Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Sunwing Bangtao Beach 4 stars

22 Moo 2, Bangtao Beach,Cheung Thalay, Thalang, Phuket, 83110 Bang Tao Beach, Thailand

#23 of 39 hotels in Bang Tao Beach

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 829 hotel reviews

8.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.1

  • Comfort

    8.4

  • Location

    8.5

  • Facilities

    8.4

  • Staff

    8.2

  • Value for money

    8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Suite
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    As we went outside of the peak time, the usual entertainment was not available this meant venturing outside of the grounds in order to find things to do, the immediate surrounding area is quite lacking in facilities so had to hire a car for several days.

    The hotel was very child friendly, comfortable and clean rooms with great access to the facilities and beach.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Most of those who stay there end up slamming the door when leaving the room. This could wake up neighboring rooms especially early in the morning. The door seems to have a catch that does not allow quiet closing except by pulling it hard.

    Nice layout with big room suitable for family. With 2 sofa beds in the room, can easily accommodate 2 adults and 2 children. We arrived at the hotel at about 9 am and were allowed to check in for the day. The hotel has transport arrangements (separately paid) to Patong Beach and Phuket Old Town.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some house keeping on floors needed to be sorted. Piles of towels, empty glass bottles and a soiled kids potty remained in the corner of the stairwell area for the entire 4 nights we were there. A little thing that would have shown extra care if it had been removed.

    Location great. Great rooms and facilities.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Royal Studio
    • Stayed 8 nights

    some guests were impolite, but had language and cultural difficulties.... Location was secluded, which may affect guests who wish to go nightclubbing, but we found good reliable transport for family outings, so enjoyed the local area.

    staff excellent, amenities good, food plentiful, ideal for relaxing family holiday. Swimming towel person very helpful & friendly, reception efficient and pleasant. Restaurant staff worked hard and effectively. Room cleaners excellent. Massage ladies were gentle & experienced- great location near beach and pool. Children had a wonderful time in the pools playing with other children from different countries- no language barriers!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Suite
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unclear entertainment timetable and no local style entertainment such as Thai dancing

    Staff like most of the Thai- gentle,helpful and kind. Resort is well located on bang Tao beach and sun wings beach area is probably one of the best kept. Eating breakfast while gazing at the andaman sea listening to the waves and birds just lovely. Plenty of global travellers so lots of people watching opportunities! Kids loved the pool and were quite satisfied with a single slide. A simple facilities -well maintained and tastefully managed. We were at the beginning of low season so not too busy. Only disappointment- evening shows late and timetable of what was on unclear - really would have liked some Thai dancing or something similar local entertainment rather than magicians and western singers.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    high room rate, NO free wifi in the room, unfriendly staff except miniland, jellyfish in the sea, hurt my kid at the very first day

    Swimming pool, miniland activities

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Evening meal could be better - food average quality. Service absolutely fine.

    Great for families, loads of pools .... we didn't get to all of them. Hotel next to the beach. Rooms very comfortable.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio
    • Stayed 12 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perfect resort for family holidays. Clean pools, beautiful beach, kids buffet in the restaurant and large rooms. Thumbs up for the kids club and entertainment programs.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Getting confirmation for late check out was too last minute.

    Great place for kids. Plenty of pools and activities. Some good restaurants only a tuk tuk ride away.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio
    • Stayed 14 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Way too much disposable plastic being used - please stop with all the straws and disposable cups. Not enough choice on snacks at pool bar. Reception staff didn't provide us with the activity schedule so we missed out on lots of activities in the first few days not knowing there were any options.

    Brilliant for families

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Royal Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom smells

    Nice hotel next to the beach. Definitely for Family with young children. Only one thing is the bathroom has some smell came out from the pipe (I guess). Love that they give free minibars and some fruits in the room. Breakfast is so sonot much test actually. Will definitely come back when we go to Phuket next time.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This is the place for you if you like things to be easy and similar to home. This is not Thailand. This could be any resort in any warmer country. With that said: there is alot of more charmful hotels in Thailand but this is a concept. You pay for large rooms, swedish breakfast, activity for the kids and so on. If you like that, this is the place for you.

    The location! Right on the beach, a nice clean beach on Phuket. Not to many people (it seems that majority of the guests stays around the pool)

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Royal Studio
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We stayed here for 3 nights last week. Short comments: Horrible experience. We won’t revisit, and we have sincerely suggested all of our friends to resist SUNWING BANGTAO BEACH. Full edition: BE TERRIBLE!!!TERRIBLE!!!TERRIBLE!!! HUMILIATED!!! When we checked out, we were informed that three of the four bathrobes were missing in our room, which would charge for 3,000 THB. Actually there was only one bathrobe all through the three days. We explained, however, they didn’t believe us. They kept saying ‘the housekeeper says’ all the time. They said: “The housekeeper checked the cloth everyday, there were 4 clothes all these days.” At the same time, the housekeeper said:“I didn’t open the closet except the first day.” We even showed them our own bathrobes for the children. Because our children have sensitive skins, I always bring my own bathrobes in travel. We took a long time to explain, but obviously it didn’t work. They insisted to check our luggage, according to their rules, they said. I required to call the police, but was ignored. Two front desk receptionists checked our luggage rigorously. With nothing sought out, they can but let us go. The whole thing wasted a lot of time, we almost missed the plane. I don’t know who lied or who made a mistake, but I know exactly that they did not show any respect for the customers . UNCOMFORTABLE: The room is small and always dirty. There is always sand in the floor, even on the bed. It’s crowded everywhere, especially in the restaurant and poolside. All the beach chairs are occupied. UNFRIENDLY: The beach towels can only be borrowed at limited time with towel cards. Their working time is 10am-5pm, ex one or two hours in the noon. It means if you arrived after 5pm, you’ll have no beach towels that day. If you lost your towel cards or lost the towels in anywhere of the hotel, you have to pay the penalty absolutely. We left behind two purses hanging in the room.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio
    • Stayed 11 nights

    If you sleep long, difficult to find free chair near pool. Would expect to see more something about local culture in hotel night shows. Expensive mini-market. Expensive trips (take same trip from street and you get it much cheaper).

    Swimming pools for every size. Closed to the beach. Most of the visitors were Swedish speaking then French speaking and then other languages. Night markets on Mondays and Thursdays (5 minutes from hotel by tuk-tuk). Good to sleep, after 10pm it was quiet. Very nice hotel garden. The buffet was free for children when eating in hotel. Clean and friendly smiling helpful service.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio
    • Stayed 11 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The food was a bit disappointing: The breakfast is good but always the same. After 10 days it’s a bit boring. The prices at the restaurant are high for Thailand.

    The hotel is nice and really kids friendly. The facilities are good (a lot of swimming pools so it’s not too packed) and the beach is clean. The staff is friendly and always try to help. If you have kids between 5/10, there are a lot of activities.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Royal Studio
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The restaurant dinner did not meet my expectations and the breakfast buffé could be more extensive.

    Very kids friendly and plenty of swimming pools to choose from.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It felt quite crowded. Also many of the activities were conducted in Scandinavian languages

    Good pools and great slide for children. The kids activities were good too. And the resort is right on a beautiful beach.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio
    • Stayed 11 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lollo and Bernie show was significantly poorer than in our past visits and entertainment not catered for children anymore. Toilet was often clogged and we had to ask to unblock multiple times. Some nordic staff was fairly unimpressive (borderline rude): namely the sound engineer who rudely pulled the chair off my wife who just sat with out todler (cause he claimed it was reserved for another use) and the young fellow at the pool towels stall. Pools were badly supervised and hyper children were dangerously jumping off bridges no matter the “no jump sign “ without control from staff.

    This is a solid inclusive family resort for a aisle free holiday with kids. Swimming pools are always clean and never overcrowded (even if the resort is at full capacity).

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio
    • Stayed 28 nights

    The shower in the room and water pression wasn't good....

    The animation is veru great for children, It was the reason we choose this hotel. The breakfast was good. Many pools. The croissants were wonderful! ) We ate it every day for 28-day stay!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Royal Studio
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    To crowdy. Many nordic tourist making noise, reserved tables all day long, stressfull envoriment. Unlucky for the hotel, the noisy and cold tourists destroyes the reputation of the hotel. The first day i also get sick of the food that was served.

    Being close to te ocean. Hospitality of the staff. Housekeeping did a good job.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio
    • Stayed 3 nights

    TV picture cloudy but big station choice . Being a large group and family Grandad thought food and wine prices costly for a old pensioner !!!

    Hotel recently refurbished all areas clean and well furnished located directly on the beach in the center of a very wide bay. My daughter booked the mini holiday on the internet seeking family Hotel not far from the Airport she was so delighted we are planning to return in October. After living in Thailand for 20 years this Hotel ticks all the boxes.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Suite
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The restaurant food and service were terrible. Not many children older than 10, good if you have small kids, not so good for older kids.

    Nice room and towels. Hotel staff were very responsive and quickly dealt with issues.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio
    • Stayed 12 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The finishing in the bathroom belongs to a European two star hotel, on top of which we had a bad smell from the pipes from time to time. The sofa bed is extremely hard and not nice to sleep on.

    The location right on the beach and the facilities, except the rooms, are really fantastic! Our kids especially loved the pools and mini land! One of the days we made a visit to the Kamala Sunwing and was very happy with our decision to stay at Bangtao!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The service at the restaurant was not very friendly nor engaged. The waiters do not appear to look at the tables so you have to wait for them if you want to get served. Over the peak Christmas season the hotel can get quite crowded and the rates are pretty high. My daughter broke her arm on the beach and the onside nurse did not appear to be interested in helping she came and disappeared after a few minutes ( very difficult to understand such behaviour).

    Very good location on Beautiful Bang Tao beach. Very nice facilities with many different pools and a sundeck overlooking the sea. Nice restaurant with you on the beach, a good selection of local and western dishes and kids buffet for free. Good size and nicely furnished rooms with view over the pool and the sea. Good buffet breakfast for 4 star Hotel.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing!!! EVERYTHING WAS REALLY GOOD and We have travel around Phuket area for 2,5 week and this was the best hotel

    Best location ON Bangtao beach The room smells really good. The aircondition took away all humidity The beds was top class. Felt Luxury!! The wi-fi cost 1050baht/week. Worth it! Our three kids 5, 8, 10 years old slept in the sofa. We had a room at ground level next by the pool. All the rooms at ground level has what you can say ”pool access”. Just 2-4meters from the terrass. Worth it! Restaurant has a wonderful view over the beach. Poolwater ”taste Good” and was clear. The waterslide was open almost all time during day. Beachtowels was really big! Breakfast was also 5 of 5 stars Live music every night. LOVE THIS PLACE!! I COME BACK!!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Studio
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The water in our room didn’t function on the second day and the staff wasn’t honest and forthcoming about the duration of the repairs. Only after we made some noise were we given a new room.

    Perfect Family resort with direct access to the beach. Lots of activities for young children and teens.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio
    • Stayed 14 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Air conditioning had some troubles, but it got fixed immediately, and we got upgraded for complimet.

    Breakfast buffet was really varied and good. Staff very helpfull. Excellent choice to stay with kids, best beach access that I’ve seen. Place was clean and safe.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Many mosquitos in the room and terrace. (Seemed to come from the ventilation and wondering whether they sprayed the vegetation around the terrace or not?)

    The easyness of it all, the clean and nice rooms and the children entertainment.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Hotel was great but the French Tourists Company used microphones to speak to,their clients , arrange quiz etc etc it was extremely noisy before dinner , during dinner and even as late as midnight

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Royal Studio
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Area behind one of the buildings very busy with building materials etc but probably due to recent renovations

    Nicely refurbished rooms. Staff very helpful when we had some issues with our room and helped us to change room and followed up we were satisfied. Beach clean.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    overall hotel is good... but... water in swimming pool is really hot.. I don't mind warm but it was too hot .. beach was nice but can't swim coz of waves .. I saw rat beside the pool in the evening .. but I guess you can't avoid it .. nothing much around .. not many shops or reasaurants ..shopping mall half dead .. and taxi is very expensive ..

    family friendly hotel. perfect for small kids. kids really enjoy magic show, mini disco and other activity. food was good and portion was big. massage near beach was good for reasonable price 300 thb if not mistaken. room was clean and nice. stuff was friendly.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio
    • Stayed 5 nights

    the coffee wasn't very good and I wished they had a normal breakfast tea, ( black label ). For me I found some times the pools to be a bit too cold but that's just a personal preference.

    I loved that their was a shop attached it made things so much easier since we had 3 children with us. The entertainment for the kids was excellent and the pools were clean and spacious. Also thet fact that we could send post cards from the front desk made the kids day.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Studio
    • Stayed 7 nights

    I feel that the resort lack places to put the chairs to have a sun bath and more close to the water. It hasn't. All the chairs were under the trees what is good for the kids but inconvenient for the grown-ups. Of course I understand that the Chinese people don't like to get taned. But is their problem. For this reason I just stay one day close to the restaurant in the available chairs. Too many kids and too much noise for my taste. The other days I moved to some distance away from the resort to have some more quite day and have some sun. I paid 100 bahts for chair and umbrella what was great. I get back to the resort just at the afternoon. Another issue is the lack of food items in the little supermarket inside the resort. In the eight days I stay in the resort no iogurt, ham, bread or good juices. Western people like to have a light snack at the end of the day and before the dinner. An alternative would be to walk to another resort to have this kind of supply. But I believe is a bad policy.

    The comfort, the familiy ambiance, the sweetness of the staff, the massages girls at the way to the beach. The beach is one of the best in Pukhet (I keep coming to the island for more than 25 years). The sand is clean, the water is so good, no sellers on the beach, no motos in the water, no loudspeakers producing the noise that is absloute anoying and that we find in Kata, Patong and other beaches in the bottom of the Island.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Royal Studio
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Bed clothes become wet on the next day. Whatever we tried to do with aircon in the room: make temperature high or low - the linen becomes gradually wetter till the next change. The restaurant was overcrowded on breakfasts. People with kids had to wait before tables get available for some time. This wasn't observed daily and the queue was fast enough. Music from the disco on the beach at the nearby hotel can still be heard at night even when balcony doors are closed. However the music was ok :) Wasn't really impressed by Bang Tao beach itself. After rains the sea water gets mud colour. Even when sun is shining, water doesn't seem to be that bright and turquoise.. Restaurant prices and exchange rates are higher than in Bang Tao village. The best way to get to the village is from the beach, but one needs to cross a river that gets quite deep during high-tides. There's no big variety of cafes in Bang Tao and prices in cafes and for taxis are higher compared for ex. to Kata.

    Great for kids, straight on the beach, nice room design, bed is endless, great egg station on breakfast, beach is visible from rooms (sideview, we had Royal Studio room), complimentary set incl. local drinks spirits, toaster in room, beach is not overcrowded, good prices for massage

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Royal Studio
    • Stayed 16 nights

    There could have been an actual bar area for people to sit round instead of the seats just by the entertainment stage.

    Breakfast was excellent, plenty of choice and the food was replenished numerous times throughout the breakfast service.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Studio
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lobby... Stark ... Very off putting :()(( Rooms and bathrooms very dated Curtains bright orange stripes ... Not a good look and the sun came straight through in the early morning. Only one restaurant open Limited menu but Ths

    Great staff and amazing pools with access directly from the ground floor room,

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Quality of Breakfast, and the entire process of getting breakfast was like being in a big factory cantine. It was made for the mass. Staff, I dont think any of the staff members ever smiled or was friendly except the reception and the lady at the tour information. Lying at the pool felt like being cans which were stacked on top of each other. There was little room to move between the chairs, zero privacy from the person lying next to you. This is a resort made for Package tour travels (e.g. Neckermann, Thomas Cook, etc) . So just be aware of that, I was not.

    The resort is great fun for kids due to its facilities for kids and the beach location.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Studio
    • Stayed 7 nights

    You get towel cards for beach towels and get charged if you lose them which can be annoying. There wasn't a bath in our room which would have been easier with our young son. Internet is free but only in the restaurants and lobby.

    The pools are great for kids and families. The breakfast buffet is really good with lots of options and kids eat free for lunch with a paying adult. The rooms are comfortable and spacious. I would definitely be back.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Royal Studio
    • Stayed 9 nights

    very kids friendly, perfect for families. The hotel is on the see, the pools are very nice, and the mini club is perfect for the kids. Very convenient to have the free food for the kids at the hotel restaurant, and the food is perfect for the kids.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio
    • Stayed 9 nights

    mosquitos, beware aircondition is strong, so, it can get cold during the night - yet by opening the windows (or within the night's seaswimming - highly recommended)) you 'll meet them

    Sunwing is a hotel chain & the hotel at BangTao is a good piece of it, location is superb - right in the midle of the beach, (the beach itself counts for top beaches of Phuket even by locals - not very crowdy, calm & peacefull), village with numerous restorants & shops are 5 minutes to walk by evening sand of the beach & tender sea water on the left, cozy hotels with the free access to the Boat Avenue 4 Friday's open market - 7 minutes to the right, Tesco's Thursday's evening open market - 5 minutes of walking in front, sea - is just two steps away )) - location is super (choosen BangTao's beach 4 the 4th time - this is the best location there) Rooms are big and comfortable, cleanings are made everyday (good), hotel provides driking water free of charge everyday Sunwing facilities are good, in order, working properly, staff is very good & helpfull, pools are under cleaning every day, seaside morning joggying is outstanding Something You won't really want to miss - the hotel's annimation - best on the beach, and evening shows are famous for the whole island - team is outstanding (Sunwing have a special!international!

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cheapness - hangers that don't come off rack, towel cards, no fans in bar. Food was terrible - no good Thais food and no good veg options - just burgers and the like. Breakfast wasn't terrible. AC was not adjustable so it was very cold in the room. Staff level of English was not great. Shuttle was non-existent - hotel probably in cahoots with Taxi companies.

    Location

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The plates were quite often dirty with, even gekko poo on one of them (during breakfast). The rest is very clean including the room and territory of the hotel.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Whe taking a shower the water was running all over the bathroom floor. They could not solve the problem during our stay but we where compensated witn a free dinner at the hotel restaurant.

    Beautiful beach and very nice family hotel.Large room.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Residents are mostly French, Norwegian and Swedish who don't speak English. All entertainment is in French and Swedish without translation into English. We couldn't enjoy any of the activities because of this and our son didn't have anyone to play with because most children don't understand English at all.

    Lots of entertainment for children, located on the beach

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pools not very sunny but luckily the hotel is on the beach. A bit of a circus especially in the largest pool where the water slide is located. Not a very peaceful hotel. Wi-Fi really poor and not even free which should be standard in this kind of hotel.

    Fairly clean a bit worn rooms. Price about right. An ok average family hotel. Avoid if not travelling with kids.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We booked this hotel to our own dissapointment on the day of arrival. Hotel policies clearly state: check in from 15:00 so we did not arrive at a weird timings when we could not be checked in. Our main priority was beach location and balcony with the view, which was advertised by Booking with the nice pictures of the pool and garden. Once arrived, hotel had no idea about our reservation. So tired after a long journey we had to hang out in the lobby for an hour until staff figured out what to do with us. When we finally got the room, I was just blank to be honest!!! Instead of the room with the view like on the pictures we got view on the noisy and ugly parking lot at the hotel entrance. Immediately asked to change it for an advertised room, however no other room was available at that moment and we got another room only next day, next to the laud laundry and swap with the foul smell in front of our door. All rooms in the hotel simply and poorly decorated. In our plan (200$ per night) even breakfast was not included, but that was our luck, I guess! We came to celebrate my partner's Birthday and were going on the whole day tour, so the night before this we decided to have dinner in the hotel restaurant. In few hours my partner got terribly ill after the restaurant's steak and he spent his Birthday vomitting for more than 24 hours! I have never seen such food poisoning in my entire life!!! This could not be from anything else but this steak since the whole day we did not step out from this hotel. If you wanna see the doctor be ready to pay 200$, nobody will assist you with anything. Doctor's working hours in the hotel til 5 pm, however we called at 3 pm and nobody was there already. Even though hotel staff was aware that my husband is sick, nobody was bothered. That was my first time when there was not even a Birthday card sent to the room, even though I ordered Birthday cake through reception so staff was aware. Very poor customer service!

    Beach, pool and garden area. Kitchenette in the room and launderette facility (chargeable). Supermarket (so you don't have to risk eating all the time in the hotel restaurant!) Day we left!!!!

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Royal Studio
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    To many people at breakfast and by the pool. Almost got stress each morning.

    The kids liked the poolarea and the youth-facilities.... we didnt like anything

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Hotel is located in an area with not much going on. Have to travel to Phuket to experience Thailand. Not a place to stay for more than 4-6 days unless you just want to enjoy the pool and relax.

    All what you need for vacation with children for short stay. Good pool facilities.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Nothing.

    Totally and successfully focused towards enhancing the holiday experience for the family. Well set out, super location, clean and comfortable rooms, excellent services and very friendly staff. It is a wonderful resort notwithstanding that there were kids all over the place, but then it is a family resort and everyone was well behaved.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was like a Russian holiday camp Poor food. Buffets were covered in flies constantly. Staff unfriendly Rooms need refurb Very expensive & bad value for money compared to all other hotels I stayed in at Phuket (6 other hotels in same trip) Wouldn't revisit. Paid for 3 nights and wanted to leave after 1st night

    Beach location

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Royal Studio
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Asked for one day extension due to flight modification. For the worst room in the resort we have been charged 60% more of the rate payed for the rest of the holiday. Just to take advantage of a customer in difficult situation. Disappointing.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds must improve. Kitchen was average.

    Great for families with small children till 7 yo. Location very good. Great beach. Great pools for small kids.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio
    • Stayed 8 nights

    The whole stay was a drama. Having paid inflated rates for our stay around the new years eve, we were offered a room overlooking the main restaurant (its exhaust to be precise) and their trashcans, in Building 6 (which seems very shabby, as compared to others). The room was changed though at our request. So unless you are from one of those organized groups from Nordic countries, those with a private booking, will be offered the worst available rooms. On Day 1, my daughters shoes were stolen from the pool area (not lost), and hotel really couldn't do anything, as they had no coverage with security cameras of much of the hotel grounds. So we had to be extra careful with our stuff the remaining days. Children's activities - unless you are from Nordic countries, you feel very unwelcome, the entertainment staff don't even bother trying to involve anyone who speaks a different language. After our initial encounter with Bernie and Lollo, who refused to shake hands with our little one on day 1, he in turn refused to go to their kids' club later...so not thoughtful. To add to the drama, during the last days of our stay, the housekeeping staff throws out packaging for a new laptop we acquired, with a new laptop bag inside!! Two large pieces of packaging, neatly placed in the room - thrown out without even asking the guests! The reception staff, when asked about the fate of our packaging tried to come up with all sorts of excuses - we couldn't find it anywhere, that's it, it is your problem!! Hotel grounds are really small, with walkways around the buildings and pools, no open grounds, so it felt cramped. The adult evening shows - more of amateur talent shows, with the same group of four people, singing and dancing every day, much of the same thing. No professional entertainment, and I certainly would expect something from Thai culture - except for the Thai massage offered near the beach area, no Thai culture present whatsoever in the hotel.

    Right on the Bangtao beach Kitchenette in the room Ok breakfast, but same things every day

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Suite
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing. Some hotels have bar service to your lounger but that is a bit OTT. Do not expect good internet connection. Free in the lobby but not rapid. You are on holiday however.

    The swimming pools were thoroughly cleaned each night, well manned and great events organised eg water aerobics and water polo BUT not too much. The children really loved the slides, small one and large one too. It was manned most of the time. No lifeguard but parents of those under 14 were very involved. Never saw any pool misbehaviour. The gardens were beautiful, immaculate and well tended. The exit to the beach was shady and well marked and nearby were Thai masseuses who were excellent and reasonable and vetted by the hotel. Excellent choices at breakfast, lots of fresh fruit, cereals, cheese, porridge, eggs, bacon sausage, pancakes! You name it it was there. No tummy upsets or even hints of it as good bottled water supplied, salads washed in "clean" water. Good Balance of Thai and European food. Good service by smiling staff. Our rooms were on the fourth floor and not the best placed but they were quiet and the balacony was very private. The Swedes and Russians seemed to have prime rooms but maybe they had been before and knew what to ask for. We were told however in the event of a tsunami to go to the fourth floor so at least we were already there.. We liked the mix of Easter Europeans and few Brits or Aussies----our nationalities. Quiet and private! Always lots of hot water for showers. Though I had emailed re 3 adults, one child and one teenager, for the family room for which I had to pay extra,the messages though acknowledged were not always acted on. Any problems were acted on straight away however when I was there to explain. The family room with two bedrooms and two bathrooms was amply big enough. We paid to keep it till 5 pm on our leaving day as it was not booked and that was very useful. The Laundrette was used by us and very efficient. The shop is very basic but catch a tuk tuk and you can soon get to Tesco, The night markets, Monday and Thursday, were you can buy good fruit ( peel it) and cakes are worth a visit.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 December 2016

    • Family with young children
    • Studio
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The in resort food was super expensive for what it was. The on site shop's prices were extortionate- better to go to the Tesco nearby for essentials. The hot water in our room was never very warm enough and the shower was leaky! The most irritating thing was having to pay for Wifi in rooms! 1000baht for a week per device! Considering how many families with children were staying there, this is really not on!

    The rooms were kept extremely clean with a turn down service every day. The kitchenette came with a great selection of cutlery and crockery and they even provided a sponge and washing up liquid! There is a Tesco, McDonalds and a Boots a short walk away where you can purchase snacks and kids can eat. The restaurants on the beach were lovely too and much better value than the resorts food! Great location too. We had a fab holiday!

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cleanliness. Spent 2 nights chasing cocoroaches. Almost every day I had to call to clean the room. Most of the time they just tidy up without really cleaning the room.

    Location near the beach

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    As it was peak season, the price was high, cocktails were expensive and then you add on VAT, and cocktails only tasted ok.

    Breakfast had a good variety, they had a mini mart, the beach was nice, lunch was good for families as children ate for free if the adult bought a main dish, lots of activities and entertainment.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    the Sunwing resort could have a Halal-food option for its breakfat buffet & the hotel's wifi accesibility needs improvement as when in the rooms the wifi coverage is poor.

    The facilities were very good and child-friendly. Room was comfortable, the double bed is huge and they have microwave & toaster inside the room. Resort is well maintained and have loads of activities.The beach is clean & beautiful. Situated about 1.5km (10mins walking) to the local town area where they have the Tesco Lotus Express,McDonald & shops. Accessibility is good - loads of tuktuk/cab available. Price of things are expensive though as expected of a tourist spot - things start around 100Baht usually - the local night market have cheaper fruits & snacks as well as souvenirs. Halal food is available around the area.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Royal Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Food was often average. Food was very overpriced. Despite advertising English speaking staff, many did not speak English and had no idea what you were asking for. Such simple things as 'I want a glass' while in the cafe was met with a shrug of shoulders by three different staff. Entry Hall to rooms had bad smell. Mosquitoes in the rooms each day.

    Pools were the only thing that makes this place good.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Was advertised as having a "Kids Club" - but its more of a "Play club" - parents must be there at all times unlike some resorts where kids can be left for a few hours Free wifi very limited - also no business computers for public use Resort is old, bathrooms falling apart TV channels are mostly in Thai - all the cartoons are in Thai

    Nice enough kids facilities International buffet reasonably priced as kids eat free

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Too many to discuss beginning with staff attitudes, totally untrained and ignorant. No sense of impropriety. Booked my flight to airport previous night only to be told NO such booking made. Fortunately still managed to meet dateline for checking in despite obstacles.

    It is an extremely shocking experience. And the price charged is exorbitant and breakfast costs 485 baht for unappetising and poor food assortments. Not to mention the immediate access road to hotel is unpaved and more like an African safari type of "path". Opinion is hard by friend from Lithuania too

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel prices are quite high especially hotel own supermarket! Wi-Fi is free only public areas not in the room.

    Breakfast was great and if You are travelling with kids this is defenitely the best place to be. Lots of actions, games, shows, disco etc. If You are from scandinavia or speak swedish your gona love the place.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio
    • Stayed 4 nights

    NO FREE INTERNET EXCEPT IN THE LOBBY. Practically every café, restaurant or other establishment that caters to tourists in Phuket offers free wifi. It's ridiculous that in this day and age internet access is charged by the hour. Cable TV selection is rather poor. No BBC, CNN, HBO, Nat Geo/Discovery or any other major news/movie/entertainment channels.

    The pool facilities and activities for children are excellent and well-staffed. Direct access to the beach a big plus. Close to Tesco for grocery and sundry needs, and the night market on Mondays and Thursdays is a must-visit for local snacks and fruit.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio
    • Stayed 14 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff in restorante, disappearing of buffet (only a la cart ordering in dinner and lunch), hotel is very old and not clean.

    Nature, quality of the food in main restorante, big enough rooms. Beautiful animation team for the kids and adults.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Royal Studio
    • Stayed 15 nights

    Internet connection was poor. No free wifi in the rooms is a major issue.

    we liked the location of the hotel, staff was very friendly and helpful, food was very good. Entertainment for children was very good. Pool area was good, not busy at all.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Expensive dinner or lunch . You can always find cheaper in the shore restaurants . No plug next to the mirror ; there is a kettle in the room but no teabags nor coffee etc. Payed internet in the rooms

    Rich breakfast, territory of hotel-it is a big beautiful tropical garden ! Many swimming pools . Good beach. Multinational hotel with international staff. Free time program for kids, juniors and adults. Very clean everywhere ( hotel area and the beach) Could be 5* ;)

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everyting was great! Great value for money. Clean, good organized, great breakfast, good food, good kids program and other activities, beach not too crowded.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The facilities/buildings are starting to looking worn down. mould in the roof both on common toilets and in the rooms. For being thailand the hotel is starting to get too prizy. the hotel needs a thourough renovation within a couple of years.

    Nice location close to the beach. Pools are nice and kids-friendly. Friendly staff.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Royal Studio
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Everything was great. We went full abroad and all dishes were bigger than you expected. Good for family with children. All rooms have pool view. They welcome us for early check-in and so on...

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Got food poisoning during my stay and highly suspect the breakfast buffet to be the sinner (I wasn't the only guest suffering). Buffets are known to transfer stuff like this so I would advise the resort to do whatever they can to make sure that things are kept clean and focus on staff (and guests!) hygiene. I saw birds walking around the buffet and very little was done to prevent this. Location is a little dull, it is right on the beach though, but not a lot to do in the area close to the resort. Wifi did not work in our room.

    Excellent choice for families with kids. Rooms are spacious. Pool area is world class.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very well equipped for families with excellent facilities for children. The beach has lots of shade so kids can play happily all day. Affordable massage on site and lots of small restaurants in walking distance.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Royal Studio
    • Stayed 5 nights

    breakfast did not impress, no lifeguard on swimmingpool (considering it is a hotel for families with children), building exterior, corridors, dining area a bit run down, area behind hotel not very appealing

    Directly on the beach, plenty of great swimming pools, the room was comfortable and in good condition

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    More suited for families with children. Not suitable for elderly couples or single persons. The uniforms worn by the front office staff is atrocious, Horrible colour for fair skinned girls.

    The friendliness of the front office staff, and all staff in general,

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Studio
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no information booklet in the room so every question had to be phoned or a return to the lobby. No wifi in the rooms unless you pay -silly in this day! Very few vegan options at breakfast.

    Loved the size of the room, the amazing pools and the close proximity to the beach

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    After staying at Sunwing Kamala we were expecting the same variety of food for breakfast and while good there wasn't quite as much choice. The dinner menu though the same as kamala was cooked quite differently. The pools only had one slide and the cocktails at the swim up bar were a little bit more expensive. Not a negative comment about the resort but this being our third time to Phuket with the kids and going in October rather than April, we noticed it was very quiet and the beaches deserted. Not the usual hustle and bustle with being able to get cheap drinks, food etc which we loved last time. Hoping that some of this will return to Phuket.

    The rooms at Sunwing Bangtao were great for our family of 5 with a traditional feel. The pools and gardens were lovely. The resort is better located on the beach than Sunwing Kamala and the kids loved the kids club here and the carers. kids club was in a great location very central near the pools.

    Stayed in October 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Sunwing Bangtao Beach traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: