Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Rimping Village 4 stars

13/1 soi 2, Chiangmai-Lamphun Rd, T.Wat Gate, A. Muang, Wat Ket, 50000 Chiang Mai, Thailand

#65 of 653 hotels in Chiang Mai

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 543 hotel reviews

9.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.3

  • Comfort

    9

  • Location

    8.7

  • Facilities

    8.8

  • Staff

    9.6

  • Value for money

    8.8

  • Free WiFi

    8.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The property is in a good location with easy access to attractions, supermarket, ATM etc. The staff were really friendly and always happy to help. The pool is lovely and a perfect opportunity to relax after a day of sightseeing. The rooms are simple and clean. I liked staying outside of the old town, the hotel was a 15 minute walk into the main part (roughly) but bikes are also available. I particularly enjoyed the afternoon ‘meet and eat’ (2 hours of complimentary traditional Thai food for the guests). A really nice touch! Highly Recommend!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room was a bit dark. There was a little outside sitting area next to the entrance door looking into the yard, but no private terrace and not much of a garden. From the bedroom window you look onto the fence to the neighbourhood.

    The room was spacious and the service ok. Large swimming pool. Free bicycles.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great hotel all round .. the room was huge , the bathroom had a massive bath and a big seperate shower , the staff were very helpful and always smiling . The breakfast was the best we had throughout our holiday and hotels we stayed in .. attention to detail was spot on . The food looked very nice and fresh all through breakfast time and was very tasty and was replenished constantly . The hotel was about a 10 minute walk from the night market and the Old Town about a further 5 minutes away .. great location

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We have no complaints.

    We were very happy with Rimping village. Wonderful staff, the hotel and restaurant was extremely well maintained and the food was excellent. Beds were excellent which is rare in Thailand. Really satisfied with our stay. Would definitely go back.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room is a little dark - just a change of decor would make it brighter and more welcome

    The restaurant here was outstanding - lovely ambiance in the garden by the pool and great food. The staff were all excellent - and though it is slightly off centre it’s near the night market and tuktuks cost very little

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Refrigerator starts working suddenly at night, and it is noisy. Every other thing is perfect.

    The food here, breakfast and afternoon tea, is great. Hotel staff are always helpful.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The noise from the air con was a bit too loud, to get a very good sleep Pressure from shower was not that strong

    Front desk staff were really helpful in helping me arrange for various activities Room was large and clean

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    There is no better staff than those at the Rimping Village. They go above and beyond to make sure you have everything you need. The grounds are lovely and quiet and breakfast was excellent

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The staff are amazing at this property. Always helpful and smiling. The curry puffs are my personal favorite starter on the menu and their other food never dissapoints

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms could be a bit dark. Found it too far to walk in heat to old city but close to river and night bazaar area with lots of restaurants and bars.

    Amazing helpful and friendly staff. Great pool and nice and open and relaxing after being in the city sightseeing.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Quality of service and focus on detail. An example was the provision of fruit in the room and a take away breakfast when we left for an early morning flight all at no additional charge and without us asking.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Suite
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We booked a room for 4 adults but the room has just one bathroom. It would be convenient for us if the room had two bathrooms.

    The hotel is clean, quiet and has nice staff

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great Hotel, friendly staff, good food and very tranquil ambience. In addition the management accomodated a rather significant last minute request that we are grateful for. Would highly recommend this hotel as a great value.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Slightly out of town but no more than a 10 minute walk to the markets or a 150bt tuk tuk to the center of the old city. Don't let this put you off though!

    Outstanding service. The kind of customer service that Thailand is famous for. They offered help and advice with every aspect of our stay in Chiang Mai when needed.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We asked for half cup if milk and they charged 117 bhat One of the body lotion bottle slipped from my hand and broke. I informed them. They charged 1500 Bhat for that. Nearly 35 pounds. That's too much. On questioning staff said broken item prices are in folder in room and these are made on order. Staff was too polite in this conversation. I will be careful in future.

    Polite staff. Room and quality of Dec. Location.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Given the hotels distance out of Pai it really is necessary to have your own transport. Breakfast was good but no choice. The location is lovely, on the bank of the river. We had our own car but would have been totally stuck without it.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Fantastic service and the food at the restaurant was exceptional. Away from the hustle and bustle yet still conveniently close to everything. New push-bikes available to use free of charge. The staff gave great recommendations on tours and organised everything on our behalf. There is a self-serve laundromat within 2 minutes walk and a grocery store within a 5 minute walk of the property.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The location is very quiet, but close to the night market around10 mins walking. The staffs and atmosphere is very good, cosy and clean. strongly recommend it.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There were a lot of noises in the evening. I Think they were cleaning some rooms With a vacum cleaner

    The staff Was helpful With everything Clean room everyday

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The new owners have done a wonderful job at Rimping Village, with a fresh coat of paint inside and out, and now they are completing the resurfacing of the car park . I must say that the best part of this hotel is the staff. They are so pleasant and so professional. The hotel runs smoothly because of their commitment to it.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The internet connection! Grrr. Why does one have to completely reconnect - and with such difficulty - every time one wants to use it?

    The staff were so warm and friendly and welcoming: the place was delightful - a low density, two-storey hotel of character with beautiful (though small) grounds. The room was very well appointed and comfortable. Breakfast buffet was more than enough without having the Thai and Western cooked options.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was a bit dated and in need of renovation. The bathroom in particular needs to be refreshed.

    I liked the location of the hotel. It was walking distance to the Night Bazaar and the staff were very helpful

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Too far from the night market and the main streets and good restaurants. Had to take the tuk-tuk. Breakfast did not offer cooked dish for vegetarians. When we complained, the staff did cook something up quickly. thanks for that. Water pressure not good at times.

    Comfy room. Courteous staff. Heritage style, single-storied, so was not overwhelming.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only point to consider is the location - it's close to the night bazaar, but the old city is quite a long walk, (tuk-tuk is around 100baht)

    We are traveling with a 1 year old child. The hotel's facilities are fully suitable for a baby, and the staff was extremely helpful and nice. The rooms are well maintained, there's a good breakfast and the afternoon treats are a nice bonus. a

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Suite
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast gets a bit boring on a 7 day trip, we started to sing breakfast places outside the hotel.

    Fabulous pool, kids and us spent a couple of omgours a day in there. The family suite is a good size and worked really well for us.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Went on a tour recommended to Elephant Park. Day was good but the ride there and back in a pretty rough and uncomfortable. Back of truck with canopy - no seat belts and sitting sideways.

    Staff were very friendly. Pool was nice.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The mattresses were a little hard, but not hard enough it impacted my sleep.

    We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Rimping Village. The hotel atmosphere was quiet. We loved the breakfast and the afternoon happy hour was a nice perk. The location was walking distance to many restaurants and the night bazaar. The room was clean.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing

    Very nice place and staff were very friendly and helpful. Even when we returned from a trekking tour (after checking out) they let us use a shower and stored our luggage.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Suite
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Staff went above and beyond, extremely helpful and friendly. Breakfast was lovely and the afternoon snacks a bonus. We also ate in the restaurant a couple of evenings and the meals were very good. Swimming pool was clean and very refreshing, we never had any problems acquiring sun loungers. The complimentary water and fruit left in rooms were a nice touch, both were replenished daily. We also received complimentary shuttle from and to the airport which was much appreciated. We enjoyed the quiet location and it was easy to walk to the nearby night market, bit further to the old city but plenty of tuk tuks around for a reasonable price (150-200 baht) - could take 4 adults. Overall a great stay at this hotel which we would highly recommend.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    boutique hotel - but definitely older saw some newer properties around the area. could do with some refurbishment of overall ambience. Poolside could do with a refresh of ambience as well.

    private day trip was really well planned friendly driver took a detour through a waterfall we wanted to see.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent huge rooms, fitted our family of 5 (childrens ages 4,7,10) very well ..... the staff were very friendly & very helpful with advice & organising taxis & tours (cheaper than us trying to arrange ourselves too ..... very beautiful pool area with pool toys for the children & breakfast was superb !

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Apparently it was the low season in Chiang Mai. The city was pretty dead. The staff didn't even care to remove the plastic from all the beds at the pool to make it look more inviting. One night we ordered food at the room and the (ample) staff didn't bother to come and pick up the dishes for 24h.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was on the bottom floor with no view and was based in the car park. Would have preferred a room near the pool.

    The staff were very helpful and friendly

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The rooms were clean, but bathrooms could be updated some.

    Great breakfast in the morning and the staff were extremely helpful. Rooms were clean. The pool was nice and the kids loved playing there in the evening.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the staff made all the difference. The hotel is value for money, but the staff went out of their way to be helpful and provide us the right information.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing could be better - it was perfect for our stay and I wish we had stayed there at the beginning of our time in Chiang Mai.

    comfortable beds, very clean, good complimentary breakfast, quiet, good pool and surrounds, friendly staff, good location - could walk to Night Market and Old City. Lots of places nearby to eat and have massage. Close to river which is nice to visit - especially at night. Bikes free for use. Two choices for air-conditioning. Very special to be able to open the windows for some fresh air - really liked that!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A lot of mosquitoes, being eaten up alive. Breakfast not too many choices. Bacon and sausage not done correctly.

    Friendly staff, Quiet location and cleaniness

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The staff was exceptional. They were beyond helpful with booking excursions and going out of their way to accommodate us. Honestly one of the best experiences I have had regarding the service. Highly recommend this hotel.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi constantly cutting in and out - hot water also sporadic.

    Bed and pillows really comfortable. Staff friendly and helpful especially Phung in dining area. Easy walking distance to restaurants and tourist spots. Sticky rice and mango at breaky. Coffee machine also good.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Having stayed here 2 years ago and loved it, there is little wrong to point out. Hotel was perhaps looking a little tired compared to our last visit but the welcome was just as warm as before.

    Big rooms with comfy beds and large shower/ bath ensuite. Set out around a pool the hotel is within easy walking distance of the night market but away from a the hustle and noise in a quiet street on the other side of the river. Provision of bikes is a nice touch. Free transfer to / from airport - even at 7.30am

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms and bathroom facilities are a little rustic but still add to the overall charm of the place. A good walk from town which could be a little tiring after a long day but nice to be a little bit out from the hustle and bustle of the main city area.

    The staff is above and beyond at Rimping Village - so kind, friendly and helpful. They would offer to help us with things before we even knew we needed them. I don't think I've ever had friendly staff staying at hotel before. The place is so cute, the pool area is lovely and so relaxing.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 8 nights

    Make the swimming area and restaurant smoking free!!!!!!! This is your biggest drawback,

    The help from the staff, especially Kate, to book awesome tours through the front desk. With her help booked thee amazing day excursions. The upstairs de lux room is the best.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The style in toilet is not good, having a feeling of low grade standard. Somehow the towels look very old.

    Staff at Rimping Village are very helpful and they always smile, my mother, mother in law and daughter like enjoy staying there. Especially my mothers, they both enjoy the mango rice in breakfast and afternoon tea a lot!

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    swimimng pool too croudy, small plaze, need more seats to lay down

    warm place, friendly people, feels at home, great to have bikes at your disposal to use freely.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Mosquitoes... lots and lots of them but not the hotel's fault though.

    The staff is great, polite and helpful. The room was very nice with complimentary fruits and water in the mini fridge. The breakfast buffet is great: lot of choices from fried rice to eggs, French toasts, pancakes, waffles. Lots of different fruit juices and fresh fruits. The breakfast was a real treat. The swimming pool is very nice with lots of inflatable toys for kids. Airport transfer was convenient and waiting for us with our plane being 20 min late (300 THB extra for stay shorter than 4 nights). Walking distance to the night bazaar.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little far to walk into the old town at night. But tuk tuks were not expensive.

    Thoughtful and warm staff. Attentive to all needs with a smile. Lovely food - great breakfast.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This is a VERY minor point, but the bar-tender had clearly never been taught to make a cocktail - not her fault, but a failing of middle management.

    The staff were all extremely friendly and helpful. Tuk-tuk & taxis were all summoned promptly & reasonably-priced. eg 100 bt for tuk-tuk to old town. A special mention for the pool bar - restaurant evening waitress, who always found time to talk to customers and even to teach them a few words of Thai!

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    This place is amazing! The beds are really confortable and the room was very spacious. We loved the colonial feel and the relaxing atmosphere. The staff was super friendly and very helpful, they allowed us to leave the staff at the hotel on our last day and when we arrived in the evening the offered a shower and towels. The breakfast was delicious and the garden is lovely. It was just a short walk from the iron bridge and the night bazaar.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very quiet and nice yard and two great trees. You can see people paid attentions to details building the hotel. The staff was wonderful, professional.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi in room very poor Bed although wonderfully clean Was by far too hard and lastly a little far from central Chiang Mai

    Very clean towels and linen Staff very manerable

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Family Suite
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pool was too cold and many people felt the same. Would have spent a good deal more time at the hotel eating food and drinking if we could have spent more time in the pool .

    Staff were fantastic, we have two small kids and they were awesome with them, breakfast has a lot to offer and was enjoyable, we ate two nights in the hotel restaurant and the food was nice

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the location is tucked away, good for relaxation but you have to walk to get to things. not a far walk however but the action is over the river

    the breakfast was awesome

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    one of the receptionist is very nice. He gave us very good suggestions during our stay. the bikes provided free of charge are convenient. the atmosphere of the restaurant is very nice.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent location: in short walking distance to every important spot, and still very quiet and calm area. Very kind and polite staff, helping smoothly with taxis etc, incl free airport transfer. Definitely recommend to travellers, who do prefer cosy athmosfere and quiet night sleep to glamour in the very center of everything.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Maybe there could be more vegan options.

    We found the location very convenient to the airport and to the night market. Going to some of the temples may involve a tuk tuk or taxi but all easy to do. The breakfasts and afternoon tea was lovely, with better choice of Asian foods. But who goes to Thailand to eat western food!? The staff at reception, especially Paul were super helpful in organising private cars and massages. We stayed at much more expensive hotels in Khao Lak and Bangkok but the service at Rimping was extraordinary! Can't wait to stay again in the future.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pool was really really cold. But I guess it is their winter so I didn't mind.

    I'd arrived at 8am coming in by overnight train tired and hungry, with no question they offered me complimentary breakfast, I was just hoping to leave my luggage then go find somewhere to eat. Very helpful and friendly staff. I'd definitely stay here again. Free bike rental was a fun (albeit scary at times!) way to explore the city

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast average, loud fridge in the room, bathroom facilities a bit faulty which regularly caused flooding

    Spacious room, comfortable bed, good location next to night bazaar, wake-up calls always on time, free bike rental

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Na

    Just outside of the highly too crowded touristic area of Chiang Mai but everything is easily reachable. On top of that bikes are available for free at the hotel. Plus: local parties served every afternoon at the hotel from 14:00 to 16:00. Really nice!

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Insect screens on the windows would be good so could open them and not use aircon in the cool season. Seating in the room would be good to have.

    Friendly staff, excellent breakfast with lots of fresh fruit; lovely free sweet treats between 2 and 4: mango sticky rice, various Thai sweets and fruit juices. Good location for access to eating places and the river.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel staff was very friendly and supportive. We liked the romantic hotel style. Therefore we enjoyed the time and would definitely take the same hotel again.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pool was a little cold (but it didn't bother the children!), otherwise we loved everything.

    Huge family suite, great location (convenient for night market and other sights but also situated in a really interesting area- great to wander), lovely staff, nice pool. Highly recommended!

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pool a bit cold brrr....

    Everything. From the moment we arrived to the drop off at the airport the staff made our stay wonderful. The hotel is lovely with lots of Thai charm. Breakfast was great and the complimentary afternoon tea lovely. Gardens are well kept and beautiful.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel is close to Ping river but there is only little walk way which is too small for car to go thru, so we had to go the other way round to get to hotel.

    There is a huge banyan tree, very fascinating!! Nice and quiet boutique hotel.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We stayed here for 2 nights. The location could have been better. Also a little bit overpriced, we paid around 85 euro / night. There a lot of other hotels offering more value for money. Our new hotel in Chiang Mai is better and it only cost us 50 euro / night.

    Beautiful garden with nice pool. Quiet. Ideal for families with children.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    None

    Staff are friendly and very helpful. Room and surrounding area are very clean. Even the swimming pool is very clean. Reasonable good food at the restaurant. Strong free wifi. Supermarket, restaurants and café are all within walking distance. Just 10 minutes walk to the night bazaar.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I reluctantly agree with some of the other posts. It is starting to need a revamp. (I say reluctantly because I have been here 4 times now and love it!.... and if we were to go to Chiang Mai again I wouldn't hesitate to book the Rimping Village again.)

    The staff make this place. Very friendly and helpful. Location is great. Very quiet at night yet not far from the night bazaar and a quick tuk tuk into the old town. Breakfast I thought was always good, varied and fresh. Sausages are not the variety from UK butchers( they are the best, undeniably ), but that's how they do them there! The bacon is American style too, but who's complaining?! The eggs however, cooked to order, were always perfect!

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It's about time for a refurbishment (bathrooms and room's interior) slightly overprived for the standard given

    Clean sheets, comfortable beds. Nice breakfast. Quite pool area. CLose to city center

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    \didn't like the narrow alley connecting the hotel with the road - too many motorcycles

    Breakfast, swimming pool and the afternoon snacks. Staff very helpful

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 14 nights

    The beds are quite hard, even for Thailand.

    Rimping Village is an outstanding hotel. We visited here 8 years ago and it was so lovely we couldn't imagine how it could be improved. But someone has put their heart and soul into this establishment and it shows. The location is wonderful if you want to be a little away (only 5 minutes via tuk-tuk) from the noise and bustle. It's an easy walk to the Night Bazaar if you feel up to it, though. And there's a fabulous supermarket just around the corner. This is one of the very few low-rise hotels in Chiang Mai with a beautiful pool and lush landscaping. The onsite restaurant is competitively priced and we found every meal delicious. Breakfast is ample and always fresh and lovely. A majestic fig tree looks over the pool and restaurant area. Rimping Village is set apart from others in this price range by its staff. Everyone from housekeeping and gardening to food service and reception are absolute treasures. Your every preference is catered to and nothing is too much trouble. We had to return to Australia early and though this caused inconvenience to the hotel, they were very helpful and patient with us. In short, we can't wait to return! :)

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Slightly out if the old city but still within a walking distance

    the hotel is located 10 minutes walk from the nigh market. This is though a bit far away from the guest house area in the western parto f town. Crue is extremely helpful and nice. nice swimming pool, Good breakfast. Family room is very large and can easily acomodate a family of 5 (providing one bed is added). Double room is nice and spacious. complimentary fruit and water are being offered daily as well as free afternoon snacks in the cafeteria.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    the bike seat is broken on the surface .so after the rain ,it looks dry to when you seat on it, you will have wet if you wear light colour of pants.....

    Free bike is great facility for client!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Amazing staff - incredibly accommodating, friendly and helpful, Beautiful facilities. Perfect location. Would highly recommend to people traveling with kids.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing at all.

    All staff were absolutely fantastic.Comfy bed and close to old city.This was our second stay here and will definitely stay again on our next trip to Chiang Mai.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    A couple of suggestions; it's a pity there are no mosquito screens on windows as that would enable opening windows and not having to use aircon all the time which I personally don't like sleeping all night with. Also a full size mirror would come in handy. Overall we absolutely loved this place and would love to come back. Thx for a great stay.

    We stayed for 5 non consecutive nights here, in a family suite which was spacious and clean and lovely. Staff were all so kind, welcoming and helpful. Especially Eem and Kate, but all were really nice. The facilities pool and breakfast are great and I just love that huge tree overlooking the pool. Amenities were good but lacked conditioner and body lotion which I personally like to have. The hotel is conveniently located in a quiet neighborhood but 5 min walk over the iron bridge to the night market. Overall we absolutely loved this place and would love to come back. Thx for a great stay.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The staff were not properly trained did not give me extra information re David's Kitchen also expected better room as was on the ground floor. Being a solo traveler expected something more secure. They wanted to charge 300 baht for pick-up service at airport. The room had mosquitoes, the aircon was noisy and the shower floor had mildew.

    Location was great

    Stayed in August 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Rimping Village traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: