Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of SALA Samui Choengmon Beach 5 stars

10/9 Moo 5, Baan Plai Laem,, 84320 Choeng Mon Beach, Thailand

#2 of 46 hotels in Choeng Mon Beach

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 730 hotel reviews

9.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.6

  • Comfort

    9.5

  • Location

    9

  • Facilities

    9.4

  • Staff

    9.6

  • Value for money

    8.6

  • Free WiFi

    8.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some items in breakfast/ dinner were finished by the time we ordered.

    Great nice clean resort , truly a 5 star experience. Breakfast was one of the best I’ve ever had in any hotel and the attention to detail in this place is extraordinary. Outdoor bathroom took some time getting used to but taking a bath outdoors in the end was such a relaxing experience. Enjoyed the morning yoga too.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Garden Pool Villa
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    One day our room wasn’t cleaned until 5 in the evening when we had just got in.

    Staff were very friendly and so helpful. Pool and beach were spot on. Can’t complain about the food either.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    That we had to leave!

    Rooms with plunge pool, outdoor table & adjoining rooms made for an amazing family gathering place! Staff very helpful with any of our needs. Great bartender! Complimentary breakfasts were some of our favorite meals - chicken fried rice, salmon, honey ice cream, omelettes - yum! Expresso great too. Massages very near pool area wonderful!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Garden Pool Villa
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The Sala Samui in Choengmon beat all our expectations! We traveled there for our honeymoon and it did not disappoint. They upgraded our room for free and were helpful with all questions about the area and restaurants. The rooms were clean and beautiful. We will definitely be back!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Garden Pool Villa
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    SALA it’s far away the beat hote i ever visit! People are awesome,i was surprised every day with different presents like tea..fruits..amazing services! Garden Villa it’s super,pool at 2 m far away from the bed! We will definitely come back

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Absolutely nothing. The hotel was a delight.

    Fantastic resort hotel on Koh Samui, possibly the best we've ever stayed at. The hotel managed to exceed our (family of four adults) high expectations. The property is gorgeous, with palm trees and plumerias everywhere and two swimming pools and sea views. Upon arrival we were greeted with flower bracelets and welcome cocktails. Very tranquil atmosphere all around. Due to the small scale of the hotel one doesn't have to worry about finding a spot next to the pool or on the beach and the pool boys were excellent. Free paddleboards and kayaks are available for hotel guests. Breakfast was wonderful with both a la carte options and a buffet that are included in the room price. The restaurant and the pool bar both provided great quality food and drinks and there are many other options within walking distance. We tried different spa treatments and they were all superb. The hotel offers many activities, such as movies on the beach and 'Thai nights', and the staff was extremely helpful in helping us organize excursions and a rental car. All in all, we couldn't have picked a better place to relax after traveling through the Himalayas (we also visited some of the other luxury resorts for meals and all agreed ours was the nicest).

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • SALA Pool Villa
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The only thing what I kinda dislike was the airconditioning: it's too cold because it blows very hard towards the bed even on the lowest stand and it's very warm to turn it off and use only the fan. The hotel could change the system for an airco not so powerfull.

    For what you pay per night you will expect a lot, luxury and great service. This resort was above my expactations. It's all about the small details and gestures what makes this resort very special. We stayed at the Sala Pool Villa. Actually we didn't use the private pool and bathtube that much because we were all day at the private beach which was very clean and quiet. But I do understand for an romantic getaway or family this is a great choice to escape from the rest of the world. There is also 2 general swimmingpool, seperate for adults only and for kids. The room are big. Every day they will have 2 times what they called "Turn down service". They will turn of the lights and close the curtains outside for you and light some scents to take care of the mosquitos. They even will clean your room again even the housekeeping has been done already. By arrival you will get some complimentary treats at your room. It will be refilled everyday. Every night you will get a different bottle of tea for a good nice sleep. I had never have an experience in a accomodation a "Pillow Talk" service. You can choose the perfect pillow for a good night rest. Just perfect! On the beach you will get water and will be refreshed now and then. For breakfast you will have a buffet and an a la carte menu you can choose from (all included). Everyday there is a day special on the menu so you won't get bored of it which is very thoughtful. The crew knows what kind of coffee I drink after the second day. Well done! Sala has launched an app for the smartphone where you can find all the information you need during your stay. From weekly happening at Sala to restaurant menu to excursions. Very handy. As I said all about the details, gestures, comfort en luxury you will expect from a great resort!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • SALA Pool Villa
    • Stayed 4 nights

    weather, mosquitoes, BF options , Movies' channels, TV interrupted broadcast, shampoo and shower gel

    room and amenities , private pool, scenery, beach, friendly staff,

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Surrounding areas dirty and smelly much like all of the island

    Staff very friendly and location great. Drinks and food are expensive on comparison but still cheaper than the main island and excellent to eat

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Garden Pool Villa
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing it was amazing.

    Amazing helpful staff!!! So sweet. They let us come back after check out to shower before our flight. Beautiful property and rooms. Clean beach.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The restaurants are a bit on the expensive side, compared with those outside the resort. The food however is excellent.

    The breakfast range is excellent, and the staff very attentive. Beautiful setting, too!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was perfect.

    Loved how it felt very private yet everything was at your fingertips. First hotel we’ve ever stayed at where we already planned our return before we checked out.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • SALA Pool Villa
    • Stayed 6 nights

    I have nothing bad to say about our stay. It was absolutely perfect.

    Our stay was amazing from start to finish. We didn't want to leave. Our villa felt very private and was exceptionally clean. The level of detail, from the pillow menu to choosing the perfect body lotion and the fruit kebabs offered by the pool, just made it all feel so special. The staff was incredibly friendly and would bend over backwards to help out with any questions or reservations. The resort itself is very quiet and relaxing but just a short 5 minute walk to shops, bars and restaurants and only a 10 minute taxi ride to Fisherman's Village. Don't get me wrong, the restaurant in the hotel was amazing; the food super tasty and well priced - but it was great to have the options of other restaurants as well. The pool and beach area is also very clean with comfortable loungers/cabanas and separate pools for families and adults only. We also made the most of the amazing spa, which offers a range of different treatments by knowledgeable therapists.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Villa with Private Pool
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Everything! Great villa, very good spa treatments and very good restaurant: breakfast and dinner .A great pool and very nice beach.Excellent service everywhere!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • SALA Pool Villa
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was excellent. Food menu can be more elaborate and reasonably priced. There were a few gecko's which scared my wife.

    Excellent staff. I want to thank them for all they did for us. Location is very beautiful. Excellent privacy. The beach was very clean and beautiful. Breakfast was excellent.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Gorgeous beach, stunning adult pool, every detail taken care of, staff is there to make you feel amazing all the time. Delicious restaurant with a fantastic breakfast. The rooms were beautiful (the outdoor shower!). Could not find a single thing we didn't like. Felt rested and rejuvinated and didn't want to leave. What a gem.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom is outside of the room sharing the balcony area,divided by a curtain. It’ very hot outside,so I felt more sweaty than clean after taking a bath or just being in the bathroom for a while. Beach is not very nice:low water level,stones everywhere Beach service was a bit slow and inattentive

    Excellent service!!!Everybody is trying their best to make you feel comfortable and ready to help with everything you need. Beach restaurant Comfortable bed and room itself

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 14 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Change the CD! Music by the pool areas/ restaurant far too repetitive. Curate the music.

    Overall attention to detail and level of comfort. Ambience. Adults pool a godsend. Staff friendly and very efficient. Breakfasts especially good.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Garden Pool Villa
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the yoga class was ok, not professional teacher but enough of stretch. the spa is a little bit expensive.

    the room was amazing, so does the pool. we enjoyed very much with all the facility.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Nothing it is perfection and we will be back for our 4th stay soon!

    We love that we got upgraded (well it was our third stay there!) and we love the bloody mary bar in the morning...like really! The best!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Villa with Private Pool
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No swim up bar and was things were not cheap.

    We went for our honeymoon and we're given flowers on arrival and our room was set up for honeymoon with flowers in the bath and champagne and chocolate on arrival. We were super happy with the extras we received like a complimentary afternoon tea and couple massages. I have gluten and dairy allergies and even afternoon tea they made for me so I could eat it. I wasn't hungry (which I normally am when I'm away) I was supplied with bread that I could eat which they had for me everyday. They also remembered me and my allergies. Bed was super comfy and we even got a pillow menu. It's the little things that matter like complimentary water and fruit given to you through the day at the hotel or on the beach front as you lay in the sun. Very relaxing time, really enjoyed it and would definitely go and stay again.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location is not amazing- restaurants and bars wise, and night life in general. Spa is ok.

    Perfect for traveling with babies, very comfortable, clean, easy and relaxing . Facilities are great, beautiful beach, nice and helpful staff. Best breakfast!!!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room advertised to be 48 m2. In reallity 25 m2 room and 23 m2 balcony. Toilet outside with no AC. Water quality on beach not up to expectation, sometimes NOK to swim.

    Staff friendly

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • SALA Pool Villa
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We spent 1 week there with a baby and they provided a bed for my son as well as a sterilizer without asking. Very thoughtful. The facilities are great, the pools very pleasant ( 1 for kids, 1 for adults only) the pool villa is comfortable and convenient with a baby, you can enjoy the pool while your baby is resting.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The breakfast was excellent, you have everything you want and even more. Fresh water and some fruits when we're at the pool. Every night, a different event. The staff is amazing!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • SALA Pool Villa
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing comes to mind.

    First element you notice is the architecture and design. Reception is a very beautiful and open high ceilinged open villa, The resort has an incredibly pleasant and well designed overall look and feel. The whole place feels very "effortless luxe," with small thoughtful details placed throughout. The dark teak beams and flooring offset really well against whitewashed walls and peaked villa roofs. The infinity pool is finished in what looks like black marble and is completely surrounded by a lilypad covered moat, with two person day beds dotted throughout and deck chairs placed all around. Very beautiful. And that's just one pool. The position. The resort opens up onto a beautiful section of Choengmon Beach, an big protected cove, so you really "have it all." Can happily stay in the resort, either lounging by the one of the two gorgeous pools, or on the comfy deck chairs and day beds on their private stretch of beach (where the service couldn't be better; you're never without a frosty glass of water). Or, if you decide, you can stroll down the shore and visit other little beach shack restaurants. If you're the type of traveler that likes to go off resort, the location is also extremely convenient for Fisherman's Village, Chaweng, and the airport... We explored all over the island and thought Choengmon Beach was an excellent base. Small, but big, thing (if such things are important to you): there is a 24 hour Family Mart convenience store around the corner from the resort entrance. Activities and amenities. They provide (free) daily yoga in a raised "treehouse" studio every morning, plus free kayaking and paddle boarding from the hotel.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • SALA Pool Villa
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was not at all comfortable.the rooms were very dimly lit!

    The location is really good! With amazing beach views and lot of restaurants nearby.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Garden Pool Villa
    • Stayed 15 nights

    SALA Samui Choengmon Beach is a best hotel on Samui 15 nights stay. Very friendly staff, clean and comfort villa's , escellent service, best selections of dishes in their restorant. best chef and his delicious dishes. it was wonderfool holiday and birthday celebration

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Villa with Private Pool
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The price for the villa was not the same when we booked. It should have been in RM but they charged my card in Thai bath and it was way more expensive that what it published online. Honestly.. ill think twice before I make a booking on bookings.com

    The bed was excellent ... we loved our villa it was beautiful ... the beach was not too bad but we have seen better. It's extremely expensive tho

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lighting in the room could have been better, the gym facilities weren’t great and the beach was a bit busy.

    Sala was a lovely relaxing place to stay. The room was spacious, pools were nice, staff were helpful and friendly and breakfast was great!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • SALA Pool Villa
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing much unless u want to be in the center hype of the city.

    Its a serene place cozy for couples with wonderful villas that keeps you relaxed throughout your stay. The staff are wonderful, even we have forgotten something in the hotel and they were courteous enough to ship it to our next destination.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location of our room was very far from the beach/pool/restaurant. And on the second floor (which was a complete surprise to us).

    Beautiful hotel, great beach. Fit for children. Really nice breakfast.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Garden Pool Villa
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Most hotels in the area offer Free shuttle chawaeng and fisherman village, Sala doesn't. Should have Vegan menu in the restaurant and for breakfast a la carte (has gluten free and vegetarian). Majority of Vegetarian dishes were not vegan. Cups to go at breakfast so we could take our coffee when leaving early for the trips. Room was small and tiny closet

    Excellent food with different offer every day and happy hours Friendly and welcoming staff Beautiful beach

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • SALA Pool Villa
    • Stayed 8 nights

    NA

    The staff was super friendly and extremely supportive. The restaurant was the best that we experienced on the entire island and we did several local and classy ones. We rented a motorbike, which gave us the perfect balance of the beautiful hotel and experiencing a little of the Thai local culture. Location near the airport was convenient. The beach was a nice extension of the amazing pools of the hotel.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Villa with Private Pool
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It is time to perhaps start thinking of give the facilities a general brush-up, one can see that it has well over 10 years of age, albeit it is not so disturbing yet as to change the overall positive feeling.

    Very nice set-up, seamless high-level comfort in everything. Very nice pols, one with dark, shimmering mosaic, ideal for swimming, and one azure blue/white marble with very nice relax areas consisting of submerged shelfs at shallow depth.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Garden Pool Villa
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing. If only to mention the prices for massage and spa which were a little bit high in comparison to common prices across the country but on the other hand there were always “happy hours” with much more attractive price point

    Where to start...the whole experience was just superb! Starting from the customer service which was going “above and beyond” in accommodating our needs (separate “thank you” to Nim and Shannon- they’ve been very helpful, understanding and made our trip unforgettable ). To fantastic breakfast, amazing facilities (we stayed in garden pool villla) and beautiful beach with white sand. All the boxes are ticked and we definitely coming back !

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Villa with Private Pool
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bar prices were very high (especially for wine) Construction noise from next door was a minor irritant during the day.

    Staff extremely helpful Beautiful beach resort Super villa with private pool

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Two-Bedroom Villa with Private Pool
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The internet was upgraded during our stay but actually became considerably worse. Small points like no cold towels round pool and staff could be more attentive lots of standing around talking

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sea was a little dirty on occasions so had to walk round bay to different spot although hotel pool very nice

    Excellent food quality- no need to leave the resort. Italian chef Davide spoke to guests regularly to check we were happy with the food. Tranquil sandy beach.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • SALA Pool Villa
    • Stayed 12 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Manicure and pedicure service at SPA was a lot under my expectations, the nail polish had to be re done on next day because was too thick and not looking good at all. They have re done it much better, but I have suggested to start doing shellac, which dry quicker and is perfect for beach.

    The breakfast buffet was great with a large variety and you still have option from the menu. The egg white omelette was my favorite!! The fresh juices and smoothies detox were delicious. For lunch and dinner, they have a good menu with thai and european food. The steamed fish is the best.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • SALA Pool Villa
    • Stayed 2 nights

    - Besides the restaurant within the hotel, there are no good restaurants/bars close to the hotel. So if you want to venture out of the hotel you'll have to travel to Chaweng. - The beach is very narrow. Most of the times due to the high tide the beach was not accessible. We never entered the sea during our stay of 2 nights. - The private pool is approx. 4.5ft to 5ft deep, even at the shallowest end. It's not very comfortable for kids or people who don't know how to swim. A shallow pool would be much better. You just want to relax and chill in the pool. - Door locks and some other small items are very dated and don't work smoothly. For a 5 star I would expect these to be replaced.

    - The staff was very cordial and helpful. - We arrived early, around 11am. Our villa was not ready to they gave us another room to relax till our villa got ready. - We stayed in the 1BR villa with private pool. It was a great villa with well equipped bathroom. - In several previous reviews we had read about the entrance to this hotel being unimpressive. Though we did not feel so. It's a simple, elegant entrance. - It is not too far from the airport and Chaweng beach. Taxis are always waiting at the hotel so you can easily get one. - The breakfast was really good, for vegetarians as well. They also cooked us some items from the lunch menu since we are vegetarians and wanted more options. - Restaurant is good for lunch/dinner as well. They have good ala carte dishes. Definitely worth a couple of meals during your stay. - In some previous reviews we read about some rooms having open bathrooms. They still have a curtain so it's not a big deal - it's not exposed to outsiders. We were surprised to see so much of fuss in previous reviews about the open bathroom.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two SALA Pool Villa Interconnecting
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was a construction site for our stay with two pile drivers working daily from 8:30am to 6:00pm. Additionally, for part of stay the smell of sewage was very unpleasantness booked 2 adjoining villas for my wife & me and 2 teenaged girls. They offered a one bedroom unit off site as substitute. Completely inappropriate for our party.

    Lovely location and resort

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Awesome breakfast options, extremely friendly and accommodating staff, and clean and luxurious facilities. They have five kinds of pillow options. FIVE! Not to mention my dream tub. Could have been a little cheaper, but it was still worth every penny. Would highly recommend!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sadly the beach requires cleaning..the ocean is full of rubbish and there is oil. A reflection on our society not the resort -

    Accommodation, food and atmosphere were outstanding! I was amazed.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Amazing staff. Extremely friendly and caring! They were real quick and would come see you and offer little treats while hanging by the pool like fresh fruits, fresh smoothies or glasses of cold water. The pool beds are amazing! Outdoors are very “instagrammable” :) Incredible breakfast! A list of fresh smoothies available upon request and a bunch of yummy dishes (ie.french toast was delicious) + quality buffet. Cocktails are great - happy hour offers get 2 buy 1.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Garden Pool Villa
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunately the adjacent property had some construction going on so at times it was uncomfortably noisy.

    Perfect place to disappear with your partner for a few days

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were upgraded on arrival as the taxi transfer the hotel arranged was not waiting for us at the airport . However they were very apologetic, upgraded our room and offered us a free transfer back to the airport which we took. The room was beautiful with its own small pool and outdoor bathroom! Unfortunately due to the weather we didn't get to have the benefit of it or the pool however the pool was equally as beautiful and the breakfast was delicious!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lighting in the bedroom could be a bit brighter.

    I loved everything about this place, from the room to the pool, the layout to the proximity to the beach and especially the food! The place was very well maintained and architecturally beautiful. One thing that stood out was the personalised notes from the manager, they were very welcoming. Would love to come back with my children. We celebrated our 20 th wedding anniversary here and the place was perfect for it. It was far from the ruckus of the busy streets but yet close by for us to drive down and get a flavour of it in short doses.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two SALA Pool Villa Interconnecting
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The weather

    Perfection in the food and services. Extremely polite staff and very helpful. Located so conveniently tobtge beach and also small shops on main street. Ideal for a family retreat.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The adults only pool (black pool) was close and family pool is smaller. Our room (balcony) was beautiful but really small no space for luggage.

    The hotel is beautiful! break fast is awesome worth to have it included great quality products and food at the restaurant also great ! We love that the chef passes around the tables greeting everyone asking if every thing is okay. All the hotel is nicely decorated and the beach is great quiet, cleans and peaceful

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • SALA Pool Villa
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing, it was perfect!

    The staff were amazing!!! Everything was beautifully looked after and great attention to detail. It was our anniversary and they even had flowers, wine and complementary chocolates and fruit for us on arrival. Food in the restaurant was also amazing although we focused on the Thai cuisine. Faultless paradise!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • SALA Pool Villa
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The pizza we tried in their Italian restaurant was awful and the maintenance works next to the resort were noisy while relaxing at the beach. We also had a big gecko hidden in the sliding door between our bedroom and the bathroom. The staff tried to capture it to let it go, but they couldn't and we had to sleep with it for the rest of our stay.

    SALA Samui really exceeded our expectations, we loved our stay in this beautiful resort. Staff is really friendly and welcoming. The breakfast at the restaurant was superb and the view as well. We had the Pool Villa and our pool was really nice and clean.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • SALA Pool Villa
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This was my 4th stay at Sala, and we do not get tired of it. Staff are amazing, resort is clean and organized. The view from the pool and restaurant are breath taking and the in villa breakfats are excellent. Will be back again for sure!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Garden Pool Villa
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Construction was going on next-door during our stay which was a bit of a shame, but the resort did notify us about this beforehand. They told us that it would be finished at the beginning of November and gave us the option of cancelling or changing to another resort but we decided to stay anyway. We were also notified that the resort's lap pool was under maintenance, but we will look forward to using it next time.

    Sala Resort was amazing and is in a perfect location!! Close to Fisherman's Wharf (markets are on Monday and Friday nights) as well as being close to busier Chaweng (restaurants and shopping). From the welcome letter, roses, chocolates and champagne on arrival for our Wedding Anniversary, we could tell that this resort was going to be extra special. The staff absolutely make this resort (particularly Amanda, she is so lovely) everyone so friendly and always going out of their way to smile, say hello and have time for a chat with us. We also loved talking to Davide the chef. Sala delivers personal service and nothing was ever a problem! Our Pool Villa was fantastic always clean with plenty of fresh fluffy towels. We were lucky enough to be upgraded to a one bedroom Pool Villa Suite as far away from the construction noise that was going on next door to the resort, which was very thoughtful and a really nice surprise. We loved the outdoor bathroom and the huge bed was extremely comfortable. We particularly enjoyed the compilmentary sparkling wine with breakfast as well as the morning daily yoga sessions. The beach was lovely and not crowded and we really appreciated the ice cold drinks of water that were given to us while we were sunbaking. Also the 50% off massages were absolutely beautiful and worth paying a bit more than other massages elsewhere. We were given a late check-out and were impressed that reception even rang the other resort for us to see if our villa was ready, which it wasn't. Thank you so much to everyone at Sala for making our Anniversary so memorable and for making us feel so special. It's a truely wonderful resort and hopefully we will be back next year with our family.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Garden Pool Villa
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room service could be cleaner. The mini bar’s prices was illogical. The spa service was so expensive. The breakfast could be more diverse.

    The black pool is amazing, also the landscape was beautiful. We liked the culture of the hotel. The private pool was so enjoyable.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Construction noise sometimes too loud when we were at the beach but there is nothing much the hotel can do.

    Amazing staff (especially restaurant and beach staff). Very friendly and professional. Great facilities. Luxuous bed.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Presidential Villa
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was amazing! Wonderful vacation in a wonderful and peaceful place (except some demolition works from near by hotel). The staff is excellent the breakfast is amazing, the beach and the pools are great. Can't ask for more...

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • SALA Pool Villa
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Food choices, more international cuisine choices would be great - apart from western and thai cuisine which was amazing though some mediterranean, south american, indian flavours would not have gone untasted!

    great location, amazing staff, friendly and nothing was ever a problem...

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Garden Pool Villa
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The villa was very nice, however the actual room could have been slightly better.

    Pool & privacy in own villa. Excelent breakfast buffet and in general good food. Good location right on beach. Service good. We travelled with our 3 month infant and it was no problem.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • SALA Pool Villa
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The airconditioner sound was quite noisy, so if you are sensitive, bring earplug for your better sleep.

    Very close to the airport (just 10 minutes) and the room was good. The staffs were very diligent to clean up when we are out. All the breakfast menu was really good. The pool and beach were very quite and clean so that we can enjoy our vacation very well.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • SALA Pool Villa
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The biggest challenge of this beautiful resort, to maintain the super impeccably service and in of any kind! My family had the most beautiful amazing time, thanks to the all staff any one and each one of them, from the gardener, housekeeper and so... Thanks! To all of you! We all ready missing you! Can't wait for the next time!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Villa with Private Pool
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Too many kids and the "movie nights".

    A heavenly place thanks to its location, great staff, superb management, extreme attention on every last detail during the experience. The chef and the team made a wonderful jobs all day long and staff did the extra mile all the time effortlessly and exquisitely.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Duplex Pool Villa Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Very friendly staff. Breakfast is delicious. All-you-can-eat mango slices, yum plus wide selection of breakfast choices. Beaches are peaceful, not crowded. Rooms are clean and spacious. Loved our stay there!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • SALA Pool Villa
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Great hotel, pool villa was perfect. Excellent breakfast included, service in the restaurant amazing. Close to local shops and restaurants. Very relaxing 😎

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Garden Pool Villa
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Far away from next village, only reachable with expensive taxis. Tide made the beach not really attractive to swim, beach was not very clean either at times.

    Bed comfort, infinity pool and outlook on the sea, general atmosphere, smoothies, breakfast. Villas are beautiful. Relaxing. Family friendly but not loud, good as well for those who want privacy and silence.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • SALA Pool Villa
    • Stayed 14 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Loved everything, pool villa amazing, breakfast amazing and staff fantastic. A big thank you to Amanda. Added bonus with Lucky Shaker across the road.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • SALA Pool Villa
    • Stayed 13 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sala was just perfect we loved everything about the hotel , the staff was wonderful the food was amazing and perfect location. the sala pool villa was a little small for my family so we had a 1 bed deluxe pool villa which was perfect. thanks again sala we will be back !!! prices where also very good .thanks for making our vacation the best !!!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • SALA Pool Villa
    • Stayed 13 nights

    the sea was hot and dirty - but this in not because of Sala Samui. Lucky us we had our pool :)

    breakfasts were perfect - multiple choice of of fruits, meat, fish, cheese - anything you can possible want willas with private pools are perfect choice for couples

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff always went out of their way to help, whether this was with advice on what to do or where to go during the day/night or just what food to choose at breakfast. The breakfast buffet, particularly the French toast was amazing! Would definitely return to Sala Samui

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was really noisy one night, when some guests decided to have loud music until midnight. There are mosquitoes about, but the staff works at keeping them at bay! The restaurant is expensive but does good food. The shops and restaurants outside the hotel were not that interesting. The beach is clean, but takes abit to get a good swim!

    Comfortable bed and pillows, the fantastic breakfast and the lap pool! Staff was friendly and helpful. The video library and the library area - nice areas especially when it's raining. The yoga classes were o.k.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Two-Bedroom Presidential Villa
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Expense day trips. Didn't take one as a result. So, not sure the value for money. Too much furniture in the rooms. Difficult to get out to the open air bathroom (which were great). Outside dinning table cramped the door ways into the bedrooms and kitchen area. Couldn't be used if raining. No other dinning table to use.

    Food. Rooms. Gym. Pools. Location. Staff. Weather. Love the place!!!!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • SALA Pool Villa
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some items at breakfast so so. I am extremely picky tho but still managed to find dishes i loved.

    Room with private pool was amazing. Breakfast was mostly good. Nice spread but nice you can order hot dishes and freshly made smoothies. It was nice that if you missed breakfast they would deliver to your room free of charge all day. Pools were nice. Enjoyed the free kayak service.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Garden Pool Villa
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great breakfast, amazing pool, perfect beach The pool villa room is reccomended The stuff were very friendly, the restuarant is great and the location is very good as well, not too far from chaweng by taxi but far away enought

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Swimming pool is not kids friendly with sharp ends. There is a public path through the hotel to the beach. In theory outside visitors could not stay on the hotel sun beds, however, in reality, they do and no hotel staff would stop them. Restaurant staff are not very friendly which is unusual in Thailand. Standard room is not practical with a huge rotating glass door separating the bedroom and bathroom.

    The beach is very clean.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Garden Pool Villa
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing. Everything was wonderful. I might suggest they add more selections to the room service menu.

    Our pool villa was absolutely beautiful. Very clean and tranquil. Loved the bed and bedding, the pool and bathroom. The service at the resort was fantastic, friendly and helpful without being intrusive. Beautiful pools and grounds, amazing restaurant and pool bar, fantastic breakfasts, very nice gym - everything about our stay was lovely. The pictures on their website don't do justice to how beautiful the pool surrounded by a lily pond is.

    Stayed in April 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: