Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Puripunn Baby Grand Boutique Hotel 5 stars

104/1, Charoen Muang Soi 2, Charoen Muang rd., T. Wat Gate, A. Muang, Wat Ket, 50000 Chiang Mai, Thailand

#152 of 653 hotels in Chiang Mai

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 114 hotel reviews

8.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.3

  • Comfort

    9.1

  • Location

    7.9

  • Facilities

    8.7

  • Staff

    9.4

  • Value for money

    8.1

  • Free WiFi

    8.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 71

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Excellent and Personal Service. Staff are pleasant and helpful. Hotel is beautiful and furnished in authentic and creative furnishings. Breakfast buffet is enough and sitting in or out of cafe is so cool and relaxing. Love, love love!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pool was freezing, so it made it difficult to swim. The breakfast did not have a large variety.

    The check in was a breeze. They gave us beautiful and tasty welcome drinks and explained everything to us with a big smile. They put citronella candles outside our room,and all around the property at night to fight mosquitos.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location is not that great. And the breakfast is not at five star standard. It is really a traditional Thai hotel with many features so if you are sick of western hotel then worthy to try this one.

    The friendly and helpful staff made our stay as comfortable as they can. The restaurant in the hotel was definitely fine and delicious dining experience. My partner tried the Thai red wine and very surprised with its good quality and delicate taste.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Absolutely loved this stunning boutique style hotel. Staff really friendly, pool and garden area is sensational. Great place to relax snd unwind while also being in centre of city but very quiet at night.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staffs knowledge of the city

    Stayed there on NYE and it was great. Staff wasn’t the most helpful when recommending a place to eat, and directed us to a place that was closed for the night.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Highly recommended, atmosphere is supper relaxing, it feels home. Traditional design which is perfectly maintained, supper clean. Located in a Very quite area and still close to the city centre (10 min walk or so). Breakfast is very good, staff are awesomely nice.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Puripunn Deluxe - Signature Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is beautiful and a hidden oasis. The staff is very polite and attentive. The breakfast buffet is delicious. We highly recommend the Puripunn and are so happy that we stayed there during our visit to Chiang Mai.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This hotel was the highlight of all of our accommodations in Thailand! The location was central to everything in Chiang Mai, and the car service they provide to drop you off anywhere within a 15 minute radius was so convenient! The breakfast was incredible and in the most gorgeous garden setting. The service from all of the staff was excellent, everyone was so kind. I hope to return soon!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower was clean and hot but the sprayer was loose and a bit hard to use.

    Staff were the best and anticipated our needs. Free shuttles to the Old Town. Great breakfast every morning.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Puripunn Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We honestly had no complaints - it was all fab

    From initial greeting to our departure the staff at the Puripunn were friendly, polite and super helpful. The room was huge and had a beautiful bathroom with both bath and shower. Our room overlooked the pool/garden area which was all beautifully maintained. The courtesy tuk tuk was super and the staff were always happy to help. We had a special birthday celebration and on asking they set us a breakfast table with a banner and balloons and even gave us a cake. Simply wonderful. We were in Chiang Mai for Songkran (Thai new year) and the staff were really good at advising on where best to go and what to see - go for songkran if you can, it's amazing!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Puripunn Grand Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Swimming pool in the private room havet have heater, the water was cold could enjoy much on it.

    Privacy,relax and hospitality of hotel. The size of the room

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    For the breakfast, we prefer more Thailand food instead of the normal one. There is no sauna provided.

    Very thing is quite good here, Thailand Chiang Mai style, compared with the modern hotel, we strongly prefer this one with very very good service! You won't regret!

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    the poor is gorgious but not suitable for very young babies to play by themselves. but we found many other opportunities for the baby to enjoy water.

    We are travelling with our 18 month son. We love the place, the baby crib they provided is of good quality and our son loved it and sleeps well in it, all staff are super friendly. it's within ten mintes walk to a series of nice riverside restaurants.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Puripunn Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The facility does not have main street access BUT once you get acclimated, it is actually quite manageable. Material should be made available to guests to help them get familiarised.

    The hotel is first rate as the staff is very attentive and responsive; the facilities for a boutique hotel are at a very high standard. It is best to enjoy the hotel for what it is--a peaceful place to appreciate the karma of Chang Mai. Let your imagination do the rest!

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    value for money is okay, not terrific for peak season

    very peaceful hotel and beautiful garden. we had a quite relaxing stay. hotel staff have been wonderful.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 10 nights

    Nothing of any note

    Great room size, comfy bed and great shower. Pool and surroundings very pretty. I loved everything about this hotel. The staff were great - all of them.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful rooms and hotel, staff went above and beyond. We are vegterian and there wasn't much vegetarian food on the menu so the kitchen cooked us a delicious dinner. In the morning at breakfast they made us a vegetarian breakfast. Loved this hotel and will stay here again when in Chiangmai.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The location was not great. We actually switched hotels 3 days in to go to the Fashion District to be closer to action

    The hotel itself and room were beautiful. The Thai décor was very cultural, and the general surroundings were beautiful too.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small children running around on the pool deck screaming. (do not bring small children here as the small size of the hotel makes it impossble for other guess to get away from their noise)

    Small hotel away from all the hussle and bussle of Chiang mai. Only a short taxi ride away from the town centre. Its the small details that make this hotel so nice. Crystal glasses in the rooms antique fittings and silk dressing gowns etc.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Relaxing location but easy walk / ride to main sites

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Puripunn Deluxe - Signature Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Numerous flies at pool

    Staff competent and very attentive, beautiful gardens, outstanding breakfast

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Water pressure of bathroom (too weak), poor soundproof

    Friendly staff, breakfast, ambience,

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Price of drinks (&massage) far too high.

    Beautiful place, useful location, very helpful & attentive staff

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Mosquito’s

    Very comfortable

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Puripunn Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The old world charm and relaxed atmosphere

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not 5 + Nor Good location,unfortunately same reviews are misleading.

    Employees

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing. It was perfect!

    The service and accommodations were top notch. Easily one of the nicest places I've ever stayed!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Puripunn Deluxe - Signature Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Quiet, comfortable but close to shops and restaurants

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff is very friendly and usuful. The swimming pool is spotlessly clean. Highly recommended to spend a relax holiday sorrounded by beauty

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pancakes at breakfast are great!!!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good staff with great service

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Rooms were extremely tasteful. Staff were very helpful. Breakfast was fantastic.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Lack of english speaking channels on the TV.

    Amazing staff, beautiful rooms, great pool and a perfect location.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lacked atmosphere as almost empty due to upcoming landscaping works

    Beautiful boutique property

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Banana pancakes are fantastic. The bath is beautiful with a lovely day bed.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Gym was very minimal

    Excellent ambiance and service

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Mosquitos everywhere!

    Staff superb and they kept the room very clean even throughout the day trash was always emptied and new towels were provided.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Reduce the prices of the spa menu

    The traditional architecture Quiet location (not in the centre but only 5 min away) atmosphere

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room needs updating,bath big enough for a child

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Located on a small dark street.

    Nice small hotel Breakfast

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    great food good staff and beautiful decoration

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Baby Suite
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Location in a small Soi was dissaapointing

    Small hotel and personal service from all staff

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel is small and exquisite, and the staff is supremely friendly and helpful. The room is quite clean.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Beautiful boutique hotel which is a little tropical paradise away from the hustle and bustle of Chiang Mai. Rooms were large and comfortable. The pool was small but nice to relax in and staff were lovely! The hotel offered a free shuttle service into town at certain times but if you required some assistance outside of these specific times they would do their best to help! Our rooms were on the second floor, so with no lift it was hard with our luggage,...however the staff always helped and so this was not a problem for us at all! Breakfast was great and we also had dinner here one night which was fantastic! As a vegetarian I was well catered for! Love this hotel and would definitely stay again!

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Loved everything honestly

    It’s quite possibly my favorite hotel of my whole life thanks to the perfection of the design and the overwhelming serenity I felt there. Puripunn is beautifully tasteful and elegant without being loud or fussy. Much of it is a deep, rich brown teak accented with colorful silks and details. Everything looks expensive without being ostentatious, timeless without being old-fashioned, Zen without austerity. Hospitality was excellent.

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Very odd street/alley to get there. Probably safe to walk at night but not exactly welcoming. We always took a taxi or tuk yuk so not really a problem

    Beautiful setting. Very helpful and friendly staff.

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Location is off the Main Street so it's very quiet but not really an inviting walk in to town but it's very easy to get a friendly taxi or tuk tuk so not really an issue.

    This is a really typical Chiang Mai hotel with the look and feel of a lovely Thai home.

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    I must say that, unfortunately, our fridge made a bit noise. Maybe we were unlucky. One the first night they asked us for too much money to go for a restaurant. The shuttle can only take us within a range of 15 min for free, but the restaurant wasn't more than 15 min away and they called the tuk-tuk for a price of 150baths. I think they overprice some travels like for example for wat phra that doi suthep. They asked us for 1000 baths and you can get cheaper. I really think that the shuttle service could be done in two ways. They only take us to the city center but we must find a way to come back on our own. But, all and all, was quite a nice stay! :)

    I really liked the bedroom. I loved the terrace with the pool view. We were in the third floor. The breakfast was really good with many options in a nice terrace. More continental breakfast, which is good for us. I liked the fact they had a shuttle to the city more than one time per day. At night we could ask for the shuttle any time.

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The beds were quite hard but I find that everywhere that I have travelled in Thailand.

    I liked the staff helpfulness and the fact that they always went out of their way to assist with everything, the cleanliness of the rooms. The little things like the flowers on the beds.

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The Puripunn is a beautiful hotel with stunning rooms, excellent facilities, amazing food and such wonderful attention to detail to make one's stay perfect. The welcome is second to none and the staff are extremely efficient, gracious, friendly and good-humoured. My wife and I could not fault this hotel and would whole-heartedly recommend it.

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    It was an amazing hotel that was tucked away in Chiang Mai. Breakfast is amazing and service is hands down great. The interior is unique, detailed, and beautiful.

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    I couldn't adjust the temperature of air condition. I think the hotel set the room temperature in 25c. I couldn't sleep all night because the room is too hot for me. I adjusted the temperature many time but it didn't work. That's why I think the hotel set the room temperature in 25c to safe the cost. It is quite bad.

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Restaurant in tne hotel not good and over priced. Dinner was better downtime and breakfast was very limited. Tthe hotel recommended a tour agency, when we asked for a driver to visit .. claiming it was better and more reputable. We paid 3 times the price of the same tour available down town. The guide spoke limited english, and all she did was stand in the queue to buy us tickets if we needed them. Otherwise, we were on our own. The next day we booked a taxi for the day, and he was excellent!

    The staff were very polite and friendly. The overall look of the hotel was traditional, although the room was too cluttered.

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing!

    We only spent a week in Thailand with the majority being in Chiang Mai. From arrival to our final departure at this hotel, our already amazing Chiang Mai experience was topped off by the exceptional Puripunn staff. With a demonstration of continual politeness and an eagerness to help displayed by every staff member we came across, they went out of their way to make our stay at their hotel a delightful experience in itself. From recommending and helping book exotic activities such as an elephant show/ride, hilltop village visit and tiger kingdom all in one combo - to providing and helping arrange transport to local markets and the airport, and even providing breakfast boxes in the day of our early flight; our stay could not have been more fulfilling. The pool made for a perfect swim especially in the heat, and relaxing massages that leave you wanting more. In summary, this hotel is highly recommended as you will definitely be getting your money's worth and we would definitely not book anywhere else if we returned to Chiang Mai.

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Outstanding welcome. Very helpful and friendly staff. Being a boutique hotel, the service is more personal and proactive. Tranquil gardens and excellent restaurant. I have stayed in many 5 star hotels in Asia and the service here was beyond compare. Free in-house tuk tuk to the old town anytime was handy too.

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Location wasn't great (too far away from the Old Town). Bed was quite hard, no mosquito nets and unfortunately loads of mosquitos in the room (we got bitten a lot).

    Hotel grounds are beautiful and staff is very friendly.

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Can not think of even 1 thing that I found distasteful or improper!!

    Staff was first rate, excellent with helping to meet and arrange other site seeing plans.Packed breakfast for early siteseeing tour pickup. Spotless and clean, colorful with plants, gorgeous tile and granite floors,fabulous rooms. Office reception crew very pleasant and helpful.Familiar with English language.

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    They call themselves 5 star boutique hotel, but the hotel and services were not 5 star!

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing in particular

    The property, location, garden and calm. Not full of tour groups or convention participants.

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The room lighting was a bit poor.

    Staffs were friendly and helpful. The bathroom was huge.

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Very good small and friendly

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    There are no comments available for this review

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Beautifully furnished in old teak wood style. Lovely atmosphere. Close to town but not too close.

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The staff were warm and welcoming. The hotel is both stunning and comfortable.

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Small hotel in old Thai style, we were well looked after here

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    Lovely balcony on top-floor rooms, great little understated swimming pool, excellent staff, wonderful breakfast!

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Everything

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2015

    • Business trip
    • Family with young children

    you feel furniture will fall on your head it is discussed hotel

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Mosquitoes at the restautant.

    Nice boutique hotel with lovely decor and central pool. Nice breakfast. Staff attentive.

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Amazing small hotel. Great decor. Very friendly efficient and helpful staff. Local to centre. Lovely and peaceful. X

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Bathrooms are incredibly small and uncomfortable. A bit pricey for what it is.

    Staff was great and very attentive to us, hotel is very pretty

There are also 17 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 71

Guests also reviewed these properties: