Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Pimalai Resort & Spa 5 stars

99 Moo 5, Ba Kan Tiang Beach, Koh Lanta, Krabi, 81150 Ko Lanta, Thailand

#5 of 182 hotels in Ko Lanta

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 774 hotel reviews

9.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.7

  • Comfort

    9.7

  • Location

    9.3

  • Facilities

    9.6

  • Staff

    9.7

  • Value for money

    8.9

  • Free WiFi

    9.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location of the hotel which is set in the forest and also on the beach was amazing. The choice and quality of the food was first class. The staff were very eager to assist and make our stay as enjoyable as possible. The transfer to the hotel was very smooth and comfortable. Paradise!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Always more than a pleasure to return and stay at this magnificent place. This is our third time staying here, and this time we had the privilege to stay at the grand beach house. Due to construction and in availability of the deluxe room we originally booked, the management upgraded us to this wonderful spacecious place fronting the beach. The staff at their great buffet breatfast area, gave us such a warm welcoming feeling after recognizing us from previous holidaytrips to the resort.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything! Loved the pick up from the airport, good communication with the staff, beautiful and comfortable room, wonderful views and delicious breakfast! Really enjoyed the welcome fruits and the tea. Bathtub filled up fast as well. Would love to come again :D

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Hillside Private Pool Villa One bedroom
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Overall the place is amazing. The breakfast every morning was excellent. Not excessive amounts to choose from which in my opinion makes it make better it has the right amount. The staff are attentive and were always there to assist in any way. From arriving to helping us get to the airport the hotel did everything. Definitely worth the money.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    If you book after 17:00 for the next day, the hotel will get your order only in the morning of your arrival day so if you need a pick up like we did make sure to call the hotel in the morning and confirm it. Mosquitoes!! They are really doing their best but it’s a problem all over Thailand so make sure to prepare yourself and bring something to protect your skin.

    One word- Amazing!! Lets Start from the pickup from Krabi Airport. I was so stressed out about the reservation because we booked it the day before after 17:00 and just in the morning when I was on the flight to Krabi, I got my pickup confirmation. My friend was arriving from Phuket and the hotel offered to pick him up as well. Once we arrived we found paradise. The staff were super nice, welcomed us with flower necklaces, offered this really tasty refreshing drink. The room was great, romantic designed with a balcony with an ocean view. The beach was beautiful, isolated with great amazing shakes!! The only downside is that you have be careful with some big rocks inside the water. However, besides that the beach and the pools are amazing!! We had a wonderful time, saw beautiful sunsets and just relaxed ourselves. Can’t wait until our next visit:)

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Hillside Private Pool Villa One bedroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Everything was perfect, it was like being in a whole new world, in a dream. Our private pool villa was impressive, breakfast was superb, the gym was first class, staff was incredibly friendly and helpful, views from the resort to the bay are probably the best in Koh Lanta. I could go on and on, but I'm running out of adjectives. Stay here and thank me later.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The food could have been better. Though there were a couple other options off the hotel property.

    Beautiful rooms, with a wonderful beach in a secluded part of Ko Lanta. The staff were very friendly and they were attentive at communicating with me prior to my arrival in order to facilitate transportation to and from the hotel. The pools were also really lovely.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Hillside Private Pool Villa One bedroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    NOTHING

    Absolutely amazing - please do yourself a favour and stay at this resort. And if you have the means please book a private pool villa. Feels like you are in your own secluded piece of nature. Food, Pools, Beach - everything was PERFECT. We had only booked the pool villa for one night and then were to be moved to a regular room - and the staff let us stay the whole time in the pool villa for no extra cost!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Absolutely nothing!

    We had a beautiful silent Bungalow at the Beach. It was so amazing! The view in the morning, the wide sea! We love Pimalai with all its people who made our stay unique! We had tears in our eyes when we left. Thanks to Frank and all Pimalai-members!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Pavillion Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Food generally was very disappointing. Breakfast was ok but the standard could have been higher, but the food elsewhere was really not good, particularly the Thai food. We were there largely for the wildlife which we managed to track down plenty of - don't stay here if you have phobias of monitor lizards, frogs or snakes! - but were a little disappointed that there wasn't more available for the guests on this. We would have loved a sheet or book about local wildlife in the room, or info on self-guided nature trails. We tried to ask where the best place to see monkeys was and no-one could really tell us, although we managed to use the free hotel bikes to get to the national park, which is a great little trip (but be wary of hills!). The room are spacious with lovely decks and great bathrooms, but the bedroom itself was a little simple and bedding could have been of better quality. These are minor gripes though - it's a heavenly place!

    The hotel is simply in one of the most stunning locations we've been to - hillside jungle meets blissful ocean. We had a beach side room, and waking up in the morning to floor to ceiling windows looking out at the ocean was quite spectacular, as was nipping out for a morning swim. The top pool was equally wonderful - the perfect spot for sunset views. Although the hotel is big, it didn't feel it. Make sure you eschew the hotel food for next door Same Same But Different - a great spot a few minutes along the beach. We left totally blissed out.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Limited breakfast choices. But yummy and fresh.

    The long and wide beach with fine sand. Attentive and polite staff. Spacious room with huge sofa for lounging around.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Besides the food quality and confection is undoubtedly, the prices in the restaurants are inflated for Thailand and the food doesn’t represent a high end experience.

    Located in a beautiful and clean bay the Pimalai resort offers fantastic facilities and a very friendly staff. The breakfast is great and all the restaurants are very good for Thailand. It’s in a beautiful non crowed beach. The pools are amazing! Thank you to all staff who made our stay unforgettable.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The breakfast (included in the room rate) was a bit under our expectations: lack of choice, so-so pastries (especially croissant maybe cause I am french), fruits not so sweet,...

    We arrived in this little paradise and we were directly taken care by the very friendly and supporting staff. This resort has everything you need, 5 restaurants, gorgeous swimming pool (especially for sunset), a direct access to the beach, fitness, etc. Our room was big and we appreciated the nice balcony to chill. Out stay there was unfortunately not long enough to enjoy all the activities provided by the hotel (sea activities, spas, etc) as we preferred to discover the island but we will come back!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The excursions through the hotel were all booked by the time we arrived for our stay. I booked this hotel months ago and it would’ve been nice to know that we would need reservations in advance for activities.

    Loved our stay at Pimalai! The breakfast was delicious and the grounds/pools/restaurants were awesome. The best part was our complimentary transfer from Krabi. They were waiting for us at the airport and put us in a very comfortable private van. Then we had a private speedboat to the resort.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food is standard nothing special, old aquatic equipment, transfer to airport not free as mentioned in the website, after 4pm you may need to pay additional price

    Spa is really good, natural place great massage and organic oil make sure to book in advance because it can be easy fully booked, the 2 pool are good and the beach very nice! Staff are welcoming and helpful

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    For the cost of the room expected more to be included. Wasn't explained at the start that shuttle back to krabi Airport would consist of 4 legs. So we were just a bit confused getting in and out of random cars in the middle of the road! Not many late night room service options and restaurants close relatively early.

    Most of the staff couldn't do enough to help you. The room and food was amazing. Spoilt for choice re activities and things to do! Breakfast was the best we've had in Thailand.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Hillside Private Pool Villa One bedroom
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Booking.com was disgraceful. I won’t use it again. When we needed to make changes to the booking the booking.com staff confused the issue, couldn’t get their messaging right; contradicted the hotels message and caused significant undue frustration and confusion. Thankfully then Pimalai team were extremely helpful and supported us. If you plan to book Pimalai, do it direct or through another travel broker like ‘luxury small hotels of the world’...

    Pimalai is amazing. There’s not a bad word I can say about it. The staff are among the most polished and professional, yet kind and caring of any hotel I’ve stayed at around the world. The GM Frank made us feel welcome every day and took time to speak to us if there were questions or concerns. The resort itself deserves its reputation as being one of the best in the world. You absolutely get what you pay for. While it’s a premium hotel and not advertised to families with kids, there were families there and all children were doted on by the staff and made to feel welcome.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    This resort exceeded all our expectations, the James Bond style transfer from the airport was a wonderful start and it kept getting better as the hotel is in a stunning location with great views of the coastline. Food options in the 3 restaurants was extensive and room service was great. The spa was very luxurious but in keeping with the rustic beach hut feel and we had fun workouts in the in-house muay thai boxing gym. All in all a superb stay with amazingly friendly staff can't wait to return!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beachguard team to be strenghtened and fully briefed, especially with guests using SUP far from bechside. Indication of safe corridor between rocks entering and exiting from water to be improved.I had many injuries on hands and legs when i took my first swim.

    - Wooow! All. Staff super-friendly and helpful. Always doing their best to satisfy. Gorgeous breakfest, nice beachfront restaurant. Pools XXL. Thank's M. Frank for nurtering such a valuable sense of hospitality.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Hillside Private Pool Villa One bedroom
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Nothing!

    A great resort with a fantastic location. We had a fantastic week in the pool villa! The service is excellent. Pick-up at airport and journey with speed boat was very efficient, food in the three restaurants we dined in was excellent, any issues like we had with air conditioning was dealt with immediately. The day trips for snorkeling, organized by the hotel where of highest quality. Staff always happy to help and provide a great asset for the resort!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was perfect. Pimalai is a paradise on Earth. The treatment is excellent, the beach is great, playing volleyball with the staff was amazing, the food and the views... OMG I miss this place already. The organized trips to islands were great. Even if you're tired of the hotel's restaurants, just 300m away there's a bunch of local restaurants where you can have fun.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    2h ride from Krabi Airport is quite a distance!!However, hotel has excellent complimentary shuttle service by van and boat.

    Heaven on earth. Secluded piece of paradise. Superb staff, amazing facilities, 2 magnificent pool areas, nice private beach, even though you in the midst of nature and vegetation, we didn’t have a single bug or insect in the room. Wonderful stay and would always come back.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The resort is in a beautiful and lush area. Rooms are simple but very comfortable.The beach is nice and quiet. Both pools have lovely views. We loved the food in all three major restaurants. Service in Thailand is generally good but the staff at Pimalai were very good!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Absence of evening entertainment which could be a good addition. Hobie Cat in bad conditions. Room looked outdated compared to website pictures and room cleaning was poor.

    Staff was super nice and helpful. Food in all restaurants and bars was simply outstanding. Quality and variety exceeded expectations. The SPA is marvellous, both facilities and treatments. Well done!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unbelievable place, absolutely luxurious with friendly and attentive staff. Gorgeous pools and beaches with nobody on them! Speedboat connection was a pleasant bonus surprise!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 10 nights

    Staff were amazingly friendly, resort was simply bliss. I particularly enjoyed the Muay Thai boxing sessions each morning at 0830, a great way to kickstart the day!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very much enjoyed our stay, but in hindsight might have booked a more affordable option, with so many nice alternatives for a fraction of the price in Thailand. Not much happening in Koh Lanta, next time I'd spend an extra day in Phi Phi for the beautiful views. Didn't try the onsite restaurant; though the atmosphere looked nice, it was very pricey. Walk up the hill/road a short distance until you reach the Phu Pha View restaurant instead for a no frills, but delicious local meal overlooking the beach.

    Beautiful property and spacious bungalow-style accommodations right on the beach. Coolest outdoor shower ever! 5-star service with complementary transfers to/from ferry dock. Delicious welcome drink, flower lei, and cool scented towels on arrival. Enjoyed paddle boarding on the beach and the included breakfast was very good. Infinity pool with a beautiful view. Would have loved to stay longer, but it would have broken the bank!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 8 nights

    the restaurants' prices are very high, but lots of options around the hotel

    It was absolutely amazing: the staff is so lovely, the quality of services, the rooms, the view. All was so magical, i'd go back anytime. I highly recommend it, it's very quiet and perfect to unwind and relax.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small things: 1) although toiletries (shampoo, body wash and lotion) provided aren’t small, they weren’t renewed even after 4 nights. 2) we asked for another power key as the room does get quite damp without A/C which we received without a problem, unfortunately it was taken away before our last night. 3) it would be a nice gesture to receive 2-3 fresh fruits on a daily basis not just on arrival.

    The location, beach and architecture of the Pimalai is beautiful. It has great facilities such as the two beautiful pools (the upper one with an amazing view), a great sports center and restaurants. The staff is incredibly friendly and transportation between the different levels of the resort goes without problem. Due to its location in the jungle sometimes you get to see monkeys and iguanas. The “center” of Kantiang is just around the corner. I can definitely recommend it very much! Thank you! P.S.: the complementary transfer to and from the airport is amazing thank you!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Service a bit hit & miss, our room was tired but we are informed it is due for imminent renovation

    Beautiful beach, hotel sits on a hillside within stunning forest grounds ..... very friendly staff .... beach bar a perfect place to see the sunset.....

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    nothing

    Excelent. Wonderful location.Very big property.Prepare to walk...hehe Nice and eficiente staff. Excelent pools.The infinity pool is a must. Very good breakfast. Wonderful beach

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn’t love the bed. It was somewhat hard for my taste. Our room also required a great deal of uphill walking and stair climbing. I imagine accommodations could be made if this would be a problem for you; we did not request any.

    The accommodations were beautiful and the amenities fantastic. Staff was always available and accommodating. It was almost as though they could read my mind. I was thinking I could use some water to drink while sitting by the pool or on the beach, or another cup of coffe at breakfast, and there they were! The spa was absolutely outstanding! The toys (paddle boards, kayaks, etc) available at no charge on the beach was a big plus too. There were dozens of small, thoughtful touches which really enhanced the experience, like fresh fruit in the rooms, pineapple and watermelon brought around at the pool, salutations from staff each time they saw us, golf cart rides to/from hillside, the quality and aromas of the toiletries, and the leis upon arrival. The complimentary shuttle van and boat were so well-organized and easy. It is clear that a lot of thought has gone into every aspect of the experience. The location on the beach with beautiful sunsets and accessible to restaurants and “town” was also great.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very little not to like, wish our room had a view of the ocean though. It is pricey, but we factored in the transport to & from the airport to help justify

    Great location, incredible beach & the 45 minute boat ride from/to the Krabi airport (also a 50 drive) is worth the price of admission! We only got to stay here 1 night, but wish we could have stayed another 4-5 at least.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is a beautiful structure, the little houses were the rooms are located perfectly match with the jungle environment. The room was spacious and very clean, amazing shower in marble! The restaurants served very good food worth it the value for money. Pools and beach are well maintained and the staff very friendly.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Free water all day by the pool... but then upcharged for it in the evening at restaurants - urgh! Also need to reserve a seat by the shady pool early as seats are limited.

    Unbelievable breakfast! Loved happy hour every night :) staff are so warm and accommodating. On site Restaurants are pricey but local town close walk by beach. Activites / sports center very nice and not crowded. We did not want to leave even after 7 nights!!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Hillside Private Pool Villa One bedroom
    • Stayed 17 nights

    No notable issues

    The Service from start to finish was of the highest standard. The one bedroom hillside villa had the most amazing views across the bay and out to sea. The food in all the restaurants was superb. However what makes this resort stand out from the rest was the quality of the staff. I have no hesitation in recommending this hotel to anyone who wishes to enjoy true Thai hospitality

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    1) Rocks in water on private beach (My friend injured himself - Hotel manager promised to put up warning sign) 2) Extra services - very expensive 3) Fish food in the Seven Seas view restaurant - too basic (on the other hand, the table next to us applauded the quality of their steak)

    1) Quality of Service - OUTSTANDING 5* 2) Location - own secluded resort, but close enough to walk into civilization for alternative night out 3) Pick up & Drop off service to airport - (Complimentary) OUTSTANDING 4) Thousand more things

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Having to leave !

    Good communication from hotel before we arrived. Hotel transfer to the Jetty to catch the speed boat was seamless & staff were attentive & incredibly well organised. Stayed in a large stand alone villa - spacious accommodation & a huge balcony to watch sunrise & sunsets from. We had a gorgeous view of the sea & beach. Tranquil location . Had some treatments in their Spa - setting was wonderful - treatments were amazing ...

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Hotel have got it absolutely spot on, the location is perfect making you not need to venture too far for the duration you are there. The food and drink prices are obviously a lot more than outside of the resort, but the cocktails and food are really really good. The staff are so friendly, and are prepared to do anything for you, you are greeted with a huge smile whenever you walk past them.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very quite, not a lot to do at night and difficult and expensive to go elsewhere.

    Beautiful property but very quiet ... could do with livelier music and atmosphere. I spoke to several couples and guest during my stay, we all agreed the property is beautiful but way too quite

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Laundry was expensive.

    The people were so wonderful! Everyone was so nice and didn’t hesitate to go out of their way to make our stay perfect. The resort itself is beautiful, great landscaping, two amazing infinity pools, great restaurants and quality accommodations. It was high season while we were there but the place never felt crowded...there was always a beach chair waiting for us by the pool or on the beach.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The general manager went around greeting all the guests in each restaurant table during breakfast and dinner but purposely avoided greeting us (not sure if it was because we are chinese) on both occasions that certainly gave us a pretty bad impression. Are certain guests not as important as others?

    The staffs were very friendly and attentive to our needs. Also, the spa was top notch and one of the best we have ever experienced.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    There could have been fans in the room. I thought the upper restaurant was overpriced for what you got. Beach Restaurant was okay.

    The rooms were modern, Lots of activities were offered, Spa was great, location was amazing

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 9 nights

    didn't like white plastic sun loungers on the beach mixed with the original wooden ones, the pool toilets could do with more frequent cleaning

    nice room and balcony, comfortable bed, excellent breakfast, good restaurants, nice beach and pool, beautiful grounds, nice staff, very relaxing atmosphere, amazing spa

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Bayfront Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed and pillow Attitude of some staff at restaurant, most staff are nice and helpful, however, we encountered few unhappy grumpy staff with attitude

    Great view Nice setting of resort Bay front deluxe room is close to beach and breakfast place, it has a nice balcony with stunning view, there are only 4 units

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Strong management team and delightfully engaged and energetic staff. Dramatic setting surrounded by abundant nature. Excellent and varied eating options. Great spa and a wide range of on-site facilities and activities within the resort as well as memorable day trips. Despite the upsize scale and western service values Pimalai still offers bags of Thai charm and authenticity.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Bayfront Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast and coffee are not good. Dinner can improve. Not much to do if looking for a little excitement.

    Lunch! Pizza are great!! Staff are awesome, Allie, Bus, and few other. Rooms are well renovated especially beachfront ones. Happy hour at bars are great!!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Bayfront Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Top notch resort, can’t be any better as far as location, luxury and service level. It is somewhat tedious to get to it from Krabi airport, but transportation is included in the room rate, they thought of everything. Thai princess was staying their during our stay. Crème of the crème! Yes, you pay for this, but worth every penny.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Hillside Private Pool Villa One bedroom
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything felt like being in paradise: the stunning views from the private poolvilla, staff is incredibly attentive and friendly, spa treatments are gorgeous with a very professional execution... Couldn't have had a better time Wanna definitely come back to this place once

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing that I can think off. Its slightly costly...but then that's how they maintain the place. If I think very hard, the batteries of alarm died while we were about to leave. Truly, I cannot think of not even one thing that I did not like.

    Phenomenal stay....Enjoyed every minute of it. Where do I start? Its difficult, as the place is too good to even describe by words. Excellent facilities. It is best to be experienced. We are seasoned travellers and we have travelled the world over the past 25 years....travelling to all continents and having stayed in a large number of facilities. Clearly Pimalai Resorts and Spa outshone every other place we have stayed in, in every department. The staff makes you feel like a monarch...nothing less. The welcome at the resort was a treat. The rooms are good sized, well appointed, super comfy beds, a very nice private balcony and excellent beverages in the room. The washroom is very nice. And the Housekeeping is really great....very responsive and every thing in the room is quality. The breakfast is simply excellent. I would like to compliment the chefs for a phenomenal menu, great variety and excellent to taste, apart from a very wide choice of fruits and fresh juices. A great job done. My wife is a pure vegetarian. However the chef took pains to come to our table especially made vegetarian delicacy. We were so touched by their concern. The beachside facilities including Kayaking, snorkelling etc are free and really enjoyable. Apart from the location, the beach is very beautiful, fine white sands and no rocks. You have 900m of pristine beach to yourself. The restaurants have befitting ambience and have excellent views...esp The Seven Seas. But make sure you have reserved your table. The infinity pools at both levels are really great...I cannot describe it....you have to get in to understand what I am trying to convey. We enjoyed the Pimalai Signature massage at the Spa. It was an outstanding experience....excellent and professional massage by trained personnel. Every detail at Pimalai has been looked into....the staff is very responsive, swift in action, very courteous and I would not do justice if I do not praise them enough.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No way to improve. Perfect in every way.

    Amazing resort, wonderful staff, great to/from transfer through the resort (sprinter shuttle and resort boat), great yoga, all water/beach equipment - sailboat, bocce, stand up paddle board, incredible breakfast included

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Pavilion Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Eating around is more affordable and convenient. Refined restaurant in the restaurant, the price is not high, it is recommended. But it is inconvenient to travel from room. Every time to do shuttle bus. Walking too far.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    It is a pity the gym is located in a close room with no windows.

    Excellent location, extremely beautiful facilities, comfortable rooms, super friendly staff, fantastic restaurants, gorgeous swimming pools. We loved it!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing that we can thing. The short stay was our big issue. We don’t want to leave :(

    the resort facilities are excellent. everything is very well maintenance. all the photos are looking absolutely the same when you are there. it was amazing to stay three days at the resort. it has unique sunset and very tasty beach restaurant. All food was great. the Spa was really adorable and very relaxing. The room was pretty big and very well equipped. the beach area is wide and not crowded. the garden area looks like you are in a rain forest. The staff was really helpful and all the time they are smiling and greeting you. The boat trip was really spectacular. The day we left the resort the price of Thailand has just arrived to spend the weekend.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    I really like fresh juice for breakfast and not having any on a tropical island where fruit is abundant is a real shame. Food and spa a bit pricey for what you get.

    A very nice beach resort, location at a clean and quiet beach, good service. Transfers have been organised very smoothly by private boat. Having looked around a bit this is probably the best resort on Koh Lanta.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I have stayed in Pimalai 4xx already and all stays have been a wonderful experience. The staff are friendly and very attentive. You are not just vacationing but also feel at home.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was perfect, beautiful views friendly staff, stunning Sunsets. transfer to and from hotel was efficient and an added bonus! We couldn't fault a thing

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    1) Prices ( for food, spa and other services) are times higher than outside of the hotel, which you should be ready for as you go to the fanciest hotel at Koh Lanta. What really annoyed me is that the prices for everything at the hotel were shown net of tax and service charge ( which amounted to almost 20 percent higher payment than shown initially). This just felt like a cheap trick for me and I have never seen such practice anywhere in Thailand. I believe if I came to this hotel I can pay this price for the food, no need to pretend that it costs 20% cheaper than it really is! Show the gross prices including all surcharges! This is the main thing I would improve. 2) The hotel located quite far away from anything else on the island ( old town, other villages with nice restaurants etc) and the taxi cost around the island is just insane. There are a few restaurants walking distance from the hotel though which we enjoyed. 3) there was a gecko lizard living in our room, which was a bit annoying ( but fun sometimes ), would be nice to have regular check ups and get rid of such room neighbors -) 4) during rainy days large varans (1-2 meters long) showed up and were walking around the hotel territory. It was interesting and fun for us, but I suppose these creatures can be dangerous for kids and probably the guests should be warned in advance that these animals live somewhere at the hotel territory and what are the safety rules applied

    1) Complimentary transfer from Krabi airport is super helpful, convenient and just fun, amazing views during the boat trip 2) The hotel territory is really large and has everything you need for vacation - two swimming pools, three restaurants, gym... a large territory where you can just walk around as in a park, practically integrated into jungle. 3) Rooms are nice and big and most of them have a sea view as villas located on the hill at different levels. 4) The personnel is very helpful and caring 5) The breakfast is just AMAZING, a lot of choice for everyone and the quality is great

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Hillside Private Pool Villa One bedroom
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing really! WiFi dropped in and out from time to time but was never not working. We were in a villa on the hill so maybe it was the location and being honest you’re on a island off Thailand so to be expected I guess. This is really trying to find a tiny fault and it’s not even a fault.

    Honestly what can I say about this place that hasn’t already been said. It’s absolutely perfect in every single way. Location/beaches/pools/food/restaurants/excursions/rooms/room service but mostly the staff. Every single person who works there really seems happy and enjoying their work. I cannot day enough about this place it’s absolutely stunning. Just go and stay trust me.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    By far, the best resort we’ve stay at world-wide. The beach was clean and gorgeous. The room was amazing with all the amenities you would expect in a 5-Star Resort. The two vanishing edge pools over looking the Anadman Sea were breath taking. Above all - the staff at the Pimalai went out of their way in every manner to make sure our stay was amazing. We cannot wait to return!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I guess I am not used to 5 star resorts but I didn't like the staffs overly attentive approach. Pulling chairs out to sit down, carrying luggage extra. Also, considering the costs everywhere else in the country, the restaurant and bars are very expensive.

    The room is very big, clean and comfortable. The resort offers two very nice pools as well as a very clean beach (other beaches on the island tend to have quite a bit of litter on them).

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Hillside Private Pool Villa One bedroom
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Housekeeping could be better for a 5* property but that's really just a minor niggle.

    Fantastic staff everywhere you go. Excellent food in the restaurants. Beach is gorgeous and easy to get to. You can also walk easily to the (very small) town behind the resort. Couple of nice little bars / restaurants right on the beach near the resort. Pool villa was quiet, secluded and very relaxing!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I can’t think of anything that requires improvement. The only personal request I’d make is for a choice of different type of pillow. The beds were super comfortable and a pillow to match personal choice would have taken it to a new level.

    The hillside infinity pool is spectacular and the lower level infinity pool tranquil with shaded sun beds for lazing the day away. We also really liked the general calming ambiance; serene tropical grounds, balcony overlooking the garden and the way restaurants and areas to sit are layed our so that it never felt crowded. The spa is not to be missed and we had a most romantic dinner on the terrace at the seven seas restaurant. The staff were delightful and service excellent.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Hillside Private Pool Villa Two bedrooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not to say I dislike but it’s definitley quite a journey to get to resort.

    We absolutely love our Welcome Drink..so refreshing. Food was great! We had local Thai dinner at Spice n Rice twice, and it was fantastic. Staffs were exceptionally responsive , polite & friendly. The Pimalai Spa experience was great too. Excellent ambience to compliment the wonderful treatment I had.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The cost of the room is really valuable given the high standard of the hotel. But what comes behind it is everything else from Spa to restaurants are rather pricey. I'd say, you can't have both!

    The free transfer from the hotel was arranged flawlessly. The ca ride is very comfortable and the 30 mins boat trip showed some amazing landscape of Krabi. The weather was rather bad the day we went on this trip, so the boat ride got pretty rough. But the day we left was a beautiful day. The ride was amazing! Rooms and service are both great.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beach has some issues with small pieces of plastic litter washed up on the tide.

    Loved the ambience, great location, staff were so helpful and professional. Well maintained and beautiful surrounds.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Hillside Private Pool Villa One bedroom
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Nothing. Everything was beyond fantastic. Cannot rave enough about the property.

    Trying to find the appropriate words for what I liked about the Pimalai Resort is hard as I truly liked everything. The hillside pool villas offer breathtaking views, the staff went above and beyond to make you feel both welcome and at home, the food was fantastic, the "Three Islands" Excursion that I took was superb, watching the sunset over the ocean from the hillside pool villa is amazing. I honestly spent two days just sitting in the villa reading, swimming in the pool and relaxing. From the moment you step off the plane in Krabi to the moment you step back on the plane bound home, the Pimalai takes care of you. I cannot rave enough about how much I enjoyed my stay there. The only thing that I didn't like? Leaving. Already planning my trip back to stay at the Pimalai again. It was the most relaxing vacation I've had in years. Do yourself a favor and stay here ASAP. You can thank me later. :)

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    i wish price could be little bit better

    The resort was really nice . 2 swimming with full sea view. beach is just few steps away . 5 of us was loved hotel and we could not go anyway except enjoying everything in the hotel. hotel has pickup and drop off service was really convinced for every guest, I would like to stay again.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Hillside Private Pool Villa One bedroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Cleanliness might be an issue because bathtub wasn't thoroughly cleaned but they attended immediately after we pointed out.

    Seamless connect from airport to hotel, great arrival welcome and making the whole start of the trip extremely enjoyable. Staff are well trained and friendly and there are a lot of activities provided by the hotel. Most importantly, pool villa on cliff with sea views in a forest??? That sounds crazy and the setting is beautifully surrounded by nature. Ko Lanta is such a gem, an pleasantly amazing experience!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Hillside Private Pool Villa One bedroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was over the the top amazing. We were blown away. By far our best resort during our stay, others were Centara, and Rayavadee, both were wonderful 4 star, but Pimalai was our favorite. ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️The whole place is gorgeous, the Thai people are so gracious and accommodating. We stay in the villa with the pool. Amazing view rm 602. Loved our stay!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    If you really want to spoil yourself or others, Pimali is the place! fantastic views, wonderful staff who are always happy to help and a beautiful breakfast buffet looking out over the sea. Everything from our pick at the airport, to the boat ride, infinity pools, spa, beach fun and rooms was efficient, relaxing and a total indulgence. This is our favourite hotel so far (which is why we come back each year).

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Hillside Private Pool Villa One bedroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Every thing starting from the air port welcome to the good buy at the end Rooms are clean and nice The staff is good and welcoming all the time

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The parking for guests who want to rent a car or a motorbike should be more friendly. Too far away and during night time it is not an enjoyable walk. Rather than that was perfect

    Perfect days!!!Congratulations for everything. Loved the property, the beach, the breakfast, rooms, spa etc

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing to dislike. You can see that management and stafff go at great lengths to keep everything impeccable and things are really impeccable.

    I absolutely loved everything. First of all the is located in an amazing place. The small bay with the beach is beautiful, the views are breathtaking, the layout and architecture of the resort is beautiful and the staff are wonderful. Something that was definiu a plus is that the resort has complementary transfer from Krabi airport to the resort and back. It super well organized and it's a very enjoyable trip. Also, inside the resort they have small golf cars that take you everywhere. The beach is literally a few steps away. I will return to this place sooner than later.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Over the downhill swimming pool, kids are too noisy. The hotel staff tried to stop them. It will be more amazing that could have a swimming pool only for kiddos. Just saying.

    Almost everything, like a paradise, the swimming pool is amazing, staff are all nice and polite.

    Stayed in July 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: