Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Shangri-La Hotel Bangkok 5 stars

89 Soi Wat Suan Plu, Bangrak, Bang Rak, 10500 Bangkok, Thailand

#84 of 1,238 hotels in Bangkok

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 2039 hotel reviews

9.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.3

  • Comfort

    9.3

  • Location

    9.2

  • Facilities

    9.1

  • Staff

    9.2

  • Value for money

    8.2

  • Free WiFi

    9.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room King
    • Stayed 7 nights

    There was nothing I did not like . My stay was excellent. !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    We had a city view room with a partial view of the river. The hotel was luxurious, beautiful gardens ,pool area and the view from the bar was stunning. The hotel is right next to the ferry and the train station. In the evening we ate at some of the restaurants around the area after our tours and shopping trips. The staff were very friendly and couldn't do enough to help us with any enquiry. I LOVED this hotel .!!!!!!!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe River View King
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was very expensive to stay and the drinks were pricey. The food however was very good value and excellent quality. Apart from other hotels there is nothing really close by you must taxi everywhere but the bellboys make sure the taxis use the meter as Bangkok taxi drivers are notorious for turning it off!!!

    Shangri La didn't dissapoint! Fabulous buffet restaurant and great poolside dining, the food was actually very reasonable and there was a 2 star Michellin chef visiting whilst we were there so we were very lucky. Great views from the hotel balcony and the room was lovely. Staff were on point and I would recommend to anyone visiting Bangkok to at least have one night there in luxury haha

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Horizon Club King
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing I can think of.Wifi was excellent and TV had good selection.

    The room was spacious and comfortable with balcony overlooking the river.The shower was one of the best as was the breakfast.Most of all staff were charming and helpful.Close to the station and easy to get around.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Room King
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dey hv a security check every time wen u come back.. to which is smithing unexceptable..one at the time of check in it’s ok .but all the time u move out n den come back u hv to gv all ur mobile n shopping in the machine is just irritating

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Balcony King
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel is beautiful! The people are very, very polite and helpful! Not in all the hotels are like Shangri-La. The service, fantastic. The location also is very good. Next to the river and to the public pier, where you can take the boat for anywhere. Just next to the hotel. The songs, at the lobby lounge, by the diva Lilibeth Antonio, outstanding! Lilibeth has a voice of velvet! Nice place to spend the night. The only place we will stay, if we come to Bangkok again. A must do, is the dinner cruise! We regret that we left it for the last night. If we knew how nice it was, we would do it more. The food in the hotel restaurants is also very good. Breakfast has everything, and for all tastes and cultures. Recommended definitely!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Room Twin
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our stay was amazing! The staff is extremely attentive, helpful, and friendly. Horizon dinner cruise was great and the food wonderful. Spa was also fantastic and gave us the best treatment we have ever had! The room was great with a fantastic view and so comfortable! Definitely recommend staying here!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Deluxe River View King
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Slightly dated , not up to same 5* standard as Shangri-La in other countries.

    Great location, wonderful staff, valet parking service good, clean & comfortable rooms.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Balcony King
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very comfortable, fabulous location, love the pool area. It is not super modern but it is old school and extremely spacious and great friendly staff.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Krungthep Deluxe Balcony King
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Fabulous staff, beautiful room. Stayed in the other wing so had use of both pool areas. Food was amazing and located perfectly for cool bars and local transport (river and skytrain)

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Krungthep Deluxe Balcony Twin
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A friend recommended that his hotel for my stay in Bangkok. I have always been very pleased with this hotel brand (previous stays in Shanghai and Singapore), and this visit was no different! Great location, service, accommodations. Highly recommend!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe River View King
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing! Everything was amazing

    Pure luxury from start to finish! Lovely rooms, amazing pool, fantastic food & the staff couldn't be more attentive!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe River View King
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Sadly only stayed 2 nights , first night did the river cruise , well run, very helpful staff, food fantastic , the next night we enjoyed the buffet at the hotel , if possible it was better than the river cruise, i was told that the hotel was in between conferences so it was sadly not very well supported , but they catered as if there were a couple of hundred rather than the 20 odd that took advantage , the desserts were out of this world , On leaving the hotel to the airport asked the receptionist to arrange a taxi to the airport duly done and was reassured when the porter not only sorted out the price for us which was a much better price than from the airport to the hotel on a meter , but gave us a ticket with the taxi drivers details on it in case of any issues

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room King
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We can not really think of anything that could be improved!!!!

    Absolutely EVERYTHING! It is elegant, extremely comfortable, the staff is superior. The food in ALL of the onsite restaurants was exceptional & the location simply could not be better. We had a terrific stay.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Krungthep Deluxe Balcony King
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I liked everything!

    Great facilities, great staff. Everything designed to provide an excellent stay. The location was super. I would highly recommend this hotel as a top choice in Bangkok

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe River View King
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was perfectly located for us and all that we wanted to do. It's a beautiful hotel, the staff were great and the room was lovely Will stay there next time I'm in Bangkok on business or holiday

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room King
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The rooms are comparatively good value but they charge like wounded buffalo for drinks food ice creams

    Service was very attentive and the rooms were good value with great views of the river

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Balcony King
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The meal at the place on the water where a dance was held. The food was dreadful we ate at many places and this was not acceptable could not even cut the prawn with a knife. Our daughters pork was red not good enough and the price was expensive.

    We enjoyed every bit of our stay. Excellent

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Room King
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms were damp, old need updating staff were rude! And ruined my overall experience. Restaurant food needs to improve breakfast is good everything else not so great

    The reception area is clean and beautiful decor

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Krungthep River View King
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms are Tired and dark, needs updating... Breakfast buffet was more like 4* Food was not 5* standard. Some staff should smile more.

    Pool areas are great , hotel main areas look 5* Front desk staff very nice.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe River View King
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was a double payment to our credit card. We alerted Shangri-La of this early on in our stay but is yet to be rectified. Staff not great at resolving issues. Left feeling quite frustrated.

    Great views of the river, premium experience of the Horizon Club, lovely welcome (on second night) as we were on our honeymoon, good service at breakfast

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe River View King
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    If I had to say something negative... The room we had although Horizon club and on he top floor was a little dated. I would say the room we had could have been bigger, but I am really nit picking here!

    The views from the room were unreal! The staff incredibly nice and the breakfast amazing! Also the location of the hotel is fab! Free shuttle boat to the nearby night market was excellent! Had a wonderful stay and would defo go back next time in Bangkok. My 4 year old boy also loved the hotel!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Krungthep Deluxe Balcony Twin
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Too crowded and messy at breakfast but nice selection of food. Loved the sushi part. Missing fresh flowers in the room. Too dark in the bathroom.

    Absolutely perfect location. Beautiful lobby (stayed at Shangri-La wing). Horizon Club Lounge was a nice treat with beatiful views. Gorgeous pool-area beside the river. Loved the live singing at night.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe River View King
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is starting to look dated, and renovations have started, which effect some of the common spaces. There was a mix up in our room (we booked for four and they had only set up two beds - unfortunately sorting this out took a long time and was more uncomfortable a process than i would have expected given the hotel status.

    Great location, near the sky train and the pier. Staff friendly and attentive. Breakfast buffet was extensive and the food quality good. Great to be able to eat & drink next to the river and watch the world go by.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Room King
    • Stayed 5 nights

    No coffee maker / espresso machine, was expecting this in the room, and some more selection (Chicken , Beef Dishes ) in room dining. Not a deal breaker.

    The near by areas had good food, money exchange, the hotel staff helps you with anything that you want, just ask them , ( Meter Taxi or luxury your choice they will even tell you the estimate total on meter taxis / shopping tips / markets / tell the item you would like to buy and they will point you to the right direction. ) They will make you the king / queen. Always with a smile, 9 am or 3 am ready to serve. And we (bunch of guys) did give them some trouble tasks (Selection on the Mango with the specific taste required). So yes, book with them, you won't regret it.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Krungthep River View King
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only downside is the price - both the room and drinks/food. It is expensive but it’s beatiful and I’d definitely go back!

    The Shangri la is excellent! Room is huge, as is the bed, bathroom, everything! We booked a room with a balcony over the river and it was worth it. Staff were very pleasant without being false. Very attentive and remembered you when they passed you at reception. Breakfast was fantastic! There was something for everyone - cereal, eggs, curries, roast ham, sushi, cheese, ice cream! Pool was a good size with plenty of sunloungers and parasols. We had an evening flight and were given a free check out and use of the gym facilities to freshen up before we left. The surrounding area has good places to eat at. There is an indoor eating market next to the hotel which sells every Thai dish and a few bars as well

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Room King
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast fare in Indian section was main meals & not breakfast friendly items. Naans tend to get rubbery once cool down.

    Staff courtesy, comfort factor

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room King
    • Stayed 10 nights

    Staff at guest services was very nice but were unable to help us on some practical issues. Staff shoild be more qualified (even on English language). On Salathip restaurant the food is excellent but when serving grilled tiger prawns, the plate should be on rechaud (heating device), as they are served at an unacceptable low temperature.

    When leaving and once at Bangkok Airport, the young staff member that assisted us was exceptional. He has potential to do much more than assist guests at the airport.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Krungthep Deluxe Balcony King
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The garden area and the pool area at the Krungthep Wing is noisy and the air is polluted with fumes from the Long Tail and other boats which wait nearby. In our opinion the sunbeds could be cleaned more regularly because of the birds!

    The staff and the Manager, Jacky at the Krungthep Wing was outstanding. He was very helpful and obliging when we wanted to make a change to the booking

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe River View King
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Airport transfer options were priced a little ridiculously high; Take a cab from the airport, it'll cost less than a quarter of the price.

    The hotel property was very nice; neat and comfortable rooms of good size, everywhere was clean, and staff were fairly friendly. The lobby area and main pool areas were also nice and pretty. Views from the river-facing rooms (which we stayed in) were great. There are many restaurant options in the property itself if you don't wish to head out, but the hotel is well located enough that there are many good food options nearby. Overall a nice choice for a relaxing stay. However, while the price is fair for the standards you get (room and service-wise), there isn't much of a 'wow' factor to the hotel - more of a 'nice' rather than a 'exceeds expectations', which you'd think a fancier brand like theirs would like to aim for.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room King
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Beautiful hotel, with a great pool looking over the river. The views from the room are stunning, especially at sunset. Staff are amazing - really helpful, and make you feel at home.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Krungthep Deluxe Balcony King
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Nothing

    The general standard of this hotel is excellent and the facilities are second to none. I would definitely go back for a relaxing holiday. It had everything really, nice restaurants, nice pools, comfortable rooms. Good staff

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Deluxe Balcony King
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location in Bangrak right by the BTS station (Saphan Taksin) as well as the central pier! The pool is great. The staff always orders a Taxi with Taximeter. Supermarket and food market close by. The list goes on and on..

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room King
    • Stayed 4 nights

    nothing

    Although a little bit away from the centre of Bangkok, the location of the Shangri La hotel on the river close to the Taksin train station and a major ferry pier made getting around quite simple. The breakfast, restaurant and pool areas were all of the 5 star standard expected for Shangri La and the free shuttle boat to the Asiatica night market was an added bonus. The in house Thai Restaurant with its cultural displays of dancing and music during dinner was a highlight.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Krungthep River View King
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Amazing pool area, service and location. We had some great days and felt very welcome in every aspect. We will definitely come back when visiting Bangkok next time.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe River View King
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Service at the NEXT restaurant has improved over the previous years, but could still be better.

    As repeat customers of this hotel we are always pleased to come back, since it has the nicest pool garden of all hotels on the river. This year we were extra pleased to be offered again fresh fruit at the pool, hopefully next year also the refreshing towel service at the pool will be back again....

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe River View King
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was dirty, very dusty, like it had been cleaned a long time ago and left unused until our arrival. We asked for a second room the same, dirty. The table on the seating area had chewing gum clearly visible and the cleaner had not bothered to removed it. The mirror in the bathroom had dirt from the previous guests, pretty disgusting. The staff struggled to understand our English; very difficult to communicate. It took 4 requests for them to finally reconfirm our car transfer back to the airport ... Considering that we had already booked it before leaving the UK, and we had an email confirmation. Breakfast time was madness, a total zoo, people coming from all directions grabbing as much food as possible, our stay was pretty disappointing!

    The watermelon

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe River View King
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Walking in and out of the hotel could be made easier with access to ground level at the street instead of round the side of the Hotel.

    Room had a fantastic view of the river. Nice Thai touches in the room made it special. Excellent facilities and friendly staff. Next2 bar and restaurant were exceptional.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe River View King
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Lighting in the bathroom could be much brighter.....night light glow under sink could have been brighter.

    Lovely lounge area for sunset drinks, excellent shuttle boat service, super pool and great breakfast. Superbly courteous and attentive staff without being intrusive.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Krungthep Deluxe Balcony King
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It’s much older then the other wing. Would definitely opt to stay on the other side next trip.

    The staff was lovely and the view from breakfast of the grounds is beautiful.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe River View King
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The taxi system. Waiting 30 mins for our taxi to the airport. Maybe organise a regular bus for residents of hotel.

    Everything, especially the buffet breakfast

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Balcony King
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There wasn't much info about what to do outside of the hotel and check in was a bit rushed so you didn't get to understand what the hotel had to offer - which was a lot!

    The river cruise

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    leak in the executive suite 801 the manager only inspecting the problem only after we requested it the manager asking what we wanted rather than offering a solution security staff at the main entrance could be friendlier when screening guests the coffee at breakfast was sub standard

    staff in the chinese restaurant

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Krungthep River View King
    • Stayed 4 nights

    It was really hard to communicate in English with almost everybody from staff members. Rooms as well as balcony really outdated. Water in swimming pool was cold. Shower gel and shampoo were not sufficient for 2 adults and 1 child - had to ask everyday for additional... Breakfast really poor.

    Great food in Thai and Chinese restaurant

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room King
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Kids in the pool area screaming running around. The shuttle ferry on a Saturday is over subscribed , there was a big group of drunk men who queue jumped so we had to either wait an hour or pay fir a cab home

    Breakfast was excellent , pool area stunning, great shuttle ferry , chi spa was amazing,

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Balcony King
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    SPA services were not very professional. Any street massage will be better.

    Great poolside with riverviews. Roooms with balconies available. Good breakfast. Staff was very nice and welcoming. Concierge was very helpful. Enjoyed every minute of my stay.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Krungthep Deluxe Balcony King
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not really well explained about the two hotels etc and sercice was lacking - also beds not always made up and needed to remind housekeeping to do

    Servicei in riverside lounge was poor, concierge and doormen excellent and friendly - too many comventions and businessmen everywhere And althoigh we stayed in the Krunthep Wing it was extremely difficult to get an alcoholic drink and had to go into the Shangri-la to the Long Bar - poor

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe River View King
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We lived a health problem and needed urgent health service but there is noone to help us. In the hotel, there is no health department or anyone knowing what to do. If soneone lives an urgent health problem, he or she can not take health help urfently. They only call to hospital or call to taxi, so you have to wait and during this time, anything can be. FOR THIS REASON, IT IS VERY BAD

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Balcony King
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The small shop for convenience items would have saved time looking for them only to finally give up.

    The breakfast buffet was outstanding. The location was perfect. We loved the convenience of the hotel ferry to Asiatique and to other hotels such as the Peninsula. Would definitely stay there again next time in Bangkok. The only thing needed is a shop to carry basic convenience items such as cough drops or syrup plus other similar items.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Balcony King
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast buffet is excellent, however, it was very crowded and noisy.

    The room with a balcony was very comfortable had a fantastic view on the river and the skyline.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe River View King
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Fabulous river views - amazing sunsets! We loved the exquisite breakfast buffet - especially chilled chia seeds with mango coulis and the homemade granola. Great mocktails at the bar, we strongly recommend the pineapple-coconut one! Thanks for a wonderful stay.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Balcony King
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perfect location on the river. The facilities are beautiful and the staff are all lovely. The breakfast is amazing and the Horizon Cruise was breathtaking and definitely worth booking on.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Krungthep River View King
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Just perfect. We stayed in Krunghtep wing which allows you access to exclusive pool area where is less people and more personal service. All rooms have river view and are just gorgeous. We are so going back.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room King
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dinner at your Thai restaurant. Service was excellent but the food was not acceptible. I would have expected an exceptional experience. Looked like the chef I needs to be changed.

    We loved the staff, room, breakfast, location, and type of guests.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Room King
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Furniture a little old, swimming pool is very busy n crowded, room needs some extra devices particularly this is five stars hotel ( water kettle with tea & coffee bags, path weight meter, radio clock alarm also not available which surprised me for 5 stars hotel as radio in the hotel rooms is very important thing for many guests including me and even the battery alarm was not working) also the hotel is far from most of the attractions but taxis are available

    View to the river and river free shuttle boat, lobby is amazing and spacious for evening tea n dessert, fast check in and out, location, nice staff, taxi availability, close to “Taksin Spahan” metro station that send me to all shopping malls, breakfast is nice with many choices، welcome tropical fruites were amazing n tasty, a lot of water bottles in the room, lifts are fast with minimum waiting time.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe River View King
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Problem at check in. Paperwork that I had showed 'private balcony' however on check in was informed this wasn't the case and had to pay extra to obtain one over looking the river.

    Location of hotel and dinner river cruise. River cruise cost is reasonable however drinks on board are very expensive, they did however provide unlimited iced water for free.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Krungthep Deluxe Balcony King
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing - everything and more was provided for a short stay.

    Great location on the river, very close to the Skytrain. Staying in the Krungthrep Wing brought lots of additional goodies - breakfast, afternoon tea and evening cocktails all included. Large well equipped room with excellent views over the river. Good Thai and Italian restaurants.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Room King
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Liked it all

    This is a gorgeous property , in an excellent location next to the sky train and river boats. The bedrooms are fabulous , the beds are sublime with feather pillows and mattress toppers.Pool was lovely with attentive staff who find you a sun bed and cover it with extra length towels. Stayed here before and this will always be our 1 st choice in Bangkok

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Krungthep River View King
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast is crowded - looks like a factory Also when we booked the room we did not know that it was not in the main building but in the aisle ( which looks less high end) Restaurant Next 2 is not of a high quality but yet very expensive

    Fantastic view on the river Comfortable room

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe River View King
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Slow checkout procedure Guests who book sunbeds by leaving their stuff and then go off for a couple of hours not actually using them, better with some kind of poolmanager-controlled system for this

    The most magnificient view comfortable beds serviceminded staff, you can get whatever you please at this hotel great wifi good food excellent roomservice

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe River View King
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Style is getting a bit old or worn out. Sometimes, restaurant/bar staff a bit too laidback, not roacive enough. Buffet breakfast strictly closed at 10am is too early and too strict. Very depressing to miss it by 5mn and not having a B-plan

    Location by the river , swimming pool area, breakfast buffet, staff friendliness. Easy to organize excursions through staff.Very good gym facility

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe River View King
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We visited during Christmas holidays so hotel was full and that gave challenges for staff. Sometimes long lines would form for breakfast entrance and in the restaurants staff was actually running across the room. The Volti restaurant we found to be disappointing as food did not live up to expectations (and price)....and staff here was extremely nervous and stressed.

    Breakfast buffet had a massive collection of different foods...from Asian to European and everything in between. Rooms are comfortable and clean. We had room in the Shangri La wing overlooking the river, a very nice view to wake up with. Loaction of the hotel is really perfect with easy access to the Satorn pier for public transport over the water. Take the 'tourist boat' for 50 baht to all the major attractions up the river...much nicer/cheaper than cab or tuktuk. Also hotel very close to BTS metro line that gives perfect access to MBK mall (for low cost 7 floors of shopping). Hotel has large and wel equipped gym with Lifefitness cardio machines...changing rooms have cool sauna/steam bath plus huuuuuuge jacuzzi. The in house Chinese restaurant is great. Check in/out was a smooth process and staff there very friendly and helpfull...also the concierge desk btw.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Krungthep River View King
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The Shangri-La has two buildings (next to each other). We weren't aware while booking so we arrived at the wrong building. This lead to confusion when we tried to check in.

    The river view from our room was great! The hotel location is near the ferry so exploring the city was very easy.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Krungthep Deluxe Balcony King
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bit cheeky taking a deposit greater than the total room fee; but we spent more anyway. Nothing not to like.

    Excellent friendly helpful and polite service from all staff. Excellent facilities. Great breakfast. Lovely riverside restaurant.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe River View King
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Room was a little small for this price range and could benefit with a re.furb

    The Staff were very good and the room comfortable with good, controllable aircon. Fantastic breakfast and piano bar! A great place to entertain friends!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe River View King
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Traffic outside the Hotel , maybe it is a overall condition in busy city like Bangkok.

    The staff was very Polite & Helpful. We loved the evening dinner at the Thai Restaurant with live performance.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe River View King
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location - walking distance to the BTS Skytrain and also the central pier. Tight security and relatively spacious room. The hotel also had attentive and friendly staff to try and meet your needs and help you sort out your issues.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe River View King
    • Stayed 4 nights

    It is within walking distance to the BTS train station as well as the central pier. Also it has a fantastic breakfast with a large selection of food. The hotel staffs are very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room King
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Exceptional property, true to the Shangrila legacy. Perfect location to hop a river boat, enjoy street food, take a tuk-tuk to markets, or relax in luxury at a first class resort.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Krungthep River View King
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff could be more attentive outside by pool as constantly trying to attract there attention despite being many. Need to look out more for guest needs. Ordered a beer and told get 4th free — had already ordered 3 so ok good for me but then brought a beer bucket and said my fault and could not take off bill so paid 750 Baht for something I did not order or want.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Krungthep Deluxe Balcony King
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I woulld have liked a cigar lounge.

    The location is excellent. Next to the elevated train. Exclusive hotel standard. Very good executive club between 5.30 - 7.30 pm with very good and friendly staff, especially Amy!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Balcony King
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great staff, always helpful with a smile on their face! Wonderful food in all the restaurants, beautiful riverside bar with great drinks and snacks. Perfect gym!! Always happy to be back!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe River View King
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It’s a bit walk to the station. The hotel is too busy so you may not get help right away. The toilet looks quite dated.

    The breakfast is great! A lot of food to choose. Like the river view ourside the hotel. Staff is nice.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe River View King
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Our room did smell a little musty, which we actually found throughout Thailand -- i think it was from the AC. Also, would have been nice to have breakfast included in the room -- this was the only hotel in our stay that we had to pay extra for breakfast.

    We had a great stay at the Shangri-La in Bangkok. The location was perfect -- right on the river, which was peaceful and also convenient with the river taxis close by. It was also easy to get to the other areas. We booked a couple tours outside of the hotel and the guide still met us in the lobby of the hotel, so it was very easy. The pool was great, restaurant was good, our room was a good size. All in all, we had a great stay.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe River View King
    • Stayed 2 nights

    This was one of the best places that we've stayed. It was so comfortable and clean. Try to book "River View Room", the view was amazing and breakfast is exceptionally good.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe River View King
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I Checked-in around 2 am. Super friendly reception desk. I booked a non smoking room but was given a smoking room. So I went back to the reception and received an upgrade to a suite. Very clean hotel. Best breakfast offer in town. Maybe a bit too old style but great value for money.

    Stayed in December 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Shangri-La Hotel Bangkok traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: