Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Sugar Palm Grand Hillside 4 stars

1 Khoktanod Soi 3, Muang, 83100 Kata Beach, Thailand

#47 of 99 hotels in Kata Beach

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 145 hotel reviews

8.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.1

  • Comfort

    8.2

  • Location

    8.6

  • Facilities

    8

  • Staff

    8.4

  • Value for money

    7.9

  • Free WiFi

    6.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2018

    7.5
    Clean and with good views
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Grand Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It’s on a steep hill so this could be a problem for some people. Also many taxi drivers will ask you for more money to go there. I just tell them to drop me nearby.

    Clean and with good views

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    8.3
    Good location if you don't mind climbing up the hill a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Grand Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 9 nights

    Good location if you don't mind climbing up the hill a little bit. Very close to the beach and a lot of restaurants and shops nearby. Great bed, very large and comfortable. Spacey room with everything you need.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2018

    8.8
    Highly recommended! We will be back soon!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Grand Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 13 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Non

    The room is spacious, the bed is extra large. The view from 8 th floor is amazing. There is mini bar provides every day free of charge. The breakfast is yam, swimming pool great. Wi Fi is working great on the whole hotel territory. The Haven bar on the 7th floor with nice music and outstanding view to See and big Buddha.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    10
    We really enjoyed our stay and if we return to Thailand we will stay again!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Grand Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 8 nights

    would be extra great if it had a pool bar!!

    Really lovely staff who went out of their way to make sure we had the best stay. Especially July in reception, he was very nice and always had a smile on his face.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2018

    7.1
    Overall good stay with a few disappointments.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Grand Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 14 nights

    We were not welcome nicely. We were one day late because of a rented car problem. We have warned the hotel. Anyway the manager made us pay for the full amount. It was for a booking of 14 days. Staff doesn't always speak good English or doesn't understand the request. Coffee is terrible. Very difficult access for people with mobility problem. Several swimming pools but most of them are attached to rooms and therefore private. The main one is very small and there is no activity or bar whatsoever around the swimming pool. 4 beds and that's all so never really busy.

    Good situation close to the beach and restaurants. Overall big and comfortable room. We were upgraded, which made our stay comfortable and we had a very good view. The price is very correct if you look at other hotels around.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2018

    5.4
    Disaster
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Grand Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The reception had no idea what they were doing and receptionists just pissed us off. We have no idea how to access to the pool and none of the staff explained to us. We have a very early boat schedule the next morning and the breakfast time is written 6:30am; However, when we reached the restaurant at the time, breakfast wasn't prepared and the staffs were very lazy too. We stayed for new year's eve and the celebration at the hotel was outdoor and very noisy. The hotel should be aware of the volume and understand not every guest is attending the celebration. We regret spending the money here and will not come back again.

    The location is very good. Just few minutes walk to the beach and close to the main street.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2017

    8.8
    Great location and value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Grand Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very convenient location, close to lots of shops and restaurants. Staff are friendly and helpful. Highly recommend Palm Spa for a massage. They offer a free shuttle there and back. Pool was nice and you can order drinks whilst you relax and swim.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    9.6
    Great location, great staff, great pools.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Grand Pool Access Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Wi-fi was a little slugish.

    Rooms are huge, pool room access rooms are even better. Big breakfast selection. Beds are great. Will be coming back again soon. Highly recommended.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2017

    6.7
    Convenient location, the little walk up to hotel is a good exercise.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Grand Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pool wasn't clean when we swam we found a bug on the floor in the water. The toilet in the room was smelling bad though its clean.

    The location is great and the staffs at the reception are efficient. Food in the breakfast was good but the juice wasn't fresh. Enjoyed the the free drinks from the minibar and they replenish every day

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2017

    4.6
    Didn't meet expectations.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Grand Pool Access Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No double bed as advertised/very uncomfortable. No wifi in both rooms. Terrible t.v. Reception/no signal in both rooms. Poor breakfast offering with grubby self serving area.

    Pool

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2017

    8.3
    Room was very comfortable, breakfast had lots of selection,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Grand Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I little bit of a walk to the room as you have to take two elevators. Same with the pool. A little bit of an ant problem in the room, but they all went away if you don't leave food out.

    Room was very comfortable, breakfast had lots of selection, only a 5 minute walk from Kata beach (little hill to climb), pool was nice, staff was friendly and helpful, view from room was nice.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2017

    9.6
    Great place to stay in Kata
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Grand Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 12 nights

    Hotel seems a bit tired, could do with some refurbishments.

    Great hotel, friendly helpful staff, Marc was great, good choice of breakfast options. Great location with shops, restaurants and beach within easy walking distance.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2017

    9.2
    Great place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Grand Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Spa Bath
    • Stayed 5 nights

    hotel looking a bit tired, could do with some refurbishment.

    Fantastic hotel, great staff, good breakfast choice ,great location with shops, beach and restaurants within easy walking distance .

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2016

    7.5
    A quiet hotel away from the busy areas.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Grand Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The breakfast could be better, hot food should be served hot.

    Access to the hotel is via a short steep hill but it is a quiet haven away from the busy areas. The varied swimming pools are a good place to chill.The staff were very helpful.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2016

    5.0
    Moderate place to stay at the heart of Kata
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Grand Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lot's of ants in the room. Getting to the room is a bit annoying if located above 4th floor, need to walk and change elevators. Moderate European breakfast, same stuff every morning.

    Nicely located, however on top of the hill, not suitable for eldery. We have travelled with 3 y.o. daughter and had no problems climbing those 40 meters up with trolley and child inside.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2018

    10
    Perfect holiday
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Grand Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perfect holiday

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2018

    6.7
    Staff are friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Grand Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Spa Bath
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room and facilities are kinda old and its time to upgrade.

    Staff are friendly. It is close to the beach and to the town centre.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    10
    It’s a very excellent experience here,clean room and good...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Grand Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It’s a very excellent experience here,clean room and good service. I will chose this hotel again once I back here.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2018

    7.9
    Hotel in need of maintenence
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Grand Pool Access Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The walk up to the room

    The pool outside the room

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2017

    2.5
    Cuidado con este hotel,me robaron las gafas
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Grand Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    En general, te do

    Las fotos que vi en Booking

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    8.3
    amazing place for honeymoon
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Grand Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Spa Bath
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I book room with spa bath and I can enjoy spa bath with beach view which is amazing! and kata beach is so great for sunset view

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2017

    10
    Wonderful swimming pool in the balcony!
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Grand Pool Access Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wonderful swimming pool in the balcony!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2017

    7.1
    Staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Grand Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pool conditions, lack of staff

    Staff

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2017

    9.2
    Breakfast was just very very good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Grand Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was just very very good. This is why we stayed here for the second time. And will stay once again when we come!

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2017

    8.3
    Lovely hotel w/ great value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Grand Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    It could have been better if there is a lift straight to the floor that you stay.

    Free minibar that restock everyday, big bathtub, nice swimming pool.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2017

    8.8
    Glad to stay there.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Grand Pool Access Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Bed could be more comfy.

    Breakfast, location, pool.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 November 2016

    8.8
    Beautiful place
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Grand Pool Access Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    not much!

    the instant access to the pool. and the bed!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2016

    9.6
    Great place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Grand Pool Access Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    internet connection is a bit too slow

    wonderful staff and great location

    Stayed in October 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2016

    6.7
    Nicely done up and modern hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Wifi useless. One guest flying noisy UAV over the pool every day and staff did nothing. Too many noisy rude tourists from certain countries well known for their widely reported behaviour even locals heard complaining abt them.

    Nicely done up and modern hotel. Standard very good for the price we Paid in May.

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2016

    9.2
    The pool access rooms are great
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    signage for elevators can be improved a bit confusing to locate elevators - provide hotel room map or key facilities to guests viewing deck is only open in evening when the restaurant is open.

    The pool access rooms are great Location is quiet

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2016

    7.1
    Pool was excellent, rooms nice and clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Better access to rooms, too many ramps and stairs. Needs a better lift system to each floor. Gym wasn't good, needs equipment update.

    Pool was excellent, rooms nice and clean. Great views of Kata.

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2016

    9.5
    Staff, location, breakfast, pools very good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    no evening dining at hotel, a bit of a trek down to Palm Square for evening dining. Also no room service after 6pm.

    Staff, location, breakfast, pools very good. The young Russian lady working at reception was extremely helpful and an asset to hotel. Manager Michael was very good and helpful. All in all a great experience.

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2016

    7.9
    Location at kata beach is great
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    There's a little stiff hill to climb to the hotel The staff only gave us one set of shampoo/conditioner, we had 2 people. They didn't clean up the sink when we left the tooth brush wrapping paper, I don't mind it, but I accepted that to be cleaned up.

    Location at kata beach is great Swimming pool was awesome

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2016

    9.2
    We stayed in a pool access room and it was absolutely...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The gym wasn't worth a go.

    We stayed in a pool access room and it was absolutely stunning. The rooms were spacious and styled beautifully i would definitely stay here again and again. The pools were constantly flowing from the waterfalls this made the water cool and refreshing nothing worse then hoping into luke warm water this was definitely a plus for us. Buffet was decent and there were not many other breakfast options around kata so I would get breaky included. oh and the view from the hotel bar was amazinggggg

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2016

    8.8
    Very quiet hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Actually nothing to mention.

    Very quiet hotel. Great breakfast. Good location. Friendly and helpfull staff. Rooms are good but a little tired. Everyday refreshments (water, soft drinks, beer). Only positive memories after staying this hotel.

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2016

    10
    Loved everything about the place - the room, the pools, the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Just be wary if you have any mobility issues as there is a short steep climb to the lobby and there can be a long walk/climb to your room. I had a room at the top end of the hotel which I loved and gave me a view over to the Big Buddha. If you don't want to walk to your room then you might ask for a room on a lower floor but no view.

    Loved everything about the place - the room, the pools, the breakfast. Also a short walk to the beach and I thought at the nicest end of Kata Beach.

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2016

    7.5
    - good localisation at the end of kata beach.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    - rooms do not look as new as in the pictures (need fresh painting) - variety at breakfast not that big, break products not that good - pool area mostly under shadow during whole day - as the name indicate, located on the hill. Not a large climb, particularly for young clients but may be too steep for elderly.

    - good localisation at the end of kata beach. many restaurants and amenities nearby. - very quiet location - 2 sets of towels provided - beautiful bar at the rooftop where you can see the sunset by the beach - kata beach is a central yet quiet area, which allows for nice time at the nearby beach and still convenient for tours around Phuket - provided free water, beer, coke and juice in room everyday

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2016

    9.2
    The breakfast of the hotel had various varieties (it was one...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    As it can be guest from the name of the hotel it was on the hill so you need to climb few steeps and then few stairs to reach your room.

    The breakfast of the hotel had various varieties (it was one of the best) and started very early like 6.30 until 10.30. It had very central location (5 mins walking to Kata beach) and very quite at the same time which was perfect for us. ps: Give a try to the roof bar.

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2016

    7.9
    The rooms are spacious, modern, clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    We booked a car at arrival from airport, it didnt show up and we ended having to take a taxi.We asked a wake call since our flight was 5:00am, what didnt happen. No much explanation from the hotel. Overall, staff is friendly and open to help, but there is room for more training in all of them, with some exception, as for example a filipino waiter named July, wich was very atencious and helpfull. Breakfast is fine, with options of asian and western, but could be improved with fresh fruit juices instead of bottled and more options of cheese, pancakes, ie.

    The rooms are spacious, modern, clean. It is located 5 min walk from the beautiful Kata beach, close to good restaurants. The hotel is not luxurious, but offer good conditions for a comfortable stay, cost-fair. They also have some restaurant at a place called Palm Square which is very convenient and nice enviroment to eat or drink .

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2016

    9.2
    A huge thank you to staff and management who made our stay...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Just a small inconvenience but we would have appreciated a king size bed instead of two twins pushed together. Although breakfast was good we would have appreciated a larger selection at breakfast but that may be because we stayed 30 days.

    A huge thank you to staff and management who made our stay absolutely memorable. Dinner at the associated Palm Square was amazing! The courtesy shuttle to and from Palm Square was truly appreciated. Don't forget to check out 7th Heaven! It is the perfect place to unwind with friends or to just relax and enjoy the amazing views.

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2016

    9.6
    We were a large group (family of about 8) staying for a few...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Cocktails need work, beeakfast~cover foods, rooftop bar needs to be better staffed and stocked (so many orders not available). The staff were hardworking and friendly though. . Overall, everyone thought it was a great place to stay for the 2 weeks.

    We were a large group (family of about 8) staying for a few weeks. We had 4 rooms next to each other. 3 of them opened into a semi-private pool. Bar staff were friendly. Breakfast was good (except for so many flies- should cover the fruit). The location is great. Its in a nice area close to beach and many restaurants (all walking distance). The hotel restaurant looks nice but they don't advertise it at all. We didnt eat there much. Its also much more expensive than others in kata.

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2016

    10
    Our group had 3 pool rooms in all and they placed us all at...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Service was a little slow at the pool bar, there wasnt always an attendant there, didn't bother me too much, but it might bother other people.

    Our group had 3 pool rooms in all and they placed us all at the same pool which was great! Pools were looked after and cleaned every morning from what i could see. Rooftop bar was a lovely place to relax. Staff were very friendly, especially Om and Pet (hope I've spelled those OK). Breakfast was lovely, everything very fresh, good selection. Short walk to the beach and bars and Restaurants. Before going I heard the hill was horrible up to the hotel, but its not bad, only steep for a few steps. Highly recommend this hotel for location as well as quality!

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2016

    9.6
    Had a pool room,definitely worth the bit extra.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Nothing that i didnt like about this hotel but the Pool bar wasn't great but I heard they are doing that up.

    Had a pool room,definitely worth the bit extra. Rooms were big,very clean,comfortable bed,fridge with free minibar.great location,staff were very friendly,especially Om!

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2016

    8.8
    The location of the Hotel is very good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    This seem to be an issue at every hotel we stayed at and probably due to a language barrier, but I believe the staff could assist more with advice on the best methods of transfer, places to visit etc.

    The location of the Hotel is very good. We had a room on the 9th floor looking out on the ocean. The staff was helpful and friendly. Good variety at breakfast. Our room was clean, fairly well equipped and quite big compared to other hotels we stayed at.

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2016

    9.6
    The hotel was very clean, and had beautiful view to the sea.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The hotel was very clean, and had beautiful view to the sea. The room is nice and the bed is huge;) It is located 4-5 min walk from the beach, and 1-3 min walk to the restaurants. We spent there 10 days of our honeymoon and it was perfect. Anyone who would like to spend a nice time I highly recommend. The breakfast was very tasty and lot of choice

  • Reviewed: 24 December 2015

    8.8
    Very nice , 5 min to Kata Beach, close to stores and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The hotel is on a litlle hill, but it is not for persons how have problems with the steps. If you have such problemas is not for you !

    Very nice , 5 min to Kata Beach, close to stores and restaurants. hotel is realy a 4 stars, with pools in stairs , that flow one to another. The rooms are realy big, the arhitect was very original but not in an usual way. Some rooms have separte enter to the pool and same have the bath on the balcony !!! very good deal 50 euro / night with breakfast incl. ( very good breakfast ).

  • Reviewed: 21 December 2015

    7.5
    Breakfast excellent with varieties, fresh juices and fruits,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Too long walk to rooms from lobby, limited lifts, scary mountain without footpath to walk from road to hotel.

    Breakfast excellent with varieties, fresh juices and fruits, bread was soft and fresh. Rooms was clean, hot water, AC, quiet place and private swimming pools. All facilities around and walking distance from beach.

  • Reviewed: 9 December 2015

    7.5
    Room was great, view of the pool and beach.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Pool area was small and never saw a staff member at the bar, it wasn't clear whether you could buy drinks there or not .

    Room was great, view of the pool and beach. Cleaned every day. Breakfast had a large selection, always fresh. Included an egg station. Staff friendly and helpful.

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2015

    10
    Absolutely loved it!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The only thing I didn't really like was the layout of the hotel - we were staying right at the very top so had to walk up heaps of stairs and steep ramps to get to our room! BUT the view from the top is amazing and it was good to get some exercise!

    Absolutely loved it! Great location - less than 5 minute walk from the beach, heaps of restaurants and markets! Staff were very friendly and helpful. Rooms were clean, modern and spacious and pools were always clean as well! Definitely recommend :)

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2015

    9.6
    Everything was great and very welcoming!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The wifi in my room was very poor, but in the outdoor facilities and in the lobby was great.

    Everything was great and very welcoming! The room very clean, choice of breakfast wonderful...the beach is very near, about 5 minutes walk! Would very much recommend this hotel!

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2015

    10
    Everything about this hotel was excellent the staff were...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Everything about this hotel was excellent the staff were amazin the facilities were great the breakfast was exceptional the room was absolutely outstanding and my family throughly enjoyed our holiday here.

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2015

    9.6
    Location is the best at Kata - near the beach (5 min), on...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    To get top floor you need use an elevator - we found it at our last day :) Wi-Fi worked very slow...

    Location is the best at Kata - near the beach (5 min), on the hill with great view on Kata mein street (Club Med) - you need room at the top floor (3203, for ex). The rersonal is very polite and frendly! The stuff is very polite and frendly! Service is on good level! Pool is pleasant for swimming when there are waves (and they were!)... The hotel provides you with a towel for beach and a backpack :) Will stop here next time again! Thanks!

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2015

    9.6
    The location is amazing, the view is great, Breakfast was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The location is amazing, the view is great, Breakfast was sensational every morning, loved the omelettes made to order, the staff were very accommodating.

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2015

    10
    The layout of the hotel is amazing, can be overwhelming at...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Had some incidents in the breakfast room, but that was quickly sorted out. Also had an incident on check-out regarding a laundry bag which is part and parcel of the room.

    The layout of the hotel is amazing, can be overwhelming at times, and the potential is incredible.

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2015

    9.2
    The 7th Heaven Bar is really amazing and great with the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The working hours for The 7th Heaven Bar should be longer, this bar is one of the best reason to stay in this hotel. The breakfast should be more variety.

    The 7th Heaven Bar is really amazing and great with the seaview and kata town. The location is convenient to shops and beach. My room was huge and modern decoration with beautiful seaview. Beside, all staff in this hotel very helpful and great services they are provided. I'm highly recommend for those who seeking peace and calm hotel, is highly great place to release stress and escape for weekend trip.

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2015

    10
    It's a great location with a beautiful swimming pool and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    It's a great location with a beautiful swimming pool and facilities, and extremely friendly and helpful staff. It's the third time I've stayed in the hotel and I have always been looked after very well and thoroughly enjoyed my stays. Kata beach is only a 5 minute walk and is great.

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2015

    4.6
    Price was fairly cheep.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    5 minute walk to the room from the lobby including 2 elevators and 65 stairs, we were placed in the furthest rooms possible. They shut down the water in our room without any prior notification and when we called to ask about it the receptionist hung the phone up in our face. We had dinner at the rooftop bar, we were charged extra as if we ordered to the room, we were only told about this when we got the bill (it isn't mentioned anywhere that you need to pay more). The food took forever to arrive and when it finally did it was already cold. Bed was uncomfortable and the pillows were way to big to sleep on.

    Price was fairly cheep. Pretty close to the beach.

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2015

    10
    The friendliness of the staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No Australian cable channel.

    The friendliness of the staff. The cleanliness of the room and facilities. The plans for future improvement. Free Wi-Fi.

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2015

    9.6
    Great location with easy access to the beach and all other...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Pool access is not so great from certain floors

    Great location with easy access to the beach and all other fun places that a typical traveler expects to explore and experience in Phuket.

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2015

    10
    Well located (4min walk to the main Kata beach and 7min walk...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Wifi wasn't really working in the room but it works well from the lobby

    Well located (4min walk to the main Kata beach and 7min walk to Kata Noi more quiet), close to plenty of restaurants & small shops! Beach view, really quiet, really modern and design, amazing breakfast (lots of choice), amazing swimming pool with poolbar, room with pool access are really nice ! Big room, big bed and huge bath!Apple TV! Really friendly staff and good restaurant (room service too) and cheap!Sunset bar on the rooftop with free cocktail! Don't hesitate to go!

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2015

    10
    STAFF.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    STAFF... Friendly can't do enough to help. ( cocktails at 5 are a must as the views are amazing) ROOM.. Large very clean & modern Great value...

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2015

    9.2
    Very friendly staff, very good breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very friendly staff, very good breakfast. The hotel is in a quiet area and very close to the beach. The hotel is very nice, all the room have a view on the nice pools and over the sea (specially the high floors). The room was clean and large. We had free mini bar and extra 2 cocktails to the bar of the hotel (bar with an amazing view). Also free entrance to sauna

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2015

    10
    Really like the location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    No complaints

    Really like the location. 5 mins walk from Kata beach, 10 mins to the more quiet Kata Noi. Breakfast, lots of choice and good quality. Wifi was ok. Had a room with a balcony/pool was lovely and good value. All staff friendly and helpfull.

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2015

    10
    Location was great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Nothing!

    Location was great. Restaurants everywhere nearby. Small hill to the hotel, great exercise. very quiet. 2 min walk from the Kata beach. Free mini bar. All the staff are amazing. Great tour organiser at front desk. Spa is great value. The rooftop bar is delightful. Theres always help at every corner. You can't go wrong here.

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2015

    9.6
    The pools are amazing!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The pools are amazing! Also rooms are very clean and well equipped. Buffet breakfast is delicious. The staff are great and will do anything to help you.

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2015

    7.9
    I did like the view.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Well, I guess everything was great. But sometimes it's annoying when some of the staff doesn't understand English at all

    I did like the view. Thanks the staff for providing us the room on the 9th floor as I asked. Such a great thing to get up in the morning and watch the beautiful seashore.

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2015

    10
    Bed was comfortale.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The Spa bath, was a bit to small. big enough for 1 person. Do not get them to do your laundry,they charge on average 60 bht per item, whereby its normally 70 bht per kg. And they mixed our colours with white, making all our clothes an off yellow

    Bed was comfortale. Location great, bit of a walk up a hill, but worth it. Pool was amazing. Staff went out of their way to make sure we got what we wanted. Even when they messed up our laundry, they offered to replace everything. Helped us rent a motorbike. Overall experience was fantastic

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2015

    7.1
    This is a great new mid-sized boutique hotel with fantastic...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    We initially had trouble with our booking.com booking, though the hotel dealt with this professionally. Breakfast buffet was rather limited. Internet wifi signal strength is weak and sporadic.

    This is a great new mid-sized boutique hotel with fantastic access to Kata Beach, shops and restaurants. Rooms are large, clean and comfortable. Hotel has a nice lay-out with beautiful (though small) pools. Staff are pleasant and accommodative, though language can be a barrier.

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2016

    9.6
    room, pool, service, view, cleanliness
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    bar music from 5pm to 8pm annoying. breakfast could have been better for the price.

    room, pool, service, view, cleanliness

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2016

    10
    The location is good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The distance from lobby to room is far.

    The location is good

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2016

    9.2
    Very large rooms, great breakfast, comfy beds and lots of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Could do with some stairs up the hill to get to the hotel.

    Very large rooms, great breakfast, comfy beds and lots of swimming pools.

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2016

    7.9
    Room was nice, location is good, they could pay a little...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Room was nice, location is good, they could pay a little more attention to details.

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2016

    10
    Everything was perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Everything was perfect. Rooms were modern and clean. Next time I will choose same place!

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2016

    10
    cleanliness, location, styling
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    cleanliness, location, styling

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2016

    8.3
    breakfast was very good !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    nothing

    breakfast was very good ! stayed in 4 rooms &all good .therooftop bar is great for sunset view &staff very friendly

There are also 11 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Sugar Palm Grand Hillside traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: