Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of A Darin Beach Resort 3 stars

18/1 Moo 1, 84330 Mae Nam, Thailand

#70 of 70 hotels in Mae Nam

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 108 hotel reviews

6.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    5.8

  • Comfort

    5.6

  • Location

    6.9

  • Facilities

    5.5

  • Staff

    6.5

  • Value for money

    5.7

  • Free WiFi

    6.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 47

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    9.2
    Wonderful place
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The prices for transfer are very expencive. The next resort ofered us double lower prices.

    The beach front bungalow is the best that can be booked in the complex, great location and views. It is far from the main street, but it is a perfect place for complete rest!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    3.8
    No value for money. Find another place to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Garden Cottage
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room given to us was really old with moldy smell. AC is not working neither the hair dryer. I asked them to fix it. Hair dryer fixed, AC not. I did not bother anymore because upon check in, I understood that this resort is run by a family, not by a hotelier with sufficient hotel knowledge and customer service skills. I know that they are trying their best. But sorry, your best wasn't good enough. I did not see the value for money on this holiday. The mattress and sheets are old, no good nights sleeping. Safety box is out of order. A bit far from the main road, and do not dare to walk going outside as there are street dogs. Lousy breakfast. Poor English skills and can never take your order right. Poor telephone etiquette. When I tried to book hotel transfers they just hung up the phone upon hearing someone is speaking in English on the other line. Cottages with garden view doesn't even have the garden with good landscaping. This resort should consider repricing their cottages or demolish and rebuild new ones and hire knowledgeable people to work with them. I do not want to be this fussy guests but I had been to 4 continents and had stayed in hostels, motels and 5 star hotels. This one is the worst.

    Just the quiet location and right next to the beach.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2017

    5.0
    All about the resortp
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Beachfront Bungalow
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The distance from the road to the resort some area no light at all very dark at night, have to take taxi to come back to resort at night, the beach is very muddy dirty rocky not clear water, shower not so hot only warm water, Never clear the dirt from the shower area water get choked when shower?

    Seaview

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2017

    8.3
    Nice cosy and quiet place on koh samui
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Garden Bungalow
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beach itself is not great but good enough for a swim to cool off.

    New Lapaz is a nice hidden gem of private huts right on Mae Nam beach. The staff were friendly, food was good and everything as clean as it can be by the beach!

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2017

    9.6
    Great beachfront location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Beachfront Bungalow
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is a bit dated and the garden needs some work done on it.

    Excellent beachfront location, a short walk from the main road for buses, taxis etc.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2017

    2.5
    Termites infested room and no tv
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Beachfront Bungalow
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Evrything was old inside the room, there were termites on the bed and the towels are torn.No tv and internet connections are very bad sometimes working and sometimes not.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2017

    3.3
    Do Not Stay! Worst Resort.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Garden Cottage
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    When we were checking in (after walking ten minutes in the rain from the main road because the taxi couldn't find it), there was a lady complaining about the moldy smell in her room and I didn't think anything of it. I assumed she was being picky... The first bungalow didn't have power (and it did smell a bit), so they took us to another one. This one smelled horrible! The main room smelled of mildew and the bathroom reeked like mildewy urine. We tried to tough it out, but after one night I had a headache and my partner threw up after coming back into the room from breakfast. I went to the front desk and explained very nicely that I understood it wasn't her fault, the excess rain was unseasonal, etc. but could we please check out early and get our money back for the next two nights? I wasn't even trying to get a refund for the first night, just the ones we weren't going to be there for. Nope, not happening. She acted like we were being babies about the smell. TL;DR awful mildew smell, made us sick, no money back after early checkout.

    Right on the beach like most island hotels. But very out of the way from anything else. Some staff were friendly. They had a good selection of books.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2017

    2.9
    Heaven is a place on earth but not here
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Garden Cottage
    • Stayed 13 nights

    > Dirty beach (sewage drains run directly into the sea and it's visible), so think twice about swimming in that water > Breakfast (you choose between few meals, very poor). Choice example: 2 loafs of toast and 1 egg, Musli with fruit and yogurt/milk. Pineapple and watermelon as much as you can eat if you don't mind the low freshness sometimes (even midges) > Mediocre restaurant food. 1.000 of dishes, Thai, Curry and European but none prepared well. Don't get it. Why not have 20 meals but prepared well? It's even hard for staff to recommend something. > Prices or menu are not well balanced. Main dishes and appetizers are within similar price range, 2-3 dl of diluted juice are more expensive then e.g. cola or same price as 0,5 beer > Smelly room (wood pannelled walls with lot of moisture), not cleaned thoroughly (sheets-towell changeing each time cleaning is required) > It seems no additional investment have been made there for years > prices higher than given accommodation (service) state > Manager argues with guests in front of other guests. Smiles at them and seems like making fun of them. Good manager should lower tone, accept and learn from critique and sometimes is better to apologize and give 5% discount then loose guests or get a bed review

    > Garden is nice and place by the pool (as sea is dirty it's the only place to hang around and cool in clean water) > Afordafle if you need some short period accommodation (without swimming or sunbading). Like you came for market in Fishermen village on Friday, Safari or to see Big Buddha temple on Koh Samui etc.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2017

    3.3
    I paid for 13 nights and left after 6 strongly would not recommend
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Beachfront Bungalow
    • Stayed 13 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I did not like anything about this resort, I was supposed to get picked up from the airport this did not happen when I enquired I was told that the driver was too busy, can you believe it he was too busy to pick up a paying guest, the first night I found a stranger in bed with me only to find I was sharing a bed with cockroach when we approached the owner she was rather blasé about the situation. I have stayed at several resorts in Koh Samui and was always given free bottles of water when I enquired I was told that in the past the guests would just drink a little of the water and throw the rest away this is a rather strange excuse for being mean. I had to ask for clean towels after 2 days and asked for the room to be cleaned, the breakfast was poor I have stayed at several resorts where there is always a buffet breakfast and not a menu breakfast, after the first day I just did not have any breakfast and went out to eat the food is overpriced compare to what you would pay elsewhere. This is one resort that I would not visit or recommend to anyone, there are better places in Koh Samui really disappointed with this, the owner has let Koh Samui down badly.

    The Location

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2017

    3.3
    Probably best going elsewhere.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Garden Bungalow
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No electric, no hot water and staff tried charging me for drinks I didn't order. No wifi, leaky roof and lights hanging off of the walls. No apologies and staff were no help when we tried to order a taxi to leave.

    The hotel looks nice when you are there.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2017

    2.9
    Good location but the experience of facilities needs big improvement
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Garden Cottage
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No water bottles in the rooms, only mini bar that is also chargeable. Bathroom walls were dirty TV screen was look like laptop screen,so small Air conditioner was making noise

    Nothing except for location

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2016

    4.2
    Disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Garden Cottage
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We got sick from the food, the rooms were full of mold, guekos, and spiders. Too far from town. Staff not helpful. Food overpriced.

    The pool is very nice.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2016

    7.1
    Nice.quiet.beautiful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Garden Bungalow
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The entrance to the houses had puddles because of the rain and it becomes hard to leave the place without getting the suitcases wet.

    Very nice view and quiet Place.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2017

    6.7
    Clean and next to the beach bit far away from the bars they got a little bit of work going on but you can't hear a..
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Garden Cottage
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location to the bars was to far away it's about a 20 min drive away

    The pool was nice food was a reasonable price right next to the beach

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2017

    7.5
    Swimming pool, breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Garden Bungalow
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Swimming pool, breakfast

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2017

    6.3
    Attention à la caution
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Garden Bungalow
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Ne nous a pas Rendu nos 1000 baths de caution

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2017

    2.9
    Poor facilities, too much cost saving, broken equipped and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Garden Cottage
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor facilities, too much cost saving, broken equipped and ceiling will be broken soon from big raining now, all need to be improved shortly.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2016

    4.2
    The beach.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We stayed in the cheapest cabin which wasn't a bad value since it was right on the beach with a pool - but it was gross. Gekko poop all over the walls, ants and mouse poop all over the bathroom. The floor boards had holes everywhere letting the AC escape and the door has no jam so we had to use a towel to prevent mosquitoes from coming in. The whole "resort" is pretty ran down, the pool isn't as nice as it looks in the pictures, the only thing that is kept up is the garden, which the staff start sweeping at 730AM EVERY morning. The only time the staff had any interaction with us was when we checked in and out, they were pretty rude upon checkout as well - overall a really crumby experience! The location isn't the greatest either, we wish we would have stayed further down the beach, it's a long walk out to be main road then you have to walk a good 15 minutes before you reach shops and restaurants that are open. The food was ok but is pretty expensive - head left down the beach past the river and there are more with better prices and nicer atmosphere!

    The beach.

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2016

    8.8
    Staff super helpful, great location and wonderful value for...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Cleaning could have been a bit more thorough. Mosquitoes at night, beware! Average breakfast, but we rarely got up in time for it anyway :)

    Staff super helpful, great location and wonderful value for money. Delicious food served at the restaurant.

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2016

    10
    If you stay here you should definitely book a beachside...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    When we had to leave..

    If you stay here you should definitely book a beachside bungalow the view is amazing so relaxing hearing the sea every night. Rooms were clean but you can't beat the view. Free breakfast every morning was a nice surprise. Staff were really friendly and couldn't do enough to help. Swimming pool was beautiful always quiet.

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2016

    5.0
    Right by the sea.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    One of the owners quite abrupt but all managed with a smile by us. Breakfast beyond awful, coffee only thing that's ok. Fresh fruit also ok. Laundry came back with bits missing, I found them in with other guests laundry. Not hotels fault but needs to be communicated back this can't happen. Pathways not really maintained, overloaded outside ashtrays that were not emptied in our 4 day stay, leaves on floor, dying plants, old and tired buildings, curt cleaners, terrible sun beds with fraying old padded matresses. This is a total tourist trap, Samui is turning into a greedy island. For the prices these hotel/resorts charge they should offer the same service as to the monetary value.

    Right by the sea.

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2016

    5.8
    The location is excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The bed was a bit hard and the furniture was a bit old. Too bad they didn't put a desk and chair inside. My bathroom had a lot of bugs (flies + little wasps) that had a nest inside the roof. Every morning I could wipe a couple of dozen dead bugs from the floor. Also there was no ventilation in the bathroom. That meant that there is a lot of moisture that cannot get out, so you get mold and fungi growing in the cracks. I think they should either lower their prices or upgrade the bungalows.

    The location is excellent. The beach at Mae Nam is quiet and clean. You have a great view of the sea with Koh Phangan in the distance. You're in a separate little bungalow so no noise from the neighbors. You can relax on your porch which has a table and two chairs. The resort lies some distance from the main road. The advantage is that it's quiet, because there is no traffic noise at all. But it's too far to walk, so it's best to rent a motorbike. The pool is nice and has a great view.

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2016

    4.6
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Well overpriced compared with what you can get just around the corner. Beach side villa had ecposed wires, mould and was pretty ordinary. We paid 2000thb and found some alternative accomodation the following night which was a private pool villa for 400thb more. The was pretty ordinary to say the least.

    Location

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2016

    4.2
    Nice area and beach, you need go about 10 minutes to the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Unexpected deposit (only cash) on reception. Not helpful staff! Can not help with taxi. Wi-fi doesn't work inside rooms, only terrace.

    Nice area and beach, you need go about 10 minutes to the main road.

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2016

    10
    Staff was very friendly and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Was about a five minute walk to the nearest store. The fridge shuts off when you don't have the key in the slot.

    Staff was very friendly and helpful. Clean room. The beach was very quiet. The beach area was small but they have many beach chairs on the property a step away from the beach.

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2016

    6.7
    Staff were friendly and helpful, especially the owner's...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Seafacing suite not available when we arrived even though we called before arrival to confirm. We were given the garden deluxe for the first two nights but no refund on room difference offered. I can imagine the property must once have been spectacular but the place needs some maintenance to restore it to former glory and they would get so many more bookings. The restaurant and pool area and location is still beautiful. Restaurant food is not the best and quite pricey, so we had lunch and dinner out or at The Nature Bar, which is in walking distance along the beach (to the left of New Lapaz) where the food was absolutely excellent. No wifi in rooms and old televisions but this was OK mostly.

    Staff were friendly and helpful, especially the owner's son and the lovely waitress, Sam. Nice location on the beach away from crowds in Maenam. In walking distance of one of the best places I've ever eaten Thai food - the Nature Bar. Lady who does the massage gave me the best oil massage ever and she was really sweet. Deluxe garden rooms are quite nice and location of seafacing rooms is great although not at all luxurious.

  • Reviewed: 16 December 2015

    7.9
    Quiet location at Mae Nam Beach, 5 second walk to the beach ;
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    It's a little walk to go to the main road or other places to see. Having transportation (motorcycle) is advised

    Quiet location at Mae Nam Beach, 5 second walk to the beach ;-)

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2015

    7.1
    The beach in front of the hotel is good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The beach in front of the hotel is good. I don't recommend the restaurant there but if you walk from the beach you could find beautiful place for food and drinks "especially treehouse". The location is ok but you need to rent motor because it is ten minutes by walking from central road. It has beautiful garden!

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2015

    4.6
    sea view.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    inflated price. Paid 1035 baht for a room that compared to better locations and better facilities cost around 800. Staff speak poor English or none. room was smelly-it hadn't been open or ventilated in preparation for my arrival . The bungalow itself was too basic for this price. Not good value for money.

    sea view. Quietness.

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2015

    5.8
    The beach is part of the resort, very convenient.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    They charged us 500 Bahts for taxi to the airport with explanation that it was a "private" taxi. Rip off.

    The beach is part of the resort, very convenient.

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2015

    7.5
    Staff member in morning very helpful upon checkout- went out...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    No blanket- cold throughout evening. PM staff didn't book taxi- almost missed boat to koh tao.

    Staff member in morning very helpful upon checkout- went out of her way to fix up mistakes made previous night by staff who didn't call and book taxi despite being asked to do so.

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2015

    4.6
    Great view
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    even though it said online they allowed pets they didnt seem to keen about my dog at first. We payed 2000bath a kight for a dirty room with plenty of ants. The hot water heater didnt work so cold showers and the ac disnt get very cold and had mold growing on the outside. Poorly managed place on a beautiful spot in samui.

    Great view

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2015

    5.8
    The garden cottages are detached from one another.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Cockroaches in our room and bar fridge! Breakfast included is so tiny and not the greatest. Not all the staff are good at English so we had a tough time communicating.

    The garden cottages are detached from one another. The free wifi And restaurant right against the sea.

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2015

    8.8
    Thus was a lovely quiet resort on the beach with very good...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Not very close to other restaurants, bars and facilities

    Thus was a lovely quiet resort on the beach with very good restaurant. The bungalow was quite small and basic but adequate for two nights. It was well priced though and included a basic breakfast

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2016

    7.5
    Location right on the beach.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The rooms need paint job and new furniture

    Location right on the beach. Price reasonable Breakfast good.

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2016

    7.1
    Bungalow setting in gardens
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Breakfast not much variation

    Bungalow setting in gardens

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2016

    7.5
    The beach was almost nonexistent during high tide and a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The beach was almost nonexistent during high tide and a challenge to get to. Good pool, though.

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2016

    7.1
    Nice staff, nice garden with swimming pool.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nice staff, nice garden with swimming pool. Possible to rent a motorbike in the resort.

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2016

    3.8
    Not a Lot
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Not a Lot

  • Reviewed: 20 January 2016

    9.6
    The calm beach location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The calm beach location Very friendly staff Great accommodations

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2015

    5.0
    -Location near the beach.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    -Location near the beach.

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2015

    3.3
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Location

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2015

    4.6
    X bagus
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    X bagus

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2015

    8.3
    Staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Sometimes the food Apart from that I was a happy customer

    Staff Location

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2015

    4.2
    directly at the beach, fast wifi
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    many mosquitos and windows don't close completly, old and stinky bathroom, housekeeping only on request

    directly at the beach, fast wifi

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2015

    5.0
    Walk in shower
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Bath room walls stained

    Walk in shower Good AC quiet place and quiet guests

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2015

    4.6
    Nice layout and setting.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Manager not friendly. Staff very matter of fact.

    Nice layout and setting.

There are also 5 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 47

Guests also reviewed these properties: