Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Sunset Beach Resort 4 stars

316/2 Phrabaramee Rd., Phuket, 83150 Patong Beach, Thailand

#311 of 391 hotels in Patong Beach

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 413 hotel reviews

7.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.1

  • Comfort

    7.4

  • Location

    7.2

  • Facilities

    7.2

  • Staff

    7.3

  • Value for money

    7.4

  • Free WiFi

    6.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    5.0
    Bad food spoil holiday
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food we ate gave us food poisoning.My wife and I develop a tummy bug after having dinner.The chicken rice must have been off.Staff makes as if they don't understand English.The shuttle driver arrogant and miserable.

    The beach opposite the hotel.The location very quiet.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    6.3
    Good for a few days but not over a week.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 15 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The travel agent was terrible rude and a rip off , the manager was usless and they gave out our room infomation and passport details to a stranger!!

    The beds a staff member named pat and the pool

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    9.6
    The best place to be in phuket. great food and hospitality.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    nothing not to like

    the people make the place a memory to cherish. They are not fluent in English I must say but they will make your stay a memorable one. Prang and Nan the lovely ladies at the cocktail bar go the extra mile in ensuring you have the drink of you liking and choice. it felt like being at home with such warm staff.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    10
    Awesome breakfast especially the local food.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Awesome breakfast especially the local food. Out of the busy city but easy to get around. The free shutttle every half an hour to Patong was a bonus! Would definitly stay here again

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    7.5
    Stay at Sunset Beach
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff is not friendly and the driver of the shuttle is not service orientated. The porter whose name is Pat. He is the nicest person at the resort.

    I loved the location and close proximity to Patong Beach.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    7.1
    breakfast was good but meals weren't so great, rooms...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 10 nights

    hotel is old and not very clean

    breakfast was good but meals weren't so great, rooms were good but linen had stains room not cleaned properly floor never moped just swept with broom, constant power cuts staff were great but need to learn English but overall great views beach just across the road not that I saw anybody swim there shuttle bus was great for going into town but driver didn't know any English overall I would rate 6/10

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    3.3
    The pool is beautiful and the location of the hotel is great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We made arrangements with the hotel to collect us - the transfer was fine but the driver took a long time to pick us up. When we got to the hotel we had to wait an extra hour to check into our hotel. The rooms were not ready. Staff are so unfriendly. Very impersonal and really didn't help us at all. The breakfast was OK but the waiters were not helpful - not hospitable at all. The pool is beautiful and the location of the hotel is great. Everything else needs allot of work.

    The pool is beautiful and the location of the hotel is great. Everything else needs allot of work.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    5.0
    Stayed for the pool
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The busy, loud and dangerous road between the property and the beach, hidden on the well taken presentation photos. The dangerous road, no curb at all, to reach center forces to use shuttle or taxis. The beach in front is not nice at all, lots of rocks prevent from enjoying a swim there.

    The pool

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    10
    The stay was enjoyable because everyone at Hotel was so friendly and polite.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Being so far from the pool area.

    The food at the restaurant was very good, and the staff was excellent in looking after our needs. The bar service was also good.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    5.4
    The hotel was the single biggest disappointment of an otherwise wonderful trip.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Pool View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rude staff, heavily photoshopped ads make the place look WAY better than reality, consistently awful and overpriced food from the hotel.

    Decent WiFi and good aircon.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    8.3
    Comfortable, Clean, Convenient.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Our room, 3rd floor on the road front, had a lot of traffic noise late into the night.

    Registration was easy. Bed was ENORMOUS! (And the standard Phuket firmness.) Breakfast was plentiful and delicious. Staff were delightful and spoke good English. Close to the beach. Away from the madding crowds but close enough for a visit

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    10
    Perfect stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    1.5 km from pataong central where all the action happens. If you have a vehicle then this isn't a problem. Also, the hotel provides free shuttle which is very convinient.

    Overall ambience and facilities of the hotel are top class. Not exactly Beach resort as you need to cross the road to reach the beach. Patong beach is approx. 1 km from hotel so requires bit of a walk. Rooms are clean and enough. Bathroom is clean and includes all amenities. The pool is the best thing about this hotel. Very large and the depth can go down to 1.6 m. Breakfast is buffet and includes all sorts of cuisines, right from English breakfast to Thai. Good variety. Lastly the staff are well behaved and helps. There is a bit of language problem in the entire Thailand so one needs to remain clam in coversations. Perfect place... www.madoverrunning.com

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    5.0
    The hotel was doing maintenance to the room as had to move...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was doing maintenance to the room as had to move rooms due to noise. Most important thing we didn’t like was the staff, was helpful and felt like the hotel was understaffed

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    9.2
    loved the sunsets and early mornings
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    after a long flight and travelling during the night we arrived at the hotel around 11am after dropping everyone off with the shuttle and we were the last to get off only to come to hotel to be told we have to wait until 2pm for our room which didn't start our holiday off very well

    the view from the hotel was magnificent didn't stay too long to enjoy it though

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    5.4
    Not bad for the price you pay but location to far from main activities and main beach
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Ocean view extreamly noisy during the night. You can’t get much sleep. Breakfast gets boring after awhile as same menu is offered every day

    Pool & Spa area were Ok

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    7.9
    The rooms were neat and clean and the beds comfy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The rooms were neat and clean and the beds comfy. Outdoor eating area is lovely, it was especially nice to watch the sunset from. The pad thai was really good - I had it twice during our stay! Pool area is beautiful - I wish we had rooms with a pool view!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    4.6
    After all we like the Phuket
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I like there shuttle service after every 30 minutes to walking street

    Like sea view from hotel from my room but in front of hotel there is electric wires so many that we can’t take pic and can’t see view property so expensive place and no setting They give welcome drink voucher you can use in restaurant the bad thing is welcome drink is orange which is 90 baht and the same coconut and other five drinks also the same price if you don’t like orange you can’t get other drink of the same price this is not good from the staff

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    4.6
    Will not come back
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The reception was rude. She made a face expression and sigh when she has to repeat the 2nd time on a question we asked. She spoke in her language to a male colleague and he laugh! What is that for? staff around were not friendly either! Management to look into it, "If service is not her cup of tea and she hates her job, leave!

    The sea view.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    6.7
    As is aid we have stayed there before but wont stay there again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    I really think for the money they charge, they should replace the deck where breakfast is served. The lady that sells the trips needs to be replaced, as mentioned we have stayed there several times and brought geusts on more than one occasion. We always hire a scooter this time she gave us a worn out old scooter, and had to ask for something better. She woild also not even consider any form of discount for the iseland trips, we gat a far better deal at a kiosk down the road.

    I like the location, and have stayed there several times before. the pool and pool area are stunning, its what sells the hotel. Breakfast are very good.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    7.9
    Will definitely stay there again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 10 nights

    The fact that the pool closes at 7pm could be changed, overall, reception staff can be more friendly and welcoming, might have been the language barrier, but they just seemed uninterested, cleaning staff was great!

    Overall most friendly Omelette chef that I've ever seen, don't take the chilies but do add all the other ingredients. (Chilies are too hot) Very good buffet breakfast and overall food, rooms and swimming pool were clean. Liked the shuttle to Bangla road every hour.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    7.1
    We had a great time. It's not 5 star but was good value for the money we paid.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 12 nights

    We had 3 rooms which were pretty good but some need upgrade on things like TVs etc. The shuttle service to main part of town needs some serious work the driver is not friendly at all and very unreliable

    Bed was huge and very comfortable. Pool area was great and the breakfast is good value

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    9.6
    we were overwelmed with all the facilities
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    everything was to my expectations, breakfast need more variety for indian tourist. as i do not eat beef for pork add some fish to your breakfast or lamb which i did see at all. need to add cheese as well

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    4.6
    Friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed sheet were clean but stained. The location is good, but still have to pay tuk tuk 200 THB (to 300 at night) to go to Patong beach center. Or walk 40 minutes. The breakfast see View is blocked by the van picking up clients as the road is separating the sea from the terrace.

    Friendly staff.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    9.2
    We enjoyed our 5 days at Sunset Resort.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Smoking in the breakfast area by inconsiderate hotel guests,is a real problem. Also smoking is permitted on the hotel balconies so there is always a smell of cigarettes which is annoying.

    Our room was spacious and bright with a Kingsize bed The bathroom had a good shower and a bath. We had a nice view looking down on to the pool area. Our room was away from the main road so we had no road noise. Breakfast was tasty with a great choice of food. The hotel I had great views of the beach The staff were friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2018

    2.5
    Very bad experience, would not come back again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 9 nights

    -Room are very noise as too close to main busy road. Some rooms need big maintenance to ensure well functioned. -Location is too far to everything such as beach or any entertainment area (too far to walk to any beach, the beach in front of resort could not swim due to rocky and low tide, the hotel does not have private beach) -The resort does not supply enough amenities in room (such as very limited toiletries, no hand towels, very limited sugar for tea coffee, this things cost very little but it is nicer to have enough for daily use but the resort do not care to supply a bit extra) - Staff did bad job in term of cleaning, making the room. They do very minimum job just enough to make it looks ok, however after the room is done, floor is still dusty, old bed linen is still been used.

    The only good thing at this place is big bed and well designed swimming pool however there are too many bad things so it do not worth to stay. Never come back again. Do not recommend.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2018

    5.8
    Lovely pool, great location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 11 nights

    Staff very unfriendly barring one or two members. Felt the hotel needs a good paint in the hallways . Pool towels very tired needs a refresh. Linens on beds need a refresh !!! Lack of loungers as residents would put towels down and go out , leaving few loungers for those who wanted to lounge at the pool!!!

    I would have liked more variety breakfast time ( rotating different items ie no cheese on offer, croissants were packet not fresh, muffins could have been fresh and different flavours. Eggs were lovely options. The restaurants food was tasty and good variety for dinner. Loved the pool area. It was an excellent location as out of the hectic hub but at the same time easy to get to the action. Free Shuttle to the action excellent . Excellent New Years bash!!!!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2017

    7.1
    Clean and good value for your money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shuttle service wasn’t clear and we waited several times for over an hour at the pick up point on Bangla road while the shuttle did not come. We ended up paying a lot for yuk Turks everyday.

    Value for money, clean rooms, nice property and not far from patong beach.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2017

    2.5
    It was worst stay in my life.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was so disgusting. The hotel was Very dirty, bad smell while entrance in the room. Dirty bathroom and bathroom floor. Staff wasn’t friendly. It was just waste of money. I booked for 6 nights with prepayment (Thai Bhat 27,720) but stayed one night and left the hotel. Food was also bad. My whole amount was in vein. Will never go there again.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2017

    4.2
    Terrible stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff have a terrible attitude. The worst. One day they didn't bother to clean my room. My likened were never changed my entire stay. Complaining to the front office didn't have an impact. They made my stay horrible.

    The room was very comfortable. Very huge and modern. Free shuttle to bangla road. Nice swimming pool with a happy hour. Access to the beach

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    5.0
    Not worth it
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bedding was absolutely terrible and there was an awful smell in our room (similar to that of vomit). We had friends there as well with similar experiences. One can see this could have been an amazing hotel once. Value for money was very disappointing , the adjacent beach also not great to tan or swim at.

    Nice swimming pool, breakfast is also good.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    10
    Peaceful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Random smells, but that is everywhere, most Asian countries

    People were friendly Rooms are very spacious Rooms are super clean Balcony is clean, nice view

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    4.6
    It was ok but we will not stay they again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Pool View
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was good and the food at the restaurants was good. After moving 3 times to a different room ,due to smell and safe was not bolted down to the floor in the 1st room .then to noisey In the 2 nd room . Moved once again all was good. Management was very obliging.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    8.3
    Good value for the money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Little bit more cleanliness around the property would be highly appreciated.

    Location and environment. Staffs were nice and friendly. Tour guide desk was awesome.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    9.2
    Affordable and enjoyable stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The fact that you can't swim after 19h00 and that airport shuttle is not included in price.

    Spacious rooms, breakfast, swimming pool, shuttle service.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    10
    Great price and great location...very good price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    That the charge for 3rd persons bed was not show up front in costs instead hidden on another Web page.

    The staff were very friendly and made stay very welcome.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    8.3
    Frequent shuttle "truck/ute" to Patong beach...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit old, a bit far away from main commercial area but great for value.

    Frequent shuttle "truck/ute" to Patong beach is really great! There is also a lift in the hotel which is NOT always the case in other high end or average resorts/hotels. .

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    9.2
    Nice hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    One member of staff a young lady always in pink uniform gets very angry when she repeatedly gets your order wrong and you tell her. She keeps saying that is what you order when I know otherwise.

    Pool and facilities fantastic. Good location.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2017

    7.1
    Good staff, good breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Although in front ​of sea shore, the beach immediately in front of the property is dirty. So if you're looking for some actual beach time, you have to go to other beaches.

    Breakfast was really good. The breakfast staff is very helpful. Staff in general are also very helpful. Keep up the good work.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    3.3
    Nothing
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The sheets were never changed .. always sandy Staff were rude, seemed they didn't want to be there The wifi didn't work The buffet food was always cold On arrival they promised a complimentary drink at the bar and when we ordered a cocktail they said sorry only orange juice was included (which was not specified on the voucher for complimentary drink), therefore they attempted to charge us for the drink.

    Nothing

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    9.6
    The room was extremely clean and very spacious.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Pool View
    • Stayed 8 nights

    The bathrooms need a serious upgrade as its old. Pool gets noisy.

    The room was extremely clean and very spacious. The staff was very helpful. The restaurant serves great food and delivers to your room. There is free transport to Bangla Road every 30min. (it's a 4min drive).

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    9.2
    excellent value for money , nice breakfast, free shuttle...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    busy noisy road just in front of hotel and sea view rooms but quickly got used to it; had to take shuttle to main beach area - quite a distance to walk

    excellent value for money , nice breakfast, free shuttle service to main shopping area/beach, staff was accommodating and friendly, 'Family Mart' and nice restaurant within 100metres from hotel, nice street food stalls across the road from afternoon, nice pool

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2017

    3.3
    Cleanliness was poor
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cleanliness was poor Staff were not friendly The room had a damp smell There was also a centipede in the room When we were leaving the staff accused me of a missing glass which was not there in the first place A place with lot of potential but needs a lot of supervision.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    10
    Very central.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sea view from room blocked by ugly wires. Rooms on sea side are very noisy till very very late at night because of a very busy road passing infront. Laud music of tuk tuks and noisy scooters are disturbing

    Very central. Excellent breakfast. Very neat and clean. Friendly staff

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    7.9
    Nice comfortable hotel with good facilities
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice hotel out of the main bustle. Great pool area and good food and choices at the restaurant. Staff happy and helpful. Shuttle to main shopping area every half hour is great.Good for families or solo travellers.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2017

    7.5
    Nice hotel with good pool
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Power kept going off between 9am and 5pm. Not sure why and no notifications given. No decent beach for swimming although it shows the hotel is located across from the beach, this is not a swimming beach.

    Good hotel with nice pool and shuttle service to town every half hour. Good for families. Nice restaurant and food is good. Lots of menu choices.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2017

    8.3
    Sunset beach is a beautiful quiet resort tucked away in...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Pool View
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sunset beach is a beautiful quiet resort tucked away in patong. Staff are lovely , food is good and rooms were clean. All AFL games on own channel in room! Pool is well set out with plenty of spaces to sit and relax. A massage is a must too! Highly recommend

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2017

    10
    wonderful!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 8 nights

    The people upstairs were very; very noisy until late at night and then again early in the morning. Not sure what they were doing but sounded like they were moving furniture!

    The size of our room was fantastic and the fact that we had connecting rooms with our cousins was even better. Food and service was great. the only thing that seemed to take too long was our cocktails - not sure why?

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2017

    7.5
    This stay was "so,so!"
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The wifi was a mess,struggled with it. The shuttle pick up also needs a review, kindly provide at least 02 of them especially in the evening time 5pm-9pm since there were families with babies and strollers who filled up the van and some people had to remain behind. Not ideal :( Going back to the resort too, the shuttle was mad full,last thing you need is someone drunk breathing in your face,we were cramped up like sardines in a can.

    I loved the fact that the omelletes were made to order,the pool was great too.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2017

    4.2
    If your looking for a cheap place to stay this is your place
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    We ended up leaving after 1 night of the 5 that we had booked the pictures are quite deceiving, rooms are no hell, bathroom had no shower. The television was from the 90's and the internet absolutely sucked.

    Not a whole lot

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2017

    8.8
    Good value for money :)
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    to reach hotel by walking, need to use the same rode with the cars.

    Good location of the Hotel, good value for money. Every 30 - 1 h., hotel transport to city center, and back.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    8.8
    Sunset Beach Resort - Value for money. Excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Pool View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom. The housekeeping need to clean the wall within the toilet n bath tub. wall is dirty. The hotel ppl should build a stairs to the beach across the road i/o we have to climb the divider made at the roadside in order to go to the beach. Understood the sea in front not meant to swim yet.. we need to go go photograph or morning walk by the seaside.

    The ambiance of the hotels and easy transportation. Easy to find muslim food at nite..just a walking distance across the hotel. Beach in front the hotel. I love my hotel room. Very Cozy.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2017

    2.9
    Dont visit this hotel. It is totally waste of money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Worse behaviour. Misguided by photo posted at web portal. AC not working. Room was not cleaning on daily basis. Towels were so dirty to use. Room was not provided as described in webportal.Over all rude behaviour of front desk persons.

    Nothings are likeable

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2017

    5.8
    Hotel Breakfast was good, other meal options not so...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 10 nights

    Seemed a little chaotic at reception, very manual in the way records and details are kept. Not many staff who could understand, let alone speak English.. made things difficult at times. General cleanliness around the facilities needs improving. Don't choose a "Sea View" room, way too noisy due to the traffic. Bee (Tour Organizer) was fantastic, very knowledgeable.. she'll look after you.

    Hotel Breakfast was good, other meal options not so enjoyable. Pool area was nice and has all the amenities you'll need, like Washing/Drying, Gym, Massage etc.. (if they're open or in working order) Overall, it's a 3 Star Hotel, so we we're satisfied with the price we paid.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2017

    4.2
    Front desk staff not friendly at all
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was dirty. We paid extra for seaview but we got the 2nd floor just above the bar and the roof blocked the seaview. No toothbrush and toilet wasn't that clean.

    Near street food and 24hrs convenient store

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2017

    5.4
    The pool was the only highlight.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel was much older than how it appeared in photos, the rooms were outdated. My boyfriend became very ill with food poisoning in the middle of the night and the night staff at reception was unable to proved any water..very poor for a hotel.

    The pool was the only highlight.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2017

    7.5
    RE: Enjoyable stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Pool View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Beach accross the road rocky - not good for swimming. Dirty smell from the road and beach (although that is everywhere in town).

    2 resturants (with a guitarist for entertainment) and 3 bars onsite Massage place on site Laundry onsite, and a little laundry lady that is very cheap. hourly free transport into town every day aircon in rooms cope very well with the heat 2 free bottles of water per day in room room gets tidied up every day. Clean towels every day.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2017

    5.8
    No sleep as room was at front traffic noise all night
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    As above to noisy and not enough to staff

    I didn't the staff where busy took 25 minutes to check in as staff where trying to serve lots of different people at once ad reception had no air con no Porter to take cases to rooms booked 2 night only stayed 1 had room at the front bad fitting patio doors traffic noise all night booked out at 7 am in the morning

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2017

    7.5
    Perfect location Near Beach
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Hotel is near beach area and We enjoyed much about hotel breakfast ,Thai local and sea food. Street food is delicious. We Traveled one day tour to Phi Phi island ( 45 mins, Speed Boat Ride ). There are lots of Travel operators and charges are different to travel those small islands. I recommend to check prices from different place to go for a tour.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2017

    5.0
    Way to expensive for what you get
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Weird smell in rooms, staff gave me a feeling that they don't like working there, I had to call another hotel before I could arrange a taxi ride?!!

    Location, view

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2017

    9.2
    Awesome place, good value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 9 nights

    Our room got a pretty dodgy view form our balcony which was a shame- our friends however got awesome views of the pool area. The beds + pillows were not the most comfiest. Apart from that this place was tops !!

    This place was such great value for money. We got upgraded to small apartments and they were awesome, really spacious and kept really clean every day. The breakfast was really good and the location was perfect- walking distance to Patong beach but also far enough from the rowdiness of the city. The pool area was lovely and staff were helpful. I don't have much to fault about it !

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2017

    5.8
    Budget Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel building requires maintenance / pool closes early / front building rooms too noisy to sleep

    Size of rooms / shuttle service / bed size

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2017

    8.8
    Fantabulous stay at Sunset Beach
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The cleanness and the bacon lol.

    I liked everything about Sunset Beach and the live band creates cool vibe. Staff was very friendly. Actually it felt like home. Staff must just clean better. I will definitely go back.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2017

    2.9
    Hotel that you canot stay iven if its meen slep autside
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was darti and smell like somdaby pee in the room and when we spoke to the frant dask thay said that nothing can be don and we didant have a choice The room was darti and thre was alot of ant and mascito

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2017

    2.5
    Nightmare!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Pool View
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn't like everything! Hotel room is a disaster if that's what "suit room" is for them difinitely need some major make over!

    Don't like any of it! What you have on your website booking.com team is not what appears in real. We spent good amount of money for a run down hotel filthy room, it was a nightmare only stayed one night because they have to charged us for a day even if we were busting to get out of the hotel before we cud get our refund, we had to transfer to different hotel the next day. Very disappointing! Not going there ever again.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 January 2017

    6.7
    Beds are big and comfy!
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Pool View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staffs were not friendly at all, forgot to put my room to do not disturb or make up room button, but the staff didn't knock before checking and just enter my room when I was inside. We also Rented motorbike from the hotel but they gave bikes with flat tyres which was very dangerous. Other then that, stay was okay.

    Beds are big and comfy! The room is spacious, love the Highest lvl as the balcony is open with a nice sky full of stars, breakfast was good.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2017

    5.4
    Get what you pay for
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Pool View
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Many staff can't speak english. Maid would take 5 min to clean room and one day did not even do it which meant no bottled water, no toilet paper. Was a pain to ask because they dont understand english

    Nice pool area and they provide a shuttle van into town every hour otherwise is 200Baht in a tuktuk each way

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2016

    3.3
    Not worth to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Rooms allotted were not as per the booking made. We were shifted to a better room on 2nd day, after long argument. It just spoiled our one day of our vacation. Photos shown in hotel website are misleading as reality is very different. Travel desk put us in pooled van even we booked a private car to be picked from Rasada pier to airport, though made it clear while booking. We were about to miss the flight, as van kept waiting for other people. No proper response when called. Travel desk ignorance created mental stress

    Location is good but very poor maintenance. Photographs in website looks attractive but far away from actual situation

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 December 2016

    5.4
    The hotel is quite nice and the food is very delicious.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The cleanliness of the room. The bed sheet and towels are very old. After the maid cleaned the room, the floor and the room were smelly. Also, after a tiring day it felt uncomfortable to experience this.

    The hotel is quite nice and the food is very delicious.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2016

    7.5
    Comfortable / pleasant and good value. Coral and tropical fish to be seen off the front beach!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff were great at meeting needs when asked but could have been a little more pro actively engaging.. breakfast ran out of bits and pieces like croissant and mushrooms.

    ease of being there. Staff were good at meeting your needs. We had two large rooms with kitchen and lounge each with interleaving door, so it was lovely and spacious.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2016

    7.1
    We booked tour packages from hotel front desk got ripped off.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We booked tour packages from hotel front desk got ripped off. Avoid booking at hotel do it from nearby shops and you could save at least 20-30%. The trip organizer didn't honor trip plan committed to us even when weather was good and other organizers were able to take to those islands(In Phi Phi)

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2016

    7.1
    Couple review
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    staff at the main bar not very friendly. no variety in the breakfast buffet

    Rooms were spacious and enjoyed the pool area and bar. shuttles to bangla road every 30 mins. short walk to the beach and convenient mart 2 min walk away.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2016

    7.5
    It was nice overall
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The place looked a little worn in real life, it could do with a paint, also because of the constant wet weather it always seems to smell like a drainage and dampness, all 3 of us got stomach bug was in the resort 3 days not sure where we got sick

    Staff was very nice, place was vey nice as well

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2016

    4.2
    Stay away please don't let them ruin your trip
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 13 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We booked the Junior Suite for about $100 AUD per night for 13 nights. We thought we were getting a nice hotel but we were wrong. When we arrived it was run down and old, the room smelt mouldy & musty nothing like the pictures online. We thought we would give it a go as we were only sleeping in it, but after the second day we got food poisoning from the hotel restaurant, we were in bed for 2 days really sick. We had only eaten at the hotel so we knew it was their fault and the fact that we were paying $1500 thb for each meal was really annoying as it was $1000 thb more than most restaurants. After this it just got worse. The toilet always blocked up and if you had a bath you could not pull the plug out you had to wait till the next day for the maid to get it out. Also they didn't refill toilet paper for a couple of days and we ended up buying some. We then found out that two more couples and a big group of 15 had also gotten food poisoning and that they had eaten at the hotel restaurant. Take my warning seriously, stay away. This is the worst hotel ever and I am a person that does not care about the little things. I had an awesome trip but this hotel was the only bad thing.

    The pool and the Thai massage is all that is good about this hotel.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2016

    7.9
    Very nice pool, very relaxing when the waterfalls are on
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The area to the right side of the entrance is undesirable, tuk tuk drivers are laid out there like vultures waiting to over charge you for a ride to town, and whats bad is all the trash that is on the lot. it needs cleaned up. If the drivers are allowed to set out there and wait on a fair, they should be made to clean the area up. the breakfast and dining area on the outside could use fresh paint

    breakfast was good

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2016

    5.8
    Not real 4 star hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Pool View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very old furnture The breakfast is very poor and same food every days The room door no secure Also the balcony no safety

    The location of hotel The pool The free Sutle service to patong junction

    Stayed in August 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Sunset Beach Resort traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: