Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Sugar Marina Resort - ART - Karon Beach 4 stars

542/1 Patak Road, Karon Beach, Muang, 83100 Karon Beach, Thailand

#34 of 76 hotels in Karon Beach

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 574 hotel reviews

7.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.7

  • Comfort

    7.9

  • Location

    8.8

  • Facilities

    7.6

  • Staff

    7.8

  • Value for money

    7.7

  • Free WiFi

    6.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    9.2
    Enjoyed this hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Enjoyed this hotel. Quirky art on the entrance lobby and rooms. Enjoyed the breakfast. Very affordable hotel in a great location in Karon. Nothing fancy but ticks all the boxes for a great stay.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2018

    10
    Modern hotel, with great food and friendly staffs.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Modern hotel, with great food and friendly staffs. The room was great and loved how everything was so good. I enjoyed my time staying there. Would definitely stay here again next time.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    6.7
    1) My booking was from 25 till 30 th June.
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    1) My booking was from 25 till 30 th June. I paid full amount at check -in. Then i changed my check - out to 27th. Hotel refunded money after several days. Verr late 2) mi operators in the hotel. I call to Hotel numbers, ko answer.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    6.7
    Bedrooms nice and clean,quick check in
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Pool View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not a good range of warm english breakfast food and what there was was always good. Would stay again with the breakfast not included option

    Bedrooms nice and clean,quick check in

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    6.7
    Whilst a nice hotel and location close to beach, the reception staff are disappointing and let the d
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were not friendly or helpful. I notified on my booking would be arriving in the morning and would appreciate an early check in. Waited 7 hours to be let into our room. We Sat / Slept in the reception the whole time waiting, staff did not communicate with us at all and did not care to inform us where we could use a toilet or get something to eat or drink. In a hotel of its size, i do not believe that there wasnt a room available for us to go into.

    Great location and nicely decorated hotel

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    5.4
    slightly worn out and overstretched staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Stayed at Sugar Marina few times in the past and the hotel staff have always been super friendly and helpful. However, it seems as though they've had a lot of new people at the reception who were not really friendly. The service got a lot worse as well, I'd requested some extra water on couple of occasions to be brought up to the room but it never arrived so I was forced to go to the shop across the road. The hotel got bigger than what it used to be but the number of staff did not increase proportionally so they seem overstretched most of the time, particularly during check-in/check-out times Overall a bit disappointing compared to previous stays

    Really like the pool view rooms although they are quite worn out these days. The location is great with very short walk to the restaurants and the beach.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    8.3
    Free mini bar and breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Pool View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Little dirty but not to much.

    Location near beach and restoraunt. Breakfast was great and lot of stufs to eat. Various food, from European to Thai. Free mini bar every day!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    10
    Well!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    In night time, Music noise is too much cause of hotel location I prefer see side, It is my personal chose.But If you want use swimming pool, it is not very well!

    good designed room good location for see side and restaurants

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    7.1
    Disappointed but manageable
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 20 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The photos on booking.com are not accurate to the hotel especially the pool area the children’s play area has lots of rust, a lot of the sun loungers are damaged when we went to our room was not very clean there was dust on all wall art bath tap was broken but the did fix the next day the shower doors was very dirty with water marks bits and pieces around the Hotel was not good , we booked this hotel because of the photos of the rooms looked so nice but the are not accurate I believe they were taking when the hotel was built but they are not like that now , WiFi was rubbish had to sit in bathroom to use WiFi

    Staff ,location , breakfast and pool was good

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    7.5
    Very average, but nothing bad.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Will not rate the hotel as an four star. When checking out the hairdryer cover was missing. If look at the hairdryer it was not possible to put the hairdryer in that specific cover. The hairdryer was also different from the other rooms. I just paid for the cover, as we did not even use the hairdryer. Just frustrating when staff and management cannot put it together that there is a problem and that we where not responsible for the lost cover. Did previously stayed at the Best Western hotel next door and was in all aspects better than the Sugar Marina ART

    The breakfast was good. Nothing to get excited about the hotel. Very average.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    8.3
    Nice hotel, good breakfast, lacked English speaking staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is no airport shuttle or at least we couldn't book it. Price was high but we stayed during the high season.

    Comfortable hotel, nice staff, they didn't speak English well

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    7.1
    Lovely.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Pool Access
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We wanted a poolside room and we were placed in the older part of the resort initially. Large room with pool access, but it was really tired! The shower was moudly and did not work properly and the access to the room was a long dimly lit yuk corridor. There was no ladder into the pool and the railings were rusty. Overall it definitely was not worth the money we paid; SO, we asked to be moved into the newer part and we could move the following day. The staff were lovely, the new part was nice; very small pool and often filled with noise in the afternoons, but the room was much nicer. The breakfasts were not fantastic, but we were determined to have a great time which we did!

    Great location

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    8.3
    Enjoyed are stay but the staff in the restaurant need to be pulled into line.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel restaurant were we had breakfast daily was bad.food was cold and not replace. Tables were left dirty and staff were uninterested and not friendly. Very disappointing.

    Location was great close to beach entertainment food.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    6.3
    Art Pass-ay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The buggars on the walls need to be scraped off. Gross.

    I love the Russian Gulag atmosphere. The rock bands playing outside my window until 1am was a real plus because I didn't have to move from my bed to enjoy all their 1980s music. They took the Art theme very seriously. I don't think they painted the halls or the wall of my room in the past 85 years.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2018

    4.2
    To never back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel in general is very poorly maintained, dirty, the location is terrible, horrible place. 4 stars? Where's the fourth? At breakfast there is only one kind of sugar, cheese does not exist. With the exception of the front desk personnel, no one else speaks English. They gave us a horrible room and after 3 days I managed to change for a better one however the bathroom stall was filthy. The hotel is divided into new building and old building and in the old the walls are filthy. In the restaurant where they serve the breakfast the walls are also filthy.

    Super king bed, front desk staff very nice. Thanks for Mr.Pon and Mrs Dao to make my stay more confortable.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2018

    8.3
    Wonderful location and a wide range of restaurant choices nearby
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room with Pool Access
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Hotel room is little bit rundown and could be better maitained.

    Walking distance to the nearby Karon beach and various stores & restaurants provides great convenience for hotel guests. Breakfast is well served with plenty of choices. In all, it will no doubt a wise choice to stay here if your holiday destination is Karon beach.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 December 2017

    3.3
    It's a miserable hotel, they don't deserve that kind of money,its Max 3 stars hotel,
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything! The breakfast buffet was sub-par, the rooms have no closets or dressers, the bathroom has a free standing sink with no counter space, many of the staff was unfriendly and seemed annoyed that we tried to speak English, the entire area caters mostly to Russians, the "fitness center" is four machined and some weights, the "beach view" is 95% obstructed, don't buy the package including dinner - it is a joke, they give you a coupon to the restaurant around the corner where they give you mini portions.. We literally counted and the soup i ordered was 7 Tablespoons - Disgusting.

    Nothing

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2017

    5.8
    Great location but average hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We booked a transfer via reception but we were then advised to organise our own taxi at last minute (although this was easy enough to do on arrival at the airport and was cheaper than hotel transfer) We also booked a room specifically with a balcony which we didn't receive. Instead it was some odd sliding window arrangement that looked onto a wall at the back of the hotel. It was furnished with a hard wooden bench sharing the same space as the bathroom except for a semi transparent glass panel - I'm all for industrial design but we nicknamed it the prison cell as it had that ambience and was very depressing! Also not ideal trying to focus on your book whilst your partner is sat on the loo in front of you!! The bedroom itself was small but clean and comfortable with good a/c, bed and complementary water. Wifi patchy and repeatedly had to log in. Breakfast busy and uninspired. This was the most expensive hotel we've stayed in so far and offered the least value for money. We are now in khao lak in a stunning five star resort that has cost £15 a night less. Would say three star at the most. Big no no was that the sliding 'balcony' screen didn't lock so our room couldn't be secured at all. Not stayed anywhere else in Phuket to compare standards and costs but we wouldn't stay at a sugar hotel again. Big chain hotel with big churn of guests and not much character or feeling of being looked after as an individual guest.

    Great location and in easy walking distance of the beach, main strip for bars and good restaurants and night market. Room was a little tired around edges but clean and comfortable. Corridors had a feeling of a hostel rather than hotel. Pool was pristine and warm and nice surrounding pool area. Staff were polite and welcoming on arrival and departure.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2017

    4.6
    Horrible
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 21 nights

    There basically isn't much in favour that I can say about this property,for starters I didn't get the room advertised on the internet and 75% of rooms advertised simply arnt available,some don't even have a balcony,neither is the all day in house restaurant,or the fully stocked bar simply doesn't exist .Food at breakfast time was limited,little variation and service units left empty for long periods.The worst experience iv'e had to date in Thailand and I have travelled here for 10years.

    The clean air conditioned room,thats about it really.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 November 2017

    10
    Staff could speak more English.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff could speak more English. It was hard to communicate with them. We asked for an iron and they could not get one so had to go out with crinkled clothes

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2017

    9.2
    Great location hotel right in the heart of the town and very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Not much to complain about here - the pool was a bit small but the beach is close by.

    Great location hotel right in the heart of the town and very close to the beach. Every facility is right on hand. Nice room and bathroom :-) Decent breakfast too.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2017

    7.9
    Bed was extremely comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff weren't altogether friendly Housekeeping would nearly chase you out of the room if you were still in it when they wished to clean! Kept having to log back into WIFI

    Bed was extremely comfortable. Good air conditioning Cleaned everyday and restocked mini bar

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2017

    5.8
    Great location, some tlc and attention to detail needed. Great when building work has finished!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The fixtures and fittings are very worn and desperate for some tlc. There was a plate of food left in the corridor outside our room for several days. It was unfortunate that building work prevented us from being able to relax on the balcony or at the pool. But the hotel has huge potential.

    The bed was fantastic, great blackout curtains and great goodies in the fridge.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    7.5
    Some of the staff are very friendly and helpful, we arrived...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were living on the ground floor, found a huge flying cockroach and had to catch it for staff to remove, when I explained to one of the staff, he didn't seem care about it, blank facial expression, no apology given. The day before we leave, found another intruder, a small mouse, unable to catch it, notified another receptionist, he was very helpful, apologised and swapped room for us straight away. However, before swapping the room, two staff were sent to catch the mouse, couldn't find it, the two staff looked at us, kind of thinking we were lying, made me a bit angry. However, the staff from the reception came over and smiling all the time, helped with the moving, remained nice and friendly

    Some of the staff are very friendly and helpful, we arrived really late at night, they were waiting for us and accommodated our request. Spacious room, complimentary drinks and snacks in the fridge, walking distance to beach and many restaurants.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    9.6
    Highly recommended! Great location - an absolutely enjoyable stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Our stay was made even more pleasurable by Namwan the attentive front office staff member and his lovely trainee, Sunny - they were exceptional in their service Thank you!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    10
    A++
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Can't think of anything. Evrything was actually amazing. Just getting there was a bit of a mission as the taxi driver got lost. But other than that it was top notch.

    Amazingly beautiful place. Nice and clean, big room and Awsome. Staff. The breakfast was amazing. The room was really nice and MASSIVE bed! Awsome nice and lovely pools with a beach view. Close to really almost evrything. Was Awsome being able to go to the beach with any notice.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    9.2
    I recommend
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    some stains on the sofa in room, the breakfast was just OK. not exceptional as no cheese and has more Thai products and sweets.

    it excellent location, with nice pool and nice staff. bed was comfy, free mini bar and facility to take beach towels etc. i recommend

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    7.9
    good value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Pool View
    • Stayed 13 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor Wifi connection, rooms and hallways in the old building need to be a bit of refreshing.

    Perfect location, close to the beach, shops and restaurants. Friendly staff, clean rooms, good value for money.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    6.7
    You need to spend in order to make money! Time for renovation !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    •Time for maintenance and renovation. I'd be happy to be more for a clean room • It is Too noisy, you can hear next door guest brushing their teeth, flushing toilet...etc

    Location

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2017

    7.5
    value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Space of the room was small Staff were slow on their response and not very cooperative The pictures of the hotel looks more beautiful and larger than the reality No one was there to help in moving the laguagges during the arrival and departure

    Price was good Very clean The wifi service was good The location of the hotel is good The beds were very convenient and made me have good sleep

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2017

    9.6
    Great stay, close to the beach
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Not really an issue but there was no lock on the bathroom door, it is literally just a sliding door

    Great location (very close to the shops, restaurants and the beach) and amenities (ie. provided a mat, flip flops for the beach), very clean and complimentary minibar that is restocked daily. We stayed in a room with a sea view so whilst it was very close to the shops, we weren't affected by any noise. We didn't eat at the hotel so have no comments on the food and the interaction that we had with the hotel staff was pleasant.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2017

    7.9
    Sugar ART
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The bathroom is tiny and there is no closet or wardrobe in the room.

    The location of the hotel is good, near the beach and the main road, where you can find restaurants, bars and shops.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    7.1
    Upon arrival ice cream was given.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room with Pool Access
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were told check in was at 2pm. We arrived at 2:20 and had to wait around 20 mins as ouf rooms were not ready. They then asked if we could all stay in 1 room as the 2nd room we havebooked was yet to be cleaned. In total it was about an hour after arriving that we were all in our rooms.

    Upon arrival ice cream was given. Free mini bar also stocked everyday

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2017

    9.2
    Good location, clean modern hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Must be doing refurbishments at the hotel so was when we arrived we couldn't find the reception desk as it was in a new building but not really a complaint.

    Excellent breakfast and nice touch with the free ice cream on arrival. We had a late flight so staff kindly let us check out later and we were offered a room to use for a shower before leaving. Nice room too.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    8.3
    I read the reviews before visiting the hotel and was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Pool View
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I came at 11 o'clock and asked to prepare my room as soon as possible, so I wouldn't wait until 14 pm, but they refused. Moreover, my room became available for me only around 14:30

    I read the reviews before visiting the hotel and was expecting something disappointing there. But actually hotel is pretty perfect. We were staying in a new building, pool view rooms. It was neet and clean. Beds - A+. Every day I was leaving 20 baht for rooms service and honestly speaking my room was cleaned much better than my friends' ones.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2017

    9.6
    Great location at Karon. Worth your money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing much to complain.

    Perfect location. Very close to Karon Beach, lots of street food, restaurants and bars just few steps nearby. They even provides free soft drink, a can of Chang Beer and a bar of Snickers in the mini fridge! Cleanliness top condition. I wished to stay longer.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2017

    8.3
    Top Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The staff seemed to be bored and annoyed when we asked for something.. which made us a bad impression.

    Top Location, only 2 min by walk to the beach! The breakfast was great, there was Thai buffet and also European food for those who don't like the local cuisine! Our room was clean, but the hotel may give a neglected overall appearance such as dirty mirror in the elevator and dirty glass doors at the entrance.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2017

    8.8
    Nice place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Pool View
    • Stayed 13 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi is sooooo sloooowww... The staff knows only some very basic English so it's not easy sometimes to get along and get what you need. Room cleaning could be better - especially the floors. Furniture and equipment are kind of old and worn.

    Great location- close to the sea. Swiming pool is clean and tidy. Breakfasts include a variety of fruits,vegetables, eggs in different styles and soups with home-made noodles.m

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2017

    5.8
    Average at best
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Reception staff were very unhelpful. Corridors and public areas were awful Beds are very hard but this seems to be the normal in Thailand Ithis hotel certainly doesn't live up to the reviews and the creative photography you see on line!!!

    Pool was goog and always Su beds. Breakfast was good with a reasonable selection. Rooms were very clean

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2017

    7.5
    Offbeat interior design that seeks to be different
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The breakfast that comes included with our room was excellent. That is, if you arrive early, of course. Towards the end of the breakfast timing it was apparent the staff were overworked, what with the dirty dishes on the tables and the faintly dour looks on their faces. Nonetheless the breakfast spread was good!

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2017

    10
    you can pay more for worse. Good value
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Nothing

    Great spot to stay. Quiet after hours although close to bars and live music. Great Thai and western food nearby. Great night out at Kenny's Aussie bar. Very close to beach. Beach towels supplied also neach mat to sit on. Massage close by.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2017

    3.8
    Never again this hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room with Pool Access
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Check-in is from 2pm, we arrived at 3pm and they told us we have to wait, because our room is not ready yet, but could not exactly say for how long. While still waiting after 30 min passed, I had to keep going to the reception to ask if there is any news, the staff could not care less and did not even apologise that we had to wait like an hour. The room is totally worn out, especially the bathroom, my bedding was dirty with stains and blood drops, totally disgusting, but they changed it after I asked. On the second night, we found 8 (!) cats on our ground floor balcony, sitting on our stuff that we hanged. We found out that these cats are living in the laundry room just next to our room, which is totally unacceptable with guests who have allergy etc. Went to report this to staff and asked them to help with removing the cats, again no apologies from their side and they even failed to send someone over.... Try to avoid this hotel, if possible!

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2017

    7.1
    The staff need to be more respectful
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Pool View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staffs are all kinda of cold, checkin and check out all with very cold face, not welcoming at all!

    Very good location, close to everything, and the Karon beach is much better also. We live in the ground floor, so easy to go to the poor, just need to cross from our balcony. And equipment Is good.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2017

    10
    Not good review for booking.false pictures.they give you difrent options of rooms.thanks to hotel st
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not good review for booking.com.false pictures.they give you different options on room pictures .thank to hotel staff i get good one.buildings.one old not good.other new excellent !

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2017

    7.1
    I would stay here again if I come Karon beach again...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    new building should have been mentioned in the intro, nowhere in the bathroom for putting your staff, extreme small, no wardrobe

    location is excellent, breakfast is good a lot of variety, refilled minibar was good, big umbrella, slippers in the room beach shelter are good details

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2017

    6.3
    Central location to reach Patong or Kata
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Is not as nice and new as in the photos: moulds around the sink, unpainted patches on the walls, super loud AC, smelly wardrobe and WC from humidity. Also had to ask for a complete change of the sheets as there were lots of stains on them.

    Central location to reach Patong or Kata

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2017

    2.9
    Avoid this hotel, worst hotel experience.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    To put it simply, this was the worst hotel experience I've ever had in memory. I'm shocked this hotel has such a high score on booking.com as this site's ratings usually represent hotels pretty well. I clicked on a few and realized some seemed to be fake reviews with the user only having one review. I'll start from the beginning. We arrive around 11pm and are tired and just hoping to check in and relax for the night. We had four nights booked. As soon as we get there, my wife already has a bad feeling with the appearance of everything in the lobby. FYI, we've both backpacked in our twenties and aren't the most picky type when it comes to accommodations, we still think value is important though and we should get what we paid for. The two guys behind the counter look nervous for some reason and I begin to see that one seems to be using amphetamines (probably Yaba). He's really twitchy, anxious, dilated pupils and clearly high. I don't want to get in to detail but I know what being high on amphetamines looks like and the dude was high. The other guy seems to just want to do the right thing and hates his coworker who seems to be his superior. The superior tells us the credit card machine is not working and that we have to leave our passports with them. I refuse to and then he says, our other option is that we have to pay the entire stay upfront in cash. I don't like the idea of giving him my passport and I don't like the idea of giving him cash especially that I see he is probably high on drugs. The whole time the two are arguing in Thai and talking in Thai, it seems like one just wants to do the right thing while the other keeps telling him to keep his mouth shut and listen to him. Already, we're thinking, what the hell kind of hotel and hotel check in is this, everything seems so shady.

    The location and pool were ok, everything was extremely poor.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2017

    7.1
    Excellent location, good hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Pool View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Staff weren't very visible, and the reception isn't clearly marked. Parts of the hotel also looked a little run down.

    Excellent location and a nice big pool. Good rooms, which are well cleaned each day. Free minibar.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2017

    8.8
    The location is great, close to the beach and little bit far...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Pool View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was small and there wasn't a closet in the room.

    The location is great, close to the beach and little bit far from the road, so quiet. The new building has very clean rooms, good view, the staff was very nice, teapot, coffee, tea inside the room.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2017

    6.7
    Acceptable but you can find more for less. I do not recommend a long stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 12 nights

    Without checking the room as you arrive you have to pay! Never seen it before!!! The stuff is not able to speak English. They can only argue some standard sentences but if you need more you are died. In the booking picture, only the front hotel is visible… but you can get also a room in the other side. On this side no air conditioning (from 18:30 to 6:00), horrible view and no balcony. As I planned a long stay they offered me another room but they tried to take me up offering another one with a roof view for convincing that there wasn’t more available… Means if you plane more days ask for it previously and keep in mind that they have more buildings. They can change the room “if they want”. I had to leave one day early but even they were informed (7 days before) no coupon/alternative has been offered. I know is my fault but in other hotels you do not get money back but one dinner coupon...

    Good Breakfast, good location, swimming pool and drinks in the room for free.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2017

    9.2
    Very nice and pleasant stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some notes to the staff, not really complains. If they fix this it would be a10 😏 Shower temperature not stable, it went from hot to cold in both the rooms we had. Air-condition was to cold and we couldn't get it right so it couldn't stay on during the night. I had to get out of bed a few time's to put it on and out because there's no remote control for it. The sun chairs at the pool need to be replaced, the most are broken.

    Nice staff, breakfast buffet, clean, nice bed's, mini bar is really great. Swimming pool.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2017

    7.9
    Comfortable stay by beach at karon
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small pool area Tiny gym

    Comfortable well appointed rooms Nice view ( from sea view room) Umbrellas / beach towels / beach mats/ free mini bar all provided

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 December 2016

    9.6
    Fantastic stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Pool View
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The wifi is rather slow. The breakfast should have more variety.

    The hotel is located at a terrific area, near the Karon beach, eateries and minimarts. Staff are friendly and always greet hotel guests. Room is cleaned everyday. Free mini bar too. Great!

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2016

    5.8
    Different from online photos
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Be careful, it is not like the photos you see online. Very old building with plumbing problems. Water pressure at fourth floor is ver low, impossible to take shower. When I raised this issue, staff tried to convince me that it is normal. They advised me to wait for the water. When I insist, they showed me a room in the first floor looking into a concrete wall, smelling humid. They said it was the only available room. Then I wanted to check out. They tried to arrenge another hotel (another sugar marine hotel) in Kata beach. Afterwards they realized that they have another available room at third floor with pool view. That Room was ok... Breakfast is good. Pool is great. Wifi is crap. Towels are old and warn.

    Swimming pool and free mini bar (one beer, one coke, one snickers, one juice, two bottles of water)

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2016

    9.6
    The location is very convenient.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It's quite humid in a room. There has a construction site in front of hotel (but it's not noisy at all).

    The location is very convenient. just walk 3 mins to Karon beach! Staff is very nice and willing to help. Mini-bar is giving for free and refill everyday. They also has a mat for using at the beach! Very worthy!!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2016

    4.6
    building site, avoid!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Pool View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    place is a building site, building noise all day. You have to walk down the street to get breakfast, this was not mentioned before booking. The photos of the gym are wrong, the gym has 3 pieces of cardio equipment and that is all. Poor attitude of staff, they don't move from behind the desk, and not helpful when booking taxis. My taxi back to the airport was booked 30 minutes late with no apology or explanation. will not recommend and will not stay here again.

    location was good, close to beach.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2016

    10
    value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    holiday could have been longer but not the hotels fault.

    the room was excellent. clean and large. Bathroom had bath and separate shower. Mini bar was free and replenished each day. Construction work nearby but room very quiet. I rate this hotel very good value for money. Interesting Art work in and around hotel property.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2016

    8.3
    The pool, the location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Pool View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The air conditioning didn't dehumidify, very humid inside the room, if air conditioning temperature wasn't set at 19 it condensed on floor

    The pool, the location

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2018

    10
    Everything about this place is AMAZING!
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything about this place is AMAZING!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    9.2
    Plug near bedside table is not available
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Plug near bedside table is not available

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    8.8
    Good location , just 2 min walk to the beach and street food.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good location , just 2 min walk to the beach and street food.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    8.8
    The location and facilities are excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff doesn't speak english super well, so that sometimes I would find it hard to communicate.

    The location and facilities are excellent.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    5.8
    Wouldn’t stay again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff! Very unhelpful and rude

    Room was very clean

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    10
    Great stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Swmimming pool a little small and maybe some in house entertainment. With a possible pool side bar

    Easy access to local bars beaches and shops

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    9.2
    Excellent stay for 2 nights! Would recommend to a friend !
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The mental bars around the pool gets very hot and dangerous to hold onto

    Great

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    5.4
    location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    facility & staff is very late checkin

    location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    8.8
    near beach,clean
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    too many mosquitoes

    near beach,clean

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    8.3
    We had a very good stay but were not given the correct spec of room when we arrived but were moved c
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 14 nights

    When I paid the price was more than when I booked on booking.com I assume this was the exchange rate they were giving?

    Pool and staff plus location

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2018

    5.8
    It was ok , location was the best thing
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not much variety and it seemed once things ran out they never replenished

    The breakfast was nice

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    10
    Clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Clean.staff .location

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2018

    9.2
    Quite place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Quite place. Near to the beach.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2018

    5.0
    My stay at Karon.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel very near the crowded town.

    Close to the beach. The breakfast buffet.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2017

    8.8
    very close to beach.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Not too many food choices around

    very close to beach. Massage shops very near.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2017

    7.9
    Very good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Air condition is too loud.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2017

    10
    Nice hotel with a great location, close to the beach (3mins)
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    no proper swimming pool

    Location was great, 3mins to the beach

    Stayed in December 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: