Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Sawasdee Smile Inn 2 stars

35 Soi Rongmai, Chao Fa Rd., Phanakorn, 10200 Bangkok, Thailand

#1228 of 1,238 hotels in Bangkok

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 688 hostel reviews

4.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    3.7

  • Comfort

    4

  • Location

    6.6

  • Facilities

    3.9

  • Staff

    4.6

  • Value for money

    4.8

  • Paid WiFi

    4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was bad. There was nothing good. Dirty. Not well-maintained. Windows and doors are damaged. Dirty walls. Toilet leaks. Blanket is a carpet. Dirty beds.

    Nothing.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff was so rude.no wifi no tv chanel . No attach bath.i don't know why booking.com allowed as partner with this hotel.i have gust to see me. Recepecnet charge me 100bath to allow her to my room. I must say do not book this hotel.

    Nothing

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They don't have tv cable. They only have local channels.

    Affordable place to stay. They have hot shower, mini refrigerator and air condition. The staffs are very nice and friendly. They are also helpful. Definitely going back!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bright colors of the photos and nice lobby shown on booking have to be really old, because it’s nothing like that anymore. Small rooms with dirty floor and broken chairs in the lobby area, are the truth right now. The whole building needs repair and refreshment

    - The hostel is very near to Khao San Road so if you’re the party type of person that location is perfect, otherwise not bad either, easy to get to the city center and other places - The ac in the room was a lifesaver in 40 degrees hot Bangkok - Small but clean bathrooms

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms where in deplorable condition. Stains on walls , rock hard mattresses where you could feel the springs If you were expecting the rooms from the pictures you’ve seen online you will be disappointed

    The property had a big porch where you could relax and enjoy the atmosphere It was located in a great spot. Could walk to most things. The staff doesnt bother you at all but will help if you ask

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff not friendly. 4 days there never have a smile, I ve tried but the staff is bored to work there. Room, many small stuff broken, like the window. And the AC was not clean. Only chose this hotel if you have no choice

    Reception open 24h

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff is rude and grumpy, the hotel smells really bad, it is dirty and you only have wifi in the lobby and even that was bad! Don't go here!!

    The location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very very dirty sheets and room , hair In the sink, dirty under the bed , horrible bathroom and very thin walls hearing everything the people in the next room say .

    Location only the rest was horrible

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I had booked the room on booking.com and the hotel keep my money in credit card. When I had come in there I paid all fee of the room but now the hotel still unlock my money in credit card !!!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was fine,no complaints

    The staff were very kind and helpful. Location was perfect,5 minutes walk to khaosan street. At night was quiet ,can have a good sleep.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Air conditioning was not working. English was sometimes a problem. No map available, no trips suggested. View out of the window was just opposit wall (3 meters far) and air conditioning machine. The room needed to be repainted and it was stinking. A bed could write memoirs! Enjoy your stay with ants. Internet available only at reception area. No breakfast served, even no water provided.

    Staff was friendly, it was conveniently located. A big terrace was a plus.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room was absolutely awful. We paid extra at the place after I was told I was too large to find the first room comfortable (very very rude). We viewed 4 separate rooms before choosing to stay in the one which was c.600 BHT more per night. It was definitely the best of a bad bunch. The first room was indeed very small (definitely couldn't be described as a double room) without a functioning air conditioner. The other two we viewed, but did not choose, smelled so awful we couldn't even go in let alone stay the night! The room we stayed in was the twin room. It does not look like the photos at all (see attached for the reality). There were holes in the wall of the bedroom and an air conditioner which dripped water onto the power supply for the fridge all night. Very unsafe!!! The bathroom was absolutely disgusting with mould growing all up the walls. Additionally the advertised hot water was not working, so cold showers all round! The common areas were equally as grubby with broken furniture and certainly not clean. The staff at reception were very unhelpful, seemingly resenting any questions from guests. Definitely ask for help elsewhere!

    The location was good, quieter than directly on Khaosan road but still very close to everything you wanted to see.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    the taxi driver don't know the address, it takes hour and a half before we get there so i pay big time on the taxi driver,we got lost 3 times, the pictures posted was deceiving, those pictures are taken when the hotel was new, very big difference between picture and for real,the bed isn't that comfortable anymore and the toilet stinks,no hot shower and no tv, so i cancelled my next booking with this property right away after, i have to deal with the room for 4 days because it's already paid. i really don't recommend this place.

    there's only one thing good in this property,it was the location, very near in khao san road and other places.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 17 nights

    STAY AWAY! Awful experience! The standard double room's description in booking.com is incorrect, there is no refrigerator or kettle. Very low level of hygiene - In my room there were living worms all over the bathroom area and a leak from the shower that flooded the entire room's floor! The staff is aware of the problems, unwilling to take any kind of responsibility and lay the blame on customers. Also, the staff was of no help because it is unaware of the property's policies. Stay away.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was covered in cobwebs, flies in the shower, blood all over the towels. Cigarette burns in sheets. Paid extra for a city view room. Got told they don't exist. The worst place I have stayed in Thailand, no matter how cheap it is, do not stay here.

    Nothing

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room smelt like smoke, we were told to open the window and turn on the AC The night staff was a miserable person with no knowledge of customer service

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff is great and helpful. Not quite what I expected but if you need a place to stay that is fairly priced it gets the job done. Bathroom very small in room, hard to shower.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room look so measurable every where cockroaches and smell need full services housekeeping

    The original bed is very small and the room was untidy I do respect booking.com as my traveling partner but when I have experience booking thru your website for this hotel please look in on the smell

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room, the cleanliness, the fascilities and the service

    the pictures on booking.com and the reality are completely different. It was dirty and it seemed like the place was falling apart.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The one man on reception that seem's to work nights has an attitude problem. No way to speak to people, nevermind paying customers. He could barely tear himself away from his phone and when if we asked a question he either ignored us or his tone was so aggressive and rude we were in shock.

    The bed was comfy enough for the price and the location great. Just the staff, the dirty looking sheets and the size let it down.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    staff was rude room was extremely dirty washroom bad smell hole in the wall and very very dirty place i do not recommend at all the place is very very dirty

    nothing worst place ever been

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The picture are very misleading. These rooms are filthy. The bed is like sleeping on a pile of scrap metal. There was vomit on the blanket that they clearly didn’t wash. The hallways were trashed. The rooms are tiny. Nowhere to put luggage.

    Nothing good to say

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel room was tiny and dirty, very minimal facilities and not well looked after (paint peeling off the walls, broken door handles etc) I’m all for cheap hotels and I don’t expect much as I am a backpacker but I have stayed in much nicer than this for the price. The WiFi always logs you out as you have to put a password and username into their system and it only lasts for so long, they give each person and the password for the WiFi on a tiny tiny piece of paper which is very easy to loose, unfortunately I lost mine so I asked for another and the lady at reception told me I was only allowed 1 and I couldn’t even use my friends as it only works for one person so good luck if you want WiFi for multiple devices. Not impressed.

    The location was great, there is an ally way next the the hotel leading straight to koh San road

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Cleanliness makes me unsatisfied the coverings of the bed is like it doesn't even change at all (I saw some markings on it), bed bugs is part of the package. Bathrooms is not the same the other one has a problem with the showers.

    Cheap accommodation.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was tiny and Expensive. Only one sheet and old, dirty cover. We heard rats fighting outside the window, all the time! This was one of the cheapest options we could find and honestly we should have kept looking.

    We liked the area and street location of the property.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The quality of everything was appalling, rooms were nothing like advertised. No hot water. No wifi in the room and the aircon didn’t work. Couldn’t even close the window so you could hear all the noise from the bar outside. I saw rats running around, and the whole place smelt like wee. I know it’s not expensive but in Bangkok you can get so much more for the same price even less.

    The lady behind reception was quite nice

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I usually dont stay anywhere that costs more than $10 as i travel on a budget, but I decided to pay a bit more for this night and got a room for around $25. The place was dirty with trash in the hallways. My room was dirty (walls, air conditioning unit etc), and there was a cockroach in my bed when i turned the covers. The mattress was a box of springs that i had to pad up with blankets to sleep on. The air conditioning unit was so dirty and didn't turn off without he remote. The room was dingy and depressing. Sorry for the negativity, but it was really poor for the price. My $10 rooms are usually better.

    Check in was fast and easy, despite the complete lack of communication from the staff. The location was nice as it was a nice walking distance from Khao San Road, but not too 'in' the hustle and bustle of it all.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Room had no window to the outside of the property.. It opens to the corridor and cannot keep it open, so need to use a book to keep it open, if not suffocate. Close it again when going out. One lady staff at Reception - all the time playing games on mobile with legs on top of something, hence need to wait for her to get answers and never smile. Also gave wrong information. No wifi inside the room or top floors. Need to go down at Reception area to use it. Once reported to lady staff at Reception about the code not working , told me rudely to get from the restaurant in the front.

    There is a short cut to Khao San road - 10 minutes. Plenty of restaurants and street shops around the property. Price was very cheap.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The place is old, poor facility maintenance and hygiene, personnel are not accommodating, no usual cleaning and toiletries/stuffs replacement everyday, etc.

    It's somehow cheap.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    bad unhygienic rooms - smelly bathrooms - the whole proerrty is crumbling down pls for god sake - BLACK list them - nothing really worth while to talk expect a location to Khaousan Road - that too crowdy and loud

    The Staff are in cooperative, arguing, disrespectful and discurtious - they said they wudnt care a dam for BOOKING.COM - because they are selling anyways said the sharp looking female attendant at the counter - they didnt give me a bill / invoice for the money paid for 2 nights - wont talk more - Poor hygienic - the whole property is crumbling down - smelly rooms - bathroom - dull / poor lighting - aircon - TV with no channel working - poor old furniture - Booking.com - little advice - pls audit properties before you put them online - you are harassing us - this way - only to make your commissions you put such properties ? very bad and shameful - more than the property - you need to be blamed

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    BEDBUGS in the room. No apology, they simply didn't care. We could change to another room in the second night, which was seemingly free of bedbugs. In this room was a broken window through which the mosquitos could enter... stay away!

    Good location

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was a really creepy place to stay in and the staff wasn't so friendly or showed any English ability and he didn't even looked us in the eye when we checked in. The place is really old and smelt like dead rats in the first floor that leads to the stairs and the bathroom is super small where the shower is just 1 step away from the toilet so you can poo while shower. The channels on the TV are all in Thai except the French channel. But we barely stayed in the room so it didn't really matter cause the air-con is super cold. I wouldn't recommend to stay here if what you're looking for is comfort.

    So close to khaosan road only 5 minutes walking and close to many street bars and restaurants and the air-con in the room is amazingly super cold.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    From first entering the hostel we were 'welcomed' by the most miserable lady (I think either the manager or the owner), she was very snappy and extremely rude. The room was terrible, graffiti on the walls, it smelt awful and was tiny. We asked to do our laundry and all of the staff 'didn't understand' what we were saying but they clearly just could not be bothered as they parred us off onto several other members of staff, even though there is signs for laundry everywhere, in the end we gave up. The location is close to Khaosan Road but you have to endure horrible alleyways and rats to get there, didn't feel very safe. Even when we were checking out the same lady was very rude, she needs a job change. I would never want anyone to return here. Awful stay!

    The only good thing about the property is the closeness to Khaosan Road. That's all.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I've seen quite a few hotels and hostels, some cheaper than this one and I think that you are not getting value for your money. The rooms are awful: nothing what they show you on the website. I added some photos of our rooms. The rooms: they smell, no clean sheets, walls, floors and probably bed bugs. Matras is uncomfortable, shared shower and toilet isn't clean and didn't see them cleaning the past few days, only the hallway. Staff is very very uninterested, rude and grumpy. Traveled with three/ no-one felt welcome. Also, with check in they already offered an upgrade for some baht before we even saw the room which seemed very suspicious. Also, there is dust everywhere, holes in the walls, rats running around. Again, the photos are NOT the rooms you will get. My friend booked a single room. She discovered there was blood on her fan. F#####ng blood! I read the recommendations before booking and I saw very good results. Too bad I didn't get the negative ones. I will never ever go back to this place and I surely won't recommend it anyone. Please see TripAdvisor for more comments.

    Location is ok.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small room, small bed for 2, mattress disaster, AC loud, TV have only 2 channel ( one thai and one france ). Can get much better room for this price

    Location o.k. but not the best

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing like the photo. Very thick dust and dirt behind bar fridge. Coke or drink splashed and dried on dirty walls. It needs a good scrub. Basic is fine for me but filthy is not. Staff sadly were all miserable. Not one smile in two days from anyone except the lovely little cleaning lady. The reception staff should be friendly and welcoming but they never even made eye contact once. This accomodation is in a good area but I won't be going back. The resturant looked ok but I could not eat there as I was worried the kitchen may look like rest of the place.

    The location was good and it was not noisy even though very close to Khao San Road party street. The bed linen was clean. No top sheet though on the bed. Large storage room where bags can be left.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Staff would be more polite and helpful for guests with more attention. bad experience of lack of communication, most times reception desk empty and have to wait for a long time, until end other conversations and own work their phones.

    only the location. easy access and convenience of the location for other tours, shopping and nightlife.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was very unclean. The fridge was covered in brown sticky substance, the bed was dirty, the walls were full of bloody squashed mosquitos, the floor was dirty and the air-con was very loud. The staff were also unhelpful and I did not receive any reply to my e-mail directly to them.

    The only good thing was the location

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Air condition was very noisy, not good for a light sleeper, but was massive for the size of the room......certainly requires a can of emulsion to brighten the place up...........

    Bed was fine......linen was clean towels spotless................its ok for a couple of nights, have stayed here on previous occasions, a paint job would,nt go a miss !!!!!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Water leakage from the bathroom to our bed area. TV not working and remember to bring an extra padlock for the door. Hotel staff was pretty aloof to us, they are pretty unfriendly. But if you are just going to crash in for the night is definitely good enough for the money you are paying for.

    The restaurant below the hotel is delicious and cheap. Good for a couple of beers.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff was RUDE. The guy at the reception wouldn't even lift his head to say hello or answer one question that I had. All he was interested in was the money and deposit. The place is squalid, dirty, seedy. A real s-hole.

    The location was the only good thing about this place. Wouldn't return here ever again.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bugs in the rooms , the aircond working really bad , tiny dirty room and no Wi-Fi in the room . Food is bad and smoothies taste like dishwashing liquid

    Nothing ! The staff was really awful , rude with us. In four months around Asia that's the first time that we had to complain to the management

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    room was not so clean, bathroom was terrible, pictures on booking.com are from 10 years ago and the staff was quite unfriendly

    location is great, not so noisy even though very close to khaosan road and you can leave your bags in the locker room before check-in

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything. The bugs. The mold. Room was dirty. Bed was tiny. It smelt. Bathroom tiny.

    We liked that we got to choose the room without cockroaches and that the staff changed our booking without charging us so we thankfully stayed only 1 night

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Budget hotel, not friendly staff, dirty, old and mouldy. Many cockroaches.

    The positive aspects were the location and the bed was confortable, the aircon worked aside from that it was disappointing.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bad quality for price. Room looks nothing like pictures, it's small, old, and towels were dirty. You can find a much better price for one person in this area

    Location is great if you're planning to go to Khao San road

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    we saw several cockroaches in the room. the shower had very little power, i had to crouch down so the water flowed down to get enough water out. The room had nowhere to put your clothes so they ended up on the floor. The curtains were old and tatty and didn't fully cover the windows. The beds were hard and the pillows were like breeze blocks!

    good location, close to khaosan road but quiet enough at night. Latch on outside of the door for your own padlock.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2017

    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 8 nights

    the staff are friendly and assuring

    The place is excellent for those travelling and on tours everyday and need a place to sleep. I am a PhD student taking my Dissertation proposal exam the following week and the place was not very suitable for studying and working on a dissertation proposal. The room (including bathroom) was cramped, there is no room to walk around for exercise when you are sitting more than two hours. I stayed only few minutes. Sad because, the staff are very helpful, assuring and friendly.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There were little bugs in the room that got onto the bed, they disappeared after we sprayed it all with bug spray. The air con was very noisy to sleep with and the shower head was broken so you had to hold it in your hand. Sheets didn't look very clean and I found some hairs in them

    it's cheap and the air con worked and the shower was hot and the location was quite good

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Submitted via mobile

    We got there and there was a car smashed into the inside of the building, cats living in the walls. The whole place was completely broken and I can't believe it's actually listed on booking.com.

    There was nothing to like?

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Yes there was a rat in the corridor on our last night (top floor too!) but other than that the hotel is what it is. For back packers on a budget and want to be close to Khao San its fine. It's grotty/dirty so wouldn't stay if your on a holiday but backpackers it's yeah!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2017

    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights

    There was absolutely no cleaning of the shared bathroom when we were there - and by the looks of it, not for a very long time either.

    The person who ran the restaurant was the only one working and she was friendly.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The picture was different from the actual room we got. The room was old, dirty and built with thin wood. We check in at 2pm, went out to shops near by, then book other accommodation, finally we return to Sawasdee to get our bags and check out at 6pm.

    Nothing.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    They charged me twice, once by cash in the hotel and then deduct it from a card as well. Information about check out on booking web page was different then in the hotel.

    Good location

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not mentioning the rats in the corridor from time to time, the room was fine for just oversleep and nothing special

    Location is close to the most beautiful temples and museums. KhaoSan road is close as well, worth to see it !

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The Reception staff was very rude, They were not cooperative and even though i did booking for 2 guests still they were saying its for one person. But in last i manged to convince them and they gave a very bad room where cockroaches were running here and there.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    staff were rude and barley spoke english, room was dirty and bathroom window was broken with no glass only blinds. bathroom was weird and small.

    airconditioning

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    STAFF WERE NOT HELPFUL AND VERY ABRUPT TV DID NOT WORK WHEN i COMPLAINED THE STAFF SAID NO TV AVAILABLE .i BOOKED A superior ROOM WITH WI FI BUT WAS TOLD NO ROOMS HAD WI FI ONLY DOWNSTAIRS .THEY CHARGED ME A LITTLE EXTRA I THINK 200 VN DONG ,BUT IT WAS REASONABLE PRICE.

    Bed comfortable and Airconditioner old but worked well

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower was broken, locks for the toilet didn't work. The blankets were crunchy instead of soft. There were dodgey blotches on floors and walls of our room.

    I love location of the property. It's near Khao San so it's easy to go to the madness without having to lie awake from it. There's also two shortcuts to Rambuttri one through the parking lot of the temple complex and one through the Israeli restaurant. Much fun. I love the neighborhood! The air con in the room itself was working like it should, and as it was hot as balls in Bangkok that weekend it was a welcome surprise.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Phew where to start. Some of the staff were quite rude, the room was a bit smelly and you could almost smell the mould in the bathroom... But we shouldn't have expected any more, because it was a pretty cheap room..

    Not a lot of positive stuff to say here... Location is good though

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The female staff were extremely rude and treated us like an inconvenience just for checking in. The room was dirty: spider on the bed, ants on the floor, hole in the wall, dirty towels on tje floor, hairs everywhere (sink, shower, bed). Our room also had a puddle in it, the pipes were leaking. The place needs a make over!

    It was in a good location where you could walk to Khaosan Road easily.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This hotel is awful the rooms are tiny, dirty and smell awful and the staff are incredibly rude! Avoid at all costs!

    Good location close to Khao San Road

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Can't expect much when paying 500 baht a night, location is great, but that's all. Staff truly does not care. Expect all kinds of wildlife in your room. Typical for Bangkok but still in these rooms was way worst

    Location

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    This was our second time at Sawasdee Smile Inn. Our room was much better than our previous one. Although it's a good value for money the Inn is still dirty and at times there is really bad smell (of feces) in the corridors. The wi-fi signal is really weak and the rooms are a bit dirty. Although our new room was much more comfortable and cleaner our previous one had big stains on the wall, signs from duct tape on the door and who-knows-what under the bed.

    The location is great. The bed was also decent. After spending some time in Thailand travelling on a budget you figure out that this place isn't that bad if you accept a few compromises.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Didn't resemble the photo. Really dirty. 2 power points only. We had to request towels & toilet paper. Glad it was only 2 nights

    Only saving grace was close to Khao San road.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    As with other reviews, I found some of the staff here pretty unfriendly. The ladies who are on reception in the morning were quite nice, but the younger staff that man reception in the evenings were downright rude and wouldn´t even bother stopping their gaming to answer questions. The child that serves breakfast was lovely but I wondered why she wasn´t in school. The rooms are much smaller and run down than they appear in pictures. Really really noisy all night I barely slept.

    The restaurant across the cobbled road (opposite the bar with the fairy lights) has an amazing choice. We ate there every night and I would recommend it. the staff were also very friendly. Breakfast was included in our room Price which was a bonus.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Young receptionist very surely and miserable (in the wrong job) yet the older person just the opposite, very helpful........

    Last time I stayed here, and booked with booking .com received free breakfast vouchers............NOT This time......

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the staff at the reception wasn't kind and helpful at all. the room was dirty and smelly, with ants everywhere. the bed was too small for two people, and the room was tiny.

    great location- near the khao san road. for one traveler who don't care about some dirt- this room is very cheap and great located.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rude staff. Room was filthy and bed broken. Impossible to shower in room so used the shared facilities. Bugs and filth all over the room, we even slept in our sleeping bags!! If you misplace the wifi code, they charge you for another one. Overpriced!! Room was tiny, tv didn't work and only one socket.

    Close to koh San Road. The food in the restaurant was decent.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff behind the reception did'nt pay any attation and when they did... they were very rude. I know that it was cheap but the hygiene could be better.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I went there after 4 months of backpacking in south east asia in really cheap places so I am really not demanding. But this place... yuk !! The staff is really really really rude, the room was really dirty, the window completly broken, it smells cigarettes (and I am a smoker) so much everywhere... if it was a 3 dollars night would be ok but for that price or less you can find SO MUCH better

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I booked it last minute but even that was not worth it. Staff probably doesn't know how to talk and has problems looking at you while you check in or out. I never experienced so unfriendly staff at a hostel/hotel! Room stank terrible like smoke and I don't even know what else. AC was dripping water into the room. Floor was sticky - so they probably don't clean well. Size of the room was really small. Even that we didn't have any food in the room and where on the second level we had ants in the room. Would give it a minus 10 if I could.

    Area

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's a little dirty, needs a touch up but at the end of the day it's budget accommodation. Don't expect much and you won't be disappointed.

    The locations is really good with minor noise and close to the night life

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I came out of my room on the third floor to see a rat running down the hallway. Room smelled of strong pesticide. I stayed here years ago and it was a bit better. It looks like nothing has been repaired in years. Filthy dirty. Sawasdee Smile Inn? Maybe the staff should Smile. I guess they have nothing to Smile about, working there.

    Good mango shake

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room is very small. The hotel room lacked some renovation and good cleaning. The was a hole in the wall near the bed. Water drops were falling from the air-conditioner. Overall, it's not a surprise for the price that we paid for one night stay. But decided to sleep with our clothes on (just in case). If you are here for the party on Khaosan road, plan to get drunk and pass out - it will do;)

    The main advantage - close to the Khaosan road. We imagined that we are James Bond, Jason Borne, Hulk or any other secret agent that stays under cover in Bangkok. We even planned out our fight scene against the enemies and our escape through the back-yard and the roof :) When you look at the place with humor, it looks better :) And the breakfast was good.

    Stayed in January 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Sawasdee Smile Inn traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: