Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Palm Galleria Resort 4 stars

139 M.2, Kukkak, Takuapa, Phang Nga, Laem Pakarang Beach, 82190 Khao Lak, Thailand

#82 of 99 hotels in Khao Lak

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 118 hotel reviews

7.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.9

  • Comfort

    7.9

  • Location

    7

  • Facilities

    7.7

  • Staff

    8.5

  • Value for money

    7.8

  • Free WiFi

    7.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 40

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is close to beautiful Whitesand Beach. You can take the hotel bicycle there. Great breakfast, nice pool and very clean. The rate on Booking.com was incredible at time of booking. It's about 10 km from centre of Khao Lak but there want much in town anyway so it was perfect to be remote and really relax by beach or pool.And there's a strip of little restaurants with great food around the corner.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was subpar. The pool was hot and the A/C was weak it took about an hour for the room to cool down.

    I loved the location and the proximity to the beach. The slide was great fun. Also there were restaurants close by within walking distance.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Beautiful resort with nice pool and grounds. Close walk to the beach with lots on little restaurants on the way. Great breakfast in the morning! Rooms were nice and comfortable.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms are quite old. There is a new tv, but everything else is just old. Breakfast quality is poor except fruit and egg corner! We ate there lunch and dinner and all was way better than breakfast. There is ton of food at breakfast, but the quality could be way better. We had superior room, Pam galleria is supposed to be 4 star resort, but the room just didn’t lived up our expectations even after we got upgraded to deluxe!

    The resort is situated close to the coral beach, but you can rent bike for free for 3 hours and get to coconut beach or white sand beach. But if you keep the bike longer the renting fees after 3 hours are ridiculously high! Good mattress! Good pool.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Just a bit far from the airport maybe a shuttle bus would help

    It was agreat place to stay I was on my own I felt safe all the staff were so kind I had one little hecup but it was sorted well done ❤️

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Surprisingly not supplied with toothbrush. TV channels not too entertaining. Breakfast, although seperate for Thai food & Western food, nothing to shout about. Very basic morning food. At times not enough drinking glasses. Bacon is not too great. Beach although a 5 minute walk but not too great beach, full of debris from corals, looking like rocks fill beach. In the morning, too quiet at beach. Good for people that love quietness and with a good book. Nothing much to enjoy for family with kid at Khao Lak.

    A good welcome upgrade which I did not expected. Thanks to the hotel management. Pool is big enough and have a good slider. Clean surrounding. Big rooms with lots of place to run around for my baby girl. Nice to have bathtub.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Better care of room decor and paintwork would really liven up the client experience here/

    The Palm Galleria is a nice hotel that is, like many of the hotels in the area, a little dated and worn out and, again, like many hotels in the area, not matching the appearances on the website. There have been definite corners cut on maintenance of the cosmetic aspects of the rooms and the 'gym' is definitely looking worse for wear. That said, the staff were lovely, helpful and smiling and the food was great. A long way from the main stretches of Khao Lak so you need a moped for sure, but other than that a nice place.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Far from the daily tours and daily transportation is expensive. We had to pay the highest taxi cost in this area. All the taxis in this area know each other and apply high rates, never possible to negotiate. I propose you to rent a motorbike to see around and try to book an other hotel close to Phuket if you want to have daily tours to Phang Ngam or Phi Phi etc. There are only 3-4 possible restaurants close to the hotel also. If you don't book a taxi again.

    The facilities and the accommodation was very good.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Family Room (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    the toilets were slightly small and i blocked it. its embarrassing going to reception because it wont flush.

    the staff were really nice and pleasant who were willing to go the extra mile.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Deluxe Family Room (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only bad thing is your need a car or bike to get around to the beach or town, but it's worth it for how good the place is

    Everything!! really nice place, food is good, staff are amazing, beach 10mins down road. Always space by pool can order food at pool bar 2 happy hours, rooms cleaned and sheets changed everyday

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Deluxe Family Room (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Was a bit far away but fine if you have a car

    Staff are amazing, so helpful. Pool is good, there is a pool bar/restaurant it has 2 happy hours the bar lady Tu makes the best cooktails. It's a nice place a bit quiet but that makes it good, restaurants is good. Rooms have everything change every day very clean. There is a small gym and table tennis. Can get a taxi out side there is a shop to the left side just after the hotel. There is a beautiful beach about 5 minutes drive North ( it has a swing hung off a parm tree on the beach front), if you park at the beach and use the restaurant sun beds they will charge you 200 thiland Bart, and the food wasent that good. if you keep walking up there is a little bar 100 meters up, the sun beds are free and they make shakes for 60 Bart and the food is amazing.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had to walk a little bit to beach , inconvenience in heavy raining but fine in sunny day.

    Greenery Spacious Look natually Quiet Upgrade to family deluxe room very comfortable and value for money

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great staff ! Very nice and helpful. We are pleasantly surprise. The room was great. Nice and firm bed. Clean and quiet. We get the bikes to ride around the beach. Very long beach and wide - never see anything like it. Rough rocks near the hotel but much nicer near the bigger hotel in vicinity.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Far from shopping center. Need to pay taxi 300 baht for round trip to go there dinner and sighseeing. I think if you can drove scooter please rent.

    Warm welcome and taking good care from hotel staff. Outside good atmosphere, many tree. Inside room is ok.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    So quiet but maybe the low season period make us feel lonely in the hotel

    Very nice pool and view. The poolbed with jacuzzi make us relax for holiday and the balcony is very good seaview.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Night time, at the lobby and swimming bar have a lot of mosquito can not sit, drink and joy time with friends.

    cozy hotel, less people, service is very good, hotel staff always do help and smile. romantic room style. next time I should bring my honey come for sure. ^^ we bot tour Bamboo rafting. fun and lot of relax.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    very good a la carte breakfast, friendly and helpful staff

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our unit had poor WiFi. Units on slope are semi underground & WiFi cannot connect.

    Quiet & clean. Great breakfast.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 9 nights

    Staff extra friendly and very clean rooms. breakfast was great aslo

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Buffet Pool And slide Free bike hire Close to shop and resteraunts

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was all fine.

    Chef cooking breakfast eggs and omelets. Efficient aircon and hot showers. Guard on parking site.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Just all

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    not connect to the beach but it is just a short walk

    nice service

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Value for money. Good staff and good food. The beach is 100 meters from the hotel. The room is good and clean. The bed is comfortable.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Housekeeping could be improved. Rooms not cleaned very well & inconsistently. Our towels were not changed even after putting them in the changing bin & had to request more. Sheets were never changed in 5 days. Floors were not cleaned properly (sand etc). Air con broke on last evening which couldn't be repaired (35 degree heat) so had to use a noisy fan which made for a very uncomfortable evening. Breakfast was disappointing. The small fruit selection was always covered with flies (why not put a lid on it?). Not much of a vegetarian option. There was the age old stereotype of people (mostly Germans) putting their towels on a sunbed at the pool at 6am & not actually using it until later in the day. Not a problem if there were more sunbeds (how would the staff police this?).

    Staff are very pleasant indeed, especially at reception. Pool & gym facilities were clean. Rooms were pleasing on the eye with lovely big beds. Even though we had a few issues they were all dealt with expediently.

  • Reviewed: 29 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    There is no one thing massively wrong with the resort, but there are many small things that add up to leave a bad taste in the mouth. Such as.... The aircon in our room leaked. There were marks on the ceiling which made it obvious this wasn't the first time, they had even adapted a vacuum cleaner for cleaning out the drip tray so this is probably an on-going problem. In the first 36 hours we had maintenance in our room cleaning the tray 3 times. There was no offer to move rooms until we asked on visit 3, at 10pm at night. We were then put in a smaller room with no outdoor shower (which we didn't know until we moved and wasn't a huge deal to be honest) and there was no effort at apology. The cabling and piping for the aircon was through the outdoor shower. Not a big deal except that every wire for the aircon was twisted with electrician tape and there for all to see. Is cable tidy so expensive to cover this? Not enough sunbeds around the pool (with at least 2 broken) and at least 4 of the sunshades were broken and unusable. Either fix them or remove them. The swing bin at the pool was full to overflowing with cans and bottles from our arrival at 1pm on the Monday until Wednesday lunchtime. On cocktail night several cocktails were unavailable as they had no limes. In Thailand. When the supermarket 5 minutes away on a bike was selling them 24 hours a day. There were more issues but this gives an idea. The resort is actually quite nice but in my opinion badly managed and not sending money on the basics, which is a real shame. Until they get the basics right this place is overpriced.

    In a great spot to escape and relax with enough restaurant activity and beach close by.

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    They only have one shuttle to the city n it is at 330pm and we have to return at 630pm. As city is far, i would appreciate a morning shuttle say at 10am so we can get into the city for a longer time. It doesn't make sense to take shuttle at 3.30pm into the city just for 2 hours.

    I like that it is more secluded n we can cycle to Leam Pakarang for glorious sunset. Staff are very friendly n helpful. I like to chill in the pool too as the beach outside is not that suitable for swimming. (Very shallow) i also love the breakfast which has a huge spread of food.

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The resort must have been ok years ago, but it is falling appart. Photos doesnt show at all the reallity, forget the wooden chair by the pool, they now are all plastic, no ocean view, quality of the bedding is poor for the standard, walls are dirty, aircon far too old. No direct access to the closest beach when it's supposed to be beachfront.

    Nice locals restaurants nearby. Nice pool.

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The pictures that they have here (at least in Jan 2016) are somewhere from 10 years ago. So there is no such thing as a good sea view, the kind of you would think from the pictures, because of the trees that has grown between the hotel and the beach. All the sun beds are plastic (not nice wooden like in the pictures) and the hotel is definetely a need of renovation.

    OKish place near the beach. Maybe worth the money.

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Prices increased outrageously over xmas and new year. Breakfast was very poor for a 4000baht a night hotel. Beach 10min walk away - though some lovely spots there. Poor value compared to thailand generally. More like a 1500baht a night place.

    Manager was good. Generally staff were friendly and tried hard....but ultimately not very good!

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Was a breath of fresh air to stay hear very peaceful and relaxing great place to stop over and to get some good rest with a bit of semi luxury location is amazing thanks to all the staff and to the bar team for there kindness and to all the staff there selves very warm and welcoming .

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Palm Galleria is definitely my favourite place to stay near Khao Lak. The hotel is very nice, pool was always clean and staff were very friendly. Few restaurants nearby. Perfect location if you are looking for more quiet place.

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We spent the first 3 weeks of our backpacking trip looking forward to a break at what we thought was a nice, well priced resort. Turned out to be an out dated, run down, over priced, dirty hotel. The air conditioning barely worked and after insisting we were finally switched rooms because our water was coming out brown in the tap and shower. Atmosphere was not great, and we were ignored by staff to tend to larger groups spending more money multiple times. Would not recommend anyone to stay at this hotel, dish out a little extra to stay at one of the many, much nicer hotels in the area.

    The pool was relatively nice

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The facility is rather run down and in need of refurbishing. The bathroom was not very clean. The quality of the food was variable, from good to ordinary. Many of the amenities offered were not available, like spa and massage, shuttle bus and poolside bar.

    The staff were very friendly and helpful. The overall style of the resort is pleasant as long as you don't take too close a look. The price was good.

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    High prices in the restaurant. More motorbikes for rent.

    Wonderful and big swimming pool, calm and very beautiful location. Nice staff, big balcony and big room) But I loved riding a bike (cycling) best of all. I love this hotel very much!!!

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    stuff did not speak good english, pool bar was not open, but you can buy drink at reception. for a dinner you have to go out of the hotel.

    clean, nice, big rooms, comfortable bed, hot shower, peacefull location. free bycicle.

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Rooms are bit uncleaned and oldschool but still fine. If u like to party or meet lots of people, go to the city.

    I like the quiety. There was everythig that u need at holiday. If u want to go Khao Lak city, u can take the buss whitch cost only 100baht two ways. White sand beach were near and the beaches all empty. U can stay with u own. Food was good at the restaurant and staff very kind.

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    A little bit far from public transportation.

    Service mind is very good all staffs are very nice service

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Miserable staff. Poor location. Diabolical breakfast. Infested with mosquitos

    Pool area

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Peaceful surrounds, beautiful beach and great swimming pool an friendly staff

There are also 12 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 40

Guests also reviewed these properties: