Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of The Montien Hotel, Bangkok 4 stars

54 Surawongse Road, Bangrak, Bang Rak, 10500 Bangkok, Thailand

#1034 of 1,479 hotels in Bangkok

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 723 hotel reviews

7.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.5

  • Comfort

    7.3

  • Location

    8.2

  • Facilities

    6.8

  • Staff

    7.7

  • Value for money

    7.1

  • Free WiFi

    5.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2018

    10
    As a solo traveler, it was close to all bars and easy to get...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No guests aloud ? Very strange policy , they wanted B1000 to let a guest in

    As a solo traveler, it was close to all bars and easy to get from the airport via train /metro

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2018

    10
    We enjoyed the Montien Hotel, it had good rooms and staff - will stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The only negatives would be (a) the television service, that did not have a very good range of channels to view, no CNN, BBC or Australia TV; and, (b) the internet service which was hard to log into and not very reliable or fast when we were able to log in.

    The Montien is an older hotel - dating from the 1960s, but this was a real plus: the rooms were exceptionally good value for money - large, clean and with good bathrooms equipped with good towels and toiletries and very good air conditioning.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    8.3
    Excellent location, very friendly and helpful staff. Value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast was disappointing. Free WiFi was non-existent in my room, gave up and used the high speed chargeable option but didn't get charged for it. Could have used this on the first day

    You cannot beat the location of the Montien! Patpong markets were directly across the road. Staff were very helpful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    9.6
    Very comfortable,light and airy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The gym lacks modern equipment.Its very inadequate.

    Very comfortable,light and airy.Near to everything.Great staff.We always stay here when we are in Bangkok

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    9.6
    Nice hotel but for the tourist more than business people
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    I though the WIFI was really poor in the bedroom and also sometimes struggled around the hotel I with the different nationality that came into the hotel during my stay they struggled espiaclly some of the +receptionist the men need to improve compared to some of the women staff

    It was a great location and value for money i think better suited for Tourists and not business men and wonem

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    8.3
    Good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Toilet - No Pipe or Hose Pipe. Only Tissues. Atleast they could have pail and bucket for those who in need. Language problem is the main things- most of the staff don’t understand English

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    6.3
    Great hotel. Good location. Pity about staff and management.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The BS at check in and booking. I booked the non-refundable room for a friend as a birthday gift, it was a massive task, multiple emails and calls, then finally had to get Booking com staff involved in order to have the room charged to my card. Their reply to emails took forever and for a hotel that targets international guests their basic English skills were very poor.

    Location is great, you are at the centre of activity and easy walk to the met system. The rooms are nice, great comfortable bed and good breakfast. It's a great hotel, shame about the staff and management.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2018

    9.2
    Highly recommended.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No real coffee (which is normal in thai hotels). I found all the beds in Thailand too firm for me.

    Good all round. Staff friendly. Room service good. Pool clean and good size. Rooms big and comfortable. Great location. The gym had a good variety of machines. Breakfast was about normal.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2018

    8.3
    Ticked all the boxes.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It’s an old building very worn & tired. Also very noisy at night. No movie channel.

    Location to night markets, Lumpini park, sky train, restaurants is excellent

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    3.8
    Terrible
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    This self professed 4 star hotel has a nice lobby, but the rooms are not to that standards. Generally old, smoky, it must have been very nice in the 1970s but definitely needs an upgrade now. The pool is in the shadow after midday. The staff is rude - Don't expect any help should you need a refund because something came up, or help for that matter - they lied to us about the availability of non-smoking rooms and when they told us about hotel policies, blaming it on booking.com. Overall, a very disappointing experience.

    The 1970's hotel lobby and the Chinese art decor were interesting.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    8.3
    Sad they price-hiked this year. May look elsewhere next year.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Single Room
    • Stayed 8 nights

    I stay the same length of time each February, so I was shocked I was charged more than DOUBLE what I have paid in the past.(9Feb2017 -21,600bahts incl breakfasts, this year 42,000bahts EXCLUDING breakfasts. In these quotes I have excluded extra charges for laundry, additional meals etc). Possibly the price-hike may be due to Chinese New Year ?? Standards and facilities were almost identical each time - though this year every day it took a very long time to get any hot water running in the early evening.

    Have been coming regularly every year so I am very familiar with it. Obviously because I am a regular visitor, I am generally satisfied with what it offers.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2018

    9.6
    I have stayed twice and will be back for my third soon
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    My room was a little dated, all efforts were made to keep the room spotless which it was, just looked a little 90s

    Location is slap bang in the centre of Bang Rak, a quick 30 second walk into Patpong Night market. The beds are comfortable and the bar delivers some wonderful cocktails.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2018

    8.8
    Very nice, great value for money, great location stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    as Long as you are sensible and weigh things up, read reviews, etc you shouldn’t really be disappointed with anything!

    The location is great, the pool area is great, the public spaces are very large and grand, the value for money is worth it!! The staff are lovely! It’s obviously a dated hotel, everything is a bit older in this hotel, but is well maintained!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    7.9
    Good value hotel with imperial atmosphere
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bad wifi connection in the room, I had a room without sound-proofed glass and therefore the noise of the motorway was annoying

    Nice staff and pool, imperial atmosphere in the hotel with impressive lobby and some nice facilities (e.g. 24h coffee shop)

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2018

    6.7
    Probably last time we will stay here
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 14 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Facility very old. Stayed here over 15 years ago. The bathroom taps didn’t work and they rattles. There were 4 lamps in the room, only 2 worked. The PowerPoint don’t work. The carpet were old

    The staff were great. Location good.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    7.9
    Good choice to money savers
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Superior Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Old facilities. Broken bath tub and shower. Old fasioned room key and lock instead of electronic one.

    Great location near restaurants, massage shops and BTS station. Great money value and spacious room.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    5.8
    It was average and old
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The amenities were old. The room was outdated. The plug points were limited and far. The light switch system was complicated. It was in a red light district

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    7.1
    Value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    As mentioned in other reviews, the hotel is a bit dated. But shouldn’t be a problem in regard to the pricing and location. Also the upgrade was nice but don’t expect a view, a new building is being constructed besides the hotel which is (at the moment) not a pretty sight :) Then again we chose this hotel for the location and not the view! So all in all a pleasant stay at The Montien Hotel

    Good location & friendly staff. Also got a free upgrade which was a huge room, enjoyed it.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2017

    6.3
    Not worth the money. Can get better accomodation for half the price
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Worst wifi we experienced in all of Bangkok. Poor customer service- Unprofessional behaviour by girl behind the reception- at the time of our checking in, she and the guy trying to check us in were having some sort of a passionate conversation that involved her tapping, and pushing the guy and laughing out loud- just looked bizarre. The luggage carrier couldn't be bothered to take our bags to the room so gave it to us and the reception did nothing.

    Room was clean, bed was big and located close to down town and BTS station

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 November 2017

    6.7
    Convenient for bts, mrt n taxi
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Taxi tried to demand fixed rate which is 2x to 3x the meter rate esp when they know you are tourist. One dropped at a quiet area after we refuse his 400 baht rate vs our meter rate of 95b.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2017

    9.6
    Very well looked after and a very pleasant stay.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Noise from the group bookings from China. Yelling out their doors to each other instead of using the room phones. Hotel quickly moved me to another floor to get some quiet. THANK YOU

    Traditional Thai Style. The staff are always helpful. Rooms nice and big (although a little dated) and in Thai traditional style. Easy to get anywhere from the hotel.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2017

    7.5
    Great location, 1 hour from airport by Airport Link and MRT for just a couple of $'s.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel is getting rather 'tired' and could do with a make-over. I stayed there in 1979 and don't think much has changed in that time. Just don't look too closely but linen etc./bed and large sized bed and big room are +++.

    I only slept at hotel. All meals were outside.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2017

    7.5
    Perhaps I'll return to Montien.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Location is very convinient.

    Basically everything is OK. But we were waiting for check in very long. I stayed in your hotel twice before. I liked it more in that time. The staff spoke English more and better.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2017

    5.8
    Not worth the money. We moved to another hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is old, it really needs some renovation. I understand that it's the style, but some facilities could be improved. Especially the bathrooms. Our bathroom was in a quite poor condition. You get burnt with hot water when someone in another bathroom flashes the toilet. Water pressure in the bath is sooo weak! If you have long hair it would be barely enough to make it wet! Air conditioner in the room is so old! Bed is very uncomfortable, pillows were flat. We woke up with the feeling that we were working hard all the night long. The canteen is freezing cold. Food gets cold before you start eating. I had to wear my fleece jumper for breakfast. Internet is free, but for TWO DEVICES ONLY!!!! for the third device they charge 200 something THB.

    Location is very beneficial - close to the underground and not far from the BTS. You can order a very nice omelette for breakfast.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    8.3
    My favorite hotel in Bangkok despite the lack of a good gym
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This hotel had a great swimming pool but suffers from an awful gym ( if you could honestly call it that(. For a hotel in this class it is a great disappointment that the management dont see the need to invest in modern gym facilities

    The staff ,especially the doorman who gives the hotel a great image with his tremendous personality. We were so happy to learn that his daughter had just graduated.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    5.8
    Not worth the total price
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I suppose that the room is furnished in the 90s. It smells really bad when you walk into it. The bathtub is dirty, the sprinkler is way to low and there is even hair in the basin.

    Location is really good, 5 minutes' walk from the subway station, lots of restaurant around like Starbucks, BurgerKing...

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2017

    7.5
    OkIt was just for one night as death of king made me not stay in Bangkok too long as every thing shu
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Moved room Because of chipped bath tub don't expect this this in four or five star hotel So Not a good start to Stay complain To Management and put in in there questionnaire

    Didn't have breakfast

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2017

    7.5
    Pretty decent place for an old hotel.Hope it is able to retain that older charm but needs improvment
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Did not get the package with breakfast. Breakfast was too expensive. Older hotels, facilities and amenities are old. NO WIFI PROVIDED!! :(

    Safe and standard older hotel. Location is good with fantastic and helpful staff. Looks like there is some renovation going on, hopefully new wing would help bring the hotel up to date.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    7.5
    Good cheap hotel to have a nice sleep.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The surroundings of hotel is not good & peacful. As you go out, people will start calling and inviting you for girls. But same is the case for nearby Le Meridian hotel. BRT Train station is a bit far.

    Room was comfortable and staff is very cooperative. Inside hotel is very peaceful & nice but slightly old. They will give you a traditional key with a Bell type keyring instead of smart card keys. Other standard facilities are available. So if you are concerned with a peaceful sleep go and rest in this hotel at very economic room charges.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    9.2
    My overall stay was very comfy, peacefull and relaxing.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The faucet keeps on dripping the whole day. And all toiletries must be replace everyday. And mostly, room cleaners are very HONEST!

    Breakfast is good and staff are very hospitable.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    4.2
    This was the most overpriced and worst hotel I have ever stayed in,
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were really unfriendly and boardering on rude, especially the reception desk. When we arrived we were greeted with the word passports not the usual hello. We booked a room which was suitable for 4 , it was not. We were then told to pay a large amount of money for our children to have breakfast. Breakfast was left sitting too long with some of the food stale. The hotel is very old and quite damp - the carpets had mild around the edges of the room. The wifi didn't work very well.

    The hotel was very central and quick to get to the sky train. It was right next to Patpong night market which you have to navigate through if you went out in the evening.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2017

    6.7
    I was so surprised that this hotel located within working...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Facilities are quite old Breakfast shall be improve with more food options Why there is a bell on the key chain ?

    I was so surprised that this hotel located within working distance from red light area. I came for ielts test so it is just downstairs

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    9.6
    Great hotel, good location and amazing staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    not enough plugs

    The location is a great not far from the underground in between two lines each one at 5 mins. There is a night market opposite the hotel, nice to go around even if the sellers are a bit aggressive.There are 2 small family mart and 7eleven. But there is a big 7eleven and that is just fantastic again on the left on the opposite side of the hotel like 3 mins away. The staff were amazing and helped me a lot. I was able to go back to the airport using the public transport (avoiding the traffic) thanks to their explanations. The hotel deco is traditional and nice. The room are spacious and clean everyday. A hotel I will keep on my list. good gym facility I like the fact that just behind the hotel you had a temple and a lot of food street choice.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    6.3
    Staff, Bed, Breakfast are very good.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    You cannot improve it but hot water was clouded with maybe iron rust and a big noise from water pipe or aircon due to very old building. they are OK considering room rate for this level of hotel. But WiFi was a big problem. In my room, WiFi signal as well as MP signal may be weak and finally I cannot get it. It is the serious problem for business trip.

    Staff, Bed, Breakfast are very good.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    3.8
    Rude staff and terrible beds! Just the start!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beds were rock hard my daughter and I are are both sore after sleeping on them. , the staff very unfriendly and unhelpful. We asked for extra blankets twice with no response. Also the food in the restaurants terrible. I could go on but would not recommend this hotel to anyone!

    The pool

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2017

    9.6
    Easily book again.
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Only there for one night. Not enough time to come up with any negatives about our stay.

    Excellent staff, very friendly Rooms were nice and clean. Very conveniently located close to Canadian Embassy and Russian embassy. Nicely tucked away back in their parking lot off the main road, so you do not here traffic or partying throughout the night. I never did eat or have coffee here, too many options close by. Also nice and close to the night markets, massage and bars. My wife and I traveled with our 9 year old son and there was no extra costs as he sleeps on the floor anyway. I will stay again.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2017

    8.8
    Friendly Staff, Great Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The decor is a little tired. The room we were in overlooked Patpong Road and the Night Market, which was an interesting view, however the traffic noise was quite loud until 2am. The pool bar is extremely expensive drinking compared with normal hotel bar prices (approx Australian $24 for 2 small bottles of Singha and a small bottle of water)

    Staff were very professional and helpful, and location is convenient to many restaurants, bars and the night market. Short (approx 200THB) taxi or tuk tuk ride to Siam Square, MBK, Centralworld malls.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2017

    6.7
    Perfect location
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Old fashioned facilities, air conditioner and fridge are too noisy Air conditioner control is too old and difficult to be set up Breakfast just so so

    Perfect location Nice staff

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2017

    7.1
    Nice Staff
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This facility is in need of a facelift. There are may main issues: from heating/AC to the 4 minute wait for hot shower water to the spotty WiFi. I can go on.

    Staff very pleasant and helpful.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2017

    4.6
    Would not recommend this hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Single Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I booked and paid in advanced only to arrive to be hotel after 18 hours trip to find that I have booked but they have not charged my card. As I booked and "paid" in advanced I couldn't upgrade or change my room prior to my arrival. As I'm found out they have not charged me I tried to upgrade at arrival. Everything was impossible.i insisted they use the card payment I used for the booking they didn't know how to do it. Had to pay with more expensive for me method of payment. Staff genuinely were not kind and were very difficult. I once had a coffee in the lobby it took me 40 minutes to pay for it as the woman who worked as a bar woman didn't speak any English at all! Initially I tried to order a mohito but she had no clue what it was even tho it was on the menu! Would never go there again and would not recommend it to anyone. Ps the shower in the bathroom was so low positioned I can't imagine any normal height person being able to wash their hair! Very dated furniture

    The only friendly member of staff I encountered was the door man! He would always say kind and polite hello or goodbye have a lovely day! Cheers

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2017

    10
    A great location and price
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing!

    Very helpful and pleasant staff - bell boy, reception staff and housekeeping all worked so hard to be helpful and create a welcoming atmosphere. The hotel looks good and is clearly well maintained.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2017

    9.2
    some improvements need in airport pick ups
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I requested to be collected at the airport and then taken back to the airport the next morning as I had a very early flight and was only overnighting at the hotel after a 10 hour flight, and checking in at 10 pm after loosing 1.5 hours trying to sort out what was happening I finally checked in at 12 midnight. I expect to pay for this pickup service however there was no one to meet me so I had to wonder around a very large airport tied, frustrated, and annoyed, until I found a help desk where a kind lady she rang the hotel and I was told I had to get a Limousine car service myself. This is the second time this has occurred and the Hotel needs to lift its game otherwise I will no longer stay there. My requirements were very clear in the Special instructions section of the online booking section. So its apparent that no one is reading them.

    I have been staying at the Montien so I know what I am getting

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2017

    7.9
    i was generally happy, and would stay again,
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Single Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The television channels were very very limited No water hose on the toilet, or a Bidet, Bath room taps always dripping, need renovation.

    the size of room the bath room, and the area were good for me

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2017

    5.4
    Location of hotel is good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel is in need of update and smells of damp. Building site at front and back with work starting at 8am. Swimming pool is not suitable for small children and i

    Location of hotel is good. Easy access to nightlife and public transport.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2017

    4.6
    Great Location with an outdated feel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lousy plumbing with the bathroom overflowing,old outdated look of the seventies,poor housekeeping...it felt like the seventies.no attention to detail.

    The location is great and room size is decent.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2017

    7.1
    Retro look however why not we go back to old school for one dah at least?
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bothroom shower is too old and room, maybe because of long time use carpet, it smelled a bit but room was spcious.

    Rate is lower than others because it is more than 40yrs old hotel. You will have a feeling that you went there with time machine. Staffs were so nice and swimming pool is very retro look. When I booked it, i knew it so I enjoyed it anyway. Try new things is always a good attitude.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2017

    9.2
    Very Good!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    WiFi was not free despite being shown as being free on this website and on their own literature! Breakfast price at 600 baht per person is expensive when all I eat normally is 2 slices of toast and 1 egg and so does my partner.

    Great location and staff. Room was nice, clean.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2017

    5.4
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We requested one week before arrival to have absolutely a non smoking and quiet room but we finally received a room assigned next to the lift and strongly smelling smoke !!! We called immediately the front desk but they mentioned that the hotel was full house situation and this is why they gave us a smoking room. Clearly they did not care about our room assignment and could not even move us in a different room. The next day (morning), we asked to the front office for cleaning our room and at the same time, to try to remove the smoking smell as we could not move to another room. In addition we inform to have a strong water leakage when having shower and asked to remove it, however when we returned at 11pm nothing was done!!!!! No cleaning nothing.. When you mentioned it to the staff they just don't mind and always try to find an explanation as an offensive.. Anyway,they just don't care about your confort and get the money they want. Pass your way, there is better hotel in town for similar price..

    Location

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2017

    6.7
    Good Location
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Sometime the door closest to the Metro station (Sam Yan) was closed. If they show a kind of indication before the long corridor, it will be more kind.

    Big room, big bed, and nice location close to the Metro station.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2017

    4.2
    was an average hotel,though its located near to silom road.
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Pathetic staff.always looking for more money from the customers.They charged me extra money for bringing a guest to the hotel,which really makes you think twice before staying at this place again.not worth the price paid for.

    Nothing special about this hotel,except the big lounge.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2017

    3.3
    Giving conflicting information
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Superior Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I booked this room night through Booking.com, apparently, both sides have conflicting information, which resulted me in making a very expensive decision. So, i think they need better communication skills.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2017

    7.1
    Location clean room
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi really bad kept cutting out on mobile was useless!! Had to hard wire laptop but was still slow!! Also took deposit on my credit card which caused me issues as need to draw the cash when I checked out and I could get it as showed on my card aslot a transaction which they said will take a few days to drop off. That was no good to me at the time and staff unhelpful hotel policy and wouldn't even just give me the cash. Wish I had been given the choice to pay a cash deposit as would have got that straight back on leaving in cash and use credit card as normal. This caused me some major issues at the time and almost didn't make My flight because of it. I live and learn for next time!! So bad wifi cold shower as no hot water!! And the deposit issue 3 things in less than a day record

    Location clean room

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2017

    8.8
    This place is big but lacks personal attention from staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I found out at the end that I did not have to pay or Free wifi . But my bill was higher than expected because I had to leave a deposit

    Too much walking around the buffet. No cutlery, must use the same for dessert. Must go get my coffee!

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2017

    6.3
    Good location, bad soundproof
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No sound-proof at all! The windows nor the door didnt reduce Any noise! Close to Silom there's a constant noise on the street. Room door felt like made of paper. Chinese neighbours made a noise in the hall and I could hear every single word. So if you are looking for soundproof, look further.

    The room was big and clean.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2017

    8.3
    was quite just off one of the more lively place lots of bars...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    i didnt not like been challenged coming back from night out with my thai girlfriend she was my actual girlfriend and not extra entertainment and i had already checked in with her, understandable in some respects but I do also expect discretion in such things, and not have to explain such things publicly

    was quite just off one of the more lively place lots of bars and night market plenty of places to eat

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2017

    3.3
    not recommended despite good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was old, spooky and smelly. Staff cannot speak fluent english and customer service is very poor (even the manager). The pictures in booking.com is different from the actual room itself.

    Good location

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2017

    10
    GREAT hotel - very nice and helpful staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I liked everything - I was very impressed with the level of professionalism !!

    great staff, especially the cleaners on floor 9 deserve a special thank you !! great value, great location - I was hospitalized for one night and the staff brought me some items to the hospital and really made sure everything went smooth - thanks so much again !! GREAT service :)

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2017

    9.6
    Good stay at Montien Bangkok
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The staff service was excellent. Have to make a special mention of Mr Som Chai (hope I spelled the name correct ) at the concierge. He was very kind and gave excellent directions and recommendations. Also Addie at the room service was very polite and prompt with the drinks. The location is very good. Silom complex and BTS is just a five min walk away. Plus patpong night market is just across the hotel.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2017

    6.7
    Location, safe , clean and reliable, staff courteous.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    At breakfast, hot croissants always cold & doughy, fresh fruit selection very little, coffee stewed. Taxi service ( using local taxis) seems organised to create some payback scam ( one taxi refused on a very normal, local trip, so I called my own cab in the street) and 800 Baht to airport too much. Hotel feels its age, although still tidy and clean. Coffee shop as restaurant disappointing - -" croque monsieur" should not be just a rather dry ham & cheese sandwich at over 300 Baht...

    Location, safe , clean and reliable, staff courteous.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2017

    7.5
    Overall enjoyable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was a dead bug on the floor and the shower was pretty awful. Barely any water pressure and the temperature kept changing. There were a wide variety of amenities, yet they didn't have any separate conditioner, just the 2-in-1 stuff. There were a few times we couldn't understand what the staff were saying, although it wasn't anything major.

    The room was huge and really unique. I loved the older decor. The breakfast was a great value. All you can eat buffet with everything from pancakes, waffles, and French toast, to Japanese breakfast, eggs made to order, fruits, cereals etc. The cost on the menu is 550 baht so if you can get it included it's worth it.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2016

    9.2
    Very Good value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel massage service is very expensive so I recommend using one of the many local ones nearby

    The staff are fantastic. The breakfast buffet is one of the best I have seen. Good sized swimming pool

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2016

    9.2
    recommend bangkok hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    bathroom a little tired

    probably the best breakfast experience ever bedrooms are very large. the location is a1 the staff very helpful would 100% recommend

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2016

    7.0
    Good staf good place
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Put us on the floor we reqeast when booking thanks

    The old gentalmen that has worked there for years is a testament to to the company loyalty and we love to see him he is like a farther to us when we visit it the hotel every year

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2016

    6.7
    Location suited me.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel needs a lot of maintenance. The taps in the room leaked, cold water tap on the hand basin did not work.Staff responded quickly to repair the tap. WiFi signal was weak and only worked for 1 day of the 3 day stay.

    Location suited me. Staff were very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2016

    8.8
    Very good value in well-positioned hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast very good, the exception being the poor quality yoghurt. It should be thick and creamy ,not thin and watery. The lifts could do with a good clean.

    Hotel's position. Easy to get anywhere with local Skytrain station and access to river. Staff could not be more helpful

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2016

    4.6
    To check out
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything The hotel is to old. In THIS hotel the time stop Is lik 1990 I can't advise all of you ! No good. Absolutely NO GOOD!

    To check out

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2016

    8.8
    Made to feel welcome
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The price is getting very expensive compared to other sane standard hotels in Bangkok

    Have stayed here many times and the staff is why I keep going back

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2016

    10
    Super value
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Recognise hotel is relatively old and this is reflected in old bathroom fittings. But no problem with working capacity.

    Room is a suite. Large wide bed. Good linen. Comfortable., Personally find location great. Easy access to BTR local transport and shops/food. Exceptional pricing, ie value for money.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2018

    7.5
    I booked a double bed and got two singles
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I booked a double bed and got two singles The drains in shower were quite ineffective. I ended up showing standing in water.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2018

    8.5
    Nice hotel in good location with helpful and friendly staff
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel is freezing cold I swich of my zircon upon arrival but that does not help

    Very good housekeeping lady on my floor 12

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2018

    9.2
    Great location and friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little bit old and in need of an update

    Great location and friendly staff

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2018

    7.5
    Quite old hotel but located in city centre. Comfortable and quiet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    They couldn’t find my booking and I had to wait for 20 minutes while in a rush

    Good location, although not near skytrain/metro

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2018

    10
    I have stayed in Montien many times and I like the hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cannot think of any

    Breakfast

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2018

    7.9
    Comfortable, staff pleasant and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Air con noisey ,to cold.,difficult to control temperature

    All good

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2018

    7.5
    The location is convienient
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lobby furniture is a bit old and aircon not cool. The key to the room is old fashion

    The location is convienient

    Stayed in August 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Browse The Montien Hotel, Bangkok traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: