Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Montien Riverside Hotel 5 stars

372 Rama 3, Bangklo, Bangkok, 10120 Bangkok, Thailand

#728 of 1,238 hotels in Bangkok

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 176 hotel reviews

7.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.3

  • Comfort

    8.1

  • Location

    6.8

  • Facilities

    7.8

  • Staff

    8.2

  • Value for money

    7.8

  • Free WiFi

    7.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 66

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2018

    6.7
    Classic older English style, friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Hard to say. Some places have "it" some don't. This is a "don't" Still a good hotel.

    Older, classic hotel. It's good, staff friendly, rooms clean and up to date. Spacious lobby,

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2018

    4.6
    Run Down Hotel
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I think is about time for this hotel to have a great refurbish. Everything in hotel really run down, from the facade until room.....

    I have no choice but to stay in this hotel as it is the most convenient hotel for my business agent to pick me up. The only thing which I like about this hotel is the river view and great night scene.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2018

    7.9
    Good
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beds underneath seem as if they’ve never been cleaned before with spiderweb and it’s actually very scary. This we discovered when my baby dropped her dummy and we had to pick it up

    The staff were very helpful and friendly

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    6.7
    It was ok but things mentioned detracted from enjoying the hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Club Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The internet was very poor, couldn’t do much on laptop could not access for example Netflix. Had to keep logging in and icould not acces more than 2 devices at once. Too far from underground, had to get taxi or Tuk tuk or shuttleTo get to Centre and several times taxi got the wrong hotel, as it is riverside Montien and newer than one in centre.

    Room was large, had bath as well as shower, 2 TVs, large bed

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    7.1
    Good hotel, nice location. Price/quality OK. A bit far from the City but for family stay OK
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Many restaurant available: the Chinese one almost empty, and very expensive; the Vietnamese/Thai Restaurant at the ground floor "empty"! the Restaurant at the lobby floor was OK; the dinner Asian buffet "poor" but reasonable price; for the buffet lunch: average but too expensive. The breakfast could be improved with better variety and quality.

    The staff was very friendly with all of us specially with our children (4 and 5 yrs)

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    6.7
    I found some of the staff to be disrespectful & Invasion of privacy due to a missing nightie.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    I found some of the staff to be rude and not interested in the Customer.

    The croissants for breakfast were not flaky at all I think they should have had individual pieces of fruit e.g. bananas, mangoes Also a Natural Muesli would have been nice.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2017

    9.2
    Very welcoming and friendly riverside hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Club Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Charming older hotel on the riverside. Welcoming friendly staff throughout the hotel. Good buffet breakfast and free shuttle. Excellent views overlooking the city and river. Highly Recommended.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    7.9
    Overall good for short stay
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Hotel is old, so there is a smell. Hair fan is falling, should be changed.

    Sales staff and management are good and ready to accommodate changes if necessary. Good breakfast

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2017

    7.9
    OLD WORLD CHARM
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    every thing good

    The hotel is starting to age, but still retains enough of its old world charm to make it good value. Our room, spacious with spectacular views over the river. We found the staff helpful and friendly, but then, we smile and say hello to the pretty girls on reception, and to the lady cleaning the bathrooms! For some people it will feel in the middle of nowhere, walk to the front of the hotel turn left walk about 10..15 min along the road and you will find small shops, and across the road a good size shopping centre. If you don't like to walk grab a taxi.. they are cheap. Our only disappointment was, we could not get the Australian Rules Football!!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2017

    6.7
    The Montien Riverside has been good but appears that it is a little tired!!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room - Corner
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi poor. Staff not as attentive as on previous occasions. Products like tea and coffee in the room are not available.

    I have liked staying there in the past. Probably 12 times in total.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    6.3
    just ok
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    AC's were not working properly. Thermostate was faulty. one room was chilled and one was hot. Wifi total waste. not maintained properly. very rough look. seems that no upgradation has been done for many years.

    location is good. nice view from the rooms. big hotel. nice breakfast.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2017

    5.0
    The room was nice and large.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    During the day we used to visit the city and once home we always found the pool closed.. It closes everyday at 9 pm. The breakfast is nothing special. The first bus shuttle goes to the city at 9:30 am, too late for us. Moreover do not trust the stuff for asking informations, we wanted to go to buy some food during the night and they called us a taxi to a place called "asiatique". This place is a scam for tourists, overpriced and full of guys with tuk tuks ready to steal your money using different kind of traps. The last two days we found out that instead there is a mall 5 minutes away on the left of the hotel by walking. Tours booked with the hotel are extremely expensive and we suggest to plan them on your own. The taxi for the airport booked from the hotel is also a scam, we had a taxi with fixed price and no taximeter (which is illegal), 500 baht to go to Don Mueng airport. Lastly, the bus shuttle drives to the Montien Hotel in the city center, there you should better run away from the staff. Do not book a taxi from that hotel, instead go on the street in front and stop a taxi. We booked a taxi in the hotel to go to wat arun and the lying buddha and instead the staff of the hotel booked us an expensive limousine that brought us to a pier, where rude thai guys wanted to take us for a trip on the boat to the canals and to the temples. They asked us 2400 baht. The canals are terrible with ruined houses by the river and a merchant waits at the end of the tour selling you buddha statues for 800-1000 baht. This trip is a scam for tourists organized by the hotel as well. Please avoid these traps. Very disappointed..

    The room was nice and large. Hall looks fancy. Some of the staff is very nice.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2017

    9.2
    FIne hotel by the river retaining a classy glory
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    If the staff were speaking better English, it was a bit of an effort to understand most of them. Receptionists and customer service though were excellent.

    Fine hotel, retaining a classy glory. Spacious rooms, very comfortable bed. Great breakfast, polite staff.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2017

    7.1
    Start showing its age
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The hotel is starting to show it age and is due for a face-lift or an upgrade.

    Clean rooms and very friendly and helpful staff. The room had a beautiful view of the river. The complimentary shuttle service to shopping areas was an added benefit.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2017

    6.3
    Great view but lack of service
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunately, there was wrong information on the booking com page about hotel boat for transport as the hotel is far from center. We had booked for 4 four nights but moved after one night when we learned that there was no boat. Boat would make such a difference! Food is average.

    Hotel has great view from the rooms. The lady service staff are friendly and professional. Men service staff are sourly. Hotel did not charge us for 4 nights but only one, which was appreciated.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2017

    4.6
    Major renovation required
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Club Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The whole complex needs a major renovation. It's tired, old, and decaying. Outdoor grounds need full revamping to make the riverside green area useable

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2017

    7.5
    Relaxing
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Make sure you ask for A La Carte in the restaurant as the buffet is expensive.

    Great varied breakfast and good if you want to relax away from the hussle and bussle of Bangkok.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2017

    8.8
    Very friendly staff on reception!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Just location of hotel is so so, cause no any shop or restaurant nearby. Need take taxi to nearest market or cafe.

    Very friendly staff on reception! Very nice hotel, design, river view! Room is good, big bathroom with shower+bath tube. Tasty breakfast!

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2017

    4.6
    Not So Great..
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We booked for 3 days online but as our flight was on the 3rd night we wanted to make it 2 nights. As soon as we went to the hotel we told the manager Geroge who was attending us about our check out timing. He said the booking is with booking.com and he cannot do anything about it. But when we were checking out the staff present then charged us for 3 nights even though we stayed for 2, when I raised that this was informed to Geroge earlier, on enquiring with him, he denied knowing anything. That is so unpleasant. Somehow the issue got resolved and Hotel did not charge me for the night not stayed. But it was so unpleasant on part of Geroge whom I informed as soon as I get there, and he denied knowing anything. Room was also old style, though on the 26th floor. Staffs were disturbing ... not so great experiance

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2017

    10
    This hotel is brilliant!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We came here as part of our honeymoon - the staff made our room up beautifully with a petal heart on the bed, the welcome & check-in was efficient but friendly, all the staff were polite and helpful, and seemed genuinely happy to be there. The ambience was brilliant and the features of the building itself were beautiful! We'll most definitely stay again and preferred it to ultra modern hotels - this has character and charm galore. Perfect!

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 December 2016

    5.8
    There are better hotels (in service and facilities) for the price they charge
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Old facility, thus, bring your power adapter. When i ask for one, took a long while and front office staffs are rude and inpatient to explained the delays.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2016

    8.3
    GOOD VIEW OF CHAYO PRAYA RIVER OF BANGKOK
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    LOCATION OF HOTEL IS VERY POOR.ISOLATED AREA WITHOUT ANY NEARBY SHOPPING MALLS OR GOOD RESTAURANTS.

    GOOD VIEW OF CHAYO PRAYA RIVER OF BANGKOK VALUE FOR MONEY GOOD COMFORT AND FACILITIES

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    10
    Good friendly staff
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good friendly staff

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    8.8
    More than average, happy 😊
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A local phone call from for a minute cost 50 bath is a bit too much..

    Wooden shiny floor with the amazing Riverside view through the glass door !!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    8.8
    it’s ok for your vacation’s rest place
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    it’s ok for your vacation’s rest place

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    4.2
    Can't change aircon temperature
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Can't change aircon temperature Far from everything

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    8.3
    Lovely large room, beautiful hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely large room, beautiful hotel.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    10
    Fabulous !!!!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The large room, the gorgeous view, the very extensive breakfast buffet, the whole hotel was very high scale - a wonderful stay.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    8.8
    Our 3rd vist
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Can get noisy at times , specially if there's coaches of people trying to check in

    Staff and service excellent, great buffet breakfast

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    7.1
    Adiquate for afew days sightseeing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only one bar open very quiet , pool area needs sorting out empty and basic

    the Bed and room was compatible

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2017

    9.2
    Nice service.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Viewing seems not so fabulous like the picture on the internet

    Nice service. Classic decoration with large bed.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2017

    5.4
    Old very large hotel badly in need of rennovation
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Club Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Awful location

    Pleasant staff

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2017

    7.9
    Great hotel. Poor location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing really close by. Although it's on the river it's all a bit industrial

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2017

    7.5
    Not bad swimming pool and sauna.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Club Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Very far from anywhere. Only taxi you need to get to any place you need.

    Not bad swimming pool and sauna. Good food.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2017

    6.7
    Nice staff and good room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel bit old and needs a reno

    Nice staff and good room

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2017

    10
    Brilliant hotel I stay again there
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 13 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I like everything

    I like the staff I like the room I like the food I like the swimming pool

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2017

    10
    Excellent Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Non

    Everything is excellent

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2017

    7.5
    The staff are excellent!
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location is far from the city. The pillow was kind of clumpy.

    The staff are excellent!

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2017

    9.2
    Very pleasant stay...
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Internet was not easy to link to in my room.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2017

    8.8
    The old style and the river view of my room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff's unwelcoming behaviour at the restaurant

    The old style and the river view of my room

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2017

    9.2
    Very lovely, attentive staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very lovely, attentive staff

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2017

    10
    Value for money by staying in this hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 10 nights

    Room key system to be improved

    Environment and overall stay with family.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 December 2016

    8.8
    Great stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location of hotel is far from the city hubs

    Great selection and well prepared. Great view of the river from the dining area.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2016

    9.6
    The bed and pillows were fantastic and the staff and the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The paint is coming off the building in the pool area

    The bed and pillows were fantastic and the staff and the young girls playing the musical instrument were great.

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2016

    8.3
    Not in the best area, but we found a great place down the...
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children

    Not in the best area, but we found a great place down the street for delicious duck noodles. Staff were v friendly & helpful. Great breakfast selection too.

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2016

    7.9
    Excellent food value for money.
    • Solo traveller

    The hotel is little dated but I think that adds to the charm of it

    Excellent food value for money. Breakfast was catered for everyone in mind. Very nice hotel, quiet, stunning river views. I will be staying here again.

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2016

    9.2
    Lovely riverside location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Location a liitle bit isolated so make use of the hotels free shuttle busses to Asiatique and Central Rama 3.

    Lovely riverside location.Good buffet breakfast.Friendly and efficient staff.Very nice lobby area and rooms all have river views.

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2016

    6.3
    River view are great!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Worst breakfast experience of my life, no food left and is never refill. There were absolutely nothing not even drinking water service from 6-10am.Arrived at 9am, if inhad to stay here again i will not buy a breakfast package but i doubt that i will be returning as staffs is really taking a piss.

    River view are great!

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2015

    7.5
    Friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    That they charge 100 bath for a small water in the room. Which looks like it's set for free - no info about that.

    Friendly staff Breakfast buffet is okay - not enough cheese though.

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2015

    3.3
    Free Wifi.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Terrible staff service especially at breakfast. I asked 5 times for tea... they said yes each time and them faffed with other things and forgot. I ended up waiting 30 minutes for a cup of dishwater tea. Breakfast was average. Room service staff were not that clued up and there were no treatment facilities as originally advertised. Hotel is run down and It feels that staff can't be bothered and service is not at all important, least of all a smile. Can't walk anywhere from there really so not a good location. Will never go back there. Took 1 hour to check in as no rooms were available and I refused a smoking room.

    Free Wifi. Loved the view from the 21st floor room.

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2015

    2.9
    River view
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Far from BTS station. You can get only bus or taxi. Room is so old. Water heater is not good quality. We must take a shower with cold water. Take queue long time to check out.

    River view

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2016

    7.9
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No

    Location

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2016

    4.2
    Very old design
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Very old design

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2016

    4.2
    Only the river view was the best of this hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Staff were helpless and carelessness. Hotel was old and smelly with a 20 year-old tele.

    Only the river view was the best of this hotel.

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2016

    10
    Very good service
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Some one smoking inside hotel then smell coming our room.

    Very good service

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2016

    9.2
    Hospitality
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No manu in room

    Hospitality

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2016

    9.2
    Staff were very friendly
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    200 baht surcharge to use the sauna

    Staff were very friendly

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2016

    9.2
    The hotel was overbooked so they upgraded me to a huge river...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    All good !

    The hotel was overbooked so they upgraded me to a huge river view sweet ...... Nothing to complain about!

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2016

    7.9
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    A bit dated but ok at the price we paid

    Location

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2015

    5.8
    Price
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Facility

    Price

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2015

    9.6
    Friendliness of the staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Friendliness of the staff

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2015

    9.6
    Friendliness of the staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Friendliness of the staff Good service from the hotel

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2015

    8.3
    View from room
    • Business trip
    • Group

    no

    View from room

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2015

    7.5
    Comfortable bed, good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Not enough light in restrooms

    Comfortable bed, good location

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2015

    7.5
    Breakfast very disappointing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Breakfast very disappointing. Montien hotel downtown far superior

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2015

    7.9
    Staff's accommodation.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Old facilities.

    Staff's accommodation.

There are also 38 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 66

Browse Montien Riverside Hotel traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: