Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Thara Patong Beach Resort & Spa 4 stars

170, 170/1 Thaweewong Road, Patong Beach, Kathu, 83150 Patong Beach, Thailand

#256 of 391 hotels in Patong Beach

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 50 hotel reviews

7.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.2

  • Comfort

    7.3

  • Location

    8.3

  • Facilities

    7.3

  • Staff

    7.3

  • Value for money

    6.5

  • Free WiFi

    6.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 32

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    7.9
    Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Three storey building without elevator. Its quite difficult to carry the luggage up. The shower water is not cold. The tv is too complicated to switch on! However got the help from housekeeping and we didnt switch off the cable box during our stay as troublesome to get it switch on again. Each timr enter the room need to reconnect the wifi again! Even during the night it will disconnected and we need to reconnect again in the morning!

    The location is near to the beach.but quite a distance to junceylon. Breakfast is acceptable.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2018

    6.7
    Overall good and comfortable. Loved the location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    1. Inefficient check-in despite advance information of the check-in time (at the time of booking). 2. Deposits taking 15 days to be returned. 3. The central switch control array, where figuring out which switch turns on/off what is very inconvenient to use.

    The check-in was complicated and took more than 4 hours. Although we were told that our rooms will be ready by 2pm (we arrived at 11am), by a fairly sullen check-in staff member, just waiting to get off duty, they were actually allocated by almost 3:45pm, and that too just one room against two rooms booked. This room turned to be faulty, The Duty Manager was very helpful and ran around to get us adjoining rooms. The rooms are large and comfortable. The rooms were paid for in advance, but, the deposit collected by the Hotel through Credit Card at the time of check-in, we were told will take 15 days to be returned after check-out when no extra facilities were availed. Found this highly irregular, and against the practice of returning or crediting deposits immediately after check-out by all good hotels.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2018

    7.9
    Nice friendly staff, excellent breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Bed was only a queen and slightly uneven mattress, but otherwise ok.

    Nice friendly staff, excellent breakfast. Good location. Nice bathroom with bath and separate shower

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2018

    9.6
    Thara Beach
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    It was right next to banks road where all the action was but it it was quiet and you didn't hear any noise. 5 minute walk to the beach. Nice hotel.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2017

    4.2
    Never again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The entire stay was a shambles. Check in? Deplorable. Painfully slow. Inept counter staff. 35 minutes to get my check in organized and I was the only person in the foyer! Apparently there was "an incident" that happened during my arrival so any staff that were useful were tending to that, and dealing with the police. I was told this the next morning. Requested an upgrade due to the delay and, if what I got was an upgrade... Take two stars off the sign. What a dump! Was shown to my room and, although the fridge was plugged in for me, the a/c was left off and I was left to figure out how to turn it on in 28c weather. Shower? Warm at best, after running the water for 25 minutes. Got that, and the a/c going finally. Place was decidedly dirty. I didn't look too closely around the bed as I was afraid of what I might find. Breakfast the next day was mediocre at best. I left the hotel when I could. I won't be back even if offered a free stay. Forget it! Way too much money for what you get. As I said, take two stars of the sign and chop the prices in half. The place is at least 30 years old and needs more than new room doors and a coat of paint to bring it up to scrub. Run away screaming.

    Leaving. The check out was slightly less painful than the check in. Happy to leave this place behind.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2017

    5.0
    Good locatin/Poor cleaning
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They dont change the bed covers every time they clean ; poor cleaning at all ; & a lot of bugs ( ants; mosquitos; lizards) inside the room maby because of the large garden in the hotel .

    The best was the Perect location and the big swimming pools .

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 December 2016

    2.5
    The worst
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything is bad, free wifi is very poor rooms Are small, not clean they con customer by pictuers. My rooms location was near the sanitary very bad smell. When i arrived the let me wait for 2 hours with no room available while the other room after 5 hours. The price is to high to this hotel. The beds was bad and not comfort

    Nothing, only location is near patong beach

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2016

    8.3
    Calm and quiet resort great for a lengthy stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    There were ups and downs with the staff communication skills, some of them were awesome but sadly the majority need to get better at communicating in English. I wish the hotel can adjust some of the policies a bit like when you ask for an extra umbrella at the reception they make you pay THB 200 as a deposit for the umbrella. A smart hotel would just record it on the room and if it never got returned they can take it from the THB 2000 you pay as a deposit for the room anyhow!. It makes it look like the hotel doesn't trust you and that just feels wrong!

    Even though the hotel is very close to the "hype" area of the island. Once you step inside the resort area you feel like you are in some sort of a mountain area far from the city, with trees and birds all around you. I would like to send a special thank you to NA and Yulla at the reception they were both very tentative and able to meet our every demand.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    10
    This the 4th or 5th time that we stay at this hotel. Will stay here again and again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    none

    Love the services and room. Clean and comfortable.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    6.3
    Location is everything and if you want Beach and busy area, this is it.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast was nice and there was variety. Hotel is showing it's age, as I have stayed here a few times through the last 20 years.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2017

    7.1
    Not bad for a relaxing stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    No swimming pool bar, cannot order drinks by the pool side. No towel provided by the pool.

    Food quality for breakfast can be improved further.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 December 2017

    10
    Great 😀
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The swimming pool should be vopen later 7pm

    Clean & friendly

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2017

    4.2
    Frustration
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Old, dirty need to repair

    Old, dirty

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    9.6
    Friendly stuff and they care about their customers...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cannot recall anything

    Friendly stuff and they care about their customers satisfaction

    Stayed in October 2017

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2016

    10
    Friendly and helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The noise from the construction taking place on the property next door. At least the staff accommodated us by moving us to a different room on the other side far away from the noise.

    Friendly and helpful staff. Place was always neat and clean. A wonderful and quiet place in the heart of Patong! Walking distance to shopping malls and Bangla Road for a great Christmas and New Years party.

  • Reviewed: 21 December 2015

    6.7
    I like the location of hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The rooms feels old and dark. Bathroom with bathtube and window to the room not my liking, shower is enaugh for me. Internet not so good.

    I like the location of hotel. Nice pool and garden. Breakfast buffe ok not more but good staff in the restaurant.

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2015

    4.2
    The best thing was the location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    I certainly did have a bad experience! I had an accident due to lack of safety at the Hotel. There were NO First Aid Staff available. The situation was not dealt with appropriately, I was lied to by management who promised to sort out the situation and did not. This ruined ten days of the holiday as I was unable to participate in any activities with my family. The rooms were not cleaned properly, the breakfast was poor quality. In fact there are too many negative things to write!

    The best thing was the location.

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2015

    7.1
    good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    the rooms arranged for us were at 3rd floor, no lift, tired walk up and down. Although one side of the rooms were facing the swimming pool, but the other side it border with a restaurant with outdoor live band, quite noisy after midnight. The wifi was indeed terrible and I did not even enjoy the wifi since day one of stay till we left.

    good location..good swimming pool..staffs are quite friendly although english was not that fluent

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2015

    5.8
    Food ,pool,room,
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Starf don't understand English and bar starf start late. Bell was nice speak good English and smiles nice girl .cushens on pool chairs old and uncofertable .

    Food ,pool,room,

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2015

    7.9
    location is excellent, Pool was great lovely rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    we requested ground or first floor room due to injury was given 3rd floor, when we showed booking sheet to staff with request they showed us their info from bookings.com and request was not inc. this was not hotels fault. they moved us anyway which was wonderful.

    location is excellent, Pool was great lovely rooms. Staff in reception very helpful. close to beach.

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2015

    10
    Very friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The room, staff, pool,fitness center and location.

    Very friendly staff.In short there is everything there that you would like for a nice holiday or whatever your needs are. Perfect stay!!!

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2016

    10
    Staff was great
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Mosqitoes at breakfast resturants

    Staff was great

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2016

    9.2
    Its a bit far from the main street of all the parties.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Its a bit far from the main street of all the parties.

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2015

    7.1
    Good room with excellent aircondition.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The bed was to hard. The bathroom begins to be old (not fresh any longer).

    Good room with excellent aircondition. Only a short walk to the beach.

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2015

    9.6
    The pools 2 pools both big
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The pools 2 pools both big

  • Reviewed: 24 November 2015

    3.8
    No wife at all.
    • Family with young children

    No wife at all. Very old decoration. Break fast no good. Stuff try to cheat for more money

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2015

    10
    Location was perfect for us.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Can improve a little bit on breakfast menu.

    Location was perfect for us. Excellent and friendly staff.

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2015

    10
    Pool and Spar area, breakfasts
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Pool and Spar area, breakfasts

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2015

    9.6
    Massages, Food, Pool areas.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Bed not so comfortable, no Mosquito nets, no bath ( didn't indicate that when make the reservation)

    Massages, Food, Pool areas.

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2015

    9.6
    The pool
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Having to Check out earlier than needed

    The pool

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2015

    7.9
    Pool, breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Couldn't sleep until 1am because of loud music coming from a restaurant behind our room...

    Pool, breakfast

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2015

    10
    Nice rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Wifi was intermittent and didn't reach the room

    Nice rooms

There are also 13 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 32

Browse Thara Patong Beach Resort & Spa traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: