Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of The Oriental Siam Resort 4 stars

40/1 Moo 2, Sankhampaeng Rd. T. Tasala, A. Muang, 50000 Chiang Mai, Thailand

#55 of 653 hotels in Chiang Mai

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 150 hotel reviews

9.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.5

  • Comfort

    9.3

  • Location

    8.2

  • Facilities

    9.1

  • Staff

    9.7

  • Value for money

    8.9

  • Free WiFi

    8.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 56

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    8.8
    Lovely boutique hotel, family owned and operated.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast is basic with very few options to choose from. The pillows are not very comfortable and the bed was too firm for me. However, the staff is so nice that you cannot complain. They do whatever possible to accommodate any requests.

    Staff is extremely friendly and attentive. We stayed at the Orchid Villa which was very nice. The courtyard is absolutely beautiful, we loved it, you can wonder for hours discovering its treasures.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    4.6
    Not as advertised in pictures
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Fuangfha Villa
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms and in general resort needs maintenance. Very old and dated. It was advertised about telephone, minibar in our room but there was none. Lots of ants and insects. This resort has great potential as the setting is lovely but there is no upkeep shown at the moment. We booked 4 nights left after one night.

    Staff were friendly and good breakfast

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    10
    Perfect experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Orchid Villa
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The resort is absolutely fantastic, we can't even imagine we are in the middle of the town. The service and the room are perfect. I highly recommend it

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    10
    AMAZING
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Mini Family Villa
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Maybe transportation is a little bit expensive

    Very calm, clean, excellent staff, the owner was so helpful and kind. Breakfast was amazing and their garden was too beautiful and well trimmed. Loved their balcony and terrace. This was the best hotel I’ve ever been. 20mins from the airport and not in the city but very calm and I could totally feel peaceful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    10
    Amazing hotel, location and even better staff!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nohing!

    Gorgeous hotel! It’s about 10 minutes outside of the city which was a perfect gettaway from the hustle and bustle. The service was impeccable, the rooms spacious and clean and a delicious breakfast was included. Pom the driver was the icing on the cake! He took us into town and on amazing tours to ride ATVs and trek through the jungle.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    7.9
    Quick Stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Ninneth Villa
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The rate vs. facilities were not proportionate.

    Good place. A little hidden in terms of location. Room size was good. breakfast was ok. Mosquitoes a plenty. Staff was great. A bit expensive for the rate paid.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 December 2017

    10
    Great Staff Great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Jasmine Honeymoon Villa
    • Stayed 4 nights

    A little far from city and slightly expensive but will stay there again for sure.

    Amazing resort and some of the best mannered staff. Great rooms and clean spacious bathrooms and dressing area.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    8.8
    Nice and relaxed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Ninneth Villa
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was at times a language barrier which we hadn’t experienced at other hotels. Not a major issue but made things a little harder on occasion. However, the email corrispondence before our arrival making arrangements was spot on.

    Friendly staff. Nice relaxed, quiet surroundings (within the resort). Great on site (or at least linked to the hotel) taxi service with a driver who speaks great English and is very helpful on the local info/tourist elements. He isn’t as cheap as normal taxis but made life much easier those times when you just want to get somewhere or have no hassle and need advice.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 December 2017

    9.2
    The attentive staff, spotless and comfortable room and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Orchid Villa
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Price on Bookings.com website for rooms fell sharply in weeks after we booked so ended up feeling disappointed by this.-it would discourage me from making an early booking with this website again.

    The attentive staff, spotless and comfortable room and beautiful pool area. We found uber useful for days out but hotel staff were also very helpful in arranging transport. Collection from airport on arrival was very much appreciated.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 December 2017

    10
    We booked the Lotus suite, it is a lovely house with all you...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Lotus Three-Bedroom Villa
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Nothing at all

    We booked the Lotus suite, it is a lovely house with all you need. My kids love the swimming pool and breakfast. We like to stay at the hotel all the time. Great service and nice environment.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2017

    8.3
    Beautiful relaxing small peaceful resort
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The owners spoke many languages like Dutch, English and Thai of course. But we had difficulty communicating with staff in English at breakfast and often we got things we didn’t really order. The coffee was not good, very bitter and acidic. Asking for Jasmine tea they always said yes and brought us black tea.

    Beautiful garden, pond and flowers all over the place maintained by Ruddy who is from the Netherlands. Very peaceful and quite place outside of the city center. They cleaned our rooms twice a day. There was a safe in the room. Very big rooms. Good Airconditioning too.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    8.8
    Totally recommended!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Ninneth Villa
    • Stayed 1 night

    The only down side is that there were loads of little insects (?tiny ants) that infested my suitcase, which was a disaster to say the least! Luckily it was the end of my trip so I just threw everything in the wash when I got home. My friend's suitcases were OK... Maybe it's just where I put it and they crawled in...

    The hosts made the whole stay in Chiang Mai amazing, very easy to talk to and made us feel at home! The rooms were spacious, and the surrounding area with the pady fields were such a breath of fresh air! Breakfasts were served and tasted good. Although it's far away from the city, we managed to get Grab for around 100THB each way, which isn't too bad all things considered.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    10
    Beautiful family run resort with attention to detail
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Deluxe Villa
    • Stayed 8 nights

    Great for children - there's a small playground and swimming pool (with shallow area for young kids) on site. Also, the staff helped our daughters to feed the fish in the pond each day at breakfast, and were happy to bring food to our room in the evening so that we didn't need to eat out when the children were tired. Very tasty breakfast. Our children loved the giant pancakes & waffles for breakfast, complete with colourful sprinkles on top! Very good coffee! Beautiful and cleverly planted gardens make the swimming pool and other spaces feel private. Very helpful & friendly staff. They went out of their way to help when our older daughter was ill on our day of departure and let us use our room beyond the usual check out time so that our daughter could rest, and also cooked special foods to entice her to eat. Easy to get a taxi into town - usually a driver would be available within 15mins of asking.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2017

    10
    Serenity and comfort
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Orchid Villa
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    They would really make you feel at home. The owner of the resort is really accomodating and down to earth folks. Staffs are amazing! What i like about their breakfast: croissants is flaky and soft in the inside, their yogurt is really yummy and their dinner meal is tasty and worth every penny!👍

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    10
    The most beautiful and relaxing place you could ever want.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Jasmine Honeymoon Villa
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Wasnt a place ideal for food and mosquitos were a little annoying, but what can you do.

    The location, the ambience, the people, the relaxed atmosphere, the beauty, the way they make you feel as though the place is all yours. The most tranquil place.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    10
    Another home in Chang Mai
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Fuangfha Villa
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Although it‘s a bit far from city center,but also a good place to enjoy silence and local life. The hotel will help booking car whenever you are out.

    They are not offering a hotel,but home. Perfect! The people there are nice and try their best to help. It is also a nice place for children to play,including swimming pool, swing, and etc.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2017

    9.6
    A great place to relax in Chiang Mai.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Fuangfha Villa
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    On a few occasions the kitchen was not open. However, the staff were very helpful in bringing in Italian food for us.

    Superb staff. We were treated like family the moment we arrived. Always helpful. Anything we needed was arraigned. The property is beautifully maintained and tranquil. Sundowners overlooking the working rice and vegetable garden ( you may roam around as you like) a must. You will even have the pleasure of meeting Hero. This is the place to stay away from the hassle of the city while still being only 15 minutes away.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 December 2016

    10
    Love this place
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Ninneth Villa
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The resort was beautiful and the staff so very friendly. We had such a wonderful time at the Oriental Siam Resort and I look forward to visiting again.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2016

    6.7
    Nice, but would try somewhere else next time
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Lotus Three-Bedroom Villa
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast felt very unprofessional (partly only because we had a trainee two of the mornings). Though you could order almost everything from the breakfast menu in one sitting, if ordering just one item, it was restricted to quite a small portion size.

    Staff were wonderfully friendly and the resort had a lot of character.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2016

    10
    Exquisite Thai teak house and garden, with authentic Thai hospitality and great food
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Lotus Three-Bedroom Villa
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Owners and staff excellent and kind. Resort garden beautiful. Food fantastic, breakfast and dinner. Great little wat and village market two minutes walk. Khun metii drove us everywhere we wanted to go. Excellent Thai hospitality.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2016

    9.6
    A family away from home!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Lotus Three-Bedroom Villa
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    The hospitality was brilliant. Pongsri and all the staff really made us feel welcome. The resort is suitable for children, even if you just want to relax around the pool. Our Daughter had her 13th birthday and they prepared a special meal in their dining room with a cake and even bought her a gift!! Will definitely be back.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2016

    8.3
    Oasis of calm
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Deluxe Villa
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It can take up to 30 mins in bad traffic to get into central Chiang mai (15 if traffic is okay)

    Staff were fantastic in looking out for our children. Helped to arrange baby sitting one evening. Breakfasts were delicious. Croissants were extra crispy. Fun to borrow bikes for a local explore. Beautiful gardens.a lovely oasis of calm

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2016

    9.6
    Absolutely Fantastic.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Orchid Villa
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Liked everything.

    I loved everything. I could not fault this resort. The staff are excellent and so helpful with any request. The villa was spotlessly clean and very spacious. The bed has to be the most comfortable i have slept in. The shower was amazing with perfect water pressure and hot. I would definitely stay here again. I would like to say a big thank you to all the staff there and hope to see you again.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2016

    8.8
    wonderfull welcoming hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Lotus Three-Bedroom Villa
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the only inconvenient is the location as you ll have to order a taxi to go to town. Not really a problem as everything was organised by the hotel to order taxi at a reasonable rate to visit around.

    Wonderfull welcome from Nat and Pongsri and a very peacefull hotel with a nice swimming pool and beautifull tropical garden. The food at the restaurant was the best we had in Thailand. I was ill when arriving, Nat and Pongsri cared for me as if I was fro the family. Thanks for all, was sad when leaving

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2016

    9.6
    Great hotel for family with young children
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Deluxe Villa
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location of the hotel is a bit far from the city and no shops near by (15 min from the night bazaar) We faced some defficulities with the taxi drivers to know the location of the resort.

    Travelled with young children, they enjoyed the swimming pools, the lovely trees and flowers inside the resort. Staff are very friendly and helpful, clean rooms.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    8.8
    Very romantic, cozy, relax....​I will go back again
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Fuangfha Villa
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The swimming pool is small

    I like everything, except the swimming pool a bit small for me because I like swimming.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    8.8
    Staff service was excellent, prepared the umbrella for us on...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff service was excellent, prepared the umbrella for us on the rainy day when we opened the door, room is spacious and with a nice terrace

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2018

    10
    They upgraded us free of charge.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    They upgraded us free of charge. The staff were excellent, and they even gave us a shuttle to the bus.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2018

    10
    An oasis
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful property with staff that go above and beyond. A hidden gem!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    10
    lovely setting quiet and personable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Mini Family Villa
    • Stayed 2 nights

    bothing

    Staff were so friendly nothing was to much trouble.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2017

    9.2
    Great staff very friendly ,tropical setting great to relax.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Mini Family Villa
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Mosquitos can be an issue but that comes with the territory.

    Great staff very friendly ,tropical setting great to relax.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 November 2017

    10
    Paradise..
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Too far from the city

    The room was big and comfortable

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2017

    10
    Kob’s service is very good
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Kob’s service is very good

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2017

    10
    great place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Lotus Three-Bedroom Villa
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    great place to stay

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    10
    a beautiful oasis for when you visit chiang mai
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing really

    They do everything to make your stay as comfortable as possible. We had a fabulous stay!!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2017

    10
    You'd have to go a long way to find somewhere better. Amazing place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Leaving!

    The setting and people are everything you could wish for. A peaceful oasis away from the hustle and bustle of the city.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2017

    8.3
    Great place for those whom don't wan to stay in the busy area
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Jasmine Honeymoon Villa
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location

    The staff and management are very helpful and they make you feel home

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2017

    9.6
    Very unique Thai style hotel with beautiful view and nice service
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Jasmine Honeymoon Villa
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very beautiful view,nice service, good for family holiday with kids and parents

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2017

    10
    Beautiful and nice relaxing place
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    WiFi was not strong

    The resort is beautiful and has a nice cosy ambience

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2016

    10
    Worth of spending all day there
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Jasmine Honeymoon Villa
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    None

    So delicious breakfast and the service is good

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2016

    9.6
    it's like a paradise
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Fuangfha Villa
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff very kind. Ownerv very helpful

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2016

    8.8
    Staff are very friendly, which has made me feel at home.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Location is a bit far away from town centre. Also, there were mosquitos inside at a night during our stay.

    Staff are very friendly, which has made me feel at home.

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2016

    8.8
    Very kind staff that really made my family feel welcome and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Very kind staff that really made my family feel welcome and taken care of. Children from young to teenager really enjoyed this resort. Food was wonderful as well.

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2016

    9.2
    Staff were so kind and couldn't have been more helpful.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Staff were so kind and couldn't have been more helpful. The pool was lovely and the room spotlessly clean. I'd go back there again even though it it a little way out of the main area. For me that was a plus and worth the taxi ride.

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2015

    5.0
    I liked the staff they are like family
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The location No taxi for transpot only one car available All taxi drivers dont no the hotel You have to eat in hotel cauz no resturant around

    I liked the staff they are like family

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2015

    9.6
    The Oriental Siam resort had the most personal, genuinely...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The Oriental Siam resort had the most personal, genuinely caring staff of anywhere we've stayed in Thailand. They were fantastic to meet and have helping us get the best experience possible.

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2015

    9.6
    Lovely, well maintained, clean beautiful rooms and gardens.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    It is located out of town but the resort were very helpful in providing transport to and from wherever we wanted to go

    Lovely, well maintained, clean beautiful rooms and gardens. Lovely family run resort with excellent staff.

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2015

    10
    The property was great for my family with young children.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Only would have liked our rooms adjoining for larger family.

    The property was great for my family with young children. The staff is extremely friendly and provided toys and bikes for the family to use. My eldest children enjoyed exploring the property, plants and playing games. The rooms and bathrooms were excellent. We needed help with our tours and they arranged them quickly and with great service. Overall a wonderful experience! Just love the owners and staff!!!

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2015

    7.5
    Staff service superb- always smiling, always trying their...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    A lot of Mosquitoes in the evening

    Staff service superb- always smiling, always trying their best to meet guests' needs Landscape- beautiful flowers, nature surrounding these 12 villas

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2015

    9.2
    The staff are very friendly and will do anything to help.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    nothing! it may be a little far out for people who want to be right in the centre but we loved it

    The staff are very friendly and will do anything to help. The pool and outside areas are gorgeous. The breakfasts are great

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2015

    9.2
    The setting is so lovely;
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    It's a little out of the way - so very dependent on the menu offerings and staff for rides. Not much to do besides relax (which was why we went there.) Bed firmer than we liked.

    The setting is so lovely; the pool is in a lovely setting; interesting beautiful garden, healthy delicious food, somewhat limited menu, and the staff is so so so nice. Also, immaculately clean.

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2015

    7.9
    Nice boutique resort hotel with spacious room + balcony,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Nice boutique resort hotel with spacious room + balcony, helpful managers and staff attentive to service request, good to be away from the city center after spending hours outdoors, hotel offers great car and driver service.

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2016

    4.5
    Croissants were good but in short supply ,couldn't have...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Unnecessarily expensive

    Croissants were good but in short supply ,couldn't have them more than once in three day stay!

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2015

    8.8
    Staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Limited vegetarian food options Away from city centre

    Staff

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2015

    9.2
    the very nice environment
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    there was a problem with the TV when we stayed the first day

    the very nice environment very relaxing

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2015

    5.4
    natural surroundings
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    location, mosquitoes

    natural surroundings

There are also 16 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 56

Browse The Oriental Siam Resort traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: