Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Novotel Phuket Surin Beach Resort 4 stars

106 / 27 Moo3, Cherngtalay, Talang, Phuket, 83110 Surin Beach, Thailand

#15 of 25 hotels in Surin Beach

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 991 hotel reviews

8.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.1

  • Comfort

    8.1

  • Location

    8.2

  • Facilities

    8.3

  • Staff

    8.5

  • Value for money

    7.7

  • Free WiFi

    8.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    6.3
    Under renovation, rooms don’t have desks to work - I asked...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard King Room (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Under renovation, rooms don’t have desks to work - I asked them to put a temp table in my room which they kindly did. Room furnishings are very low quality, bathroom fixtures are also very low quality and in a state of disrepair. Open lobby TOO HOT (no AC ANYWHERE!) and FULL OF BITING MOSQUITOS ! This is certainly IN NO WAY A FOUR STAR PROPERTY

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    3.8
    Poor service, bad food for breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior King Room with Pool View (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I stayed with my two daughters on July, 6, 2018. When we checked in, we were served by a receptionist whose name Nadija. Since the first time we met her, she didnt smile to us and were so rude to treat us. It’s really annoying and disappointing.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    5.8
    During my stay each day was extremally noisy - starting ca...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard King Room (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    During my stay each day was extremally noisy - starting ca 8am till late afternoon - huge construction site behind the fence and some rooms in the hotel were renoweted as well. The hotel was focused on the family with children... I could understant that it’s because of the low season, however in case of the Novotel network I am expecting the information about such inconvinience in the notes during the booking process !!!!!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    7.9
    One night in Novotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior King Room with Pool View (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    That view wasnt that great to the pull far to many trees and when asked for taxi the price was pretty dear compared to the normal taxi rate, Room could have been a bit more cleaners the toilet have stains still on the shower windows and when your paying a little more for your room you expect everything to be tiptop.r

    The TV, Bathroom and bed was the best about this place would stay again as the staff were really nice and helpful plus there was alot of things to do in the complex alone.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    6.7
    Ok stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite with King Bed and Poolside Terrace
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was construction noise which was more than soft touch up as mentioned. Also too much construction noise from neighbouring property under construction. Breakfast was boring after few days. Room needs some maintenance of furniture which is getting old. Stay was not peaeful mainly because of construction noise

    Near the beach. Our pool terrace room has a good pool view. Hotel has kids activities. Seven eleven and many shops/restaurants at walking distance. Area is good overall

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    10
    The hotel is so nice, but the staff make the difference.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Suite
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is so nice, but the staff make the difference. They made us feel really like home. Thanks specially to Ying, Cherry, Ana and Nadia for your special attention

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    9.6
    Fantastic holiday resort, wish we were able to stay longer.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was a little small for us and they were rather hard

    Lovely staff, beautiful grounds, fabulous pool, delicious breakfast. Really great for families!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    10
    Staff so helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard King Room (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some rough stone edges around the pool.

    Staff so helpful. We had a late flight back to Australia so were given a 4pm checkout. Meant we could still utilize all the great facilities for another full day. My wife has a foot injury so we were given the closest room to the main areas of the hotel as well. Highly recommend this hotel.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    6.3
    Good for families with children
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite with King Bed and Poolside Terrace
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The initial check in was a rather unpleasant and unusual experience, charging for the complete stay and pushing us to sign up for buffet breakfasts for the whole stay whilst we had 2 small children sleeping on us. Seemed little to no consideration of the fact that we needed a room fast to put the children to bed. I do a huge amount of travel and this experience was indeed the first of its kind and left a bad taste in my mouth. It was off season so very quiet. Seemed to be only a handful of other families staying. Surin beach used to have a number of good restaurants, catch, the beach club etc... all were removed last year, so Surin beach is now very empty with limited eating options around. We have stayed at the 2 hotels next to Novotel - mana Thai and twin palms and the Surin beach resort up the road.. without the beach restaurants, and little improvements on the beach access, I’d say tourism will drop off a bit.

    The 2 water slides were a hit and a highlight for the children. It was nice that the kids club was located in the centre so that children could come in and out and find adults easily. The room was large, main bed was fine and kids slept on a pull out in the lounge room.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    8.3
    10/10
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Twin Room with Pool View (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing really.

    We were a family of 8. Rooms were connecting and spacious. 2min walk to beach which is really quite, unlike Patong. They also had kids meals deals that went from 11am - 11pm 12yrs and under 399baht for unlimited kids food, drink and ice cream. The pool, kids room, pool table and daily kids activities kept our kids amused all day. The were asking if we could go back.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    10
    Brilliant Hotel for families with young kids!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard King Room (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 13 nights

    Nothing!!!

    Brilliant hotel, You know its been a great holiday when the kids are crying on the last day because they don't want to leave to go home. Staff are very friendly and would take time out of there busy day to interact with the kids. The hotel also had an air-conditioned cinema room that my eldest child would use often throughout the day when it got hot near the pool. Hotel surrounding area was safe and the locals where friendly, also near the hotel had great restaurants and shops. Overall a brilliant hotel

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    9.6
    Excellent all around. I really liked that the facilities included a kids’ club
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard King Room (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    That there wasn’t any entertainment

    I liked the activities for adults like yoga and Pilates. I loved that the instructors were excellent and that they were available on request. An added bonus to a lovely stay.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    9.6
    I traveled with my wife and 2 kids. It was a very relaxing and enjoyable experience ever.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior King Room with Pool View (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights

    1. While a few staff are really good speaking English, the majority barely speaks it. So, it works for the very basic stuff, when they can reply with a few memorized sentences. However, when you need to ask something a little bit longer or complex, they usually don't understand it or struggle to answer. 2. The cost of food and drinks in the hotel are really expensive. E.g: A can of beer (the cheapest one) costs 4 times more than in the closest convenience store, 70 meters down the street.

    1. The hotel has a super cool infrastructure for kids (kids pool, sandbox, balling pool, games, etc), as well as for adults. An awesome lobby and restaurant areas, a pub right next to the reception and a huge and relaxing swimming pool with a bar right in it! 2. A very good breakfast with a lot of options and an awesome room service with a 24 hours kitchen for ordering everything available at the hotel and pub menus, from drinks to foods. 3. The staff is really friendly, helpful and polite, making you feel very special and well served. 4. Free WiFi and shuttle service to Patong beach. 5. They can book the transfer service on your behalf, both from and to the Airport. 6. The hotel is 150 meters far from the beach and they also offer you a pick-nick pack that you can take (paid of course, but really cheap for the content) and bring with you to the beach. It helps a lot.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    9.6
    I traveled with my wife and 2 kids. It was a very relaxing and enjoyable experience ever.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior King Room with Pool View (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    1. While a few staff are really good speaking English, the majority barely speaks it. So, it works for the very basic stuff, when they can reply with a few memorized sentences. However, when you need to ask something a little bit longer or complex, they usually don't understand it or struggle to answer. 2. The cost of food and drinks in the hotel are really expensive. E.g: A can of beer (the cheapest one) costs 4 times more than in the closest convenience store, 70 meters down the street.

    1. The hotel has a super cool infrastructure for kids (kids pool, sandbox, balling pool, games, etc), as well as for adults. An awesome lobby and restaurant areas, a pub right next to the reception and a huge and relaxing swimming pool with a bar right in it! 2. A very good breakfast with a lot of options and an awesome room service with a 24 hours kitchen for ordering everything available at the hotel and pub menus, from drinks to foods. 3. The staff is really friendly, helpful and polite, making you feel very special and well served. 4. Free WiFi and shuttle service to Patong beach. 5. They can book the transfer service on your behalf, both from and to the Airport. 6. The hotel is 15 meters far from the beach and they also offer you a pick-nick pack that you can take (paid of course, but really cheap for the content) and bring with you to the beach. It helps a lot.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    8.8
    Excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Great family resort with everything checking the boxes. Good kids club, great pools, gym. Rooms are fine and beds comfy. Very nice beach just a 3 min walk across the road with great selection of lunch eateries at good prices.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    9.2
    Very nice hotel for a beach holiday with kids
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Twin Room with Pool View (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The service charge on food & drink is really not appreciated - particularly as they are already very expensive. In addition, the room cleaning could be better - the staff seemed to be in end-of-season mode but were still very nice & reasonably efficient.

    The price (with booking.com at least) & the facilities (swimming pool, table tennis, pool table, free loan of beach towels). The hotel is really close to a nice beach with little shops and restaurants around - very good. And, Alex was very helpful :)

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    10
    Excellent stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    No remarks at all!

    We have very positive experience with the hotel, everything was just great! We were upgraded to a family room and also when leaving we could stay till 17h in the room. Food was excellent as well as entire personnel of the hotel. Pools were clean and beach is 5 min away.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    9.2
    Overall it was great and we will be back with pals.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room with Pool View (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 15 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restaurants in the hotel were very expensive compared to local places. Double taxes on the menu price felt a bit steep and kind of like hidden fees on your meal. Beds were quite hard but that's pretty usual in my experience.

    Breakfast was definitely worth it. Started really early for when you leave early on day trips (6am). Great to be able to not worry about sourcing the first meal of the day. Heaps to choose from and lots of variation. We stayed 15 days and we were very happy with everything on offer. Location is fantastic. Definitely worth utilising the free shuttle to get into patong as the local taxis really tried to over charge. Pool was great and gym was awesome. Many activities for kids and adults. We dont have children but if we did we would bring them back. Very good resort for a chill holiday.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    7.5
    Great hotel if you dont want any sleep
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior King Room with Pool View (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The reason the hotel is rated down is at 630 am every morning the staff turn on mexican dancing music at full blast at the resteraunt and pool bar to amuse themselves while they get breakfeast ready ...the problem is obvious...... I called reception at 630 to ask them to turn it of and was told its “automatic” which is nonsense The duty manager knew nothing about it when i checked out a day early ...but was apologetic So if you like sleep ....the hotel has hard beds ,is really noisy ( flushing toilets and scraping furniture all night ....then the mexican wake up call .....dont stay there !!

    The hotel is outstanding ,very western resort feel and family orientated Good gym and great thai staff....

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    7.9
    A solid place to stay, but not luxurious.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Suite with King Bed and Poolside Terrace
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The room was very bare for a "king suite" and it looked a bit dated and worn, although it was clean. The bathroom twice was soaking wet from the cleaning when I got back to my room, which I did not enjoy.

    The staff were friendly and the resort was very clean. I did not have my children with me, but the children's area looked great. The gym was very clean and had two good treadmills and a nice view of the pool.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    9.6
    Would highly recommend to families with young kids and love to come back soon.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff- very courteous, property- very clean and the facilities like kids club, free movies and water slides were all very engaging. The buffet breakfast was excellent and the restaurant serves range of delicacies at very affordable prices. Further, the massage treatment available within the hotel is pretty good to unwind the tired travellers.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    7.9
    Ok
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite with King Bed and Poolside Terrace
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds (mattresses ) were very uncomfortable, cooling was too cold and hard to adjust correct temperatures.

    Dining area lovely, location of room to pool was great. Lounges outside room were good, although no ‘outdoor table’ to dine on, and hard to watch tv without couch

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    8.3
    Good for families with children, I was with daughter and grandchildren not my choice without childre
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Twin Room with Pool View (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds very hard, evening meals in restaurant not very plentiful, buffet ran out of food early evening and not much choice of the buffet. Breakfast was very good though!

    Excellent facilities for children, nice and clean hotel, good location to the beach. Excellent breakfast

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    9.6
    Absolutely magical 5 Star holiday!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Twin Room with Pool View (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The price of the cocktails and food in the restaurants are higher than we were used to paying in Thailand.

    This was a truely magical holiday for us and our two toddlers. They really do cater for families and make sure you have a fabulous time. The buffet breakfast was so amazing and extensive that we often didn’t need to eat again until dinner! Incredible beach just across the road!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    3.3
    Expectations were not met for the price of the room. Breakfast was not great, but ok.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Many guests didn’t follow rules for pool facilities (closing hours, kids not supervised). No staff enforced the rules or made any attempt to ensure that guests were not disturbing others (common courtesy).

    The kids world and kids activities.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    5.0
    We were underwhelmed by the hotel and shopping/eating options around surin beach.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The condition of our room, the restaurant, the staff seemed unconcerned, and only one out of the 4 kids club attending the children actually actively engaged with my child “after” I had complained... they were happy to sit there and let the kids play on the computers and tv all day. Despite what the kids club agenda had described as their activity.

    The hotel had activities for kids

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    8.3
    The bed and pillows were comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room with Pool View (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The pool was cool and we appreciate the Novotel is family orientated, however the pool area did not any child free zones.

    The bed and pillows were comfortable. We had a Superior Room which was large and quiet.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    8.3
    An enjoyable stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The internet was slow to the point where it didn't function. The beds were too hard. The complimentary shuttle booking system needs review. I asked which date had availability which I booked in advance then the next day I was told I was on the waiting list for the day I had booked. the facilities are looking a little worn.

    The kids club and activities were excellent. Movies and facilities for kids were great. Shower facility after check out for late flight was appreciated

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    10
    Friendly staff and good hotel for family with kids
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Twin Room with Pool View (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good facilities for kids. Friendly staff. One of our kids is not feeling well. Mangers and the team are all helpful and really care about us. They let us late checkout and then with extended late stay before our flight. Appreciated.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    9.2
    5 Star hotel - 2 star local poor customer service staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Twin Room with Pool View (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Sadly the staff had poor customer service skills and their English was not good enough for a 5 star hotel. They seemed more concerned that we were 'allowed' to have Happy Hour drinks, then actually serving them

    The location, pool, buffet, clean, shower, black-out curtains

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    7.5
    Nice hotel for kids
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior King Room with Pool View (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location is quite remote. Not much shopping area and limited food for muslim.

    A lot of activities for kids. They have kids club. The beach is nice and clean. The beach about 5 minutes walk.The room was nice. Our room has been upgraded to family room which is very nice.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    10
    Solid hotel if you have kids. Rooms are a little tired but it was clean and perfect for us!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Suite
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was a little hard.

    Loved the family pool! We felt like the kids could be kids and they were very happy, which made us happy! The food was good, playroom was nice. Suite was perfect for a family of four!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    3.8
    Check in was awful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite with King Bed and Poolside Terrace
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Check in was awful. Location in the middle of no where. They have a complimentary shuttle which is always over booked. When we booked the driver failed to turn up to pick up us. Everything is overpriced. Best to avoid . Try Ban Toa Beach

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    5.8
    Average – nice for kids, but my room was really wasted, not worth 165 EUR spend.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I was staying in this hotel in March 2018 room 2407 - family suite with 2 rooms on 4th floor. The price per night was 165 EUR including breakfast. I'm not sure why this hotel gets so high opinions because in my opinion the object looks really 'tired' and my room was asking for refreshment and maintenance. I selected it because of good rates of other guests and swimming pool with slides for children, but the value for money you get in this hotel comparing to other places I stayed in Thailand is really poor. Other thing is that for 150 EUR p/n you get really nice looking hotel in Warsaw or in Turkey much better than Novotel Surin beach. If you manage to get price bellow 4000 THB this hotel could be OK, but still I would rather consider some nice private apartments or pool villas or other hotels.

    Hotel is located 100 meters from the beach. It has a bit old looking pool but still quite OK with slides which makes fun for children. The breakfast buffet is OK with good selection of food. There are many options for kids to keep them busy and for reasonable price kids can have all inclusive meals.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    7.9
    Hydro slide is amazing, welcome drink and towels to freshen...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite with King Bed and Poolside Terrace
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    All of the restaurants were over priced so we ate out during our stay. Many local restaurants with good reasonable priced food.

    Hydro slide is amazing, welcome drink and towels to freshen up was great. Food was top rate and service good.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2018

    8.3
    good location,very close to surin beach which is much...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior King Room with Pool View (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights

    our room is located on the north wing. in front of our door is a construction field which is noisy in the day. the bed is a little bit damp.

    good location,very close to surin beach which is much smaller but more quiet and cozy than patong beach.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2018

    7.5
    Good location to the beach
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was very hard. The other issue with the hotel isnt there fault, but there are so many russians and there so rude to the staff with no manners, sort of ruined the experience.

    Close to beach and some lovely little shops about. Breakfast was average nothing special, pool area was good. Staff were polite, and willing to go out of there way to help.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    7.1
    Swimming Pool is amazing, surin beach is so beautiful
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Twin Room with Pool View (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Breakfast were not so good. Novotel Surin Beach Resort is far from center so it is not inconvenience. It is very difficult to call the taxi.

    Our room were upgraded a better room (bigger) . So i am really happy for that. Swimming pool is amazing for kids. Surin beach is so beautiful, it is quite for relaxing.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    6.3
    Average
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Suite
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms had mouldy smell from air conditioner and was old with damaged furniture did not Mach the photos

    Good kids club activities, close to nice quite beach, water slide was good for kids

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    6.7
    Great breakfast even if it’s hard to find place on rush...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Twin Room with Pool View (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small room compare to others Thai Hotels. Swimming pool water could be cleaner. Price for foods are quite high compare to rest of Phuket but if you want a Pizza like at home, it’s price to pay.

    Great breakfast even if it’s hard to find place on rush hours. Great Foods even if price are much higher than a few meters in the street. Good swimming pool for kids.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    10
    Great value, lovely location, would love to go again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two Bedroom Suite (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 14 nights

    Would love to have seen a bit more entertainment in the evenings, especially for the kids. Some sort of evening disco until 9 would have been great. They had a pretty good guitarist/singer occasionally who was finished by 9pm. Nice to have it very peaceful after 9 but seeing the kids having some fun would have been great. Even on Chinese New Year it was all pretty low key. Bit pricey for drinks. We drink G&T and whilst its obvious prices would be higher, a can of tonic at supermarket next door was 35p and same can £3.50 in hotel. You can guess where we bought it from.

    Great staff, very friendly and looked after our every need. Provided a cake for my mother-in law's birthday which was nice touch and gave us a very well located room right by the pool on the ground floor. Themed bedding for my daughter. Kids loved the slides, very short stroll to the beach and decent breakfast.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    8.8
    I liked the pool, location and kid friendly activities. I didn't like the noise from the restaurant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior King Room with Pool View (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The restaurants were understaffed and made mistakes on our orders 2 different nights. Also, I think I got food poisoning.

    The buffet was good and the people working the restaurants were nice. Kids activities were great and pool was awesome. Front desk was terrific as well.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    9.2
    The staffs were kind and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The extra bed was not in a very good condition. Some people smoked in the pool area or terrace.

    The staffs were kind and helpful. The beach was right in front of the hotel. There were many things for kids to do.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2018

    7.5
    The location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior King Room with Pool View (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Old and very small room with low ceiling, felt like to be in a box Cleaning of the room was not good Poor sound isolation

    The location Swimming pool Food Stuff Good WiFi connection Close to the beach

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2018

    10
    Great stay, we are coming back!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior King Room with Pool View (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Expencive drinks (5 eur for a small local beer) and dinner (menu vary from 17-20 eur per pers./day without drinks). Better management of sun chairs by the pool (guests put towels and leave although it says that 60 min is max without of usage)...

    We stayed here twice: Perfect Location (Surin beach is 250 m away as well as 7 11 and Family mart, close to restaruants, few massage places, taxi point is just accross) and Staff (especially Reception)! Very good and comfortable large Room and Terrace (some refreshment would be nice but we expected much worse than some reviews are telling). Big refrigerator and complimentary water/ caffee/ tea every day. Wi fi was pretty good, worked in room, by the pool, in the restaurant (reviews are telling different but our experience was positive). Breakfast was very good, we would suggest natural juices and shakes. A lots of activities for kids and adults, we strongly recommend Kids All inclusive package for 350 BHT (you can try, it is not necessary to take it every day). Pool and beach towels with easy take On/ Off. Free shuttle to Patong 3 times per day (prebooking is necessary, last one is coming back at 7 pm).

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2018

    10
    We will come back!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Twin Room with Pool View (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Overpriced drinks at fascilities and dinner menu.

    Location!!! 250 m from the fantastic Surin beach, close to restaurants (recommend Riverside and Pooh and friends), 7 11, Family mart, massage places... Great reception staff. Large room with a nice terrace, comfortable bed. Clean!! Breakfast was very nice, pool area also, both for kids with 2 slides and elderly. Kids menu for 350 BHT per day was excellent. We liked it a lot, had a perfect 7 day stay! ps Great beach restaurants (street food style)

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2018

    5.4
    Old fashioned and not well kept rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cleaning. The cleaning lady entered to clean the room just at themoment we entered because it hadn't been done and she cleaned everything in the bathroom, sink, floors... with the same wet cloth, I didn't see any cleaning product.

    Helpful personnel and easy access to the beach

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2018

    9.2
    Nice family hotel in a quiet area near beach
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite with King Bed and Poolside Terrace
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only minor detail about the pool towels, you had to wait for new ones quite often.

    This is a lovely hotel resort, not too large but with all facilities, especially for kids wonderful. Much better atmosphere than the huge resorts. The staff is very nice and attentive. Swimming pool is definitely the biggest attraction. And the suite room was nice and big, perfect for a family.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2018

    9.6
    It was a pleasant stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard King Room (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The wi-fi is near non existent, you can only really use it in the reception areas.

    Great for families, there's plenty to keep the kids occupied. The water slide is especially fun for big and little ones. It's clean and staff are courteous and friendly. Would recommend.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2018

    9.2
    A perfect getaway trip for family with children
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe King Room with Poolside Terrace
    • Stayed 5 nights

    room cleaning was a bit too quick to miss alot of spots, bad smell from toilet sewage once you enter the room then goes away. a minor issue with requesting for a late check out but was denied even though I had booked for 2 rooms for 5 nights and requested to keep only one for a couple of hours instead was given a shower room and bag storage if needed.

    it has all the necessities for the whole family and more. good facilities. very close to beach, very child friendly, nice swimming pool

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2018

    8.8
    A very pleasant holiday in a great location just 20 mins from the busy town of Patong.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Twin Room with Pool View (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 6 nights

    There was a mix up when I first booked the accommodation. Conflicting information on the website & printout regarding the number of people allowed in the room. I booked for 2 adults & 2 kids. The recommended room turned out to be for 2 adults only. I was then advised I had to pay extra for my kids. This was 2 days before we were ready to depart. I showed them the paperwork where in some places it said 2 adults only & in other places it said 2 adults & 2 kids. They were, however very accommodating when we arrived & allowed all of us to stay in the 1 room.

    Super friendly staff who go out of their way to assist you. They booked all my adventure tours & even advised me which were suitable for families. Easy check-in & check-out. We arrived early & they allowed us into our room before 2pm....great service all round. The Hotel caters for families with kids with plenty of activities to keep the kids well entertained.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2018

    7.9
    Breakfast was amazing, endless selection of food.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 16 nights

    Drinks and food are over priced at this hotel. We was a family of nine and we always went to the beach for lunch and drinks. We pay'd 175 THB for beer at the hotel but 50-80 THB at the beach and the beach is only 3-5 minutes walk away.

    Breakfast was amazing, endless selection of food. The room was big with a good bed. Swimming pool area was very nice, with free towels, but they could have a lot more sunbeds, there is enough space to do that. There is also a free beach towels. At the inside bar we could have a free popcorn as we wanted.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2018

    7.5
    Nice hotel with great staff. A brisk 5 min walk to the beautiful Surin beach
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior King Room with Pool View (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The check-in was not as fast and smooth as expected. The biggest disappointment was the food quality in the restaurant. On the first night it rain heavily so we had dinner in the restaurant in the hotel. I ordered a burger, but it was obviously too overcooked. Same with the french fries, etc ordered for the kids Also wifi in the room was slow ..

    Clean room, 5 min walk to the beach and 5 min walk to the convenient store. Kids love the pool and slides. Also was creative of the hotel to have games/activity every afternoon for the kids.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2018

    5.8
    child friendly hotel with great facilities but room are very tired and worn
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior King Room with Pool View (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights

    wasn't happy with the rooms, not very clean, tired room definitely requires a refurbishment. We had trails of Ants in our room was awful and I was in no rush to get back into my room at the end of the night. Just about managed to pass my time in there. if they refurbish all room then I would consider this accommodation being a 5 start because all other facilities are great, but a shame the rooms let this hotel down big time! and beds where too hard aswel.

    very child friendly, great food, Hotel restaurant, pools and lobby reception area all good with a fantastic beach across the road.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2018

    7.1
    Great kids activities and pool but unhappy with room and beds were not approprate for 4 people
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior King Room with Pool View (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The room I booked was supposed to be appropriate for 2 adults and 2 children aged 10 and 15 (as per bookings.com). However upon arrival we were told it contains only "one king bed". When I said that we have 2 children and there should be beds for them, I was told by the receptionist that I've booked the wrong room and that they can fix the issue by separating the bed. When they did separate them it ended up looking like 2 single beds and there was no way we can sleep 2 people on each bed. I went to reception to advise that this is not suitable as I had clearly stated the ages of my kids and this was the suitable room that came up which mind you was almost $400 per night! I requested an upgrade but was advised there was none available and the only thing they could do was provide an extra single bed at a cost of 1000baht per night. I got upset and refused to pay the extra 1000baht per night when we are already paying so much and I sent my husband to deal with it. They then offered him a 'free' single bed. Even with the extra single bed it was still pretty tight in there and we all swapped to sleep with my 10 year old each night and each time we did it was a bad night sleep, both squashed is a single bed. Also, had a waiter at the restaurant drop a cup of mayonnaise on me and went all over my clothes. He was very sorry and apologised which was fine and I'm not blaming him but still it made me upset at the time as I had put on new clothes and they got ruined.

    The kids activities organised were great. My son was in the pool all day and made heaps of friends. It was a pleasant change to be able to get gluten free bread for breakfast and a gluten free meal for my daughter who is a coeliac. Location was close to Surin beach.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    6.7
    A stay that was made unpleasant because a sewer issue was not fixed in the 2 weeks we booked.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 12 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was a sewer pipe problem on our side of the hotel and we had to walk 2 week’s past this pipe wth all its foul smells to our rooms. It made leaving and going to our room unpleasant. A minor but irritating system at breakfast the Hotel never had a table to accommodate our family of 5. They had one table that would fit more than 4 people so unfortunately many mornings we as a family could not have breakfast together unless we were squashed into a four seater table. Our family are all adult sized so this made breakfast not the relaxing time it should be.

    Loved the location and friendly staff.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    9.2
    Wonderful family experience!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite with King Bed and Poolside Terrace
    • Stayed 11 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Chairs for kids were old wooden chairs which were in bad Chandwani unsafe for toddlers.

    Forus as a family We appreciated that there were a lot of activities for kids.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    5.8
    Good value, good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They didn’t set up our kids bed upon arrival, like we agreed in advance. They came to set up the baby’s cot at 19:30, after he was already asleep. The baby chairs in the restaurant can be climbed out of. The whole hotel is a bit dated and needs a lick of paint. There was mouldy bread on the breakfast buffet.

    Good facilities for children aged between 5-10yrs old. The staff were very nice and helpful.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    7.5
    Big rooms, good location close to beach.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two Bedroom Suite (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Decor is dated and cheap. Restaurant food was bland and expensive. Not enough loungers around the pool.

    Big rooms, good location close to beach. Good pools with some facilities for kids and selection of kids club activities.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2018

    6.7
    Older hotel, rooms need some TLC, but great resort for families
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two Bedroom Suite (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This is a family oriented hotel, can’t stress that enough , it’s great for families with young children ( under 10) and not so great for adults or families traveling with older children. Tons of kid activities. Right across the street from Surin Beach ( note: there are no chairs allowed on the beach so no rentals). Several good restaurants within walking distance. If you’re planning on doing day tours to Phi Phi Islands and James Bond, Surin is a good location, 30-40 min drives to the piers where the tours go out. The hotel grounds are beautiful but the rooms are showing their age. Upholstery was stained on couches and chairs. Furniture is not high quality and was beaten up. Breakfast buffet is decent but because so many small unattended kids getting food leaving the covers off, hot foods are liuke warm at best. Staff is extremely friendly and helpful, we had a late afternoon flight and although we had to check out of our room they provided a Day room to shower before we left. Highly recommend Benny’s American Bar and Grill and Taste restaurants. There is a taxi stand at the hotel gate very easy to use and can arrange for the driver to come back for you. Pool area is beautiful, slides for the kids, however insufficient seating, people “ claim” chairs by 7:30 am, don’t come back for hours, and in the afternoon they do the same thing, leave their stuff on the chairs and wonder off for hours. This needs better monitoring. Never got to sit poolside as a result. I think we were the only Americans on the property, very popular with Europeans. If my kids were younger I’d go back, but the other Novotels in the area might be a better option for adults.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    5.8
    Good Location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Twin Room with Pool View (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast and Hospitality needs to be improved in all terms.Self drived Thailand in 2 weeks including Bangkok & Pattaya the accommodation was good had a very bitter experience with Booking .com for Bangkok accommodation with wan't fair on part of Booking.com & Baiyoke Sky Hotel Both due to which my future travel bookings won't be through Booking .com as we were cheated by booking.com and Baiyoke Sky Hotel both and for an International Tourist a very bad experience lucky I had self driven hire car so I could look for other accomodation though my booking was confirmed an paid for in full in advance by booking .com and was asked to pay more at the counter by Baiyoke Sky Hotel. Why would I return to Booking.com for my future travel bookings

    Good Location. Nice accommodation & Breakfast

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    7.5
    Generally lovely stay in hotel for price paid.
    • Family with young children
    • King Suite
    • Stayed 8 nights

    Rooms cleaned more throughly. Swimming pool required more regular cleaning.

    Great large rooms. Great location to beach. customer service was brilliant. Compliments to the chef who baked fresh gluten free bread for me - fab! Showers were great and powerful. Mats for slides would be useful. Free popcorn was a plus for movie time.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    9.6
    The staff, called B.B. is very helpful and friendly
    • Family with young children
    • Superior King Room with Pool View (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms flooring which is a bit old as the color from the wooden floor ended up on my sole of my feet.

    I like the facilities and activities which is great for my kid. The location of the property is not too far to travel to some of the visiting spots

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    8.8
    The position of the hotel is convenient.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room with Pool View (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The position of the hotel is convenient. Surin Beach is less than 5 minutes by walk from the hotel and Patong Beach around 35-40 minutes by car. Staff very friendly and helpful. Breakfast amazing. Our holiday was amazing!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2018

    8.3
    Great location, excellent service, good value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Suite
    • Stayed 9 nights

    Beds are hard like rocks, pillows too big and hard making good sleep impossible

    Excellent, helpful, flexible staff Great location, 35 minutes from internation airport of Phuket by taxi, only 3 minutes from the sea, all facilities (restaurants, Family Mart, Seven Eleven) within 500 meters Spacious King Suite on the 5th. floor, with huge, separate bedroom, living room, balcony, with all necessary facilities Great breakfast with a big variety of choises, excellent coffee Many facilities for children including cinema-room with 3 movies per day Free shuttle service to Patong beach 3 times a day upon pre-booking Tour organizing service at reception desk

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2017

    2.5
    We arrive late, they accommodate us in the far part of the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two Bedroom Suite (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pool slide for kids

    We arrive late, they accommodate us in the far part of the hotel, though our booking was pool view they gave us a city view, any they justify that with the term (subject to availability) the furniture was overused, flood swerege, the room next to us was for the hotel cleaners who work 24 hours, any they were setting outside the room. When we spoke to in-charge manager he apologized but didn’t do anything. They moved us to a reasonable room after 3 days. Staying there was the worst hotel experience ever.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2017

    8.3
    Good, family friendly, good location, amazing staff. Nice bar. Room comfort and access is average.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior King Room with Pool View (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    For the standard room, they should have smaller bed in there, not king size. Not enough space to move. Elevator is small and slow and not enough lighting around hallways.

    Very children and family friendly. Amazing staff.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2017

    7.5
    Nice stay n kids did enjoy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Twin Room with Pool View (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Buffet menu less variety each day n also room svs on food orders can be much better n efficient.communication can be better in taking orders

    Pool n kids activities

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2017

    8.8
    Family Friendly Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I think the pool needs to be updated and either repaired or renovated.

    We travelled with our 2 kids and my parents. The place is PERFECT for families. Their Kids Club programs were awesome and the swimming pool was big and had 2 fun slides. The beach was also walking distance from the hotel which was convenient to get from the beach to the pool. The workout facilities were nice to get a nice little workout in. The hotel is walking distance to a family mart / 7-Eleven and other restaurants if you want eat outside the hotel.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2017

    9.2
    Excellent hotel , ok restaurant
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Twin Room with Pool View (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 11 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food was very pricey and service on restaurant was not good, we had to wait 2 hours for a bottle of water for the kids, the next day they forgot the food for the kids bed seated they had too many customers, there were 2 tables with people in the whole restaurant. We just decided to eat outside and problem solved.

    The pool was just perfect and there were activities like the foam party and the walk on water and the movies that made my stay incredible. The pool was super clean same as the rooms. Breakfast was awesome , super variable for every taste.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2017

    7.9
    Christmas holiday
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior King Room with Pool View (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Facilities is quite old. The breakfast buffet spread was so-so. No lifeguard at the pool as some kids do dangerous stunts on the slide.

    It is child-friendly and have lots of activities prepared for kids. It is also near Surin beach.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2017

    7.9
    Breakfast buffe was very good but make sure to be early as...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard King Room (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The children under 17 years of age are expected to sleep in the same bed as their parents. Be aware of that when booking the hotel. The Wi-Fi was super slow in the rooms.

    Breakfast buffe was very good but make sure to be early as there will be no tables left to sit at.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2017

    8.8
    Nice hotel and I would go back again
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Twin Room with Pool View (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn’t like the toilet , no hose . When you flush a loud terrible sound comes for a minute . The shower hot water was not enough when we showered 6 pm late .the walls very thin you could hear naighbor and thier kid woke us 3 am crying 😢.. the house keeping are too noisy at night and woke me up 2 am doing what I don’t know.

    The ac is good , beds ok , breakfast ok good food though expensive. The pool and slide . Foam party 🎉 . The staff very good . Coffee shop for espresso. Short walk to beach . Near to 3 restaurants. Provide 3 times shuttle bus to Patong . But last one comes 7 pm from Patong and that’s not enough . WiFi fair.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 December 2017

    8.3
    Great set up for kids and arrangements of facilities.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No hair dryer in the room. The pool set up is great but water looks milky... WiFi is just enough to check emails and chats.

    Great set up for kids and arrangements of facilities. Staff is great and very helpful. Surin beach is great.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 December 2017

    3.8
    No wi-fi even though its says wi-fi at this website
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite with King Bed and Poolside Terrace
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    •NO WI-FI • toilet broke • poolwater was extremely bad! I was playing with the kids in the pool with swimglasses and I got up as soon I could see all the things in the pool. The lamp was broke or missing The A/C reglage was broke, could not put in low so it was full power during the night. The disches was left at the terrass in 3 days. We was not at the hotell during the day so We think, lets se how long it takes to get them removed. Only one chair at the terrass:-( Only place in Thailand we need to wait to get a table at breakfast. Smaller caos each morning

    The staff was top class when We arrived. Drinks and warm welcome. The hotell has different set u can buy for exempel, eat and drink all day from kods meny 350baht/kid. The waterslide was open all day! Kids world was Good.

    Stayed in December 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Novotel Phuket Surin Beach Resort traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: