Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Patong Merlin Hotel 4 stars

44 Thaveewong Rd., Patong Beach, 83150 Patong Beach, Thailand

#122 of 391 hotels in Patong Beach

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 764 hotel reviews

8.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.2

  • Comfort

    8

  • Location

    8.7

  • Facilities

    7.9

  • Staff

    7.7

  • Value for money

    7.3

  • Free WiFi

    5.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2018

    8.3
    will return
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Pool View
    • Stayed 6 nights

    nothing

    have stayed twice highly recommend this hotel very little to fault friendly staff wonderful position breakfast very good lots of choice room very comfortable choice of 4 pools

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2018

    10
    wondurfull stay, i stayed for one week with Merlin.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Pool View Double or Twin Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    nothing at all,

    the location. option of food. swimming pools and rooms ,staff extremlly freindly helpfull smilly, love thier patient with the pressure, everthing is just nice,

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2018

    7.9
    pool area nice plenty loungers
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    breakfast buffet not very good compared yo other places in thailand we stayed at that were similar in price i would suggest your senior staff sample competitor's breakfast to compare. i would not recommend people to book breakfast if staying at the merlin

    pool area nice plenty loungers

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2018

    9.6
    Near the Beach and Very Good Pool Areas , Breakfast...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Near the Beach and Very Good Pool Areas , Breakfast Excellent and Great Variety , Staff polite & friendly , will definitely return to Patong Merlin if in Phuket again for Holiday

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2018

    10
    Best in Patong
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Pool View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location and direct access to beach and shops restaurants on adjacent road next to Hard Rock Cafe, Jung Ceylon and various bars and convenient shops and food options that help make the stay here a lot more comfortable. Three large swimming pools and sun lounges and the buffet breakfast is amazing 👌

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2018

    8.8
    as above
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Pool View Double or Twin Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    the tv really need to upgrade the channels

    this is the second visit love this hotel will only stay here in Patong highly recommend breakfast great choice of superb pools and so near the beach and shops

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2018

    10
    Happy to be there, sad to leave
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Pool View
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's in a great location and easy to move around.

    It's like coming home. This is our 4th time staying there, some people have been going back since it opened which says something of the hotel and the people who work there.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2018

    10
    We love Patong Merlin that is why we come back each year and our stay has always been fantastic.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Pool View Double or Twin Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 24 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were told we ordered something from the coffee shop which we did not. Someone had booked it to our room. We were expected to pay it on check out. We didn't this happened last time as well. They need to double check and when people order things from their bars and coffee shops they should produce verification of what room they are in. We paid cash for room service and anything else we wanted.

    The staff were fantastic. Pools beautiful. Great breakfast. Clean and very close to everything. This is why we have stayed here 5 times and will keep coming back.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2018

    9.2
    A great family oriented hotel which we really enjoyed and would stay again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Pool View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room was not the one shown on this website, which is the first time this has ever happened. Our room was older than the photo. Speaking with some people there some suites have been redecorated and ours was not....but to be honest it was not rough or bad in anyway and it did not stop us having a great time.

    The location is great, a night food market is around a 2 minute walk and the food is good. The swimming pool is great for adults and children. The buffet breakfast is good but more Chinese oriented, western food is also available...we prefer the Thai breakfast. We had no problem with this at all. Staff were excellent and very polite and always helpful.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2018

    10
    Lovely hotel very well positioned, just across the road from the beach.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Pool View
    • Stayed 16 nights

    It's pathetic really but our shower kept running red hot every 60 seconds which was annoying as you would be under it then it felt like someone was pouring a pan of scalding water over you, it was that hot. I mentioned it to a few other guests we had met and they did not experience it so it was only our room that it happened to.

    Breakfast was very adequate, rooms were very clean and cleaners were fantastic and very friendly, four good size pools to choose from and no problems getting a sun lounger. Food around the pool was very tasty indeed and not badly priced either. Hotel just a short walk away from Bang La Road nightlife but far enough away not to hear it when we got back.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2018

    8.3
    Great location, but busy
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Booked room with queen bed but none available on arrival so was given room with 2 x king singles.

    Location. Across from beach and close to market stalls and shoppibg center .

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2018

    10
    This is the 4th time that we have stayed at the Patong Merlin. Will be returning next year.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Pool View
    • Stayed 10 nights

    Would have liked chilled water available in the gym

    Fantastic location and wonderful pools.Helpful and friendly staff, comfortable clean rooms. Very good breakfast.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2018

    10
    Awesome hotel just off the really busy Bangla road and very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Pool View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Maybe play music around the pool

    Awesome hotel just off the really busy Bangla road and very close to beach and everything else you need shops and market

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2018

    6.3
    Loved the outside pool area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Pool View
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hall ways are old , dark and walls are dirty. The A/C in the room are noisy and does not work like it should be. Bedroom furniture is old and needs replacing. I have never har such BAD wifi like I had at this hotel. Seriously bad. I am not over reacting. The business centre you have to pay for. Also a first for me. Pool towel station is not even at the pools. Why? You have to collect it from another level near the pool area. In a corner. I think its really stupid. Then get a receipt for it. No return. You have to pay. Really stressing. Lastly. If you have kids. Dont bother with kids club. Im not fussy. But that kids clubs is not a kids club. And the staff was not kids friendly. Shower door is to small. So water runs into rest of the bathroom. Wet floor.

    Loved the outside pool area. Was great. My kids loved it. Nice to walk. Green outside. Easy access to beach and all other things. Great location.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2018

    10
    Close to everything Front and back entry to resort , great...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Pool View Double or Twin and Roll Away Bed
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rollaway bed was pretty uncomfortable and beds could have been more comfortable.

    Close to everything Front and back entry to resort , great choice of pools (4) Breakfast had a good variety.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2018

    5.4
    Dissapointed
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 5 nights

    I asked for pool view rooms and offered to pay extra 10 months before we arrived, they said they couldnt help us until we actually arrived. They put us in noisy rooms facing the road that had the Hardrock music blaring until early hours. We told them the air conditioner was not working, they ignored it, then our air conditioner blew up and smoke and fumes filled the rooms (adjoining rooms). I asked for new rooms. They tried to say some air-freshener would fix it. No way! They finally moved us but to different rooms on different levels, no longer adjoining rooms. Food was overpriced and not nice in the restaurant so only ate there once. Grounds are nice but need a lot of maintenance. Unfortunately we wouldnt recommend to stay there again.

    The location was good

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    10
    Excellent loved it and didn’t want to leave
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My only complaint is that we put a do not disturb on our door and the cleaner called us to ask if we wanted the room clean (which is only a very tiny complaint)

    Everything. Everybody was nice and helpful

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    2.9
    The pools
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin and Roll Away Bed
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My flight was very early in the morning. I booked the taxi for 3 Am. At 2 :50 am. I didn't see the taxi arrived yet. Asked the front desk to check. I couldn't find my name. And they got crankied to do the jobs. I would not recommand this hotel. Food was bad. The hotel was extremely loud unless you like the live music comes from street and late night bars around

    The pools

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    7.5
    Good hotel with an excellent location, close to the beach ,bars and shopping and all you may want !!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Pool View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    An iron in the room would have been appreciated. Almost all other hotels of this rating have an Iron and a board ...

    Rooms were large and comfortable. Good view of the pool. There are 7 in the property!!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    7.1
    The pools were terrific, a bit too warm.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was promised to us as part of our package . This was confirmed in an email to us. When we arrived, we asked again and were told that wasn’t the case. However we thought we would give it a try. We only had to go once, after that we ate at The Coffee Club who were amazing. A little disappointed in Merlin

    Cafe del mar was excellent

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    3.8
    Unexpected from Merlin hotel...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The property has poor backup for electricity. We have suffered whole night due to electricity problems..my mother who aged 60 and my mother in law as well as my child who is 2yrs old has to suffer whole night without electricity....very poor experience from a reputed property...very sad.....

    Nice location

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    5.8
    disappointing , my memories of previous stays are much better
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Pool View
    • Stayed 9 nights

    for what you get now the venue is drastically over priced, better and cheaper accommodation is now available and the breakfast is not worth the extra money quality and type of food disappointing. you need to upgrade urgently or reduce your rates ASAP.

    I have stayed here many times before , the location is perfect beach and markets. walking distance to everywhere.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    3.3
    A BIG MISTAKE
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location of the hotel is very nice its near to beach and walking street. Apart of this every thing of this hotel is not satisfactory. I dont want to open layers of the hotel over here i just wanna say that this hotel is not good to stay.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    8.3
    The staff were lovely.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Superior Pool View Double or Twin and Roll Away Bed
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our first room had a leak of water from the roof on our 2nd night. We had to change rooms. The wifi is pretty awful.

    The staff were lovely. Pools were beautiful. Food was delicious.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    5.0
    Very poor.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sadly I will not return to the Hotel again, the staff were extremely rude ( office staff and cleaning staff). I have stayed at your hotel 5 time and have never experienced this sort of attitude before so it made me feel very sad. There was no acknowledgement of my stays fro the past. I have recommended your hotel as the place to stay to all of my friends and we were all intending to come back later this year but instead I will be advising the group of 10 people that we should choose another hotel. I visited the Holiday In on this visit and it will be where I recommend to the group. Management should take a good look at what is happening as my guest I spoke with felt th same way.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    7.5
    Enjoyed it and would stay again n recommend it
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 11 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lift didn't work well had to take the stairs at least 4 or 5 times. Balcony chairs weren't comfortable . Our Room was too close to the hard rock too loud at night

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    10
    It was a nice experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Pool View Double or Twin Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Any time you unlock the phone you had to reconnect to the WIFI so you had to remember the username and password.

    Very good location close to everything, friendly staff and beautiful garden and pool. Not luxury but value for the money. It was a good experience.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    7.9
    Good stay and I'd consider returning as the facilities are good. Staff friendliness is only concern.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Pool View Double or Twin Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 10 nights

    We were all (4 of us) very disappointed in the attitude of the staff as a whole. The reception and welcome was underwhelming as was the departure. The staff look bored and are uninterested in your daily activity. When we asked about anything it was almost like we were asking them for a huge favour. The old 10 yard rule from hotels wouldn't go astray in this hotel - SMILE as soon as you see someone coming towards you! Be friendly and be hospitable. The food apart from the breakfast was less than satisfactory and bare minimum ingredients. Whilst they want you to eat there and they do have a discount program - again the staff were less than happy to have the book stamped and I was told in no uncertain terms by one of the pool attendants that I was in the wrong and should have showed him prior to organising the bill. He yelled at me in the pool area and he was aggressive and everyone heard it! (so much goes for Thailand natives being friendly! - Not at this hotel - room maids exempted from this).

    The choice of pools were exceptional. The breakfast was substantial and very good. The location is well positioned for the beach and access to other areas of Phuket. It is within walking distance of the large shopping complex with some great restaurants and shops. The rooms were definitely comfortable and clean. The maids were the friendliest out of all of the staff and did a terrific job every day. Beds were very comfortable and the shower pressure and size of the shower were all good.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    10
    I love the older style resorts because the gardens are huge...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I love the older style resorts because the gardens are huge and the pool areas are amazing with lots of shade from the trees and plants no hot concrete there!!!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    10
    The hotel was clean and well maintained, bedrooms are...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Pool View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Suggest that male guests are asked not to go into the dinning room without t shirt / shirt. The vest / singlet is hard to stomach first thing in the morning!

    The hotel was clean and well maintained, bedrooms are spacious and well equipped. Staff were very helpful. Breakfast was great excellent with a wide variety - something for every taste.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    8.3
    Excellent location, easy access to the beach.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The A/c in the room was set at a standard temperature and we could not lower it below 25degrees. Children have to pay additional for using the same room and bed.

    Excellent location, easy access to the beach. 4 pools at the property to choose from. Excellent breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    10
    Great stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Pool View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi wasn't the best. Needs happy hour drinks at pool.

    Pool area was great and huge, good temperature. Breakfast was good lots to choose from and fresh.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    6.7
    Okeish. Not more than that. Better alternatives around
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Entring the hotel ‘ the reception’ is extremely busy, but now with their quests. Noy that they are unfriendly but no great otganised, short in reactions, noy the ‘Thai’ politeness and ‘making you feel special’. For the rest okeish. Swimming areas are nice but confined. Not my best choice.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    6.7
    Good location but noisy
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I had a room at the front of the property and the noise from the live band next door at Hardrock Cafe kept me awake till all hours of the morning

    Location was perfect

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    8.3
    Great location with all you need. unanimously
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel needs maintenance, restaurant prices were way to expensive and only half the staff spoke good to any English.

    The location was close to everything you need. Great breakfast. The pools were great and rooms cleaned every day. Would stay again.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    9.6
    we had a great stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Pool View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    i find that the meals on offer in the restaurant are quite expensive compared to what is offer on street maybe look into being more competitive as they make money on accomodation and i think if inhouse meals were more affordable they would have guests eat there as well

    location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    8.8
    Would go back based on customer service.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Pool View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The internet was quiet poor. Barely any connection and drops in and out all the time.

    The staff were amazing at check in and at breakfast. Big thank you to Suanna from reception great customer service. They care about each individual person and their needs. 4 pools are great and also being across the road from the beach. Beds are comfortable and rooms clean.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    10
    The best hotel in Patong
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Pool View
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Patong Merlin Hotel has the best location in Patong. It is central to everything. All the staff is very friendly, courteous and helpful. The hotel has four island style swimming pools surrounded by lush tropical gardens. The rooms are spacious and comfortable and the buffet breakfast is delicious. The outdoor evening buffet is fabulous. The Cafe del Mar restaurant serves great traditional Thai food and is not expensive. All the hotel facilities are great !

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    3.8
    Wont recomned this hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Pool View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is rated as a 4 star hotel where is see that it is more like a 3 star hotel, the staff are very old and rude not friendly at alllllll very bad, we waited so long for check in, the rooms are small and not clean at all had a funny smell to it we found ants and dirt, house keeping is poor, the bed is not confutable at all and the sheets had a bad smell to it, the AC was not cooling at night it became relly hot informed the front disk they didnt do anything, i relly didnt think it will be this bad but it was. I would not recomned this hotel for anyone VERY BAD. Better hotels around Patong with cheper rates for sure. ( DO NOT BOOK THIS HOTEL)

    The location

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    7.5
    Clean and comfortable rooms, three separate swimming pools,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel was rather busy. We had a door connecting our room to another room and we could hear our neighbors which was quite annoying at night.

    Clean and comfortable rooms, three separate swimming pools, beautiful garden and excellent food.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2018

    7.1
    RUDE staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    the behaviour of staff especially bell boys was pathetic. i fly as a first officer in an airline and have been to bangkok on layovers and i found huge difference between the hotel staff there and at merlin patong. while leaving in evening i gave the room key at reception and when i returned the person at front desk informed me that he is not able to find it, when i asked him for another key he was very arrogant and because of that i had to call the duty manager who was very kind and appologetic towards the rude behaviour of the other emloyee. he even escorted me and my wife to the room. overall the staff at reception was not kind. the night duty manager showed the kind of behaviour what we expect as a guest. the staff was only kind to me when they wanted me to upgrade my room by paying additional 3000 bhats.

    location is good

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2018

    7.1
    A mixed package
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 14 nights

    My husband needed to work remotely for the last week of our stay and the Wi-Fi was unfortunately unstable. A definite infrastructure update would go down well. We were unable to connect from our room or by the pool. The only place to get online was in the foyer near the check-in desk. Unsure if the new, more expensive wing has Wi-Fi in their rooms. For a 4 star hotel in 2018 - fast, reliable Wi-Fi should be available throughout the premises. We have travelled extensively in largely 4 star establishments and have never experienced this level of unstable Wi-Fi in last 5 years. It is for this reason we won't return to the Patong Merlin however, we thank them for previous years of kind service.

    Good variety of food and prices nearby the hotel. Hotel check-in staff were efficient and polite. Pools were clean and no trouble finding a deck chair. Very well situated close to the action. Didn't hear any noise from the street. Breakfast was adequate. Cleaning staff were warm and friendly.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 January 2018

    5.4
    Ok really but we had probably been spoilt by pur previous hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Pool View
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shocking double bed. My partner and myself ended utilusing the separate bed as the double bed was so worn out we'd roll into the middle of the bed. We probably should have said something to the hotel after that first night. On our last day checking under said bed we saw that the entire mattress/springs had collapsed!

    Good location, opposite the beach

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2018

    9.6
    Super accomodating personel and very frendly and loving to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Pool View
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Super accomodating personel and very frendly and loving to our 13 month daughter. Perfect if you want a relaxing vacation in a comfortable sourrounding yet close to all that Thailands city life has to offer.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    6.7
    Good,
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 11 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff were so rude, actually unbearably rude, and definitely could not be trusted with anything. Look for out for the towel Nazi!!! Absolutely no customer service from reception, I have never encountered such incompetence. And it was constant.

    Great location.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2018

    6.3
    Great pools and location, pity about everything else.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Other than the lobby the hotel is run down. The corridors to the rooms are akin to a hospital ward. The price of drinks and food in the hotel are exorbitant compared to restaurants and bars outside the hotel. The wifi is truly terrible.

    Swimming pools are excellent

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2017

    8.3
    Good location.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Pool View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We ordered a single large bed room - but we were offered a double bed room. Had to return to the reception to ask for a change.

    Good location. Good Conference facilities. Conformable and clean bed. Nice swimming pools.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2017

    9.6
    This was our second stay at Patong Merlin....we will return!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Pool View
    • Stayed 12 nights

    It was great to spend time on the balcony which overlooked the pools & the beautiful tropical gardens..The bed was huge & the bathroom had a great walk- in shower. The breakfast buffet was fantastic! The location was perfect! We will stay here again.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 November 2017

    4.2
    the hotel location gives it the advantages
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 13 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    the room was small and the food taste of room service was not good, the help from the front disk was poor.

    i liked the swimming pools and the location of the hotel

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2017

    2.5
    Terrible, go somewhere else with your money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sheets weren’t cleaned, leaked from our bathroom ceiling and into the showers, the WIFI rarely worked. Asked politely to change rooms was met with fierce pushback claims that i booked the standard room etc etc. Didn’t help with bags when we did change rooms (despite them telling us the bellboys would take our bags). Breakfast was alright. This hotel is the worst stay i’ve ever had; i do not recommend.

    The pool tucked away on the left (cleaner and there’s a swim up bar)

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    9.6
    It was good, location good
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Pool View Double or Twin and Roll Away Bed
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor network, WiFi not working most days, we had to sit in lobby to be connected. They need to change their pillows or wash them

    Friendly staff, nice breakfast, the room was clean

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 November 2017

    8.8
    Very good mattress, nice rooms, beautiful pool area with 4...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 8 nights

    This is 30 years old Hotel, refurbish but sometimes you can feel is old already. Aircondition is noisy and smelly, hard to set up. TV medium quality, channels not HD.

    Very good mattress, nice rooms, beautiful pool area with 4 pools. Nice breakfast, amazing staff, very helpful

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    7.9
    Free, comfortable, cost-effective
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The facilities are old, the surrounding is a little noisy, and if you want to have a quiet holiday and you have a higherbudget, consider going to Karen beach or quieter places.

    Spacious swimming pool, beautiful garden view, cheap price, close to the beach and downtown.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    9.6
    great holiday destination this was our 3rd visit to the merlin and would stay there again
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 9 nights

    pillows were hard

    the breakfast was good plenty of variety kids loved the pancakes all 4 pools were child friendly great location nice rooms cleaning staff were friendly

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2017

    7.5
    Dispite the small issues, enjoyed our stay overall
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 11 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Reception staff could have been more welcoming and happy! Seemed to be expanding hotel but some money should be spent on updating some of the decor. Air con was set bit too high in rooms at 22 so bit warm during the night. Some rooms smelt of damp. Drinks and food expensive with service charge and tax added to bill so price shown isn't what you pay but don't think this is an issue restricted to the Merlin.

    Plenty of room / sunbeds around the pools. Room maid and staff in resturants were friendly. Nice food.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2017

    9.6
    Perfect spot for a small family looking to enjoy Patong and relax by the pool.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Maybe having a little more variety for breakfast

    Loved that it was only a short walk to get to anything like Merlin Market, Banglor road or the Jungceylon shopping complex. The rooms are a good size for a family of 3 and our son was treated so well by the staff member.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    8.8
    We stayed for two nights before heading to Phi Phi Island.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room key malfunctioned several times, and was quite frustrating... staff were helpful, but unable to fix the problem. No big deal really. Just slightly inconvenienced!

    We stayed for two nights before heading to Phi Phi Island. The hotel was comfortable and a nice place to stay! The pools were really nice and the hotel is in a good location...

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    10
    A very restful 4 days around the pool with family. Loved it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    An excellent location for the beach, walking and shopping. 3 pools with plenty of space and very clean. Rooms comfy and spacious, cleaners did a good job daily. Front staff excellent, all staff very friendly and accommodating. A great place for kids. 4yr old GD loved the kids club activities.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    9.6
    Will definitely be coming back to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 14 nights

    The bed was quite hard and took a bit of getting used to. There was a renovation going on in some of the rooms which was quite noisy during the day but obviously it couldn't be helped.

    Staff were lovely and very helpful. The rooms were large, comfortable and clean. The pools and grounds very amazing.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    9.2
    If you are visiting Patong Beach, this is definately the resort to stay in!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 10 nights

    Going home.

    Patong Merlin had everything you needed in a resort and more. Beautiful gardens and 4 large sized pools. Property right on beach front. Great selection for breakfast and as much as you can eat. Rooms are large and clean and very comfortable.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    10
    Would definitely recommend this hotel. If we come back to Patong would stay there again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would have liked a higher room we were on ground floor but sitting outside was like sitting around pool so ok.

    The breakfast was great, staff very friendly and loved four pools and all the greenery.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    10
    5 nights were just not enough to stay in Phuket and in this hotel. The kids wanted to stay longer.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Due to the season and the rooms were fully booked, our room was a bit far from the main reception building and in the third floor which didn't have an elevator. It was very difficult with baby trolleys. However, we have requested to change the room and a ground floor room was provided the next day.

    The green atmosphere with its 4 swimming pool was just fantastic for the kids to enjoy. The hotel location was Great. The front side is the Main Street with many shops, restaurants, mini markets and money exchange kiosks. And the rear side was directly on Patong beach. The breakfast also served a wide range of food. Majority of the rooms have pool view.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2017

    6.7
    Usually stay at the Horizon and would prefer that over this place
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Very uncomfortable bed and pillows in all rooms that we had. Wifi wasn't good. Had issues with hot water on a number of days. A lot of mozzies and there were stray cats hanging around.

    Friendly Staff Great location Food was nice, and the pools were awesome

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2017

    7.1
    We have stayed here in the past but this time I think I would only rate it 3 stars.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    It is a very, very large resort. Corridors in resort give an impression you are within an old hospital. Some areas definitely need renovating. Reception staff could be a bit more helpful when asking for assistance. Especially when needing them to ring a number for me and relay my message in Thai.

    It situated between the Patong Beach and Otop Market which is very handy. Pool access room was lovely

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    10
    Good location, nice place for family and couple.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing, just wifi connection was very poor in our room just near the balcony was good.

    Good location, nice place for family and couple. Beautiful hotel and nice staff. Location near everything by walk you can go to everything in the city

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2017

    7.1
    Pool area & rooms were okay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Wifi was bad. Breakfast was average. Reception staff that spoke English were okay. I was surprised at the poor standard of English from the front of house staff.

    Pool area & rooms were okay.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2017

    7.1
    Great location, 4 swimming pools, tropical feel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Was promised a late checkout prior to stay, only to be told that it couldn't be done when the time came. Had extra room booked for family, who were not able to attend due to sickness and when we explained the extenuating circumstances were told that they wouldn't be able to refund some or all of the cost of that room.

    Swimming pool, clean rooms with balcony and nice view,

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    10
    Great resort.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    restaurants were good but menu could've changed a bit. Buffet wasn't always great, pretty much the same meals under a different name each night. Take your own pillows as pillows on bed hard and horrible.

    Fantastic resort. Better than I expected. Clean. Comfortable. Pools are awesome. Well priced bar. Very comfy beds (not pillows). Would stay here again

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    5.8
    Rude staff!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Reception!! The staff in reception were so rude and nearly rolled their eyes when you tried to ask them any questions or try get any help. They made me and my partner feel so unwelcome. I paid for the deluxe room overlooking the pool but when we arrived the room was so far from the pool we could only see the edge of it. Why bother paying extra? Also I paid the expensive hotel transfer to the airport that they demanded I pay at the start of my holiday and they never even bothered organising a car for us. I was so angry when I realised they never organised the car for us even tho I had paid for it and reminded them that morning about it. They just told me to sit down and wait for them to do it again even tho we were rushing to be at the airport asap. Also them advertising that they have wifi is a lie it dosent work anywhere. I won't be staying here again.

    I liked the pool and the cleaning ladies were friendly.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    7.9
    Very pleasant and relaxing stay at Patong!! Highly recommend.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Run of House Double or Twin
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi dropped in and out a bit.

    Great buffet breakfast each morning. Very lovely gardens and pools. Easy walking distance to restaurants, Bangla road, shops etc.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2017

    7.9
    A good place for the family to enjoy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is no water available at the gym which is a big no no. I think two card keys would help because when my family sleep, I can go out and return without waking them up and the electricity is kept on. Even though the breakfast was good, it is not halal which is a shame and I had to explain to my son when he wanted something with meat.

    The swimming pool was very nice and kids enjoyed it. Nearly all staff were very friendly and smile very often. The breakfast buffet was very good with a variety of delicious food and good service. Good check in and check out and staff were helpful and polite.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2017

    9.6
    Right across the street from the Patong beach!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin and Roll Away Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Right across the street from the Patong beach! Great location! Close to bangala walking road (patong beach road) which has a lot of bars! Breakfast buffet is excellent!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2017

    4.2
    Poor in comparison to other 4 star hotels on Patong beach front.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The big pool water felt oily and greasy. The edges inside the pool looked as if it has not been cleaned in a long time. The airconditioner in the room would only work on either 15 or 28 degrees. There was no remote to control the temperature which made it very uncomfortable - either too hot or too cold. On request the hotel did attend to the problem and send a 'engineer' to see to the problem but the situation remained the same. I arranged for a parcel to be delivered at the hotel between 5-6 pm. When the delivery arrived they would not bother to contact our room to inform us that our parcel arrived. When we enquired we were rudely told that it is our duty to be at reception to receive the parcel. I do not think that one call to our room is too much to ask - they just have no idea about good customer service! I stayed for 30 days in Phuket between four 4 star hotels. The Phuket Merlin was the most expensive of all - sadly with the most unfriendly staff treating guests as if they are are doing you a favour, the hotel needs a lot of painting maintenance on the outside as it looks a bit neglected. This hotel does not meet the standards that other hotels in the same or even lower price brackets offer. All in all a very dissapointing experience. I will not recommend this hotel to friends or family.

    Tv with usb Good location

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2017

    7.5
    Loved the friendly people.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Run of House Double or Twin
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We did not like walking up the stairs instead of a elevator. I don't like the pool being closed so early.

    We liked the good breakfast service cleanliness of rooms and pool garden areas. Our room was beautiful. Our cleaning lady was really excellent. Glad we could not hear Hard Rock cafe from our room.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    4.6
    Waste of money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Front desk staffs are rude. Most of the time reception was crowded Hotel under reconstruction and renovation Awful mattress, back pain warrantied Pools are looking dirty and blurred Hotel says they provide wifi but even you can not browse or make a wassup call. We are disappointed and regret they we stayed that hotel You can easly find a better place for less price.

    Nothing

    Stayed in July 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Patong Merlin Hotel traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: