Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of The Tawana Bangkok 4 stars

80 Surawongse Road, Bang Rak, 10500 Bangkok, Thailand

#581 of 1,479 hotels in Bangkok

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1205 hotel reviews

8.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.2

  • Comfort

    8.2

  • Location

    8.7

  • Facilities

    7.9

  • Staff

    8.4

  • Value for money

    8

  • Free WiFi

    7.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2018

    10
    Great stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    -

    Great hotel with anything you can possibly need, friendly staff, wide variety of vegetarian/vegan options available at the restaurant and at the breakfast (ask the staff if not sure), comfortable beds, near a shopping area, a shopping mall, a park and skyscrapers.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2018

    3.8
    I added the breakfast by mistake which has been removed by...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I added the breakfast by mistake which has been removed by booking afterwards after sending the request, however, hotel still charged me for the fee for 4 breakfasts(over 2000thb, and honesty, the breakfast here sucks.... I am so disappointed about this . For the room service and clearances ok.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2018

    8.8
    Clean & well maintained hotel situated in an excellent location! Reasonable rate!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The restaurant food is just okay in terms of taste. The waiter and waiters can be a little more friendlier. Front desk staff (lady on duty) not able to explain clearly why she needs to collect gurantee (guaranty) amount of 2,000 bhat after I have paid the full amount for my stay during my check-in. She looked annoyed when I asked her the reason for the collection of guaranty amount?

    All staff were cheerful and went all out to make my stay a pleasant one. It is the location & the reasonable rate that made this hotel my 1st choice whenever I visit Bangkok. Clean & well maintained hotel.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2018

    6.3
    Location is good after all.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I requested 1 queen bed room for all of our friends, but the hotel prepared us twin bed room. Although hotel prepared the 1 queen bed room the next day, some equipment such as bath towels and toothbrushs were missing.

    Location was great. If you only use the hotel for rest and sleep, this hotel is great.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    9.6
    I'll recommend this hotel to friends and family.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom gave me the impression wasn't clean the first day when I arrived. The second day was a different story, it was cleaned to detail, I guess the service notice the mistake the y made the first day.

    Friendly staff, awesome location, grear facility.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2018

    9.2
    4 Nights Stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi in room was very Sporadic. People Smoking around the Pool Area.

    The Staff are very Professional, Polite and helpful. Our room was always attended to. The Hotel Lobby Looks Amazing and hallways to rooms Beautifully maintained. Short walk to many options of street food stalls or cafes and restaurants. Transportation from Hotel via Tuk Tuk or Taxi, or a very short walk to BTS Stations. Thankyou for a Pleasurable stay.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    9.2
    Perfect location, good pricing, nice pool
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Just one thing: at the breakfast, the staff is always in a rush to pick up your plates and cup even if you haven’t finished. I had to told a couple time to leave it because I want more food.

    Perfect location, good pricing, nice pool

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2018

    10
    A highlight of my trip to Bangkok
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No phone chargers in the room. Had to use USB cable to charge phone. No extra powerpoints.

    I loved this place. Best location. The staff were super professional and friendly. They upgraded me as I was so tired and made my stay comfortable and easy. Pool is fantastic and could be the best location in Bangkok next to Patpong markets and cool street food joints. I slept well and will definitely be staying again. Breakfast was good too with proper machine Italian espresso, and they offered 50% off at check in. Fabulous

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2018

    5.8
    it self hotel was located easy accessible area to every...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    breakfast

    it self hotel was located easy accessible area to every place that you want to go. my concern, requested service get delay every time. breakfast was not on my expectation.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2018

    9.2
    Lovely retro Siamese hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Junior Suite was huge with a large comfy bed and nice bathtub, perfect for a wary traveller. The restaurant was decent and the place well-located around Metro and Sky Train stations. The shopping centre nearby was great for food and there were plenty of other useful shops like pharmacies, 7/11, etc. I left my glasses in the room and the staff were very professional, organised and helpful in getting them back.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2018

    10
    value for money in a older style hotel which is well mantained .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 8 nights

    For guests staying longer then a few days, some variations in the breakfast buffet would be a positive thing.

    eggs can be ordered although there is no sign to indicate it. generally breakfast is aimed to the majority of their guests who are Asians. However there is adequate for an european style breakfast. esp. their coffee bar with coffee made to order....

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    10
    I love the hotel in general and will definitely be staying again
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 14 nights

    The WiFi is sometimes too slow for some downloads and will intermittently drop connections. This needs to be sorted out. My only other complaint is about the breakfast. Fried eggs had obviously been cooked some time before and were not kept hot and the same applies to the bacon. Cold eggs and bacon are not acceptable!!

    The rooms are very well maintained. The staff are unfailingly helpful and any problem is solved almost immediately.....a case in point was when a shower head was leaking in the bathroom and someone came within 5 minutes of a call to the front desk to look at it and within another 5 minutes an engineer arrived to replace the shower head. I cannot fault the staff who are all very friendly, very helpful and make guests feel valued as customers.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    8.8
    Comfy upper class stay in the heart of the red light district
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Elevator smell wood And old fashioned interior I did like because remind me the SIAM époque But my Thai girl friend did not like It's a question of taste

    Nice Restaurant - Good for romantic date Or wedding Nice pool with artificial green floor And real flowers Big lobby with newspapers Good equipped minibar And water kettle Very comfy bed Luggage storage possible

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    10
    On the whole a nice hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn't like the fact that at 10am the breakfast is quickly cleared away so unless you go to breakfast by 9am you feel you are having to rush.

    Good location. Good reception area.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    8.3
    Comfortable , Friendly, A Home away from Home.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    There is little to dislike...

    This is an old world hotel with a cosy homely atmosphere with very helpful and nice staff. It dates from its ownership as a Sheraton in the 1970's. The staff are lovely and very committed to assisting in any minor problems that may arise. I have never been disappointed in my many stays. It is superbly located.A very comfortable garden level pool provides early morning or late evening relaxation. In my latest visit, the Operations Manager personally attended to and remedied an internet problem

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    5.8
    Coffee shop is soulless could be so good but must be poor management.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    See above.

    Not much this hotel is like a classic car looks good but not to drive. There are much better hotels for less money. This is in need of major improvements. My first room before I changed was 2 star. Paint missing and Flaking from the woodwork. Disgraceful condition. As an experienced traveller it’s one of the worst I have experienced in Bangkok for its so called 4 star rating.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    8.3
    I love it. U might too!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They have the policy that advising to entertain guest at lobby or restaurant after 18:00 hrs. Sometimes i need more privacy with my friends since they even told me that second guest also need to be registered. I understood that it might be for safety reasons, but if they may do in other way, it might make patron feels easier. No halal food option. If they can cater halal food, they might have more muslim guest since finding halal restaurant is not always easy. Halal market are getting bigger now!

    The location. Very near to Patpong Nite Market,several massage parlour, eateries (non-halal), convenient store and so on. Their staffs are good and seems quite competent doing their job. I didnt have breakfast there since it is not halal. If they could made option for halal food, that will be even better. As for me, i think BTS Sala Daeng is the nearest station. It also has interchange station to MRT Silom while MRT Samyan for me is quite a walk to go.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    5.8
    Shame about cold breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    As when I stayed two weeks ago breakfast was cold - and I mean ice cold. There were NO heaters on any of the cooked breakfast options so eggs, sausages and bacon were all stone cold. When mentioned to staff they just offered to replace with more cold articles!

    Noe hotel in a good area.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    10
    Very close to the night life of Bangkok
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The furniture is kind of old, but not a problem. The room is clean.

    The location is perfect, just a few steps away from the night life centre of Bangkok. There are a lot of bars, clubs and karaokes nearby. If you like night life, the hotel will be a good choice.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    9.2
    The Tawana Bangkok is my preferred hotel in Bangkok. Excellent location & Great service!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    To be frank & honest, I enjoyed everything nothing I was not happy about. Keep up the good work!

    This hotel is conveniently located to places I like to frequent. Certainly this hotel is great value for money! Friendly & helpful staff, cleanliness is well maintained.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    7.9
    Great hotel - shame about the cold breakfast,
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The main restaurant is being refurbished and now breakfast is on the 2nd floor. I had the cooked breakfast during my stay and it was all cold, eggs, bacon etc.

    Great location and lovely room. I've stayed here before and usually stay here when in Bangkok. Many food outlets nearby and easy to get to either airport from this hotel. Nice clean large rooms.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    7.9
    Good option for short stopover in central BKK
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very friendly staff - property is a little tired and probably needs a major refurb - however for a 24 hour stopover it was fine. Location wise its great and a tuk tuk available to the nearest BTS station.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    9.2
    Good enough for its price, location. Will put in pocket list for the next Thai trip
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Only thing not good is hotel aged, some white wall already turn yellow and many other things you can find its age. People who lives in this hotel mostly with age, not many young people choose it

    Old hotel but scaled. Staffs are well trained, room is large enough and wife is fast enough for regular use. Absolutely location 5 mins work to saladaeng station and countless restaurant and vendor nearly. The Only thing not good is hotel aged, some white wall already turn yellow and many other things you can find its age.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    9.2
    Excellent location and clean room
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wish they could charge everything on my credit card and through the app. It was inconvenient to pay at the hotel since they already have my credit card information.

    The room was clean and well furnished. Staffs were friendly.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2018

    9.2
    Comfy and close to everything.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only 2 lifts for the whole building. Long waits at times.

    Nice comfy old school hotel. Enjoy the feeling of plush carpet... not cold, hard plastic floors like many hotels these days.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    7.9
    A good 1 day stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The inrenet/WiFi did not work well in the room. Often had to go into corridor to log on

    The location is excellent. Pleasant helpful staff and good breakfast

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2018

    8.3
    The once grand old hotel is now just old .with a nice lobby.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stained carpet , marked walls , frayed chair upholstery , electric sockets either did not work or were hidden by furniture ,desk, bed side tables etc, the wi fi was poor at best and the bath room mastic was black with mould and some fittings rusted and stained bath fitting? The check in and out was also old style lots of papers to sign deposit to pay so no chance of an express check out like in the 21st century hotels . and room i requested with pool view i was given a front of hotel room with windows so filthy i could not see out .stayed many times before never again .in this state.or this life.

    The location the staff and the decent old fashioned fridge..the pool area.but my room was in need of electrical work and repaint.. and more..this once grand hotel is fading fast ..

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2018

    6.7
    The room was big, huge to be honest but very old and stinky.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    They actually triggered 2 times a preauthorization of my card, the requested the payment on site and then they realized it's a mastercard Debit and started giving me advice not to use it anymore for bookings ... hillarious attitude but not ok. It's located basically accross the street from the night market which tends to be loud and flooded with strip clubs etc.

    Location but that's about all.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2018

    7.1
    Location is good, staff are friendly, room / hotel very...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    breakfast was just average breakfast, coffee could be better, selection of bread and cheese could be better a/c in room very loud

    Location is good, staff are friendly, room / hotel very clean

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2018

    7.9
    The Sidewalk Cafe connected to the hotel, with side room...
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 12 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The fitness room was ok, but in a corner snd dark.

    The Sidewalk Cafe connected to the hotel, with side room with big table for working with colleagues. Proximity to Lumpini Park, which is great for walks/runs. Close to both BTS and Metro.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2018

    7.9
    If you want a budget hotel in a great location, then this hotel is well worth it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The rooms are a little old (actually the whole hotel is old), and the carpet has slight musty smell to it. The gym was also disappointing. I expected hotel gyms to be small, but it felt like I was working out in a closet.

    Perfect location, price, and friendly staff.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2018

    7.9
    The place was adequate to our needs.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was horrid pool didn't have many beds and was small and not too welcoming. Small low bath. Botched repairs on couple things made it look tacky

    The heated toilet seat the massive bed plenty of plug points big picture windows but not much of a view from our room. Staff were great helpful and friendly

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    9.2
    Great value for the price- room was clean, spacious, and had...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Check in and out super lengthy and lots of paperwork- get with the times.

    Great value for the price- room was clean, spacious, and had all amenities. Checkin and out were pretty lengthy and lots of paperwork so factor in extra time there.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2018

    7.5
    A normal one night stay
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The cleanliness of the bathroom-long hairs in the bath and the tile need a good clean. Took an age toe mpty the bath of water.

    The room was comfortable

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2018

    5.8
    ok for a short stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    the wooden floorboards creak, door tends to be hard to close and ends up having to slam it shut. wi-fi is not reliable at all times.

    Location is very convenient.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    7.1
    Fine for a few days in Bangkok
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast was varied with local cuisine, but was somewhat bland.

    Staff were friendly and helpful and the hotel provide a shuttle to city center tourist attractions.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2017

    8.8
    location good, close to night club, public transport, and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The shower facilities could be improved. The water flow is small, and either too hot or too cold. Water accumulates in bathroom, a bit annoying.

    location good, close to night club, public transport, and night market. Lots of food options and convenient shops around. The decoration of hotel is quite nice.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 December 2017

    8.3
    Only stayed one night but I was very happy with the accommodation
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The water in the shower was too hot, even in the basin. I was brushing my teeth with warm water

    Very spacious room Walking distance to cafes & shopping centers, bars, super market, convenient stores etc

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    4.6
    Unpleasant
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel is smelly and very old furniture, they took our deposit for burned table and was already burned when we check in, after all it's old and smelly!

    Location

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2017

    8.3
    If I was to return to Bangkok, I would definitely use this hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Reception staff could have been much better.

    Hotel is perfectly placed for sightseeing with easy links to the sky train and underground. Free shuttle tuktuk takes you to the pier where you can catch the public ferry boats. Concierge was very helpful (good job really as the staff on reception didn’t seem to understand anything I was asking - even a simple thing like ‘do you have a map’). A young lady looking after the lobby bar was also fantastic - so friendly and helpful. Breakfast buffet had a good selection, we didn’t have evening meal.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2017

    6.7
    Overall is ok, just the staff from the front reception needs better training.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The staff. We book through booking.com including breakfast. When we checked in, they said that the price quoted is not including breakfast, which the website clearly says otherwise. I have them to re-check twice, then it was confirm later it was their mistake and process the payment. When we checked out, the staff informed that breakfast wasn't paid which again, where their receipt shows the amount we paid including the breakfast. If we didn't point it out, I'm sure they would double charged you! so, always checked.

    The room is rather old but very comfortable. Good location, but a bit distance away from all the good markets.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 December 2017

    7.5
    Great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The area is expensive, so try and go outside of this bit to eat and drink because it’s massively overpriced.

    This hotel is lovely. Big beds, coffee and tea, nice enough staff, really reasonably priced too.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2017

    6.3
    Not a 4 star hotel, but I got a low season bargain.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Reception staff has some trouble with English. No power outlets around the bed or the desk, so you need to charge your mobile/tablet in strange places, like next to a lamp or at the room entrance. I requested a single large bed but the first night got a room with twin beds and had to move to another room for the following nights. Rooms facing the surawong road will be noisy 24h due to the busy traffic. Windows aren't transparent and you can't see properly outside. The hotel is a bit outdated and worn out.

    Big room, good location, guest friendly, very nice concierges.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    6.3
    Order junior sweet,, if not smoking you get a verry Nice...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Order junior sweet,, if not smoking you get a verry Nice room. If you smoke you get a bad room. but pay same price. way Your hotell have that polesy?

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 November 2017

    9.2
    Upgrade fallacy
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Don't fall for it when they say they're upgrading you when you check-in. The first time I checked in I was "upgraded" to a really nice room on the third floor with a balcony overlooking the pool. Ultra Modern redone bathroom. I came back a week later and was "upgraded" to a room on the 9th floor which was old and dark and the bathroom was small. The next morning I woke up and the room was flooded from a leak that occurred in the room above me. I like the hotel the staff is great but when you say gave me an upgrade make it so

    Staff was great bed was very comfortable the air conditioner work great right in the middle of everything

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    7.5
    Comfortable enough, staff are the properties best asset.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Rate for a short stay room to shower and change in before our flight was unreasonable.

    Helpful staff. Had to wait in the lobby bar for a couple of hours before we took a cab to the airport. The young female bartender was very attentive and kind, over and above the call of duty.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2017

    10
    Perfect location in Bangkok
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They need more or lounges around the pool they only have three sets

    The staff was very friendly and helpful the bed was very comfortable in the air condition work perfectly

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    10
    Great hotel, with wonderful old-fashioned charm and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Great hotel, with wonderful old-fashioned charm and character. We were upgraded to an executive room. They provide a free tuk-tuk service between 10am-6pm to places within a certain distance from the hotel, which was very much appreciated!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    5.8
    A taste of Japan.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Too many Japanese "businessman"... cause the area is full of Karaoke and massage shop made for them.

    The location is great if you want to visit the city. Near the BTS station, near Silom market, near Chinatown and the Lumphini park. The room was big and comfortable.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2017

    8.3
    Ambience, comfort, security, position.........
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    I met a gentleman in the lounge and we chatted. He said " it has'nt changed in 20 years " My view..keeping abreast of the amenities and maintaining the beauty of a gracious ambience...

    Lovely helpful staff. Old world charm. comfy bed and nice room. everything worked. Social big lounge to relax. wIfi works well although I carry my own. Nice swiming pool, quiet and shaded.. A three minute walk to Sala Daeng station..and everything is then in reach. Patpong market across the road, eateries close by, airport 500TB from hotel. I have stayed at this hotel over the years and always glad to arrive at its foyer.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    8.3
    Comfortable, amiable, a retreat after a hot active day, an early morning swim..a delight, quiet..
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 8 nights

    I think that genuine unspoiled people can find little to criticise...the staff call one if one has a privacy card on ones door to see if you would like your room done over..that a nice touch

    This is an old world style hotel which is very comforting in its ambience..one could say, a retreat from the world as one steps inside the doors. The staff are helpful, friendly, always cheery. Old world comfort is my view. A short distance away, is Foodlands excellent little restaurant and 24/7 supermarket, ask for directions, a little further on Silom Rd is Sala Daeng station, a 25 BHT ride to Stadium Station and a vast IT shopping centre..MRT..floor four.. at night, Patpong market, just across the road, and all the lanes off Silom Road are alive..a choice for every taste of shopping, food , entertainment, For cultural pursuits, and musical events..pick up the hotel leaflets.. Don't pay more than 500 but to go..or come from the airport.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    10
    This Hotel used to be the RAMADA HOTEL and has all the standards still that you would expect.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    no dislikes

    I'm a manager with the oil company PTT and know Thailand very well. Arrived at this hotel for a business meeting, and will return again today. Hospitality, great comfortable beds and pillows, its a great stay! This Hotel used to be the RAMADA HOTEL and has all the standards still that you would expect including barbers, and other class shops on it's premises. The hotel also has lots of street food outside the 10 meters away from its door entrance as well as a very convenient (adjacent to the from of the hotel) cheap and lovely western Cafe. Go there.....its very very safe in this location as its well lit up at night with security. Note! nobody is allowed in your room after 6pm - thats a good protection policy.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    7.5
    Good choice at a good price
    • People with friends
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I emailed the hotel about the advertised Muay thai boxing a week or so before arriving in Bangkok. I did not receive a reply and was told the facilities were closed upon arrival.

    Decent hotel, probably very luxurious in the late 80s, and I didn't mind this older feel at all. Beds were decent, pool was nice and deep, food was fabulous.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2017

    5.0
    Charged me twice!!
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    They charged my twice!! They charged the room rate when I made the reservation and again when I checked out. I asked for a refund and they refused.

    Location is ok

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2017

    7.1
    Stay was just satisfactory. Not bad, not good. Will probably check out other hotels next time
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi was limited to 2 devices and is logged out when not using. I had to miss a couple of business emails because of this. Other hotels of similar price range would have had true unlimited wifi. Very annoying!

    Location was good.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    10
    The room was brilliant was upgraded to a junior suite, the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cant fault anything our stay was great.

    The room was brilliant was upgraded to a junior suite, the breakfasts were sensationaland was great to relax around the pool or in the bar at happy hour listening to some nice music

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    8.3
    Good location from bangkok point of view😉😉
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pool depth is very gradual you can actually feel like drowning at one point inside pool

    Tawana comes under the category of normalisation where you can get fancy house treatment and cheap stuff to shop and eat outside.Hotel staff helps you in booking tours but it would be better to book solo tours from outside because they demand a lot of commission on it.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2017

    7.1
    Convenient, but starting to show its age.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My only criticism would be that the hotel is showing signs of its age. In my room I felt the carpets were well overdue for replacement and the air conditioning ducts looked a little grimy which can't be good.

    The staff were all friendly and helpful and I was always greeted with a smile as I entered the hotel. The hotel location was convenient for some of Bangkoks infamous tourist attractions such as the patpong night markets and was close by to public transport which was great.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    9.2
    Excellent and Stylish hotel in heart of nightlife !
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some time I feel hotel is little pricey and you should take care for people like me who are regular with you

    Very nice hotel at excellent location very modern and comfortable rooms with round the clock room service which I hardly see around the world 🌎 Few reception staff are really helpful specially one lean guy and one girl who specially helped me out of the way for my local requests in city.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2017

    8.3
    Spacious room great value slightly dissapointing bathroom
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The badroom could use a renovation. The hotel is pretty lux so the plastic showercurtains and uncomfortable shower were really out of place.

    Liked the pool and breakfast buffet was very good.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2017

    6.3
    Most staff were helpful but improvement
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is rather old fashioned and the room I was in looks dated and one draw wouldn't budge. I was woken up by a duty manager at 6.15 am about some laundry, waking me from sleep. A free breakfast was given as an apology. One member on evening duty at the door made extra effort to get me a taxi, so I think he should be highly commended .

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2017

    9.6
    Great value for money in the heart of Silom
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Check in could've been faster

    Great location in the heart of Silom, close to MRT and BTS. Staff were friendly and let us leave our bags there for a few days after checking out, which was much appreciated

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2017

    7.5
    Fading glory in the heart of old siam.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Needs bit of modernising, small baths with shower curtains so 20th century. Check in and out a bit slow .charge for hotel business center is not good for guests as its in the foyer not a private room and very basic.

    Location and overall facilities amd size of room. Clean bedding and good choice of toiletries, pool was o.k small but well sited so sun bathers could top up tans if needbe.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2017

    10
    Great hotel close to the embassy quarter and main shopping malls
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No lift to the reception area from the ground floor. Might be a bit of an issue for moms with strollers, like me

    The staff were exceptionally welcoming and helpful. The facilities were great too, comfy bed and good choice of TV channels

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2017

    8.3
    Very Good Overall, would look to stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pillows and an apparent difference between the two mattresses that made up the double bed were only mildly annoying.

    The electric Toshiba toilet and climate control in the room were awesome. Well soundproofed rooms, with blackout curtains.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2017

    4.6
    The Lobby has a welcoming feel
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Terrible Internet connection And I had to log in every time I woke my computer up sleep mode.I kept on calling about it to the front desk and the only answer I got was "we will reboot the system" which didn't work. It drove me nuts! I was staying in room 550. The room made me feel like I was staying over at my grandma. In overall the experience wasn't bad nor good

    The Lobby has a welcoming feel The room is clean

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    7.9
    Good value with discount. Staff becomes incompetent when unexpected situations arise.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff can be clueless and incompetent. It took 3 phone calls (to them and Booking) to modify the booking. And even though they gave me a confirmation that the booking had been effectively modified, when I got there they told me I didn't have a reservation. I had to stay at the reception desk for almost an hour and call the reservation website myself to sort it out. They had simply forgotten to respond to the website's email regarding the booking modification. Knowing the mistake was theirs, they should have dealt with it themselves and avoid making my check-in experience so frustrating. This should be an obvious rule to any customer service staff in any industry: if you made a mistake, don't make your customer repair it at their own expense (i had to call the hotline in France). Also, for a four star hotel, it lacks some free stuff (toothbrushes? only one bathrobe and one pair of slippers even though it's a double room?)

    Comfy big bed even in the cheapest room.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2017

    7.9
    Comfortable but classic
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room wasn't ready at check in time. Waited for 45 min to an hour at lobby and no drinks or refreshment provided.

    Staff was friendly especially the door man.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2017

    6.3
    Nice location, but poor execution by management
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Lots of rats around the property (we could hear them inside the walls at night). The sheets were not changed upon our arrival (ewwww....) The taxi ride from the pier was a mistake - take the speedboat from the Rayong jetty - it is actually cheaper and faster than the normal boat + taxi + entrance fee to the island's "National Park"

    Nice scenic spot. Has a private beach. Good breakfast.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    7.5
    Fading grand old lady of Sarawong ,patpong area,
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bedding,and general furniture needs replacing. wi fi need to log in every day more than once at times, reception staff did not offer to assist in my print ing needs , manager did,but why the need to bother this busy man ?

    I have stayed at the Tawna hotel several times over the years a reliable mid range hotel in a central location , i have marked it down this year for being dated, and the bedding needs replacing , frayed pillow cases and Scuffed finishes to wood furniture edges let it down and , still adequate but for the price range needs a few new touches, bathrooms dated shower curtains over small bath are 20th century, Heated seats to toilets and water jet wash are nice touch ,manager printed my boarding pass for free, but had to ask for him to resolve a few minor issues.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2017

    6.7
    Location is good
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel cannot fufil my request that of the non-smoking room. The smell made me uncomfortable. It is not the first time to do so. I had made the booking quite early.

    Location is good

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2017

    6.7
    the room was large enough, and most of the staff were quite...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The breakfast was 500baht per person, but really not worth it. Better choices nearby. If you want a good breakfast at a decent price, go to O'Briens, next to the bts. It was my first time staying in Silom, and probably my last. More annoying hawkers and pests than Nana.

    the room was large enough, and most of the staff were quite friendly I like the location only because it's near the BTS and MRT. The pool was lovely.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2017

    9.2
    A Near Five Star Facility at a Three Star Price
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    The location is excellent with plenty of commerce, banks, restaurants of all kinds and nightlife within a short walking distance, and plentiful taxis available. I have paid significantly more for rooms at the Tawana years ago. It used to be Tawana Sheraton and then Tawana Ramada.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2017

    8.3
    Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Rooms would benefit from a refurbishment. The level of English comprehension was very basic so difficult to get assistance. Staff reluctant to store our luggage even though it was listed as being available - had to pay extra for the service!!!

    Location was great. Facilities were good, pool was a good temperature; live music in the evenings was enjoyable. I would stay here again.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2017

    10
    This is our third time staying here.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The only drawback is two small elevators for a hotel this size is strange. Sometimes long waits for the car to arrive.

    This is our third time staying here. We are always pleased with the service, location and the included breakfast.

    Stayed in March 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: