individual villas are adequately covered with beautiful fences to ensure privacy, and the private pool is of a moderate size and very convenient to use. The access to the beach was also very good and the restaurant menu was adequate. All the staff were friendly and friendly, overall clean and the overall resort environment was natural and beautiful. It is a place I would like to visit again.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    10
    Amazing stay - will be coming back again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Private Garden Pool
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing - absolutely perfect

    This Hotel was absolutely amazing, their attention to detail and service was fantastic. The whole experience was so personal and we felt so special. The food and the view from restaurants was great. We had a couple of afternoons of rain and had a full choice of DVD to watch, English channels and a box of games were provided in the room. The Spa was fantastic. We was sad to leave and our onward hotels have not matched this hotel

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    10
    Absolute paradise!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Grand Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    What an amazing, beautiful, secluded, serene resort! One of the best we have been to and this was our 3rd time in Koh Samui. The staff were fabulous and made you feel special, especially Best and Victor! It was an experience we will always remember and want to definitely relive.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    9.6
    We just stayed there for 3 nights with our 2 year old...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Grand Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We just stayed there for 3 nights with our 2 year old daughter, we absolutely loved the place and didn't wanted to leave. Staff there was very friendly and made us feel welcomed with the little one. Special thanks to Peck at the kids club, he's super friendly and engaging with our little one, we did pizza making and ballon arts there and absolutely loved it! Will be back again, thanks for everything!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    7.5
    The rooms were great, very clean and a good size.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Grand Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 9 nights

    I was charged a holding fee of 50% of the total cost at the time of booking and then when I arrived at the hotel I paid the entire balance. The holding deposit wasn't released and I was left over £1000 out of pocket for the entire duration of my stay and the money only returned to my account after I returned home. According to the duty manager at the hotel, this happens to a lot of their guests but they don't seen to have any plans to change their procedures.

    The rooms were great, very clean and a good size. The property was lovely and the staff very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    8.3
    Beautiful hotel with perfect private beach.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Grand Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Although the staff is very friendly, it does not feel professional enough for this sort of resort.

    The beach and the main pool are perfect, the location of the hotel is very convenient, very close to main attractions, and yet secluded enough. Excellent spa.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    7.9
    The public areas - pool, beach and restaurant are great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Pool Villa
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were with a baby and a baby stroller and the room was very far from the beach and pool. Although we paid a lot (for a private pool villa), when we asked to move closer to the beach because of our baby, we were told that we need to pay 3,000 bat more per night. So I'm not sure it fits a visit with a baby. The room felt more like a 4 stars hotel, not 5. The shower could be better.

    The public areas - pool, beach and restaurant are great. There's also kids pool and kids room.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    4.6
    We will not stay with them anymore
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Private Garden Pool
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The housekeep was bad. We stayed at the hotel for four nights they didn't clean the floor( I dropped my contact lense on the floor the first night and they were there for the rest three days) the shower room's floor was too slippery, my son fell many times. The hotels location is not convinient for family with small children. Usually when you stay with a hotel like this they offer free shuttle bus to city center, this hotel not and they only offers four shuttles a day.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    9.2
    Great staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Grand Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shuttle service we pre booked from the airport to the property was 800 bht which is way over priced & should be included in the room price considering the cost per night.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    10
    The best value luxury resort accom on all of Samui!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Pool Villa Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No significant criticisms at all - a truly exceptional resort!

    Lovely staff. Amazing private villa perfect for a romantic stay. On the beach private dinner was truly exceptional and the highlight of our trip!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2017

    9.2
    Breakfast - excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Grand Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    As location is out of the way more information could have been readily available regarding getting 'out and about' with day trips, local attractions etc.

    Breakfast - excellent. Staff - extra friendly but unobtrusive. Availability of buggies to transfer around property - excellent.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    3.3
    Pathetic Resort To Stay At - Felt Like a Two Star Resort
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Pool Villa
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Lizards inside and outside the room. Had to call ten times on the phone to ask for tooth brushes or laundry bags before someone would understand English and send it. They should keep proper English speaking staff in a so called five-star resort. The pool was dirty and looked really old.

    Nothing at all

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    10
    Fantastic !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Pool Villa Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights

    our trip was only 5 days... should have been longer !

    The resort was absolutely amazing ! The facilities, breakfast, room service and overall experience were tailor-made for the honeymoon couple. We will be sure to come back with our kids in the future :)

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    8.3
    Beautiful and relaxing! Wonderful food and lovely staff, right on the beach.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Pool Villa
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The beach is just a few steps from the pool...it isn't a picture perfect beach (slightly gritty sand and rocks underfoot in the sea), but it's wonderful to have it so close and so easy to reach. The staff will even bring your drinks down to your sunbed on the beach! There is some competition for sunbeds around the pool; people put the towels down at breakfast time (although this is normal practice everywhere I suppose). The restaurant is lovely but we felt it was somewhat overpriced and maybe a bit too formal. There is a Thai restaurant next door on the beach which was a great alternative option for more casual dining.

    Lovely breakfast! The most wonderful range of choices, and beautifully presented. The large pool is very nice with a swim-up bar (there is a second pool but we never made it there!) They make amazing smoothies and cocktails which they can serve in the pool, or on the beach. The restaurant food is stunning and delicious, a fusion of Thai and western styles. The staff are lovely. We were upgraded from a Family pool villa, to the Presidential Villa on arrival when they saw that we had three teenaged children, they thought this would be more comfortable for us - and it was!! Absolutely gorgeous with a huge outdoor bathtub and two amazing showers, a dressing room, and enormous beds. The room was beautifully scented with essential oils which just made it feel so tranquil. We loved it! Very relaxing stay.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2017

    10
    Satisfaction of friendly professional heavenly stay filled with smiles and high quality ameneties.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Pool Villa
    • Stayed 1 night

    A bit dark for lighting at night time to go through pathways...Maybe a tad bit brighter would be useful and safer to walk through stairs and property. But they do provide quiet electric golf car to pick up at our room to and from any hotel spots.

    I was hesitant to booked at first even the photos of property looks amazing as the Family Pool Villa was pricey. But once arrived the staff had welcomed us for warmly and even though there was a problem with our booked Villa ,Khun Noni (Manager) had made arrangement for us to have one smaller pool Villa and an additional superior deluxe room (world's biggest double Kind bed inside) for my mom for the priced we had paid. So they really did well with offering great options to troubleshoot to lack of originally booked Family Pool Villa. Breakfast buffet was full on amazing selections and great flows of services. Staffs are well trained and seem to enjoy their place of work. Harmoneous friendly atmosphere. Especially this place caters to mostly Europeans travelers but as Thai family they are also maintain utmost professionalism and how they all spoken in Thai to be of fine manner and articulation. Not made us feel unwelcome as too many high end places may do to locals which is an unfortunate bad habits amongst my own people sometimes. Definitely will revisit whenever Samui is calling. My kids(12y and 15Yr) and my 74yr mom loved the hospitality and comfort as much as I did. It was perfect get away spot for our holiday. We returned to spent more days with Melati as they did not have available room for the next few days. So on our 2nd return they managed to get us the most beautiful Family Pool Villa that we wanted and really felt at home in paradise. Thanks for making our holiday very memorable in heavenly way. The beach and swimming pools and landscape property design were superb. Very well maintained as it is not the newest Hotel. But seeing that means that are serious and taking pride to up keep and improve with their brand and image of boutique 5 stars cozy resort. Perfect family spot for sure. One would need a car to get around in and out of the Hotel but they do offer services as well for transportation if you need.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    7.1
    Beautiful rooms in tropical gardens near a tropical private beach.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Pool Villa
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had a very bad smell from the toilets in the room ( two family room villa with private pool) and wanted to change the room . We had to wait 4 hours and visit the front desk until they finally understood that we were serious about not staying in the room and wanting to move rooms. This caused for a very unpleasant situation, and was unnecessary . Please notice that we were not the first family to complain about plumbing problems and bad smells in the room. Take notice that a family will have to pay 800 THB for return transfers to towns and other places.

    I liked the interior of the room , the size of the family room. The staff was very friendly and patient. The food in the restaurant was excellent and not that expensive compared to a lot of the restaurants on the island. Nice private beach and beautiful gardens.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2017

    6.3
    Good brekfast, amazing SPA
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Grand Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    SPA prices much higher comparing to similar pleaces, hard to communicate with staff, although they try to be very helpful and friendly, when you want to arrange something everytime you talk with different person and that causes some misunderstandings

    Good brekfast, amazing SPA

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    8.3
    Great Weel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Pool Villa
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit isolated and taxi fares expensive to get anywhere.

    Friendly and helpful staff, always willing to help. Great family villa with pool. Big pool next to beach.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    8.8
    Resort was great, staff could be improved
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Grand Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff communication was poor. Upon check out we received many surprises on our bill including a mandatory donation fee. When we tried to clear up what these fees were about they got very offended and angry with us.

    The breakfast was great, drinks were strong and happy hour was good. The beach was peaceful and beautiful

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2017

    8.8
    Nice property with great beach setting
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Presidential Suite
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very poor service for all types of drinks. Restaurants and bars take way too long to bring drinks....up to 30min was typical, even for coffee.

    Friendly service and staff attention with a great pool and beach. Nice Wednesday evening Bar-B-Q

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    9.6
    First class resort
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Grand Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Mosquitoes could enter the room via bathroom. It had a wooden luvre window with no glass on the outside. The balcony railing is not baby friendly, the gaps are too wide.

    Pool close to the beach . Staff where great. Beautiful beach and views.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2017

    6.7
    Good SPA and valuable location on the beach.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Grand Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor transportation services: cars provided by the hotel are too expensive and there are no public taxi available in the area. Hotel staff is kind but in general service is not the one of a 5 stars hotel.

    Good SPA and valuable location on the beach.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    9.6
    Relaxing!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Grand Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 8 nights

    Apart from own room there were no other air conditioned areas

    Very well looked after by all the staff. Can't fault the staff for making you welcome and looking after you. Pool was lovely, adult only pool quieter but prone to more mosquitoes!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2017

    9.6
    Its my second time in this hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Pool Villa
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Cleaner beach, and itll be just perfect.

    Its my second time in this hotel. Everything was quite good, except for the beach, this time i dint take rick to swim, becouse if too much stones and seagrass. Also, USE REPELLENTS! When i got home, Ive spent a week recovering from denge fever, which is spread by mosquito. So, itll be wise to avoid such experience&

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2017

    9.2
    Inflated prices but great resort
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Private Garden Pool
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing was done for our honeymoon. Most of the staff had very poor English & the resort & island in general is overpriced.

    The breakfast buffet was great. The staff were extremely friendly too.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2017

    10
    Would highly recommend this resort for anyone visiting Ko Samui...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Grand Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing we didn't like...

    The room was huge and the bed really comfy, the bathroom was enormous and the bath on the balcony was a bonus just sorry we didn't stay long enough to use it. The breakfast was 5 star and the pool and swim up bar was fabulous.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2017

    9.2
    It's a beautiful resort, beware of golf carts if you have kids.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Pool Villa
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The workers diving the golf carts furiously around the resort, one almost hit my 3 year old daughter. Some of the waiters around the pool and restaurant were rude. Did not get out drinks after 2-3 times ordering, finally my husband walked up to the bar and waited for them to be ready.

    Best was a great waiter. The breakfast was excellent. The room was exceptional. The 2 bedroom villa with the pool was huge and beautiful. We loved the large pool!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2017

    9.2
    Loved every minute!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Pool Villa Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bedroom suite was fantastic with a really great pool. Although the main hotel pool was excellent with a view of Koh Phangan and a great pool bar which had a couple of happy hours a day.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    8.8
    A superb place to stay, be prepared for expensive meals and drinks!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Private Garden Pool
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The prices as shown at Restaurants, pool area, Spa etc, are already fairly high and then when the bill arrives a 10% service charge in addition to VAT are added, this makes everything expensive, - I believe the prices as shown should be inclusive -- we ate at a restaurant next door for about a third of Melati prices -- agreed the ambience was not the same!!!

    The gardens, rooms, and restaurants etc are all kept in excellent condition, the layout which allowed for complete privacy to our garden pool room was a real pleasure! The room was large, well designed and very comfortable!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2017

    8.3
    Excellent resort with wonderful staff and beautiful, very well maintained grounds.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Pool Villa Suite
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Whilst acknowledging that families with young children are a target group for beach resorts there was nowhere where guests without children could go apart from the sanctuary pool. Screaming, crying, poorly behaved children, particularly in food service areas is not enjoyable! On one evening in what we thought would be the quieter restaurant three young children were running around completely unsupervised and successfully smashed a few glasses! Maybe some segregated areas might be possible?

    Beautiful location with excellent staff, particularly in food and hotel services. Pool villa suite very spacious and well appointed with large bathroom. Very well maintained grounds with extensive water features throughout the gardens. The beach was also well maintained and staff very attentive and friendly.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2017

    10
    A little bit of paradise.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Grand Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fans on the balcony would be useful as weather can be very hot.

    The staff at Melati are outstanding. Very welcoming and friendly - nothing a trouble and all done with a smile. We had a family birthday gathering at Melati. They provided a very special celebratory dinner on the beach - good food, great service and wonderful location.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2017

    9.6
    Most amazing stay in koh samui
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Grand Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was extremely great and we had an amazing stay.The staff was extremly cordial, place was pleasant and refreshing with great and neat pool with the most amazing view.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2017

    8.3
    Great hotel in Koh Samuy
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Grand Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The fitness machines needs to be renovated..... You have to take a taxi to go to town which costs every time 400 baht(11 euro) 1 way so 22 euro return..... So notice that this hotel is not far from the centre but you need a taxi....

    The infinty pool on the beach is stunning... the private beach is amazing.... the restaurant on the beach also...... The rooms are beautifull and big...... The breakfast is great !!!! This hotel is great!!!!!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2017

    6.7
    Good resort, let down by poor food and uncontrolled Mosiquitos
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Private Garden Pool
    • Stayed 7 nights

    No Jacuzzi, room noisy, could hear the people upstairs. Mosquitoes ere a big problem, bitten all over. Spa treatments overpriced compared to going out. Pool bar too busy, i dont like waiting, why should you have to wait 10 mins for a drink? ... unacceptable, if they are bust, get more staff. Breakfast range is very poor compared to a typical 5 star resort/hotel. The pork sausage were dreadful 100% processed meat or some thing! Only two or three Thai dishes to choose from, no Indian food. I haven't come to Thailand to eat bacon and eggs, i can have this at home. The Thai dishes were empty all the time. The Thai food was not good at all at the resturant. We had dinner the first day at the on site restaurant and never ate again at the Melati. Instead we ate out everyday. Its much better value for money eating out and greater range/experience. For a 5 star resort, the food was not up to standard.

    beach on site, pool.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2017

    9.6
    Excellent hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Grand Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit far from center so you are obliged to pay absurd taxi prices.

    This hotel is amazing. The whole experience is luxurious and the staff is warm and welcoming. A very special place! The location is nice and quiet and the private beach is very nice.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2017

    8.8
    The staff are very friendly and accommodating, and the SPA...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Grand Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The staff are very friendly and accommodating, and the SPA is beautiful. The rooms have large bathrooms with a great shower and beautiful spa bath. Very nice pool!

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2017

    10
    Absolutely Perfect
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Grand Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The resort is gorgeous. The view is amazing! We had a wonderful stay with Melati. The entire resort is fulfilled with the scent of jasmine, which is really nice. The only down side might be the mosquito, not the hotel's fault tho. But there are mosquito releaseness spry everywhere. All the staff are really nice. It's a timeless world where you can be isolated from the city stress, from troublesome, from everything else.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2017

    8.3
    We stayed here for a week and enjoyed our time at the hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Grand Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    You are pretty isolated and consequently do need to get a taxi to most locations - whilst this wasn't a huge issue it would have been nice to be able to walk to cafes/ cash points.

    We stayed here for a week and enjoyed our time at the hotel. The resort layout and gardens are beautiful and clearly maintained with love. The whole resort definitely has more of a feel of a 'big resort' compared to others we stayed at. The room we had (deluxe double) was spacious and we liked the quirky layout of the bathroom (with the bath being slightly separate from the rest). The staff were very accommodating and kind, particularly when my partner was taken ill. We also took advantage of the excellent daily 'relaxation offers' and both received fantastic Thai massages for a good price. The hotel made efforts to reduce mosquito numbers by fumigating the estate on a regular basis. Breakfasts were good - but not the best compared to other places we stayed in Thailand. We loved the adult only pool and often escaped to use this in the afternoons - it was always so quiet and relaxed. An additional benefit was being able to pay for taxis on the room (aka hotel cars) to take us to various places such as the night markets. TIP: the reception staff are very well informed and it's worth asking them for ideas of things to do and what the best nights for these activities are. Beach was lovely with a beautiful view of Koh Phangan, however there was a lot of plastic washing up - whilst staff made every attempt to remove this for the 'small part' directly in front of the hotel the rest of the beach was left to fend for itself... I think it would be fantastic if greater effort was made to keep the whole beach clean. For bargain hunters there was also two massage 'set ups' on the beach that provide cheaper alternatives to the hotels spa options, and there was also a cafe next door which provided a great array of food options at a snip of a price to the hotel restaurants.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2017

    8.8
    Lovely place, relaxing
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Grand Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The beach is small and not that great for swimming.

    Beds are huge and so comfortable. The rooms were great and so clean. Each night they left a sweet treat of the day for you, a nice touch. Staff were really friendly and always interested in talking to you. I loved the sanctuary pool which is for adults only and there are only a small amount of loungers here so it's really quiet and tranquil.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2017

    7.9
    the staff from the swimming pool was very friendly and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Grand Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    at the dinner i didnt like the meal i ordered and didnt eat it at all, the person that served us didnt even ask me what was wrong with it. i found it very unpolite

    the staff from the swimming pool was very friendly and helpfull.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2017

    9.6
    Great place to relex
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Grand Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The place is paradise. Breakfast is great. We had a rented car so we were able to travel. It is vlose to the Fisherman villege which is great.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2017

    7.5
    Despite the beautiful setting, won t be coming back- prices outrageous, food substandard for cost
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Pool Villa
    • Stayed 7 nights

    -staff at the front desk rude & aggressive. No sense of customer service at all at the front desk -prices exorbitant (hotel & food, not worth the price) -food quality at the hotel (main restaurant) is substandard -no music/ entertainment, not even background music (not asking for a band each night, but something a bit joyful, evening at the hotel are depressing) -buffet is a complete rip off (price for one person was more than we paid for 5 in Bangkok's top restaurant) and the quality definitely not up to standards/ prices (watery pasta, cold salmon and end of all dishes). However F&B assistant manager and manager were wonderful and did the best they could to accomodate. The problem needs to be fixed at higher level- company cannot expect clients to pay such outrageous prices without the quality that should go along with these prices -any special activity at the mini club is charged extra (painting, sand activities, marshmallow on the beach etc.)-same problem as before, all is about charging guests more. Very disappointing

    -beautiful setting. Incredible infinity pool facing the sea - We had the family villa with private pool which was a wonderful treat. -breakfast buffet is nice -thai restaurant is nice in beautiful setting -nice spa services -staff at the restaurant very nice and accomodating (as opposed to front desk who were agressive and rude) -Very quiet hotel (almost too calm- no music at night, borderline boring), but beautiful facilities, would benefit from a bit more music/ upbeat feel

    Stayed in December 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: