Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Rummana Boutique Resort 4 stars

124/10 Moo 3, Maret, 84310 Lamai, Thailand

#20 of 100 hotels in Lamai

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 151 hotel reviews

8.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.1

  • Comfort

    8.7

  • Location

    8.6

  • Facilities

    8.5

  • Staff

    9.3

  • Value for money

    8.4

  • Free WiFi

    7.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 29

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Villa
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The air-conditioning because you couldn't run it all day and it was noisey. Lack of shade around the pool. The shower temperature was on and off. It was hard to walk on the sloped beach and coarse sand to the township all the time and cost of transport was expensive. Because we were the only English speaking people at the resort we couldn't socialize and find out where to go etc. When speaking to the manager,who was great, we found out that the resort is being updated soon which will improve lots of the things that I have mentioned.

    Staff and manager were all very friendly and obliging. Great view from the bar. It was very quiet and peaceful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Villa
    • Stayed 1 night

    The rooms are small and old. The closet was located in the bathroom next to the shower with all the humidity going inside. Apart from the front desk and check-in staff - nothing in this hotel feels like the four star rating it has on booking (maybe 10+ years ago?). After check-in we noticed the room was full of moths (or some sort flying bugs) - maybe 20-30 of them flying close to the room lights (this was weird since we kept the doors and windows closed at all times). We called reception - they removed them insects while we were out for a walk. In late evening we noticed big ants were walking from the ceiling down behind our bed. We tried to get rid of them ourselves but they kept on coming. We called reception but it was late and the night shift staff couldn't understand much English. Staff came to our room and tried to spray the ants with some chemical. We ended up sleeping on the bed sideways to avoid the end of the bed that was near the ants.

    Close to the beach. The staff was nice and tired to do their best. The restaurant is close to the beach - expensive but delicious food and cocktails. The path to the room from the reception is very green and has a nice mood. After the check-in there was a welcome drink and some fresh fruit waiting for us in the room (bananas and rambutan).

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 13 nights

    WiFi signal was poor. Not regarding to the hotel, rather to the beach: during our stay from time to time sea near Lamai beach was dirty so we had to drive to other beaches or to use a swimming pool.

    Hotel itself was amazing: very green territory with a lot of trees and flowers, nice rooms with everything you need. There was a swimming pool and sunbeds for hotel guests. Very welcome staff, they try to help you all the time. There is a big shop nearby - Macro and some smaller shops like 7eleven.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Villa
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Last couple of days there was a loud music in the hotel nearby, so we had a great chance to share local DJ’s taste of music. Small issues in the room service: - once they didn’t get the whole complex’s of towels - once instead of change the sheets room maid was trying to turn it otherside and upside down, until she saw my surprised face

    Great stuff, good location, good beach (take 200 m left), good food, very green hotel and quite no mosquitos. Near hotel there are - exchange point (rate is good), pharmacy, small supermarket. In 10 minutes walking - there is a big Macro store. Villas (102,101) are great, cosy and both - very romantic and perfect to stay with the small baby. Internet is spotty due to many WiFi spots around the hotel, but really good (imho, No lags on streaming video, online games and etc)

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Villa
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Look the main road straight out of the resort is the main island ring road (4169) , and it’s not very attractive . All the Lamai Beach shops and restaurants are up the hill and around the bend a good km away. Having said that, it’s only 2 minutes by scooter. The resort is not modern but very old fashioned zThai style - it reminded me a bit of the old school Samut Hotels in Bali.? The ones built back in the seventies. Because if that the rooms are a bit small and the a/c is noisy. But it’s a good price and like I said just upgrade if you can.

    Very clean and boutique little resort. Staff were really good and spoke very good English. It was nice to hire scooter directly from them without having to deal with someone on the street. All bungalows are tucked away and are very private. We err here in March and the sea breeze was up very day taking the edge off the heat. Pool is nice and there was always available sun lingers and umbrellas. I don’t think the resort can get overcrowded. We upgraded to the suite next to the pool , which cost us anothe $350 AUD for the remaining 5 nights but was really worth it. Literally a dozen steps to the pool, and at night we left the doors open to get sea breeze. Didn’t need A/C to sleep because if that, and no mozzies ! Drinks and food were hotel priced but reasonable and tasty. Breakfast was ok Walk along the beach and you can sample a few different hotel restaurants, or keep going into Lamai Beach shop area. All in all, an ok experience- Koh Samui is expensive for Thailand, so if you want real 5 star expect to pay for it. Like I said the staff are all great, and some have been their for years and it shows in their relaxed and professional approach.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Villa
    • Stayed 11 nights

    Nothing

    I liked everything about the Rummana, the staff were lovely, the location was at the quiet end of the beach, it only has 40 rooms and never felt overcrowded at breakfast or sunning yourself. The rooms were a good size and the bed was comfortable and you have a soft pillow and harder pillow to choose from. Toiletries provided along with a scented oil burner in the bathroom. A night time electric insect repellent device (with tablets) is provided. I loved the shower over the bath because I actually had a choice and had my first bath in years and it is so deep I loved it.(in the villa we were in we had to have the blinds down all the time as out bathroom was by a walkway. The breakfast was great had everything you needed. We ate at the restaurant one evening and I have to say the food was exceptional well done to the chef and all the staff what a great team the Rummana have. If we come back to Koh Samui we will be staying here again

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Villa
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Too many mosquitos, and this is a common problem of almost all the hotels in this island.

    Best sea view and beach to me in my many stays in this island. A scenic spot called Grandpa and Grandma Stone is in walking distance and can be seen from the beach bar of the hotel. Love the view of the beach bar, watched a splendid sunrise with my kids there.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Villa
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restaurant is over priced and food was shocking . Rooms need refurbishing and windows need mosquito nets so you can leave a window or door open as rooms are very stuffy and aircon doesn’t work well.

    Gardens are beautiful and peaceful

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Villa
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Pool beds were are little uncomfortable. Breakfast was ok, but I do think it would be better if they invested in some refrigeration units for things like the fruit and yoghurts Rooms were nice but did seem quite dark - however this did help when you fancied an afternoon kip!

    The bed in our room was really comfortable and the pillows were fantastic. Shower Gel, Shampoo and Condition was provided which was great. It is better to explain the room as a bungalow, so felt very private - however there was lots of windows which we felt we needed to keep closed using the blinds and curtains, so the room sometimes felt a little dark. Cleaning happened every day without fail. When we did have an issue with the air conditioning it was sorted immediately. Pool area was nice, however the beach bar was a little pricey and the cocktails were very weak. Overall a really great place to stay for the money and would recommend it for the location to the bars in the main area of Lamai.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Villa
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We just needed some soap in the room to wash our hands, luckily we bought our own but felt that should have been provided.

    This is a really wonderful place to stay when visiting Koh smaui. The staff can’t do enough for you, nothing is too much trouble. We stayed for 6 nights in a big room with a very comfortable bed and large bathroom. Robes were provided with tea and coffee faculties, the room had a fridge for the mini bar but we empty’s this and used it for large bottles of water and a few beers. You were also given two complementary bottles of water a day in your room which was a nice touch. The grounds are beautiful and well maintained and create a little piece of quite paradise on the island. We decided to rent a scooter through the hotel which was very easy and without problems, you don’t need to leave your passport as with a lot of rental places which we liked. We used the open back cars to get around to Cheweng and other parts of the island which passed regularly from outside the hotel. We only ate dinner there once but the food was very good and no more expensive than any other restaurant. Being at the end of the beach meant it was nice and quite but 10 mins walk along the sand you start to find bars and restaurants, we dididnt find this a problem in terms of finding places to eat. Overall the staff and the beautiful setting make this place a great place to stay, it exceeded our expectations and would recommend this hotel to anyone visiting the island.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Villa
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The staff always there for us we stayed in the room suite for a couple of nights with the swimming pool and beach view. The resort is quite nice with a beautiful walkway accross the villas

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Villa
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The private bungalows are set into a beautiful pathway with numerous water features that lead down to the pool, restaurant & a stunning beach. We had dinner & drinks overlooking the beach- our 1st taste of Koh Samui heaven 😘

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Villa
    • Stayed 10 nights

    Wifi connectivity - very slow in both room and public facility i.e. pool and restaurant.

    We love the wonderful garden landscape design of both the bungalow and the paths. It gives us a sense of transquility and cool and comfort during the hot day. The resort is not huge commercialised property but is well professionally operated. Small numbers of staff but they are very efficient, pleasant and helpful - No job was difficult! Breakfast are nothing fancy but are plentiful and well balanced. Rooms and other public facilities are well kept & clean. The beach front location is extra bonus. It is a truly a Gem!

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Villa
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The wifi was spotty in our room, not sure if it's like that in other rooms.

    The rooms were adorable and very clean. The resort itself is decorated very well with a tropical sort of theme. The location is great, right on the end of the beach so there's not as much foot traffic.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Villa
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would prefer a separate shower instead of over the bath

    Resort was just off the main road, so nice and quiet, easy to get to anywhere on the island. Restaurant food was fantastic, beach frontage & staff were lovely

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Villa
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Due to a storm the sand beach in front of the hotel got washed away. The rest of Lamar beach is intact but for Rummana it's a pity.

    Very romantic resort. The layout with bungalows hidden between plants and a jungle path leading from the reception along the bungalows down to the beach makes it very special.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Villa
    • Stayed 11 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Facilities are outdated

    The location itself looks like a little botanic garden

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Location is great. We wanted to be in a quiet section with access to the beach and a pool. Both are excellent!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Villa
    • Stayed 13 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom needed an update.

    The staff, pool and garden area was lovely

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Villa
    • Stayed 10 nights

    Breakfast could be more variable. The are no garderobe in the room. we have to keep all stuff in the cases.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Deluxe Villa
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location, the room, overpriced and breakfast

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Villa
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lamai beach is disgusting

    Really nice setting, very calm and relaxing, helpful staff, ability to rent a scooter easily, good breakfast

    Stayed in February 2018

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The facilities are a bit run down - nothing major but lots of little things (broken wall socket, kettle not working, ageing bathroom facilities, rather rickety sunbeds and umbrellas etc.) that make the place feel a little neglected, which is a shame. The main problem though was the awful pillows: either hard as rocks or very thin and lumpy. We all came back with sore necks. These desperately need replacing. Also, despite what was on the website there were no cable or satellite stations; in fact the reception was so bad we couldn't use the TV at all (not that that is necessarily a bad thing for a while!)

    Beautiful location at the quiet end of Lamai beach. A very attractive, peaceful and well-maintained garden setting along a long zigzag pathway from the front desk all the way to the pool and beach. Very helpful and good natured staff, spacious rooms, comfortable mattresses on the beds. Decent buffet breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Missing shower curtain resulting in rain storm all over bathroom. Big CRT tv taking up a lot of space (but who wants to watch tv when you have amazing views!)

    Beautiful garden surroundings, great pool and location right on the beach. Big and clean rooms, great breakfast with plenty of Westetn-friendly options. Nice and welcoming staff

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The resort was fantastic. Spotless!! Disappointed walking around Lamai, unnecessary rubbish lying around, disappointed. Not as pretty as I imagined, Rummana made up for that as so clean tidy and respectful of people and environment. Thank you for making our time with you so memorable.

    Service was excellent. Sayan greeted us with reception staff and made sure we felt welcome. Pool was refreshing plenty of seating by pool and happy to move more onto beach. Chien, Anna and kitchen staff excelled on our last night where we choose European a la carte and we were above impresssed with presentation and taste. Nothing was too much trouble. Thank you

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    It was simply fantastic

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    nothing!

    Highly recommended!

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Loved the beach, feeling of seclusion, great staff service.

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Rooms, pool and resort very well kept and maintained. Friendly and attentive staff Clean and quiet beach Quieter part of town

There are also 14 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 29

Guests also reviewed these properties: